Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Kalamazoo Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    KVCC is great for a lot of people. It is great if you don't know what you want to do straight out of high school. It is great if you want to save money before transferring. It is great if you are older and want to just go part time. Basically it is great if you want to get good classes for cheap and then transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    You may be fooled by the lure of a big university, but let me tell you that it is a waste of money. The quality of education you get in your first two years at a big university is usually taught by lower level professors and teacher assistants. So, don't fool yourself into thinking it is a better education. At Valley you end up paying less money for a better education.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't really beat the price offered at Valley if you get in-district tuition. Even the out of district tuition is a great price. Do yourself a favor and go here first, so you can save your money and still get the same quality education.

    Am enjoying being here

    As with most community colleges you get a lot of the older population coming back to school. About 50% of the school is made of of people over 24. I never experienced any problems with any other students. Everyone was friendly and got along with little problems.

    Am learning a lot

    There are two types of teachers here, the amazing ones and the incompetent ones. Just make sure you do your research to make sure your teacher is legitimate. The good teachers here are great at what they do and are easily better than most large university teachers.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are red emergency phones throughout the hallways and KVCC boasts a great policy academy. Last year, the school added their own police and lighted blue safety phones throughout the parking lots.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is the honors society for two-year colleges. KVCC is a proud participant.

    Clubs and Activities

    Kalamazoo Valley Community College has a great sports program and has several different mens and womens teams. The school has recently adopted several club teams and intramural leagues as well.

    Great for these types of students

    People who can't afford or aren't ready for a traditional four-year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite place on the main campus is the Library. It's a beautiful room situated in the back corner of the school overlooking a woodsy nature preserve.

    Bang for the buck

    I received a great education at a discount price. Many KVCC courses transfer to larger schools like WMU, GVSU and even UofM.

    What to do for fun

    Wild Bull downtown is a great place for any young person. Thursday nights are 18+ and are typically the busiest night of the week. The Library, another college bar in Kalamazoo, also offers a 19+ night on Fridays.

    Food and Dining

    Oshtemo has the essentials like Arby's, Wendy's, McDonald's and Taco Bell, as well as vending machines and the campus cafe, but Kalamazoo itself is packed with great restaurants and nightlife.

    Dorm Life

    As Kalamazoo Valley is a community college, there are no dorms. I decided to move into a near-by apartment complex devoted to both WMU and KVCC students.

    Academic Rigor

    Some instructors are very demanding of their students. I found these instructors to be the best, though. They are passionate about their jobs and really want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest planning on getting there 45 minutes early for the first few days of classes. Parking is the one downside of KVCC and people snipe spots all through the semester by following people down aisles to their cars.

    In three sentences

    I love KVCC and have attended for three years. I was undecided, so I took a lot of varying classes, both to fulfill general education requirements and to explore different options. Classes were small, most of my instructors were awesome and I love the campus.

  • 07/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    KVCC is great for all types of students. Classes begin at the developmental level for students who need refresher or beginner classes, and progress all the way through advanced levels in all subjects. KVCC has something for everyone, and is an easy campus to integrate into.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the campus before your first day of class. KVCC's campus is airy and inviting, but can be a little complex at first. Finding your classrooms beforehand will ensure that you know where you're going and you won't get lost. Also, register for classes on the first possible day. KVCC is popular and classes fill up very quickly. Register as early as possible -- don't procrastinate!

    Bang for the buck

    KVCC might be a two-year institution, but the classes are still well-paced and challenging. I don't feel like I'm receiving lesser education or less challenging material because I attend a community college. My education is thorough and well rounded at a very manageable price.

    Am enjoying being here

    As a student, I've loved KVCC because of how friendly the campus and staff are, and the value of classes I get for the money I pay. The instructors are friendly and welcoming to the student, and the campus has great resources for students to get involved with each other, academically, and in the community.

    Am learning a lot

    KVCC has a great learning environment that is friendly, well-paced, open, and student-friendly. The class size at KVCC is perfect -- it's still easy to get one-on-one time with the instructors without getting lost in the crowd. The instructors at KVCC are interested and invested in their students and do their work for the joy of teaching, which shines through in their every-day classroom manners.

  • 12/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Valley is great for students who are looking to adjust to college before taking the big plunge into a four-year university. Be motivated!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to your professor's office hours if you are having a hard time; they normally aren't very busy and they'd love to have you there. Buy your books online so you don't spend too much money.

    Bang for the buck

    Valley is relatively cheap especially compared to most four-year universities and most of the classes do transfer, so it's a good deal!

    Am enjoying being here

    Valley has a very friendly environment; there are always events going on and the teachers are very helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    It depends on your background (high school, motivation, etc) but classes at Valley are relatively easy provided that you put the proper amount of time and effort into each one (which is normally not a lot, less than two hours a week for each class).

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is 100%. we have campus police walking around at all times, and there have never been reports of shootings or anything that could be considered unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    this college has a very wide range of clubs and activities for students, as i stated before. a lot of them are posted on kvcc's website.

    Great for these types of students

    kvcc is great for the type of students that want to save a little money for the same type of classes offered at universities, and they will transfer if you work with your counselors on the classes to take. kvcc transfers to western michigan university and grand valley very easily, if i might add.

    What to do for fun

    kvcc has a wide range of clubs; everywhere from academic elite and phi theta kappa to clubs for anything you can be interested in. we have gay alliance clubs, art clubs, you name it. also, if you're into working out, kvcc has a very nice gym and weight room that is free to use for all enrolled kvcc students as well as a pool.

    Food and Dining

    campus has a wide range of foods in the cafeteria that are accustomed to everything ranging from your binge fast food eater to your vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    we don't have dorms at kvcc because it is a community college; everyone drives.

    Academic Rigor

    i feel as if the teaching staff makes it quite difficult for one to pass a course if one didn't retain any information. on the bright side, however, every teacher that i've encountered thus far has help me both in the class room and one on one. this makes it much easier for a student struggling to overcome their struggle.

    Tips for prospective students

    a few tips for prospective students are to look into check the teacher ratings before signing up for a class; there are always a few raw eggs in the bunch of teachers at any school. also, that community college isn't something to be ashamed of attending. community college is just as accredited as any other university, especially since kvcc helps students with transfer programs to a t, and it is a great way to save money when attending the same classes provided at a university.

    In three sentences

    i feel as if kalamazoo valley community college is actually a great college to attend. it is this way because unlike universities, the teachers are more direct and into helping their students. personally, i find the teachers at a community college like this more approachable and valuable than someone that is a higher university teacher, because when i dual enrolled at a university, the teachers weren't very personable with their students.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always walking around.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know of very few.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults, working people, return-students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Great deal for the money. Most credits transfer to WMU so you can save yourself a ton of money by doing your first two years and/or summer semesters here.

    What to do for fun

    Get to know your professors and fellow students.

    Food and Dining

    Very few options on campus, although the Arcadia Commons Campus is downtown which provides you with many great options such as The Union, Irving's Market, Subway, etc.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a community college, and it is not very challenging, though it prepares you well for universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the most of your time here. The material is overall not very challenging so make sure to ask questions and gain contacts while you're here. Check out the Arcadia Commons Campus - it's downtown and the atmosphere is so fun.

    In three sentences

    KVCC is a welcoming atmosphere for students of all ages and skill sets. Small classrooms make contact with instructors easy and helpful. Three different campuses make it easy for people all over Kalamazoo to get their education.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Their academic rigor is varied. I always asked about my professors and got the ones that were more difficult. In the honors program, the professors were amazing and required a lot out of the students. However, I have heard about many professors that are super easy and/or that are simply not very good at teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    At Valley, there are many wonderful professors, but there are also many bad ones. I would definitely recommend reading reviews about them online, or asking around campus. For any student that is interested in going above and beyond the average student, I would encourage them to check out the honors program. This is a great way to get a better education as well as much needed help on paying for tuition.

    In three sentences

    Kalamazoo Valley Community College was a great start for me because of it's small size. Most of my professors were very good at what they do, and were very willing to help those who needed additional instruction. My only complaint would be the lack activities for students on campus.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is ALWAYS AVAILABLE!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and events for almost every type of student, really nothing that can be missed. No student is misses at all.

    Bang for the buck

    Walmart out here is pretty cheap, and you can find some pretty good sales here with local markets. And the college is really really low, and with rising tuition you can get a lot out this experience versus the 4 year if you want to save.

    What to do for fun

    In the small town, there are theaters, local dining, lakes, rivers, bowling... Your typical city life, but smaller setting.

    Food and Dining

    Many great good restaurants out here for college students and prices are not bad for those on a budget. Alot of quick bite to eat places around.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live on my own, and apartment living is cheap and also this is a college town so easy to find places to live.

    Academic Rigor

    At times, classes can be really tough. Especially mid-term part of the semester but push yourself above what you feel.

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming to college, it is very important to set aside time to complete and review (any) assignments for classes. Plan, organize, and complete your work.

    In three sentences

    This college has been a very good transition for my life. It is a small intimate campus that allows me to get the personal attention I need for academic success.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Most of my time spent here was spent studying. I'm trying to get into a competitive medical program. They do have different sports teams however, and Kalamazoo always has a lot of fun things going on.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, I never really ate at Kalamazoo Valley Community College. I have heard good things though. I will say I'm neutral.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms for Kalamazoo Valley Community College. Being close to Western Michigan University, however, there are plenty of apartments nearby, reasonably priced.

    Academic Rigor

    There are easier classes and harder classes. You get out of this school specifically what you put into it. Do the work and you will go far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't equate it to other community colleges. Kalamazoo Valley Community College has upped the ante, partnering with many universities all over Michigan to hold you to a higher standard. If you don't know what to do, this is a great school to give you a head start. Also, don't ignore some of the 2-year associates programs. Some of those fields are more successful--specifically within the medical fields than some of the 4-year degrees.

    In three sentences

    Kalamazoo Valley Community College is a great opportunity to prepare you for your future career. If you do not yet know what you want to do, or are trying to take prerequisites to get into a specific program, this community college prepares you for your next steps into your future. I appreciate everything that KVCC has given me, and I know that because of what I've learned there, I will continue to be successful.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is number 1 at KVCC.They have full-time and part time police officers at the college that are constantly walking around, friendly with the students, and will unlock you car if you happen to lock your keys in your car. I have heard of only one incident while I have been attending, which was dealt with quickly. The fire alarms work well, is very well handicap accessible, the parking lot/sidewalks are well maintained during the winter months as well.

    Greek Life

    I believe there are many different sororities/fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different types of clubs and activities to get involved with here at KVCC. From computer sciences to art to auto-tech, there are clubs for just about anyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student, but especially for older adults that are going back to college or going for the first time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not sure about any unusual traditions, but there are three different locations for the campuses. One is in Texas township, which is the main campus (Oshtemo township), the Groves (which is across from the main campus. This houses the different academy programs that the school offers), and a downtown campus as well. They are all nicely landscaped and well maintained.

    Bang for the buck

    So far, I believe I have gotten what I've paid for with my college experience here at KVCC. I feel like I am treated like a person, not a number. There is a free tutoring center, free gym access, free internet/computers available all over campus, a counselor available for you when you need them (academic, career, personal counselors).

    What to do for fun

    There are many different clubs you can join, the college gym you can use for free while attending as well. There are always special guests/speakers for different events going on, give-away events, and artistic events from singing groups to dance troupes to poem jam sessions.

    Food and Dining

    There is a good selection of food; from freshly prepared burgers, pizza, gyros, to a good salad bar with lots of different choices to pick from. The menu changes everyday for their specials and the prices are not too terribly high either. They have a large selection of drinks as well from hot tea, different coffee selections, cooler pop/drinks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at KVCC as it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on what class you are in/taking. For instance, a math class might require you to study every night, where as a physical class would only require you to study while you are in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep on task, ask if you need help, go to the tutoring center if you need assistance with the general required classes (i.e. math, english, etc). Try to let your instructor(s) get to know you a little bit so that they know how you learn. GET A STUDY BUDDY....this greatly helped me out!

    In three sentences

    The college offers multiple programs/degrees in nice sized classroom settings. There are multiple avenues of receiving assistance within the college, from financial aide to tutoring to personal counseling. If you need help, there is always an instructor, counselor, adviser there to assist you.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Texas Township campus feels secure

    Great for these types of students

    For those who don't want to get lost in the shuffle, this college feels like you belong.

    Bang for the buck

    All the support is free so take advantage of it!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the student commons or drop in at the free classes in the gym

    Food and Dining

    Not many unless at the downtown campus

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms but apartments near campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to stay at the Texas Township Campus. The dowtown campus is nice but less safe

    In three sentences

    This college gets an overall rate of 11 from me. I absolutely love KVCC and tell eveyone to here. The staff really make it a home away from home.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    kicked out this lady for strangling a teacher

    Greek Life

    nope

    Clubs and Activities

    not many clubs to do anything

    What to do for fun

    college night at the wild bull downtown

    Food and Dining

    haha its expensive

    Dorm Life

    cheap places to live near by

    Tips for prospective students

    Do good your first year. dont fail out. dont party now and study later. study and party at the same time.

    In three sentences

    i love this school. it has its faults and its ups and downs. but i love it and would never go to another community college.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent campus safety. They are easy to find, and most willing to help you with any of your safety concerns.

    Clubs and Activities

    I participated in CRU club (crusaders for Christ), tennis club, and am a member of Phi Theta Kappa. Clubs are advertised very well, however participation is not as high.

    Great for these types of students

    This community college is not particularly keen for socializing. Many students are not the average age of a college student, which at times makes it hard to relate and connect on a social level. So for the student that needs a lot of focus to stay on track this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year there is large a job fair!

    Bang for the buck

    coast for attending is reasonable considering the class selection. You also have a whole wing of the campus called The Student Success Center dedicated to making your college experience and transition as easy and as smooth as possible.

    What to do for fun

    Wide variety of campus events, from deaf rappers to magicians.

    Food and Dining

    jets pizza every day! As well as a wide variety of healthy foods and drinks

    Dorm Life

    there are no college dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Courses can be challenging, however very doable and manageable with discipline and focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research and keep your options open. You have so many options for your future, don't feel like you must be limited to any one specific field or career.

    In three sentences

    Great school for students that really want to get a firm foundation for there college career. There is a large variety of transferring programs along with certificates and associate degrees. The programs at KVCC really fed the demand for the jobs of today's society.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security for the most part is always on their job

    What to do for fun

    Try school activities

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten there

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in a dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up financial aid , because they are not really specific on what is needed

    In three sentences

    The school overall is a good school, I rate this school a 7 from a scale of 1 to 10

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have cool wet floor signs!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of person will fit in great here. i didn't have many friends during high school and know i talk to more people than ever!

    Bang for the buck

    You can save so much money by getting an associates degree here and then tranferring to a university! And on top of that there are tons of scholarship programs where you can save even more

    What to do for fun

    there are many fitness programs you can drop in to, like yoga, zumba, and swimming, and there is a very nice cardio room and weight room. there are also many out of school groups you can join as well

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit before you start school! it is a large school with a few levels, and is very easy to get lost in.

    In three sentences

    Ranged in personalities. Cleanly and orderly. Very nice and relaxed professors.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are transferring to a university to receive a bachelor's degree.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria offers many delicious and healthy options that are affordable to the student budget.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live in Dorm. Not sure if they offer dorms?

    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessor.com to discover what teachers are good teachers and those who aren't. Some professors are hired simply because of their experience but are not good at teaching.

    In three sentences

    Overall, a good school for students looking to attend schools that are budget friendly.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is public safety police officers daily on campus. I feel safe coming/leaving KVCC at any time the campus is open.

    Clubs and Activities

    SADHA is available to me for the dental hygiene program.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for health related careers, mechanical, also art. KVCC has a wide variety of programs available to the students.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for a decent price.

    What to do for fun

    In this area there is movie theaters, bowling, clubs, dining, much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a little expensive but they have a wide variety.

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars, the academics are amazing here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prior to enrolling into classes you should meet with career services so you can start taking classes that will lead you toward your career.

    In three sentences

    I rate KVCC 4 stars because all of the instructors are really helpful with your education and academics. Sometimes it is very crowded and hard to find places to park. I am very blessed to be able to complete all my schooling here and have the opportunity to greater myself.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While you may see police officers patrolling the grounds of KVCC (both in and out), as long as you stay out of trouble, they tend you leave you to your business. Throughout the school, you'll see emergency 'payphones' that you can use should an emergency occur or if, say, your car breaks down and you need a jump or even a ride home.

    Clubs and Activities

    KVCC also offers several organizations for you to join, such as a Dance Club, Automotive Technology Club, Phi Theta Kappa, American Sign Language Honors Society of Kalamazoo, and KVCC Cru (Campus Crusade for Christ).

    Great for these types of students

    I'd recommend this community college to both fresh-out-of-high-school graduates as well as returning students/working adults. All of the teachers and staff members are laid-back and are willing to help you with the smallest of things if you simply ask them.

    What to do for fun

    Once you get your student ID, you can work out in the KVCC's indoor gym, free of charge. You can also hang out in the student Commons area, which includes a coffee shop, a small theater, and a student lounge area, where you can relax in plush armchairs and read, write, or simply take a nap. If you like sports, or just want to stay physically fit, you can sign up for, say, a yoga, scuba diving, or even a meditation class where you still earn credits for them along with your regular classes.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is excellent. Whether it be fresh sushi or a slice of warm cheese pizza from Jet's, the cafeteria offers so much variety for such a great price; the cooks and cashiers are very friendly, too. They also have a separate area that includes a microwave and several vending machines that take both cash and certain credit cards. You can also purchase Subway-style sandwiches, hot/iced coffee, pretzels, and various snacks/junk food. Prices range anywhere from a few cents to seven dollars, plus tax.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As a part-time freshman, my work load is relatively light. However, I need to constantly stay on my toes both in and out of class. In class, I always know that asking questions from my professors won't be annoying to them, and that they actually want to teach me and answer my questions. Out of class, I'm constantly checking my school email, going onto Moodle (an application you'll probably be using to check due dates for projects and etc...) for my class work, and turning in my math homework online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule your classes as early as possible, even if you're undecided about a major/minor. Also, contact financial aid/scholarship staff members who can help you earn free money for college quickly and without too much hassle.

    In three sentences

    An excellent community college that offers many free resources for students from all walks of life, as well as helpful teachers, staff, and a friendly and laid-back school environment.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security in the parking lot which is really nice walking to the car at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Older students such as myself. I am a mother and it's great that they offer online and night classes so even I can attend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a student commons area with a tree growing through the building... very cool.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely great value... most classes transfer to WMU.

    What to do for fun

    There are constant activities going on campus as well as much to do in the Kalamazoo area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the different student services. They are set up to actually help you succeed and graduate and they will help in any aspect possible. It's been more than I've ever experienced at any other college.

    In three sentences

    Classes are actually fun to attend. The professors are very professional and willing to help. You receive a ton of academic support.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The public safety on campus is great for helping with keys locked in cars, walking you out to your car at night etc. All of the public safety are quite friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs, sporting events and conferences held weekly. They offer so many activities it's hard to choose just one or two.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students

    Bang for the buck

    KVCC is truly just an open, helpful and friendly place that I'd recommend to anyone.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is always full of students, whether it's to quick grab a bite to eat or just to form group studies. The cafe is generally a mutual meeting ground for students to connect with others.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't dorms at KVCC

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not too terribly difficult, the instructors discuss the lessons fully and are easily understood.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your books ahead of time, come to class prepared, make sure to have your KVCC ID with you at all times. If you are struggling in a class be sure to ask for help from your instructor or go to the tutoring lab.

    In three sentences

    KVCC is a safe, fun, friendly environment where everyone is kind to everyone. The students and staff are all happy to help someone in need in any way possible. The overall support from KVCC could not be better.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe at KVCC-- even when I'm taking evening classes.

    Greek Life

    There is no such thing at Kalamazoo Valley.

    Clubs and Activities

    As far as I know, KVCC does not offer as many clubs and activities as one might find at other colleges and universities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who wish to save money by taking credits for transfer!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student commons is a great place to study. There are real trees and plants and plenty of natural light. This is definitely my favorite place to study.

    Bang for the buck

    KVCC is a great place to take care of those pesky pre-requisite courses for half the cost of a four-year university.

    What to do for fun

    Equipped with an exercise area, a theater, nature trails, and a student commons with real trees and natural lighting, there is always something to do here.

    Food and Dining

    Kalamazoo Valley has a cafeteria with delicious lunch options.

    Dorm Life

    KVCC does not offer on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    These classes were a small step up from my high school classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wait until after the first day of class to buy a textbook-- some professors don't use the textbook at all and you can save yourself lots of time and money this way.

    In three sentences

    Kalamazoo Valley Community College has a welcoming atmosphere and supportive staff. They offer plenty of student resources to help you succeed. Their student-to-teacher ratio is unbeatable.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Kalamazoo is full of things to do. Downtown is a whirlwind of activities from shopping, dining, movies, and nights out.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get financial aid done ahead of time!

    In three sentences

    It is so much nicer than my previous community college. Everything is beautifully designed and clean. I am so excited to attend soon!

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that don't necessarily want to start out at a large university, also great for students wanting to save money.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that for the quality of academics that is being taught the amount of money students must pay is fair.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers a lot of different classes that are free to students, such as dance classes. They also have many different clubs that you can be involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafeteria provides many different choices and really aims to provide many healthy alternative options.

    Dorm Life

    Kalamazoo Valley Community College does not have dorms or on campus living, you must either live off campus or at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and professors are there to teach, they all have many qualifications and are able to teach the students how to take things learned during class and apply them to real life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to use the academic services that they provide, they truly make a difference and it will be reflected in your grades.

    In three sentences

    I think that Kalamazoo Valley Community College offers a lot to students as far as academics. Not only are their class sizes small, but they also have many services available for students. Their focus is on the students, and that really shines through.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable

    What to do for fun

    Become involved with as much as possible. Spending time on campus will train you to become a studious scholar.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry if you don't completely under college as long as ask a question anyone on this campus will point you in the correct direction.

    In three sentences

    KVCC has changed my life. Coming in as a C average high school student w/ under mediocre study habits, I didn't know what to expect but after 1 year w/ KVCC'S staff and atmosphere has given me the experience i will carry with me for a lifetime.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Wooo!

    What to do for fun

    Go shopping around town, work out in the gym located on campus, get coffee.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious cafe located in building.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but yet easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be at least 15 minutes early to classes. Sit in the front. Walk fast.

    In three sentences

    Kalamazoo Valley Community College is a convenient school with many choices to help you decide where you want to go in life. There are many classes so if one is full you still have a chance to get it. Also, there are awesome resources that help you along the way.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of different activities and events happening at KVCC. I attended a cultural diversity event one day, and then a free massage event around finals week (to help the students not stress about them). Just be on the lookout for posters and bulletin boards all around the school, as well as on the website as there aren't really any public service announcements about these things.

    Food and Dining

    This place has awesome food. Every day you get a different variety of healthy and delicious breakfasts, lunches, and dinners. One day you can come and buy fresh sushi; another a grilled chicken sandwich w/ pepperjack cheese and fries. If you'd like, you can also just run in, grab a candy bar, soda, coffee, tea, or even a slice of pizza or even a Subway-style sandwich. Whatever you want to eat, you can it.

    Academic Rigor

    I will say this - easy classes are just that, easy. Boring. So be willing to take classes that may challenge you to think a little, to go a little outside your comfort zone. As is such, depending on the classes you take depends on how busy you'll be. I'm currently Philosophy 101, Psychology 101, Humanities 101, and a math class, and besides math all of these classes involve lots of reading outside class and lots of contemplating/thinking to understand and apply the concepts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all of the Student Resources here as early as possible, especially the StrengthsFinder Top 5 strengths assessment, too. Also, the WI-fi connection here is awful. Either it doesn't work at all, continuously boots you off when another user connects to the Internet, or else works in very inconvenient places (e.g. Near the front entrance, in a random hallway, etc...).

    In three sentences

    A fun, challenging, and diversified college with friendly and helpful staff, committed professors, and a safe, friendly atmosphere where how much effort you put into it is what you get out of it.

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    as a new student the best advice I can give you is to not take to many classes at one time and not be in a rush to finish your degree in as short of time as possible. find out how much you can handle each semester and do that.

    In three sentences

    Kalamazoo valley community college is a great school. Kvcc instructors and advisors are always trying to help student to succeed. I was unsure of my major at first,but student careers department help me figure things out.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great food... that you will pay for. The prices are not crazy ridiculous but the quantity and quality are amazing. There is always two pop machines one with pepsi products one with coke, a redbull vendor, cappachino/coffee booth, and fresh fruit/cheese cups. Morning hours you can get anything from a muffin to an in your face omelet. Lunch time has build your own salads, pizza, soups, chicken strips and more.

    Dorm Life

    Sorry no dorms at this community college, but the student commons area is very comfortable with table/chair set ups, layz boy chairs, computers, a starbucks stand, and its no more than 50 steps from the delicious cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    KVCC is a very easy place to stay on track and do well with dedication. They have a tutoring lab that you can receive help with the expected subjects like math and english, but depending on the course it may be help for that as well. Also most professors won't mind you stopping by during office hours, some actually praise it!

    Tips for prospective students

    STAY FOCUSED!! Kalamazoo being a small college town there are your share of bad choices to make with so many local bars and college parties. Of course enjoy your college years, drink responsibly, go dancing, and explore the city, but its up to you to make positive friends that will cheer you to the finish line and encourage skipping a night of parting to study from an exam, or not have that extra beer with pizza knowing you have a 8 am PSY130 class. This is your future so stay focused on where you want it to go.

    In three sentences

    Overall KVCC is a decent place to go. Campus life is friendly and comfortable, a really great place to learn. In addidtion, 9.5 of 10 professors here are great educators that really want you to succeed.

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    KVCC does have a security center to report any suspicious activity or if belongings come up missing.

    Great for these types of students

    KVCC is a great college for students that have limited income, children, or a frazzled life.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are very reasonably priced.

    What to do for fun

    As long as you are a registered student for the semester in progress you can attend classes in the gym. I love when yoga or Pilates is available, because it helps decrease my stress.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a nice selection of food. They even have specials.

    Dorm Life

    As far as I know, there is not dorms offered at KVCC.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be tough. They do offer a great tutoring center, which can help you pass a class with flying colors. You just have to put the hours in studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    The academic counselors are not organized, informed, or helpful. If you are interested in learning more about a program offered, it is best to do the research yourself.

    In three sentences

    KVCC is a good college to attend if you're looking for a head-start on a Bachelor's program. The classes are small, and have very personable professors. I do however wish the associate programs, that are offered, were setup based on the students GPA.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel quite safe at the school. Even when I have a late night class downtown, the area is lit, and I feel content.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for all types of things. I haven't participated in them, but some students really enjoy them.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to get a great education, or get some gen eds out of the way would love the school. It's affordable, and has a great education system, overall.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are two locations--one in Texas Township, and another in downtown Kalamazoo.

    Bang for the buck

    Being in the Honors Program, I get my tuition reimbursed. With that, I am not paying, and I am getting a great education. Others in the regular programming are also getting a great deal. Credit hours are somewhere around $83, which is rather cheap.

    What to do for fun

    They have a really nice work out center and offer free fitness classes for students. There are also events that clubs have on certain days of the week. We have sports teams, as well, so one can go and support the teams!

    Food and Dining

    I haven't actually eaten at the cafeteria, but I've heard that it's rather good. They also have a Starbucks in the student commons, and that is great!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the Honors Program at the school, so my program is a bit more rigorous. It's not so difficult that I can't possibly do the work, but there is a lot that I have to do. With the regular programming, the school is not extraordinarily difficult--but that depends on the classes taken.

    Tips for prospective students

    It helps to meet with counselors before each semester. That way, you can stay on top of your 2-year, or transfer plan. It is also beneficial to use ratemyprofessor.com to see reviews on teachers. I have not had any bad experiences, but others I know have. Make sure you stay on top of your work, and you will be fine!

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Kalamazoo Valley Community College. The professors and administrators are all very helpful, and the classes are small making it easier to learn. I have learned a great amount, and I would recommend the school to anyone.

  • 04/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I was able to get my first year completely paid for through grants and financial aid! I was so happy about that! They are really good at working with financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Kalamazoo is a college town so it's not hard to find things to do. We're also located only about 30 minutes away from Lake Michigan which is always a fun day trip. Lots of cafes, bars, parks and general hang out places.

    Food and Dining

    I really enjoy the food and feel there are a decent amount of options for being such a small school. The prices could be better though.

    Dorm Life

    Because it is a community college, KVCC does not have dorms. There are plenty of housing options nearby because Western Michigan University is in the same town.

    Academic Rigor

    School has typically come easy for me so I didn't find the classes too challenging, but they weren't ridiculously easy either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many of the classes transfer, but some do not. If you are planning on transferring to a four year college make sure you talk with an advisor. I made the mistake of thinking I could handle creating my schedule by myself and ended up with several classes that will not transfer. Also, if you are a prospective nursing student, do not plan on getting your two year degree here. The waiting list is incredibly long so you are better off picking a transfer school and doing any classes that you can at KVCC for the cheaper price and transferring when you're ready.

    In three sentences

    Kalamazoo Valley Community College is a great school for people seeking to find a cheaper way to get a college education. Just because it's a community college does not mean you're getting any less knowledge. Most of the teachers are very knowledgeable and are very willing to work with students who need help.