Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Kankakee Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/15/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    KCC is great for a student willing to drive to school every day, to meet diverse and interesting people in a rural setting, and to get an education without student loans haunting them throughout the rest of their educational journey. This is a friendly, hometown kind of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for every scholarship! KCC will award you, as long as you try. Also, the student counselors are very trustworthy, and will help you manage your classes in the best way possible. My counselor was so helpful, I had days with no classes for three semesters! It's always nice to have someone to depend on, and that type of person is right here at KCC.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are packed with information, despite the dollar amount for a credit hour being so low. Outside of medical programs, there is little competition for classes, so you will get the class you want nine out of ten times, at least.

    Did enjoy being here

    I love being at KCC. Being a community college, there are no dorms or housing, so I'm still at home. I can spend time with my family and friends, even more so than I could during high school. The students are also very very friendly here, and I have made many friends. Most people are very approachable, and there are many areas and event available for socializing.

    Did learn a lot

    The teachers at KCC are very friendly and willing to help any student who asks. There is a diverse selection of most types of classes, and the teachers educate in such a way that learning is enjoyable.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security constantly patrols the parking lots and hallways.

    What to do for fun

    kcc offers many activities for in between classes including games and a gym.

    Food and Dining

    large dining area. mediocre selection of foods from cafeteria which closes at 3pm each day. plenty of vending machines throughout the school.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    classes are challenging, but definitely passable for the average student. tutors are available at the school if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    register early so you can create the schedule that suits your needs.

    In three sentences

    kcc is a great start off point for student planning on transferring. going here prior to transferring can save students a lot of money. aside from the savings, the teachers here a awesome and highly qualified.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    yuck!

    Dorm Life

    off campus only

    Academic Rigor

    4 stars

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful school. I completed my GED and all of my nursing prerequisites here. I plan to obtain my associates degree in nursing there and go on.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Undecided

    What to do for fun

    People creep.

    Academic Rigor

    Not challenging whatsoever.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a full course load (5 classes per semester).

    In three sentences

    It really is a good place to start, especially if you aren't sure what you want to go to school for. The classes are all extremely easy, so don't expect a challenge at all.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of sporting events that some can attend and even concerts. There is also a softball field and water park nearby the campus which offer lots of fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the college is decent, although expensive. There are other places to eat, but several miles away.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The information I learned here was a good building block for my future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Transition can sometimes be difficult. It may be easy to fall behind in some of the courses, but the teachers there are more than willing to help if asked.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small to medium sized. I believe the largest class I attended had around 30 some people. It was a good place to start with a high school feel.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take online classes so you don't have to deal with other students.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are wonderful. the students are mostley poor and do not take theiur studies seriously, atleast in all of my classes. Aside from the other students, I've been getting a very good education and learning alot.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I haven't been to any organized activities at KCC, but the buildings are right next to the river and a beautiful nature reserve. If I have free time I love going for a walk on one of the trails before attending cla

    Food and Dining

    I can't say anything about breakfast or lunch options, but for the students attending evening classes the food choice is tiny and gross. Your only choices are either the food available in vending machines or a couple of sandwiches from a kiosk away from the cafeteria area that closes at 5:30 - not ideal in the least. If you want good food, bring your own. There isn't any around here.

    Dorm Life

    KCC does not have dorms; students must commute here from home.

    Academic Rigor

    While the teachers I've had are all very helpful and want to see you succeed, a majority of the students would not be able to pass if the coursework was truly at a college level. In fact, I remember being very surprised as a high school junior at the easiness of my KCC classes. It's a great choice for those who want an easy transition from high school into college, but if you want something more challenging than this is not the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    For high school students in the area: If you see any classes offered that you're interested in, take them as soon as possible! I already had about a year's worth of college done before I graduated high school - I highly suggest evening classes for anyone, as you're able to focus much better on the material that's being offered you.

    In three sentences

    As a high school student taking extra classes at KCC, I've taken everything from Business classes to Web design. There are a lot of great classes to choose from if you want to learn something new or earn your associate's degree in a snap, and as long as you do the work and stay committed you will get where you want to go.

  • 02/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do alot of self-teaching.

    Am enjoying being here

    Negative. I feel as if I am surrounded by people who don't want to learn and move on in life.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning a fair bit, but being a community college the teachers seem more interested in being liked and less interested in teaching, so alot of my learning has been done on my own.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am currently employed so i do not have a lot of free time.

    Food and Dining

    Rarely ate here however, when I did eat here the food was moderate to completely stale and left an after taste in my mouth.

    Dorm Life

    I wasn't in a dorm live with my parents at the moment.

    Academic Rigor

    some teachers are hard you just have to adapt to their teaching styles. While others are much more lax and easier to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and keep your eyes on your true goal disappear from this location.

    In three sentences

    Very keep to yourself type of atmosphere. On a personal level didn't really aquatint myself with people in this institution. If I had the chance to move to a university my freshmen year instead of living at home still I would have.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    thats a joke. me and my friend have had our stuff almost stolen on several occasions and people walking up and trying to swipe your phone or ipod is a norm. we told security about being harassed by guys and they do nothing but the security is all over you if you run a stop sign.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a few clubs i am not in any because there is only one i can join and it does not interest me.

    Bang for the buck

    hah what a joke. i paid lab fees for A&P and we sat around half the time in the class room not the lab lecturing or filling out the lab due the next week. The library is nothing special and nothing is high tech at all. you dont even get to use the school gym unless you pay even more for it.

    What to do for fun

    let me know because i have not found much fun stuff to do yet/

    Food and Dining

    the food is over-priced fast food. Not only that but by twelve in the afternoon they are sold out of pretty much everything.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorm options

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes let you use notes on your test and finals and the only classes i really have had a final onEVERYTHING is science or math classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early so you get the class schedule you want. Do not buy food on campus it is a huge rip off. look online for your books because i found all of mine at a much much much cheaper price. The KCC bookstore was selling English book for $55 in pretty bad shape online i got mine for $5 in better condition.

    In three sentences

    I have had more bad experiences here then good one; out of six classes i have only had two good teachers. The whole school feels more like High School then college.Everyone is very cliquey and it is very hard to meet new people.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is constantly patrolling the campus and the hallways. Once I accidentally forgot my iphone in hallway and I came back half an hour later and it was still there exactly how and where I left it. I've never had a problem with safety here. Everyone is very polite to each other in the hallways as well.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at KCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs for everyone from Phi Theta Kappa honors society to horticulture club to welding clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    KCC is great for students who need to transition into college life by staying closer to home, students who can't afford 4 years at a university, and adults who wish to return to finish or pursue a degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located right next to the river and there's a really nice walking/bike trail on campus. There's also a beautiful nature reserve right next door.

    Bang for the buck

    KCC is very generous with financial aid. If you need the money, they will give it to you. Included in financial aid consideration is also cost of living expenses, so most everyone who attends here actually receives more money than they need for tuition and books so you will have money for things like food, groceries, and gas.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous bulletin boards posted all over campus of events that are constantly going on. There's anything from karaoke to martial arts and zumba classes to plays that occur on campus. There's also multiple movie theatres around town and the campus is literally across the street from a waterpark. You will not be bored.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food available on campus and there's also subway, kfc, taco bell, arby's etc. located very close to campus. There are also multiple vending machines located around campus for quick snacks.

    Dorm Life

    I left this category as average because there are no dorms available at kcc.

    Academic Rigor

    There are going to be some easy courses for gen eds but there are also difficult ones. For example, the English courses are very rigorous even at the English I level. Talk to your advisor to find the right classes for your major. If you want challenging courses, there are plenty available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't listen to people who are constantly negative about everything. There are students who don't care about their futures at every school you go to. Don't be one of those students, and don't associate with those students and you will be fine. Get to know your professors. You will need their help for many things including letters of recommendation for transferring and scholarships and even references when you're looking for a job. Don't burn bridges. Take advantage of every opportunity you are presented with as there are many here. Most students are just too lazy to look for them.

    In three sentences

    KCC is a nice community college with a small student body and small class sizes. The campus is pretty and in a convenient location. The professors and staff are all kind and helpful and actually care about your future and your education.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security on campus is the first thing any student notices. From the initial orientation session, they let you know just how much they care for student safety. Even better, in case of emergency, KCC has erected emergency phone stations around the buildings, adding additional comfort to the student experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    KCC is located next to the Kankakee River, and has a wonderful stretch of trail for biking, walking, or even sitting and reading as the water slowly goes by.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college's primary advantage over state or private schools is--of course--its price. Two years at KCC would cost a student a fraction of expensive private schools, and as many who've migrated from other schools will say, the education is just the same, if not better.

    What to do for fun

    KCC has a wonderful theater program that stages a small number of shows per year, as well as a number of student-run programs for a wide variety of tastes, including video game competitions, sporting events, and their very own golf course. KCC is also located a short ride from the downtown Kankakee area, filled with businesses and yearly events.

    Food and Dining

    KCC provides a cafeteria with appropriate levels of seating. There are your average snacks and drinks, as well as healthier options for those looking for an alternative. Though these options are standard, KCC is just a short drive/bike ride from a large number of restaurants and businesses that provide even more options for the discerning consumer.

    Academic Rigor

    Sociology, Speech, and English II are just three examples of classes I'll never forget. They pushed me to raise above the low expectations of high school. Though the adventure through each class was difficult and time-consuming, the rewards for diligently studying and pushing myself were more than worth it. Best example: my English II teacher unfortunately suffered a debilitating heart attack, leaving the class with a much more stringent and demanding substitute for the remainder of the semester. To no one's surprise, the substitute concluded that our previous teacher had not been enforcing the level of writing that should be expected of us. Though many a complaint was had at the idea of extended essays and stricter grading, I grew to appreciate and respect our new teacher for introducing to a considerably more adult view on education and writing, which coincidentally is my obsession. She reinforced the skills inherent in us, and put us on the right path.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize resources, both inherent to KCC and elsewhere. Their online program Angel is easy to use and helpful when communicating grades, projects, etc. Smaller class sizes practically demand you acquaint yourself with your professors, and it is in fact a good idea. Having a higher level of communication helped me to keep excellent grades and receive exemplary assistance during strenuous assignments.

    In three sentences

    Kankakee Community College succeeds by focusing not just on a comfortable student experience, but a rigorous, demanding education that ends up being worth every dollar. Though community colleges often receive a bad reputation for being cheapened versions of their state-level sisters, KCC erases these fears by providing excellent, caring professors, administration, and resources. Like any college, KCC isn't without its shortcomings, but its overall product is more than worth their affordable asking price.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have a good variety of clubs.

    What to do for fun

    The school usually has a couple of people come in and give speeches. The speeches are usually very interesting. Sometimes there are musical acts. There's also plenty of opportunities to meet new people and socialize.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in tough with your academic advisor. The student should stay focused and complete all homework. Don't let your emotions get in the way of learning.

    In three sentences

    The school is a good place to start. The teachers know how to make the student comprehend the material. The staff and students are very friendly.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Athletic Activities, Intramural sports, Fitness center, Student life activities, clubs, etc,

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for scholarships as soon as possible, buy books online, and study a lot.

    In three sentences

    Kankakee Community College is a great community college that offers a lot of opportunities. It is simple to register for, and the faculty and staff offers a lot of support. The fact that the college offers so many opportunities and is so close to ho,e has made working and being close to my family easier during school as well.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love my school. The teachers are all nice and very helpful. The other students seem to be very interested in learning.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security everywhere I turn. The KCC campus is really safe and I've never had a problem. The security is always in the parking lots and even walking the halls.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to participate, I can't even begin to name all of them! There has to be one group that is interesting to every individual that goes to KCC because there are so many. The activities that they put on are interesting and fun to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    You can be shy or outgoing and you will fit in at KCC. There are kids that sit around and study quietly and others that have group studies. There are so many types of personalities at KCC that no one stands out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the back of KCC there is a beautiful view of the Kankakee river. It is so nice during the spring and summer and even fall to sit outside and eat lunch and enjoy the weather. KCC has a really pretty campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Books are very expensive from KCC, if you can, buy them online. If you have to buy them from the bookstore, they have a sell back program. You get a decent amount of money back when KCC buys your books back from you.

    What to do for fun

    There are always FREE activities at KCC! They plan these at all different times and days. There are so many things to do every day when you are waiting for classes, check them out, they are totally worth your time.

    Food and Dining

    Personally, I have never had the food at KCC. It doesn't smell bad, and I haven't heard any horror stories about it. The choices seem good, so give it a try!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at KCC. This is a school to go to every day and take classes. Live at home for a while before you have to move out and live on your own, you won't regret it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes her are obviously college classes, so they are more difficult that high school. If you give high school effort, you won't get as good of a grade. Put in more effort than you did in high school and you will do perfectly fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study, it makes the classes much less stressful! Also, don't be afraid to speak up in class, teachers like it when you participate in discussion. If you take night classes, the parking lot is kind of scary at night, as a security guard at the front desk to escort you, they will.

    In three sentences

    Kankakee community college is definitely a school worth looking into. The prices are SO cheap compared to universities. You will get the same education here as you would anywhere else and pay a lot less.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Outstanding.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa. It's a blast.

    Clubs and Activities

    It's fairly easy to get involved in because people aren't clicky, but you need to do a little digging to find the club that's right for you. There are two club fairs each year. Getting on the Student Council is a great idea. Go to the ISCCAA conference if you can, it's a really good time. Lindsey Fritz can answer pretty much all your questions, and she's a very nice lady.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to save money. Students who are self-motivated. Nursing students.

    Bang for the buck

    Outstanding. You can save yourself a lot of money going here, and if you work hard, you can find some pretty nice scholarships to transfer out.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, go to conferences, use the hiking trails, get out and meet people.

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive. You're better off bringing stuff from home. If you need help paying for lunch, you can use PELL money to buy a gift card in the bookstore. It's going to mean less in your dispersment check though. You can get a black and green KCC mug for about three dollars and then fill it with soda or coffee for only a dollar. It's a good idea to grab one early in the semester and then have it on you, just remember to put your name on it!

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends a lot on the class and the instructor, but classes ARE challenging. This is college, not matter what anyone tells you.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will get out of this school exactly what you put into it. Spend the first couple weeks getting to know the in's and outs of the school. Get involved in clubs and organizations, they have a lot to offer. Take advantage of the free tutorial services. If you're looking to transfer, work VERY closely with your other school when choosing what courses to take, because each one costs you a lot of money and time. Have fun, you can really learn to love this place if you try.

    In three sentences

    Student Life is excellent and easy to become involved in. Humanities are excellent. Facilities leave something to be desired and food is expensive.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is security on campus

    Great for these types of students

    relaxed. not willing to pay a lot for the same education.

    Bang for the buck

    get used books if you can. and if you are transferring, it is a great 1st place to start.

    What to do for fun

    there are always games in the cafeteria.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten there

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    nothing so far has been to hard to handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    try online classes. stay on top of things.

    In three sentences

    it is cheaper than any other college. it is easy to transfer my credits within state. has been a good experience and I recommend it to incoming freshman.

  • 05/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They care about the safety of the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are amazing.

    What to do for fun

    Hang in the cafe, hang out with friends anywhere, go to the library, join some clubs

    Food and Dining

    Okay food, but too high of prices.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    There are some great classes and great teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join in the groups. The college is only a community college but it has great clubs.

    In three sentences

    Kankakee Community College is a good college to get your feet in the door. Some of the teachers are a blast to have and care about your goals and grade. It is a good start on your college journey.

  • 08/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always visible in the halls or out in the parking lots.

    What to do for fun

    There is a small rec area in the dining hall, aside from that there isn't much outside of leaving campus.

    Food and Dining

    A little overpriced for the quality received.

    Dorm Life

    Non existant

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is challenging yet explained will. The expectations are higher than most curricula, yet reasonable for the PTA field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to find books cheaper or rent them online and bring your own food with you for meals; it will help your wallet in the long run.

    In three sentences

    My PTA teachers are very accommodating, helpful, and always willing to stay late clearing up concepts that are, as they like to say, clear as mud. The quality of education I have received has helped a lot during my most recent clinical rotation and I am eager to continue learning more to ready myself further for the next. I am sure this experience will help prepare me for when I decide to further my education and become a DPT.