Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Kansas City Art Institute Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anything that has to do with art. Painters, drawers, sculpters, animators, design, photographers, printers, art historians, and writers.

    Tips for prospective students

    KCAI is very welcoming for new talent. Just make sure you have a good strong portfolio for review and make sure you know exactly that this is what you want to go into. Other than that just be ready for a great college experience in art!

    Bang for the buck

    Its pretty expensive...though that is to be expected from a private art school. I feel like I am getting my money's worth though. The housing situations cost a bit but I get a room and meals so its a good deal.

    Am enjoying being here

    Great enviornment. Everyone is super nice and they work their hardest to make it feel like home. The staff is very friendly and hardworking. I love the campus and the location, within walking distance of the plaza shopping district and right between the kemper and nelson atkins museum.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are really into their work. The love the subjects they teach and thus I feel like I'm really learning a lot about the subjects. Everything is clear and straight to the point, yet very in depth.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a thorough art education in a great city will love KCAI. It's a great experience for an art student and even though there are very few clubs, there is always something to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get as much financial help as possible. This school is going to cost you. My choices for schools with my major were very limited and I'm loving this school overall but I was not prepared for the extra little prices they'd be throwing in. I was able to keep my head a float but just be prepared.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm enjoying the experience but there is no doubt in my mind that this school is over priced. Students are constantly getting nickel and dimed and sent out to buy more of their own supplies. Considering how pricey the tuition already is, I can't help but feel that a lot of these costs should already be taken care of.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the atmosphere and student body. Though this obviously doesn't apply to every member of the student body, most people I've encountered on campus have been generally open and friendly. The campus is a bit small but active and is in a prime location that gives students the chance to interact with the surrounding city.

    Am learning a lot

    My education has been very thorough. KCAI's foundations program is great at pounding in the basics and getting you prepared for the years ahead. Teachers truly care about your work as they will give in depth critiques and suggest tips to improve your pieces.

  • 08/07/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I guess all art students. I wanted to go into Digital Art, however, and they really REALLY dragged their feet on that, so if you want to do something along those lines, I HIGHLY recommend going somewhere else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a car, most definitely, because the city doesn't have a lot to offer walking-distance from the school. If you can, try to get into Oak Place, because I heard it is so much nicer than the Living Center, and if you have a car, the distance from campus doesn't matter.

    Bang for the buck

    I got a pretty nice scholarship, but I hear that everyone does. For most people, it was the main reason they came to the school. If money matters more than anything, and you get a nice scholarship, go ahead. However, I personally do not feel like what money I spent on the school was worth it.

    Did enjoy being here

    Most of my time at KCAI was really awful. The dorms are a terrible place to live, and they take their own sweet time fixing things that need fixing. There was a throbbing noise all of my second semester that kept everyone awake at night and nothing was done about it for the longest time. The food is terrible and many days I would just eat cereal for every meal because the options are just that bad. We would often walk down to QT to get food. My only enjoyment came from the few friends I made, which had nothing to do with the school itself. You need a car to get basically anywhere and overall, my experience was just not something I'd wish upon anyone.

    Did learn a lot

    It could have just been the luck of the draw, but in my main foundations class, I learned almost nothing. I did not feel that it was worth my time being there. My liberal arts classes were okay; I only felt like one was stupendous.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, inspired, put their futures before parties.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work, the school has a fairly high drop rate because kids don't expect to have to work.

    Bang for the buck

    Freshmen get their moneys worth in wisdom, not supplies and work spaces.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful, plus being next to the Nelson Atkins Museum is a huge plus.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is just a phone call away and always there to keep you safe. there really isn't many cases of violence or robberies here.

    Greek Life

    does not exist here.

    Clubs and Activities

    there really aren't many clubs or activities here besides a sculpture club, print club, christian club, bacc club, and a few outside activities every now and then. there are lectures every week, though, and they are pretty interesting.

    Great for these types of students

    this is a great school for people wanting a serious, focused art education. it is also a good place for those wanting to go into ceramics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    art kids do weird things...

    Bang for the buck

    the environment really sold it for me. it is located in a nice, quiet place where you can take in nature and enjoy the surroundings.

    What to do for fun

    most of us live in studio, but there are quite a lot of parties nearby. there is also an art district of town where there are tons of galleries you can go to. there is an outdoor plaza with shops and restaurants within walking distance, but it can be difficult to do many other things if you do not have a car.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria could definitely use a lot of improvement. eating the same thing every week gets tiring. there are just not enough options, and the food usually doesn't taste very good anyway.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are pretty standard. small rooms with a central communal bathroom. kcai seems to be really good at matching you with the perfect roommate for you, though!

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging for those not accustomed to an environment that focuses on art all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    be serious about your artwork and come in with the intention of working hard and learning as much as you possibly can. open your mind to new ways of thinking and making art.

    In three sentences

    kansas city art institute provides an intensive education in the visual and liberal arts. the foundations program is great because you are able to take classes in a variety of different departments and explore tons of medias and processes so you can figure out what you love to do and what you want to major in. the environment is very friendly and small, so it feels like a family.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do feel safe in the area and especially on campus. They have security around at night on campus. You still don't want to go walking too far at night alone of course- but with a friend or on a bike you'll be fine. All the buildings on campus have an id lock that you just wave your card over, and in the dorms there is another to ride the elevator or take the stairs, so it's very secure. One minus, however, is that there are problems with theft sometimes- not within the dorms or studios, but the surrounding area around the school.

    Greek Life

    Nope.

    Bang for the buck

    While many think that the facilities should be better because of the tuition cost, lots of people are on scholarship and there really aren't that many students.

    What to do for fun

    On first fridays, all the galleries open for free at the Crossroads art district. You have to take a car or ride the bus to get there, but it's great and there are different shows up every month, as well as great funky food places to eat at while your out and about. Lots of people go, especially from KCAI, so it's not very hard to find a ride if you ask around. Even with only 3 classes you'll be really busy most of the time, and everyone looks forward for the opportunity to take a break en masse! It's true the school is pretty small- most of it is on one block, with the Kemper Museum of Modern Art across the street. On the other side of campus, also literally across the street is the Nelson Atkins Museum- and it is huge!! Both have free admission!

    Food and Dining

    There's a gas station and food/health store within easy walking distance. Catch a car ride to go to the Plaza, although it isn't such a bad bike ride- and it's where most of the shops and restaurants are. The cafeteria food is pretty good, but not the best. However, they have a really good salad bar, as well as vegetarian, and vegan options for all the meals.

    Dorm Life

    The area around the school is mostly apartments, which is nice because after freshman year you have to live off campus. In the middle of campus is a big green grassy area with pathways and nice shady trees to nap or read under. The dorms themselves are decent-laundry and bathrooms (that are cleaned everyday!) on all floors. Each student gets a bed that you can easily loft, a big plain desk with two drawers, and a wardrobe with two drawers on the bottom and hanging space (with enough space to stack more clothes). Carpet, and a window- but I wouldn't plan on bringing a plant until you know it's facing the south (i've heard many a sad tale from friends about some precious potted plants). If you go with a triple room, you'll be on the corner and get three windows. Doubles are pretty decent with plenty of space for my stuff, but triple rooms seem huge. Single rooms are the same as double rooms, minus the extra furniture. Each floor also has a hang out room with two comfy couches and a low table. There are two towers in the dorm building, with the first floor having a security desk, lobby with a nice tv, the cafeteria, really small gym room, conference room for clubs or study groups, info office, and student art gallery. The RAs are all pretty nice and will help with any questions or complaints. The basement of the dorms is where all the mailboxes are, as well as an art store with some basic snacks, necessities, and textbooks.

    Academic Rigor

    All the teachers like to be called by their first name and are pretty friendly. Freshman year you have your foundations class which is 4 hours long, either in the morning or afternoon, and also a writing class once a week and art history twice a week. The studios are open 'til 1am except for mid terms and the end of the first semester when they're open until 3am. The foundations building itself has many good-sized classrooms for the class sizes, which is about 13-15 students. You'll want to get to know your studio buddies 'cause you'll be spending a lot of time working together and in crit. Your first semester in foundations is split 3 ways between observational, design, and 3D- each studio does them at different times. The teachers have a lot of flexibility over what they think each section means, with some classes making cardboard boxes and drawing them for weeks on end. Lots of people come in with very specialized skills for the major they want to go in, but foundations gets everyone to learn some important basic skills for all those areas. There is also a woodshop workshop where they will have you make a stool using all of the tools in the shop, which is quite a lot. You do get an entire Adobe package from the school, so you get Photoshop for free! Plus all the school computers have it and Word. Second semester is also split up three ways, but you have a different teacher for each and you get to choose things you are more interested in, such as ceramics, calligraphy, architecture, photography, etc. Most people (depending on their schedule) have no classes on thursday, which gives you some much needed time to work on projects from your studio class or some of those big essays.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Jannes library has two fireplaces that you can request to have turned on for instant warmth, and lots more computers. I would recommend buying the tool/supplies kit they offer over the summer, because you will use everything in it many times over.

    In three sentences

    This is a small school, with a tight knit community. Everyone is very accepting. This school is in the middle of a city that loves art, and has many awesome opportunities!

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always a security officer in the dorm lobby at night, as well as patrolling guards across campus. they are always there if you need help, but there is little to no crime on campus.

    Greek Life

    there is none!

    Clubs and Activities

    there are only a handful of clubs on campus, but the existing clubs are highly involved. there are always a number of unofficial campus activities, like soccer on the quad, or different outings. the school is small enough that it is easy to develop a sense of community without clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is perfect for critical thinkers, hard workers, and people passionate about art!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the foundations building is a warehouse- like space with arrangeable walls, built to change with different projects and classes. it is a great, creative space meant to inspire!

    Bang for the buck

    although the school is very generous with financial aid, supply costs add up! this school is expensive to attend, but in exchange you get great one on one time with professors.

    What to do for fun

    check out the westport music scene, or do lunch and shopping in the plaza.

    Food and Dining

    the food is decent. there are always many options, but it is cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are small, with about 30 people per floor. there are a variety of living options, and the dining hall is conveniently located downstairs in the lobby.

    Academic Rigor

    expect to be in the studio for two to six hours a night. i have never been to a place more academically stimulating.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to work hard and make sure you save up money for supplies!

    In three sentences

    it is a rigorous and creative environment. it pushes the students to be creative and resourceful while developing their skills. it is a small, bustling community.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    From what I've heard, the food is horrible in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Eh, it seems pretty decent. The only thing I've heard from others is that there is some kind of weird noise at night that keeps you up or something like that.

    Academic Rigor

    Heard that it's rough but manageable. Only if you're up to the challenge.

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good. There are sketchy neighborhoods close by. There are occasional hold ups and car break ins, but it's not on a regular basis.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a lot, but a few possibilities.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are truly committed to a creative lifestyle this is the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    There are unlimited opportunities--art museums, theatres, bars, museums. The school is in a great part of town

    Food and Dining

    Not great, but passable.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on your roommate and placement.

    Academic Rigor

    Very tough

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be challenged in every way.

    In three sentences

    The faculty is great--supportive and dynamic. The program is rigorous--you will work you butt off. Great atmosphere for artists.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I really want to go see the campus. I learned a lot when one of the teachers come to my school!

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A few cars get broken into off of the streets, but security is walking on campus 24/7 and personal safety is nothing to fear.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is a bit pricy and you will be spending a bit extra during the semester on supplies, but it will influence your work positively

    What to do for fun

    Short distance from fun night scenes like Westport and the Power and Light District. Always an active art city with events like First Friday Gallery openings and open mic nights on campus for students.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the Kansas City area is worth a thousands words.

    Dorm Life

    Typical dorm experience, Living off campus is recommended

    Academic Rigor

    This school will challenge you mentally and skillfully.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and never give up, if you need help, someone will help you no matter what. You will never regret trying your best and you will never regret asking for advise, and this school is good for it.

    In three sentences

    A very open minded and attentive school focused on the achievement and success of the students. A full staff with as much desire as experience to guide the future of local artists and the community. This school is one of the best art undergraduate schools in the country.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security officers on campus are pretty well rounded. The school is in kind of a rough area, so sometimes incidents happen, but if you're smart then you've got nothing to worry about.

    Greek Life

    Umm...?

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many serious clubs, but the kitchen-staff will sometimes play kickball, and on occasion the school will take select kids to Royals Games.

    Great for these types of students

    Rich students, People who want to do art and little else, vegetarians, and artists hoping to grow.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's kind of an unusual school, so all of it is pretty far out. The Nelson Atkins Lawn in the Winter is the best, though.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't always feel that it's worth the money, but if you're in the right department it is. The teachers are pretty well worth it, though.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a whole lot of down time with assignment due-dates, but the location of the school makes a night on the Plaza easily accessible (Or Westport, if you're old enough).

    Food and Dining

    I really enjoyed the food selection in the cafeteria. It comes with Room and Board, and you can buy a separate meal plan if you're off campus. And the food is delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms was a treat. It's on campus, right near Freshman studios, and the food court is just downstairs (so is the art store and mail room). Roommates are a situation that varies for everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    The school's academic policies are unrealistic and a pain, but good for you if you can keep up. Being punished for attendance like high school is a little rough, and maintaining GPA is difficult, but if you can do that, the reward is worthwhile.

    Tips for prospective students

    Freshman year may seem intensive, but stick through it. Just tell yourself, over and over again, you're worth this effort. And when your instructor tells you drawing boxes 2000 times will help you in the years to come, don't argue: It does.

    In three sentences

    As good a school as can be, it blurs the lines between tradition and nontraditional in the realm of art. It opens doors to a variety of opportunity, and the teaching staff is usually top notch. It's expensive, but for many, it's worth the price.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the most friendly security departments ever.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any, and nobody minds.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of various arts clubs and extracurriculars to keep you busy if you somehow miraculously have time outside of studio to do anything.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard. Working.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    First Fridays: every first friday of the month all the cities' galleries open their doors for free.

    Bang for the buck

    Totally worth it, I'd reccomend this school to any hardworking artists ready and willing to improve themselves.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, city life, and the local arts and music scene make for a college experience unique to Kansas City.

    Food and Dining

    Coming from a boarding high school where dormies got to enjoy the luxuries of over-salted meat patties and lukewarm carrots on a daily basis, this cafeteria has many delicious options for meat eaters, vegetarians, and vegans alike.

    Dorm Life

    Sometimes gross, but what college dorm isn't? Depending on the floor/tower you get placed on, dorm life can either be hermit-living, or a social experience. I live on a very bubbling, sociable floor, where people always have doors open, and are having fun, whether that means the occasional grilled cheese/waffle party, study sessions, or movie nights.

    Academic Rigor

    Studio classes aren't you're run-of-the-mill high school art intro courses; they're rigorous, demanding, and sometimes infuriatingly difficult. Professors will have you working your rear off to finish assignments in time, as well as teaching you valuable art lessons ,all the while improving your personal artistic style as a whole.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare a well-rounded application portfolio that exhibits your technical abilities as well as conceptual works. Don't be afraid to contact KCAI's financial aid office for tips on how to save money, earn scholarships, and get student loans before applying, because, let's face it, art school is expensive and you're going to want to leave the school in the least amount of debt as humanly possible.

    In three sentences

    Studio classes are make it or break it; they will redefine your work ethic and build you into a better artist. The people are some of the most friendly, accepting, and interesting individuals you will ever come to know (I've only been here for two months and I've already made lifelong friends). The professors are amazing, not only for their extensive knowledge on subjects not limited to the one's they instruct, but also for their willingness to help pupils develop their interest in art/art history/writing.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards at the dorms and the foundations building at night and they can even escort you home if you ask for it. I feel very safe here but it's also your responibility to stay safe, meaning you probably shouldn't leave campus at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to be involved in such as: the Black Lungs soccer team, ArtPlay, the Art Space Student Advisory Committee Council, Quiltbag and much more.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of good bands that come to play in Kansas City. The Plaza is a great place to walk around and shop as well as the Westport district. Usually there are people outside on the greenspace of the school playing games or doing yoga.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is either a hit or miss. They have a lot of vegetarian and vegan options but the food isn't always great.

    Dorm Life

    I live on a coed floor and it can be really dirty but interesting when your floormates skateboard down the hall. Usually people stay up pretty late.

    Academic Rigor

    The first year it depends on who your professor is. My professor is a little more lenient than others but it's still a lot of work. With foundations you also have to balance 2 other liberal arts courses which can be really tough. You are expected to hand everything in at your best, on time.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on campus is very important. Starting at 8 p.m. there is always a person at the desk in the living center and by 11 p.m. there's a security police at the desk. There are always campus security around to help or to make sure the area is safe. After 1 am, if a student wishes they can be escort from the studios to the dorms or to their apartments.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of clubs that are mainly student organized. There's the printmaking club, art play (for charity work and community service), quiltbag (a club for discussions of sexual orientations), a bakery club where you taste pastries, a club for football, a club that enables you to learn new mediums and techniques, a club that allows you to expand your business knowledge.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, passionate students that have an enjoyment for art. And those who wish to expand their minds and skills set.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hedge jumping. There are hedges at the Nelson-Atkins Museum and at night you jump over one hedge after another until you reach the end. Hill Rolling. By the Roxy Payne silver tree at the Nelson-Atkins Museum you can roll down the hill. Thirsty Thursdays are celebrated every Thursdays. There's a lot of restaurants that support live bands and belly dancing. First Fridays are held every first Friday of every month, all the galleries open with new work in the crossroads and there are street performances as well as discounts on food and thrift stores.

    Bang for the buck

    The experience at KCAI helps you find yourself, for lack of better terms. It helps you create yourself and helps you realize what is truly important in your life. The school provides adequate learning techniques and you'll get a lot of experience with new things.

    What to do for fun

    The student life center will obtain free tickets to the movie theater, ballet center, Renaissance Festivals, zoo, and other activities. Limited tickets though so first come first serve. A five minute walk will take you to the plaza where there are stores and tourist attraction sites. Westport is a fifteen minute walk and there are many different restaurants and bakeries. The school is sandwiched between two amazing fine arts and contemporary arts museums. There's a basket ball court on campus as well as a tennis court by the plaza.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining has greatly improved with the new supervisor and food administrator. The staff has now been taking suggestions from the students. There is many choices of vegan, vegetarian, and glutton-free foods as well as meat foods. There's a salad bar and a potato bar. The deserts are great! There's tea and coffee and everyday serves different main dishes for lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life's experience is dependent on which floor you are assigned to and who your RA is. But typically, it's a very decent and fulfilling experience. Usually students are very respectful to one another and to the bathrooms as well as the lounge area. Respecting others and the school's property is taken very strictly. If something were to happen that is considered inappropriate, a meeting would be held and the Resident Administrator will speak to the students about the issue. This helps us to be informed about what is going on around campus and around our living area. This is a community and not just your typical dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    You have two choices of academic classes, art history and creative writing. But under these broad subjects are sub groups of classes that are available to you. The rigorousness of these classes vary depending on your professor. The art classes are extremely rigorous. Here, art is taken very seriously and it is up to the student to work hard with passion and enjoyment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard. Explore your passions and experiment with different mediums and ideas, thoughts. Get to know your peers and your professors. And especially go to the museums that are just one minute from campus. The city is a colorful place for inspiration so don't be afraid to go out and see the city. And most importantly, don't be afraid to fail sometimes, take risks, it'll help you grow and improve.

    In three sentences

    KCAI is an insightful school. You realize a lot of things about yourself and others. The professors are extremely helpful as long as you take the incentive to ask. They will talk with you about your personal problems, worries, successes, ideas.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The city is amazing. Visit the Crossroads on First Fridays

    Tips for prospective students

    Kansas City has a great arts community that has many jobs in the arts

    In three sentences

    Great school to really get the best education in the art and design. The great faculty and professors give valued knowledge that promotes health learning. The school to go to if your passionate about art.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They do not have a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Is amazing

    Academic Rigor

    12 hrs a week.

    In three sentences

    The school is amazing. I wish i would of came here sooner. i love my professors there great.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone seems friendly and open at the Art Institute, but you never know when something may happen; college is just as safe as high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Compared to the Art Institute in Nashville, the one in Missouri is small: Definitely needs more space!

    What to do for fun

    Anything cheap and doesn't involve too much physical/mental labor is fun when you're a college student.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dinning is great when you get the chance, but with college expenses and everything else outside of school, it's more like what am I going to do with my ramen noodles tonight?

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be fun, but it can also be like hell. The dorm life really depends on the people you house with and how it interferes with your schedule. I've went through it for a few months, and I had to move out of there!

    Academic Rigor

    School work is overwhelming and very stressful, but I try my hardest to get all As, or at least get my homework done and turned in on time... and if all else fails at least I tried. So far I have all As and Bs.

    Tips for prospective students

    With expenses, school work, a job, and a decent social life; school is stressful. Try not to worry about the small things, and most importantly do not procrastinate: it makes everything easier in the end. I know everyone likes to have fun, but work first play later: it turns out better in the long run.

    In three sentences

    The Art Institute here is good, but the one in Nashville is so much better. The school could use more space, and though it's new, the staff should be more aware and informative for their students (especially the new students). On a scale from one to ten, ten being the best (leaving Art Institute of Nashville at nine), I rate the Art Institute of Missouri a six.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security on duty.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs like the Black Artists club.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love to draw paint design anything you will feel right at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cafe Nerman is very popular among the coffee lovers.

    Bang for the buck

    The education you will recieve is top knotch.

    What to do for fun

    Visit downtown Kansas City or go for a walk on the Plaza.

    Food and Dining

    The lunch room is very friendly and inviting.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very expensive and very small.

    Academic Rigor

    It is good to have taken art classes prior to attending this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip is do your best on your portfolio because you get a scholarship based upon it.

    In three sentences

    This school offers top education in several fields of art. They have an excellent reputation and are very personalable with all of their students. The Art Institute will even help you find work after college.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Compared to most school cafeterias, the food is descent. However, they often have really strange combinations of things. But overall it is good.

    Dorm Life

    Like any college dorm, the lack of privacy and space is a little unsettling at first, but you adapt. The rooms are actually bigger than I had expected before I moved into the dorms. The bathrooms are always clean and the staff are incredibly nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of the courses is challenging and rightfully so. Though stressful at times, the work pays off. You learn to do things you never thought you could. It pushes you to become a better artist, a better writer, and overall a better thinker.

    In three sentences

    Kansas City Art Institute is a great school for the acquiring mind. The work load is intense but the end reward is priceless. I have accomplished things I never thought I could due to the way they stretch and shape your mind.

  • 04/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For the art students, even though we have the art store down stairs, there are other art stores with usually better prices that are in the area. Creative Cold Snow gives KCAI half off if we have our ID with the year sticker on it. There is a Starbucks down the street from campus and a lot of students go there on free time or just to relax.

    What to do for fun

    In the middle of campus there is a big field, during the spring and fall time when the weather is perfect, the students are playing outside. The is also a bunch of people that play video games together or watch movies. The plaza isn't too far from campus so a lot of kids walk or drive there to hang out or go eat or watch the newest movie. There are many things that the students do for fun but it all depends on the people you become friends with and what you like to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is the perfect size for the amount of students that live on campus, when applying for a room there is also the food service. Monday - Friday has breakfast 7:15 to 9, lunch 11 to 1, and dinner 4:45 to 6. On Saturday and Sunday, there is brunch from 11 to 1 and dinner from 4:45 to 6. Breakfast is generally the same with a few changes. Lunch is Mystery Meat Monday, not knowing what lunch is ever going to be, Taco Tuesday, Wok Wednesday for stir fry or other Chinese food, chicken strip Thursday and sometimes fish Friday. The food has its off days but sometimes the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, they may not be the best but they are more for relaxing, sleeping and sometimes studying. Studio is a big part of art students life and it may take up most of your time so the dorm is a great place to be at when you are tired or worn out. The dorms are divided by north and south tower, and there are co-ed floors, all boys or all girls floors and even a neutral gender floor. Each floor shares a community bathroom with about five stalls and showers each. There is also a washer and dryer on each floor each a dollar and 25 cents. Each floor also has its own lobby with couches and tables to hang out at, it is also the place where we meet for floor meeting, which are once a month. The main floor has the cafeteria, a fitness room, conference room which is normally used for study groups, and a gallery. Below that there is the art store, for convenience which also has our mail boxes and any packages we get. The building has key card access so it is secure and there are also security guards that will help you if you need it. Each dorm room comes with two beds, two desks and 2 wardrobes, even if you apply for a one person room. There are the opportunities to have a single, double or triple room. The dorms is supposed to be getting Google fibers soon. Overall the dorm is my second home.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors and academic advisers that I have encountered have always encouraged me to work harder. If you slack or get a low letter grade on a test or exam then they normally send you an email stating that there are ways to help improve the grade and get what you want. The foundation teachers want you to work hard in studio and can tell how long you worked or if it was a last minute thing. Everything counts at the Kansas City Art Institute.

    Tips for prospective students

    The freshman year starts out with foundations and spring semester is when the students declare their major because it may change through out the foundation year. There are also different activities that help the student decide what their major is. After first semester, the students get to pick the schedule they want. It is a lot of work and studying to keep up the grades but that is what art school is. I have learned a lot freshmen year, foundations was a blast and my lessons will help me out in my future major.

    In three sentences

    The professors are great people and are nothing like high school teachers. The dorms aren't too bad, the RAs are awesome but the food can be iffy sometimes. The campus is beautiful and small so it doesn't take long to get to class.