Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Kansas City Kansas Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A student who wants to pay less for core classes, only needs an Associates degree, or maybe wants to live at home or not in dorms for the first couple of years of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to find a mode of transportation around the area. KCKCC does not have dorms, so whether you walk, take the bus, or bring your own vehicle, you will need to have a way to places besides the school.

    Bang for the buck

    KCKCC offers a quality Associates degree for a very affordable price. This college is located in Wyandotte County, which is considered the lower-class area of Kansas City, Kansas. Still, the college has a nice campus without the students paying for it, and also has everything you might want or need within 10 miles.

    Am enjoying being here

    KCKCC actually is quite diverse in the students that attend and also the types of classes they offer. It is easy to find somewhere to fit in at this college.

    Am learning a lot

    Because KCKCC is a community college, classes here can be a lot more laid back and easier than those at a 4 year university. As with any college though, if you want to learn a lot, you have to push yourself.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are undecided in their major, looking for a two year college, small classroom sizes, helpful teachers, and a great price for education beyond high school. If you like groups, clubs, etc (or even like to smile and say Hi to people) - kckcc would be great for you because they really take their after-class activities serious and love expanding their groups to make a difference in local communities.

    Tips for prospective students

    KCKCC now offers some form of housing/dorming. If you don't want to live on campus I'd recommend looking in Northern Shawnee Mission or Western Wyandotte area. They are both close to the school, in good, safe communities, and by major highways so traveling to kckcc would be easy. KCKCC does offer/have local bus transportations at certain times of the days. Traveling by your own means of transportation would be easier. Also I recommend becoming a part of PTK (Phi Theta Kappa). It looks good when transferring out and really helps when getting additional scholarships to universities. If you can also enroll as a Presidential Student so you don't have to pay for the classes and have $500 of books covered.

    Bang for the buck

    Free schooling? Why not?! KCKCC offered the Honors Presidential Scholarship to me for having a great GPA in high school, for taking dual credits with them while in high school, and for having good scores on their test called The Accuplacer. Of course there are other ways to obtain this free school scholarship, but free schooling beyond high school was a great option for me. There classes are also very affordable if there isn't a scholarship available.

    Am enjoying being here

    I find the campus is very easy to navigate. Also the students and staff are friendly and are willing to help if anyone were to have questions. I've met some great people here too and enjoy the classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The class size is perfect! Teachers are willing to help, spend extra time with their students, and plan out-of-class meetings with their students to make sure everything is going as the student has expected. Great material and in-depth topic classes usually. I recommend doing some research to find the teachers who teach honors classes. Those teachers REALLY care about you and your grade.

  • 10/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Undecided.. Middle-class (those who don't qualify for tremendous amounts of financial aid via FAFSA), those not wanting to shell out big bucks for silly classes that everyone takes in their college career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join Phi-Theta-Kappa, the Honors Program, and take honors classes.. Honors profs are amazing, and quite helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    If you've recently graduated from high school with stellar grades (I had a 3.87 and 28 ACT), but aren't sure of what to do with your life, I would definitely recommend you spend the first few semesters here taking gen ed classes for free. A presidential scholarship offered from the college pays everything (Tuition, books, etc) while giving you the ability to sell your books back, allowing you to feel out a wide variety of prospective career venues before taking the big financial leap into larger four-year institutions.

    Am enjoying being here

    Meh.. It's community college, so you'll be exposed to people who are - quite frankly - lazy, unmotivated, and rude.. My honors classmates are the exception, however, and I'm able to strike up good conversations with friends from high school.. Still, it seems like a watered down version of high school in regards to social life, and I can't wait to transfer out to spare myself the boredom.

    Am learning a lot

    I was given a presidential scholarship, so I was able to blow through my first two years without paying a single cent. Especially for the honors program, the college has AMAZING professors that moonlight at the community college on their off days from big unis, and actually care about their students.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police are always driving around the school or sitting in the parking lots, especially when it gets dark so i feel safe walking out to my car at night.

    Greek Life

    i honestly don't know a lot about the greek life other then that we have the phi theta kappa honor society where top students are picked for the club and you work on projects to show at conferences.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have some sports like baseball, softball, and basketball for those interested in that. there's a ton of clubs like art, drama, choir, forensics, etc. i just wish they added some more sports or at least a dance team.

    What to do for fun

    go to the legends shopping center where there's the mall, race track, soccer stadium, casino,and restaurants, or jump on the interstate and go down town to kansas city, mo where there is a ton of stuff to find and do.

    Food and Dining

    food is alright. there is a little cafe on the campus that seems a little expensive for the food and i think the food could be better.

    Dorm Life

    i never lived in the dorms so i'm not really sure what they are like but they are at least in decent walking distance from the school and not so sure i like the area that the dorms are in.

    Academic Rigor

    most of all classes iv'e taken have been challenging and most of the teachers are nice and more then happy to help you if you ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    college life is different so put yourself out there and get involved so you can make friends easier. there are a ton of different groups and activites you can join.

    In three sentences

    kck is a good school that is inexpensive and you still get the curriculum you need. also the teachers are very helpful that iv'e had so far.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the college is cheap and you definitely get the education you pay for. the work is not hard or challenging and definitely is not good for preparing you to go on for your bachelor's degree.

    What to do for fun

    there are not very many activities at the school that you will see. there are a lot of clubs, but they are not pushing people to get involved and they do not advertise any activities going on.

    Food and Dining

    you will have a choice to pay a lot of money for food from the bakery or a lot of money of coffee from the coffee shop. there is no dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the acedemics are not difficult at all. most classes are not hard on when you turn assignments in or how they are done. the work is really easy; almost like high school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to not have a lot of activities to be involved in and not be pushed to be involved. people will not try to get to know you and will not try to get you included in different activities. the students at kckcc will be there to learn and nothing else.

    In three sentences

    kansas city kansas community college feels to me more like a high school than a college. the feel of the college is more of just a place you go to get an education than a place to be a part of something. i walk into johnson county community college and there is a much stronger feel of community and togetherness.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police is always around even if you dont see them, they keep you safe, no problems.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is great, they do alot of fun things to help out and for them to look fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    Leavenworth center doesnt really have none, you have to go to the main campus for that.

    Great for these types of students

    join a greek get a study group help students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    dont really have any.

    Bang for the buck

    you will get your money worth. Its not that expensive.

    What to do for fun

    STUDY STUDY STUDY, unless you live close to the main campus then there is more things to do.

    Food and Dining

    I go to the leavenworth center and they dont have alot of food, they have a little snack bar but its really good but high.

    Dorm Life

    Dont stay on the dorms but they look nice and is comfortable for a college student.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are not hard at all. If you do all your homework and do good on your test you are fine, the teachers work with you and help you improve if they know thats what you are trying to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on top of your work, if you need help ask for it because if you dont then you will struggle and thats not a good thing. Study is the main thing to do and just have fun, get in a study group.

    In three sentences

    This school is very helpful.They are always there to solve and help with your problems. This is a community college so they class are small and you can learn more then you could if you was going to a university.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police, but whenever you walk around, you hardly see any.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students wanting to save money, and getting your general science out of the way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    sometimes, there are gloomy crowds, so be careful.

    Food and Dining

    I dont eat here.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in dorms, i hear they are gloomy.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are of all types, but beware of racist professors.

    In three sentences

    KCKCC is a great school for getting your general science out of the way. It also allows you to save much more money that taking university classes.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    KCKCC has 24/7 campus police patrolling and have cameras everywhere. They do their best to keep everyone safe but unfortunately they can't keep those from the outside who aren't students from entering campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have several clubs but participation is minimal and no one really seems to be enthusiastic about the club they're in.

    Great for these types of students

    It's very diverse and accommodating to those with disabilities or special needs.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a decent price for getting general education requirements out of the way but I wouldn't recommend it's nursing program or any program that will require a BSN down the road.

    What to do for fun

    The Legends shopping center is not to far away and is great entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Don't even bother counting on eating on campus. The food there is a joke and really expensive. Go off-campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are new at KCKCC and there have already been a few incidents involving drugs and in one case, a gun.

    Academic Rigor

    They have classes that are as challenging as you want to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan on researching all answers to questions you might have, the admin staff is not very friendly or helpful. If you do have questions, one of your professors or another student is usually very helpful. Classrooms are set up so that they are easy to find.

    In three sentences

    Some of the best teachers I've ever had. The WORST Administration staff. Very diverse population.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go out

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and go to class

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Kansas City metro area has many options for fun. The Legends is right down the street with major league soccer, T-Bones baseball, shopping and dining.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They have an honors program for those that meet the criteria.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take an online class to free up your schedule and work around your job.

    In three sentences

    KCKCC is an affordable option for students. I have attended via online classes for a couple years. The process is easy and works with my schedule and my budget. I would recommend going to KCKCC before transferring to a four year university.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are always patrolling the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students that want to transfer to a 4 year college or university.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to save money, this is the place to go to get your general education classes out of the way.

    What to do for fun

    I work. I haven't participated in a lot of the activities available at KCK because they don't appeal to me.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at the school so I can't say...

    Dorm Life

    The school is in a more ethnically diverse part of KCK, so there is the occasional shooting on or off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the teacher you get, like any school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be discouraged by the bad administration at the school. The teachers are much better and it is easier to sign up online than dealing with the people in the admin office.

    In three sentences

    KCKCC has great teachers! The campus is old and needs to be revitalized. It is a good place to go to get your general education classes out of the way.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have phones on the outside of campus that you can call 911 from if needed. They also have campus police that are patrolling 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of clubs and activities. If I didn't have to worry about my children, I would be joining a few of them.

    What to do for fun

    KCKCC has a lot of different services and clubs/organizations to offer. Check out Student Services and they can talk to you about every thing they have to offer.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is very tasty and not bland cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have enrolled and financial aid figured out well ahead of time to ensure you will be able to start school when needed. If you have any questions, call them or go to campus, every one is very helpful and informational.

    In three sentences

    I love all the diversity at this school. They have a lot of clubs, organizations and programs to offer for almost every interest. All my teachers are very dedicated and help me with every question, every one is very helpful.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police is always around 24/7 they are driving around the parking lot and walking the halls. The campus even has a police building where you can go and report any type of situation.

    Greek Life

    Not to sure but I know they have the Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs from Drama to Debate and even Music club just to name a few. If none of the clubs interests you, you can make one up yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    The students are friendly, welcoming, helpful, and encouraging.

    Bang for the buck

    You really get for what you pay for. I have herd of past students who have attended KCKCC and then transferred to a university and the university didn't know what to teach them because they've learned too much at KCKCC.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun like, joining clubs and attending open mic sessions and listening to well known comedians. The lists goes on and on it all depends on what you want to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is amazing, I'm not going to lie it is a bit exspensive but it is like because the money goes towards the college organizations. It is worth the dollar you receive fresh food everyday.

    Dorm Life

    This is the only community college that I know that have dorms for the students. I myself do not live the dorms because I already had my own place before attending this college. But I have talked to some of the students that do live in the dorms and they said that they couldn't be happier.

    Academic Rigor

    The college also have places where you can go and receive help on any type of general course area. You can also sign up for a private tutor and have the college help pay for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone who is interested in wanted to go to this college I highly recommend you do because they will help you and welcome you with open arms.

    In three sentences

    This is the best school so far that I have attended. The teachers are understanding and helpful in any type of situation, and they are all about making sure the students understand what is being taught.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play sports

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, and study again.

    In three sentences

    good teachers. great location.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student activities.

    Great for these types of students

    For everybody.

    What to do for fun

    Dance

    Food and Dining

    Yummy.

    Academic Rigor

    Not bad

    Tips for prospective students

    Be cool.

    In three sentences

    Great school. Friendly instructors. Nice place.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out in the lounge areas, study with friends and grab some scooters coffee :)

    Tips for prospective students

    take lots of notes and don't hesitate to ask the professors any questions you may have.

    In three sentences

    A place where I can have a close and real communication with my professors and the environment makes me feel welcomed. Very good experience so far!

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always around campus! They also have safety stations that you can go to and push a button and campus police will come to it!

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa is a popular program at KCKCC. Depending on what degree you go on they also offer different clubs you can join!

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing Athletics Respiratory Therapy

    Bang for the buck

    Credit hours are cheap! Definitely worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Legends shopping mall is located 5 miles away from the college! Casino right across from mall and theres tons of eating places there! Also movie theater in the mall! Dave and Busters is lots of fun!

    Food and Dining

    MeMa's just got put in last year! Along with a coffee shop named Scooters! Excellent coffee and food!

    Dorm Life

    Didn't live in dorms! But they do have apartments that are right across from the school! Literally 15 seconds from the school!

    Academic Rigor

    Online and lecture courses are excellent at KCKCC! I do recommend getting your books on the web (Chegg, ebay or amazon)

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around about different teachers! Advisor will give you helpful tips on on teachers! Look into Phi Theta Kappa!

    In three sentences

    KCKCC is an amazing college to attend! If your looking for a small college where you can have small classes and one and one attention then KCKC is perfect!

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is really good. i feel self when i am on campus.

    Greek Life

    the greek life is ok

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities are also very good.

    Great for these types of students

    Kansas City Kansas Community college is great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know an unusual tradition on campus

    Bang for the buck

    you can safe a lot of money at Kansas City Kansas community college.

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends or go out to eat with friends to enjoy yourself from all the hard studying you will be doing.

    Food and Dining

    The food is also there.

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    is very good

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus on your work and make good grades.

    In three sentences

    Kansas City KS is a very good school for people that want to attend a community college. the cost of classes and books are good.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Kansas City Kansas police officers on duty 24/7 there, patrolling the parking lots, building and dorms.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide variety of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all willing to go to class and work to get the best out of the classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Very few places where you can get a good education on the cheap, KCKCC is one of those places.

    What to do for fun

    Many campus activities like Jazz in the Park, theater productions musical ensembles.

    Food and Dining

    Unknown.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown.

    Academic Rigor

    The more technical classes like nursing, pharmacology and fire science are a little more difficult but the general education classes are easy A's.

    Tips for prospective students

    Greatest advice I can give is to start the process about two or three months prior to the semester beginning. And try to rent your books from a site such as chegg or amazon. You'll save alot of money!

    In three sentences

    It is great for students who work during the day and are trying to further their education while still working full-time. Unfortunately, the process of getting financial aid and enrolling seems to be a full-day adventure.

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is one of the best things at Kckcc. There is an officer at every corner and driving around campus. You will always feel secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There was plenty of clubs to join like Art and Student Senate.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs to join and also hanging around campus and meeting new people is fun too.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining was good. There was plenty of options and also Scooter's! great place to get coffee.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was really good. They provided you with a nice clean dorm and great parking.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are a little watered down but definitely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you feel you are not ready for a university just yet come to Kckcc. They will prepare you. You will definitely learn some good study habits.

    In three sentences

    At Kansas City Kansas Community College I'm developing good study habits. It is a really good school, because the teachers really work with you and want you to learn. They also provide you with tutors to help you too.

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Though not in the best neighborhood I've never felt unsafe when on campus

    Greek Life

    Oh phi theta kappa for awesome grades

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi thefts kappa for awesome grades

    Great for these types of students

    Students not wanting to waste money on prerequisites before transferring to a university. Also goo for those who are trying to get a taste of college, though community college is nothing like traditional university life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hmm. We have an inter cultural center, although its more of an office than a center. That's about as unusual as it gets.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap cheap cheap. But just make sure if you are transferring that you check with the school to verify that all your credits transfer.

    What to do for fun

    In kck? Not much, but Kansas city is only 15 minutes away and there is a lot to do there.

    Food and Dining

    Limited. Scooters coffee is good but no real food on campus. There used to be but they closed up and left. Zero healthy options

    Dorm Life

    I haven't stayed in the dorm. It's more of an apartment complex that is run down and I hear isn't very pleasant to stay in.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers challenge you more than others. Nutrition and microbiology were really challenging but attainable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your taking science courses... Study. Curtis Smith is the best teacher. Advise taking chemistry in the summer as Dr. Ansari is great and you get it over with faster

    In three sentences

    Great for science and math. Teachers are usually really easy, almost not challenging. But overall my experience has been good.