Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Kansas Wesleyan University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is a little bit of everything here. There are people involved in debate, forensics, theater, choir, band, orchestra, soccer, tennis, football, dance, cheer, and the list goes on. There are people you look at and wonder how they ever graduated high school who are succeeding and there are people who could have been teaching the high school courses that are being challenged. The teachers are so good at teaching to fit the students' needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to schedule a visit. I was going to a different school up until the July before school started in August. I had housing, a schedule, student ID, everything. I toured KWU because I had a friend who attended here. Immediately, my mind was changed. Within a month, I was completely ready to begin my education at KWU and I have not regretted it at all.

    Bang for the buck

    It was less expensive for me to go to Kansas Wesleyan than any other state school because of the amount of scholarships I received. Also, with large colleges and universities, it is the teaching assistant or a graduate student who teaches the course, not the teacher. At KWU, the teachers always teach the course, never a replacement.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone knows everyone else. This is positive because it is easy to meet people and easy to communicate with them outside of the classroom. The campus is enjoyable because there is a low stress level everywhere. The grounds are beautiful and provide a relaxing atmosphere.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are amazing. The classes are small enough that the teacher knows your name, is willing to help you individually, and you know most of your classmates both in the classroom and out of it. The teachers have a way of covering the same topic in the different aspects of the subjects. For example, in an education class, it covers how to educate students with disabilities, while a psychology class covers how those students develop.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe and beautiful to just sit around and read or play some football.

    Greek Life

    Their is not much I can say about this area.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus and off campus. This school has a lot to offer and does many things with the community.

    Great for these types of students

    For strong student athletes looking for a good place to get their education and play sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have indie runs every now and then in the guy dorms and all the incoming freshmen for soccer get their head shaved.

    Bang for the buck

    You do get what you pay for here and they have a lot to offer.

    What to do for fun

    For fun we get together with all they guys and girls and go out for dinner or to Wichita or Kansas City on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food here could be extremely better. I personally think its disgusting and needs improvement, at least the fruit.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fun because you get to meet new friends but the bad part of this is probably all the problems the building has because its so old.

    Academic Rigor

    When it comes to academics, Wesleyan is strict and exceeds. The professors teach in a very great way and its easy to learn the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think you should get ready for a great and new experience and just be prepared to have fun.

    In three sentences

    Kansas Wesleyan has taught me about morals and education.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all types of students, traditional, non- traditional,athletes.

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on, a club activity, a game, even meditation. always open to new ideas.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    you only get what you put into it!

    Tips for prospective students

    the classes are small, makes learning easier.come visit!

    In three sentences

    a great school.many options for your major.great staff.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    My volleyball coach is great! And a lot of the teams here are pretty decent too. Soccer is awesome as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Horrible

    Tips for prospective students

    I only came here for a sport, don't come otherwise.

    In three sentences

    I would give Kansas Wesleyan a 3 out of 10. Their financial/enrollment and Business offices are not helpful. They make you feel like they don't want to help you.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The campus is smaller and has an emphasis on business. Their track team is developing and are looking for athletes, especially throwers. Check them out if you like the midwest

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Meal plan is getting worked on.

    Dorm Life

    Needs a little work on some dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class regularly.

    In three sentences

    It is a small school. You get time with your professors. Salina is a college town.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is getting better throughout time. It's different almost every day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a lot of fun. You normally are on a floor with other people you know and if you don't know them you will sure enough.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors get to know you and are very helpful. They understand when you're late or absent if you talk to them. Also very understanding with sports or events.

  • 11/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are not too strict here but nobody has gotten hurt. I feel very safe here

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of clubsand actives too many to name

    Great for these types of students

    Athelets, people going into nursing, and theater.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is the statue of the coyote. It is said if you rub his nose you get good luck. There is a wishing well but be carefull who you kiss in front of it because it is said that if you kiss someone in front of it you will marry them!

    What to do for fun

    There is a coyote activy board, whicch is a club were they set up activies for the student body. The have movie on the lawn, coyote gaes( nock off of hunger games coyote style), and tons of other actvies.

    Food and Dining

    The caf is all you can eat. If you live on campus the meal plan is included with tuition. The food is not bad for the most part. There is also a place called the den, which has snacks and a new burrito place.

    Dorm Life

    The wesleyan dorm is a coed dorm. The rooms are kinda small, but you are not in there very often. The piefer dorms is all girl. It has a walk in closet a bathroo in the room and tons of space. The wilson is the all boys dorm. I do not know much about it though.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors work with you and there is a student success center, which is a tutoring center for every class you may have.

    Tips for prospective students

    read your textbooks! You bought them for a reason so use them. Be social and put your self out there!

    In three sentences

    Kwu is an awesome school; it has small class sizes, and professors will work with you one on one. Most of the student body are athelets, so if you are an athelet you will get alone great, if not you might have to work a little harder to fit in. There is also an awesome work out room, a student sucess center, and they are buliding a new statium soon!