Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Kapiolani Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a quality education but may not be in the best financial situation. Students who are not sure of where they want to go or what they want to do yet, Kapiolani offers numerous amounts of seminars, counselor guidance and other tools for helping with those hard decisions. Also anyone who wants to live in a friendly environment and gain a greater sense of knowledge and build everlasting friendships.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your classes soon, because if you wait to late you might have a schedule that can interfere with your life. Speak with your teachers, many of the teachers at Kapiolani are very interactive and tend to build a connection with their students. knowing your teachers can help one alot if they are confused. Get your student I.D., the University of Hawaii at Manoa and Kapiolani hold many events such as concerts and other events, and bringing your student I.D. can get you in for free!

    Bang for the buck

    Being that tuition and classes can come out to around 2000$, it can really save ones money. Kapiolani also has various school deals including a reduced bus pass making it easier for students to reach the school from anywhere on Oahu. They also have a book store where they sell anything from laptops to note paper.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school has a very good atmosphere, with a diverse student body to match. The campus is in a very convenient location and provides a numerous amount of services. Some of which include; blood drives, passport office, ice cream socials, talent shows, plays, farmers market and much more. Overall the school provides an excellent environment for any student.

    Am learning a lot

    During this year I feel that Kapiolani Community College is doing a excellent job in providing a quality education for their students. With many courses to choose from, any student can create a schedule that fits their day perfectly. The faculty of Kapiolani are extremely educated and make connections with most of their students making it easier for first year students to adjust to college life. Kapiolani also has a variety of educational resources such as computers, printers, a giant library and many counselors ready to help any student.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    TALK TO YOUR TEACHERS! You'll be glad you did :) Asking for help does not mean you're dumb, and becoming friends with the teacher does not mean you're a brown-noser. When it comes time for recommendation letters to be written, you'll understand why it is so important to create good relationships with your teachers (so don't forget to make a good impression!). If you're a good student, and you get the teacher's attention, you'll be sure to get good recommendations (which you will DEFINITELY need).

    Bang for the buck

    Most definitely getting the most bang for my buck. The school is really good about providing financial aid to students who need and deserve it, especially during these tough economical times. Plus, the classes I am taking are general education requirements which are equivalent to those at the University of Hawaii, but I am paying WAY less. DEFINTELY getting the most bang for my buck at KCC!!!

    Am enjoying being here

    It's kind of hard to make friends if you don't already have any going in, but people are really nice and teachers are very helpful. The smaller class sizes are more intimate, making for a better learning environment where the professors actually know who you are!

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at KCC emphasize LEARNING, not just memorizing information for tests. They want us to obtain skills that will help us in the work force (knowing that force equals mass times acceleration is NOT one of those skills). They teach students how to think critically; they teach students how to be open-minded and understanding; they teach students how to learn. It's the level of thinking that matters, and I'm glad that KCC is teaching me how to reach higher levels of thinking, and is not merely stuffing my brain with facts.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus i must say. the students here are very laidback and i really think it's because of it's atmosphere that we are in hawaii and where the campus lies, the air around the campus is very cool, not too hot and of course not ever too cold!

    Greek Life

    i'm not sure if we do have this or at least i've never heard of anything yet!

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many club and activities to do. last year of spring of 2011 i entered a talent competition. i played the piano and sung. though i did not win the ultimate prize of a $500 gift card, i enjoyed myself and i did what i love to do. i also enjoyed watching the other contestants do their talent, whether it was singing, dancing, poetry, it was great to see that there are people doing these kinds of things instead of being on the internet and playing video games.

    Great for these types of students

    we are typically known for hospitality (people who want to go into hotel business, nursing, etc) and culinary arts. if you have a passion for this, this school will be great for you!

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of resources around the area of kcc. i am a tennis player and sometimes right after school i would want to play tennis and get my stress out from a hard day of school. luckily there tennis courts around the premises of the campus. i counted about 10 already. there is jogging that people usually do around waikiki. not only that, but diamond head which is right next to our school, there is a hiking trail which you could do. and of course, the shopping in the heart of waikiki. i mean, how can you wrong with that, right?

    Food and Dining

    kcc is known for culinary arts out of the other community colleges on oahu. they don't just make grilled cheese, they really put passion into their work. we also have our own restaurant on campus! the food is impeccable. you must try.

    Dorm Life

    there is dorm life for kcc students but i never done it so i can't really specify if it's a good thing or not. all i know is, the places where you stay is in the heart of waikiki. so if you can find something wrong with that, then by all means let me know about that.

    Academic Rigor

    very intense! however, i was fortunate enough to go to an online high school where they prepared us for college curriculum and set us ready for the higher and intense courses that we would take in college. you know, i was taught that no matter how hard it may seem it's never impossible to do. there is always a way to do something hard. you just have to pull through!

    Tips for prospective students

    learn everything you can from you instructors. education is the gateway to success and you want to strive in every class with excellence. the teachers are there to help you, just open your mouth.

    In three sentences

    the best community college there is on the island! the teachers that i had in the past were very knowledgeable and understood what they were teaching. the atmosphere of the campus is very clam and serene and what's not to like that we're right next to diamond head and waikiki?

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a safe college with campus securities always patrolling around the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    International club, Bible, and other, there are also other clubs and activities that students can participate.

    Great for these types of students

    International, Culinary, Nursing, EMT, Rad Tech.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    International Day, where students represents and share their traditions and culture.

    Bang for the buck

    Has Financial Aid

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of different clubs, and events that students could join while attending KCC, such as the international club, bible club, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is also great, it is being run by culinary arts students, which is I believe a great opportunity to experience on the job training.

    Academic Rigor

    KCC is known for its culinary arts, EMT, Nursing, Rad Tech and other great programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    KCC is a great college, with lots of resources for student that helps in academics, would definitely recommend it to other students.

    In three sentences

    Very international student friendly. Very diverged. The best community college in Hawaii

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security on duty 24/7 along with call boxes and the campus alerts the students of security and emergency numbers. There also information classes education everyone on safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are lacking but the education is not.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves diversity. The college has a large Asian group as well as people from all around the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ethnic week event brings in traditions from Japan, china, and other Asian groups

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot of education for a low price in an exotic tropical setting.

    What to do for fun

    There is movies, ethnic programs, poetry slams and ice cream socials weekly.

    Food and Dining

    The food is local and fresh. The students in the dietary department assist in preparation and in presentation. The price is between $5. 00 and $10. 00 a plate for most meals.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be difficult, but the instructors are great at helping.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do all your homework assignments, your will pass the class even if your tests are mediocre.

    In three sentences

    Great value for your education. Instructors are knowledgable and helpful. Great views of the ocean in a quiet setting.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a community school in a good neighborhood. You're safe, but there is always campus security if you do need anything.

    Greek Life

    There are honor societies, but not really any sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for anything. Get enough people together and you can start your own. Any clubs I wanted to join were always available, and at various times, not just the one day at the same time I have class every week.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for everyone. If you're straight out of high school, this is a great place to start. If you're coming back to school or starting late, this is a fantastic school that has day and night time classes along with online classes to help you work around your busy schedule.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    KCC has amazing cactus gardens that you can get clippings from if you want to grow your own. There are also two farmers markets on campus on Tuesday and Saturday, where you can get cheap fresh fruits and amazing food already prepared. KCC's culinary school also has a booth there where they sell organic freshly prepared food!

    Bang for the buck

    This is an excellent school for the money you pay. I give this 5 stars because while it is a community college, it lives up to the University of Hawai'i standards of excellence. All your classes transfer when you are going to any of the schools within the UH system.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved! They have random movie showings, ice cream socials, and beach cleanups. Since you are on beautiful O'ahu, go out and do some hikes, go paddle boarding or surfing, and enjoy the amazing things nature has to offer. There is also Waikiki about 5 minutes away if you want night life.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of options for food. KCC has a cafeteria, subway, and the amazing culinary school has their own restaurant/spot which is fully sustainable. I give five stars for the great prices and the sustainability factor, which KCC constantly tries to improve.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms on campus, but they have housing for KCC in Waikiki about 5 minutes away. There are also lots of housing options around campus. I give this three stars because your dorm life will be fantstic in Waikiki, and your in a regular apartment building with only students.

    Academic Rigor

    KCC has a great academic program. They are thorough teachers, but they are willing to teach you how to do everything, rather than just lecture aimlessly, and send you off to read on your own and turn in homework that you have no idea how it relates to the lecture given. All the teachers have office hours. Every teacher that I have had has always been willing to meet outside of office hours if you set an appointment with them, and they always help clarify things or give you one-on-one help if you need it. There is also free tutoring and mentoring on campus. I give this five stars because teachers don't judge their success by the percentage of students they fail, but by how many students they can successfully teach the material to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan out your semesters early with dedicated study time for each class, buy your books before the semester starts, and read ahead. This makes the whole semester easier. Don't be afraid to get involved. There are so many clubs and activities with all sorts of people from all walks of life participating.

    In three sentences

    Kapiolani Community College is a beautiful campus with views of Diamondhead and overlooking the ocean. Classes are small with teachers always willing to help. The curriculum leaves you ready to get a job or transfer to a 4 year school with no problem.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The college has a very large culinary arts school, and students are required to work in one of several restaurants or the cafeteria on campus. There are also many food options within a 10 minute walk from campus, either at the nearby Kahala Mall, or a few dozen small restaurants at the base of Diamond Head.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Kapiolani Community College, but since the campus is in a residential area and near many transit lines, as well as near Waikiki, it's quite easy to find affordable housing options.

    Academic Rigor

    Students who are willing to do work will go far with the resources the college provides, and like any school, those who decide to slack will pay the consequences with a poor GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your academic counselors, teachers, and the financial aid office. Don't wait until the last minute to apply for anything - courses, financial aid, scholarships, etc. Everyone here wants you to succeed, but you've got to be willing to do the work to make it happen.

    In three sentences

    Kapiolani Community College gives students a great education at an affordable cost. The course instructors are passionate about their fields and more than willing to assist students in their quest to improve their knowledge and gain the skills necessary to transfer to a four-year institution or enter the workforce. I recommend it to any resident of Hawaii looking to learn while saving a boatload of money on lower division general studies courses.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Relatively safe throughout the morning and mid afternoon, but I am a little more concerned for students after 7pm.

    Greek Life

    What is Greek life?

    Clubs and Activities

    Create your own club or join an existing student led club or campus organization. Diverse is a yes.

    Great for these types of students

    Cool, Calm, Relaxing, natural environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Hawaii residents pay $101/credit. Depending on the input and output of the students and teachers, the bang for buck will go up or down. You pay for your own food/commuting, but there are campus jobs available.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is near, the mountains are high, and Kapiolani holds a weekly Saturday farmers market offering delicious foods. Ice Cream Socials are held every month and you can sit on fun classes if you want but no participation. You make your own fun on this campus.

    Food and Dining

    From soda/snack machines around campus to the Ohia Cafeteria which features a coffee/pastry/scone area, to a all vegetarian buffet line, all fruit buffet line, prepackaged cold sandwiches, a hot entree line with 3-5 choices with brown rice, salad, a lunch/break feast area, a Slurpee machine, three bottled drink machines, prepackaged cereal and milk, or desserts fridge!

    Dorm Life

    No dormitories on campus, but there are several off campus suites in nearby counties for students to stay in and commute from, for a price, shared or private.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class and level, the academic challenge can vary from remedial to college level. Classes over 100 such as Eng100 or Math 103 or Religion 103 will be a great start for the student academically. Depending on the amount of classes/credits you are taking, rigor varies from working on a large scale project to working on multiple large scale and long term projects/papers over 5 months.

    Tips for prospective students

    http://kapiolani.hawaii.edu/page/about Check out the registration process to prepare documents to complete in a timely manner and, therefore, get into the program of your choice. Take a tour of campus by attending New Student Orientation 1,2,3.

    In three sentences

    Kapiolani can meet the wants and needs in education/career. Kapiolani can champion the cultural diversity of Hawaii. Kapiolani can provide the person with with quality services/opportunities.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are trying to save money.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a community college so automatic that tuition is cheaper and if you are a resident you qualify for tuition waivers.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy nature. Lots of trees/shade, sun and there is normally a nice breeze sweeping through campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are no real healthy food options on this campus on the positive side, campus is near Kahala Mall and Waikiki.

    Academic Rigor

    Gotta get the inside scoops on who the best teachers are...some expect you to teach yourself, some have the assistant teach, some are awesome enthusiastic teachers, some allow make my work/quizzes/extra credit, some don't.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early so there are no problems with FA and classes!

    In three sentences

    A bit disorganized (student services) other than that it seems fine to me.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I wish there was more clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided majors or for people who cannot afford a university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's still my first semester there, so I'm not too sure.

    What to do for fun

    Catch up with friends, join clubs/activities hosted by KCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wear comfy shoes because it's lots of walking and don't slack off.

    In three sentences

    It is great! Lots of friendly people and extremely helpful. Classes aren't too big and the teachers are nice.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Good for first year students as the classes are small and the teachers encourage participation and student communication in and out of class. Actually this campus is great for anyone pursuing an associates degree or if you're a non-traditional student. Staff is always willing to help you and they want you to succeed in all your classes, the staff here really cares if you actually pass/fail and will take the time to help you!

    Bang for the buck

    At $97 a credit for residential students you can't go wrong all though you will probably get caught in the textbook cost. If you do have financial aid and are taking 12 credits/semester you will only have to pay out of pocket maybe $100-$200 more per semester. Easily accessible with the bus system so you don't have to worry about traffic or parking makes this campus even better. The teachers WANT you to succeed so you're getting the most support to complete your degree.

    What to do for fun

    KCC is located near the Diamond Head Park which is most famous for its beautiful scenic hike. And if you feel up to it, Waikiki Beach is only a 5-10 minute drive away but if you aren't feeling like being an outdoors person then Kahala Mall is another 5 minute drive away. Home to numerous shops, food stands and an 8 screen theater you can shop or study at the local Starbucks before watching an evening movie.

    Food and Dining

    Home to one of the best culinary arts programs on the island, KCC cafeteria serves up some delicious and affordable food with specials changing daily. Also available from the cafeteria are smoothies, specialty coffees, assorted teas and pasteries. If the cafeteria doesn't please you there is a subway on campus along with a Sustainable Cafe that opens in September - October.

    Academic Rigor

    The on campus classes are a blend of classroom and online work, you go to class on your scheduled days and when you go home you can take quizzes and do homework online. Gives you the flexibility to turn in your homework or quiz when you want to (usually have 1 week to complete) but requires you as a student to keep up with the work during the semester. Depending on your class you can have between 3 and 7 exams per semester per class. Professors go through a lot of content very quickly so it can be difficult to keep up if you do not follow the posted schedules in the syllabus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help, the staff is there to help you excel in class and are always available either in person or online when you need help. If they aren't able to work with you face to face because of either ones schedule then there are always tutors available for each subject.

    In three sentences

    Small campus and classes which make it easy to get in touch with your professors and get the help you need if you are struggling with classes. Classes are available M-F from morning to the evening or online if you are unable to fit their schedule in with yours. Easily accessible via the bus system or if you choose to drive, ample parking lots and extra overflow parking areas available.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do around and in Kapiolani Community College. You could join different clubs/organizations that you may be interested in. They do have intramural sports that is connected to the University of Hawaii Manoa intramural sports also. When you finish classes or if you do not have any classes on certain days, you can always take a walk around the Kaimuki-Kahala side. It is beautiful. You can take a hike up Diamond Head Hike, which is actually right across from the Community College. You can also walk around busy Waik�������«k�������« or going to the beach. Ride your bicycle. You can even take a bus ride to Ala Moana Shopping Center where you can get some shopping done. Some other things you can do is if you do not have a car, you can catch the bus or maybe rent a taxi to the North Shore or take a ride around the island for a lot of mom/pop local grinds (Food-Local term lol:)) and while you are exploring our beautiful Island do not forget to stop off at different adventures like Sea like Park, Hanauma Bay, Polynesian Cultural Center, Haleiwa Town, the Dole plantation etc... I guarantee you will love it here if its to go to school or you are just taking a short vacation. You will definitely remember your stay and will probably be talking about for a long time. lol Take lots of pictures while you are here because these will be precious and special moments. Enjoy! :)

    Food and Dining

    If you would like to pursue a career in culinary arts, definitely check out Kapiolani Community College culinary program. It is supposed to be very good and tops. Good food!

    Dorm Life

    Well, most live at home or some people if they are not from here will dorm with other students or find student housing somewhere that is close and convenient to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Kapiolani Community College is supposed to be a very, very good academic school. They are also good when it comes to Culinary School or even Nursing Programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for success in school: Study Hard! Always do things on time and not procrastinate and wait to the last minute. Work Hard! Always ask questions, no be shame! Although i do not drive, parking is tough to find. So, try to come early if you are driving so you can find close parking and not have to park far. Always, consult with your counselors if you have any questions or needing help with transferring or selecting classes etc...

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere of the campus. The campus itself is a beautiful campus to attend, especially with beautiful scenic views of the ocean. The teachers are very helpful and very nice. :)

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very safe for anyone. From and fresh out of high school to an elderly person. Everyone helps everyone out when they are in need.

    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun there when I'm on my break is play hacky sack. I do this trying to see if there will be anyone that will like to join me, which would then add to my friend group.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining area is very big and worth going in and chilling, and eating with friends. The food is great and very fullfilling.

    Dorm Life

    Kapiolani does not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The only challenges/difficulties that you may face at Kapiolani or any college is if you do not attend your classes. If you don't attend your classes you don't get the work and you will not understand what you have to do for that class.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few things that you should know when attending Kapioplani is be respectful. Kokua the campus and the people around you. There is no shame when attending this college. Be yourself, attend your classes, do your work, and enjoy it.

    In three sentences

    Kapiolani is a good aloha college if you are looking into culinary and becoming a chef. The facility is very Hawaiian, from the school garden to the name of each buildings. Kapiolani is definantly worth the traveling distance no matter where you are coming from.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security around but the campus also has a zero tolerance policy.

    Greek Life

    They do not have any type of greek clubs, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    KCC has a bunch of clubs that can fit anyone's hobbies or ambitions and if there is not a club to suit your need, you can create one.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are looking for a cheaper college option without sacrificing their academic values.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is much cheaper than going to a University first. As long as your ambitious and one task, a student can graduate on time.

    What to do for fun

    They have ice cream socials, to talent shows, movie nights and their own culture festival.

    Food and Dining

    KCC is one of the main colleges that provide a culinary arts program in Hawaii. This also provides the fact that they have one many different types of food options held in the cafeteria compared to other Community Colleges. They also have two on campus restaurants that has the culinary students cooking and serving.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms but they do provide information on where they can go to find places.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is comparable if not better than college classes provided at Universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students are going to get prepared for their careers here and for people that are trying to find their careers.

    In three sentences

    One of the best community colleges in Hawaii. They provide an ample amount of service for students and helping them transfer or finish their degree. The campus is beautiful and well attended to.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is good.

    Clubs and Activities

    Polynesian Club, Jesus Club

    Great for these types of students

    Culinary,liberal arts, nursing, and media.

    Bang for the buck

    It most certainly is a bang for your buck! You can't go wrong!

    What to do for fun

    Hawai�»i is known for the beaches!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There are two restaurants located on campus along with the cafeteria and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I did notice that many lecturers do not accept late homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always get to class early and do not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Kapiolani Community College is a wonderful community college. The instructors are very personable and want to have that one on one relationship to better your understanding. Along with that the, the location is in a prime spot, at the bottom of Diamond Head.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hiking and surfing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus. Diverse in ethnicity. Positive environment.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't heard of any stabbings recently, I'll keep you posted; you know unless it's me.

    Great for these types of students

    For people who care about their classes, and aren't rude.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The garden is epic, it's something more schools should have.

    Bang for the buck

    For such a great school it's pretty cheap, but keep in mind it is Hawaii, so you have to pay a little more for everything.

    What to do for fun

    You're in paradise, there's an endless amount of possibilities.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty decent.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Better than some of the other colleges I've visited.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, it's a beast to get into.

    In three sentences

    So far, so good. The people at the front desk could be more helpful, but the students are friendly; as are the faculty members I've met. I'd recommend it.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hawaii is beautiful and there's endless things to do for fun! Campus is located near to Waikiki where you can find most of you want in Hawaii.

    Food and Dining

    Great food! The Culinary Arts Department prepares great food at the cafeteria and campus restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, so I can't speak of it.

    Academic Rigor

    It's fair and the workload is not too bad depending on the course you're taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your own computer, sometimes the library get crowded and it's hard to find a computer to study/do homework

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus. Excellent instructors. Good curriculum.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Ecology club is the best, I am not just saying that because I am the V.P.

    Great for these types of students

    International, however many tend to talk within their own groups and don't improve their language.

    What to do for fun

    Many school activities however they are poorly advertised.

    Food and Dining

    Overly priced, low quality, but at least some choice.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do plenty of research and ask other students for their opinions.

    In three sentences

    For a CC this college has a lot of opportunities and special certificates that others do not. It's located on one of those beautiful places on the planet and has a great studying environment unfortunately the library is lacking. The management of the school is okay but the counselors are horrible.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    They're known for their culinary arts.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorming.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hawaii is a great place. Many interesting things to do are beach activities, such as surfing, kayaking and body boarding. Hawaii is all about the outdoors, such as hiking.

    Food and Dining

    This school has its own culinary department. Cafeteria food is complemented by this department

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this school is challenging. You need to put forth your efforts in order to do well

    Tips for prospective students

    Take college seriously and make sure that you go to class regularly. It is a privilege to be able to go to college and you will get out of it as much as you put in.

    In three sentences

    I have learned much from attending this school. Many of my teachers were wonderful role models with much enthusiasm in the subjects that they were teaching. I particularly liked the small class sizes where I was able to build relationships with the students and teachers.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is constantly monitored by security. Email are sent out whenever anything that could be remotely dangerous occurs. Warnings and other messages are sent to all students inboxes to make sure that the student body is aware of these events.

    Greek Life

    Sorry, no greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    KCC has a wide range of clubs to join. We also hold a lot of events at our campus. Tons of ice cream socials, inspirational talks, showcases, local businesses.

    Great for these types of students

    KCC is great for international students. I'd say at least a quarter of the students at KCC are foreign.

    Bang for the buck

    I enjoy attending KCC not only because of the professors and fellow students, but also because KCC is a beautiful campus. A large green grass lawn, gardens and sculptures scattered throughout the campus, and lots of areas to sit and do homework outside under the sun.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can join a club and host or hold events on campus. Joining a club is a great opportunity to meet new exciting people, go on trips, try new things. Clubs are very fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is amazing. Its a made by our Culinary arts students. We have a few different choices to chose from daily, as well as other regular items that you would see everyday.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at KCC.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is what you make of it. You can really push yourself in any class to go above and beyond the average, or you can do strictly whats asked of you. Personally, I enjoy the challenge that each course brings academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the courses, and teachers before registering for classes. Make sure that you chose the right teacher for you, everyone learns differently, so its important to pick a professor that meets your unique learning style.

    In three sentences

    This is a great College to attend. Friendly teachers and students, challenging courses, unique clubs and events held frequently. KCC made the transition from High School to college very smooth and memorable.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a corner around the diamond crater from a view point at 5 am where you seem some great surfers on the south shore. Parking space on campus is hard to find around 10 am because it fills up pretty quickly. Your best bet is to come early and take early classes because finding parking after 10 am will be a pain.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the best of both worlds at Kapiolani because there is the city life and the beach life around the corner. If you want to work, after school, business are really close, which makes it accessible.

    What to do for fun

    Diamond Head is right around the corner so hiking is readily available. There are 2 major malls nearby, Ala Moana and Kahala Mall for some shopping. Really the ocean is of walking distance so a quick surf session or snorkeling session or even fishing is possible before class... for stress relief, perhaps.

    Food and Dining

    I love how majority of the students are in the culinary field. I think the food is pretty great.

    Dorm Life

    I really don't know about the dorm life. It is a community college so I assume people commute. But there are plenty of foreign exchange students, that probably do dorm for their particular situation.

    Academic Rigor

    I think most of the professors understand where the students are coming from because it is community and I wouldn't say some are lenient but they do give more work and allocate them accordingly. In general, it still is college coursework and depending on your class it will be hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessors.com because there are some professors that I took with that I should I have reconsidered. Remember that although you have a good professor, also give your end of the bargain as far as hard work.

    In three sentences

    Kapiolani Community College is a great campus to be in and breathtaking at the same time. The classroom ratio is perfect because most professors provide individual support. It is a place of diversity.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards that go around the school. I don't think they do much. Though, when something happens at school we would get UH Alerts either on our cell phones or through our UH emails.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have this social where you can get free ice cream. I never did go to it, because it conflicted with my class. There are a lot of activities at our school. One of my friends were in the basketball intramural team and they played other teams from other UH Campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    Like I said earlier this school is more towards those who are interested in the Health Field and Culinary. They do have art related programs, but I don't think they have the majors for it.

    What to do for fun

    My friends and I would rent a study room in the library and you can have the room for 3 hours. The things we do in there are mostly watch movies, talk really loud and sometimes draw on the white board.

    Food and Dining

    Every morning I go to the cafeteria and buy a musubi. I really like their musubis though it tends to be sold out most of the time. If you want a musubi then you would have to come early in the morning when there is in stock.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so there is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers I had were great. I suggest not to do online classes. It is really hard to keep up and basically do it whenever you have the time to do it. My english teachers I had were really tough, but I was able to learn a lot from them. Speech, let me tell you its all about public speaking and doing a lot of presentations infront of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go into anything health field or culinary then this is the school for you. At first I wanted to go into the health field, but I change my mind. You'll like it here you can sleep on the great lawn, or even do yoga.

    In three sentences

    This was my first year at KCC, and I have to say I really enjoyed it. The teachers and counselors here are really nice and would help you if you really need it. I also made a lot of new people who became my really close friends.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security can always be seen on campus around in their golf carts. The library constantly has at least 2 security guards.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not very many clubs are offered. Only two clubs are adequately maintained: International Club and Anime Club.

    Great for these types of students

    The community college environment is good for students who find difficulty focusing or understanding in lecture classes where active participation isn't required or acknowledged. Because students are allowed to discuss material with professors more frequently and in a less formal tone often times it's easier to understand for some students.

    Bang for the buck

    As a community college the courses offered are cheap, so students can experiment in different courses without worrying about financial repercussions.

    Food and Dining

    The food offered at KCC is provided by students in the culinary courses and at times the dining can be pretty tasty, however selection is limited and the food eventually becomes repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be difficult, but that is an inevitability when it comes to more rigorous courses like Business Law and Computer Science III. Elective classes often times are rather easy if students actively participate in their own learning by taking notes and asking questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should be prepared to be engaged by the professors. Interaction between student and professor is almost essential to the learning experience for many of the courses offered.

    In three sentences

    Contrary to popular belief, community colleges like Kapiolani Community College (KCC) offers a worthwhile education. The college provides educational quality almost identical to that of a 4-year university, however the experience is rather different. KCC provides a more interactive, close environment rather than the distance that lecture hall classes such as those in a university.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    For those who are going to be attending KCC, I'd strongly suggest to always see a counselor to know exactly where you should be starting your career path.

    In three sentences

    Kapiolani Community College has a perfect size campus with easy access to nearby classes, library and cafeteria. Attending KCC for three semester so far, I've enjoyed the classes that I've had, and the classes I will be taking. Being at KCC has really improved my learning skills and has directed me to push forward in my career with the opportunities that my counselor has informed me about.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Smart

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities posted on the home page.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an appt with a peer tudor if you need help registering.

    In three sentences

    The staff if cooperative. Peer tudors are willing to help. The campus is a little confusing.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For a school in Hawaii, (if you are residential) the prices aren't too high. Most of the courses are transferable, and it is worth the money that you get.

    What to do for fun

    It's a large and beautiful campus, you could explore the many gardens (mostly of cacti) and lay on the Great Lawn to study or sleep if you want. There's a library, a bookstore, and a lounging area in one of the entrance buildings for students to relax in.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria and a Subway on campus. The cafeteria food is all right, it is what you expect from a cafeteria, but they have their own coffee shop inside. They only take cash, so make sure you know where the ATM is on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorming for KCC.

    Academic Rigor

    For a community college, the classes can be very challenging and the teachers can be very strict on their grading. It just depends on the classes you take as well as the teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any students planning to come here, listen to the NSO. They help you with planning courses, they show you where to go and who to talk to for specific needs. Their student peers who are always in blue are very helpful, even if you stop them on campus to ask them something.

    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful school with many different specific certification programs available, and the Liberal Arts major is what we're renown for. The teachers are understanding if not helpful, and there are many offices and faculties you could reach out to for help or a little extra preparations for any careers. Their STEM program is amazing, it helps science and math majors excel in their courses and gives them a chance to conduct their own real research studies.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Usually I eat at home but my friends tell me the cafeteria food is good. I tried it a few times and it was good, and prices are cheaper than other places.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know because I live in my own apartment. Does KCC even have dorms?

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging at the beginning but the teachers are good and help you along, so as time passes they get easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study for your placement exams so that you start in courses that will earn you credit. Also, advanced placement courses in high school will get you farther along in your degree without having to spend as much money.

    In three sentences

    There is good-quality education and multi-ethnic diversity of students and teachers. The campus environment is peaceful and quiet. Most of the people are helpful and the library and cafeteria are very well-organized.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    KCC has many security guards that are equipped with golf carts to quickly respond to situations should they arise. The e-mail system is very informative whenever there is a rare incident. Students and faculty will get an initial e-mail describing the situation and subsequent messages will follow as updates on the situation come in.

    Greek Life

    KCC does not currently have fraternity houses as there is no on-campus housing.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a co-president of the Center On Responsive Education (C.O.R.E) Student Club. We organize movie nights where we screen education-related movies. We host banquets for final projects. We also get involved with education-related issues off-campus. This club has been a great way to meet fellow students that are interested in what I am interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    KCC is perfect for those looking to get a Bachelor's from a school within the University of Hawai'i System. The counselors and staff make it painless to apply and transfer to the university. It is a great school for non-traditional students with the amount of evening classes that are offered. It is an incredible school for international students and residents that thrive on diversity and multicultural education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cactus and Coffee is a fun event where students gather on a Saturday morning to tour and maintain the campus' beautiful cactus gardens.

    Bang for the buck

    KCC's classes are very affordable. There are some scholarships available to students that seek them out such as achievement awards granted by several departments. They offer a payment plan option to make sure you are not hit with one lump sum.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun. KCC is located near several beaches. There is a large open field for sports. There are movie nights and activities hosted in the library that make attending this school a delight.

    Food and Dining

    KCC has a nationally-renowned culinary program that rivals many universities and private schools. These contributions make eating on-campus feel like attending a gourmet restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    KCC currently does not have on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I appreciate the challenge of the courses I have taken at KCC. You can really make the most out of your education by taking on each assignment and giving them your best effort. The teachers will guide you to get the score you deserve.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest meeting with one of the counselors in the Maida Kamber center. They will have all of the appropriate information that you will require to make the most out of your time as a student. The counselors will steer you straight with what classes to take and when to take them.

    In three sentences

    Kapi'olani Community College is the perfect institution for a student like me. The wide range of class time that they offer and the intelligent and considerate professors are precisely what I want in a college. The location is beautiful and the facilities and grounds are so well-kept that you will feel honored attending this wonderful school.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't run when it's raining! Especially right in front of the cafeteria! It's slippery and you will fall! Lol and bring an umbrella everyday! It tends to rain a lot

    Clubs and Activities

    If you're interested in working with people or just love tourist type of work, join SHIMA located in the OLAPA BUILDING! They volunteer in all types of people work. For example, working at the Ilima Awards or the Ho'olaule'a!

    Bang for the buck

    Library is the best place to get all your homework done. Believe it or not, time will pass you by because it's so relaxing in there and sometimes you won't even realize you're there till closing time.

    What to do for fun

    SLEEP! There are many trees for you to lay under! But there are also restaurants to eat at, and many clubs to join! Get a massage from our students majoring in that field!

    Food and Dining

    We have a great culinary program here that provide good food in the cafeteria, and also at the two restaurants on our campus! Students and non-students are welcomes to eat in the restaurants!

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms here. Only the University has it unless you're an international student, I'm sure there are programs that provide the housing.

    Academic Rigor

    This school doesn't baby you. You better get your act together and learn to have time-management when it comes to learning. They don't babysit, so if you miss class, it's your responsibility to make that up.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're the type who needs friends to stay in school, this isn't the place to be. But if you're the type to want to focus and is indecent, coming here would be your best option.

    In three sentences

    This school is a very relaxed, focused type of school. You're pretty much independent on this campus. You come here to go to class, sleep, study, etc.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't heard of any crimes on campus but I've only been there a couple of months.

    Greek Life

    none

    What to do for fun

    Your surrounded by beaches and great outdoor things to do. The mall is close by but not walking distance. I like to jog around diamond head for my workout. Waikiki is down the street.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is really the only thing about the campus I would have lesser then stellar things to say. However, there is subway! Yum! Wish there was a taco bell on campus too.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Library great place to study. Since its a culinary school, there are lots of yummy stuff in the cases. Parking is Free but Lot A requires a pass for all those students that have classes close to it.

    In three sentences

    Great Campus with good facilities. My professors are passionate and engaging. The campus is technological advanced.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I dance.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining hall on campus and a multitude of restaurants about a mile away.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor may be elevated due to instructors but that will only enhance your experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    The weather is tropical, be prepared

    In three sentences

    Kapiolani Community Collge is a student focused, comfortable environment. There are many opportunities and resources for each individual to reach their full potential. All around, a nice comfortable place to live.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards on scooters patrol campus and camera surveillance. Security office is located on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs including the international club. On International week the cafeteria has a samples of international foods.

    Great for these types of students

    Culinary students can apply for a locker. There seemed to be a lot of foreign students from Asia that spoke foreign language. This campus seems to be noted for its nursing program and culinary program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The baking class usually has a bake sale near the end of the semester. It is not well announced so ask or look for the a flyer on the culinary building doors a few days ahead. Pies, cakes, cookies and bread at a bargain. There are a lot of non credit continuing education classes too that are fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Passport office located on campus with relatively no lines but does not take cash. You may need to come early to hunt for parking depending on the time but it has never made me late to class and I have always found parking.There is overflow parking off campus that I only had to use once in three years due to unusually high enrollment.

    What to do for fun

    Saturday morning or Tuesday evening the campus parking lot is host to the farmers market. It is very popular with tourists so can get crowded. Some vendors come one a month so the variety of vendors may change somewhat each week. Come hungry, there is lots to eat.

    Food and Dining

    On campus dining consists of Subway and vending machines or one fine dining facility and cafe run by the culinary students with gourmet food and million dollar view at a bargain price . Also on campus is a regular cafeteria with a variety of healthy choices, including a salad bar, and hot plate lunches, drink, and snacks. Limited hours on the fine dining but the cafeteria opens in the wee hours of the morning and has breakfast, coffee, and scones.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think they have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It was challenging but if you apply yourself and work hard it is not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Online common scholarship applications are due by March for the fall semester. But you may need to be enrolled to apply. Culinary department has the most scholarships but you need school volunteer hours to apply and letter from a teacher.

    In three sentences

    It is on the bus route but has lots of parking. The staff,teachers, and counselors are really supportive and are there to help you succeed. I thought the quality of teaching was above average having attended other community colleges.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hawaii is pretty safe. KCC normally has security somewhere on campus until all the buildings are locked at night.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to find a counselor you can easily talk to and set up your goals. Make plans. Set goals. Take action.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice campus filled with kind professors. If you need help, just ask for it. The staff on campus are there for you.