Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Kauai Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great Securtity

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in clubs or activities but do particpate

    Bang for the buck

    To Scholarship: I am writing my Essay to help getting me a scholarship; I am very excited to be a student at Kauai Community College. I am a mother of eight and happily married. Growing in a big family was always hard work, school and cleaning. As I was graduating High School, I never thought of seeing myself a student at a college or going to college. Never heard my parents ask us about college and if we were interested in going to school but am Very blessed to be able to go. My first Semester at Kauai Community College was great, I thought I wasn’t able to do it but with the support of my husband and children I am able to succeed. I’ve been on Island for 6 years and love that planting here in Kauai is that easy, My parents and little brother planted some Taro and its blooming just great, also Me and my husband got some Tea leaf from friends and able to plant them right tin the dirt. Talk about exiting, my first Banana tree just blooms and lots of Bananas, I know that as I live here in Kauai, I am able to plant and feed my children. I share with my family in the Mainland how nice and simple it is to grow food and plants. Thanks, Diean Kamauoha

    What to do for fun

    Spend time with my children and go to the beach with my kids.

    Food and Dining

    I don not Dine out because its to expensive for me, Especially with the big family that I have.

    Dorm Life

    I live in a low income housing unit with my husband and 8 children.

    In three sentences

    Kauai Community College has a School I.D that students can use free to ride Local bus free all year. Great counselors to help us get grades caught up. A 2 floor Library, Big enough that we can use to do homework.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many activities youll have to see for yourself

    Dorm Life

    We dont have any dorms but we have beaches

    Tips for prospective students

    If you graduated high school and live in Kauai and want to do something with your life, Go back to Kauai Community College.

    In three sentences

    Kauai Community College is a great college. Friendly teachers and staff. There is always help when needed.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria cooks delicious food daily and offers fresh salads and sandwiches at an affordable price. You can also grab a quick snack at the bookstore located on campus

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms or off campus housing provided by the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely offers you a fun challenging environment to learn in.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a stepping stone to a university on the mainland.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Farmers Market on every monday and saturday, delicious local produce

    What to do for fun

    go to the beach.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    The arts department is fantastic!

    In three sentences

    The arts program at Kauai Community College has helped me create a winning portfolio for admittance into an art school. The faculty has been extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The campus is clean and well maintained.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always feel safe being on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I am hoping to gain more bang for my buck by applying for as many scholarships as possible to help lower my costs to attend Kauai Community College; if you are a resident costs are dramatically cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    Kauai Community College has numerous lawn areas where students may go to sit, study, eat, or all of the above! The green lawns are very welcoming if one grows tired of the library.

    Food and Dining

    Given the location and size of my campus, we only have a cafeteria that provides your standard lunch, including all food groups.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately this campus is too small to attain dormitories; however, classes are small enough to provide students with very personable student relationships while on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This campus seems to provide its students with a very well-rounded education. The classes offered help to prepare students to continue educational pursuance at other highly credited universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Being a prospective student for a couple months now, I would recommend to other students to visit the Counseling department before doing anything! The staff there is amazing and can provide not only different educational opportunities, but volunteer and financial aid as well!

    In three sentences

    Kauai Community College is a fantastic school with a very central location on the isle of Kauai. The staff is very helpful and provide information for the different opportunities offered. The many options for continuing your education is great; anyone with a will to go to school can make it happen.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Student Center.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria Hours are short.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not to hard, very fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a plan of when you want to go to classes.

    In three sentences

    Kauai Community College has good class scheduling. It allows students to work and go to school, while still earning their associates degree in their field of interest.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to earn their credits and focus in on their academics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People are pretty normal and reserved on campus, nothing out of the ordinary.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with your friends, or go hang out at the student lounge.

    Food and Dining

    I make my school meal for the day. There is a cafeteria however, I haven't eaten there due to my back-to-back classes.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and appreciate the fact that you live in paradise!

    In three sentences

    It is a fairly decent college for a small island such as Kauai. Most of our teachers are passionate about their job and are helpful. There is not much social life here but it is a great college to save up while earning your undergraduate credits.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Emails are constantly being sent to students to let them know about events,festivals or any extra curricular activities students can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Good of all types! Healthy and something for the sweet tooth. Great variety.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are various in difficulty but teachers are always willing to further explain to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help. Staff are very friendly. Teachers and students are always willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Excellent with communication. Welcoming new and current students to the new semester. Very helpful to students with any questions.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security all over with carts and emergency buttons.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and there are a lot of firs and an arcade student life room.

    Food and Dining

    Always good diverse meals cooked by the students at a good price.

    Dorm Life

    there is none

    Academic Rigor

    Not to hard if you do all your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always learn where your classes are before you start. Always ask for help people on campus are friendly and helpful. Don't procrastinating do work on time.

    In three sentences

    Kauai community college is a very friendly college with a wide variety of students. The opportunities available are outstanding. This school is a great way to start your education it had good foundation.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play tennis with classmates, or enjoy the rec room.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good. Several choices are made available to you.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers really want you to learn, so you become very excited about what they are teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Ask lots of questions, these instructors really want you to do well both in their classes and life. Do the homework and projects on time.

    In three sentences

    Well equipped culinary rooms/ kitchens. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable instructors. Great guest speakers and programs/ events.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 Patrolling Safety Officer. Every student who is registered is sent on the spot alerts and alarms when there is a safety issue, or an FYI instance. I feel comfortable knowing they are constantly driving around, and offering assistance to anyone in need.

    Greek Life

    We do have Fraternities and Sorority chapters!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs that are fun, educational and diverse. I don't know a week we do not have something going on beyond classes. The lectures and mini-classes make the experience rewarding.

    Great for these types of students

    Warm, enthusiastic, and a lover of education. It can be distracting to most because of the paradise setting we live in. But if you can prioritize your time, there is room for growth and play.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We don't have the unusual, but we have a strong Hawaiian Cultural. I am personally Hawaiian and not many people know, Kauai is the 1st place the hula was performed!!

    Bang for the buck

    Local grinds (food), organic farms, and charitable organizations make sustaining life outside of school possible. Get connected with the land and each other makes for a stress-free time in the class room.

    What to do for fun

    Everything here is fun. I go to the beach to swim, play, meditate, sunbath, and do homework. Mostly every night there is a zumba class. I also dance for our local Hawaiian and Tahitian teachers. Life is full and rewarding in and out of the classroom here on Kauai.

    Food and Dining

    We are fortunate to have Mark, the owner of Mark's Place as a culinary teacher for our program. This means gourmet food, at a fraction of the cost. It is truly a hidden gem. Who would have thought it was possible from a school cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, but plenty of advertisements for room-mates. People here are laid back personal, however, we take our education seriously. No matter where you are on island, KCC, is easy access.

    Academic Rigor

    If you know the reason you are attending college, you will be able to push past the struggles of the first year. The great thing about KCC is there is so much help and positive assistance, you can accomplish your achievements if you dare to go out of your comfort zone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the help of counselors, advisers, fellow students and tutoring programs. The more you network, the more you gain. No time to be shy, dive in and see how richly your time here will be!

    In three sentences

    KCC is an outstanding facility to learn. Most teachers are professionals that have excelled in there profession. The campus is organized so everything is accessible and easy to get find, with friendly knowledgeable staff.