Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Keene State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of people attend Keene State College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club or organization to get to know students like yourself.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers are very helpful. They make a good effort to get to know their students on a personal first name basis. They make the classes enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    There are very interesting and challenging classes offered at Keene State.

  • 06/26/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 out of 12 people found this review useful. 2 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Partiers, drinkers, smokers, hippies, couldn't get into anywhere else, got a good scholarship (rarely happens), or for someone who was so sad to leave high school they want to experience the same thing again

    Tips for prospective students

    Doesn't take much to get in... at all. I always thought before coming here keene was a pretty good school. Attending here makes me double think that, there are so many dumb kids here. & it's because Keene is money hungry and accepts way more kids then they have housing available for, pretty much screwing all upperclassmen out of housing

    Bang for the buck

    I am an out of stater, 26,000 is affordable, but not worth it

    Did enjoy being here

    Great party scene, that's all that is going for Keene. No one participates in school functions, the only way to get someone to go to events is if they are giving away free t-shirts

    Did learn a lot

    Most of my classes I felt were easier than high school. It's very easy to get by without trying. So I have decided to transfer to a better school

  • 11/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not sure about what college you want to go to it's okay, because you can always transfer. I feel that Keene State is a great starter school for anyone who doesn't know what they want their major to be. There are so many resources you can use to figure it out, and there's no pressure.

    Bang for the buck

    Keene State is not a very pricey school, but for some families it is. I feel that for what I pay to attend, I am very welcome and receive a variety of good resources. I would encourage anyone who is interested to come to Keene.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus and people employed here are very friendly. I always feel at home no matter what kind of day I'm having. Though I find it nice to go home for winter and summer break I'm always anxious to come back.

    Am learning a lot

    Everyone says that Keene State is just an easy school that holds a lot of parties, but i don't see it that way. I feel as if I'm a good student, and i am challenged here. I learn new things everyday and have to work to get the grades i want. I also learn things that I can apply to my everyday life and that excites me.

  • 08/28/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great learners

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best.

  • 01/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Keene is a great place for students who want a small-scale school. There is a lot of individual attention in classes and professors are always willing to help during office hours or appointments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keene State is a great place to go for education majors. I'm an education major and the department is excellent. Also, there are a ton on majors to pick from as well as an individualized major if you're just not sure what you want to do yet!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and housing isn't too expensive for in-state or out-of-state students. Many students say the out-of-state tuition is the same as the in-state price in their home state. It is definitely worth the money!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going here. Dorm life is fun, even though it's an adjustment. There are a ton of extra-curricular activities and sports to choose from. Something here for everybody!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are great. They really strive to not only get you to learn the material, but make you like learning it. There are so many options when picking classes. You are destined to find something you like.

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    any type of student, im a hands on person and this school was the right fit for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up good grades in High School, Get a good score on your SATs and write a good college essay. Try your hardest and don't slack when you get here because you will get thrown out if you dont keep up your grades. Try to have all your payments on time because the late fees suck. Have fun and enjoy your life. :)

    Bang for the buck

    Its kind of expensive, but thats because I'm an out-of-state student and I've been taking out loans.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here, I love being in the mountains, I love the people, I love the independance. Its such a nice town I'm thinking of moving here. As soon as I stepped on campus I knew I belonged here.

    Am learning a lot

    I've been learning alot and the teachers are really nice and helpful

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Exceptional. Always on campus with the students safety in mind. Very friendly and accessible whenever needed.

    Greek Life

    Only a few sororities on campus, but their all very involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    Large variety! And if by slight chance we don't have it, start it yourself! The school is more than helpful with starting new clubs and associations.

    Great for these types of students

    All students who don't mind New England type weather.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pumpkin Fest!

    Bang for the buck

    A little pricey for out of state but the quality of the colleges resources are worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Athletic games, activities held by students and school officials. The campus is surrounded by life. Places to visit, explore, ride bikes, take a bus trip, and ski!

    Food and Dining

    Exceptional food. Dining staff is friendly and always there to help. There's a large range of options for every meal and allergies and food preferences are greatly taken into consideration.

    Dorm Life

    Plenty of options all which are great. All living environments are clean, spacious, accessible to campus, safe, and bursting with group activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Great variety of classes offered in many levels. Class buildings are all in great shape with up to date materials.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! You'll see what a great campus Keene State has and the active town its surrounded by. The campus is clean, lively, and always full of students.

    In three sentences

    Keene State College is expanding opportunities for current and future students with the new nursing program. The program is half way through its second year and making great progress! The classes are exceptional and the teachers are all involved, dedicated, and professional.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to become teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early.

  • 08/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Keene is mostly a liberal arts college, but don't let that fool you. I'm going in for Business and I am getting a thorough education. Keene costs less than some other schools and has very little partying. It's a good school for anybody really.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keene gets a reputation I think of being just a state school but it is a really good school. The people here are overwhelmingly kind and helpful. Everybody is like a family. Everytime I hear somebody say they are going to Keene or had a relative go to Keene they seem very happy and satisfied.

    Bang for the buck

    When Keene raised the tuition costs a bit, they gave me another scholarship which made the raise very reasonable. Costs cover using the gym and the library (both are huge), tutoring help, and counsiling which is free for all students who pay their fees.

    Am enjoying being here

    Keene is such a beautiful town. I love Main St. especially and I can go to a lot of different places (they are either in walking distance or I take the bus, it's free). We have a lot of cultural events. The campus is great. There are flowers planted everywhere and lots of trees to sit under. The gym is huge. It has three floors!

    Am learning a lot

    I got to pick two of my four first classes here (afterwards you always pick) and I find them very interesting. I'm in a class which teaches you how to be an active and involved citizen which I find interesting. I also am planning on taking some Holocaust classes at the Holocaust center.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun my friends and i like to sit around the student center and grab some lunch and hang around. there is always something going on with activies or games. the gym is huge so you always feel welcomed in there.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is awesome here! i love how we have a variety of food to choose from rather than just a few things. the food is always very good and never disturbing. also, the chef's and staff there are very friendly and the cooking area is wide open so you can see what they are doing.

    Dorm Life

    i love my dorm life. everyone is friendly and well respected people. i like how it is freshmen based so you aren't feeling so small with higher grade level students. the halls are usually clean, and the ra's take care of us very well!

    Tips for prospective students

    the environment is very big so, don't get scared! just take it in like a breath. meet new people, and you will feel like you are just as big as the school. everything isn't as huge as it seems.

    In three sentences

    since i have transfered to keene state college, i have felt at home and like i belong. it's a wonderful school with a great environment. the classes make me learn better and i feel more one-on-one with my professors and iep coordinator. i know that if i have any questions that they will be fulfilled.

  • 09/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any one would enjoy being here :)

    Bang for the buck

    Price is good.

    Will enjoy being here

    Keene is a mini city that has a lot of stuff you can do.

    Will learn a lot

    As I toured this area many times before I have learned that the professors are really nice and will help you learn more!

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    if your not into sports there's a lot of extracurricular activities like brazilian jujitsu

    Tips for prospective students

    pay attention and ask as many questions as necessary for you to learn and comprehend

    In three sentences

    - i've learned more in 2 years here than on the 4 years i was in high-school -their baseball team is great. the classes are fun and interesting making you want to go to class

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    community minded and those who are looking to make a difference.

    Bang for the buck

    i'm an out of state student, so the cost is more for me.

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on for anyone who is looking for something to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the campus and get envolved.

    In three sentences

    i love keene state. the school is small enough that i feel at home, yet large enough to keep things exciting. the surrounding town is beautiful and there is a strong sense of community. the school and professors are great!

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artistic Majors Architectural Majors Education Majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hike Mount Manadnock

    What to do for fun

    Friends, sports, hike

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Go to class - its only about an hour in a half but its worth it. 2. Do your work on time - the professors are very easy going 3. have fun and enjoy your time at Keene

    In three sentences

    Keene State is a great well rounded school! The atmosphere and the classes are phenomenal. The food is really good too!

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and register for classes and dorms as soon as possible. Make sure you understand how the courses and major selection work.

    In three sentences

    Keene State College has one of the nicest campuses that I have seen. The classes are fair and the professors are mostly nice. The price is fair and it is a great school to attend.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you like the distance your school is from home. Keene is about 2 hours away from my home which I think is perfect. Any farther and I would feel too far.

    In three sentences

    I love the small classes and the attention you receive from the professors. I would rate this school an overall 8 out of 10.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things for students to do here on campus, from intramural sports to writing haikus alone in their room.

    Food and Dining

    Some days, the food is wonderful and on par with a meal that could be found at any mediocre restaurant. However, other days, the food is absolute garbage and students have to resort to cereal and Easy Mac.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms range from disgusting and cramped to cozy and fantastic.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the classes are incredibly easy and it's insulting that we're required to pay to take them. Others, on the other hand, are blisteringly difficult, with teachers who fail to realize that their class is not the only one their students are taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise students to look elsewhere unless they are education or graphic design majors, in which case this is a great school for them.

    In three sentences

    Keene State College is a decent college with a very laid-back and welcoming atmosphere. The campus is nice and the people who go here are generally very kind. Classes, on the other hand, range from middle-school level to incredibly difficult, with seemingly no center ground.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Great freshman dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely branch out and meet as many new people as you can. If you get the opportunity to, play a sport, it's a great way to meet new people and do something you love.

    In three sentences

    Keene State is a great school to go and meet new people, the way the freshmen dorms are set up it's impossible not to meet a bunch of new people. There are always activities going on on the quad, we had a carnival there during spring weekend. They also give you so many opportunities to get help, it's kind of hard not to succeed there.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The surrounding city is not dangerous whatsoever.

    Greek Life

    Not like most colleges. They are more devoted to academics then partying.

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for everyone to join or you can even start your own club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Keene Pumpkin Fest is by far the best tradition. It is known worldwide!

    Bang for the buck

    Offers great financial aid!

    What to do for fun

    Keene State College offers clubs and activities. There is also many things to do in town.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Keene State College is great! They offer everything from junk food, homemade dinners, to healthy salads.

    Dorm Life

    Residence halls have been renovated in recent years and are all different for different living styles you may have.

    Academic Rigor

    Keene State College has a great selection of programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions DON'T hesitate to contact admissions. They are polite and will answer any question you have in a timely manner.

    In three sentences

    This is a great campus! I love the size and how almost all of the buildings and residence halls have been renovated in the past recent years. It gives you the opportunities that most colleges don't and they treat you like family.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play pool

    Food and Dining

    Good college food, nothing to shake a stick at though

    Dorm Life

    Lived off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Moderate sized classes with dedicated professors

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, get involved, work hard

    In three sentences

    Excellent Public School

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus feels safe

    Great for these types of students

    Education majors History Brother is enjoying chem program

    Bang for the buck

    Definately the dining commons. Also, a former mayor of Keene owns the Pub Restaurant and almost like a community service offers really inexpensive eats. Lots of college kids go there, especially for Sunday morning brunch.

    What to do for fun

    Movies, dining, plays, arts. Apple Hill Chamber Orchestrata is in a nearby town, the Monadnock Region is very art oriented. Local YMCA is new and terrific! Easy jaunt westward to Brattleboro VT and Rt 91 South. From Keene hour and a half to Boston. Local hidden spots like Goose Pond, hiking Monadnock, Granite Gorge Ski Area, small local Asheulot Park, Farmers market, health food store, Indian, Thai, Chinese,Italian cuisines. It's all good!

    Food and Dining

    Great eateries within walking distance but the dining commons has really good food at a great price.

    Dorm Life

    I am not in dorm...prefer home. But I have friends who are living on campus. KSC was really wonderful in helping a friend transition into a dorm from home when his home life became problematic. He is doing great there!

    Academic Rigor

    Moderate

    Tips for prospective students

    Have high expectations...it will continue to make the experience better for people who come after us. Be part of making education better.

    In three sentences

    Campus is in a great small town. It is easy to fit into community there. I am enjoying my history courses a lot.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really nice and always looks out for your best interest. They make you feel safe and aren't too strict.

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't that big but if you're into it there are many different ones that you will fit into .

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs and activities you can sign up for. There is something out there for everyone and if you can think of an idea, make it happen.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, friendly, athletic

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus does a lot of different sentimental traditions for incoming freshman during orientation and for the students graduating. There are also some Greek Week traditions & a fun carnival at the end of the year.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not too expensive and you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a lot of different things to do but there is a bowling alley near by, a movie theater, TJ Maxx, different restaurants. The Night Owl Cafe also has a lot of different activities to take part of!

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat = amazing! Sometimes they have a lot of the same meals like, pork etc. But the food is actually pretty good and I haven't gotten sick of it!

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are nicer than others but it's all about who is on your floor. If you have friends in the same dorm then they easily become your family and it's a lot of fun. A lot of the RA's are really nice as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are pretty chill and you normally don't have too much homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take 8 a.m. classes unless you like waking up early, it's a lot different than waking up for high school.

    In three sentences

    Keene has a variety of people for you to find the right group to fit in. The atmosphere is calm and friendly. The work load and classes aren't too hard.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are hundreds of clubs and after school activities. Chiddy Bang and a other hot artists come to play at Keene state all the time.

    Food and Dining

    Food is fantastic, tons of choices!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are solid, the kids are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Its not hard, but some classes can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to keep on top of homework. Most teachers aren't strict about due dates, but they take points off without you realizing it.

    In three sentences

    Keene State college has great academics and clubs. Their dorms and teachers are great. Keene State food is close to gourmet.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While I visited there was campus officers around the area but from the looks of it the campus is a safe environment so no need to worry.

    Greek Life

    They do have a couple sororities and fraternities for those of you who are interested. I would of joined a fraternity but they don't offer the one I am looking for Omega Psi Phi.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not sure about the clubs or activities yet but I will be joining some come this fall.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is recommended for any type of student but it does get pretty cold up here so be prepared for the winters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not sure yet because I have yet to attend but I am positive I will be in any of these fun and exciting traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    I am excited to attend my first year of college. I will major in Economics and minor in Management. My goal after college is to get my MBA and enter the whole business world/Wall Street. I will become a Hedge Fund Manager with a lot of hard work. Ambition runs through my veins and as hard as my goal may be I will accomplish this.

    What to do for fun

    There is much to on campus and off campus. On campus there are many sports available and extra curricular activities. Most of my spare time will be spent working and saving up. If you are looking for off campus things to do the Keene area is the place to be. During winter it's an amazing place to go snowboarding or skiing.

    Food and Dining

    I only ate at the cafeteria once when I visited Keene State College but the food was amazing. I can already see that I might gain a couple extra pounds.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make of it. Freshman and sophomore year you are required to live on campus. You can get up to 3 people in your dorm. Again I am an up in coming Freshman so I haven't experienced this for myself but I am fortunate enough to be going to school with one of my best friends and dorming with him also.

    Academic Rigor

    Because I am an up in coming Freshman I don't know much about the academic rigor but as always there are easy classes that you can take and sure you might make it through college doing that but at the end of the day if you didn't learn anything a college degree is worthless.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter where you are going to college always be about your business. Don't slack on your assignments because the honest truth is that most slackers don't make it to the top. There are no shortcuts in life, so always try your best. You get back what you put in.

    In three sentences

    Keene State College is a small school located in a town similar to that of Twilight's setting. Don't underestimate the school because of it's size, great men and women have come from this school. The teacher student ratio 1:30 makes it easy for those students who want more individualized attention from their teachers instead of being considered just a number.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small enough campus that it is safe to get around. AT night we usually walk around in a group guys and girls together.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshen orientation - at the end all of the incoming students line up on Appian Way together. Next time we do this is graduation. Again Pumpkin weekend in the town of Keene. I have never seen so many pumpkins before.

    What to do for fun

    My roommate got me into long boarding, which works out great to travel around campus or downtown. There are some cool shows that come to campus. Best is Pumpkin weekend held in Oct.

    Food and Dining

    Weekend Brunch is great. I like that I can use my food money in area outside of the cafe. I now love paninis.

    Dorm Life

    Keene's rooms are a little bit larger then some of the other school I have seen. I had no issues with my roommates my freshmen year. Bathroom are clean except you have to travel to a different floor 1/2 of the year.

    Academic Rigor

    My first year I had to take the basics, so I consider it average currently. I expect this to change in a few months.

    Tips for prospective students

    Professors are willing to help you succeed. The smaller class sizes helped me succeed my first year of school.

    In three sentences

    Keene has smaller class sizes than other schools my friends/family attend. Very easy campus to navigate around. It has many sports/activities for students to participate in.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As safe as any small college around New Hampshire

    Greek Life

    Not involved so I wouldn't know much about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of activities to keep you busy! Just get out and hang with friends and you will most likely find something that fits you.

    Great for these types of students

    People who look to have a good time in there four years will love Keene State.

    Bang for the buck

    Take advantage of the tax free lifestyle in New Hampshire, being from Massachusetts I enjoy it as much as anyone.

    What to do for fun

    Anything from varsity sports games to going to the bars; there are lots of on campus events as well.

    Food and Dining

    Local restaurants and bars are great spots to grab food. As well as the dining commons.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year is the best time of your life. the dorms are a great place to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Its certainly not Harvard, but the courses can challenge you of course. Simply be prepared and do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here the professors out before you decide to take the class. Bring a notebook to class. Don't sleep during lectures.

    In three sentences

    A good school for academics. Great learning environment. Enjoyable professors and students.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It is a small campus, but there are many outdoor activities and clubs you can join for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food here, great value and great choices.

    Dorm Life

    it is alright. Small rooms and especially crammed triples. Some halls are better than others, namely Holloway, Butler, and Pondside.

    Academic Rigor

    Moderate course load manageable, many resources to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great college for in state, but not so sure for out of state value. They've cut spending on professors so classes are now getting larger and few and far between.

    In three sentences

    Small Old Rural

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and organizations that you can participate in at Keene State. You can also spend time with friends in the game and TV rooms and attend special events such as concerts and theme-dinners.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking into Keene State, I would recommend taking advantage of the summer programs, getting a meal plan with Flex, and finding a way to get involved in the student community.

    In three sentences

    Keene State College has the programs I want and a wonderful learning environment. The classes are small and your teachers not only know you by name, but they care about you. Keene State is a good school.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really good. honestly I feel really safe at Keene. It is not a school in the city so there aren't a lot of crime incidents. There are a few things that happen, but rarely. The officers are really nice too.

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't huge at Keene, but there is Greek Life. There is only one on campus house for Greek Life, but we still have rush week on campus. the other sororities and fraternities just get apartments together off of campus. The only thing is that as a freshman, you can rush but you are not allowed to join Greek Life until your spring semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is anything you could want, and if there isn't an activity or club at Keene already, you can always start one, even as a freshman. I hear stories all the time of freshman starting new clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Keene is great for the type of student that likes a kind of laid back atmosphere. It is by no means a school in the city, but Keene is a lot of fun. If you want to party, there are parties, if you want to skate board, we have plenty of those, if you want to play human vs. zombies, go right ahead. I actually almost got killed by the people playing that game. But really Keene is a place that could fit anyone, unless you like the hectic city life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is kind of weird that Keene does not have a football team. Really there isn't any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Keene State is a pretty cheap school. I am an out of state student and it costs me less money to go to Keene that it would have been for me to stay in CT and go to college to the schools I got accepted to in CT.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do for fun at Keene. There is the down town area which is very cute. There are a lot of stores and restaurants. On campus there are always clubs or sports. There are also events and concerts all the time. For instance Sammy Adams came this fall, as well as Group Boston which was so much fun. You can choose to sty in your room all day but really there is a lot to do. The only bad thing about Keene is that the nearest mall is an hour away, but there is always online shopping for that.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten at a few colleges, and Keene had the best dinning. They have so many options and the food is actually good. They have a vegan section as well as a very nice salad bar and many other options as well. Hoot and Scoot is not as bad as people say it is. It's very convenient when you are busy and don't want to spend money, you just swipe and it will count as a meal. I haven't eaten much as Loyds but I hear its good, and bean and beagle is good as well. honestly I cant complain at all about the food.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Carle hall, and I love it there. I have heard stories of Randel hall, how it may not be the best place to live, but I also know that Holloway is a great freshman dorm as well. My room has wood floors and we can control the heat which is a nice touch.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the classes you take. I am only a freshman but I took classes that would challenge me, s I had a harder time this semester. Yet I know people who took a very easy course load, where they took the easiest classes they could and did not try as hard. It really depends on how hard you want t try and what you want to get out of your college career.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will hear this many times, but the biggest advice I could give is to join something you love. After trying out and making the dance team, I have made many friends and my college experience so far has been amazing. Also, Hoot and Scoot is honestly a life saver for those moments when your too busy to take an hour to eat, you can just pick up a meal real quick.

    In three sentences

    Keene State is honestly such a great school to attend. Not only are the students so friendly, but the staff is as well, and they want you to do well. The campus is a little small, but I am constantly meeting new people, and this is also an advantage because in a class you are not just a number, but you can get to know the professors.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always walking around campus or sitting in their cars outside. Every student adds the Campus Safety number to their phones during Orientation, and this could be a lifesaver one day! However, my roommate needed to move her car from a lot, which she forgot to do until late in the night before she went to bed (the parking situation at Keene is awful). So, when my roommate moved her car to the Winchester lot, which is a ways from campus, she called Campus Safety because she felt unsafe walking back alone at 3am. Campus Safety refused to pick her up. This is not the kind of response this group of people should have to students! My roommate saw a CS officer sitting in his car in front of a dorm when she went to move her car, and when she finished her long (and scary) walk back to campus... the same officer was sitting in the same spot! Now, why couldn't he have gone down the road to pick her up at night? No one will ever know. So, although they say they're always available.... they may not be.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a prominent piece of Keene State College, though it does not seem to take over student life. Many students are brothers or sisters, and these students have bonds with each other that you canâ??t find anywhere else. There are plenty of opportunities to Rush the fraternities and sororities, and the brothers and sisters make you feel right as home as you rush around to each one. I rushed a sorority and I loved it. Due to the time commitment though, I did not join. I know of many people who have joined Greek Life and they all swear that joining Greek Life and Keene State has been the best decision of their lives!

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Involvement fairs are an amazing way to scope out the clubs and organizations at Keene State to find your niche. There are sports clubs, academic clubs, and community service clubsâ?¦ all of which are incredible and I have heard nothing but great things about. I am involved with the Keene State Relay for Life committee, and it is an absolute joy. You wonâ??t find another college with such dedicated students as you will find at Keene; no matter what club or organization you are in, you will feel right at home and make a difference.

    Great for these types of students

    Keene is great for students who want to pursue a career in teaching, or the fine arts; most students who attend here are majoring in either of these two subjects. Thatâ??s not to say that students donâ??t choose other majors and fall in love with the school the same way I did â?? that definitely happens! This college is also for students who may be prone to homesickness and need a feeling of togetherness or community â?? which is exactly what Keene provides!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We always have Pumpkinfest, which is when the whole town of Keene and surrounding cities come together and carve pumpkins to be shown off and lit up downtown. The entire block is shut down and people come from all over to walk the streets looking at the pumpkins that Keene State students, Keene residents, and other have spent time carving. There are so many performers, food vendors, and an incredible sense of community during this weekend at Keene. I love everything about it. We also have Winterfest which is when the Student Center is decorated for the holidays; students can make Build-A-Bears, eat marshmallows and other items in the chocolate fountains, listen to Christmas music, and just make memories together. Itâ??s a great way to relax before Finals week. Spring Weekend is similar, although it is geared more toward outdoor fun. Performers come, (such as a group of dancers from MTVâ??s Americaâ??s Best Dance Crew), we had a carnival set up on campus complete with carnival rides, cotton candy, fried dough, the DC serves fair food that everyone loves â?? and everyone eats and spends all of their time outside together. We also have the Family-style Dinner on Appian Way where everyone sits at this one long table and eats outside together â?? passing plates and sharing memories.

    What to do for fun

    On the weekends, there is always something to do. You can go for a walk downtown, get an ice cream at Piazzaâ??s, fill up a bag of jar candy at Life is Sweet, go clothes shopping at Synergy, visit bars such as Cobblestone, Lab nâ?? Lager, or go out to eat at any of the nice restaurants that are lined up on Main Street. The best place for pizza is Ramuntoâ??s across from Cumberland Farms because after midnight on the weekends (starting on Thursday) they offer large slices of cheese pizza for $2, pepperoni for $2.50, and the most amazing garlic knots you will ever taste, for only $2! That is a popular hangout for a lot of us, especially late at night â?? but I also love going there during the day and eating in the restaurant! There are sometimes late-night programs you can attend, such as Groove Boston, which is an amazing â??ragerâ?? dance party that goes on in the Mabel Brown room in the Student Center on campus. Comedians and carnival set ups come to campus, and there are so many other attractions that happen on campus on specific weekends. There are shuttle services that will pick you up at various places on campus and will take you to stores such as Target, JcPenney, or Mauriceâ??s that are not in walking distance, and the shuttle drivers will gladly pick you up. There are plenty of well-known restaurants that are not on Main Street but are still close by when you take the shuttle, and those are: Chiliâ??s, Olive Garden, Longhorn Steakhouse, and Applebeeâ??s. There is also a small movie theater near campus which will show movies as they come out, like any normal movie theater. It isn't fancy, or a huge place, but it is a nice place to go to when you want to go see a movie!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Keene is good, especially during your first semester. There is an array of food items that will be served every single day in the Dining Commons (DC): pizza, pasta with choices of sauce, cheeseburgers, grilled cheese, quesadillas, stir-fry, a salad bar with rotating vegetable options each day, and a deli. The main course changes every meal and is typically a type of chicken or pork, served with a vegetable, and another side as an option. The DC also has a wonderful spread of desserts during lunch and dinner, and the soft-serve ice cream machine is always open. There are Pepsi product soda fountains, milk, and juice options as well. The DC opens at 7am on the week days and will stop letting people into the building at promptly 7:30pm each night. You can stay in the DC and finish eating until 8pm when the staff begins to clean up for the night. During the weekend, the DC opens at 10am and will still close at 7:30pm. I am not a fan of these hours, and as a student who works a lot, and takes many classes, this doesnâ??t always leave room to get to the Dining Commons. However, there are other food options. You can use your meal plan at Hoot n Scoot which is a fast-food type of setting that has greasy and unhealthy food options at any time of the day, until 9pm. Lloydâ??s and the Bean and Bagel are places that use Flex (an option you can have on your meal plan - $150 to use in these places specifically) or you can pay by debit card and cash. These dining areas have longer hours and make it more convenient for a busy college student to grab food or a snack on the way to class.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoy living in dorms on campus, and am planning to do so even during my junior year when most students decide to live off-campus. The community that is created through floor meetings with your Residence Assistant is wonderful and there are many programs that you can go to throughout the year to build a sense of community with other people in your building. Most of the dorms are updated and are not terribly messy during the week. However, dorms do get a little messier over the weekend because the cleaning crew will not be in Friday night until Monday morning. Sharing bathrooms and common areas with other residents is not a problem, and I love being able to walk down the hallway to hang out with friends that I have made in the building. All dorms have kitchens and common areas. Some dorms have fancy common areas complete with pool tables, ping pong tables, televisions, and couches â?? these areas are where students can come together to hang out. Last year, during the SuperBowl, all of the students came together in the downstairs common room to watch the game and cheer on the teams. It was a great experience! I love living in dorms because it gives you a new perspective that you wouldnâ??t necessarily get to see about college life if you were commuting to school.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of classes really depends on your academic interests, the professor you select, and which classes you pick. Some ISP (general education) courses can be extremely easy, or extremely challenging, depending on the professor. I had one professor for an Intro to Geology: Earth Systems Science course that taught the class as though it was our major and gave us labs to work on without any background information. She hardly taught a thing and only had us work on the labs within our groups during class time. This was very challenging for me. However, another student was in a different section of the course, with a different professor, and she had an easy time â?? the professor was very thorough and taught the class in such a way that made learning fun and interesting. So really, it depends on what you like to study (I personally am not a science person), how you learn (I donâ??t learn through labs without thorough explanation beforehand), and the teaching style of the professor. If I were you, I would look up professors on RateMyProfessor.com to see what other students have said about a professor that you are thinking of taking a course with. This website has saved me a lot of trouble and I have been able to pick professors who teach with visual aids and teaching styles that work best for me as a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who would like to apply to Keene State should know a few things before applying. First, Keene can work with you if your high school GPA or test scores are not high; I know of students who attend this school with very high scores, and those who have very low scores have been accepted here too. You should also know that teaching is very popular and is one of this schoolâ??s trademarks â?? however, if you are an education major, you will need to take on a liberal arts major as well as fulfill all of your general education course requirements. This makes for a big work load, but it is rewarding, and worth it. From what I have heard; if you have an education degree such as elementary education, and then add your liberal arts major, such as psychology â?? you will only be recognized as having a degree in education during graduation â?? your liberal arts major will not be included in your degree. Just something to think about when youâ??re selecting the school if teaching happens to be your major of choice! Lastly, Keene has plenty of tutors and help available if you do get accepted and feel as though you are struggling in a course. Keene has plenty of resources readily available for you to use â?? so even if test-taking is your weak point â?? there are tutors and professors willing to help!

    In three sentences

    Keene State College is a warm and welcoming school that thrives on the sense of community and togetherness that is created from the faculty and students. The school has many wonderful academic programs, clubs, organizations, and state-of-the-art facilities that, together, create a stimulating and exciting atmosphere. There are always activities going on and fun places to hang out, so when you do happen to have a bit of free time, you will never be bored!

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap and affordable school thats about it.

    What to do for fun

    Since I dont party that much, I find myself using clubs and the library to keep me occupied.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is putrid. No variety, and barely edible. It comes to the point to just thinking about it makes me loose my appetite.

    Dorm Life

    Basically everyone in this college has illegal substances in their dorms, even in the LIFE parliament. My RA never helped me, and our hallway always smelled like drugs. The dorms are cheaply made, my dorms windows were installed upside down so whenever it rains my room would get drenched.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please! Visit the college, talk and get to know the students. I made a horrible mistake by choosing to go here. If you

    In three sentences

    Not challenging. If you like to party and have a good time without learning too much this a great college for you. I felt like I wasted my money here, and the college is going downhill since my mother attended 20 years ago.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has security at all times. Even if you don't have a phone on you there are blue light stations all over the place that contact the police department directly. There is also a swipe system to get into each of the dorms so if you don't live in the building the only way to access it is to be signed in by someone that does live there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 club options at the school so if you are willing to put yourself out there you will never be bored.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school hosts a pumpkin festival every year around Halloween. It is popular all over the place so last year some people from HGTV came and competed with a campus in Ohio to see who have the record for the most lit pumpkins. Keene won with around 28,000 lit pumpkins. By the end of pumpkin fest the streets are orange.

    What to do for fun

    The campus isn't far from big cities like Boston and the drive is under an hour if you want to go skiing.

    Food and Dining

    The dining commons are great and there are a ton of food options, like pizza and even vegetarian. If you don't feel like going to the dining commons you can go to a couple of different areas too, like the Hoot 'n Scoot or Bean and Bagel.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all a decent size and there are options of having a single, double, or triple. The option for the suites in Holloway is great because you can live with people who all have the same major as you do.

    Academic Rigor

    The average GPA for the incoming freshman is a 3.0 so really trying in high school and taking some higher leveled classes is important.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a tour guide any questions that you have, they are really helpful and, as students at the school, know what they're talking about.

    In three sentences

    The campus is great. Everything is all within walking distance from the dorms. Even is you want to go somewhere off campus there is a convenient shuttle bus option.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around when you need them and are just a phone call away

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you ever visit Keene State during the week you should go to the Night Owl Caf�© in the Student Center (between 11:30 and 2:15pm) and try a Sizzler. It is one of the best tasting meals on campus!

    What to do for fun

    There is so much that goes on around the Keene State campus. The Student Center has a program almost nightly and there are plenty of clubs and teams to join that can keep you extremely busy while having a great time.

    Food and Dining

    There are multiple places to eat on campus including the Zorn Dining Commons, Lloyds Market Place, Bean and Bagel express, Hoot-n-Scoot and the Night Owl Caf�©. Each place offers a friendly and inviting atmosphere with multiple choices to fit all dietary needs.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm is a fun and great way to meet people on campus. The RA's have many great programs for students to attend and are always there when you need them. In my dorm I have always felt safe and accepted as a part of a community.

    Academic Rigor

    Like every college Keene State has challenging classes that make you work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in something as soon as possible whether it be in Greek life, a club, team or work study, becoming a part of the community is important.

    In three sentences

    I fell in love with Keene State as soon as I stepped onto the campus, it's beautiful and so is the city of Keene itself. The staff and students are all extremely friendly, you feel as though the professors know who you are and want you to succeed. Lastly the opportunities available for the students are endless.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't very big at KSC. There are some sororities and fraternities, but they're not very popular among students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different academic clubs for students and their specific major. Intramural sports is popular among students as well.

    What to do for fun

    Recreational activities on campus and at the gym. There are also a lot of biking and hiking trails throughout Keene. There are a lot of nearby mountains for skiiers and snowboarders and many offer student discounts for KSC students. There are some beautiful lakes near by when the weather is nice.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall is amazing. Very large and clean. Great staff. A lot of different types of food, including vegan and gluten free. Foods such as fruit and vegetables are locally grown. All foods display the calories. There are a lot of different places throughout campus to purchase food, such as the dining commons, hoot and scoot, and Lloyd's.

    Dorm Life

    Different types of dorm, including singles, doubles, suite styles, and apartment styles. Some dorms are nicer than others, but you meet some awesome people. Freshman and sophomores are required to live on campus, leaving little room for juniors and seniors.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses challenge students to think and professors want students to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take tours of the campus and ask many questions, the tour guides are very helpful!

    In three sentences

    Very Beautiful Campus

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Helpful! They came out in the middle of a huge rain storm to help jumpstart my truck! Even though they were not able to get it going, they stayed with me until more help arrived.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ghost in the Huntress Hall attic!

    What to do for fun

    Movies, shopping, and the Y.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with the college activities and don't be afraid to interact with faculty and staff - they want to know about their students.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Keene State College as a wonderful place to attend based on the small class sizes, friendly instructors, and excellent recreational programs and facilities. There are good opportunities for student employment with directors who work according to students' schedules. The college is right in the middle of a small city with a lot to do and enjoy.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Swim team

    What to do for fun

    Being close to town there are a lot of things to do and stay busy, hiking, canoeing, swimming

    Food and Dining

    The so far is very good, I like it a lot

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is clean, close to the campus, and well maintained

    Academic Rigor

    Its as hard as I expected

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    1) make sure you manage time wisely 2) if you have questions make sure you ask a professor or classmates - don't assume 3) use all of the resources available to you!

    In three sentences

    Keene State School is a great school and has a great campus. I am really enjoying the classes. The faculty and staff really cares about their students.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many different clubs and activites and they're all free.

    Food and Dining

    It's alright, all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    It's GREAT!

    Academic Rigor

    It's not too hard, there is a lot of essay writing and I'm not much of a writer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in everything you can.

    In three sentences

    Its very warm and homey The classes are great, lectures aren't too big. There's so many great opportunities.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources that are available to you. Do not be afraid to ask for help!

    In three sentences

    Keene State is a friendly community with great resources. I find their office of disabilities very helpful in college career.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at Keene, I have never had a reason not to feel safe.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek life but I don't know to much about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities but my class schedule first semester did not allow me to participate in the clubs I would've wanted to so I couldn't get involved my first semester.

    Great for these types of students

    I think a lot of students who couldn't get into other colleges go to Keene because it is pretty easy to get in. However, the Honors program gives advanced students like me a place to go as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have PumkinFest about a week before Halloween. Keene holds the record of most jack-o-lanterns.

    Bang for the buck

    I think college is really expensive for all the time we have off. I have almost 6 weeks off in between semesters, and have 3 months off for summer, and no one at Keene has Friday classes. That's a lot of time off for the amount I pay a year. Compared to other schools I would say Keene is good, but I think they are all very high priced.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I hang out with my friends. We usually spend time in our dorm rooms. We play board games and watch TV/movies. For fun on my own I watch movies/TV and read.

    Food and Dining

    Keene State College has the best Dining Commons! There are a lot of choices and it's pretty easy to go when there aren't a lot of people and it's really not too bad even if there are a lot of people.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm and I love my roommates. The only downside is the guys we have next door have a tendency to play their music pretty loud on the weekends at night. Otherwise I live in a nice dorm and am happy with everything about it.

    Academic Rigor

    I took a lot of AP classes and a few college classes while in high school, as a result I think I was well prepared for college. This was not a big transition or a hard one for me becuase I already felt prepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a schedule that works for you. My schedule does not involve going out a lot but I have some great friends and roommates who I study with and have a lot of fun. You don't have to go out to have fun, you can do lots of things with your friends that isn't at a party.

    In three sentences

    Keene State College has been a great school for me. As a first semester freshman I got a 4.0 in my classes, including the Honors Program. My experience has been very positive in every aspect of the college experience.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many restaurants in keene as well as shopping areas.

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact your professors with questions.

    In three sentences

    Keene has great professors. The college is very accepting of all types of people. Overall it is a great place to be.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that do not want to get lost in the crowd

    Bang for the buck

    The safety program I am here for is a one of a kind oppotunity and experience. I am so glad I choose both this major and this school

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do. The largest pumpkin festival in the country is held here and is wild!

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay.. I don't like the themed nights

    Dorm Life

    The older dorms are tough, the newer dorms such as Holloway offer much better accomadations.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but not overwhelming

    Tips for prospective students

    Read everything that is sent to you and meet your deadlines.

    In three sentences

    A small community atmosphere. Big enough for the experience I was looking for, but not so big you feel lost.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always around on campus and there when you need them.

    Greek Life

    There are some really great sororities and fraternities on campus. They are very involved with the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different types of clubs and activities here on campus. Definalty get involved in something. You are going to find that you are going to have more free time than you think, so by getting involved then you have something to take up some of your free time.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great education and arts school. If you plan on majoring as an education, theater or dance student, then this is the perfect school for you. This is also a great school for nursing and any other type of major you decide on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pumpkin Fest is tons of fun, for the students who attend Keene and also for the community and everyone who comes and joins us.

    Bang for the buck

    College can be costly, Keene is a little expensive, but it is defiantly worth your money.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of sports teams, activities, and clubs on campus. You can walk around town with friends, go to the gym or join a club.

    Food and Dining

    There is a broad variety of food on campus. In the Dining Hall there are many options and there are also places around campus that are available for you to get food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life, is tons of fun. It does take some time to get used to living on your own, away from home and with other students.

    Academic Rigor

    Some off the classes are more hands on, like dance and theater classes. There are labs and lecture based classes. In any type of class you will receive the best possible learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many opportunities here on campus. There are all sorts of different clubs, sports teams and events to participate in.

    In three sentences

    Keene is striving to become s better University everyday. With its excellent education program, theater and dance programs, also the new nursing program. Any major that you want to pursue in, you cant find it here at Keene.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always roaming around. They are awesome if you ever need a ride at night, they have a shuttle that will pick you up and bring you wherever you need to go!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities to get involved in! There is definitely something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every October Keene celebrates Pumpkin Fest. This is mainly a large fair where Keene sets the record for most Jack-O-Laterns in one town. There is also winter and spring weekends, where the college hires artists for concerts or famous comedians.

    What to do for fun

    Nightlife in Keene is definitely exciting. With no classes on Fridays (for the most part) everyone can enjoy thirsty Thursday at house parties. And if you're 21, there are several nearby bars that do unbelievable drink deals.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many great food options on campus, and there are so many restaurants on Main Street that are delicious and within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    I loved my dorm experience for the first two years of college. The dorms are kept clean by a 24 hour staff and the furniture is in good shape. My only complaint is that they do not guarantee on campus housing for upperclassmen, which forces them to move off.

    Academic Rigor

    Keene is definitely how hard you make it. There are some classes that are harder than others but with the small class size, teachers and tutors are always available for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I have for a prospective student is to come and look at the college. Keene State is always changing and making up grades. It made my college choice a lot easier once visiting.

    In three sentences

    Keene is a liberal arts school in the center of a small town. Keene is a tight knit community with everything you need in walking distance, or accessible by the free student bus. There is also ample off-campus housing that is affordable and convenient.