Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Kendall College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The type of student that goes to Kendall should learn through hands on experience. Hard work is a necessity at Kendall College. Maturity and professionalism is also stressed highly at Kendall.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to school to party don't go to Kendall. Of course some kids do but the work is so intense that if you lose focus, you will fail. This is not food network being a chef or going into what ever major you choose will take a lot of hard work. If you like hands on learning you have chosen the right college.

    Bang for the buck

    If you graduate from Kendall the chance you will get a job in your field within six months is 97%. That is incredible. You get the best hands on experience with a faculty that has succeed far in the field you are studying. Kendall College prepares you for the real world jobs in every aspect.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have already participated in activities through Kendall and they do a good job of getting our names out there to the top chefs of the city.

    Am learning a lot

    The faculty is pushing me past my limit and since I am in Culinary the learning experience is very intense and hands on. I love this college because of its faculty and it mission. Sustainability is huge at this school and it is the greenest Culinary school and that is why I am attending Kendall college as well as what I have already said.

  • 10/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who . . . Cook Love Food Interested in Culinary Arts Teach

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time and work with the advisors. Visit Open House!

    Bang for the buck

    Not entirely sure how to answer this one. Tuition here really all depends on what your taking up. For example the Culinary Arts students tuition is more expensive since students need extra supplies such as knife kits and costs of food.

    Am enjoying being here

    Lunch is simply amazing!!! As a culinary school the lunches are constantly changing. I've eaten and tried so many new foods here its wonderful. Aside from food Student Life can be pretty interesting. A short while ago the students got together for a trip to 6Flags Fright Fest trips and tickets included. It was great.

    Am learning a lot

    Without needing to play around in the school system I began learning various Business skills and techniques in the first week of school.

  • 11/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kendall College is great for people that enjoy cooking for a passion, have the right mind set, and are responsible. If you think that Kendall College will be all fun and games with cooking, you are in for a surprise. This is a serious school that will get you ready for the real world. Be certain that you are ready for long hours at school, and have all the motivation to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students that plan on coming to Kendall College should have the right mind set. Yes at Kendall the Chef's really walk you through the process, but that doesn't mean you can slack off. Kendall college has a 50% graduation rate. That means out of all the people you start with only about half will graduate with you. Just remember to be certain that you are ready to have some new responsibility's.

    Bang for the buck

    Kendall College isn't the most inexpensive school. You have to decide if it is worth paying the large tuition. However, the learning experience you gain is like no other. At no point have I ever thought that the learning experience I was gaining wasn't worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have been at Kendall College for over a year now. To this day, everything has been very smooth. The school isn't like a university, you can feel the responsibility that everyone has. There isn't parties everywhere which is nice because you have the right mind set towards school work. Kendall College is like a big family. You see the same people over and over again. If you go up to someone and ask them a question about a class, they are more than likely to know the answer

    Am learning a lot

    Kendall College is great! There is just no other way to put it. All the chef's really push you to do your very best. All the work you do is hands on. What is really nice is that if you don't feel that you are doing your very best, you can go into tutoring. You can really feel the passion the chef's have towards your learning.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hospitality, Culinary, Business, Food and Beverage, Educators

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school, but I think they do everything they can to really allow you to get your money's worth.

    Food and Dining

    AWESOME!!! There is a culinary school here after all!

    Academic Rigor

    After general requirements are done, the classes aimed at your specific area are a lot of fun. The work is serious but since it is an area that you love, it makes it easy. There is so much help offered that it should never be beyond anyone's reach to get top grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the variety of classes that Kendall offers. The more you can explore and experience the entire hospitality industry, the better you will be. Take advantage of your professors knowledge, experience and desire to help you advance yourself in your education and your career.

    In three sentences

    Kendall is offers great opportunities with a broad array of options for those who are interested in hospitality, culinary or business. The staff is caring and experienced. It as a FUN place to attend school!

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for business & culinary minded students. You can acquire degrees in both from Kendall.

    Bang for the buck

    Kendall is very reasonable priced. I feel like since the classes are smaller (10-20 students) you are definitely getting your money's worth with the availability of the professors.

    What to do for fun

    They offer a lot of events and group outings to keep all the students involved. Kendall is really big on networking and getting to know more about your peers.

    Food and Dining

    Since it is a culinary school also, the restaurant offers discounts for students and guests. You get to taste entrees from students in the program.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but not difficult if you apply yourself. They require you to have to think outside the box and use your brain more than just reciting what you have read.

    Tips for prospective students

    Kendall takes pride in making sure that your experience is wonderful. They keep you engaged with all the activities and events that are at your disposal.

    In three sentences

    Kendall is a great business school. I enjoy the small classes they offer and the attention the professors provide. It is a very open and friendly environment and fills like a close knit community.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All students must pass through a security room before entering the building. there are always at least two guards on duty at all times to ensure that all of the students are safe and responsible.

    Great for these types of students

    If you feel a passion for Culinary or Baking, this is a wonderful school to go to.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Life Committee ALWAYS has something fun planned for students, from going to baseball games to ping pong tournaments.

    Food and Dining

    Kendall not only has a student run cafeteria, but also runs a Michelin-rated Fine Dining establishment. Both of those contain students who are participating in actually classes. It is definitely a sight to behold!

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, I do not dorm on campus, but I have only heard great things from my fellow classmates about it!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you find a career that you love, then you will never work a day in your life. That is the only advice I could give a prospective Kendall student; to make sure that this is something they truly want to do.

    In three sentences

    Kendall definitely lets you know if the program you're in is one you're truly suited for. The staff is excellent and the curriculum is second to none. I have been here for two years and have not regretted it once.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Amazing! I feel so safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Kendall is starting to get a few more clubs, such as student government and soccer, but it is still in the baby stages.

    Bang for the buck

    You will be paying a lot for your education, but it is so worth it.

    Food and Dining

    If you aren't a early childhood education major, you have a meal pass built into your tuition. You can breakfast, lunch, and dinner Monday through Friday!

    Dorm Life

    Kendall only have Presidential Towers for living, and not all those students are Kendall students.

    Academic Rigor

    It is hard. You will be doing things you never thought was possible but not without hard work.

    In three sentences

    Kendall is one of the best schools for gaining employment in Chicago. We are rated number one in Chicago for Culinary and Hospitality. You come here to work hard and gain real world skills.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very good. With checking IDs before entering and leaving and having cameras every where.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you get involved or work hard in your programs do as many actives as you can. It will help you network and become a better chef.

    Great for these types of students

    Wants to go into the culinary field and is willing to work very hard for their careers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The food is better than the typical college food because all the meals on campus are students classes. So we get good food for FREE because for half a term you have to work in the cafeteria which is a class (mandatory).

    What to do for fun

    Honestly it isn't a typically university with a campus life. Our campus is downtown chicago and there isn't a lot of events that we go to. Our school does do some events are those are a lot of fun to attend. When going to your classes with the same people everyday you will eventually become close with those people and make great friends that will make Kendall College a great experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    If planning to attend Kendall do not think it will be a walk in the park. Kendall College wants all their graduates to be the best we can be and the instructors teach you how to make it in the industry. Be prepared for long hours, early morning, sore feet, and always interested in learning.

    In three sentences

    Kendall College is a great school that gets involved with the students career goals and education goals to help them reach and achieve all the goals. Kendall College works one on one with students about anything we need help with. Whenever students need help a teacher is always willing to help to master the skills you are learning in your classes.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am an unable to comment about what is fun on campus at Kendall College. I currently taking online classes in Florida.

    Food and Dining

    I am unable to comment about food and dining, because I am an online student.

    Dorm Life

    I am unable to comment about dorm life, because I am an online student.

    Academic Rigor

    I would give Kendall College all five stars in this departement.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to make sure all your place work is in and on time, so prospective student does not have any delayed time in enrolling program of their choice. A prospective student needs to stay in contact with enrollment, advising, and financial advisor.

    In three sentences

    I am online student at Kendall College majoring in Early Childhood Education. I would rate Kendall College overall with an A. I had nothing, but a positive experience at Kendall College as a junior. Thank you Kendall for everything you do for your students.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    To get in school, all student, tutor, and staffs need ID, while guests need to sign in.

    Greek Life

    Nice and happy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Garden Go Green, Student Life, Latino Club, Student Teaching, all of those club are concerning about what happened outside our school.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who wants to feels cultural differences and great diversity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every month, we celebrate birthday boys and girls on the lounge. We also have welcoming party in every quarter for first time freshmen.

    Bang for the buck

    Four major for this college specialties makes it different from any other college. We see fancy dressed-up people everyday and realizing they still are student who's ready for professional world. A lot of international student in school also interesting.

    What to do for fun

    Student life is giving fun activities to do every week, either on campus events or outside events such as Fun Park or watching games for bears, cubs, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Try culinary student's food, that is why they are number one in culinary arts. Great variances of food everyday in 2 different cafeterias.

    Dorm Life

    Amazing 24 hours available student assistants in wonderful student housing. Updated furniture with great facilities. Very safe and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Different teachers and different styles of teaching, but they are all easy to understand and directly hit the points we need to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active, be friendly, do not hesitate to ask every person with questions because everyone are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    One go green school and very hospitable. Teacher and staffs are delightful and welcomed. Friendly classmates from around the world.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Kendall does not participate in the Greek life. However, the alumni are supposed to help place the students after graduation. So it is like one big organization, so I've been told.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't attended yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Most fine art/arts colleges cost about $36,000 in just tuition per year (so this does not include meals, housing etc.). Kendall, however, costs about $16,000 in tuition per year. It is well known as a school of excellence.

    What to do for fun

    I haven't attended yet and really don't know.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe downstairs, but no cafeteria or food plan. There are restaurants nearby and a place at Kendall to eat food you've brought. I have not personally eaten at the cafe yet.

    Dorm Life

    There are no campus dorms. My advice is to find your apartment early because they rent quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff works with you to help find the best classes and scheduling to fit into your life. I have not started yet but I am looking forward to the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many financial resources available to you. My advice is to do it early.

    In three sentences

    They have a great staff who are knowledgable, helpful and friendly. Their campus is very beautiful, modern and filled with art. Coming from a small school, I'm looking forward to the small campus atmosphere.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have guards at all our doors.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs, and people are able to create there own!

    What to do for fun

    Walk around downtown

    Food and Dining

    Its downtown so bring money to eat!!!

    Dorm Life

    what dorm life?

    Academic Rigor

    Great with helping find classes that fit with your schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great for any art student.

    In three sentences

    Great professors. Wonderful buildings. Best photography school in Michigan.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always gaurds at the door and an ID is required to get in.

    Greek Life

    We have no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is the basketball club, other than that, I do not see any other clubs or activities to do, except when there is an event.

    Great for these types of students

    For dedicated students, it is a great school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not see any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is getting higher and higher. If it keeps going this way, they are going to lose more and more students. Is it worth paying this much? I would say, no.

    What to do for fun

    There is a student lounge in the campus with cable TV, a ping pong table, a pool table, a gym, and a coffee bar. Sometimes the school organizes events for students to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The great thing is they offer a meal plan with every student included in tuition, the cooking students get it for free. The food is cooked by culinary students in buffet style and at times it is good and sometimes they have their bad days as well.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm, I live close to the area so I would give it no stars, but from what I hear, the international students are not fond of living in their dormatories. I believe it is over $3,000 a month at the Buckingham in Chicago, only one room and living with other roomates where sleeping on the floor may happen. The school had the students relocate just recently from the Presidential Towers, which is further away from the school. Before, to get to the school, only a bus would be needed, now it's the Red Line train and the bus.

    Academic Rigor

    As a Baking and Pastry student at Kendall College, the 1st, 3rd, and 5th quarter is the most difficult. There will be 6am baking classes every day for a whole quarter, so sleeping early is recommended. The chefs are filled with information, they are like walking encyclopedias of baking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure the major you go in to is the one you want to do because once you are in Kendall, it will be harder to quit. Also, be prepared to study hard, especially if you are thinking about Baking and Pastry, you would need to pass the quarter in order to go up a level, but that is because they want to make sure you understand what is going on, so it is for your own good.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate Kendall College in Chicago, IL as 7. The school has highly experienced chefs working there which is a big benefit and they have so much information that they want to share with the students. The reason why I give a score of 7 is because the tuition is rising up dramatically and many students are dropping out for that reason alone, not giving them the opportunity to gain the knowledge this school has to offer.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is relatively safe on campus, however if you venture around downtown just be careful.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of creative clubs and activities to be found, look them up and you'll be sure to find one you are interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Kendall is great for people who love art and are motivated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a lot to offer for creative people, be sure to explore the who campus and ask questions. Most people are more than willing to help.

    Bang for the buck

    Kendall is a little on the expensive side, but if you apply yourself there are many great opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Grand Rapids has plenty to offer in this area. There are many restaurants and extracurricular opportunities to be found.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to get food around campus, however there is no real cafeteria or anything on site.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, so I am not familiar with this topic.

    Academic Rigor

    This can be intense at times, but if you pace yourself I'm sure most students can succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would make sure that you are well prepared and dedicated. The studio classes are incredibly long, so prepare yourself for that as well.

    In three sentences

    I have found Kendall College to be very thorough in their work and teaching style. However, since I have been out in the field already, I do wish that some of the classes were a little more challenging. But, overall I am pleased with what I am learning and accomplishing.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is very reasonably priced compared to other colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early work with your academic and Admissions Adviser to get everything in place before you start.

    In three sentences

    This is school is great for people seeking a B.A. in Education. The school only has for concentrations so they are very focused on the degrees they offer.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    enjoy the clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have everything good with financial Aid. Get all the knowledge you can from the chefs. If you really want to you can learn a lot.

    In three sentences

    Is a good installation. The chefs know what are they talking about. Most of the staff is really friendly.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24hr security guards who preform random bag checks, and blue light buttons stationed in multiple spots in the student/faculty parking lot. Cameras are located throughout the Kendall building and an ID card must be scanned to go beyond the main lobby. It's getting to school however is the primary concern, since the school is not located in the safest of neighborhoods.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Student Programming Board is a good meeting to attend when you want to give your input on events or places you would like do/go with other people (in and out of the city). In the past hey have organized trips to theme parks (Cedar Point, Six Flags), restaurants (fine dinning, laid back cafes, and even Medieval Times!), movie premiers (Man of Steel, Pompeii), festivals, cultural districts (Chinatown, little Mexico, little India, little Greece, etc.). The process of setting up clubs isn't the difficult part, but getting people to come and participate is the toughie.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in meeting people from other countries, and those who want to be the best they can and progress in their area of work. Also people who are concerned about the environment, because Kendall is improving their sustainability program every year. Kendall composts all food waste, recycles, has an urban garden, installed energy efficient hand driers, and a water conserving dishwasher.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since there are so many students from other countries, Kendall likes to celebrate their holidays too. For example, in respect for the Chinese New Year, they had an opening doors/windows event, where the school opened up everything to let the old year out and let the new year in (same time as Shanghai).

    Bang for the buck

    It's essential that you take advantage of everything Kendall has to offer you because they give you great networking opportunities that will help jump start your career during and after school. With the extensive (and exclusive) volunteer and event opportunities the school provides, its a great way to meet the shakers and movers in your specific industry. Recommendations from you instructors is also a great plus, since all of them have 10 year + experience in their field of study. At this school, you get what you pay for.

    Food and Dining

    A hit or a miss. Keep in mind the individuals who cook your food are STUDENTS so it has its great days and sub par days, but they cook a variety of food items; as basic as a sloppy Joe or as extravagant as rack of lamb. Vegetarian options available everyday. They never mess up the salad bar^^

    Dorm Life

    The Buckingham is located in the Loop of Chicago, which gives you access to all colored CTA train lines. Its near the Art Institute, major shopping areas, restaurants, and by the lake! The Buckingham not only houses Kendall students, but students from other universities whom you tend to run into on a regular basis (great networking opportunity). Apartments are nice and spacious; ideal for friend hangouts or movie nights. If you ever have any problems, like a noise complaint or can't turn on your washer/dryer, RA's are available 24/7 to come to the rescue.

    Academic Rigor

    Time management is essential to any college or university classes one might take, however Kendall has rigorous group projects (like Capstone) and personal work (like portfolios for baking students) that take several hours a day, every day to keep up with. Procrastinating until the week it's due might have worked at a previous school, but here it WILL hurt your grade (and sleep).

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the resources Kendall provides such as their learning centers (tutoring), gyms, library, cafeterias, and support centers. After all you paid for it, so make the most of your money! Don't be afraid to meet new people and be aware of how uphold yourself in and outside of the classroom. Especially with the areas of studies Kendall offers, the amount of professionalism you enact is important and will make or break your reputation.

    In three sentences

    Kendall college is the place where you want to be if you have a passion for business, culinary, hospitality, or early childhood education. Kendall has maintained an image or prestige and excellence throughout the country; and they want to keep it that way by implementing their professionalism into their students. I warn that the admission process is troublesome, but it is certainly worth the time.