Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Kennebec Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school and it's actually affordable!

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like this school. The instructors are great and very helful. Everybody is friendly and available if you need them.

    Am learning a lot

    This is a great school. I am still in High school and taking courses here. I have learned alot from my courses and it has helped me get ready for full time college.

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is rather inexpensive and that is a big plus because it has the program I want to do, it is close to my house, and I have heard good things about it from my mother who went there. She said that she had no debt coming out and that is very important to me!

    Will enjoy being here

    I would enjoy going here because it is only an hour away from my house, so the commute would be no problem for me. There seems to be some interesting clubs that I could participate in also. I will still be able to work at the same place since I will only be commuting and do not have to worry about money or room and board.

    Will learn a lot

    This school has a physical therapist assistant program which is what I am planning on attending if I get accepted. The class sizes are small and there are hands on programs at professional facilities that I think will be very helpful.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The older generation. The students with lack of funds.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow through with the paperwork.Stay prepared and utilize the resources.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love attending this school.There is such a huge age diversity I don't feel left out being an older student.

    Am learning a lot

    I never thought I could retain so much important information and learn so much.This school really cares about you, as a student.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Single parents, First time students, low income, adults.....anyone really!!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that I am getting a better education for a lower price. I looked at UMA for the same program and courses and would have paid 2x what I am paying now.

    Will enjoy being here

    I have met quite a few current students and faculty and I am eager to attend here, everyone is very friendly and eager to help.

    Will learn a lot

    I have heard a lot from current students, They say that they are really learning a lot from their education here.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is available anytime

    Clubs and Activities

    Join as many clubs as you can, participate in the many activities available

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a shy person, KVCC will help you overcome your shyness. Everyone is so friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is separate from classrooms.

    Bang for the buck

    KVCC wants everyone to succeed and they go out of their way to assist you in completing your degree

    What to do for fun

    Join some clubs, act silly, be yourself

    Food and Dining

    They have a Cafe where fresh food is made daily. Reasonably priced

    Dorm Life

    no dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    If you do the work you will shock yourself and be proud of your grade

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid to ask questions. Be yourself, remember everyone is there for the same thing A DEGREE Dont be ashamed to ask questions, or offer your opinion.

    In three sentences

    Being an older student I am comfortable attending KVCC, they go out of their way to make sure you feel comfortable. They have other students available should you need extra help. They arrange a Community Day for new students in which they take you around the campus and show you everything.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is very important here. All vehicles are required to have stickers allowing them access to parking lot. Non campus registered vehicles are towed. Parking lots are well lit and Security often drives through making sure everyone is safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of activities available, they change according to the demand of the students.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners and teenagers who are not really sure what they want to do when they grow up.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus is located in the countryside. They are in the process of expanding, offering new possibilities to their students.

    Bang for the buck

    Teachers here are excellent! They really work hard at meeting their students needs, they understand that there is life outside of school for the adult students. they are always willing to listen and offer academic suggestions whenever they can. Community colleges are less expensive than Universities and their quality is better, you are not a number.

    What to do for fun

    This is Maine, so there are lots of hiking trails. There are some mini golf courses in the area. There are ski resorts in the winter and beaches in the summer.

    Food and Dining

    The delicious food here is reasonably priced and sized. You may in inside at some quaint locations including the cafe or you may choose to eat outside at the tables. Most teachers allow you to eat in their classrooms, except for the computer lab of course.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available. Traveling is how I attend.

    In three sentences

    Kennebec Valley Community College is a great place to learn. You are a person within its community and not just a number. Teachers care about the success of their students.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking lots are well lit.

    Clubs and Activities

    The tutoring programs and TRIO clubs are great.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school to major in Liberal Arts and transfer out of.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We actually do have an ice hockey team.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is absolutely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Study groups always put fun into the school experience.

    Food and Dining

    The kitchen staff is friendly, clean, and the food is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms yet

    Academic Rigor

    There are many oppurtunites at KVCC

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your books online instead of having the bookstore reserve them for you.

    In three sentences

    KVCC is a small school ideal for people that appreciate one on one learning oppurtunites. Tutoring is widely available. This college has the lowest tuition rates in the State of Maine.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs and the college and tons of nature trails in the area that you can go for walks on.

    Food and Dining

    Great little restaurant on campus. Delicious food.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the professors take their courses very seriously and put you through tons of situations to prepare you for the job force. Others however are relatively laid back and teach you only practical things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stress about college it's not nearly as bad as high school makes it out to be.

    In three sentences

    This college is extremely friendly and easy going. There are tons of options for assistance and the professors really go out of their way to help you. The campus is also beautiful.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    You can find something for everyone at KVCC!

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional

    What to do for fun

    Great fitness center and beautiful walking trails!

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afarid to ask for help...everyone will jump at the chance!

    In three sentences

    A friendly atmosphere is key to a successful college experience. The staff knows you by name and treats you like family. Everyone will go out of your way to make sure you succeed.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus regularly advises students on safety and parking safety. They require a parking sticker along with smoking only in vehicles and not on school property. The campus is clean and regularly watched by security.

    Greek Life

    I'm unsure of what this means.

    Clubs and Activities

    I never attended any clubs with the 'Movies on the Green' were fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Students on a budget and students who want to stay local.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a building called 'the annex' which is not attached to the rest of the college. You have to drive there or walk through the path through the woods.

    Bang for the buck

    The book store is very helpful and you have the option to buy new, used, or to rent books! They also have a book buy back for books that will be used next semester.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs within this college and you can also make a club to start. I enjoy the community 'movie on the green' which is a new movie played on a blow up screen outside which is available to the public. There is also free popcorn!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe always has a variety of food that is always delicious, reasonably priced, with a generous portion!

    Dorm Life

    There is not a dorm with this school. I enjoy the fact that there is not a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say the classes are appropriately set for the knowledge you should already have acquired. The anatomy and physiology classes require a lot of work and I consider those to be the hardest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to set aside time for classes and studying. Start off with classes that you believe will be fairly simple so you're not thrown into hard core studying right away. Sign up for classes as soon as they become available.

    In three sentences

    Involved in the community making time spent there more fun. Takes pride in its school and students. The people who work there are willing to help the best they can.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone going for trades, or hoping to transfer to a four year school.

    Bang for the buck

    KVCC has the lowest tuition rates in Maine.

    What to do for fun

    KVCC is a small school, and is not able to offer much in this department, but there is a gymnasium.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria, but there is a café on campus which serves a fair selection of food at reasonable prices.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you work hard, show up for class, and don't procrastinate, you should be able to get good grades at KVCC. The teachers tend to notice if you are putting the work in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take your core classes here. Do a two year program here, then go on and finish at a four year college. You will save quite a bit.

    In three sentences

    KVCC is a small but efficient school. The teachers, especially the math teachers, are very helpful. The advising staff is also very helpful.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards who frequently do rounds throughout the parking lots as well, as in the campus facilities. I never worry about my safety while at school.

    Clubs and Activities

    As a student who has been on the deans list my entire college career, I was accepted into the National Society of Leadership and success known as Sigma Alpha Phi. This society is only limited to students who receive academic excellence while in school. Through this society, as members, we have access to numerous scholarships and actives that other students cannot be a part of. This society encourages students to excel in school.

    What to do for fun

    KVCC holds many extra circular activities after school hours as well, as during school hours for students with children. They do this specifically in the hopes that any student can enjoy these activities.

    Food and Dining

    KVCC has a small café on campus with a small dining area. This café has delicious food and a wonderfully friendly atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    Kennebec Valley Community College does not offer on campus living facilities however, they do financially help students with money to cover cost of living while attending their school. Financial Aid is not the only type of financial help they offer. There is also many scholarships available directly through KVCC as well, as private donors.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class I have attended the teachers are all so warm and helpful. The classes run relatively small, which is nice because then you can really build a professional relationship with the instructors and they get to know you as a person.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a person who originally dropped out of high school and received my GED I feared college. I felt I was not smart enough to succeed. Now that I am in my second year attending KVCC I know that I can succeed. Anyone can achieve their dreams with dedication and motivation!

    In three sentences

    Kennebec Valley Community College is an affordable and friendly place to attend classes. The teachers are enthusiastic and helpful when one needs assistance. Being on campus gives me a sense of purpose and a feeling of accomplishment.