Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Kent State University at Stark Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student looking for a diverse education is guaranteed to get that here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT try the homemade potato chips made in our food emporium daily unless you want to become an addict like I did. They are OH SOOOoooo GOOD!

    Bang for the buck

    Cost has been my main concern as to returning to college after 26 years! Yes, 26 years is not a typo, but KSU Stark fits my budget.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is BEAUTIFUL at KSU Stark! Staff and faculty are very knowledgeable and have great teaching methods. VERY helpful people here. If you get lost, ask a gardener! If you're still lost, ask the dean! EVERYONE is helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning TONS of stuff that I thought I already knew. I'll be ready for Jeopardy! very soon!!!!!!!

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always felt safe on campus until i read in an email that someone had their car stolen from stark state which is next door to kent state university at stark.

    Great for these types of students

    students that don't want large classrooms.

    Bang for the buck

    much cheaper than other colleges, and a good education!

    What to do for fun

    for fun you can check out the bookstore or go to the on campus events that happen often.

    Food and Dining

    too little seats for that many students. also, in my opinion, the food isn't very good.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    some of the teachers act like their class is the only class you're taking, therefore giving you a ton of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply yourself and study for any class where you think you won't be able to pull an a in without studying.

    In three sentences

    kent state university at stark is a nice school for students that do not want a big campus to walk around with a ton of students in their classrooms. the staff that i have met at the school so far are very nice. some of the professors though act like their class is the only class you're taking, and others grade papers based on their opinion, instead of a rubric.

  • 10/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want smaller classroom sizes and more one on one time with the professors. It is also great for students who like the small campus atmosphere where you can get to know everybody.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since you have to commute, don't schedule any classes before 9 am...It's way to early.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is hard to beat for a college education. This is definitely the smart way to go for the first couple years of college. It will save you thousands.

    Am enjoying being here

    If money wasn't an option I would be at a larger campus away from home, but for the price of tuition, it is a nice campus. The only downside is it is very similar to a high school setting.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are really good about getting the students prepared for tests. The classes are not as hard as I thought they would be, which I guess is a good thing because it means good grades.

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This collage may be a local collage but it is one of the best for education. Unlike every other collage professors that do not seem to care theses professors do care and they will help you during their office hours and before or after class. The cost is relatively low in price around 3 grand per semester and has most of the majors that the main campus has.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here and in the library it is very quiet and not just a bunch of adults talking non stop. There are individual study rooms where group study should take place and it is a totally a wonderful experience. Besides the academics we at kent stark have several parties thorough the year and they are enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    This collage is one of the most enjoyable collages. The professors are available before or after class and during their office hours. There are very few proffs that I did not like but even those proffs taught me somthing

  • 05/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who desire one-on-one attention, are short on money, need to take night classes and keep a full-time job, don't like to walk far to get to classes, or are unsure about the college they will attend but want to get the basics out of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Go to the Campus Center and ask to see a list of all the classes you can CLEP out of. They will give you a free test to see if it's worth it to pay for the real one. I took the Spanish CLEP test and received 8 credit hours. -Even if you don't want to attend here for all 4 years, you can get your first year of basic classes out of the way. lt will be inexpensive and enjoyable.

    Bang for the buck

    This past year, it cost me a little less than $6,000 to attend. Yes, the price of this school all year is equal to or less than what many colleges charge per semester. The best part? I am learning the same things as friends attending bigger, more expensive colleges. It's definitely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I had initially planned on attending only for the first year and transferring to a better college later. However, I have enjoyed my time here so much I do not plan on leaving. The professors recognize me even after the course is over and ask how my current semester is going. The overall atmosphere is one of community and belonging - you're not just a number at the Stark Campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors really make a huge effort for all of the students to understand. If someone does not understand during class, they are very helpful when meeting separately. I have not had a professor so far that is not willing to meet before or after class, during office hours, or by a scheduled appointment. The courses are very thorough.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are on a limited income.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work your hardest in every class and don't expect a full range of help from the advising staff.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is low and you will learn a lot if you are willing to learn, but expect only limited help from the advising staff.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's not bad, but I wish that the staff outside of the professors were willing to help see a person's idea/goal through to completion.

    Am learning a lot

    I had to take a few courses that seemed like review to me, but I was able to pick up a few things from these classes as well. In essence I guess I may be learning a lot.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No crazy incidences. I feel safe.

    Greek Life

    No greek life, only at the main campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    History club, opera club, rooted in faith club, sports club, geology, french club, computer club, scrubs club, spanish, spectrum (gay lesbian) club, psychology, sociology clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus great for incoming freshmen or people who can attend there to start and transfer to the main campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a weird tradition to hire a dean that has the same first and last name initials.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is reasonable. The cost is about half of what you would pay at the main Kent campus. It's nice to have that option. There is free parking too!.

    What to do for fun

    There is always a play or a club to join. When you join a club, you meet some cool people with different interests. You are a part of a smaller college community with a large family of friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome and there are other eateries in the area close by.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but if you stay in contact with your professor on things that you don't understand, they are willing and ready to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet students from different majors to get a perspective of the culture there. The professors are awesome. They really attend to the students needs and give extra help when needed. It's a really nice atmosphere and the food is great! Especially the apples! Enjoy and emerse yourselves in the campus.

    In three sentences

    Kent State Univ. at Stark is homey. Kent State Univ. at Stark is welcoming. Kent State Univ. at Stark is professional.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus seems safe

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Geology club, Biology club, Minds Matter club, Rooted in Faith

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do here. There are clubs available

    Food and Dining

    Food is average

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Good academics, good teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you schedule your classes as early as possible since it is such a small campus there are a very limited amount of classes available that will work with your schedule.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy going to Kent State Stark. It is a perfect place to adjust to what college demands. Since it is so small it is not overwhelming like large campuses. The tuition is so much less than other universities so it is actually affordable with grants and loans.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus seems very safe, with security available to walk you to your car if needed and phones to use to call if there is a problen throughout the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Check the posting boards for all of the available clubs and activities, there are tons to be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student would enjoy this school, it is a real melting pot of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fine arts building has nice displays of student work as well as the main building has a small area in the bottom floor that puts many interesting things on display for students.

    Bang for the buck

    Their tuition seems on par with most of the local colleges...face it college is expensive anywhere.

    What to do for fun

    The campus puts on many activities throughout the year to engage in as well as an fitness area available to students. There is a ton of stores and a mall near by.

    Food and Dining

    The campus center is a great place to grab a bite between classes. Everything is priced reasonably.

    Dorm Life

    I have visited the dorms and have found them to be nice, clean, and well maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    I was able to work and succeed in my studies well. Some teachers make it tough on you, but most realize there are full lives in and out od school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a day to walk around campus and explore everything it has to offer. Check out the student center and see all the available help that is there for you. Look at all of the posting boards around campus for all the neat things that are available to take part in.

    In three sentences

    1. Great, small and personal campus. 2. Because the campus is not huge there is a very personal feel with the teachers. 3. Their student center is very helpful with just about any questions possible.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and there are security cameras all around.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    The amount of clubs is similar to high schools. There is probably something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    People who graduated awhile ago and don't really care for the college experience and just want a degree. People who don't want to graduate with $50,000 in student loans. People who want to save money by completing general requirements at a community college. People who like small campuses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring Kick Off, FWOF

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely worth the tuition!

    What to do for fun

    For this school to be so small, they offer a lot of fun activities and events for students. Little parties here and there, gatherings in the campus center, and movie nights!

    Food and Dining

    There is only one place to buy food and that's the campus center. The food is not good and over priced but luckily there are dozens of restaurants around the corner.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a political science major which isn't a major at this school so I'm only taking general requirements and basic poly sci courses. For the most part the classes aren't too challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like any college, the bookstore prices are outrageous! Always buy your books online.

    In three sentences

    This is small but not very intimate. It's a good place to get your general requirements out of the way because of the low price. It is a good fit for me and busy lifestyle.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. They have the emergency poles throughout the campus and parking lots. Also, the students can subscribe by e-mail to be notified if any problems or issues occur.

    Greek Life

    There is no dorms or sororities on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not currently in any clubs or activities at the college campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students that worry about college loans or have to pay for their own education. The tuition is very reasonable and the students are getting a great education. Also, these credits can transfer anywhere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know of any unusual traditions on campus. However, in the summer they have a big balloon fest for the hall of fame parade right next to the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great college for your bang for the buck. The tuition is only around 5,000 a year! I feel like i am learning the same information for a fraction of the price. I may not be getting a lot of one-on-one, but i know we are covering the right information.

    What to do for fun

    I am a senior post secondary student, so i really don't hang out on the campus. There are activities and speakers for students that come in throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent at the college. It is in a great location in between everything. They also have new equipment and the atmosphere is nice.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms at this campus. This branch at kent is a small commuter campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I take grades very seriously and usually study or do homework three to four hours a night. My Kent english class is no walk in the park, but i enjoy it. My teacher is great and grades the material, so there are no favorites.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay up to speed with the professor. Do not be afraid to ask questions. Finally, don't forget to let loose and have fun too.

    In three sentences

    Very nice commuter campus close to home. My teacher is great and really cares about the individual students. Classes are small, and i feel comfortable at this college.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am way too new tho the area. so far there are clubs and events like guest speakers but other than that i don't know much more.

    Food and Dining

    I know they offer food but i bring my own because i have a special diet.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think they have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am too new to really know that much about the school

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do the work and get it done ahead of time. Its easier to live that way.

    In three sentences

    Smaller campus. Less people. Has just as much to experience as any other College.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's as diverse a make-up of clubs and activities as there is of students and faculty to facilitate them.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that there is great bang for your buck with campus being surrounded by additional restraunts and shopping. Cost per credit hour is low for both lower and upper divison classes.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great Food Emporium and Fine dining menu in The University Conference Center.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I have been impressed eith the stregnth of teaching and the excellent academic choices of KSUS. I believe I have recieved fair grades for the completed coursework and wish

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your major and career field and know what jobs are avaible on-campus and off to help you reach your goals. Go to an academic advisor at least once a year and follow their advice to the letter.

    In three sentences

    A top university with a diverse student body and class choice for all majors. It also offers a diverse extra-curricular activity list.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. The last major thing happened forever ago, and it was only an attempted car break in.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love a small tight knit community. The classes are small, and the campus is also on the small side. You also have to commute.

    What to do for fun

    They always have upcoming events, like speakers (Bob Saget, Elie Wiesel), and student events. You can even attend events at the main campus because you are attending Kent State.

    Food and Dining

    Food is awesome, very tasty. Loved it

    Dorm Life

    You can only commute.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not that rigorous. I have two siblings attending there, and they do not spend too much time doing homework.

    In three sentences

    I loved the visit there. Everyone is so sweet and caring. AND, the campus is just beautiful, the landscaping is breathtaking.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much

    Food and Dining

    Costly

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    If you read materials and study, it is not that hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the work that is expected.

    In three sentences

    Not as difficult as expected.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Kent State Stark is great because I can save a ton of money by commuting to and from campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous unique clubs to get involved in at campus as well as means to start a new club if you wanted. FWOF is a great event to attend at the beginning of school for free food, games, and other great activities. Honors club also does a lot of fun things as a group that are a ton of fun.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at the emporium very often because I find it to be a little pricey however all the times I have eaten there I have received good food and service.

    Dorm Life

    Kent State Stark is a commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate! I know everyone says it, but seriously unforeseen circumstances can arise at any time and if you do not have your work done you will have to stay up all night trying to finish a PowerPoint before your speech the next day. You will be stressed, cranky, and sleep deprived not good things to be feeling before your scheduled time to talk. In addition, get involved! It further enhances your sense of community and you get to meet great people and go exciting places.

    In three sentences

    Everyone who is a part of the Kent Stark campus is amazing to work with and always ready to help out. There is a great sense of community and family that comes out of our tightly knitted campus. It is a great place to get a great college education, save money, and stay close to home all the while feeling at home whenever you show up for class.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is only one option for food on campus but it is well made as far as college food goes.

    Dorm Life

    This campus is a commuter based campus and has no dorm facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    As any college goes, classes are rigorous. You have to WANT to pass in order to pass. Some classes are easier than others but for the most part your classes are going to be tough enough to make it just a bit harder than high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study for your exams, apply for scholarships early, speak to your advisors often, and take advantage of the free facilities on campus like the recreation and wellness center, the writing center, and more.

    In three sentences

    Kent State University at Stark is a great, beautiful campus. The professors really care about the students and want you to do well. You can take as many credit hours as you want and the tuition stays the same.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is relatively small making student feel safe and secure. The parking lots all have emergency phones that are easy to access. The security team is always available to help and they are both quick and reliable.

    Clubs and Activities

    Biology Club, Business Student Leadership Society, Computer Club, Dance Club, French Club, Geology Club, History Club, Education Club, Pyschology/Sociology Club, Music Technology Club, Music Education Club, Opera Club, Sign Language Club, Nursing Club, Christian Organization, Spanish Club, LGBT organization, Student for Obama

    Great for these types of students

    Freshman, Low Income, students who do not want to attend large school

    Bang for the buck

    Kent Stark is wonderfully affordable! The education received is worth even more than the tuition itself.

    What to do for fun

    Every semester their are events happening all over campus that allow you to meet new people and try new things. There is also a fitness center that is free to students. The campus center has pool tables and the emporium where many students spend their free time.

    Food and Dining

    The Food Emporium is delicious! It is a great place to fellowship with your peers and the food is both affordable and tasty.

    Dorm Life

    There is no campus housing at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to work hard at this school. College is not the time to slack off. If you are serious about your education, the academic rigor at Kent Stark will satisfy you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would absolutely attend Kent Stark for the first year of college to complete general courses at a great price.

    In three sentences

    Kent State University at Stark is the best college choice if you are looking for affordability without sacrificing the quality education. It is a smaller college which allows for more student-instructor interaction. Kent Stark offers degree programs that can either be finished on campus or prepare you to transfer to the main campus.