Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Kent State University at Trumbull Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus really is off by itself which cuts down unnecessary people being in the parking lot or on campus. i've never had an issue of anyone breaking in my car or stealing anything. there is always a campus security guard driving around plus we have the police academy on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    i believe this campus is great for everyone, it does not cater towards anyone in particular. and there is always something going on whether it's an on campus celebration at the beginning of school, or plays, or you can visit the learning center if you need help with math or writing homework. so there are lots of options and plenty to do.

    Bang for the buck

    as far as getting your money's worth i absolutely believe they are the best, most afford in the trumbull / mahoning area even less than youngstown state for a quality education!

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria serves great food options as well as the surrounding fast food places and restaurants that are just off campus.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on campus but i am sure there are plenty of inexpensive apartment options just off campus

    Academic Rigor

    i honestly would rate this school 4/5.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would highly recommend that you find the college that fits you best. however i believe that whether it's kent state trumbull or any other of the kent campuses that it would be a great place to look into. you are offered many degree options as well as knowing that you are attending a reputable school with great professors.

    In three sentences

    i have had a great experience at kent state, the professors have been wonderful, the atmosphere is great, as well as the students have been extremely kind and helpful. it is a smaller campus which makes it easier to find classes as well as less walking between classes.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are security guards patrolling the campus at all times.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have a luau to start the fall semester.

    Bang for the buck

    it is absolutely worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    there is a lounge with pool tables, ping pong tables, tvs and lots of fun people. outside there is a disc golf course.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe has cheap and good-tasting food and drinks if you are hungry.

    Dorm Life

    well, there aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    college courses are intended to be difficult and these classes are.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you don;t want to be far from home but you still want to get a college experience, kent state trumbull is for you.

    In three sentences

    it is a great place to get the basic classes you need for your major out of the way. also a great place for older people to come and get a degree and start a new career. it is very cheap and easy.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security everywhere whether they are patrolling in their vehicles or walking around campus. It definitely makes you feel safe especially in the winter when it gets dark so early for those who take evening classes.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities at this branch.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely worth the cost of admission, which if you are a resident of Ohio is extremely cheap.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities on campus almost weekly. Also in the student lounge there are pool tables, ping pong, Foosball and a flat screen TV for video games or movies.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome. It is a little on the pricey side but well worth it. They also have a wide variety of breakfast and lunch dishes from sandwiches to bacon and eggs and salads.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Kent State at Trumbull Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of my classes require quite a bit of work with numerous exams, quizzes, class and individual projects and essays. Attendance has also been required in almost all of my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for what to expect if your decide to attend Kent State at Trumbull: Be sure to register for classes early because they fill up quick and if you need to see a counselor to assist you. Also, don't expect to just float by in the classes here. Every class i have taken has required at least 3 or 4 essays, attendance has been required, there are pop quizzes almost every week and the exams are extremely difficult. The professors definitely push the students here. I personally love that it is difficult because it means you are actually learning what you will need for your career.

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing college to attend. It is small and close knit which allows for much more one on one time with professors. Everyone I have met on campus whether a student or faculty has been extremely helpful and friendly.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Women's clubs available.

    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional

    Bang for the buck

    Education is proportionate with cost. Campus is small and easy to find classes.

    Food and Dining

    Fair.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Fair. Depends on course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared. Communicate with professors. Communicate with staff/deans.

    In three sentences

    Great professors. Educational curriculum. Close proximity to where I live.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe! The parking lot and outsides of buildings are always lit, so there is no worry when walking to your car after a night class. The campus security is always available and friendly.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at the Trumbull Branch of Kent State University, but the main campus is home to many Greek organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    Kent State at Trumbull has an excellent drama and theatre program, putting on plays all year long. SIFE has a lot of activities during the school year and many opportunities for students to join.

    Great for these types of students

    KSUTC is great for all types of students from non-traditional to fresh out of high school. There are day, night and weekend classes for all majors. The schedule is flexible, so single parents and student who work will find ease in fitting in classes around busy schedules.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Senior Rock outside of the main classroom building on campus that graduating seniors repaint each spring with their names and year of graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    As part of Kent State University, the Trumbull branch offers the same, if not a better, education for almost 20% lower tuition. The bookstore is reasonably priced. It is a great school for students on a budget. Plus parking is free!

    What to do for fun

    The student lounge at KSUTC has cable television, pool and air hockey tables, and a fireplace available to students. There is a basketball court outside, lined with picnic tables. The campus has a lake ready for fishing and a frisbee golf course circling the main classroom building. KSUTC's student services also sponsor welcome-back, holiday, and end of the school year parties in the lounge. The campus also features a fully equipped work-out facility.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria serves up a myriad of breakfast and lunch options from salads to chicken fingers. Across the street from campus are also fast food options ranging from sushi to Arby's.

    Dorm Life

    Kent State at Trumbull is strictly a commuter school. The areas surrounding the area are rural, and there are plenty near-by apartment and renting options.

    Academic Rigor

    Offering several Associates and Bachelors degrees, KSUTC offers rigorous degree programs from very well qualified professors. The small class sizes offer opportunities for professors to teach material in depth while still providing help to their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should take advantage of all of the services the University offers. The academic and financial advisors are available and counsel small numbers of students. Scholarships are available for students as well. Professors are friendly and open- don't be afraid to go to them for advice on their classes or other classes in your major, or just to chat about career options!

    In three sentences

    Kent State at Trumbull is affordable with a convenient location and exceptional staff. The classes are small which affords students and teachers more one-on-one time. Students get the big university feel without the big university cost or confusion.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Excellent theater program!!

    Great for these types of students

    It is a commuter college; the student population is very diverse and everyone feels welcome.

    Bang for the buck

    Great place to start college locally. Tuition is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    The rec room is always busy with student studying or unwinding after a test.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good the coffee is excellent

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life - commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging but the staff and faculity give you the tools, support and feedback for success.

    Tips for prospective students

    You are not in high school anymore so change your study habits, strive for the best grade you can get. Don't be shy other students are helpful and friendly. Speak up in class - the staff and faculty are great at giving you the answers or the support you need to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Faculty and staff are excellent. Great student diversity. It's not overwhelming - nice size.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not only is it the safest college I've ever stepped foot on, but the help is incredible if you have any auto issues. My VERY first day of school, I left my lights on in my car. Big surprise, my battery was dead. They contacted the parking patrol, and they had me up and running in no time flat. I didn't have to wait hours and the lady that helped me was so incredibly understanding and nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    The main focus here is to get your degree, or at least it is for me. I am not aware of clubs or activities. I know there are some, but they do not apply to me at this time.

    Great for these types of students

    Kent State University at Trumbull branch is great for both traditional and nontraditional students. I, myself am nontraditional and it is great to be able to go to work full time and go to school full time, in addition to being a single mom. The professors understand you have a life outside of school and work with you accordingly. So, if you have a job and a family, this branch is perfect to help you further your career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    What's different about the Trumbull branch at Kent State University is you do not have to pay for parking. Yes, there isn't much parking space, but it's not needed. You really do not have to walk far to any class either. It's perfect and quaint.

    Bang for the buck

    I really love the smallness about the campus, but the BIG University that is tagged to the name Kent State University. I get the same advantages after college as someone that went to the main campus, but do not have to drive as far or deal with as many people, buildings, class rooms, etc.

    What to do for fun

    There is a pool table and ping pong table in the recreation area. If you need to unwind in between classes, you can shoot some pool or play some ping pong. You never have to worry about having a competitor. There's always someone there to play with you.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few already made items for you to quickly grab in the cafeteria, but mostly you can have your lunch made-to-order. Of course, there are vending machines for the student on the go as well. The staff is incredibly hospitable.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors really keep you on your feet and keep your brain turning. They do not give you easy material, but they help you every step of the way to make it as easy as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it's a small branch does not mean you do not need to work just as hard. Keep your momentum and focus on your studies. If you're not working, you should be studying.

    In three sentences

    Kent State University at the Trumbull branch is great for that small town vibe with a big University degree. Classes are relatively small, more one on one with the professors. Everyone on staff is so nice and very helpful.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Love the Student Cafe!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms...

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work as soon as you can!

    In three sentences

    Attending as a Post-Secondary student, this college had been wonderful. The professors are awesome, as are the students. It's a terrific education!

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always see security. There is also a police academy on campus. The security are not just like rent a cops they have full officer abilities. Campus definitely feels safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several different clubs and if you can't find a club you want to join it is not hard to create one of your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Although there are lots of young fresh from high school students here there is just as equally the same amount of returning adults of All ages. So if you are looking to go back to college or continue your education and worried about not fitting in then look no further this college campus will erase that fear.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    New freshman get to make their mark on campus. This means there is a giant rock that they paint white and let freshman put their hand prints or whatever on it after orientation.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college tuition rates with the university label that you can take with you instead! For the cost you really to get a lot.

    What to do for fun

    There is a gym to work off all the food they have available. There is a student lounge with a television with a gaming system, pool table, ping pong, and foos ball table. Plenty of shopping amenities around campus. There are several plays throughout the year and several other different events that get posted all over campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria with good food. There are vending machines and food for purchase in th bookstore. If that is not enough for you there are always bake sales going on for different causes. The library also offers free coffee and other things sometimes. If you still want more there is Burger King, McDonalds, Dunkan Donuts (that you get a student discount with ID), Pizza, Chineese, and much more in the plaza across the street. You can easily gain the freshman 15 here.

    Dorm Life

    Kent Trumbull does not have dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Algebra feels crammed. Algebra one two and three are each an eight week course. Instead of retaining the information it feels crammed just enough to pass the course. All other courses that I have taken feel even paced for college, but a semester is over before you will realize it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for campus life then Kent main campus is where you want to be. Kent Trumbull is more laid back with smaller classes. There is also no campus housing at Trumbull either. However tuition is a very nice price! Tuition is even comparable to that of the community college

    In three sentences

    You get what you put into it. Small classroom attendance makes it more comfortable. Variety of classes is nice although not all classes are offered at this campus.

  • 05/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They offer many safety precautions for students including campus police. I feel very safe attending here.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities because it is a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs offered here and if there isn't one you fit in to, you are able to start your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't want to have outrageous loans and want to stay close to home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions here.

    Bang for the buck

    The education received here is phenomenal for the cheap cost and i feel like it competes with large schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs you can become a part of.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe that offers small snacks and the campus location is only feet from various fast food restaurants which is very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here take their jobs very seriously and are very passionate. I feel that i am receiving a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate because like any college, the work can pile up quickly. Walking distance is not a hassle but always wear comfortable clothes.

    In three sentences

    The education taught at KSU is outstanding. The advisors here are very approachable and are always teaching me more ways to be involved at the university. The college location is perfect and very efficient.