Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Kent State University at Tuscarawas Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    Very friendly place with lots of student activities and a chance to meet fun and exciting people.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers and Staff are absolutely amazing!

  • 02/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone and everyone will enjoy Kent State Tusc. I work part time and am able to fit college in to my life because of Kent State

    Tips for prospective students

    There are a wide variety of majors, and lots of advisors to help your career path. My tip to students is to check out all of your colleges and ask the right question. For a school being close to home Kent State is the choice that fits my busy life the best

    Bang for the buck

    Kent State tusc have many scholarship opprutuniities.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are so many new people that I have met. I love being in the Student Union and even the Cyber Cafe

    Am learning a lot

    My teachers and other staff At Kent State Tusc. Really care about what the students are learning. They are willing to go beyond to help out the student.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i dislike the food court. arbys is just down the road.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes can be tough but so many people are willing to help out and teachers are willing to assist you if you ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is a really great school, the campus is small and so it is easier to navigate.

    In three sentences

    kent state univeristy at tuscarawas is the friendliest little college i have ever attended. the staff and students welcome you with open arms and offer a sense of caring. i am so happy i picked tuscarawas to attend school.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's not very expensive, versus going to Captial or Ohio University.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is amazing. I could eat it all day!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure if you file for financial aid you fill out your FAFSA right! i had that issue the first time I filled it out.

    In three sentences

    It's very convient for me, it's only 10 minute away. They have a high graduating level. Kent State has many majors you can choose from.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    We have a great mess hall, and the staff is wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have hard classes and easy ones as well. Learn to balance them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into this with an open mind, want to learn and a sense of humor!

    In three sentences

    My experience at Kent State Tuscarawas has been a very positive one. Being a non traditional student, I worried about how I was perceived by not only students, but faculty and staff, and what effect it would have on my learning. My professors and the office staff have been genuinely helpful and care whether or not I succeed.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never worry about leaving my car unlocked here or walking at night, but I did dock a few stars because there have been two instances of girls being stalked and the administration basically ignoring it,

    What to do for fun

    Attend a performance at the PAC, chat on the lawn, or go into the Student Lounge for some pool and TV.

    Food and Dining

    The food is provided by the Trax Diner and is actually pretty good. Don't eat anything out of the machines though.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors don't test you, have food days regularly, and ignore at least teaching you the lingo of your field. Other professors will work you until you can't fit another fact into your head.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are told by the office that you can get your entire degree at this branch, don't believe them.

    In three sentences

    Kent State at Tuscarawas is for the lazy students that just want the free student loans. While some professors do care about your academic acievements, the majority don't even order the book for the class them self, and instead have food days and group exams.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Kent State Tuscarawas is very safe. We have many fire drills, tornado drills, and lock-down drills throughout every semester. However, I have never seen any cameras throughout the school, which has always concerned me. I think it would be a great idea for our security on campus to have cameras installed throughout each building.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a Students Activity Council that I know a lot of students are a part of. There are many other clubs and sports with a broad spectrum of areas that any student can enjoy.

    Great for these types of students

    Students from a low-income family would benefit attending Kent State Tuscarawas. And any student who is ambitious and wants to learn would excel here! Also, students who would prefer small classroom sizes and individual attention from professors would love this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition prices at Kent State Tuscarawas are extremely low compared to other colleges. This is the main reason that I chose to attend this college.

    What to do for fun

    There are many extra-curricular programs/activities/sports teams to join to have even more fun at Kent State Tuscarawas.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe located inside the campus; the prices are a little high but I don't mind paying them because the funds go directly to the school!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Kent State Tuscarawas.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are outstanding; individualized attention and small classes aids in excelling in every class!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just try with everything you have!! Effort goes a long way at Kent State Tuscarawas!

    In three sentences

    Kent State Tuscarawas is an excellent community college. With it being a small college, it is very easy to get individual help from my professors. This helps me get the best grades that I can, and earn what I truly deserve.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything outside, read books, spend time with friends and family

    Tips for prospective students

    Take Jeremy Green. He's an amazing professor.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice university with good professors. I really enjoy it here. The only bad thing is not all classes are given at this campus.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    budget time and money wisely don't be afraid to ask questions or take part in classroom conversations

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful environment. The Class room are small and you get one on one help. The Faculty and class are great

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is completely safe. We've never had anything bad happen (no robberies,intruders, anything) for at least the 2 years I've been here. no one really even locks their car doors, it's THAT safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are about 8 clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants a small school with little rigor. One-on-one help from professors is very common, with a class size of 10-40 people. If you don't mind having no social life within campus, and want to get a degree cheap, this is the school for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a center court yard in the middle of Founder's Hall, not many people use it so if it's nice outside, it's a good place for studying or if you're just on a break.

    Bang for the buck

    I'd say that for the little you pay to attend here, you are getting an education, maybe not the highest quality, but a degree nonetheless.

    What to do for fun

    Again, joining clubs is about the best you can do without going 30-40 mi away. I'ts a small rural area. A few bowling alleys are close, and a small mall.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria where they serve a few different items to eat. Most students pack their lunches, or don't eat at the college at all. There is a Hardee's down the road, but thats the only other eating place within a close proximity

    Dorm Life

    It literally doesn't exist; this is a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is a commuter, community college, where a lot of older people come to finish their degree, or change their life path, so many professors go slow to make sure everyone understands.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I have is to join clubs; it's literally the only way to meet people with he same basic interests that you have.

    In three sentences

    Kent State at Tuscarawas is a very small campus, with all age groups attending because everyone commutes. It's a nice school if you're only looking for an education with virtually no social interaction. You won't make many friends, BUT if you need help, most professors are willing to help.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play on the women's basketball team and I use the gym very often.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is pretty good. There are lots of options but they are only open until 6pm which isn't helpful to the students who are attending classes at night, and they only take flashcards (student i.d. with money on it) or cash, no debit or credit cards.

    Dorm Life

    We do not offer dorms at our campus. We are a commuter campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are nice. Some are are boring and some are foreign, which are hard to understand. There are not very many options for classes and majors but the class sizes are small so there is more opportunity for one on one time with professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get a tour of the entire campus and also get to know your fellow classmates and professors, because in this area you never know what connections that person has that could be beneficial to you.

    In three sentences

    A small college that is well involved in the community. It does not have the funds that it should for education, the buildings in general, clubs and extracurricular activities. Great college for those who have other responsibilities they need to tend to, such as, children and full time jobs.