Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Kentucky Christian University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a laid- back person who doesn't have to be busy doing something all the time KCU is the place. A beautiful place anytime, but when fall hits it looks like heaven on earth. It is not a place for someone who wants city life, because in little Grayson Ky, you won't find that.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering Kentucky Christian University you are in fro a treat. It is not like most universities. he professors and faculty genuinely care for you and your success and walk with Christ. They aren't just here to teach you Algebra, but are here to see you grow in your relationship with Jesus and figure out what that means or looks like.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, we are in a recession and money isn't flowing like it used to. No, we can't grow money trees, but that doesn't mean we have to settle for less. KCU tuition is expensive since it is a private college but scholarships are everywhere. When you apply you are automatically in the running to receive scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    Grayson, Ky is a very small town with limited recreational but even if we had bowling Allys and movie theaters, it still could be boring fi you make it boring. We make fun here, if you are a fun person then you will love it. If you just like being crazy with your friends without alcohol then this is where you belong. WE find things to do and ways t laugh until we get abs that people wouldn't imagine. Also if you play a sport KCU offers intramural sports as well as NCCA basketball, volleyball, soccer, and football.

    Am learning a lot

    Since the school has around 600 students, the class sizes are small. My largest class has about 35 people in it, and that is as a freshman; therefore, as I continue my education and take specific courses for my major the class sizes will be even smaller which will increase my one on one time with my professors and increase my ability to understand the content and fully understand it all better. This all will increase my chance of getting a job if I know my material and information about my career choice.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking students looking to build their faith while preparing for a career. Students who like the quietness of a small town, and the comfort of a Christian environment. If you love the outdoors the campus is located near Grayson Lake and Carter Caves State Park.

    Tips for prospective students

    First and foremost pray. But that's for anything. Second just be honest about who you are, where you've been, and what you're looking for. They'll help you get in, and to get in the program your interested in.

    Bang for the buck

    For Kentucky residents KCU may be a bit more expensive than a lot of colleges in the area, but it's worth every cent. You won't find another college campus with so many kind caring and compassionate people, or professors who do so much to make sure the students are getting along fine.

    Am enjoying being here

    The faculty and staff here are about the most helpful, kind, patient people your going to find working on a college campus. And the students are generally nice to. You'd be hard-pressed to find a college campus as quiet and nice as KCU's. The classes are fun, but challenging, and there's help whenever you need it.

    Am learning a lot

    Not only are the general courses (math, history, English, etc.) at KCU excellent, the university also offers an outstanding array of biblical-based classes, giving the student training in required fields, but an educational experience that brings them closer to Christ. The courses are more challenging than you'll find at most schools, but the faculty and staff will do everything in their power to make sure you understand the material and assist you with your studies.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't had any issues, there is campus safety on site.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone going into ministry, teaching, nursing or music.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is right in line with the other schools in Kentucky but it is a much smaller, more personal experience.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on and Huntington, VA and Ashland, KY are pretty close and have malls.

    Food and Dining

    The room and board is great at this school. Instead of having a meal plan you simply have access to the cafeteria all day, as often as you want. Wifi is there also so you can work in the cafeteria and have access to snacks and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small to medium sized and I have had a really good dorm experience all 3 years.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others of course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and check for all opportunities to earn scholarships. There are many opportunities to earn money off of tuition. Talk to someone that is a current student, I think you will find that they love it.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school, it is small but not too small. The professors really care if you succeed or not. It is a christian school and has a relaxed atmosphere.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, all you can eat and plenty of options.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in a dorm, but many of the students tell me they are well suited.

    In three sentences

    I think the school is a great place to learn, and im really looking forward to furthering my education there.

  • 01/06/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    KCU has great nursing and education programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you've applied already stay in touch with your admissions counselor. They help you out a lot.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private Christian University, KCU is pretty reasonable.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will really enjoy being here. It's in a small town and the school has an amazing choral program. They have gone to Carnegie Hall about 6 times. The campus is really beautiful. It really feels like you could just find a tree and study.

    Will learn a lot

    KCU has a little over 600 students on campus. The class sizes are small too. You aren't considered a number at KCU.

  • 01/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    KCU is great for all students, but is exceptional for social bugs and those who want to build great friendships as well as earn a great education. Also, if you are interested in a private university and desire to be a nursing, music, social work, education, or ministry major Kentucky Christian soars above the rest. We also have a great sports program including: Men and Womens Soccer, Mens Basketball, Current NCCAA National Champions Womens Basketball, Womens Volleyball, and Football.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an absolutely great institution, and anyone who comes here will fall in love with it. Make sure to research the many scholarships available to you when applying at KCU, and remember that the financial aid staff cares about you and tries to help every single prospective student find the funds to help pay for college. Also, try to contact someone and set up a campus visit. Reading reviews are great, and asking your friends who attend might help, but seeing the campus for yourself and visiting with current students and professors is very important so that you will be able to decide if you favor one college over another. Give an enrollment counselor a call! 1-800-522-3181

    Bang for the buck

    Many private universities are very expensive and charge well over $20,000 as the cost of tuition for one full year of classes. Here at KCU, even though it sounds expensive, the staff tries their hardest to make college affordable for you. With tuition, room and board, and books all included, Kentucky Christian costs about $21,000 (as of Fall Semester 2009). Though pricey, it is very affordable compared to other private colleges and universities that offer the same amount of programs and opportunities.

    Am enjoying being here

    Though many people do not like small colleges, Kentucky Christian provides a great feeling of community due to its size. Dorm life is great, and you will build friendships that will last a lifetime. Classes are exciting, and the professors do their best to make it interesting as well as informative.

    Am learning a lot

    Kentucky Christian is a small private university. Due to their great professors and continual check-ups on their academic programs, the caliber of your education will be one of the highest in it's class. Also, due to a small professor to student ratio, classes become more hands-on, and the professors are able to spend time with individual students in order to help them if they are struggling or just need help with an assignment.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isnt much in Grayson, but if you make friends and try, you wont be bored.

    Food and Dining

    Due to a lack of finances, the food at KCU could be improved. However, the man that runs the kitchen is very friendly and brings a homelike experience to the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm, but thats because I live in the newer one. The older dorm isn't quite as nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic courses have been challenging but nothing that I couldnt handle. The professors are very willing to help in any way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in knowing what you believe. And focus on your relationship with God above everything else. Get your FAFSA done on time!!

    In three sentences

    KCU is a place that feels like home to me. However, i've had trouble finding a professional quality in the administration. We need to get back to our purpose.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of student led activities such as Nerf Wars and Walking Dead screenings in the student life center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty decent. It's not gourmet but the rotisserie and the pizza bar is a nice alternative to whatever you may or may not like.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, lots of fun and a feeling of camaraderie.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are hard but these classes are good at challenging your mind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work and attend chapel regularly. Get out and get involved.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school but not if you are looking to go into ministry. It has a nice campus and wide variety of degree opportunities. Overall, it is a good school but has some problems with their ministry.