Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Kentucky Wesleyan College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kentucky Wesleyan College is great for students who want a small school. We are located in the heart of Owensboro, Ky on Frederica street, home to more restaurants than you can count! We're also the bar-b-q capital of the world. We don't have a huge mall or a millions things to do, but what we do have is one of a kind! Many places offer discounts to college students. Wednesday and Sunday nights is quarter mania at the bowling alley just minutes from campus and our ice rink is open year round!

    Tips for prospective students

    I have done work with the admissions office over the years. These tips direct from the source you're trying to impress! -Change your e-mail address: There is nothing worse than getting an application that has an inappropriate email address. Not only will sexythang09@provider.com give your counselor a negative impression of you, it also shows you are not mature enough to handle college. When applying for colleges (and scholarships), create a new email account. Use only your name (no numbers unless required by the account provider) Keep it simple. jdoe@provider.com; johnd@provider.com; john.doe@provider.com. -Store numbers in your phone: If you've applied to a college or had ACT/SAT sent to one or even filled out an inquiry card, store their number in your phone. If you can, find out the number of the counselor who would be contacting you. When they call you’ll already know who it is and you can sound pleasant on the phone. I often get an instant attitude from students because they don't know the number and think its a telemarketer. First impressions are everything - the way you answer a phone, says a lot more than most people realize. -Schedule a visit: ...and another one! We have several open house days. Its a great way to meet other prospective students and mom and dad also get some great information. An open house is a great first visit, but after you get home, call us back and schedule a one-on-one campus visit. You'll be able to ask questions you might not have wanted to during the open house, meet with coaches, and sit in on a class in your intended major area. Odds are, there is something you missed the first time around.

    Bang for the buck

    KWC does its best to provide for its students in all areas of life. Health and Wellness - We have a partnership with a local health and fitness provider to give every full-time student (residential and commuter) a membership to their facilities. Best of all, its about 4 blocks from campus. On campus nurse, health clinic, counseling, and health insurance plans are all available. During finals week, a stress free zone is provided to help students relax with a massage! Academics - the PLUS center located in our library offers FREE tutoring to all students, test preparation, study skills, and study sessions. Career Development Office provides job placement services, resume help, and internship help. Food and Entertainment - There are plenty of food options on and off campus. On campus there is the main cafeteria which is an all you can eat buffet style, open breakfast, lunch, and dinner; a sub sandwich place, and a cafe. All students also get a KWC discount card for use at local stores and restaurants. (pst... Papa John's Pizza delivers to your room!) There are lots of campus events and midnight movies at the local theater for free. Ski trips, hockey trips, baseball trips, comedians, hypnotist, musicians... need I say more?

    Am enjoying being here

    Born and raised in the same town, I'm ready to get out! However, I enjoy KWC. The people are wonderful and the community is so nice. It is a small town to some, and a big town to others; all based on prospective. If I had to do it over again, I would still choose KWC.

    Am learning a lot

    Different majors will challenge you in different ways. I'm an art major and I have learned to build on the skills I already knew. I'm also an entreprenuership minor, something I've never done before and therefore learning a TON! You will be challeneged by 95% of our courses offered; naturally areas you enjoy will come easy to you, areas you're new to will provide more learning opportunities. This will be the case for most any instiution.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    bon fires. movie nights, games and more

    Food and Dining

    big cafe! awesome food!

    Dorm Life

    nice clean dorms with awesome partys i heard.

    Academic Rigor

    easy to find your classes and very nice and respectful teachers.

    In three sentences

    it is a beautiful place. very chill. MLIB.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When I have to be out after dark, the campus security guards will walk me to my truck.

    Great for these types of students

    everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting Minerva-- a statue in the quad.

    What to do for fun

    Midnight movies, greek life, and school clubs for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent, and there are ooptions besides eating in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I personally live off campus, but have had the opportunity to stay in the dorms and they are nice... all are air-conditioned!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not easy, but there is plenty of help available from study sessions to private tutors to help editing papers, and all at no additional cost to the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated by the tuition or the fact that it is a Christian school. The school atmosphere is ideal for learning, and there are fun things to do around town and around campus.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful school with caring staff and located in a nice city. Fees include membership to the healthpark at the local hospital which has excellent facilities.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    -Kentucky Wesleyan has guards on the campus 24/7. -Along with every dorm comes a supervisor so watch over all the students. -During horrid weather or other harmful circumstances, KWC uses the one-call system where every student receives a call/voicemail about the conditions and whether or not school will still be carried out that day

    Clubs and Activities

    Every student should be involved in some sort of club/activity. For instance, some clubs/activities offer Wednesday movie night, group outings, tell-a-thons, marathons, church groups, and several more activities that would suit anyone. Also these events give people a chance to meet new folks.

    Great for these types of students

    The super athletes would definitely enjoy the obstacle course which stretches all the way around the school. From running, brief pull-ups, push-ups, and sit ups, this workout does the body good. The course is fun and exhilarating.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kentucky Wesleyan relocated several years ago to Owensboro and managed to salvage a large chunk of stone from the old building. Now, as a tradition, students are asked to decorate that very stone. Every week you can see a new paint job (some more creative than others). Apparently at the end of the year whenever the college decides to pressure wash the stone, they manage to clean off about an inch of solid paint!

    What to do for fun

    I would definitely recommend attending the Wednesday movie night. It's free and a fun kind of social gathering-much better than paying that $8 at the movie theatre! But if movies aren't your kind of fun, then attend a game and don't be afraid to sit in the student section-it's fun! Everyone is rowdy and having a good time while cheering on the team...PANTHERS!

    Food and Dining

    Campus offers several small food shacks. From breakfast buffets, coffee shops, sweet delights, and the constantly changing lunch menu's, you can not go wrong when eating on campus. Basically everything is offered and almost all taste delish! (:

    Dorm Life

    I, myself live off of campus, so I do not know much about dorm life. I was able to observe some of the dorm rooms while on my tour of campus though and found them charming. The dorms are moderately small but just the right size for two people!

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that KWC pushes each student to achieve the highest goal they can without overloading. While the courses may seem difficult at times, the college offers tutoring, student-teacher one on ones, and labs-so failing is never an option!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be social, join clubs/sororities/fraternities, attend the games and social gatherings, and always make time for studying and course work (prioritize).

    In three sentences

    The students and faculty made me feel completely welcomed and reassured when I came for orientation. The campus was beautiful and very well taken care of. I feel that I made the right choice when I applied at Kentucky Wesleyan College.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Things to do for fun are hang out with friends outside, play games, there's a student center on campus where you can play pool, video games and much more! Also it helps if you join an activity or sport which will keep you active and energized. The school also provides group trips & free movies nights! The group trips are usually only $10 and this fall we are going to Cedar Point!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food honestly is appetizing, it's great. All the staff are very welcoming and helpful. There are various varieties of food to choose from, and there is always a salad bar with a soup of the day !

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are a pretty decent size, everyone and KWC is welcoming and friendly. In the dorm you get a bed, a computer desk, a 5 drawer dresser and a small closet with a cabinet on top. Its pretty spacious, and to make even more space a great idea is to bunk the beds!

    Academic Rigor

    Education here is the number one key to success. It isn't hard at all, what makes it hard is if you miss an assignment then things can get a bit overwhelming. Always make sure that you know what the assignment is, and whens it is due. stay on task.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips that are found very useful would be to get to know your professor first, get on his or her good side, also most of the work is put online, your professors will not tell you when an assignment is due you MUST check your syllabus daily.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    From what I hear it sounds like they have some fun as well. For instance they have it set up were on a Friday students can go to the theater to watch a movie. They also get to go on free trips such as to concerts.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living on campus but did get a tour of the dorm rooms and I personally would not pay to live there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very open to this college no matter what your religion is and ask as questions about anything that concerns or you are curious about.

    In three sentences

    The campus is is absolutely gorgeous and very welcoming. Faculty and staff see extremely nice and positive about everyone having a good experience. The food is excellent and the staff who prepared the food on the day I attended the campus were very polite.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cameras everywhere and security guards at night.

    Greek Life

    Almost everyone is Greek!

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Minerva! She the head of a statue that was at a previous campus that burn down. The student paint and decorate her all time time!

    What to do for fun

    There are many restaurants, a movie theater, a mall, and many other stores like TjMaxx, Target, Best Buy, and Kohls.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to leave home! KWC is a great school with a great learning environment. You should welcome the opportunity to further your education.

    In three sentences

    KWC is a small campus so it's easy to get from place to place on campus. KWC has a smaller student body so getting to know other students is easy. At KWC it is easy to get to know your teachers which is helpful whenever you may not understand something as well as everyone else.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school looks to be a very accepting and friendly school on the main drag of owensboro. Can't wait to attend this school and get a great education.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Most students get a lot of scholarship money because Kentucky Wesleyan is a private college. I pay about 4,000 a year to go to a 20,000 a year school which is awesome, but for 20,000 a year i think the school should be a little more prestigious. The school is not recognized for any awards that i am aware of and i have heard that it is hard to get an internship anywhere because no one really has heard of Kentucky Wesleyan.

    What to do for fun

    There isnt much to do at Kentucky Wesleyan. They have midnight movies once a month and an occasional frat party which arent all that exciting. Since it is such a small campus it is hard to find things to do besides just hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    There are only three places to eat on campus which gets pretty old pretty quick but the cafe does have some pretty good food. They also have a group of students who reviews the food and gives the lunch ladies some pointers and tips to meet the students needs a little better once a month.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are disgusting. There is only one dorm that has been remodeled on the inside as of right now. They have a plan in place to start remodeling the dorms next year but they need a lot of work. The bathrooms are still blue and pink from the 1970's and they are never clean.

    Academic Rigor

    I dont think i have learned anything besides how to get things done on my own at this school. The teachers all have different ways of grading things and different rules for their classrooms and if you dont please that teacher then you do not get a good grade in the class. Learn how to please people and you will make it far in this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, dont text, and apply yourself. These teachers give you grades for showing up to class and deduct points if you are texting in class.

    In three sentences

    Kentucky Wesleyan is good for students who want to play sports because you dont really care about what classes you are taking or what grades you really get. The advisors don't try to help you get a degree in less than four years if that is your goal (which mine is) and when i try to get anything done at this school i get ran around by just about every faculty member in the building.

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's probably a club for almost everyone here. I'm the Secretary of the Art Club, I'm in Parnassus, the creative writing club, and Stage Brigade, the drama club. There's sports and lots of other clubs. I'm in the Kentucky Wesleyan Singers, which is the school's choir, there's also Band and Orchestra as well. The school is actually trying to start a concert marching band. There's lots of opportunities given by the SATB, the student activities board, to do fun things for free like watch a student chosen movie or go to a concert.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a rock that you can get permission to vandalize and then you go out at two o clock in the morning to paint it.

    What to do for fun

    There's parties, but I don't go those. There's stress relievers and Midnight movies, where movies are free.

    Food and Dining

    Food is wonderful, especially in the dining hall. The people are all really nice to.

    Dorm Life

    It's average, there's up and downs like any place. Peebles is a pretty nice place.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are extremely important. It can be hard, but it prepares you for what you need to know in whatever field of study you choose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always study. Treat your professors with respect and don't be afraid to be friends with them, they encourage conversation. Don't be afraid to ask questions, curiosity is a virtue here.

    In three sentences

    Kentucky Wesleyan College is a wonderful college. Academics here are extremely important and can be intense, helping you to be prepared for your field. This college is also really fun, they encourage fun as well as studying equally.