Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Kilgore College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/14/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Is the student s who want to become sucessful or who just want to experiance the college life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Kilgore is a great school to look up.

    Will enjoy being here

    My sister angela went to kilgore and she told me so much and she said that it is a great college to attend.

    Will learn a lot

    You will only learn alot if you want to. Of course it wouldn't be a college to go to.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bowling, movies, dining, night-life, fitness center...you name it, we've got it.

    Food and Dining

    The town is full of food places.

    Dorm Life

    Dont stay in the dorms. TERRIBLE.

    Academic Rigor

    The small class sizes let's the professor tailor the education to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes fill up fast, don't wait to register or you wont get the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are small and the teachers are generally friendly. I enjoy being a student here. The education is well priced.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online classes are great for students with families and full time jobs.

    Bang for the buck

    The eduction in return is well worth the money.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate at school.

    Dorm Life

    Lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I would rank the academic rigor 3 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take online classes.

    In three sentences

    Teachers who teach online classes are awesome. The assignments are easy but informative. Kilgore college is worth paying for.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    My professors in my college classes have been great to help and go above and beyond to assist me. As being a high school student this has been a blessing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Kilgores accredition is one that is respectable because when my sister transferred to UNCP in North Carolina to work on her BA, all but one class transferred. Kilgore is a good school with alot to offer.

    In three sentences

    As a high school Senior I have advanced my ranking with the help of Kilgore College dual credit courses from 17 to now ranked 4th in my graduating class, graduation May 25th. Kilgore College's help line and staff have been there to make any questions me or my parents had, easily answered which is very appreciated. When I graduate May 25th, I will have almost 30 college credit hours thru the dual credit offerings from Kilgore College, jumpstarting my carreer in the medical field.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police driving around the campus keeping students feeling safe. They have an alert system that texts students when and where problems are occurring.

    Greek Life

    There is not a Greek Life.

    Great for these types of students

    Kilgore is great for students that maybe did not do great in high school and need a boost before attending larger colleges. It is also good for parents that are returning to college and have not been in school for a while. It is a good transition school to help students get set on the right track towards a diploma.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kilgore is home to the first ever drill team. The Kilgore Rangerettes are an all girls dance team that attend school and travel around to perform for many audiences. They have many traditions and are an interesting part of this schools history.

    What to do for fun

    There are several church based organizations on campus that are fun and provide activities to do on certain nights. Also, there is bowling, a movie theater, and another theater that only costs two dollars. Downtown, which is right down the road, has several shopping boutiques, a frozen yogurt shop, delicious restaurants, and a coffee shop. Next door to the school is the oil museum that explains how Kilgore got its start. It is a small town, but full of rich history to be explored.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on campus. The Cafe is pretty good and has meals that you can order there and pay for that are very good although the service is slow. In the cafeteria, they always serve pizza then have other choices that change everyday. Sometimes it is really great, and other times it is below average. They do not offer many food choices there, but luckily several fast food places are right down the road.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun if you make it fun. The people are interesting and enjoyable to be with, but the actual dorm is not so great. It has many maintenance problems that are ignored.

    Academic Rigor

    Kilgore College has its share of difficult and easy classes. I have noticed that many students have found the business and science courses the most challenging. From my own experience, I think that if you keep up with your work, and ask questions when they come up, it is not difficult. Like every college, students must be willing to work to earn their grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to future students would be to open up and meet as many people as you can. Because the town is so small, it is important to make friends and get creative with how to have fun. I've heard many students from Kilgore say that they do not enjoy it because of the city, but that is because they did not get involved or try to make it fun. Also, get to know your teachers. Show them that you are a dedicated student and ask questions whenever you have them. When teachers see you work hard and make an effort, they are more likely to help you out when you need it.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Kilgore College is an exceptional start into the college world for those not quite ready for a university experience. It is a small college in a small town, driving students to work hard in school and become close with fellow classmates. It is also inexpensive, but students still receive a good quality education.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    KCPD, Kilgore College Police Department, provides safety to all students. They are on the clock twnty-four hours a day, and on the look out for any trouble that may arise. No crime is tolerated here, and the tickets handed out for disobeying any law are not the cheapest.

    Greek Life

    While there is not much Greek Culture here at Kilgore, the Greek Studies are limitless. Theatre, history, and theology are all great classes that teach about Greek philosophy and help to experience the Grecian life, without ever leaving the campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    From RealTalk, Book Club, and Key club, to Basketball, Swimming, and Cheerleading, Kilgore has it all. The World-Famous Rangerettes are stunning to watch, as well as the sports and cheerleaders. Looking for a place to interact with other students and it not interfere with studies? Kilgore can help with that.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are looking for a low-cost school as well as environment, quiet neighborhood to study in, available teachers and staff, and different cultures of students, Kilgore is the place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a group at Kilgore called RealTalk. the group is Christian-based with student leaders, and student members. It is a unique organization that allows students (Christian faith or not) to speak their mind on individual topics. The group is a good way to meet other students, hear what different views students have about different topics, and to enjoy concerts, fun, and other great activities.

    Bang for the buck

    As mentioned before, Kilgore College is very inexpensive. On average, students pay about five-thousand dollars total for both semesters if they choose to live in the dorms and about twenty-five hundred dollars to only attend the school. Everything about Kilgore is very inexpensive.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Kilgore is full of shopping and eaterys, as well as unique boutiques and book stores. Kilgore is mostly a quiet city, with parks for families, restaraunts, a four star cinema, and a theatre that puts on different shows all through the year. The college life is a little less quiet, though. From sports activites, clubs, churches, and just your average college night life, there is more than meets the eye when it comes to Kilgore College.

    Food and Dining

    A center court cafe, cafeteria, and not to mention the different churches on campus that offer free food different days of the week, are all some of the choices Kilgore College has to offer when it comes to food. The taste is delicious, the cleaniness is very acceptable, and the interaction with other students makes the meal just a little warmer.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is average. While it may be inexpensive, it comes with exactly what students pay for. There is a laundrymat, privacy for every room, and security on all dormitories. The dormitories have rules and regulations (including a curfew), that when followed, no consequences come about.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Kilgore is like any other college/university; students are required to do their work independently. The work is easy when studying and practice is applied, and the teachers are always willing to work with their students to help them along the way. If low-cost and good education is an interest, Kilgore College is the way to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    For all students looking at Kilgore College to jump-start their college life, or even for a career, then dont hesitate! The tutition is inexpensive, the career/degree opportunites are innumerable, and the facilities are easily located. Thereare also many clubs, organizations, and groups that welcome all new-comers to join!

    In three sentences

    For any students that are not ready to jump into a 4-year university but want to get some of that college experience, Kilgore College is the place to start. The teachers are willing to work with students outside of class to help them through the semester, and students have access to free tutoring, job opportunities, and workout facilities. The college is definitely full of students from different cultures and will help prepare students for a 4-year university in no time!

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are everywhere.

    Greek Life

    Not much!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty

    Great for these types of students

    Transferring students and students looking to get a trade.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't really a lot to do. Most people go watch basketball and football to see the rangerettes. The location of the school doesn't provide alot of out of school activities.

    Food and Dining

    Good food and snack bar.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a lot of Female Dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO your research before you decide to jump in. Look up all of you teachers so that you know what to except.

    In three sentences

    I would give Kilgore College an 9 out of 10. This school is great stepping stone for students that are considering transferring to a University. This school in know for its nursing program and it is very competitive.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The KC police are very serious. They give out tickets for almost everything. They are very good about checking on everything that is reported to them though. I feel pretty safe for the most part. KC is pretty small so they are able to do their job pretty well.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have lots of different clubs you can get into. They also have all their sports for students who don't play on the college teams. They have an awesome gym you can go work out in or play some basketball.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for students who are just trying to get some basics out of the way. As long as you know the classes will transfer, then you're set to go. This is also great for students who just want to get an associates. Kilgore has some great programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There might be some for people who live on campus, but I don't live on campus; therefore, I don't really know of any.

    Bang for the buck

    You save alot of money by going to Kilgore. And just about all the classes I have taken so far have been great classes. I learned alot and definitely enjoyed them. The teachers are very helpful, and want you to be successful.

    What to do for fun

    They have alot of churches that do things for the students, such as, free lunches, different banquets, game days, cookies and worshiping time. They also have the pep rallys that are fun to go watch, and they always do a meal afterwards. The library sometimes has stuff going on. And during the hot times they have free snow cones. Also close to the college you have a movie theatre, restaurants, Kilgore also has a game room you can go chill in.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe on campus is pretty good. It's always busy around lunch time, and you have to wait a while. But the food is normally worth it.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in a dorm on campus so I can't give you personal experience. But from friends that do live on campus, they say it's not the best but it's definitely not the worst.

    Academic Rigor

    They have great teachers, and you learn alot. But sometimes the classes you take might go to waste because they don't transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you know the exact classes you need, if you're trying to get in a program or take classes for a program at a different school. Also be sure that all your classes will transfer and be sure that Kilgore gives the right class. Alot of the time Kilgore will have the same class, but it'll be different from other schools and those schools won't accept the class.

    In three sentences

    Kilgore College has great teachers, and they really work with you. Not all your classes transfer, and usually the counselors aren't very well at helping you figure out which classes will and will not transfer. The campus is a fun campus though.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On call, on site security is always available. Never had ANY problems at KC.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not real big, but if you want Greek life it's easily found there.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of church clubs, organizations that are out there to help everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't think college is for them, and that make think they are not smart enough. At KC everyone is welcome!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Local concerts, food on campus, and always big football games!

    Bang for the buck

    For the price, KC is BANGING!

    What to do for fun

    Kilgore it's self is always having concerts, places to voulnteer, movies, and Longview is real close with clubs, bars etc.

    Food and Dining

    Small town with lots of nice, good homecooked meals, but if your looking for alot of nice restaurants Longview it only 15 min away with everything you can think of.

    Dorm Life

    I personally have not lived in KC dorms. I have never heard anything bad about them!

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to go to college somewhere that will help Kilgore is the place. It's a school with average students but tough classes that make you smarter than you have ever been!

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out what your degree plan is! It's alot easier than changing every semester and it taking forever to finish school. Once you graduate with something you can always go back!

    In three sentences

    I have been attending Kilgore College for 3 years now. It's a very dedicated school. KC has lots of tradition that makes everyone feel at home. Home of the lovely rangerettes.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a full fledged police station and officers who have every authority of any city policing agency. They will walk you to your car if needed.

    Great for these types of students

    Getting started and want to stay close to home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    East Texas Oil Museum. Kilgore was once called the world's richest acre and has a rich history in oil discovery and recovery.

    Bang for the buck

    I live in-district, so I get alot of bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling, local theatre, nice park, biking, football games, tennis.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of fast food around for meals. Have not had a meal on campus yet.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply to me. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Cannot answer yet. Enrolled, have not attended classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the Student Building for all your needs. If it's not there, they will help you find it. Get the tour and the free t-shirt.

    In three sentences

    Kilgore College is small enough to be personable and large enough to meet all of my community college needs. I found the counseling office to be sincere and helpful. I found Kilgore college to have more buildings and classes than I have found at other communty colleges.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest college in the area

    What to do for fun

    Sports and Activites

    Food and Dining

    Not bad for in campus food but there are great places to eat around the campus and in Kilgore.

    Dorm Life

    Needs to be updated unless you are a Rangerette.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers push you to learn but they help you grasp the material. They do not have the typically college professor attitude of I Do Not Care

    In three sentences

    Kilgore College is very inexpensive and resonable. They have very flexible class schedules to suit every college student's needs. They also have many student activities to keep you having fun.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The spirit here at Kilgore is unlike other community colleges.

    Bang for the buck

    It is cheaper tuition than other universities.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Kilgore is only a couple blocks away. Many of us ride our bikes and get frozen yogurt. It is a small family friendly town.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has many options and all three of the meals have healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    I am a Kilgore Rangerette and we live in a private dorm. It is very accommodating.

    Academic Rigor

    The education here at Kilgore is wonderful. The teachers are always willing to get to know you more on a personal level to continue your own personal academic achievements.

    Tips for prospective students

    Introduce yourself to each of your professors on the first day of class.

    In three sentences

    Kilgore College is a small campus with a big academic and family feel. It is full of tradition. It always upholds a large university academic education.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Looks like a great college to get your foot in the door to the real world. Its not too far from home. I have heard great thing about this school.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are constantly cops around

    Greek Life

    Very little

    Clubs and Activities

    All the usual clubs, but they have the world famous Rangerettes and host the Texas Shakespeare Festival every summer.

    Great for these types of students

    Students putting themselves through school

    Bang for the buck

    Great place to knock out some core curriculum that's going to cost at least twice as much at a bigger university. Especially during the condensed summer or holiday semesters. Most of the teachers are willing to go the extra mile to help you learn, so long as you show up for class and try your best and ask for help when you need it.

    What to do for fun

    Get out of town.

    Food and Dining

    Typically cafeteria food, nothing special or extraordinary about it. Several different religious groups offer free lunch throughout the week, and are pretty good about not pressuring you to join their religion.

    Dorm Life

    If you're a Rangerette, your dorm is awesome. Otherwise, not so much.

    Academic Rigor

    The core classes are pretty easy, but once you get into a more specific field of study the classes are a bit more challenging. They definitely have classes to weed out the students who don't have the motivation to be there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy textbooks on amazon whenever possible! Web courses are alright, but flex courses are a nice option they offer. One class a week and most of the work is online, which is nice since I've never met the profs I took 3 different online classes from.

    In three sentences

    Reasonably priced for getting basics done. Convenient locations in Kilgore and Longview. Most profs really seem to care about what they're teaching.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police Everywhere!

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    All kings!

    Great for these types of students

    Any student wanting to get your two years out the way and transfer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everything is very common

    Bang for the buck

    You get more than what you pay for!

    What to do for fun

    They have so many clubs on campus, will definitely have what ever your into.

    Food and Dining

    The food was ok, not all that.

    Dorm Life

    I loved living in the dorm, its the next thing to getting your own place!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is very thorough

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you read your book, take notes, and study, you will make great grades.

    In three sentences

    I love this college. The classes are small. The teachers are patient

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    At times it was good, and at times it was horrible. But it was better than nothing!

    Dorm Life

    Below average, and I was a Resident Assistant at Kilgore College.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor at this school is higher than the average junior college. However, teachers are there to assist you in every step of the way.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Kilgore College is a very safe enviroment. campus police are always alert to what is going on. As well with the use of RangerAlert the college can update and warn students of any danger or bad weather conditions. In my time at Kilgore there have been no safety issues or dangers.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some of the organizations on campus include the Rangerettes, Band, Jazz Band, String Ensembles, Choir, Theatre, Baptist Student Ministries and Piano Ensemble.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students seeking an associates,nursing degree or planning to transfer to a four year university. The most recognizably successful programs include safty, nursing, police and fire academy and music

    Bang for the buck

    Ive had a great time at Kilgore College there is always something fun going on. As well with the help of instructors helping me strive for success i dont have to stress over how hard the class could be. My experiance at this college has been a great one!

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of organizations to join. There is a game room for students to go play pool, ping pong and video games. There is also a raquette ball court in the fitness center. There are also ocassional events for students such as laser x, dodgeball, flag football, video game competitions and basketball games.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinning is great at Kilgore College. On tuesdays, wednesdays and thursdays three of the campus churches offer free lunches to the students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at kilgore is fairly good from what i have been told. The cost of dorms are not as high as at most colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    The college will push you to succeed and instructor will help you do just that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be affraid to go to a instructor for help, they will provide it and information you will need. Join a program that you are familiar with, there are many scholarships provided through the organizations.

    In three sentences

    KIlgore College has a wide variety of great two year plans. The instructors interact with the students to help and insure success for their students. As well the college has many great programs such as the football team, band, choir and the Kilgore College Rangerettes.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play basketball and hang out in the game room

    Food and Dining

    I prefer the food in the grill

    Academic Rigor

    If you pay attention you will learn a lot

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think that since this is a community college you Don't Have to work