Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

King's College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    King's is great for all types of students but mainly for those who like to participate in classes and like meeting new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus and the city. Do an overnight visit so you can get the true feel of the campus and its classes, they will sit you in class that would go along with the major you have picked and you get to stay in the dorms with a student who will show you what students do on their down time.

    Bang for the buck

    King's on paper can be very expensive, but once enrolled King's always finds ways to give you financial aid. And if your financial situation at home changes, King's will rework your tuition. There is also tons of work study programs. And if you speech Spanish fluently, you'll probably go here for free.

    Am enjoying being here

    The city is small but it keeps you busy. Public square is just down the street and there is a night club right across the street(don't tell your parents). Security is very friendly and will help you out no matter what. The campus is small so you can get out of bed ten minutes before your class starts and still be early. Trust me this is a very good thing.

    Am learning a lot

    King's gives you a very well-rounded education. The professors are always available for help or advice.

  • 03/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you need a tutor then don't worry about having to pay for one, it's included in the tuition price and you don't have to worry. If you are excelling in a class, offer to be a tutor and you'll get paid!

    Am enjoying being here

    King's is a warm atmosphere around and the people are great!

    Am learning a lot

    King's will give you a well rounded education rather than one you would get at say a technical school.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. Leo's on main is open late on the weekend, which is awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Mid-terms and finals are stressful, but the library gives you free coffee the week of finals!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always dorm thats where you will meet your best friends.

    In three sentences

    This is a friendly, small community based school. Everyone , including the professors are on a first name basis. The fall is the best time of the year at King's college.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe and helpful if you are lost. There are literally signs everywhere, which can be helpful if you lack a sense of direction.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs at King's College are very well-organized. The members are also very helpful to new students. At King's College, you feel like a member of the campus community.

    Great for these types of students

    King's College is great for students who like to work hard as well as make a lot of new friends.

    What to do for fun

    I go to college activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone who dorms has loved it.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are mutually challenging as well as broken down by the professors. I rate five stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask the professors questions because they never mind helping you with your questions at King's College. If you need help with anything, go to the learning lab.

    In three sentences

    King's College is unconventional and will teach me things I never thought I would learn. It's a great learning institution with compassionate and amiable professors. The classes are challenging while simultaneously mutually stimulating.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always walking around to make sure everyone is safe, night and day. If you're a commuter and you have a night class and you don't want to walk all the way to your car alone at night then security will be happy to help and make sure that you arrive safely. Also stated in the dorm life section, I mentioned about the guards signing students in and out of the halls. Everyone must present ID, if you are not a student you must present another form of picture ID that will be returned to you when you sign out. You will be safe here at King's College.

    Greek Life

    There is only one sorority and one fraternity. Both are not actually a part of the college, they fund themselves and each are service organizations. Not your typical Greek life, they study together, and help out the surrounding community.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I've said previously King;s offers something for everyone. The student body here is so diverse that I can guarantee that there is something that will interest you. If you don't find a club for you, you can always get enough people and start your own with the help of campus activities.

    Great for these types of students

    King's is great for all students. King's is very diverse and there is always something for everybody. Everyone is very friendly and you will make friends so easily.

    Bang for the buck

    When you see how much tuition is you might be like Holy cow! How am I going to pay for that?!? Easy. King's college offers a lot of financial aide and with the help of that, tuition is much nicer. I can tell you, King's is well worth it, this college offers so much for every student, it is very diverse in its student body and activities.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun. Campus Activities has different events happening throughout the year, and the best part...a lot of them are free! There are many clubs and activities to get involved with as well. If those aren't things you're interested in then the book store is right down the road as well as a bowling ally where you can get free shoes and $2 games on Tuesdays and there is also a movie theater in walking distance, or if you just like to be by yourself or a couple of friends; across the street from King's is the River where there is a park you can just relax and enjoy yourself.

    Food and Dining

    My main concern with the food was what was I going to eat. I am a vegetarian so I was worried that they wouldn't have anything. However there were multiple options for me to choose from. There are 3 restaurant type dining places as well as a large buffet of various food. You will never go hungry at King's, there is food everywhere and you are always bound to find something that you will like.

    Dorm Life

    You will get mixed reviews on dorm life at King's because everyone has different ways that they are used to living. There are many different living spaces offered, freshmen must live in Esseff(females) or Holy Cross(males). the main complaint that students have with the freshmen dorms is the guard that has to sign males into the female dorm and females into males dorm and the fact that the opposite sex has to be signed out by midnight on school nights and 2am on Friday and Saturday. I personally have no complaints or problems with the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very friendly and they don't want to see you fail. If you're having problems in a class see your professor and they would be happy to help you better understand it. There is no shame in visiting office hours because you are confused about something, everyone does it. As long as you finish your work on time, you should not have any problems with your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. I'm sure every college tells you this but here at King's the student body is so closely knitted that you have a voice and people will listen to you. It has always been said that out of the three things; social life, grades, and sleep; when you go to college that you can only pick two of them but, I know for myself and many others you can have all three. King's has many different clubs and activities to get involved in as well as trips to NYC and Washington and much more. Grades- that's easy, you can have a study group getting in social life and grades in one shot. Finally sleep, well that one is all up to you on how you manage your time. But I can tell you this, it isn't hard to manage your time where you wont get sleep. As long as you do all your work that is needed and don't wait 'til last minute you will have time for anything and everything you want to do.

    In three sentences

    If you don't want to be just a number, instead you want to have a name and a say then King's is great for you. King's has a small campus where your professors know you by name and you can have one on one time with them for help and any questions you may have. King's has a wide array of different things to offer each and every student.

  • 06/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    King's has many activities that help you give back to the Wilkes Barre community. Not only are the fun activities, but they also help you meet new people and the staff at King's.

    Bang for the buck

    King's may look pricey on paper but they give back to their students as much as they can. Not only do they give out many scholarships and grants, but they also have work study on campus where you can make money on campus during the school year.

    Am enjoying being here

    The city of Wilkes Barre may seem small, but there are bigger cities only a quick drive away. Not to mention if you walk down the city square there are many places to eat and the bus station is only a couple of blocks from school.

    Am learning a lot

    The Mass Communications Department has taught me a lot in my first year and I cannot wait to see what they have in-store for the next three years. This school also has a great Athletic Training Program, Business Program, and Physicians Assistants Program.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Marketplace is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your major, but there is always someone you can ask for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask lots of questions!

    In three sentences

    All around great school. Awesome professors and classes are small. You actual get to know your professors and not get lost in 300 students.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    have fun

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Kings College is in Wilkes-Barre PA. It is close to many restaurants and little shops.

    Dorm Life

    I have never dormed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think that just because you did good in high school you will do in college. College work is on a whole different level.

    In three sentences

    Kings College has a beautiful campus in an urban atmosphere. It offers small class sizes, personalized attention, and a quality education.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security everywhere and they are all nice and friendly with students.

    Greek Life

    There is only one sorority and it is small.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities here. There is something for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but that is expected at a private school. I would expect a little better for how much I am paying.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events on campus to go to, educational and for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is about the same as any school. It's not the best but the other on campus dining options are not as bad as the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice but the rooms are small. On the weekends a lot of people go home and about half the school is commuters.

    Academic Rigor

    As a science major going into physician assistant studies the courses I take are very difficult. I struggle with chemistry but there is free tutoring and all the professors are helpful with seeing students to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a school that has busy weekends this school isn't it. A lot of the students here are commuters so on the weekends it's pretty dead. Class sizes are very small and the professors will know you personally. The on campus housing is nice compared to other schools I've seen. Sports are big here, it's fun to get involved in them.

    In three sentences

    King's College is a small school located in a small city that has lots of shopping. All the professors I have had are extremely helpful and always wanting you to do the best you can. Everyone here is very friendly and kind.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit our campus to get a feel for how great King's College is.

    In three sentences

    Class sizes are small, professors are awesome and registration is quick and easy.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    So many events are always going on.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent dining options throughout campus. Never something that you don't like. And if that is the case, several local resturants are within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student, but friends say that the dorms are comfortable living spaces.

    Academic Rigor

    Ultimately, classes are as hard as you make them. With ample study time and a focus on academics, students should not have a problem. Professors are always available to discuss things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school. There is nothing better than taking a campus tour to help you decide if King's is right for you. There is even opportunities throughout the year that offer students the opportunity to stay overnight with a current student, which is a very nice opportunity for a prospective student. Also, if you aren't happy with your SAT scores, King's doesn't require SAT scores!

    In three sentences

    An amazing academic environment that is marked by a wide array of majors. King's is a Catholic college, but is accepting of all religious backgrounds and focuses on the diversity throughout our campus. King's cares about your future and will be with you to support all of your goals and help make your dreams come true.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is all over the campus.

    Greek Life

    Non existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Campus Activities always has a ton of activities and there are a million clubs to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer 1 on 1 attention from professors and small class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    King's is really expensive but I feel like i am getting a great education.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling. Movies. Campus Activities. There are a ton of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great at the beginning, but then you eventually get sick of it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are on the small side, but really all you need. Communal bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    My PA program is very competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really get to know your admissions counselor.

    In three sentences

    Everyone at King's is so friendly and truly wants you to succeed. I love it here and couldn't imagine myself anywhere else. I am getting a great education.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hangout with friends, movies, mall, hangout in rachels court, or play frisbee in the park.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places to eat on our small campus but the dining service does there personal best to make the food good. Although it is pften the same couple of things the food isnt that bad.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good. It's nothing spectacular and dorms for incoming freshmen and sophomores are not co ed and have hours in which boys cannot visit. I myself think this is tedious for college students to have this limit set even though it is a catholic school.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at King's are just like any other school. You're expected to do your work and keep up with classes but the teachers really work with you and there is always help around campus if you need it.

    In three sentences

    It is a small yet warm an welcoming campus. The classes are small and wonderfully taught by good professors. The atmosphere and campus life is everything and more than what i wanted in a school.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Within the city of Wilkes-Barre so there is much to do activities wise.

    In three sentences

    King's college is community based. The small campus can bring together many diverse students. There are many activities to engage in at this College.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The location that its at could use more security but the guards are very nice. You will feel safe on campus but definitely not away from it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch of clubs to choose from or try and make your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Dorming

    Bang for the buck

    I commute so I cant give a good rating. Biased.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, the have healthy options but could get expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm so I wouldn't know.

    In three sentences

    Kings College is a friendly campus but leaving the campus is in a bad part of Wilkes-Barre. the teachers are friendly and willing to help after class. The ridiculous part is the cost and if you commute like I do you pay a lot in parking and don't get the college life so it kind of sucks to commute to Kings.