Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Kirkwood Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kirkwood is great for any type of student: international, traditional ,returning, part time or full time, adult, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I can give is to meet with your advisor and to get your classes figured out each semester. The other tip is go to class everyday and if you need help ask,because the professors are willing to help.

    Bang for the buck

    Since Kirkwood is a community college it is definitely affordable. The financial aid is very helpful if you qualify and if not there are many scholarships available for any type of student.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am living at home so I am not living on campus but when I am at school I love it and enjoying being part of the college. The other students and all the staff are welcoming and seem glad to help you with anything.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been a student here for 1 year plus a summer semester, and all the classes I have taken have been challenging but I have been able to get through them. In every class I have learned something new and exciting everyday I had class.

  • 06/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kirkwood is a great place for any type of student. Whether you are international, out of state, in state, Kirkwood is the place for you! You will have a fantastic time at Kirkwood, and you get to meet so many different types of people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some good tips for prospective students would be to fill out as many scholarships as you can. College is not free, and you are going to want as much help as you possibly can. If you are going to live on campus, make sure you know how to cook, clean, and do your own laundry. If you do not know how to do any of those; learn now while your mom is still in the same household as you.

    Bang for the buck

    Kirkwood is affordable. It has the lowest tuition rate in the state of Iowa, and the faculty members are the best. The class sizes are small; only 24 students per class, and the teacher's know you by first name and want to get to know you personally, to help you succeed in their class.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Kirkwood Community College! It's a great college to go to when you get out of high school, because it is affordable and you get your general education classes taken care of before you go to a four year school. There are fun activities to do also, for example: you get in free with your Eagle Card to the Kernel's Baseball games and Roughriders Hockey games. You also can par-take or watch students and faculty members being hypnotized, and a bunch of movie nights. All activities are free to students!

    Am learning a lot

    As a current student at Kirkwood I can honestly say that I am learning a lot from the classes I have taken. Last year was my first year as a full time student, and it was wonderful. At Kirkwood you can take all sorts of classes, ranging from sign language to photography to history classes to any class that is part of your program. There is such a wide range of classes, that there's absolutely no way you can't have fun in the class. You decide what you want to take and there is no one better to know what classes you will or will not like than you.

  • 07/17/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who love bigger cities

    Tips for prospective students

    Since I'm a prospective student, I don't know what kind of comment I want to leave.

    Bang for the buck

    I have not looked at this area.

    Will enjoy being here

    I would enjoy this college since I want to play with flowers in spite of my allergies.

    Will learn a lot

    I think that would depend on what you're major or minor is currently.

  • 07/31/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small town students, students who don't know exactly what they want to do, students who want to save money, students who want to transfer to the UI...

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to visit the campus before you decide to attend. Make sure that the school is not too small for you.

    Bang for the buck

    I guess for a community college the cost is good, compared to others. However, I wish college costs all around were cheaper.

    Will enjoy being here

    I am sure that I will enjoy Kirkwood. It is a short distance from home, the tuition is not too bad, and get to go to school with my sister!

    Will learn a lot

    I have taken a few classes here while still in high school, so I know that I will receive a good education at Kirkwood. The classes are good, and I have enjoyed all my teachers so far.

  • 08/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who live in Iowa and want to save money on tuition while still getting a quality education. If you are an engineering student looking at going to University of Iowa or Iowa State University, there is no reason not to go here. An Iowa State advisor told me personally that Kirkwood has a really good Pre-engineering program. Get all of your math, physics, and chemistry classes done here and skip the auditoriums!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of your instructor's office hours. Remember, Kirkwood has no auditorium classes. The biggest I have been in has around 50 students in it. Therefore, instructors here do not have as much traffic in their offices.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat a good Pre-Engineering program at $128 (Iowa residents) per credit hour.

    Am enjoying being here

    Buildings are kept up well. Plenty of quiet places to study on campus. Other students are friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    I am in the Pre-engineering program and they make sure to overprepare you instead of underprepare you academically for your transition to a university.

  • 11/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone really! Kirkwood fits the needs of anyone who takes the time to ask for help :)

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're unsure about where you want to go in life, a community college is definitely the way to go. There are so many great resources to guide you and help you make these important decisions. It is a very inexpensive way to explore! As long as you meet with an advisor and plan your class schedules accordingly, you will have no problem transferring on to another school, so you can still have the University experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Kirkwood has one of the lowest tuition rates in the state, so taking as many classes here as you can is definitely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Kirkwood is great! Community colleges often have a bad rep for being boring, but I've visited many other colleges and have found Kirkwood to be just as much fun if not more.

    Am learning a lot

    I've taken a wide variety of classes here! I've changed my major quite a few times, so taking one or two introductory courses in the field have really helped me learn what I want to do with the rest of my life!

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who enjoy larger schools or who do not wish to attend a private college. Also, it is great for students who are looking to save money and not have as much debt when they get out of school.

    Bang for the buck

    Kirkwood is very well priced. I attended a private college for a semester and the entire bill per semester at Kirkwood is the same as the monthly bill at the private school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like that it is a community college where I can leave school and go home or to work without having to come back to school just to sleep.

    Am learning a lot

    A lot of people think that community colleges and their professors aren't as good as traditional four-year schools, but I feel like I am learning new material as well as learning my own personal learning style which is helping me to study and know the material.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great security force and low crime rates

    Greek Life

    no greek life :-(

    Clubs and Activities

    kirkwood ah&la student chapter, phi theta kappa, fashion club

    Great for these types of students

    hotel & restaurant management students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the hotel at kirkwood is a student center that is high tech and modern.

    Bang for the buck

    low tuition, great reputation!

    What to do for fun

    lots of clubs to join! getting involved is very easy at kirkwood.

    Food and Dining

    several food outlets. can be pricey.

    Dorm Life

    off campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    my program was modeled after other 4 year hotel programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    dedication and time consuming. great introduction into your industry of choice. start here go anywhere.

    In three sentences

    very personable and small classes. experienced teachers. world class learning.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there was a gun threat last week, they cancelled classes then found the perpetrator 20 miles away 15 minutes after.

    Bang for the buck

    a great place to save money at!

    What to do for fun

    the student body is very involved in the sports, and there are always activities going on, on campus to get everyone involved.

    Food and Dining

    the food is alright, make sure you know it hasn't been sitting in the light or the fresh veggies haven't been sitting in a week. you will know, i did.

    Dorm Life

    the apartments are new, clean, and cozy!

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers will let a lot slide if you're not a slacker.. grade system is drastic between all the classrooms also.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't think that just because it's a community college it's going to just be like high school, prepare yourself.

    In three sentences

    kirkwood is a friendly, easy going community college. the teachers are lenient and the rest of the staff always have a smile on their face. living facilities are very close, so the walk isn't a pain.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and organizations on campus, and the Student Life office sponsors several free activities every month for students.

    Bang for the buck

    Kirkwood has very low tuition and great teachers and facilities.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. There are several clubs and student organizations on campus. The Student Life office sponsors many free student activities each month, and students can attend any sporting event on campus for free. Also, all students have free access to the rec center on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food in Sammy's Cafe is pretty good, but its more expensive than food in most cafeterias. This year they have added a sushi bar, however I haven't tried it.

    Dorm Life

    There are no Kirkwood owned dorms. There are about 14 apartment complexes around the campus that are Kirkwood approved for students to lease. Kirkwood has housing options listed on their website where these can be compared. Most (maybe all) of the complexes around the campus offer individual leases and roommate matching.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the teachers are very focused on the classes they teach. Most of them have real world experience in the field they are teaching, and will share lessons they have learned. Classes are exciting and many are hands-on. They keep students involved and make the learning process smoother.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to summer orientation is very important. You will meet your adviser and they will help you sign up for the right classes in your first semester. Also, keep in touch with your adviser, they can help you get good internships or jobs after graduation as well as making sure you take the right classes each semester and graduating on time. Get involved in a club (or two or three) and go to the free events provided by the Student Life office. There is a lot to do on campus and a lot of fun to be had if you get yourself involved. The most important advise for a student going to any college is you have to go to class. Most teachers will judge you based on how often your miss class, and it will affect your grades.

    In three sentences

    Kirkwood Community College is very student oriented with faculty that are helpful and put students first. Most teachers have had real world experience in their area of instruction. There are many things to do on campus from clubs and organizations to free student activities provided by the Student Life office.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to people if you're not sure where you're going or what exactly you're doing, someone will help.

    In three sentences

    There are nice people there. Campus was slightly confusing when I walked around for an hour, and I look forward to getting to know the campus better so I don't get lost. Also, it could just be me, but I found the exit towards Cedar Rapids in kind of an awkward place.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a different club or activity for whatever may interest you with great people.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't know what major they want, or anyone who wants to get all of the General Education classes out of the way at a fraction of the price of a four-year university.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for a very good price.

    What to do for fun

    This school offers an array of different groups and activities that you can do to pass some time.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great café at school with good prices.

    Dorm Life

    Some good apartments at a great price right on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This school offers many challenging courses in just about any field you are looking for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out what you want to do regarding extra-curricular activities. There are so many options here and they are a great way to meet new friends and spend some time out of your apartment.

    In three sentences

    Kirkwood Community College is a great place to jump start your education. It is very inexpensive and the credits transfer to almost any four-year university. Great place to get your education started.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    More cheaper then most schools

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you get to class on time and make sure you study.

    In three sentences

    Kirkwood has a really good nursing program. They also help there student to be best that they can. Kirkwood has small classes so its alot easy to learn.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's so-so

    Clubs and Activities

    not alot but they're stiill great

    Great for these types of students

    kids coming out of highschool. Older adults wanting to continue their education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    always an event during the summer

    Bang for the buck

    credits are cheap but the food isn't

    What to do for fun

    join a club

    Food and Dining

    too costly for food little bits of food but it does taste great

    Dorm Life

    never lived on the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    it's great but I've seen greater

    Tips for prospective students

    get your books a head of class time

    In three sentences

    It's good for older adults trying to better their lives. It's cheap. It's clean.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is everywhere so in case of emergency, someone is always close.

    Greek Life

    Honestly, not sure if that is very big at Kirkwood.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was only involved in Leadership but there is a never ending list of what someone could do with their time!!

    Great for these types of students

    I think Kirkwood has something for everybody!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Florida Courts, where I lived during my first year is amazing. The whole court of houses became like one big family! We all had so much fun!

    Bang for the buck

    In comparison to the two schools I am looking at when I am done, Kirkwood is a no-brainer. Go to Kirkwood, it is the smartest choice.

    What to do for fun

    I never had a dull moment at Kirkwood. There are lots of intramural sport teams to join and lots of other school activities and clubs. Plus when you move out there with four friends you are always going to have some sort of excitement.

    Food and Dining

    The food that Kirkwood provides is very good. They recently put in sushi bar which I love!

    Dorm Life

    There really is not dorms at Kirkwood Community College. However the apartments on Campus are very nice! My first year at Kirkwood four friends and myself rented a house at Florida Courts it was something none of us will ever forget! I suggest living away from home for the full college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part the professors want you to succeed and they will do their best to make sure it happens. Most of them will help accompany any needs you may have and are very understanding during times of conflict.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know what you want to do with your future before and after college, Kirkwood can and will help you.

    In three sentences

    For me, Kirkwood Community College has been great! Kirkwood has always been quick to respond to all my questions and needs. At Kirkwood I have never felt lost.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cedar Rapids area is somewhat unsafe. Kirkwood does a good job of informing students when they are closing for a threat, but it would be better if these threats never happened.

    Clubs and Activities

    They could definately have more organization when it comes to clubs and activities. They need a larger facility for intermurals for them to become more popular.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to a community college obviously saves a tremendous amount of money. As long as you are spending your time efficiently and get decent grades while enrolled, Kirkwood is a great school to transfer from.

    What to do for fun

    Join an intermural team, organization, or club.

    Food and Dining

    There is not much as far for dining in the area. The cafeteria on campus makes good food but it is often too expensive unless you get a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The on campus apartments are decent but many students are no focused in the area and will spend a majority of their time partying. I recommend to live off campus if possible.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as pre-engineering goes, the classes were moderately difficult and they attempted to challenge you as much as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not live on campus if you expect to stay focused. Many students on campus are concerned little with their grades and are more concerned with drinking/partying. Living expenses here are also high.

    In three sentences

    Kirkwood has a solid pre-engineering program. The courses are often challenging and address the significant material that needs to be covered. They are making improvements to the campus area constantly. Their recreation center could be larger but is still effective.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great on campus, there are always guards walking around.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are amazing, every club always has a chance to travel and help out others.

    Bang for the buck

    You truly can not beat the pricing, you are getting the same great education that you would recieve at a University.

    What to do for fun

    The best thing I did for fun was participate in the marketing group DECA, you get to meet a lot of great people and travel for competitions, as well everyone should take the opportunity to study abroad.

    Food and Dining

    The food was always fresh, as well full of various choices.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest making sure that you attend all classes, attendance is key. As well I would suggest renting your books because most professors do not even use textbooks.

    In three sentences

    It is a great way to get your basics out of the way. As well the classes are small which is great because you get more one on one time with the other students as well as the professor. The best part is you can't beat the price in todays economic times!

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has a text alert- that is free. That will, text everyone at the school when something happens. Like if there's a blizzard, this text alert will send out a text saying there is no school. Go Back To Bed. lol. Or something that is dangerous that we need to stay inside for, so we know whats happening.

    Greek Life

    i don't know, never heard of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    F.C.A, and Sports

    Great for these types of students

    anyone

    Bang for the buck

    not really sure what that means

    What to do for fun

    The first week of school they are having something fun to do every evening. Like a cook out, a movie, or a job fair and games and free food.

    Food and Dining

    It's a nice big area to eat at, nice chairs.

    Dorm Life

    Kirk wood has apartments not dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as i can tell this school has high potential for academic standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    pick good friends that you can rely on. and all was do your homework no matter what's going on, do your homework first then when you get done go have fun.

    In three sentences

    The Kirk wood campus is pretty and really clean. And it's nice and big and open to do a lot of fun things on the front lawn. There's a few close apartments, so some of us don't have to walk a mile, in the weather that the seasons may bring this year or any years.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always see campus security driving around and security around apartment complexes as well.

    Greek Life

    There isn't greek life at Kirkwood

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and activities to do. Anywhere from clubs that set up activites to extreme couponing.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't have a lot of money for college, who aren't sure what they want to do and want to get their general education classes done, those who want to go back to school and for those who want to be in a class of 30 rather than 400 where the teachers actually know you're name.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, go to school events.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus and some restaurants surrounding the area. There is also a Hy-Vee not too far for groceries.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms but there are apartments and I strongly recommend living in them. You can meet so many people that way.

    Academic Rigor

    If you come from a big school such as a class size of 400, you'll find Kirkwood pretty easy. Some professors are tougher than others but that's expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use office hours/meet with professors if you have questions, they always want to help. Use your resources, tutoring, writing lab, etc. Join clubs as well, it's a great way to meet people.

    In three sentences

    Great school if you don't know what you want to do or even if you do. Great small class sizes with professors that want you to succeed. It's very affordable and a beautiful campus.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many fun planned activities take place on campus, and a great state of the art rec center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider Kirkwood Community College. They have the lowest tuition in the state of Iowa.

    In three sentences

    I am very pleased with this college. The Staff is Excellent and very helpful. Kirkwood truly does care about my education expierance.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Currently attending as a Anytime/Anywhere student. My classes are all online until I return to the states. The communication back and forth has been great with them!

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a full staff of security guards and a plan for every situation that can be thought. including dangerous individual scares and weather updates.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student ambassadors and the intramural clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to get a degree and go straight into the workforce. Students that are looking to transfer onto a bigger university. Undecided students would do well here because its a cheap school that allows for student to explore there majors.

    Bang for the buck

    kirkwood is the the cheapest college tuition wise in Iowa and there classes are on par with the big universities.

    What to do for fun

    I go to sporting events, i hang out with my friends, and i go to the many different events that the school puts on for the students.

    Food and Dining

    Kirkwood has a cafeteria that supplies a great of good meals and beverages. They also have there own sushi bar in the cafeteria for those individuals who like a taste for the foreign cuisine. There is also plenty of vending machines in ever hall and building on campus.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms but they do have deals with the neighboring apartment complexes. i love my apartment and i am very comfortable where i live.

    Academic Rigor

    They provide an extensive basis of higher level learnig classes. They have proffesors that actually know what there teaching. They offer a variety of diffrent challenging and mind rendering courses to help mold the minds of young students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend you get involved in the social activities around campus. stay on top of your school work, you don't want to have to play catch up at the end of the semester. Finally take advantage of the resources at the school Kirkwood offers plenty resources to help struggling students.

    In three sentences

    Kirkwood is a good school for students looking to find fast degrees. It is an even better school for students looking to transfer to a university. I would give Kirkwood a A- for the way the school operates.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In a pretty questionable area away from the University of Iowa's campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs and activities, not a whole lot of people participate.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who aren't ready to transition to a big four year university, this is the safer alternative and Iowa works closely with you if you plan to transfer over to Iowa.

    What to do for fun

    Kirkwood has a select few clubs, not many options. Not a whole lot to do at Kirkwood.

    Food and Dining

    No food and dining in Kirkwood Iowa City location.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your books from a foreign site, the book store at Kirkwood will rip you off.

    In three sentences

    Classes are diverse. Classes are very easy. Teachers are very helpful and happy to help at that.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    most people can find a club to become active in. If you cant there are ways of getting on started. There's language clubs, sports clubs, animal clubs, an anime club and so many more. Kirkwood tries to keep activities going throughout the semester.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    my happy place is definitely the barn. I started in the Horse Science but had to change to get my gen eds done. the barn is still my favorite place on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Kirkwoods a lot cheaper then a four year college and you complete at least two years before having to transfer. you can also get scholarships from activities like Phi Thetta Kappa, theater and sports.

    What to do for fun

    there's sports and clubs not to mention the performing arts. I participate in FCA, Fellowship of Christian Athletes which is a bit deceiving as most of us are not athletes. I'm also involved with the plays and Choir. for people who don't act but love theater there's tech work. Kirkwood also host fun activities once in a while like Bingo and movie night,

    Food and Dining

    Some really good food but a little expensive. the Pasta is amazing. and we are getting a salad bar soon.

    Dorm Life

    I only stayed in one of Kirkwoods Apartments for one semester because my family moved to Cedar Rapids. some night's other students would get loud but they were nice apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    every class has a lot of information in it. not an unbelievable amount of homework but enough to keep you busy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start with your gen eds. You don't have to know your major right away. start with three gen eds and one discovery class. if you already know your major Kirkwood has a great diversity of majors.

    In three sentences

    Kirkwood is a fun yet challenging school. Great Location and affordable.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Cedar Rapids is a boring town, however, the Hotel at Kirkwood Center is very interesting. The restaurant is run by the students and is delicious and cheap.

    Food and Dining

    The Kirkwood Cafe is slightly overpriced and unhealthy, but provides good-tasting food when needed.

    Academic Rigor

    Kirkwood is surprisingly challenging and have walked away from my classes with something applicable to my life.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first week of the first semester is the hardest. Use all of Kirkwood's resources, including the library and writing center.

    In three sentences

    Kirkwood is a good transition from high school to college. There are many innovative instructors and resources to help you out. The student body is a little iffy, but the education definitely makes up for it.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Cedar Rapids is a great place to be. The people there are nice. You have several movie theatres, swanky nice restaurants, lovely clothing stores and book stores. And of course, it isn't a far drive from Iowa City- which has a great downtown, or Coralville- which has a great mall.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not quite sure, but I think it will be very tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Well, they don't have on-campus dorms, but you can get an apartment, or live at home if your family lives in town.

    In three sentences

    I've heard nothing but excellent stuff about Kirkwood. I'm planning on going to Kirkwood and continuing my education after. I look forward to attending!

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There is no campus living. Apartments nearby are really pretty nice and you can walk to class.

    Academic Rigor

    The content itself is the same, but I find it much easier to learn here than at a University, the material is presented in an easier way but I find there is more homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. It's the easiest and also hardest thing to do but it will almost guarantee success.

    In three sentences

    Kirkwood is a great community college that offers a wide variety of classes that will transfer. I went to Kirkwood after attending the University of Iowa and the professors here are so much more interested in seeing you personally succeed.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In general I feel very safe there. We did have two incidents involving a gun in the last 3 years, but they were fairly minor, and no one was hurt.

    Greek Life

    Again, not familiar with any.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not familiar with any.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who aren't sure what they want to major in can get all of their general education classes done in two years here for a AA degree, giving them plenty of time to reach a decision before transferring on. Students who can't afford a 4 year college should go here to start, and then transfer after two years. Students who do not desire a 4 year degree, but rather a certificate have lots of opportunities at Kirkwood.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't think of anything unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    By far Kirkwood is the cheapest education you can get without sacrificing quality.

    What to do for fun

    Kirkwood arranges events for students to enjoy, like movie nights, fairs, and plays.

    Food and Dining

    Hmmm. I have never eaten there either (the whole, living at home deal!) I have seen the cafeteria and it was recently remodeled and it looks impressive! The food certainly smells good!

    Dorm Life

    I can't speak to this. I lived at home while I attended Kirkwood.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes challenge you, some do not. It all depends on your abilities. If you are good at English, the literature and writing classes will probably be less of a challenge, but you could struggle in math. Kirkwood uses ACT scores to fit you into the right level of math, for example, so you don't jump into a trigonometry class if you barely got through algebra in high school. If you don't have an ACT score they have their own version, called a compass test.

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers are very helpful, and genuinely want to see their students succeed, so take advantage of this! Speak to them after class or at their offices if you need help with something. I have always found them very willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Kirkwood Community College is a wonderful place to get started on a degree. If you don't know what you want to major in they have a wide variety of programs to look at and try out. They have many branches that serve a very large geographic area.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Kirkwood is a community college so it is very cheap. It works out well to transfer to a four-year college. Your general education classes should be out of the way when you transfer. This saves you a lot of money.

    What to do for fun

    They have many shows throughout the year on campus. If you are an active person, there is usually something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Students that are going for culinary arts prepare the food. They do an incredible job.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay on campus

    Academic Rigor

    You can make this college as easy, or as hard as you want. It all depends on the teachers and classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read teacher reviews before signing up for classes. You will have great teachers, but some will not meet your needs.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always things on and off campus to do. You don't have to look very far to find something to do. Bulletin boards and posters are everywhere letting you know whats coming up.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of options at pretty good prices.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really be a good judge of dorm life because I lived off campus. But I heard from several friends that it was great.

    Academic Rigor

    I loved that the classes were challenging. My teachers always kept me thinking without totally confusing me. And they didn't mind when you ask questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a student or a soon to be student, do not be afraid to talk to your adviser. They take the time to see what you want and need and they will do their best to help you out. Try to be as involved as you can be. there is always fun stuff going on and it is easy to be involved. Take school seriously. You are paying to be there and so is everyone else. You may want to goof off in class but your classmates won't appreciate that.

    In three sentences

    Kirkwood does an amazing job of helping you figure out what classes to take and how to get to your goals. There is always fun stuff going on around campus. Kirkwood is an excellent option for those who want to go to school without going broke.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always faculty or security near by if there is an issue. There are people that will help direct traffic at busy intersections on campus. Safety is key here.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for everyone. It doesn't matter where you started off in life, where you came from, or what you are used to. Kirkwood is the place to be.

    Bang for the buck

    The instructors are always willing to help you if you are willing to help yourself. Job placement is one subject Kirkwood is great at. They will help you write an incredible resume, help you find a job, and help you succeed, if you are willing.

    What to do for fun

    The Rec center is a great place to go for exercise. They have a tennis court, basketball hoops, weights, treadmills, and many other exercise systems that is free to students. There are always student groups that are putting on an exhibit.

    Food and Dining

    There are many food and dining options on and near campus. There is a cafeteria on campus that is open for all students. Within two blocks of campus, there is a Casey's, Subway, Kum and Go, and many other food options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice. Janitorial services keep the grounds clean, and everyone is polite. Just walking into a dorm, the residents usually greet you before you get the chance to greet them.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are challenging, but you can handle it. The professors and instructors will challenge you on a daily basis, but you will be rewarded greatly for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the big picture! Some days will be challenging, others will be a breeze. Going to Kirkwood is a fun and rewarding experience that will pay off for many days to come. Do your best, try hard, and ask as many questions as you feel needed, they will be answered.

    In three sentences

    Kirkwood has been a very eye-opening experience for me in these past couple of weeks. Everyone is polite, respectful, and willing to help with whatever you need. If you have a question, ask the first person you see, they will point you in the right direction.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    plenty of outside activities to do

    Food and Dining

    Good coffee shop and cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    no living in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    depends on the class and teacher

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do a lot of studying outside of class. You get what you pay for. Stay on top of your requirements for your degree and what you need to to for financial aid, because they will not notify you if there is something that was missed. This can leave you in a bind.

    In three sentences

    Kirkwood has a pretty good curriculum for most entry level degrees. The credits transfer to most schools without much problem if you want to continue your education. There are plenty of activities to choose from on campus for fun.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great value for a great education

    What to do for fun

    Played Bingo during activity hour

    Food and Dining

    Delicious food and great options, but kind of on the pricy side.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not an easy school. Teachers can be tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be prepared and never skip class (especially the first day)

    In three sentences

    Very diverse. Great program availability. Exceptional staff.