Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Kirtland Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on this campus.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Bang for the buck

    I am getting a wonderful education that is worth every dollar.

    What to do for fun

    Kirtland has a student center where you can go and relax between classes. They have vending machines, and t.vs set up.

    Food and Dining

    The grill has the best choices for meals and snacks. Healthy choices!

    Dorm Life

    Kirtland doesn't have living quarters on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors are easy to work with as long as you come before hand and talk one on one or talk to them via email when it comes to making up tests/quizzes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared! College is not like high school by any means. Have a checklist as well so you meet all the important deadlines.

    In three sentences

    Kirtland Community College is close to home. It is an affordable place to get an education whether it be a transfer program or general studies. I don't feel over whelmed when I am on campus.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of student activities available for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria at kcc is a little expensive but has good food.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are very comparable to university classes. students are not being cheated out of a good education because they're attending a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students should do a lot of research before choosing a college. if you count too much on advisers to make schedules you may waste a lot of time and money. do the work yourself and save a lot of grief later!

    In three sentences

    kirtland community college is a cost effective way to obtain general education credits. the teachers give a lot of personal attention to students. it is a good transition from high school into college.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    it is literally the college in the middle of the woods.

    What to do for fun

    there are always lots of student activites going on. the student center is a great place to hang out. there is a big tv in there and a ping pong table so thats where you find a lot of students and even some professors.

    Food and Dining

    i have not ever ate in the cafeteria at kirtland, but people have told me its good and also some have said its bad.

    Dorm Life

    there are not any dorms on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you take a math class, try to take it with donpaul elliott. he was my math teacher and i did so very well in his class. he explains everything to the fullest and even helps you on your homework if you need it. if you take an online class, dont think that its easier because you dont have to go to campus for class. i find that my online classes have been harder then going to campus for class.

    In three sentences

    the faculty at kirtland is very helpful with anything you need. other students are really polite and willing to help you with anything they can. it is a very good environment.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never had any issues with car break ins or anything like that. I took night classes two semesters in a row, and I always felt safe walking out of school at nine thirty at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    As a full time student and working two part-time jobs, I didn't have a lot of time to investigate all that Kirtland has to offer. I recommend taking the time to discover all your extracurricular options. I know there is a wonderful tutoring program and a basketball team.

    Great for these types of students

    KCC is a great school for kids just out of high school who aren't quite sure what they want to do, or if they even want to go to school. It's also a great option for older students who have had setbacks or just now decided to continue to pursue their studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the art building. I only took one art history class, which I loved, but I still like to visit to see what the new students are up to.

    Bang for the buck

    I had a very good experience at Kirtland Community College. I was able to take my time while getting my general studies done and trying to decide what to major in, because I didn't have to stress so much about what each class was going to cost me. Very reasonable prices compared to universities, and for me, being homeschooled, it was a great way to ease into college life.

    What to do for fun

    I have attended a variety of art shows put on at the college, all of which were very entertaining and well organized. Also, I know there is quite an assortment of events throughout the year, featuring celebrities and local talent. There is plenty of space to play some sports between classes, and disc golf is all set up for students. Or just sit on one of the many benches and enjoy the quiet scenery.

    Food and Dining

    While the food quality, taste, and service is definitely acceptable, the prices are pretty steep. Pack a lunch or eat before you go!

    Dorm Life

    This isn't quite applicable. While there are some on campus housing options, they are minimal. KCC is known as a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    How hard you will be expected to work will depend on what teacher you choose. I've had teachers push their students pretty hard and I've also had teachers who I wished would have challenged me more. The grading is fair. Do your work and try your best and you'll get what you earned.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to the other students before registering for your classes to make sure you have the right teacher for your learning style. This is of course advice for any school. Don't let the fact that it's a smaller school, or that it's community college, put a damper on the education you can receive there. If you put your mind to it and do the work, it can be a great way to start out.

    In three sentences

    Kirtland Community College is a great place to begin your college experience. KCC is a good way to get your general classes out of the way before transferring to your four year school, or a fantastic way to complete your Associates Degree or certificate. While Kirtland Community College is an efficient, more affordable option for school, it is not cheap, and you still receive quality instruction and a positive experience.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a big priority at Kirtland. Because a lot of students take night classes the campus security is ready, willing, and able to act.

    Greek Life

    Kirtland does not have any sororities of fraternities as far as I know, but they are part of Phi Theta Kappa.

    Great for these types of students

    Kirtland is great for those who are first time college students and those who are not used to the hustle and bustle of the big cities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know about unusual, but Kirtland does have a talent show.

    Bang for the buck

    Kirtland is just an awesome school. It's not a big university, so for students who aren't sure of what they want to do a place like Kirtland is the way to go. It's an amazing experience for first time college students.

    What to do for fun

    Kirtland has a number of acts that perform, such as The Red Green Show. At the end of each semester the art students are allowed to show off their work in the student art show.

    Food and Dining

    Other than the school's cafeteria there are a few restaurants in town that off down home cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Kirtland did not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and staff care about the students and want them to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are pretty sure of your program and try to find someone in that field that works there to talk to about your courses.

    In three sentences

    Kirtland Community College was an excellent choice for me. It was a good start to get me into college life. I wouldn't trade my time there for anything.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Full campus safety staff and come on... this is northern Michigan and the college is in the woods. Not much to worry about around those parts

    Clubs and Activities

    I have't joined any because I work full time but I see flyers for lots.

    Great for these types of students

    Out door seeking Nursing Automotive Trade licensing

    Bang for the buck

    Great tuition prices compared to universities and even against other local colleges. Also a historically recognized institution in this area.

    What to do for fun

    shooting range near by, great hiking trails (its in the woods), fishing near by, many clubs or organizations to join.

    Food and Dining

    They are in the woods so the only food is at the college cafeteria

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are decently tough depending on curriculum but I have seen some professors that truly try to be innovative in their teaching methods.

    Tips for prospective students

    Leave messages on answering machines because they will call you back even though it is difficult to get people on the phone first try. They are a small school with a smaller office staff and have a hard time handling high call volumes.

    In three sentences

    It's a fantastic school tucked in the woods of northern Michigan. It's just small enough to feel individual among other students but large enough to provide diverse options. They've made a steady effort at adapting to the modern, age-varying student by adopting new technological ways that open many doors.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security points are set up across the campus and patrols drive around periodically. It seems to be a low-crime campus where everyone gets along.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few student clubs and groups, but not a wide variety like larger schools would have.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone just starting out with college will find Kirtland a comfortable way to ease into college life gradually. It's also ideal for non-traditional (older) students who've experienced a gap between high school and college. In fact, all the classes I've taken thus far have had at least one or two adult students, who seem to fit in just fine.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of attending Kirtland is quite low; books and supplies weren't even that expensive. A Pell grant alone was enough to cover all my costs for the year.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved at the college. There is absolutely no entertainment in the area surrounding campus, so your best bet is making friends in the school or joining clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Grill (the restaurant inside the Student Center) actually serves reasonably tasty food, much of which is homemade. Prices are a little bit higher than one might expect from a community college, but overall the quality is worth it. I wouldn't recommend eating here every day, but it does offer a nice break from packed lunches when you have a long day of classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor's I've had thus far have given relatively thorough lectures, but tests have been primarily open note. Opportunities for extra credit points have been plentiful as well; it's wonderful for helping keep students' grades up, but it makes classes less challenging than they might otherwise be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since it is a smaller college, check to make sure classes you're interested in are offered here. I will be able to get my basics out of the way, but they don't have a great deal that lines up with my intended Bachelor's. Knowing where you want to transfer ahead of time (if you're going to a 4 year afterwards) is a definite plus.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful! Classes are small enough to allow professors time to give each other personal attention if they need it but not small enough to feel stifling. Most of the students are locals although there are a few from the larger cities down south.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels safe at all times. There are campus security guards that monitor the area.

    Bang for the buck

    I really enjoy attending Kirtland Community College. There was another school that opened closer to my home and I choose to return to Kirtland because they have a 100% rate for passing the state board exams. This shows me that they are dedicated to their students.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go disc golfing for fun. There is a nice course that is available right on campus. There is also another course located in my home town.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Cafeteria is very expensive. Also there is not any gas station or restaurant where you can purchase food for at least 10 miles. This is very inconvenient and expensive if you forget your lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Their is a number of times where I have seen the rules and ethnic codes being broken and the instructors are following through with the proper disciplinary actions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact and counselor and they will be able to help you with what you need in order to get set up with the classes that best fit your needs.

    In three sentences

    Kirtland Community College gives me great hands on learning experiences. The one on one communication with the teachers is great and shows how much they care about the success of their students. The scenery is beautiful.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Kirtland is always organizing new activities. Recently there was a cupcake vote for the presidential election, and soon there will be a bowling day (free for students).

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a question, make sure to ask the teachers about it. You can frequently improve your grade if you discuss quiz questions with them.

    In three sentences

    Kirtland Community College has great instructors that make the material they teach memorable. The college is situated on a beautiful campus with plenty of opportunity for walking. Don't get the idea that the college is backwoods without any technological aspects; they offer several fully online degrees.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very effective and very helpful with vehicular problems and travel issues.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Travel oriented student that don't like a lot of destraction due to the lack of student population.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price if a student that is transferring it is a great value to go here.

    What to do for fun

    At the college there is not much for recreation except the disk golf course which is nice.

    Food and Dining

    One cafe in the student center and very limited in choice, but then again it is a small community college.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life. No on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not exactly the hardest in the first year of study but as the class levels raise in the second year the classes get a little tougher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out where you want to transfer as soon as possible if applicable. Check equivalencies when choosing classes.

    In three sentences

    Kirtland is an affordable school that offers limited associate degrees. Kirtland has few athletic programs that are possible to get into which could get possible scholarship money. Kirtland has helpful advisers to assisted a student on the next step in education.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an advisor to see what you need to take for your degree.

    In three sentences

    I like Kirtland because it is small and friendly. Class sizes are small. The online courses are convienient.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are on campus. I always feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have the honor society. They have sports like track and basketball. They have the student services group where people can volunteer their time to help those in need. They have the theater where students can take part in trying out for roles in the plays and musicals they put on.

    Great for these types of students

    Kirtland is great for students who wish to pursue medical fields, cosmetology, automotive and even business.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really love how Kirtland Community Colleges hosts a food pantry for students every 2 weeks of the month on campus. I think it is so wonderful that Kirtland cares about the students well being. They also offer career advice. You can take a test on campus and talk with career counselors to help you choose what to direction to take in your life.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports, volunteer activities, plays and musicals, activities, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food choices! They offer anything for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff are amazing and always there to help. They truly care about their students and there success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure to ask a lot of questions. No question is a dumb one when it comes to doing good in school and achieving your degree. Make sure to take free tutoring if its offered! Tutoring helps many students in doing good in their classes. If a free writing center is available take advantage of it. They are there to help you be successful in writing college papers, which are an important part of learning in college. Be involved on campus. It does not matter if you go to a community college or a university. Being involved on campus whether it be a sport, club, volunteering, etc makes your have a well rounded students, looks good on a resume and shapes you better as a person. And most importantly study! Take the time to truly study or else you will not succeed in college.

    In three sentences

    Kirtland is Amazing!

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always security and staff willing to help!

    Clubs and Activities

    Always something going on. If there is down time, everyone is always looking for a new friend.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone!

    Bang for the buck

    In-district tuition is nice

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, Student Senate, plays, writing contests, always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    The Grill is kind of expensive

    Dorm Life

    There are places you could live near the college.

    Academic Rigor

    They challenge you the way you need to be challenged sometime. Very understanding teachers, though.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. It's okay not to know what you want. The Basics classes will help you 2. Teachers really do want you to succeed 3. Advisers have been in your shoes, so don't worry 4. FILL OUT YOUR FAFSA ASAP!

    In three sentences

    It's a good school to start at. Transfer credits all over the place. History department is awesome.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, just watch out for area wildlife. Deer are in abundance.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable without losing out on the top educators.

    What to do for fun

    They are located in the woods of Michigan so there are many natural parks and recreation areas with trails for atv's and cross country skiing as well as fishing and hunting.

    Food and Dining

    I never eat on campus but they do have a nice cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms but have heard they are nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't want to spend a lot of money on transportation to college either take online courses or live on campus.

    In three sentences

    Kirtland Community College is a great place to learn, it is very laid back and small class sizes insure that you get the help you need to succeed. It is located in the woods of Michigan and is in a very peaceful setting. Teachers are very friendly and laid back and more than willing to help you with whatever you may need.

  • 04/21/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm only interested in female males

    Greek Life

    Sigma

    Food and Dining

    The food was very well. It was more casual than a gaming scrub plunging attacking the Taurus demon in Dark Souls 2. Scrubs.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live here.

    In three sentences

    I have been to Kirtland many times for various reasons and it never gets old. I greatly enjoy walking around campus and learning more about going there. I will apply to Kirtland.

  • 07/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The most violent thing that happens out here is when somebody runs into a deer with their car. Or when two squirrels pick a fight on the lawn. Anyway, it's very safe. I've never had any problems when I've been on campus.

    Greek Life

    The only Greek life here is the PTK chapter, and I can't really rate that because I'm not active in that chapter.

    Clubs and Activities

    The only club activity I have participated in here was an Alternative Breaks trip I took in the spring of 2014. I felt that it was kind of disorganized, but I did enjoy volunteering with my fellow KCC students, and recommend it. I can't rate the Phi Theta Kappa chapter, because while I am a member, I am not active in it since I don't like to have to drive all the way out to campus for their meetings on days that I won't have class. The on-campus theater has a lot of performances, both by students and by other entertainers. I haven't been to most of them, but I have heard a lot of positive comments.

    Great for these types of students

    KCC is great for students who live in the area, and want to save a lot of money by going to a community college and transferring credits. But don't think you'Â?ll get an easy ride just because it is in hick town; the courses and materials can be challenging. If you're willing to put your nose to the proverbial grindstone, though, you can learn a TON, and save money to boot.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's not exactly an unusual tradition, but KCC does have a police academy. For that program, they have a shooting range near campus, as well as cars marked Kirtland Police. Just to let ya know.

    Bang for the buck

    KCC does allow you to save quite a bit of money over a 4-year college, as long as you're in district. I have learned a lot with every course I have taken here. Smaller class sizes definitely help with that. There are also several scholarships offered by the college (including one for homeschooled dual-enrolled students, which I won) as well as a Phi Theta Kappa chapter, which can open up many scholarship options through that organization.

    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun all depends on what kind of things you like to do. There's a Frisbee golf course on campus, as well as the student groups I mentioned before. The area doesn't have as many options for fun as a 4-year college in a big city would, but most of the fun I have had around here has just been hanging out with my friends, which you can do no matter what campus you're on. There is also a theater, which has a lot of events throughout the year. I haven't attended most of them, but what I have heard from those who have has always been very positive.

    Food and Dining

    KCC does have an eating option on campus, called The KCC Grill. I have not tried it so I can't rate it very well, but I hear it is expensive. Haven't heard anything about the food quality.

    Dorm Life

    I can't rate dorm life because KCC does not have any dorms. Your quality of living will depend on where you rent an apartment, or who you live with (if you're living with family or renting a room with somebody).

    Academic Rigor

    So far, all of the classes I have taken have been online. Academically, I have found most of my assignments to be just challenging enough that I could conquer them, but with effort. The only reason I rate it 4 stars is because I have had some problems with the instructor sending out the wrong syllabus, and one or two assignments whose requirements were not specified properly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! While KCC doesn't have any official student groups the way that 4-year colleges typically do, they still have a Phi Theta Kappa chapter, a Student Senate, and participates in the Alternative Breaks program (where a group of students goes to a different place and volunteers with nonprofit organizations during a school break). Aside from academic stuff, they also have Frisbee golf, an annual staff vs. students softball game, and more. Turn your assignments in on time! Sounds like duh advice, but you would not believe how many students do not do this. As an example, I have taken online classes that had a forum component. Students had to make an initial post on the given topic by Wednesday, and then make two replies by Sunday for each week. In a class of 30 students, about 6 consistently made their forum posts on time. The instructors WILL mark you down for turning things in late, and for a good reason! Also, many students want to go here to save money over a 4-year college. Good reason; however, make sure you also factor travel costs (gas) into your expenses for attending here. Main campus is kind of out in the middle of nowhere, and depending on your class schedule and where you live, you could rack up quite a bit of gas money.

    In three sentences

    KCC is a small community college in Roscommon, MI, that offers local students a great opportunity to earn a degree or transfer credits for a lot less money than a 4-year college. I have attended several semesters as a dual-enrolled student, and will soon be attending as a full-time student. I love this college and highly recommend it!