Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Kishwaukee College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kishwaukee is great for students that like the small classroom environment or for students that do not know what they want to do but know they want to go to college. Kishwaukee is a good start. Students who cannot afford to go to a four year school right away should also consider Kishwaukee.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I have for prospective students is, get in there and sign up for your classes right away because the fill up fast. Also make sure you pay attention to what you need to graduate in 2 years and take the right classes. You should also pay attention to what transfers to universities.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to take your general education classes for a cheaper price than that of a university Kishwaukee is the place to do it. My two years of school at Kish are going to end up costing all together what one semester at a university would cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being a Kishwaukee because of the small feel and the comfortable environment.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel that I am learning a lot at Kishwaukee College because the class sizes are small and the teachers get to know the students individually.

  • 02/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kish is great for students who want to stay close to home, actually learn something from people who actually want to teach, and want to save tremendous amounts of money. The campus itself is pretty enjoyable with lots of free activities and things in the main lobby most of the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage you to take classes that interest you in addition to just those that fill your required slots. You might not have another opportunity to take classes you like at this kind of price. Doing this also gives you a chance to become more well rounded and might even strengthen your resolve to be in a certain field or even change it dramatically.

    Bang for the buck

    It's simple: Kish is a community college. There's no dorm to pay for and its inherently cheaper because it is a community college. Tuition itself can be paid for by a few scholarships and it saved me personally $27,000 a year ($50,000+ total!) to avoid a private university and in this case, you get more than what you pay for.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really do enjoy it here. The cafeteria is pretty good for a small college, the teachers, again, make your experience not as big of a pain, and you get to stay close to home and that's not as bad as most people make it out to be.

    Am learning a lot

    All the classes I'm taking are doing a great job at giving me critical information. The teachers here are extremely smart. I would strongly recommend Mrs. Anderson for anything she teaches in chemistry and Dr. Thomas for any of his philosophy/ethics courses. I have had an amazing time with both of these instructors for almost an entire year now and plan on taking more of what they have to offer.

  • 10/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kishwaukee College is great if you're unsure about what you want to do or where you want to go. It will save you a lot of money and give you time to figure everything out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sign up for classes early. I would recommend meeting with a counselor to do this instead of just picking classes online.

    Bang for the buck

    I got a few scholarships so Kishwaukee is basically paying me to go there. I'm transferring next fall so this will help a lot with tuition costs at the 4-year university I transfer to.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's tough staying behind and going to a community college while all of your friends go away to school. Plus, Kishwaukee College is basically in a corn field and there is really nothing to do.

    Am learning a lot

    I have a few instructors who, honestly, have no idea what they're talking about. It's not like this for every class, there are some very qualified and knowledgeable professionals here, but it's kind of hit or miss.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities students could do in their spare time and to really help their community.

    What to do for fun

    Kish has game rooms and a television room where you can hang out with friends while waiting for your next class or just to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but too greasy for my taste.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good tip is to actually go to the classes you payed for. Attendance is part of your grade and if you don't show up then you not only don't learn anything but your grade is slowly depleting.

    In three sentences

    I love this college! All the classes are easy to find and registration is a breeze! Not only that but all the teachers are professional and very helpful.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is excellent. after the shooting at the niu campus a few years back, kishwaukee safety procedures increased greatly. every classroom has clearly listed emergency procedures, it rarely takes more than a minute or two to find a police officer patrolling the campus, and the response to calls to campus security is very quick.

    Greek Life

    as far as i know, there are only a few fraternities and sororities with an active presence of the campus. kishwaukee is a small community college, so there isn't much presence of the traditional greek life until you've moved on to one of the other colleges after finishing your time here.

    Clubs and Activities

    the variety of clubs is okay. mostly down to equality or ethnic clubs that meet and organize various events. there are a few others such as computer clubs, and the variety of sports on offer is decent, but for the most part clubs aren't a huge part of campus life outside of a small subset of people.

    Great for these types of students

    almost anyone who wants to get a two year degree such as an associates or transfer to a four year school. it's a great place to do all your gen. eds before moving up to somewhere else, and compared to some other local colleges a couple years here would be thousands of dollars cheaper.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing in particular comes to mind, though i'm not personally involved in the campus culture very much.

    Bang for the buck

    kishwaukee is incredibly cheap for the quality of its education. even just a standard pell grant will probably cover your entire tuition even if you're taking fifteen hours of courses. the value is absolutely incredible.

    What to do for fun

    the game room and tv room are of modest size, but they're about all that's needed for a college this size. the various lobbies littered about all have wi-fi access and students can often be seen just hanging out and chatting between classes.

    Food and Dining

    for its size, the dining is pretty good. the cafeteria is hardly all-encompassing or broadly multicultural, but it serves various tasty staples at decent prices. there's a current construction project underway to add a new cafe.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dormitory at kishwaukee college.

    Academic Rigor

    with only one exception, every teacher i've had at kish has been simply wonderful. they're genuinely interested in getting the students to learn so they're prepared for life moving forward, and with such small class sizes they usually have time for every student. the quality of the education is the last thing that could be questioned about kish.

    Tips for prospective students

    explore the college a bit before your first class. a lot of people on the first day even in such a small place show up for their first classes late which is pretty annoying. there are no big lecture halls, so a late student often knocks on the door and disrupts class to be let in.

    In three sentences

    small classes and friendly teachers contribute a lot to the positive atmosphere of the college. the variety offered varies quite a bit, with some courses like nursing and engineering being quite popular, while others like logic fall by the wayside. all in all it's a pretty good college for its size.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    kishwaukee college is very affordable and the smart way to go when you are starting your applications.

    What to do for fun

    there are many activities and clubs to join that can keep one occupied for hours.

    Food and Dining

    the food is nothing special, but the sandwiches taste good and are at a fare price. the cookies are also fabulous if you ever feel like a treat.

    Academic Rigor

    the majority of the teachers are very flexible and understanding. they still expect you to have your work done and arrive in class in a timely manner. they are very easy to talk to and get a hold of.

    Tips for prospective students

    buy all your books online. the bookstores prices are way too expensive. it might seem like an inconvenience, but do it!

    In three sentences

    i found kishwaukee college a great place for people of all ages to attend. the majority of the teachers i had were very nice and accommodating. it is easy to get around and a great place to start the college experience.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    kishwaukee takes safety seriously and there are always cops walking around on the campus and blue lights in the parking lot. they warn students not to walk alone to their cars and at night if a student needs to go to their car and feel uncomfortable there are escorts available.

    Clubs and Activities

    many great clubs, teams and activities available. i myself am a member of the softball team, future educators of america, and phi theta kappa and these are only a few of the many offered. athletes are well respected in the school and are often very close with the other teams.

    Bang for the buck

    kishwaukee college is a relativity cheap school and i got a lot out of it. great for getting my associate's out of the way and saving thousands of dollars.

    Food and Dining

    food i would not rank very high, not because it is not good or you do not get a lot but because they only accept cash. if they would branch out to debit or credit cards i feel like they would make more money in the food area.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on kishwaukee college but you can get an apartment or dorm on the campus of norther illinois university. i lived at home about 15 minutes away.

    Academic Rigor

    i have learned a lot from kishwaukee and it was a great first step for me into the life of a college student. i love the one on one time that teachers can give their students and you are not just another number at kish but a student with a name.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused when it comes to your studies, kishwaukee is just like any other school and if you don't knuckle down you will not get as much that you could take from there.

    In three sentences

    kishwaukee is a small but great school. if a student really dedicates him/herself then kishwaukee college has a lot to offer. there are also many different clubs, teams, and groups that are offered to join.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of extra free fun stuff that students can partake in, like a hypnotist, movies, and shows.

    Food and Dining

    They make all of your food in front of you and it is always fresh.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm opportunities at Kishwaukee but it is very close to NIU which has dorms for college students.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very caring and help the student to their best ability.

    In three sentences

    The teachers at Kishwaukee College are very nice and caring. The classes are small enough to get one on one time with your professors. Also it is a very friendly atmosphere that motivates you to succeed.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attending school events is a good way to get involved. Also join some type of club or work with the school paper.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria which has a variety of choices. The food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Kishwaukee College does not have dorms. So there is really nothing to say here.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the school is well balanced and offers many different classes at different times to fit an individual's schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go into the school aiming to finish as quick as possible. Take your time. Do not frustrate yourself by taking more classes than you can handle just so you can finish.

    In three sentences

    Kishwaukee College is a great school for someone who is not fully ready to attend a larger University. It is also a great way for someone who does not know what they want their major to be to get their general requirements done and test out different classes to see what you like. The instructors usually make themselves available for their students whenever they need help.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    sign up for a tour of the campus so on your first day you are somewhat familiar with the campus already.

    In three sentences

    small class sizes. good hands-on learning experience. great atmosphere.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get what you paid for. They dont over charge you like most schools do. They are very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Not really sure. After class i go straight home.

    Food and Dining

    Kishwaukee has the best burgers i have ever tasted. Try a cheeseburger with bacon.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Go straight to class and try not to make many friends. Or else you will be one of those students hanging in the hall way.

    In three sentences

    Kishwaukee is a very friendly and supportive school. Its a small environment where as you wont fell like no one knows you. The only downfall of being a student at Kishwaukee College is the students like to hang in the hallways and be loud as if they were back in High School.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You will save thousands compared to a four-year university.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in DeKalb or Sycamore - there isn't much to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad, but it's expensive. I suggest bringing your own snacks from home.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are pretty easy. Almost all of the classes are about a half step up from high school courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick the semester that you want to graduate and stick to it. Make sure you are taking enough courses to graduate when you want and don't let anyone convince you to stay longer.

    In three sentences

    Kishwaukee College is a good way to save money. The teachers are pretty hit or miss. Most classes are easy.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always on-campus police every day I attend class, which makes me feel very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although Kishwaukee College offers clubs, it seems the attendance rate is low and sometimes unreliable.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the student who is looking for an affordable option for attending college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The B Wing commons is much quieter when trying to get work done- a must if you enjoy the quiet!

    Bang for the buck

    This is definitely MUCH more cheaper than taking gen-eds at NIU and in my opinion, is a much smarter decision financially.

    What to do for fun

    In the main atrium, there seems to be several different activities and things to do weekly. They also offer free food at times, and I know at least once a year they offer a mini competition for free credit hours.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is beginning to offer healthier options which is appreciated by many, and it is also a great place to sit down and do some last minute studying before an exam.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at Kishwaukee College tend to be a hit or miss type of experience. It is at this college that I have experienced both the best and worst teachers of my life, therefore I am somewhat on the fence for this section of reviewing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attending class is a must. This sounds like common sense, however you would/will be surprised at how many students simply do not show up to the classes they sign up for. Many teachers say they do not take attendance, however, showing up every day makes a good impression on them and usually works out in your favor in the end.

    In three sentences

    Kishwaukee College is a great source of education for the student who: a) is looking for a more affordable way to approach attaining an education, and b) who isn't quite sure what major they would like to choose. My favorite part about attending this school is the payment plan they offer-a lot of community colleges do not offer this, and it is extremely important to me since I am paying out of pocket for my own schooling. All in all, you get what you put in to this school-as long as you try, you will succeed.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Appear to be very safe.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure about this to date.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not experience yet. However, basketball will be my number one activity.

    Great for these types of students

    Yes, yes it appears to be great for students who are serious about college work!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I expect to experience things that I can share this fall,

    Bang for the buck

    Seem appropriate but I have yet to experience it!

    What to do for fun

    Looks to be a great deal of fun things to do but I have not experienced it yet.

    Food and Dining

    I have yet to experience it.

    Dorm Life

    Look to be great, but have yet to experience

    Academic Rigor

    Have not experience yet, but expect to participate in basketball and other sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just ask questions, pay attention and read, read, read everything!

    In three sentences

    The college presents an inviting environment that makes me feel comfortable. I like the help that I have received from my athletic coach in that he has made things easier for me to adjust to the college life. The Administrators and its staff are friendly and present themselves in a caring and concern manner toward its students.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Big festival in the park food an d drinks plus rides.

    Great for these types of students

    Serious about education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a game room and a TV room for students to enjoy.

    What to do for fun

    Sports dancing lots of fine dinning in the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow the admissions steps you will have the information you need in the end.

    In three sentences

    The staff here is very helpful and resourceful not to mention professional in the way they conduct bussiness with students. Quick to help and assist. The teachers are informal and willing to help those who come for help.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food prepared at Kishwaukee college looks appealing; however, due to my limited financial ability, I haven't been able to compare the taste with the appearance of the food.

    Dorm Life

    Kishwaukee college does not have on-campus housing. They should, however, think about investing in that. Campus life is great, though.

    Academic Rigor

    The course-work of the classes is challenging; however, it is not over-whelming. After all, you should finish the class with more than just the credit for being in the class. All things of value comes with a level of effort and sacrifice.

    In three sentences

    It is a very diverse school that enables you to further your education while building character in the many available social settings. It is a place where your desires and dreams may become reality. It is a great school for anyone who has struggled before, in any part of academic success, because of the many resources and opportunities available for those who seek them.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a very affordable college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and do your assignments

    In three sentences

    Kishwaukee is a very clean friendly place with great teachers and a new beautiful campus.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Kishwaukee rarely has any crime related incidents, but we have had a couple inevitable ones.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends is probably the most fun thing to do here.

    Food and Dining

    The food is convenient for students who have to stay at Kishwaukee all day and it is fairly priced.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say it completely depends on the class. 3/5 does not by any way necessarily mean bad. I have had classes that are very straightforward while other classes require intense studying and rigorous tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend to students that they should ask other students about classes before hand in order to learn what types of classes sound more interesting to them.

    In three sentences

    Kishwaukee College is an excellent stepping stone into the college world. I enjoy most of my classes and currently have a high GPA. Kishwaukee College is a great way to complete the general education courses required for any degree.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Use the computer labs or hang out in the brand new game room and watch TV.

    Food and Dining

    Brand new Cafeteria with great food and staff.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great choices, although not always offered durign both semesters.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with a counselor before beginning to sort through degree requirements.

    In three sentences

    Good courses and faculty. Constantly improving the school. Many student led activities.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Kishwaukee College is a very safe campus. The parking lots are not very large yet there are several emergency call buttons located throughout the parking lots. There are also several county and town police who make their rounds through the school everyday. I have been going to Kishwaukee College for almost 2 years and a day has not gone by that I have not seen a cop strolling the halls. Kishwaukee College has great emergency plans for any type of emergency that could occur and all students and staff are very aware of protocols. This makes for a very safe environment.

    Great for these types of students

    Kishwaukee College is a great school for students who are not quite ready for a university setting or students who are trying to get their gen-eds out of the way at a more affordable rate without sacrificing quality education. Kishwaukee College also has many older adults who are either returning to school or beginning their education later in life. Because there is a large number of these non-traditional students, older people do not have to feel awkward while attending college.

    Bang for the buck

    Kishwaukee College is great for its price. They have a nice, clean campus inside and out and a lot of options for classes. They also offer on-line classes. Printing and computer use is included with tuition which is nice because many colleges and universities charge extra to print. There is free wi-fi located throughout campus. The library also has many useful tools for research, all free with tuition.

    What to do for fun

    As far at Kishwaukee College itself, get involved with clubs and organizations if you want to have fun. These clubs plan events on campus as well as volunteer opportunities off campus. However, Malta is a small rural town where there is not much in terms of entertainment. Dekalb is only about 6 miles east where NIU is located. There are many restaurants, some shopping, and a movie theater. The good news is that Kishwaukee College is only 65 miles west of Chicago so that makes for good weekend fun.

    Food and Dining

    The Kish Cafe is great for variety of foods. It is in a brand new location of the school that just opened this year. There is a sub bar, salad bar, wrap bar, a grille, and a coffee shop. It is very affordable but the hours are slightly inconvenient. They close early in the afternoon most days.

    Dorm Life

    Kishwaukee College is a community college and does not offer on-campus housing. Many of the students either live at home or are in an apartment or house. However, because the college is very close to Northern Illinois University, many students are enrolled at both schools and do live in the dorms. There are also private dorms in DeKalb, about 6 miles from Kishwaukee College campus that people can live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Kishwaukee College is a great school as a transition from high school to college. It is definitely not high school and is definitely not a university. Most of the instructors understand that many of the students are there to better prepare themselves for a university and are therefore, very available for help and questions. Most of the classes I have taken are 3 credit hour classes that require between 2 and 5 hours of outside work per week. However, watch out for the science department. Kishwaukee College prides itself on having a great nursing program and many of the science classes tend to be treated as a weed-out class for the nursing program. Plan to spend extra time, effort, and studying for many of the sciences, especially biology courses. They are very thorough and beneficial but they can be tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be careful your first semester! Do not jump in over your head. College is a big change and it is best to go into it and give yourself time to adjust. This is from personal experience! Also, ask questions!! Everybody is there to help you and is completely willing. Often times, you will learn more than you were expecting just by asking a simple question. Also, get involved. There are many clubs and organizations that will provide you with a little bit of an outlet from the stress of school.

    In three sentences

    Kishwaukee College has continuously exceeded my expectations throughout the entire time I have been enrolled. The staff and instructors have been helpful with every aspect of my college career. I am graduating in May and will miss this school very much!

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24hr safety a at home feeling no worries

    Greek Life

    honor role society

    Clubs and Activities

    kish flight club

    Great for these types of students

    low income, income, preparing to transfer

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    only three buses come to the school drop off and pick up 6:30-9:30 1:00-3:30

    Bang for the buck

    yes

    What to do for fun

    multiple computer labs gym ext

    Food and Dining

    updated cafeteria and staff prices affordable

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    if u havent picked a major u will by the time u finish

    In three sentences

    every thing u need to get where u need to be. close and affordable wide degree selection. awesome student attmosphere

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot to do if you pay attention!

    Great for these types of students

    Students with mediocre study habits and a busy schedule outside of school.

    Bang for the buck

    Especially with scholarships, paying for school isn't as terrible as I thought it would be.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs!

    Food and Dining

    Fairly cheap and easy to get to.

    Dorm Life

    Kishwaukee College does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you sign up for, it can actually be more challenging that you probably anticipated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although Kishwaukee is a community college, do not take that as a reason to sit back and carry on with lazy habits. It's easy to do minimal work, but that will also affect your G.P.A. Keep your grades up, put in a little effort, and you'll be fine.

    In three sentences

    Like most schools, Kishwaukee College has both some great and not-so-great professors. Overall, I've had a great experience at Kishwaukee, and it proved to be a good transition between high school and college. With help from counselors and teachers, I've been kept on track with my schooling goals.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great healthy menu, and the food is good. I have a picky diet, and I eat at least 3 times a week.

    Dorm Life

    Kishwaukee is a two year school, no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor is pushing yourself beyond what is easy. All my classes and teachers challenge me to work and push myself to achieve my academic goals. I like challenge, and I work hard to make good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a locker from media services, they help. Don't wait till last minute to get your required books and stuff. Think about a digital recorder to get lectures recorded, it's nice to go back over a lecture again when studying.

    In three sentences

    Campus is clean, modern, and comfortable. The cafeteria has a good healthy menu, and the food is great. My teachers care, and that's the most important fact.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ones that still want to live at home and don't want to spend a lot of money.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, or even get involved in a group

    Food and Dining

    Kish has many food place within the college to pick from to eat from, their lunch room is huge.

    Dorm Life

    You can either live in an apartment not to far from the college, or you can live at home. They have no dorms which is nice so being a first time student your not required to live off of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    In three sentences

    I really like that Kishwaukee College is so close to dekalb, without it actually being in a highly populated town. Not only that but the college itself is very affordable. I'd give it a 10/10.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    SUPER CHEAP! And if you're just transferring to NIU, they are very closley connected.

    Food and Dining

    Really unhealthy

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here! It's a community college, duh.

    Academic Rigor

    Not very hard, most of the time it's like teachers make it as easy as possible for you to pass, especially the gen eds for kish.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a small college, and people are pretty friendly, though most keep to themselves. I've found myself really liking my teachers, and a lot of them keep classes pretty informal.

    In three sentences

    So far, I think Kishwaukee is a pretty good school, but as a transition. The education is too easy sometimes, and most of the teachers are okay, though they could be better. Always beware with community colleges, because it's really easy for people to get comfortable in them, which isn't good since this is supposed to be more of a transition step.