Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Knox College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 out of 20 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    attention grabbing, very active, outdoors,

    Tips for prospective students

    a college where they focus on you. Because its small student population compared to big universities, you are sure to take in whatever activity you wish. For example, if you want to be part of a play, you have a higher chances of being part of the play whereas in bigger universities, only the theatre majored students are in the play.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 out of 17 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who dislike busy work, prefer closeknit discussions over large classes and lectures, get along well in the slightly crazy crowd, like to have close relationships with their professors, enjoy a personalized course schedule with minimal classes required outside your major, and like not having to declare a major right away will feel right at home at Knox.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind and try new things! I met all kinds of new and interesting people just by being social during my orientation week. When you decide which classes you're going to take in your first year, be open to new suggestions. Never taken an art class before? Try Drawing I. Want to try your hand at a short story you've always wanted to try? The Beginning Fiction Writing professors are top notch. I personally had never been a very physical person, but with the amazing gym available on campus, I've started working out more than ever. Also, if you do choose to attend, try to fill out the roommate application as thoroughly and completely as you can. I did so, and my roommate and I are best friends now. Your roommate can make or break your experience at Knox, and being fortunate like me can make all the difference. Don't forget to study in between all the fun, though. The class schedule gives a lot of time to yourself, but there is also the assumption that some of that time will be spent studying and getting work done. Even though there isn't the same busy work that comes up so often in high school, you will still have some homework and the fact that there is less of it just makes what there is more important to get done. Start papers early, do your reading, and if you manage your time well there will still be plenty of time to have fun! Don't be afraid to apply to Knox if you don't know what you want to do. You aren't allowed to declare a major until your Junior year, and even then you aren't REQUIRED to do so. The Knox formula gives you plenty of time to explore and try new things without worrying about not having enough credits to graduate with a degree!

    Bang for the buck

    Don't let the price tag scare you away: Knox gives out a very generous amount of financial aid, and even the offer they make to your is negotiable. When I was given my first financial aid deal, it had a bigger final price tag than my second choice. I e-mailed the financial aid office and explained my situation to them, and after providing the documents from my second choice, Knox sent me a new offer that beat the other school's, cementing Knox as the school I would attend the next fall.

    Am enjoying being here

    I can't stress enough just how much I'm loving being at Knox. Considering I had very few complaints about my life before college, I would hope that says a lot. The community at Knox is extremely accepting and diverse, full of all kinds of 'quirky' and 'eccentric' people. It's not uncommon to see students running around campus with bubble guns, chasing around the dozens and dozens of squirrels and other such small animals that populate the campus, or getting together in a field for a 'paint fight'. If the great outdoors aren't your cup of tea, there are weekly console and role-playing nights in many different buildings throughout the school, an indoor gym if you want to work out or shoot some hoops, and a brand new lounge that is a great place to study, play pool, or just hang out. I've never been in a community more open, diverse, and welcoming than Knox, and I can guarantee that any kind of person can find a niche in the Knox community.

    Am learning a lot

    Knox College is a fantastic school for the case in favor of liberal arts education. Even though the format of classes is drastically different than most traditional high schools, the less concrete and more philosophical topics that are usually tackled in the average class at Knox couldn't be explored any better than in the discussion format of most courses at this liberal arts college. As a Creative Writing and Education double major, I'm learning more about both fields than I ever did in High School, in large part because of this drastically different format. I've yet to encounter a professor who hasn't been unbelievably talented and knowledgeable in their field of study.

  • 08/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 15 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Smart, willing to work hard, friendly, different

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here if you want to be friends with a lot of new people and you are willing to spend many hours on homework each night and are looking to be mentally stimulated to your fullest.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, a few buildings are aging for the amount given to go there, but Professors are top notch.

    Am enjoying being here

    Friendly community, friendly staff, close nit campus.

    Am learning a lot

    very mentally stimulating, professors push for greatness.

  • 07/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like to be around other people, work for a cause, want to be a part of a community, want to be challenged, and want to learn more than just the basics are all going to find a great fit at Knox.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy! Almost everyone on campus is friendly and wants to make you feel welcome. Also, don't be afraid to ask questions, whether in class or just trying to get around campus. We love inquisitive people!

    Bang for the buck

    Granted, Knox is a pricey school, but I wouldn't trade it for the world. The dorms are generally well-maintained, the food is good, the classes are worthwhile, interesting, and challenging, and the class-size is hard to beat. I would say it's worth what I'm paying.

    Am enjoying being here

    Knox does a lot to try and make students feel like they are part of the community. Weekends where there are no campus events are few and far between. Furthermore, all the facilities are well-maintained so that they can serve the students. Knox is a community and everyone does their best to make you feel welcomed, students, professors, and faculty and staff alike.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors at Knox will push you to your fullest potential. Expect to do a lot of work for classes and gain a lot from each and every class, even classes you aren't taking for any specific requirement. However, you must remember that you only get out of it what you put into it! Classes may be challenging, but the professors are willing to help. The smaller classes really help with that, because you're more than a number to the professors.

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Quirky, socially unique, intelligent, introspective, fun-loving, studious

    Tips for prospective students

    Please visit. My decision was made after visiting on accepted students day. This is a make-or-break opportunity and your only shot at experiencing the faculty and student body first-hand.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has a history in financial aid. Originally a labor college, the Knox of today is more than willing to provide generous merit and financial aid to prospective students, making its cost competitive with public universities.

    Will enjoy being here

    This school is in the middle of your average mid-west town, but this makes it rather quaint in it's own right. To be honest, there isn't that much to do in Galesburg, and the student committees don't help all that much. Despite this, coming from a current student, weekends are fun even if tangible activities are hard to be found. If you enjoy socializing in dorms, finding random activities to do, and studying the rest of your time, then this is the place for you.

    Will learn a lot

    You will certainly learn a lot about life here; the professors devote every fiber of their body to your development as a human being. They will push you to go outside your personal boundaries and allow you to explore alternative methods of learning. While you will learn a lot about yourself here, absorption of actual curriculum appears to be suffer.

  • 06/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    As a first year, it was very difficult for me to not miss home and think that I wasn't meant for Knox. I was also having a hard time getting used to the culture shock. Being a student of colour, I found it difficult to not have the things that were so readily available to me at home. However, I found out that being away from home, I came to appreciate everything about my culture so much more than I had before. After settling down and making friends, I found out that I loved Knox. I loved the people at Knox and I loved how when people wanted to make something happen, they did whatever they could to make it happen! From playwright workshops to Holi water balloon fights, there's something to do EVERYDAY at Knox!

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    probably averagely safe. there are reports of incidents, but you'll likely find that anywhere.

    Greek Life

    it's not hugely important, but if you're interested, it's there. frats have more of a presence than sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    more clubs than you can shake a stick at! join them, it's a great way to meet people and get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    the nerd :) anyone unusual you'll find you people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    flunk day! all classes are cancelled and the school sets up carnival type events. try to stay sober, honestly, there's to much vomiting as it is.

    Bang for the buck

    a little expensive, but not outrageous.

    What to do for fun

    there are events on campus like school concerts and plays. there's not much to do in town although there is a tiny mall and a movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    the food is actually quite tasty for school food. there's not a lot of dining options, but the cafeteria has a nice selection and there is a school run hang out with fast food options like pretzels, popcorn, and burgers.

    Dorm Life

    most of the dorms are pretty good and many have suite style layouts.

    Academic Rigor

    knox really has great academics. the teachers are top-notch. they're definitely interested in helping students, so take advantage of that! form relationships, they'll be useful, and really fully take advantage of the academic opportunities!

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students: be sure you want to live in a small town. there is little to do off campus unless you are willing to go to chicago. i've found it difficult to find people willing to do that. if you like to stay on a small campus, you'll be fine!

    In three sentences

    knox is a traditional small town liberal arts schools. the professors are excellent and the academics are intellectually stimulating. however, the location is most definitely small town; be sure you're comfortable with that type of environment before you attend.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    These guys work around the clock to ensure our safety. They have cars that patrol the campus almost every minute of the day. They also do dorm checks to ensure no one from outside the campus in the dorms creating trouble for students.

    Bang for the buck

    Knox is modern. It is also old. This is where the Lincoln and Douglass debate occurred making it easy for Knox to gain doners. The cafeteria food is ok but the classes are great, tons of days just for students to have fun, and a day called FLUNK DAY. This is a day when school is canceled and students get a whole day of fun that the campus sets up for the students.

    What to do for fun

    Knox has so much to offer. Although it may be a division 3 school, the students play with heart as if competing for division 1 competition. If not interested in sports there are tons of art studios that are open for students to express themselves. There are even supplies that can be taking outside so students can get entangled with nature.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is mediaocure. But but that is just the Cafe. There is also a grocery store and a restaurant known as the Gizmo. These are great places to spend your Dining Dollars for great items to snack on or feast upon. Dining Dollars are fake dollars placed on the students ID card essentially making it a Visa card but only for these few places on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is amazing! Meeting new people who share ideas with you is fun. Sometimes this is not always the case, some students have roommates they dislike. Make sure this is taken care of before things could escalate.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard. Stay in touch with all teachers, always ask questions, get help because Knox has so many resources to help the students succeed. Although classes may be difficult, it is really easy to pass if you work for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the students before you know the campus. Students will be there for you as will the campus but be around people who you think would benefit you. Also, just make sure it isn't much of a big change for you because people do tend to miss home here.

    In three sentences

    Knox college is a school for students who enjoy not many distractions. It is also for those who enjoy nature and the hippy life-style some try to embrace here. It is also rigorousness with classes and time should be used wisely.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety in Knox is great! You can call them for anything. If you forgot your keys and got locked out of your dorm, they'll let you in; if you're walking to your dorm but it's dark out and you're worried something might happen to you, they'll walk with you and keep you safe; if you or a friend was physically abused in some way, they will contact the police immediately. The downside is that they are all male, so some girls here do not feel comfortable telling them something bad that happened to them.

    Great for these types of students

    Any students are welcome and respected in Knox. It's a great college to go to parties and get a good education (as long as you're responsible). Rockers, preppy, jocks, people who wear top hats (I have actually seen a student with a top hat) will never be judged in Knox.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pumphandle is when you shake EVERYbody's hand as a Welcome new students/Welcome back students! before the beginning of the year.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is delicious, nutritious, and amazing! I can never get enough of their food.

    Dorm Life

    It is easy to get become close friends with your suite mates. Everybody there is friendly. The beds are comfortable, there is a lot of space, and you have plenty of room on your desk. The heaters work perfectly, but there are no air conditioners for the hot, humid summers.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, yet educating. Even though the classes can be tough, there is always someone to help. There are a lot of readings to do for class, but most of them are interesting. The professors at Knox expect a lot from you and always give you their support.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the Red Room and Writer's Block! It has helped me so many times for my homework and in essays I needed to write. Also, get close with your advisor. They are the nicest people you will meet and will answer any question you have; if they do not know the answer, they will tell you who to go to to have your question answered. Mot importantly, do NOT procrastinate; you will regret it.

    In three sentences

    Everybody in Knox is very supportive in what you decide to do in life. Whether you want to major in Computer Science, Art, or even Gender & Women's Studies, there will always be someone to ask for help. Knox College has really changed my views about the world we live in, and the importance in trying to improve it for future generations.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 clubs on campus, so there is bound to be at least a few of interest to just about anyone on campus. Even if there isnâ??t, you can always start a new one!

    Great for these types of students

    If youâ??re the student who takes initiative in their work, who wants to experiment with different ideas, and who needs motivation to do so, then Knox is definitely for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the most highly anticipated events of the year occurs during the spring, after the bleakness of winter has lifted from the campus. Flunk Day!! A day where all classes are cancelled and students (and professors) forget about their work to have fun! No one knows when Flunk Day will be (except for maybe the five people who plan it, but shhhh, thatâ??s a secret, too). The only thing most students will tell you if you ask them is that it is â??tomorrow.â??

    Bang for the buck

    Knox is a very expensive school, closely reaching the $50,000 per year tuition mark. Despite this, the college does its best to help students to attend without worrying about the cost of the school, especially if you are a student with higher need. (I can honestly tell you that personally. The financial aid package was the deciding factor for me when I chose Knox.)

    What to do for fun

    Knox will only be as boring as you make it out to be (which means that if you complain about how small and uneventful the college is, then you will really only make it boring for yourself). Keeping that in mind, thereâ??s almost always something to do around campus, no matter what your interests are. There are over 100 student clubs to choose from and almost all of them sponsor some type of activity throughout the year. Even though Galesburg is a small city far away from â??urban life,â?? there are tons of things to do around here. Check out the 101 Fun Things to Do page on the Knox website to see what I mean. :)

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options available to your liking, both on campus and around town. Thereâ??s the Gizmo, Oak Room, Grab-n-go, Hard Knox Café and other places to go. But if youâ??re looking for something else, thereâ??s a Pizza Hut, Mexican restaurant, McDonalds, and other places to go.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms can definitely be some of the most calm areas you'll find at Knox (aside from the library or Old Main), but it's definitely a place where roommates and friends can chill and have fun with one another.

    Academic Rigor

    Seeing as that you only take 3 classes per trimester (ten weeks), none of the work assigned to you will be meant to keep you busy. Also, your classes will be (or should be) ones that you have an interest in but also follow the guidelines given by Knox. With that in mind, the rigor of each course will be proven essential for what you are interested in studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many Honors/AP/IB courses as you can. The more you take, the better prepared you will be for Knox. That goes for almost every college, too! Show an interest in the school and take the initiative to get to know more about Knox. Request information, meet with your counselor if possible, or email them to introduce yourself or to ask any questions you may have. The counselors are really helpful, though some of them are not the quickest in replying back. Either way, they'll be glad to answer any questions or doubts you come across.

    In three sentences

    Knox will definitely give you the freedom to flourish. No matter what you are planning to do with your life after four years at Knox, you will find yourself better prepared for what lies ahead after college. Regardless of what you want to study, the professors and faculty members will push you to new heights.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    greek life at knox is not very traditional like you think it would be at big state schools. everyone in the greek community knows everyone in and outside of greek life. i wish i could write all of the great things about being greek and greek life in general. a main reason why people choose to go greek is because they see how going greek enables them to take on leadership roles within the greek community as well as outside. another plus about greek life at knox is that it is way less expensive than being greek at other schools!

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a ton of clubs and organizations to be apart of here at knox. the only way you could not be a part of a club is by really trying to avoid them, it's almost impossible.

    Great for these types of students

    who are mostly creative writing majors, very environmentally conscious and willing to take action themselves to see change happen on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    flunk day. you have to experience it to describe it.

    Bang for the buck

    knox college has amazing financial aid. their financial aid allowed me to afford to go to a $40,000 a year school with little money coming out of my pocket each year, however, my financial aid does include a couple of loans.

    What to do for fun

    knox college always has something to do almost everyday, you just have to take advantage of the opportunities. if there's nothing that sparks your interest on campus, there is a bowling alley in town, a roller rink, peoria is 45 minutes away and there's a walmart 10 from the school...but you need a car.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food lacks variety. you'll find yourself eating the same thing every two weeks. however, there are a couple of good places to go to eat if you don't want to eat on campus. some favorites and less expensive places are the broadview, q's cafe, quick sams (which have the best tacos in galesburg) and the cellar.

    Dorm Life

    while many people like living in the quads, i prefer to live in post, tompkins, williston hall and hamblin.

    Academic Rigor

    while knox isn't harvard, it is still very demanding of its students. all of the classes that knox has to offer will want to and will enable you to think critically. after all, that is what knox college is all about.

    Tips for prospective students

    while a no-brainer, make sure to visit knox and to ask as many question as you possibly can about classes, financial aid and what the social and class environments are like not only to professors and your tour guides, but to knox students who are on campus.

    In three sentences

    knox college differentiates itself from other institutions with its trimester system. by focusing on only three classes for ten weeks, you get to go at a very quick pace. this approach allows students to really work hard in their classes while still giving them time to participate in many extracurricular activities.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    most students feel safe at all times at knox, but even when they don't, knox has an excellent campus safety team that is on call to help any and all in need on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    for a college this size, it's amazing the amount of clubs and activities are available. even more incredible is the fact that anyone can request funds to set up their own club, so the list is always changing.

    Great for these types of students

    knox is great for all students! knox students range from the cool, to the laid back, to the quirky. everyone finds a niche.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year the students, faculty, and staff of knox gather on the lawn of old main, where everyone shakes hands with everyone. it's called pumphandle, and its a great way to start off the year. each spring there is flunk day, where classes are canceled and the college is turned into a carnival. the best part? you never know what day it's going to be...

    Bang for the buck

    the atmosphere at knox can't be found anywhere else. what people do and create here is a unique aspect that makes knox... well... knox.

    What to do for fun

    those from large cities might call downtown galesburg quaint, but if you know where to look there's something for everyone. seminary street is a great place to visit on the weekends, browsing the different shops is very entertaining. the antique mall on main st. is also a frequented attraction, and right down the street q's cafe is the best sandwich shop in town.

    Food and Dining

    though sometimes monotonous, the food is good. and the utilization of local foods (and new composting bin to convert food waste into mulch used at local farms) makes knox's food services better than most.

    Dorm Life

    facilities may not be comparable to a 5 star hotel, but the people you meet while living in the dorms make walking down 4 flights of stairs to do laundry worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    speaking as a science major, knox courses are intense. intensely challenging, interesting, and demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for tough, yet enjoyable classes. professors at knox are excellent, and as such they expect excellence.

    In three sentences

    knox college is an accepting community composed of students and professors that want to learn from each other. the school has a friendly atmosphere and maintains a good relationship with the surrounding galesburg community. a truly wonderful college for people from all walks of life.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very reponsive and willing to help!

    Greek Life

    There are 4 sororities and several frats. If you are a part of Greek life you enjoy it if you are not you ignore it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons for a small school there is never a day without 4 different things to do!

    Great for these types of students

    Creative and open minded. Knox has a unique personality.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pump handle is during the first week of the school and every member of the Knox community shakes hands with one another weaving all around campus! Flunk Day is a surprise carnival in Spring Term!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive, but so far I think it is worth every penny. The individual attention from teachers is what makes the school worth the cost!

    What to do for fun

    Parites, bars, and there are a ton of clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Galesburg lacks variety, but for a small school the cafeteria has a pretty good variety of options. If you get sick of what they are serving there are plenty of basics to create your own meal.

    Dorm Life

    Almost all the dorms are suite style, so you have a common area. There are several options from co-ed to same sex by suite or floor or building. Overall it is very flexible and the school does a good job to make sure everyone is happy.

    Academic Rigor

    You only take 3 classes at a time, but they are put in to a ten week period. Professors move fast and expect a lot of the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you understand the atmosphere of a small liberal arts school and be prepared to be open minded to personalitiy types that you are not typically friends with.

    In three sentences

    Knox is very small, but it has a tight knit family atmosphere! It is a challenging school but the school makes it easy to get involved in anything you can imagine.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Academically motivated, people who like to be challenged, very accepting people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    FLUNK DAY--the most amazing day in the world that the school cancels classes and throws a day-long party!

    What to do for fun

    There's always new events going on on campus and clubs hosting events all the time, it's never hard to find something to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join as many clubs and organizations as you can and stay active on campus! Take advantage of all the opportunities offered.

    In three sentences

    I think Knox is amazing. There's a real sense of community there and everyone is very open and accepting. They offer an abundance of opportunities to get involved in the community, with your peers, or in your field of study.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is one of the best on-campus because the director was the head of the Galesburg Police Department.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life is prominent on campus, but it does not get in the way of students' studies. A lot of guys are in the fraternities, and a few girls are in the sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not too many clubs on-campus, but those that are there obviously have a more intimate feeling and a more prominent presence on-campus, organising a lot of the events. Join the clubs because it really does help you when you get to know other people. There are a lot of activities, mostly sponsored by the Union Board and they are a lot of things on going on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious students or those who want a good education. Knox might not have the highest ranking but it definitely is good to go to for those who study hard and like to have fun at the same time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a day when all the students arrive on campus that is known as Pumphandle - everyone lines up in the courtyard and fist-bumps, high-fives or hugs everyone else. It's Knox's way of greeting everyone and making sure that everyone meets everyone else at least once.

    Bang for the buck

    Knox tries and gives its students as much scholarship and grants as much as possible.

    What to do for fun

    There are few things one can do in Galesburg - Walmart trips are the highlight, as sad that might seem; going to the cinema is another. Hanging out with friends and attending the parties thrown are a good way to have fun - and you don't have to drink alcohol either.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is not stellar, however, compared to other schools, it definitely is much better. There are choices here and the cafeteria staff is very nice. Get to know them, and you will be perfectly fine.

    Dorm Life

    Parties are thrown in the dorms, and it is a major hang-out area for people since Knox is a very tiny college.

    Academic Rigor

    Knox is very rigorous when it comes to academics. The professors are very hard-working and do their best to ensure that you are not falling behind in class and try to get to know you better. The professors also ensure, due to the small class size, that if needed one-on-one help sessions are available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be stuck in Galesburg while you are on campus. Even though Chicago is three hours away and the Amtrak tickets are relatively cheap, students rarely get time to actually go to the city because of the course work.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small school in a town that has barely anything to do, but the students and professors are who truly make it amazing. One thing to be aware of is that there is not much to do in the town, which can get on one's nerves; it is a small college but the friends that you will make there will definitely stay with you for a long itme.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is EVERYWHERE. They're always there when you need them

    Greek Life

    Pledging isn't super serious

    Clubs and Activities

    BEST THING EVER

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds Cool People EVERYONE

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pumphandle - shake everyone's hand on the campus including the President Flunk Day - classes are cancelled on a random day to have fun and do tons of random things Prairie Fire - the prairie is burned every year at Green Oaks (the mascot) and to help grow the plants

    Bang for the buck

    You really get everything that they advertise and more.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs to join that plan activities for every weekend. Also, there are sororities and fraternities that throw parties on the weekend. Downtown Galesburg is not too far away and they have a little bit of everything from cheap places to eat to small shoppes for clothes to diners to dollar stores. Also, there's a 24 hour lounge that is open at Knox that has video games, foosball, pool tables and more.

    Food and Dining

    There are 4 dining areas to grab food from at any moment of the day. There is the Hard Knox Cafe that is very popular that uses swipes. Furthermore, there is thee Oak Room with themed food days such as Taco Day or Southwest BBQ Night. Also, there is the Grab-n-Go cart where you can grab a sandwich on the run and chips with fruit or soup to accompany it. Last but not least, there is the Out Post Express that is connected to the Convenience Store (like a campus Walgreens with EVERYTHING). The Express is a place to grab food on the go that is more than a sandwich such as soup or bagel or an actual meal.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are suite-style. It makes the living more intimate. There's a living room and shared bathroom with multiple shower and toilet stalls. It's a lot cleaner compared to sharing the bathroom with an entire floor of people. Friends can sleep over as long as your roommate is cool about it and the RAs are awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    The studies are very fast-paced since we are on a 3-3 academic calendar. We take 3 classes at a time for multiple times a week for about a hour. The classes are enitrely up to you as long as they satisfy graduation requirements in the end. There are 3 terms (Fall, Winter and Spring). Each term is 10 weeks long and allows time for a mid-term and final.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of your studies and do all of the required reading or you won't pass the test. Don't be afraid to ask for help because no one will judge you. Take advantage of the things offered to you (you paid for it).

    In three sentences

    An awesome and amazng place that has something special for everyone. The academics are rigorous and fast-paced with expectional professors. Knox is the PLACE TO BE, come visit!

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am a member of 2 Greek organizations on campus and I love all of the people involved in those organizations with me. Being Greek is a great way to gain leadership roles on campus as well as get to know many new and interesting people.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like being involved in many different things, people who don't mind going to class for more than the midterm and the final, and people who like to consider themselves a little bit quirky (but in a good way).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pumphandle is really exciting. Every year on the day before classes start, students and faculty line up across campus and shake the hands of each individual present. It's a really great way to meet a lot of new faces as well as establish an immediate sense of community.

    Bang for the buck

    I was extremely hesitant about attending a small liberal arts college but after being here for some time, I realize that it was the best decision I have made thus far in my life. The people here are incredible and I'm inspired every day by how concerned for the general common good of the entire Knox community everyone is. I've created a family here at Knox and I couldn't be happier anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on here on campus. Students are often involved in multiple organizations as well as community involvement and service. The town offers things like bowling, movies, dining, and various festivals throughout the year as well.

    Food and Dining

    Once again, this isn't a 5-star resort but the cafeteria usually offers a wide variety of food for a wide variety of dietary needs. And there are plenty of pizza places in town that deliver when you're tired of eating caf food.

    Dorm Life

    It's not the Hilton, but the people are awesome and you learn to love the little quirks that each building has.

    Academic Rigor

    Students typically only take 3 courses at a time, but professors often assign more homework than what is typical of a larger public university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Knox is expensive, but the financial aid packages are usually pretty generous and the administrators are always willing to work with students in any way that will benefit them. Get used to having philosophical discussions at random times throughout the day with people you know and sometimes total strangers; people here have opinions about everything and they aren't afraid to talk about them.

    In three sentences

    Knox is a place where everyone has a story. No one is boring; the amount of diversity on campus is almost overwhelming at times, Every student, Professor, and faculty member has a reason that they are here.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are patrols and if at any point you need an escort back to your dorm, just call security. They will bring you back to your dorm safely, no questions asked.

    Greek Life

    It's there, but it's not an overwhelming amount of greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a long list of different activities. Every student will find a club that they can belong to.

    Great for these types of students

    Knox is a great school for students that can be considered untraditional or are ready for a good time. Nerds? You're welcome here. Athlete? Come right on in. There's something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Flunk Day is a day where classes are cancelled and everyone has fun at a carnaval. The day it takes place is a secret, though.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very pricey!! But the academics is worth it. Plus they provide a lot of scholarships and aid.

    What to do for fun

    Galesburg is a lively town and the college is just a train ride away from Chicago. There are plenty of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    When I visited the food was delicious! There is a wide variety of options as far as places and meals.

    Dorm Life

    There are a few different choices in housing, ranging from coed in the same building, the same floor, or all one gender. There are places for the students to get together within the dorms too.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses seemed to be rigorous but the teachers are very welcoming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out this website: http://thewikifire.org/index.php?title=Main_Page It'll give you a good idea of student life. It's a student created page that shows the fun that happens at Knox.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and the weather is nice. The class sizes are small and the support for the students is immense. The students have access to a wide variety of activities and sports too.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus during the day and at night, but, like at every school, there are incidents of crime. Campus safety is available 24/7 for anything a students may need, even just a ride/escort home from the library. Campus safety is headed by a former Galesburg Police Chief and has many officers who work(ed) in law enforcement. Safety is not a huge issue here.

    Greek Life

    About 25 percent of the school is Greek, but it is very different here than at a larger school (i.e. much less cliquey and not at all like what you see in movies/on TV). There are five social men's fraternities, four social sororities/women's fraternities, and a service fraternity and singing sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Knox has over 100 clubs, which is great for a college of its size. From sports clubs to educational clubs to gaming clubs, Knox has it all.

    Great for these types of students

    Knox is perfect for the hard-working and driven individual who has a passion for learning and wants a diverse community where he or she can belong.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Flunk Day-a day during spring term where classes are cancelled and students have all day to do the many fun activities around campus that day. Pumphandle-before the first day of classes in an academic year, students, faculty, and staff line up to shake hands with each other. This line twists around a small part of campus, and after everyone shakes everyone's hand (or does a fist bump, high five, etc.) everyone gets a free dinner outside.

    Bang for the buck

    The education at Knox is invaluable to students, whether they go on to more schooling or real life jobs. It prepares students for their futures, and I think it is worth the price you pay. The price tag might seem hefty, but most students receive financial aid, and this makes it more manageable.

    What to do for fun

    The surrounding area is limited as far as fun activities go, with only a movie theater, a bowling alley, and some restaurants in the area, but the campus makes up for that. There is almost always something to check out in the evening, whether it is a club meeting or a performer brought to campus. On the weekends there are registered parties sometimes, where no alcohol is allowed but students can go to dance and have a good time. There is also a group of students called Union Board, and they are in charge of bringing fun activities and performers to campus.

    Food and Dining

    Personally, I love the variety of food at Knox, although some do complain that it gets old. We have several dining options, including the caf, which is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and a restaurant-type sit down eatery called the Gizmo, where you can study while you snack or go for a meal at an odd time or if the caf is crowded.

    Dorm Life

    I have lived in the same dorm two years in a row with only one complaint: no air conditioning. However, this can be easily remedied by having a few fans running during warmer months. Otherwise, most underclassman dorms are typical college living areas with several doubles, sometimes a single, and a suite area. There is also apartment-style and theme housing available for upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have taken at Knox have been challenging but not even close to impossible. The work load can be large at times, but it is nice to be able to concentrate on three classes per trimester, and professors are almost always willing to work with students in order to maximize their educations.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that prospective students challenge themselves through high school in both academics and extracurricular activities and try to express themselves honestly in the application process.

    In three sentences

    Knox is a small liberal arts school with a strong sense of community. The work is challenging, but the education is definitely worth it. Socially, Knox students tend to be friendly and open, as well as very diverse in backgrounds and interests.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe walking across campus at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student run clubs mean that if there is interest, there is a club for it.

    Great for these types of students

    There really is a place for everyone here at knox.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pumphandle: students, faculty and staff all get in a line and shake hands Flunk Day: Classes canceled, and the school puts on a carnival

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive. But you won't find another college like it.

    What to do for fun

    Listen to jazz, go to a play, hear the orchestra, hang out with friends, go to a frat party, the list goes on.

    Food and Dining

    The surrounding area has great places for eating lunch during the week, and dinner if you're feeling like going out. Dining services is... consistent. The menu seldom changes, but it works.

    Dorm Life

    People here are nice, no matter who you end up rooming with.

    Academic Rigor

    Tests are hard in the sciences, but not unbearable. You are challenged enough to learn the material, but professors are aware that other classes have requirements too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't underestimate your classes Study for tests Eat Sleep Be social, people are friendly here

    In three sentences

    Great academics, professors are almost always available and are extremely helpful. Mediocre food, but the surrounding town has great places. Live entertainment every week, for free courtesy of the Cherry St. Jazz Combo.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always tons to do on campus. With over 100 clubs and activities, there's always something going on, whether it be a movie, a concert, a party, a comedian, or even hot air balloon rides!

    Food and Dining

    Helmut (our head chef) is awesome! Since we don't have a catering company, he's able to take suggestions and make changes based on what we like.

    Dorm Life

    We have what we call suit-style living, so students really get the opportunity to get to know each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Because we operate on a 3-3 calendar (three ten-week terms of three classes), we have to cram 15 weeks of information into 10 weeks, but since we're only taking three classes, it's definitely manageable and I don't feel so burnt out by the end of the term.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit! You can never truly know what a school is like until you see it for yourself. And ask questions! Not only about what's good about a school, but about what can be improved.

    In three sentences

    Coming to Knox has turned out to be one of the best decisions that I've ever made. What I love most is that if any student has an idea that they'd like to pursue, the faculty and staff work hard with the student to make that idea a reality.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good and Bad. There is a lot of campus safety here, which is nice when you are in danger. If you want to be left alone, they might bug you though. For the most part, campus safety is cool. They usually let students off with a warning if they get into trouble.

    Greek Life

    There are a handful of fraternities/sororities on campus, but I don't think it's as combative as some greek campuses are. I see members are different houses being friendly to each other all the time, and the parties are open to all students. Maybe I just have this opinion because I'm not in a frat, but I don't detect any hostility among the houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities, and it's pretty easy to start one if you're niche isn't here already. I'm starting a debate team next term.

    Great for these types of students

    Quirky, nerdy, smart, unique, weird, introspective, socially awkward

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Flunk Day: a campus wide celebration, once a year, that includes live music, carnival rides, a mudpit, and lots of students up to no good. All classes are cancelled. There's also a chair on campus that Abe Lincoln sat in, when he was debating slavery with Stephen Douglas at Old Main (the central academic and administrative building on campus.) It's a historical site.

    Bang for the buck

    If I could give a 3.5 star rating, I would. Knox is pretty expensive. They are also really good at giving need based financial aid though, so overall I think you get a really great education for the amount of money you throw down. The exception is if you are rich, in which case I would ask why you're worried about Bang for the Buck.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, most students at Knox are so motivated to succeed in life that much of the time, they pursue their career interests in their free time. Aside from that, there are occasional concerts, theater shows, and a recreational lounge (with game consoles, pingpong, pool tables, etc).

    Food and Dining

    The entrees at the cafeteria aren't especially luxurious, but you can also eat at an oncampus restaurant with really good food. Also, there are grab and go stations around campus that you can get to-go lunches from. They're pretty good and stock health food too.

    Dorm Life

    The quad dorms aren't the most luxurious place to live, but there is also a more upscale dorm building called Post Hall, in addition to an apartment complex and some townhouses, all owned by the college. The problem is that the better living arrangements are highly desirable, and upper classmen get first pick. Freshmen should expect to share a bathroom with 8 or so people (two showers).

    Academic Rigor

    Although you will occasionally find a fluff class, as is the case for any college (including ivy league colleges), the academics here are generally considered very challenging. Most classes require a large amount of writing. I have yet to encounter a single multiple choice or fill in the blank assignment/test, which were common at the state school I transferred from. Knox's creative writing program is very highly regarded in the academic community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus before you decide whether or not you want to attend here. For some, the smaller environment is perfect because they thrive on the emotional experience of connecting with people around them. For others, Galesburg is too small, and they get bored.

    In three sentences

    Knox College is a place for students who want a truly unique experience. You won't feel get lost in the crowd like you would at most state schools. Also, the academics are very challenging, yet rewarding.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are really nice guys that just care about your safety. No one wants to get you in trouble.

    Greek Life

    Greek life has a strong presence of campus but its not overwhelming.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and anyone can join.

    Great for these types of students

    Nerdy/hipster.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    FLUNK DAY.

    Bang for the buck

    Knox's financial aid is amazing when you look at the quality of the education that you receive.

    What to do for fun

    Galesburg isn't a hip or happen' place. You have to make your own fun. Knox always has some event going on and there are usually parties on the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The Fat Cave and salad bar are nice additions, but the cafe food needs serious improvement. As term goes on, you'll try to get off campus during meals as much as possible.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms need a face lift, but that's dorm life for you.

    Academic Rigor

    Split between 100, 200 and 300 levels, the rigor of classes varies. Just be prepared for long hours and don't procrastinate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to trying new things and meeting new people. Make sure to bring shoes with good soles so that you don't slip on the ice.

    In three sentences

    Knox College is one giant melting pot. Academically strong and athletically weak, it is the stereotypical private liberal arts school. Despite the stereotype, Knox manages to maintain its individuality through the faculty and students.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are a very safe school, located in a residential neighborhood though, we do sometimes have small incidents, but never life threatening.

    Greek Life

    It exists...

    Clubs and Activities

    We have hundreds of Clubs and activities, and if we do not have what you are looking for, then you can make make it yourself!

    Great for these types of students

    People with drive, ambition, and a desire to create a better future for themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everything about knox is an unusuall tradition. Pump-handle though, happens on the first day before classes, and it allows you to shake hands with everyone on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, yet worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Union Board is a student organization that has different events sponsored every term for our enjoyment

    Food and Dining

    better food than highschool.

    Dorm Life

    Comfortable, and homey.

    Academic Rigor

    It is probably one of the toughest liberal arts colleges in the USA. It will prepare you for life as a graduate student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be challenged.

    In three sentences

    If you want a school that will challenge you like never before, prepare you for the future you are destined for, and a place where being weird is a typical phenomenon, then Knox is for you!

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    liberal students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    pumphandle

    What to do for fun

    lots of stuffs

    Tips for prospective students

    it is the best learning environment you can get

    In three sentences

    it is a great school the professors are nice the school challenges you to do more

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is your friend! Don't ever be afraid to call them.

    Great for these types of students

    Quirky

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Flunkday- One topsecret day in Spring Term, all classes are cancelled and the school is transformed into a carnival.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go to gizmo, go for a walk into town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself, but don't be afraid to explore new things.

    In three sentences

    The professors truly care. I have never waited more than 24 hours to hear back. I love it here.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is everywhere.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life is great. I personally am a member of Phi Gamma Delta

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Flunk Day

    What to do for fun

    Basketball, Choir, Fraternity, Spend time with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of the syllabus. Review the class notes nightly.

    In three sentences

    At Knox College you aren't just a number; your individual success, like those around you, is what the faculty and staff work to insure. The atmosphere, student, faculty, and staff are all personable. Knox is a place where a student can go make the most out of their education.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus safety. Help is there 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    The TRUE liberal arts students. Do not come here and expect the med/engineering/etc programs to be good.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the buck - literally - is the financial aid. The buck is very little because Knox does a great amount of financial helping.

    What to do for fun

    Very little. Pretty much just study and hang out with friends or go to one of the several small house parties on the weekends. Not much night life compared to what I have seen.

    Food and Dining

    For the size of the student body/cafeteria, there has always been a wide variety of food offered. I never got bored of the cafeteria. Tons of options for vegans/vegetarians/gluten-free (even though none of those really concerned me). It was all usually decently healthy and thought out. And you could always take to go straight out of the cafeteria, something I have learned that is not universal through colleges.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the freshmen dorms are VERY old and have even gotten that musky old smell through the years. They're very small. Bathrooms are hideous. Overall bad condition. It's completely livable and even comfortable once you get used to it a bit... it's just something no one really wants to get used to.

    Academic Rigor

    You take 3 classes a term and there are 3 terms a school year totaling to 9 courses a year. Meanwhile, albeit for more money, students on the non-liberal arts semester schedule are able to do like 9 a semester. This is just food for thought. The classes are good and the professors are wonderful, but it is an EXTREMELY relaxed environment, considering course-load. This can be taken in both a good and bad way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit campus. I did not, and I ended up transferring after my very first term because I came in not knowing what to expect. Knox is a bubble in the surrounding town. Yes, the campus is very nice and spread out and the buildings are pretty, but really evaluate whether you are comfortable being miles and miles away from any type of urban life. I'm sure this is not a problem at all for many, but personally I was a bit scared off by the simple life. I hardly ever left campus, and that wasn't something I was looking for in a college.

    In three sentences

    Knox is very loving and accepting. The school does a lot for the students and it's a incredibly tight-knit community. However, this may or may not be the right feel for an educational institution where students need to learn to grow by themselves.

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    We have a ton of clubs and organizations. Really, almost all interests are represented on campus, from cultural clubs to a larp club to environmental - really, anything you can think of, we most likely have it. If we don't, it's really not that hard to get something going on. You can always go to our student senate for funding if needed. At one point, we even had a hammock club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    WE HAVE FLUNK DAY! It's a day during Spring term when classes are cancelled. Faculty, staff, administration, and students don't know what day flunk day will be. All we know is that it happens in Spring term. It's super fun. We basically have a carnival on campus. Last year we had zip lining and laser tag. Really, it's just a day we get to run around campus, enjoying beautiful weather, and being a community. It's one of our oldest traditions, with the first official flunk day being on May 11, 1922. It's just super awesome.

    What to do for fun

    Our Taylor Lounge has pool tables and we also have ping pong tables for on campus fun. On the other side of the Taylor Lounge, we also have videogames for the XBOX, the PS3 and the Wii. If you're more old school, then we also have plenty of board games that you can check out. If you're not into that, the Union Board, which is a student planning organization, will have different events throughout the term, like movie showings or a casino night. In the past they have also brought comedians and performing acts. There's always something to do, it just depends on the week, really.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. I really like the Oak Room, which is where they do the themed foods. I'm particularly fond of the world food night when we get shawarma and lamb and all of these delicious treats. And if you're vegetarian or vegan, there are also of options for you to eat, other than raw carrots or something. So there's food for every dietary need.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay. You have to be absolutely honest when you fill out your roommate form. I cannot stress that enough. YOU HAVE TO BE HONEST! Otherwise, you're cheating yourself out of a potentially great experience. The Campus Life Office goes through each of the roommate forms to match people up with someone who they can live with. So, if you can't stand mess, say so. Or if you're messy, say so. I've had great experiences with roommates and I really think that it's because I was so honest. The actual dorms could be improved and there's hardly any air conditioning in any of the dorm building except two or three.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are really intense. It's a trimester system, which means that we're here for ten weeks taking three classes for each of the three terms. Basically that means that classes are really focused. You definitely learn a lot in those ten weeks and you'll need to really devote some time to outside of the classroom studying. The social sciences are really reading heavy, so be prepared to read a lot. Also be prepared to be challenged. We really do a lot of critical thinking in here. All students are required, before graduation, to complete foundations and key competencies, which act like general education requirements. However, ours are unique in that they really aim to fulfill the goal of a liberal arts education, which I think is often achieved.

    Tips for prospective students

    100% make sure to talk to current students. They can really help you out in figuring out if Knox is the right school for you. They can tell you what they like best and what they would change/improve. They live Knox now, which you can't really get from a simple review. However, I would also really encourage that you talk to faculty. Faculty can tell you more about what they're actually teaching and what their interests are. This is especially important if you want to do research. Knowing what professor is interested in what can really help you out.

    In three sentences

    Knox is a great place for undergraduate research with great funding opportunities. It also makes study abroad work really well with your tuition payment. But the best thing about the school is the relationship between faculty/staff and students. Faculty/Staff are really here for the students, which is great.

  • 06/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety officers are amazing and everywhere. Two campus safety officers are patrolling the campus at any given time and are also available 24/7 via their phone shortcut extension that all students have. Escorts are available for students 24/7 if they don't feel comfortable walking alone, but I personally do feel comfortable walking around campus alone at night. The students are very trusting of each other and often leave belongings unattended for short periods of time to get food or run an errand. That is probably not smart, but their stuff is always there when they get back! It's a small community that looks out for each other.

    Greek Life

    About a quarter of Knox students are involved in fraternities and sororities. There are 6 fraternities and 4 sororities on campus. They are very integrated into the rest of campus- all Greeks also have friends who are non-Greek and vise versa. The sororities do not live in their houses, which makes them even more integrated! All events that are sponsored by a fraternity or sorority are open to the entire campus and range from themed parties to philanthropic fundraisers.

    Clubs and Activities

    SO much going on, you could never do it all. There are 100+ clubs and more created every year. Clubs range from cultural clubs, religious clubs, service clubs, hobby clubs, activist clubs, and more. Check out the full list of clubs on the Knox website- http://www.knox.edu/student-life/clubs-and-organizations.html

    Great for these types of students

    Seriously all types. Particularly students who are interested in lots of different kinds of people, who maybe floated between cliques in high school or never truly had a group of their own. Knox students love debates, arguing their points, and having a voice in things. Everybody finds somebody at Knox.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Where to even begin! Flunk Day happens every spring term- it is an all school carnival where classes are cancelled all day long. The catch is that it is a total surprise- nobody knows when Flunk Day will happen, not even the professors! We also have Pumphandle every fall term, where all students, staff, and faculty line up outside and go down the line shaking everybody's hand. We also have a building, Old Main, that is the last standing site of the Lincoln-Douglas debates that took place in 1858.

    Bang for the buck

    You are truly getting what you pay for at Knox. Although the sticker price is high, the admissions and financial aid team works with each student to make sure that cost is not a barrier in attending Knox. The faculty are top-notch and improvements are always happening around campus. Right now, for example, Alumni Hall is being completely renovated and will allow more space for offices and administrative departments.

    What to do for fun

    There is a weekly jazz night at a local pub where Knox musicians perform and all kinds of students come out to just chill and listen to jazz. There is also Green Oaks, a 750-acre prairie reserve site that is owned by the school and open to students to hike, camp, or enjoy the lake! If you want to read more fun things to do in Galesburg and on campus, check this link out! http://www.knox.edu/student-life/living-at-knox/101-fun-things.html

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is small but holds a huge variety of food. There is a hot meal that varies with each meal, a salad/soup bar, a sandwich bar, and an a-la-carte grill that will cook you up everything from a black bean burger to a grilled cheese. Dining services works hard to use local produce, support local farmers, and cook and clean sustainably. For example, all of our bread comes from a local Galesburg bakery. We also just finished two high-tunnels, which will grow food for the campus year round.

    Dorm Life

    Almost all of the dorms at Knox are suite-style, which means that 8-16 students have their rooms grouped around a large common area that they all share, along with a bathroom for those 8-16 students. This smaller living community really fosters close relationships between suite mates. In addition to those suite dorms, there are also houses, apartments, and townhouses owned by the school that students live in. There are tons of options for different living environments, including a 24-hour quiet dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The 3-3 schedule at Knox, where we are on trimesters and only take 3 classes a time, shapes the academic rigor at Knox. While you are only enrolled in 3 classes at a time, the classes are intensive and fast-moving. This pace is very refreshing if you are coming from high school and were often board with the pace of things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! This holds true for any school that you may be interested in. Visiting campus and really trying to see yourself living and learning in that school environment can tell you a lot. Also- trust your gut! You will find the right fit for you.

    In three sentences

    Knox College is a small, close-knit community that includes the most diverse group of 1400 people you will ever come across. Students are diverse not only in where they come from, but also diverse in their opinions, beliefs, and experiences. Knox does a wonderful job at celebrating and supporting these differences.