Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Kuyper College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/11/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    christians looking to vocationally serve their creator

    Tips for prospective students

    Love Christ and want to serve Him

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kuyper is a great fit for those looking to serve God in a community with so many opportunities. Those who wish to grow in their faith, like me, will be continuously strengthened and challenged here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a head start on financial aid. Don't be afraid to ask questions; admissions counselors are there for you. Visit more than one college and seriously pray about your decisions.

    Bang for the buck

    Kuyper College is cheaper than most private colleges in the area. But even so, the Financial Aid Office works hard to ensure you can find a way to attend the college. Also, the dorm rooms are twice as big as the typical rooms!

    Will enjoy being here

    The atmosphere is stunning. The smaller campus makes it easier to meet people. There are so many friendly faces to make you feel welcome.

    Will learn a lot

    Academics are incorporated well with the Bible's teachings. The professors are good at what they do; teaching from a Christian worldview.

  • 10/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone. They accommodate almost every degree if not specifically at our campus then you can take other courses at Cornerstone for the tuition price of Kuyper.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive about talking to someone and come to the campus because it's great!

    Bang for the buck

    The admissions and the Financial aid office work very close with you so that you are able to get the most aid and become a student and maintain scholarships and aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    I never thought this College was going to do it but i looked into every other Christian college and i would never want to go anywhere else.

    Am learning a lot

    The Professors are very interactive with the quality of learning. The courses offered and the Professors that go with it are very passionate about their subjects and your success as their student.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with a passion to serve God would find a place here. Artistic students, intellectual students, class clowns-- they all go here. But, their Christian faith is what brings them together.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! I was sure I was going to a different college until I visited Kuyper. Then everything changed. Apply for scholarships early in your senior year! A lot of scholarships have early deadlines like October and November.

    Bang for the buck

    While I did not get as many scholarships as I would have liked, Kuyper is cheaper than most private colleges in Michigan anyway. Financial aid is also willing to work with you.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is so attractive. It was what drew me here. Everyone (everyone!) is so friendly and welcoming. Class divisions are not obvious at all. I'm friends with my professors and with upperclassmen. This is not out of the ordinary at Kuyper.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are brilliant! I am learning a lot about the world, and also learning a lot about God.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are bowling allies, movie theaters and many more things in the Grand Rapids area to do for fun. I enjoy swing dancing and ice skating at Rosa Park's Circle at different times of the year

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. Not the best but what can you expect from a cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    As I've already said we are all a big family and living on campus is tremendous I have done so for two years now. Very accepting and loving people.

    Academic Rigor

    People who come to this school are usually very motivated to work hard and be ready to go share God's word.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to be happy with your College choice!

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Kuyper College! It is a small school focused on ministry and bringing God's word to the ends of the earth. It's one big family.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. It is well lit and there are always people around. There is nothing to be scared of at Kuyper College

    Clubs and Activities

    The sports teams are a lot of fun, and there are a lot of opportunities to become involved at Kuyper.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great environment for christian students wanting to learn about themselves and their faith.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a lot of couples that walk the loop around the campus. Everyone keeps their eye out for new couples. We also applaud when someone breaks something in the lunch room.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities going on. There are many discussion groups service groups, and even intramural sports going on everyday. People have a lot of fun, and the community is inviting.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not amazing at Kuyper, but there is always a sandwich cart and salad bar. They also have really good chocolate milk, and pizza day is great!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a lot of fun! The rooms are also spacious and nice! The be beds are comfortable, and the the furniture is nice. There are a lot of open hours, and there are a lot of things going on each day. The dorms are the best part of the school.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Kuyper are great, and Christ-based. It is a wonderful college to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your program is available, and that you are prepared for the idea of community being emphasized a lot!

    In three sentences

    Kuyper is a great college! Its focus on Christian values and the small size makes it stand out among schools. I have truly loved attending this school!

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Kuyper has a very safe campus and safety officers are continually going around on rounds

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for nearly everything! If we don't have it, feel free to start it. I am sure people would join you :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Clapping when people break their dishes in the dining hall

    Bang for the buck

    Kuyper works hard to provide a lot for the price. My favorite perk is free laundry!!

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok....college food pretty much sums it up

    Dorm Life

    People are so kind and always inviting others to hang out with them. There are always activities and funny business going on :)

    Academic Rigor

    Kuyper pushes you to excell in classes that are difficult which creates a great environment for learning lots

    In three sentences

    I love Kuyper College's small size! Everyone gets to know each other on a personal basis and even professors know you personally. Its a family type setting :)

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus safety comprises of regular students who go to school at kuyper. These young men are mostly sophomores, juniors and seniors. They are given various kinds of vigorous training by safety experts and are very diligent and proficient in their jobs.

    Greek Life

    Greek life here is great. Many students are actively involved in various clubs and activities. These clubs help them to connect with other people who think like them and it enables them to be proactive concerning everyday issues. Many issues are discussed at different gatherings as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs on campus such as the student life, the youth ministry singing group, and the street team. Most of the clubs and activities here at kuyper concentrate on community development in the society and around the neighborhood. They also seek to help the less fortunate.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great place for students who have a large worldview and who want to make the world a better place to live in. It is also great for students who intend to study theology in an in-depth way. It is perfect for conservative people and deep thinkers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a driveway that leads into the School premises. This driveway is pretty long and is popularly referred to as ''the loop'' by most students. Walking round this loop with a person of the opposite once or twice, indicates that the two are interested in each other.

    Bang for the buck

    I Love kuyper college because in this school, everyone shares a sense of unity and togetherness. We are all like family because everyone knows the other's names and so life is less complicated that way. People here are warm and friendly. There is also a lot camaraderie.

    What to do for fun

    At kuyper, there are many things to do for fun. Many events are organized at the student life. events such as swing dancing downtown. Talent shows also play a big role in the school. Watching movies in groups is also very entertaining. Playing games together and going treasure hunting in groups and teams is also very energizing.

    Food and Dining

    The cooks at kuyper college are highly meticulous and hygienic. The dishes are cleaned under very hygienic conditions.The chefs make sure that all meals have basic nutritive requirements for health and vitality. The meals are very tasty and have a lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are small and intimate. Boys and girls share the same halls but have different dorms. The male inhibit the upper half of the halls while the females live on the first floor. There are open hours in which everyone is expected to abide by. Modesty is mandatory.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor exhibited at this College is truly phenomenal. Professors take time to break every tiny bit of information down in order for the students to fully comprehend. Professors invest deeply in the lives of their students and require students to be thorough in their work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students coming to Kuyper College should prepare to study hard at this college. Kuyper College professors embrace honesty and productivity in school work. Students at Kuyper college are encouraged to get involved on Campus.

    In three sentences

    At Kuyper, everyone shares a sense of unity and togetherness. We are all like family because everyone knows the other's names and so life is less complicated that way. People here are warm and friendly. There is also a lot camaraderie.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is so small and everybody knows everybody. Safety is not an issue. If you need something most people will already know who you are and where to direct you.

    Greek Life

    I don't know of any Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of bible studies as well as other groups and organizations. There are a lot of campus activities for students on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    those who love peer interaction, small communities, a lot of group activities, and just making friends and having a 2nd family away from home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They always have an all campus retreat, scavenger hunts, as well as many other traditions. For how small the school is, the library is HUGE!

    Bang for the buck

    I love the christian aspect of this college. Prayer is usually done before each and every class.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually not too bad. If you don't have a meal plan it is 5 dollars, which is too expensive for me to buy everyday. However, the few times I have had it it is rather tasteful.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    The social work program here is EXCELLENT. One of the top 3. It definitely has a heavy work load and so do the biblical classes. You are actually expected to learn here!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a transfer be sure you don't have more than 68 credits transferring from a CC!

    In three sentences

    This is such a great community. Small classes allow for more one-on-one interaction. Everybody knows everybody!

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very nice, respectful to all, and Trained by the Grand Rapids Police Department.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Life, W.A.A.M, RA, Worship, Chapel

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, Musicians, Basketball Players, Soccer Players, Tennis Players.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well one of the traditions here is what most colleges call freshman frenzy, but usually the people here end up getting married. We have the loop of love where couples walk.

    Bang for the buck

    Will tuition is about 20,000 a year which is quite awsome for a private bible college.

    What to do for fun

    Play Ultimate Football, Soccer, Tennis, Volleyball, Basketball, and we love to Worship and make sweet music for God.

    Food and Dining

    Food is Pretty good and they Change up alot so every culture feels right at home.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm, my roommate, my RA, and everyone at Kuyper.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be academically fed, the Teachers actually teach (unlike other colleges).

    Tips for prospective students

    I think that prospective students should definetely come and recieve the the christian and faith based enviroment that Kuyper hsa to offer.

    In three sentences

    Kuyper is a really cool excited christian college. Everyone here is very loving respectful and supportive. I would suggest that if you are new to your christian faith or even far along in it that you attend Kuype College.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is extremely safe! Safety offices are students who are trained with everything possible. Director is very knowledgeable and works hard to be up-to-date.

    Clubs and Activities

    Variety and weekly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Loop, half mile path around campus. Good for walks, running, driving, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Kuyper is well worth your money! They are one of the cheapest Christian private schools in the area.

    What to do for fun

    Students like to have movie nights, go to Applebeees for half off appetizers, pick up games in the gym, game nights, library study sessions, shopping at the nearby mall, and so much more! The area is perfect to get off campus or stay on.

    Food and Dining

    Creative Dining provides food at Kuyper. Costs are low and well worth the money. Food is nutritious and there is always a good variety.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are very large, separate bathrooms per two rooms, RA's on the floor, and spacious lounge space. Laundry is free and there is also a computer lab in each dorm building. Floors are gender specific.

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars. Kuyper's academics are well thought out and grow each year to be better and better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with financial aid and admissions frequently to keep up with scholarship opportunities, deadlines, etc. to be ready for your first semester. If you are still looking, call admissions to attend a Kuyper Experience Day! This will teach you everything you need to know about being a student at Kuyper.

    In three sentences

    Kuyper College has amazing faculty, staff, and students who all love Christ deeply. Academics here are one-of-a-kind and are centered around God's calling in a students life. Kuyper is extremely affordable and worth looking into.