Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

LIM College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is no better place to eat out than NYC! There are many historical and unique places to grab a bite to accommodate any budget!

    Dorm Life

    Our Residence Hall is located on the Upper East side of NYC, which is a nice change of pace from where our campus is located in Midtown. Students frequently coordinate events to participate in, leaving little time for a dull moment! Every room has a private bathroom, flat-screen TV, microwave and refrigerator which makes the moving process very convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    Since my freshman year, I have always felt academically challenged at LIM. I feel that our Professors adjust their teaching style to meet the students needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should consider taking our Fashion Lab for High school students! It's a great way to see what being a student at LIM College is like.

    In three sentences

    Choosing to attend LIM College has been the best decision I have ever made. I love the tight-knit community and industry experience that LIM offers. Every one is a familiar face to me, and I like that!

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24/7 Security at the dorms and security at all times during open hours at all of our campus buildings. I have never felt anything but safe walking around the LIM campus, even at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club or activity for everyones interest at LIM. There is SLAB which puts on LIM events, there is the dance team, Fashion Production club and so much more.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in New York City its insane. Tons of amazing Museums, clubs, bars (for the over 21 crowd of course) there is Time Square, China Town, Central Park, The Bronx Zoo, so many things to do I couldnt possible list them all.

    Food and Dining

    The food in New York is the best. There are cafes, restaurants and food carts to die for. You can always find a new place to eat and in your price range. There is also multiple grocery stores around if you arent in the mood to go out. Plus, almost EVERYTHING delivers.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. Private bathrooms, a fridge, a microave and a flat screen TV with cable, what more could you ask for? How about kitchens on every other floor, a gym, a huge laundry room, an LIM exclusive computer lab and a game room. The dorms for LIM gives residential life a whole new meaning. It is a completely different experience than normal dorm rooms,

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors here are amazing! Since the class sizes are small, you get very close with your teachers. The learning environment is filled with real life experiences and examples that you could never get from a text book.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get involved with activities at the school. The experience is what you make it and if you don't put yourself out there you are not going to utilize life in the city.

    In three sentences

    LIM is great, the internship/job opportunities are so amazing. I don't think there is another school out there that would allow me to gain so much knowledge and experience in the fashion industry. LIM has been my only choice of schools and I have no regrets. LIM has me on a fast track to my dream career.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are passionate about fashion !

    What to do for fun

    Central Park, you live in the city so you have so much to explore.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not dorming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wear comfortable shoes you will be walking a lot.

    In three sentences

    The school is very modern and the teachers seem passionate about their jobs. You are surrounded by fashion where each building is located. The school is located on 5th Ave and you see all the high-end fashion designers.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Each the colleges locations have security and require passes to get into the school. They are as safe as can be.

    Greek Life

    I do not know of any Sororities that are currently in the school, since I have not attended the school full time as of yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a array of activities that you can partake in if you choose to do so.

    Great for these types of students

    The school os definitely great for students interested in getting as close to the fashion industry as they can while being in school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some of the schools courses are located right off of 5th avenue, where you can enjoy the high end retail stores in the area.

    What to do for fun

    If you enjoy shopping then the locations of the courses ore definitely great for you.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of places to eat around the area. Chipotle and Subways are my personal favorites.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are absolutely beautiful. They have a computer lab, arcade/ pool room and universal remote controls for the televisions.

    Academic Rigor

    They provide you with a very stimulating curriculum. There is never a dull moment.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are fashion forward,different,unique

    Bang for the buck

    Its a bit expensive but its worth it!

    What to do for fun

    JUst ask around. There is a game room and a computer room at the dorms.There is also a library

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn your way from the dorms to the school. Take advantage of your time and money spent on the school.

    In three sentences

    I attended the summer fashion course there last summer and ill say i had a blast! the dorms were very cozy. The people were very nice and helpful

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is kind of expensive but your paying for a school that educates you and a school that gets you a job after you graduate

    Food and Dining

    Eating in the NYC is just perfect.

    Dorm Life

    I don't plan on dorming, but I did see the dorms and they are amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great. The teachers at LIM are teachers that worked in the field before so they know what they're talking about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!

    In three sentences

    LIM is such a lively school. I love the teachers and the fact that they don't just teach you inside the classrooms, but they teach you outside in the real world. LIM is a school that would help you achieve your dream jobs

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get health insurance before attending

    In three sentences

    Faculty isn't very helpful with getting started, but the program is ideally what I'd like to be a part of (fashion merchandising). This school is also very expensive and hard to find participating loan lenders. Since I have been accepted I would love to be able to afford to attend this school.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ID is needed to get into all buildings. No ID no entrance

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    BRAG, Fashion Styling Club

    Great for these types of students

    Internships and other job opportunities. and also discount at stores such as Topshop.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of EVERY opportunity you possibly can. Although you might know what you want to do, be open-minded, there will be other areas whether fashion or not you will enjoy.

    In three sentences

    Love It. Wonderful opportunities. Did I mentioned I love it

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students and staff need ID to enter the buildings so it's very safe. There's security guards at each location.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs include fashion styling, fashion show production, the writer's circle (student magazine, book and blog), BRAG(black action retail group) and among others. There's always different activities going on such as yoga, they recently had a drag show and students can also get discounts for NYC events shows as broadway shows.

    What to do for fun

    Go site seeing. It's always something to do and see in the city.

    Food and Dining

    There are several restaurants located in the area where LIM students can receive discount from.

    Dorm Life

    I commute

    Academic Rigor

    This is my first year so I don't have a gpa yet however I have A's and B's. My professors are GREAT!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here being open-minded even if you know what you want to do. You might come here set on one thing but end up loving pursuing something else. There are numerous opportunities available for student fashion related or not.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love this school. I'm currently a freshman and I love my professors they are very understanding. I also love that the school is in New York and has tons of connects in the fashion industry.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its New York, You have to be safe and smart.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Great for these types of students

    Good for students who wants the urban lifestyle and do not need a campus.

    What to do for fun

    Its New York! You can do anything here. You will never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    There is no meal plan. You have to do everything on your own.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, but they are not a typical dorm. Not many people are the friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are joke, but they offer great information. Get out of any remedial classes. They are awful. The actual classes for your major are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want to go into fashion. Take advantage of all the volunteer events. They are not paid, but they give you a lot of experience.

    In three sentences

    I would give the school a 7. It is a goos school, but offers very little money. The dorms are very over priced. They need to lower prices.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Anti-social fashionistas

    What to do for fun

    I like to explore the city on my free time. Just take the 6 train somewhere and walk around.

    Food and Dining

    LIM does not have a dining hall. They offer a meal plan of some sort but it is not worth it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life isn't the greatest. I have had multiple issues.Also ,at least from my experience , the other people on my floor weren't very social. Everyone kept to themselves a lot of the time. Really dissapointing dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only completed my first semester but so far the academic rigor is not that harsh. The professors I've had have been very lenient with late work and tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to school with a bunch of girls is exactly the way you expect it. They aren't the friendliest peers but remember the main goal is to get an education.

    In three sentences

    The professors care a lot about their students at LIM. It is not your typical college experience. Life here can be extremely stressful and demanding.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since it's a fashion school, what we mostly do for fun is shop. Other than that, we go out to eat and attend a couple parties every now and then.

    Food and Dining

    The Residence Hall has kitchens, not cafeterias. We cook for ourselves.

    Dorm Life

    I love living on campus. It is a comfortable environment, and the RAs always make it enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, the school is okay. Some professors are extra helpful and want to see their students succeed. I can't really say any of the classes are classified as too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although the college is a little on the expensive side, it is worth it. Just be sure to rack up on scholarships and keep your grades up. Your college experience is what you make it.

    In three sentences

    LIM College is a great school to attend if you'd like to start a career in the business of fashion. With the great connections and networking opportunities through the school, every student is given the necessary skills to step out into the world.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LIM is very safe, as you need your student ID to unlock all front doors of the campus buildings.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is tons of different clubs run by both students and faculty. It is also very easy to start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Career driven students who know what they want to do and love living in a big city.

    Bang for the buck

    From the looks of it, most of the tuition that the students pay does not go into find the best quality professors. It looks like it goes to adding on to current LIM buildings.

    What to do for fun

    You're in New York City! What can't you do?? The nightlife is wonderful, especially in the Chelsea area. LIM also offers various lecture series, free yoga/self-defense classes and an annual student-produced fashion show.

    Food and Dining

    Although LIM College does not have a cafeteria, they have a food card program with various different places around NYC as well as a student-run organic cafe called Good to Go.

    Dorm Life

    The LIM dorms are really nice, clean and spacious. Each room has a flat screen TV. There is a free gym in the dorm building for all LIM students. The only down side is that the dorms are very far up the east side of town which is a bit far from the LIM buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at LIM range in difficulty. There are honors classes that are more rigorous than the average LIM class. Most of the pass/fail classes are pretty easy and straightforward.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you pretty much have your heart set on the business of fashion and know this is what you want to be doing, than this school is for you. Transfer students, beware! LIM will not take a lot of your credits.

    In three sentences

    Extremely relevant and useful classes for today's social media and electronic world. The curriculum is constantly changing to make sure it stays as relevant as possible. Many of the professors interact on a personal level with the students to make sure they succeed.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I think this would be a good school for people wanting to be in the fashion world.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the campus locations are within the vicinity of museums, cafes, and restaurants where students can relax and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The campus is in the heart of the city meaning that there is great dining at every corner.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know how the dorm life is because I do not dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is great for anyone looking for a career in the business side of the fashion world. Classes are intended to give students overall knowledge needed in the fashion world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are comfortable with walking around because the campuses are in multiple places around the city.

    In three sentences

    I rate this college a a great school to attend. The class rooms are in-depth of each subject and rather small so that professors are able to have more communication with students. The campus is in the heart of New York City and makes it very fun and fast pace. Even if students feel out of place, they have many student activities that you can join.

  • 09/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There's an off campus meal plan where LIM students get discounts from certain restaurants. LIM is surrounding by so many restaurants that are affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I heard the dorm life is pretty good. I'll be commuting to LIM for the first year. The dorms has flat screen tvs and are also apartment building shared with other schools. The washers and dryers text you when your clothes are done.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Honestly don't wear heels there's a lot of walking - There's 3 different buildings and they are separated. - There' about 20 minutes given for you to get to your classes -It's all hands one and an amazing school - LIM has it's own fashion shows -Helps out with fashion week

    In three sentences

    LIM College is an amazing school. When you think about LIM College the first thing that comes to mind is FASHION. Located in New York City, fashion is represented all over in this school.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's museums, clubs for 18 and 21 year olds, events in the Chelsea area, parks, movies.. It's the city! Things to do are endless!

    Food and Dining

    Unfortunately, LIM doesn't have a cafeteria within the school campus or dorms, but the college has teamed up with 18 different stores and restaurants that the students can go to by using the meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The building is nice, and LIM students live on floors 1-6. Everyone usually keeps to themselves, but if you ever need something most people are pretty nice. The dorm room is a nice size. It comes with a flat screen TV, heat/AC, and a big desk and chair. The wardrobe's are also a good size. I'm a transfer from Nevada and I was afraid the wardrobe was going to be tiny, but it's not!

    Academic Rigor

    The school is on the challenging side, but it's so worth it because you get to learn about endless aspects you may not have expected. There is usually a lot of work due, but it's fun and experiential; hands on.

    In three sentences

    LIM College is a great school if you're interested in learning how to network and get great experience in the fashion industry. The college may seem very challenging, but you will learn so much from your time here.