Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

LIU Brooklyn - Long Island University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A great school for those who are focused and who would like learning in an exciting environment!

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to be able to stay focused on school, even though there may be a lot of distractions around you. If you have a hard time with that, this school may not be for you.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - World travelers (or those who want to be) - Those interested in international relations and studies - Interested in small school/class size - Study Abroad - Interested in Religion (Comparative Religion and Culture Program) - Independent - Wants to make good, close friends in college - Close teacher-student relationships - Wants to broaden horizons and learn new ways of thinking and viewing the world and its current issues

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the Live Chats that the Global College hosts throughout the year so you can get all of your questions answered by students. Or email current students, find them on Facebook, etc. Also, you can request more information by contacting Global College staff on the website, Facebook and by email. Website: http://www.brooklyn.liu.edu/globalcollege/ Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/globalcollege Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/GlobalCollege

    Bang for the buck

    The school costs about $40,000 a year but there are a lot of opportunities for scholarships. I got a scholarship for about $12,000 and then more scholarships later in the year as a reward for getting good grades. Also, there are student leadership positions and scholarships that you can apply for.

    Did enjoy being here

    Being in a different country was a really great decision for me! I have always wanted to travel and with the Global College, you get to not only be immersed in another culture, you get to travel around and go on field trips! Also, the class size is pretty small (ranging from about 20-40) so you get to know the other students and the teachers very well and become like family. In the first year of the program, students live with host families and then have the option to get an apartment. Many people stay long-time friends with their host families and the friends they make in their travels around the world.

    Did learn a lot

    I was in the Global College of Long Island University, a school/program that is affiliated with Long Island University. At this school, students go to a different country every year -- the first year to Costa Rica, and the following years places like India, Thailand, Turkey, Taiwan, Australia and more! During my year in Costa Rica, my views were challenged and my mindset broadened. The program includes a lot of interactive learning, field study and independent study which allows students to get an in-depth knowledge of the region they are living in and learning about while giving them the opportunity to focus on their own subjects of interest.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you plan on attending this school, it is more for science fields like psychology or pharmacy and also has a nursing program. If you like being in a big environment, then this is the school for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that before you start attending the school that you know your way around the campus. Make sure that you are able to manage your time and if you know what kind of person you are, schedule your classes around your time and make sure you have money on you in case you get hungry!

    Bang for the buck

    In a way, the school is expensive but in the long run it could be very useful to your education. If you know how much you are paying for a class, you are more likely to go since you spent so much money on it. I think that it is worth the cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school has a lot of activities and sports that you can engage in. There is a terrific atmosphere of the school and everyone is friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    You are in an excellent environment with some small classes and professors that help you in whatever you do not understand. I learned that you have to manage your time wisely and that some things will not come easy but you have to get help if needed.

  • 12/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 4 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ghetto people, no offense but those are the only types of people who seem to enjoy themselves here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone who can breathe and write a check can get into this place

    Bang for the buck

    Ha ha ah ah ah ha ha........no, this place is no where near worth the $33,000 or more they want you to pay for an academic year. Go somewhere else, please i beg you

    Am enjoying being here

    Students are, for the most part, unmotivated and immature. It's like being around a bunch of ninth graders.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors are great, I can honestly say I've learned a great deal

  • 01/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think this school is great for students with money but has no interest in really putting there all into college. ! May seem harsh but that is what it seems like to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for any student is not to go there and if you do go there make sure they do not try to get you for more money and more money and more money! I warned you!

    Bang for the buck

    OMG! I totally believe that the amount they charge is not worth not one penny we pay to go there. I mean really come on it's close to 43,000 each year and the material that is being taught is not even worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is kind of boring if you ask me. I mean when I was a freshmen it seemed to be a great and fun place but after a while it didnt really seem as exciting and the school just became one big blahhhh.

    Am learning a lot

    I would have to say that I am learning a little. I mean it seems that the only major they are really interested in teaching is the pharmacy program which I think is really bad because they off other programs that they are charging so much money for but they are not willing to teach the material.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking to be a nurse, business or pharmacist student then this school will be perfect for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get a lot of scholarships and be very interactive with the different groups that the school provides.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a bit expensive but in the long run it will be worth your wild academically and professionally.

    Am enjoying being here

    If you will be living in the dormitory then you would have to join a club or different group to enjoy your free time on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    This facility is very useful when it comes to it's education. The professors are really dedicated to what they teach and find any time necessary to help the students.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shopping and the city

    Tips for prospective students

    do not attend if pharmacy isnt your major

    In three sentences

    Very pharmacy oriented.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who need close professor/student relations. The campus is great for students who truly want to learn and not just get a passing grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    The camp is small enough for more one-on-one sessions with teachers. The professors work to ensure students understand the material.

    Bang for the buck

    Tools are available on campus to help students for the actual costs of education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being in this new learning environment because it has helped me to grow. The student campus is small enough where I don't feel lost and I am able to get help.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes, I am learning a lot about different cultures. I am expanding my ways of thinking about different societies in my classes.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There's a security guard at each gate 24 hours a day. There's always two security guards at the dorms at all times.

    Greek Life

    There are many reasons to go Greek, but the most important reason is the desire to learn, desire to become involved, and the desire to achieve. Greek life is more than just being part of a group, it’s about meeting new people and developing great values.

    Clubs and Activities

    LIU offers many clubs and activities. It has clubs for almost every major. It has clubs for every religion. It also has fraternities. And if anyone wants to start their own club, they are more than welcome to.

    Great for these types of students

    LIU is great for any kind of student. It has such a great diversity of students from various different backgrounds. We all come together as one community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, there's an LIU day. They bring in bouncy houses and a DJ. They have popcorn machines and chocolate fountains and a lot of other cool activities for the students.

    Bang for the buck

    LIU is expensive but you definitely get your money's worth. It has wonderful professors. It has a beautiful campus. It's in a great location in Brooklyn. It's also a division 1 school with phenomenal athletes.

    What to do for fun

    LIU has a new gaming room on campus. It has a pool table, air hockey, xbox, PS3, and Wii systems. It is available to any LIU student. There's also an open gym for playing basketball and other sports.

    Food and Dining

    I like most of the food that is offered at LIU. Quiznos is one of the most attractive food places on campus. LIU also has another dining hall called Luntey's which offers anything from grilled food to salads to starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is very convenient. The dining hall in the dorms offers a lot of different types of foods and themes every day. After the cafeteria closes, there's 2 hours of late night so students don't have to go off campus. There's a Wrec lounge which includes a pool table and ping pong table with a big screen T.V. There's a quite study lounge which is open 24 hours. There's also a computer lab printers which is available every day.

    Academic Rigor

    The professional phase of the pharmacy program is very strict. If anyone is caught cheating on an exam, they will be kicked out of the program and out of the school. Otherwise it depends on the individual professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    LIU is a very good school especially for pharmacy. So if you want to become a pharmacist, then you should definitely come to LIU. Also LIU is a very good commuting school. There's the subway right outside the gate. There's buses and trains all around the campus.

    In three sentences

    I really like this campus a lot because of the diversity of events and clubs available. I really like the teacher to student ratio, professors always have the time to help their students. I also like the diversity of the students on campus.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LIU has a big pharmacy department so those who want to take up Phamracy it's probably a good look graduating from here.

    What to do for fun

    Get involve in a club It's Brooklyn there's a big park across the street, basketball court, tennis court and a track to run. Easy access to train to get into the city where there's plenty other things to do.

    Food and Dining

    There's 3 different cafes with comfort seating areas. Well rounded workers who complete your food. Food is always good not as expensive. We also have acess to other restarts outside the school.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm, mostly athletes dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    LIU has alot of clubs you can join and every major has it's own department that can help you in your field of work. You have to able to stay focus and on task. Never leave anything for the last minute. Time managing plays a major roll in college.

    In three sentences

    Long Island University is a amazing private school in downtown Brooklyn. I'm taking physical education and also enroll in the Higher Education Opportunity program where I get the help I need to stay focus and keep up the work that's given to me.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Like many city universities, safety is held to a very high standard. The Security staff is alert, attentive and will not allow you access to the campus without a valid pass or School ID.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love city life, a diverse environment and great sports teams, this is the college for you. The current ad campaign for the school is an accurate reflection of the opportunities an education for LIU-Brooklyn offers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is interesting to note that twenty years ago, the college bookstore was located where there is currently an art exhibit on semi-permanent display.

    What to do for fun

    LIU is conveniently located near the Fulton Street mall, where students can shop and browse. Brooklyn Academy of Music is within walking distance of the campus. A five minute subway ride takes you to Prospect Park, and from there the Brooklyn Museum and the Botanical Gardens.

    Food and Dining

    LIU-Brooklyn is home to several fine eateries on campus, but what really makes the College special is Junior's restaurant, located directly across the street from the school. Also surrounding LIU is a wide selection of excellent and affordable restaurants, and it is five minutes away by subway to Park Slope, Downtown Brooklyn and Manhattan.

    Academic Rigor

    The campus maintains a high standard when it comes to the requirements for fulfilling a degree. Programs are intensive and contemporary, requiring both an online and on-campus presence.

    Tips for prospective students

    LIU-Brooklyn offers students a very unique college experience in that you have the city life easily accessible by subway and the traditional college dorm life. The vast resources that the university offers is enhanced by the nearly limitless resources found in New York City.

    In three sentences

    LIU - Brooklyn remains one of the finest universities in New York State. Its diverse academic offerings in tandem with their Athletics department make it a very well rounded institution. While acclaimed for its Pharmacy and Nursing departments, LIU-Brooklyn also hosts an excellent School of Education and Performing Arts program as well.

  • 12/03/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    seems good for what im asking

    Will enjoy being here

    i would love it completely

    Will learn a lot

    this school seems amazing and i hope i get in

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 13 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    new student

    Tips for prospective students

    new student

    Bang for the buck

    new student

    Am enjoying being here

    new student

    Am learning a lot

    new student

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 14 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for independent-thinkers, people who are motivated and people with special talents.

    Tips for prospective students

    From what I have seen, it is very imperative to be a fast-thinker and to pay attention so you do not get left behind.

    Bang for the buck

    I should hope so, after all, it is a very expensive school to attend.

    Will enjoy being here

    There are so many clubs/organizations to be invovled in.

    Will learn a lot

    There are so many majors to choose from and I have met some of the faculty and so far they seemed very dedicated.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is an absolute joke around here.

    Food and Dining

    The dining experience here is horrible. I am forced to buy a distgusting meal plan for $2,150 and I only go for breakfast. I feel as though we are being served prison food not to mention the upseting stomach feeling you have after eating. I find myself ordering and buying food outside of campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is unpleasant. I have been a student here for 3 years now and througout those years I've seen mice and roaches. There are also old painted walls which could probably cause lead poisioning and mold around in some rooms. The dorms are also very expensive for no reason.

    Academic Rigor

    Academicaly the classes are very rigourous and when it comes to studying its no joke. Fortunatley there are tutors availabel for academic help which is a good thing.

    In three sentences

    Long Island University is a very rigours and expensive campus. The professors are sometimes helpful but it depends. The tuition continues to increase for students each year and it is causing a hole in our pockets. I believe this year its is almost near $40,000 so unless you can afford to be here there is no point since our graduation rating is so low. I believe it was at 46% last time I've checked. If I had the opportunity to transfer sooner I would have gladly taken it.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LIU campus is ranked the third around the whole country in terms of safety

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and fairs in LIU. You can join any of them and they are all very nice.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorm before but I heard that it's very safe.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a tough school but it's not impossible to get a high GPA. Just do your best in class and be dedicated to the subjects that you study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard because it's a tough college and do your best in class. Also go to the professors constantly to show them that you care about their subjects.

    In three sentences

    A nice school in which you will actually learn the materials that you study. They have a very nice library and very good financial aid office.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is one of the safest campuses within the united states

    Greek Life

    there is a small greek life, no greek houses but greek rooms

    Clubs and Activities

    not enough clubs on campus but creating a club is very easy

    Great for these types of students

    LIU fits the mold for any potential student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kan-Jam in the front lawn with the soccer team

    Bang for the buck

    With the close knit community LIU offers there is always something to do or someone to hangout with. the place really empties out once classes end for the weekend which is great to run wild with your close peers.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Brooklyn and Manhatten any time of the day. Bar hopping and clubbing in both cities are a blast and an experience one needs to gain.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe isnt the greatest but the metcafe next to the paramount gym is really good with made to order options.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone who dorms is really familiar with one another through party's or just seeing one another through out the day. My dorm experience at LIU has been a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what program your in, Honors or Regular freshman year will depend on the difficulty. overall LIU isn't as demanding as most.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be overwhelmed by the city nor college atmosphere. LIU is an easy transition to the next step. take advantage of the surroundings and easy accessible public transportation to explore the city.

    In three sentences

    LIU is a close knit community in the middle of the biggest city in America. Familiar faces in the halls and classrooms, with eager and knowledgeable professors willing to put in the extra time with you. Exciting and always changing for the betterment of its community.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is everywhere! don't think you're sneaking anyone in.

    What to do for fun

    It is located in Brooklyn, so basically you can visit the five boroughs very easily and also a few stops away from Manhattan where there are plenty of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Preferred you don't get the 2000 dollar meal plan and just buy food, unless you have no choice but to take it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming can be fun but like any other college it depends who you surround yourself with, if you find good people, you will have good times and little drama. If you surround yourself with the loud obnoxious people expect all the bad that comes with it.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on major courses are pretty good, all of the classes for the medical majors are intense but a great challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure on a major that you wish to pursue, not only for this school but for all colleges. Schools are expensive nowadays and you wouldn't want to waste your time or money on unnecessary classes.

    In three sentences

    It is convenient for those who live in the city, you can commute. It is small so the classes are small and teachers can spend more time answering questions. They offer very good medical majors.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    19 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    So far I heard it is easy to get in and very difficult to stay. So you have to be focus at all times.

    In three sentences

    I have researched the school and I am reading both negative and positive things about the school. I have heard that ther are very unorganized so to be sure to keep a copy of everything that I submit. Over all I am just interested in their Nursing Program, I heard it is good so far. I am just hoping that it is and that I won't be wasting my time and money.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is healthy and the school is surrounded by every food chain

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun rated a ten

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are extremely supportive of your time and effort. Rating a ten

    Tips for prospective students

    If it is possible, find scholarships. Joins clubs to stay abreast

    In three sentences

    This school is a very convenient school. The school continue to involve the community. The school allows one to express thoughts.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun students can enjoy the sport games of the college , this can increase school spirit . You can join a club in the school be be part of positive existence such as the basketball team . For fun you can go over to the Barnes and Nobles book store and look at a few books .

    Food and Dining

    There is a juice bar in the campus . LIU Brooklyn campus also has a coffee shop . The college is in a densely populated area where students can free look for food , such as Mc Donald's .

    Dorm Life

    The dorms allow a shorter distance to you classes . Campus housing requires a deposit of 150 dollars . Certain positions in the college housing pays off.

    Academic Rigor

    The placement for Math and English classes is based on your SAT scores . Aim high do well . I recommend studying for over 3 hours daily .

    Tips for prospective students

    I urge students to use subsidized loans . Incoming students should use the weight training facility . Prospective students should go to tutoring .

    In three sentences

    The LIU Brooklyn campus has a very eclectic food service . I learned that the university offers their students to gain credit will studying abroad . I love the concept of the black bird , its an excellent mascot for the LIU Brooklyn campus .

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is security everywhere

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs and activities but i usually do not participate

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to experience the college life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of sororities and fraternities

    Bang for the buck

    For $17,000, I should be driven to school and back home every morning and evening, and should have free meals and free books. The school is way too expensive for the actual education it gives, and like I said earlier, the scholarship opportunities are very small.

    What to do for fun

    You could go to the library; it's not really a quite place. There are tons of restaurants outside of the school and very near. There is also a park a block away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to look for scholarships outside of the school or pay $3000-$4000 for every single class you take. It's very expensive. Use ratemyprofessors.com to research your professors before you register for their class.

    In three sentences

    This is a fairly good university, with some good and some bad professors. The work load is pretty heavy for nursing students, but that's a good thing because lazy students probably shouldn't be nurses. My biggest problem with LIU is that it is very expensive and the scholarship opportunities are very small; athletes get more help than students with a perfect GPA so it really makes you think where their priorites are.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    many organization, clubs and sports

    Food and Dining

    has to 2-3 different places to obtain food and drinks

    Dorm Life

    Did not dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Heard good comments about the professors form students

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early so you may get scholarships

    In three sentences

    The campus is good. its in the city so everything is available

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun you can walk or run the Brooklyn Bridge with a friend or relative. theres a mall literally up the block from the school so you don't have to go far in the city to buy great clothes.

    In three sentences

    it is a very well organized school that thrive to see their students succeed. the financial aid office is always packed but that's because students need help, if you are an impatient person i advise you to go as soon as they open to avoid those long lines

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I am a sports fanatic so TRACK TRACK TRACK!!

    What to do for fun

    Just about everything. The campus is located in downtown Brooklyn so there is so much to do'!

    Food and Dining

    AMAZING!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Although I do not live in the dorms I have heard that theyre pretty cool.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the professors are extremely helpful and are passionate about teaching

    Tips for prospective students

    To all of those applying, make sure you research scholarships. LIU is a great school but it is also very expensive and why take out loans when they have so many scholarships to offer?

    In three sentences

    The campus at LIU is simply amazing. Everyone seems extremely friendly and always ready to help. I believe that LIU will help me reach my dreams.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on campus seems to be under control. Nothing has made me feel alarmed or worried.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to join. If you ever felt like you didn't belong to a club well wait to you get here they make you feel like you belong in something.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are the type to be anti-social or shy well attending here will bring out a side of you that you never knew was there/

    What to do for fun

    There are various places to hang out at and ave fun. There will never be a boring moment.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are very tasty and affordable. I am a very picky eater but when eating here I have no problems.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are very spacious and clean. I feel like I'm walking into my own personal bedroom when entering the dorm room.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun and be open minded. There are going to be things that you are not use to but after awhile you will begin to adapt.

    In three sentences

    I give this college a ten out of ten because it makes you feel so secure and at home. The staff work very well and hard to make sure i was taken care of and that all of my questions were answered.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 68

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is a small quite campus. The teachers and students I have met are very friendly.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you attend the Brooklyn Campus their lots to do like go to Manhattan walk around times square as well as go to the park and hang out. The night life is great where there are many clubs and restaurants to go to. There is never a dull moment if you attend.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't dorm but I have heard that the dorms aren't to great.

    Academic Rigor

    They're lots of great teachers at this school you will learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips to all incoming students or those looking into the school just be prepared to do work and be very open minded. You should have lots of opinion and learn to think outside the box seeing that teachers enjoy that. Stay on top of your teachers if you need help or have a problem. And just make sure you get all your work done on time. Study if you have to, that should be first play later.

    In three sentences

    Long Island University-Brooklyn Campus is a place where many people can consider home. The teachers are down to earth and they enjoy communicating with their students to make sure that you're on the right track. Many of the teachers do what they can to see you succeed and make sure you aren't failing their class. Besides the teachers your fellow classmates are very friendly and easy to get along with so you'll always make friends. The only problem is the tuition. Tuition is extremely expensive for no reason. Overall I would give L.I.U a B

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Believe and trust your safe. They will hunt you down if you don't show ID. Maybe I'm over exaggerating just a little.

    Greek Life

    At times very active.

    Clubs and Activities

    Pep Squad, Dance team, CSM and this list goes on with amazing clubs to join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best thing you can do is get involved on campus to know where everything is.

    Bang for the buck

    Any university can be expensive especially if your an out of town student. In order to get a bang for your buck take part in every event on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Karaoke, bowling or a trip to the movies.

    Food and Dining

    Right in the heart of downtown Brooklyn you have a variety selection of take out ( Juniors, Apple bee's, buffalo wild wings, etc).

    Dorm Life

    Although I'm a commuter, I hear the dorm life is pretty cool.

    Academic Rigor

    Every course study varies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some may expect more. Your college experience is what you make it. Mingle with people and get involved on your campus.

    In three sentences

    Long Island University- Brooklyn campus known for having student involvement, family oriented faulty, and the diverse scholars from all over the world. Attending LIU will help you grow as an individual and study with top professors in your specific field of study.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for athletes and Nursing and Pharmacy students.

    Bang for the buck

    Mostly paying for the school name and other peoples scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on around campus. LIU offers more then 45 clubs!

    Food and Dining

    Great cafes and variety of foods. Plus local eateries outside of the school are a great plus.

    Dorm Life

    From what I hear, dorm life is decent.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too hard and not too easy. I love English and History but Sciences and Math are a challenge!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard for a great GPA and apply to many scholarships! Tuition is high so expect to be on you're best academic behavior!

    In three sentences

    An amazing campus! When I walk in I feel like I have been taken into another city. Yes, the tuition is high but when I tried to transfer to City Tech or St. Francis my heart did not lay in those schools. LIU is an amazing school and I would recommend this school to everyone looking to get a great education!

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply to a lot of scholarships. Be interactive with the different groups that the school provides. Attend the Live Chats, the students help answer your questions.

    In three sentences

    A great school with a big environment. This school leans more towards the science fields such as Nursing or Pharmacy. If you like being in a big environment, then this is the school for you

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The greek life here sucks. They dont really do anything.

    Great for these types of students

    Business and health science majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Luntey. They have the best food on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the city

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that it is really expensive so try to get scholarships from ahead of time. Its not worth the money.

    In three sentences

    networking, expensive, sports

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to sports events, go to manhattan, go to the mall and movies

    Food and Dining

    Cafe food lacks ethnicity.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are spacious and rather well taken care of

    Academic Rigor

    Great class sizes, professors that take a true interest into their students, academic resources to help students at all times

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep a record of your financials. Keep a calendar with your schedule and class times.

    In three sentences

    LIU is a great school. The education you recieve is awesome but the financial aid office is very unorganized and likes to handle business at the last minute. Due to this issue, most students have to rush to get their financials in order.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LIU Brooklyn is extremely strict on security. In order for you to enter the campus, you need to show your LIU Brooklyn identification card, or your weekly schedule with a New York State identification card for proof of your identity.

    Clubs and Activities

    LIU Brooklyn holds a huge variety of clubs and activities. A Lot of those programs were offered to first years and freshman get the opportunity of bonding with their peers and learn more about their campus by speaking to the upperclassmen about numerous academic and fun programs.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are someone whose trying to lose weight, LIU Brooklyn owns it's own personal gym on campus where you can work out and the machines are in excellent condition and there's a personal trainer willing to give members great tips in reaching their goal.

    Bang for the buck

    LIU Brooklyn is a private university therefore it is expensive. The Tuition for the school year is about 20,000 dollars and that does not include the purchase of textbooks, room and board, or transportation fees. So if you can apply for financial aid, grands, scholarships or anything that beneficial to you.

    What to do for fun

    If you are not all about academic and is looking for a grand time too, then LIU Brooklyn can provide that. This university holds a huge variety of student clubs and associations. If you are interested in becoming a cheerleader or a member of any LIU sport team, it is possible !

    Food and Dining

    LIU Brooklyn has a great diner and gives students the option of eating healthy. I think that is a very important factor because most universities serve caned food, or frozen food to it's students and that is not a diet students should have in order for them to remain healthy and perform well in school.

    Dorm Life

    I am not dorming at LIU however, I heard that it's a great experience. It's also important to remember that work comes first and fun comes later. A Lot of students that dorm for the first time go into this frenzy and slack off on their education and harm the possibility of continuing an education at LIU in case they lose their scholarship opportunities.

    Academic Rigor

    This university is intense in terms of education and performing well in the classroom. If you are interested in receiving a grade that is satisfactory, then you have to be willing to work hard and study to earn your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students that are looking at LIU Brooklyn should definitely consider about applying! Overall, LIU Brooklyn has a great reputation, everyone on campus is friendly and welcoming and the student body is great. If you are a person who like diversity then LIU Brooklyn is the university for you.

    In three sentences

    The campus of LIU Brooklyn is beautiful. The student body, the school spirit, the true essence of what college life is really about can be experience at LIU Brooklyn.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to take responsibilities for you own actions, you wont have anyone over your shoulder reminding you what you have to get done.

    In three sentences

    The professors in Long Island University are always there for you when you need assistance. The environment is calm so you can focus on your work and get it done. Also, the faculty members are friendly for any questions you may have.

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a little expensive and the staff and help don't seem to care much if there is an issue within the dormitory.

    In three sentences

    LIU:Brooklyn Campus has a great deal of good professors. LIU lacks in a well mannered staff within their financial aid offices.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus security is very experience and alert. They are available 24/7

    Greek Life

    I am not about the Greek society, but LIU has various sororities and fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    LIU-Brooklyn's campus is very diverse, and they provide mass variety of clubs, organizations and activities for its student to take part in.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is very diverse, so this campus is for everyone. Any nation or nationality.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The smoking area. Because I am not a smoker, it feels weird passing and seeing the smokers.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for the price of a private college.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved on campus, and network.

    Food and Dining

    LIU-Brooklyn in in the heart of Brooklyn, food is not a problem, and there are various shops on campus where you can use your id cards to purchase food.

    Dorm Life

    If your quiet or loud, LIU-Brooklyn resident life can make you feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Learning is a challenge, and LIU-Brooklyn is there to help the challenges their students face. Different offices are there to help. Example; writing center to get help in writing your essay free of charge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Networking is very important. Getting involved on campus is great.

    In three sentences

    Being a liberal school, LIU- Brooklyn prepares its students for the working world. The professors have a lot of experience in the subject they teach and have been successful in it. the school location is in the heart of Brooklyn, where they are in alliance with many major business; so getting an internship/job can be a ease.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The clubs and sports are amazing. You'll see for yourself if you enjoy.

    In three sentences

    This school is good. Make sure you do your work and have a lot of money because it's pretty expensive. Otherwise it's a pretty good one.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't seen any campus safety issues; I find the students act appropriately when on LIU campus.

    Greek Life

    I have not pick up on Greek Life at the moment.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't join any clubs or activities as yet and I'm not to late either.

    Great for these types of students

    LIU outdoor appearance is great for students who want to sit & relax.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The outside sculpture of LIU is a bit unusual at LIU; but its ok when view.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can find me on various social media web sites, conducting lite shopping, taking care of my apartment.

    Food and Dining

    I enjoy cooking my own meals at home when I'm not attending LIU.

    Dorm Life

    Currently I live off of campus. I have my own apartment which is located a few minutes away from LIU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying is not hard once you apply yourself to it.

    In three sentences

    I am currently an undergraduate student at Long Island University. I am please with the studies that I'm conducting here at LIU. For spring 2013 I will change my major from Business Management to Finance. I believe this is a good change for my class major.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always a security guard on duty at every post and routinely checks for ID

    Great for these types of students

    great for all types of students because of the diversity of the campus

    Bang for the buck

    Money is well spent. Professors care and are always willing to offer extra help and advice when needed.

    What to do for fun

    Manhattan is a 10 minute train ride away!

    Food and Dining

    There are so many places to eat very close to the campus. Finding a good place to eat takes literally 5 minutes.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The course material is challenging and requires you to think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure grades are well and you will receive scholarships from the school itself. Take full advantage of the staff, they are there to help and are always ready and willing.

    In three sentences

    LIU Brooklyn is very diverse and challenging. Small classes and evening classes make it possible for working students to further their education. Academic counselors are at every student's disposal whenever needed.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe because there are security officers at every gate and they walk around campus. Don't get intimidated though because they are friendly and there are barely any altercations around the school. There was only one and they were swift in taking care of that and providing proper punishment.

    Great for these types of students

    For students that like to study and need a quiet place, the library is the best option because there are cubicles where you can sit and study by yourself without having any interference. For students who are more social there is the Avena lounge where you can sit and eat with friends and watch a movie and play pools. For students who need a place to relax there is also the game room where they can play video games. Also for students who like to exercise the gym is the best option because they have good workouts, including Zumba and you can swim in the pool.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of stuff to do like the Avena lounge where you can watch movies and play pools. There is the game room which you can play xbox and the Wii. Clubs are always hosting parties or get togethers where you can meet other people and you don't have to be part of the club.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options like mexican, or the salad bar. The only down side is that the food is a little pricey, but even then there plenty of options near the school like chinese, yogurt, Mc. Donald's and more options. Juniors is also right across the street from the school and downtown Brooklyn is mostly know for Juniors.

    Academic Rigor

    It is competitive especially when applying for programs such as nursing and pharmacy. There are a lot of helpful opportunities to help improve your grade and the teachers give a lot of work but they offer time to help students with the work. There are times the work seems a little lax but its good time to use that free time to review.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its good to get involved in this college because there are many things to do, but the only trouble is finding out what there is to do. Another tip would be to make use of the gym because you are paying $65.00 for student activities so make use of the money. Also there is $40.00 on the student ID card which can be used for food in the cafe.

    In three sentences

    Long Island University is a diverse college with people of many races. The teachers are nice and very helpful with different topics.The campus is really pretty and spacious, with many places to sit and relax, or study.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs, Sororities, Shopping areas. The subway is right there so it is very convenient.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, especially the tacos and salads.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm, so I'm not so sure on that.

    Tips for prospective students

    It doesn't matter what school you go to, it matters about the type of person you are. Only you as a person can make yourself great, but choosing the right school can make you even greater.

    In three sentences

    Long island university is a great school with a lot of opportunities to better yourself. It has a lot of teacher that are very knowledgeable and care for their students. Also it actually feels like a second home away from home.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You will get the education you came here for, but you will also pay for it with your time and your money!

    What to do for fun

    I live in Brooklyn with my husband so I do not take part in many campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus options are horrible. There are some restaurants nearby that are decent but they can also be expensive on a student budget.

    Dorm Life

    This is not applicable to me.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to work for your grades. From what I have seen most professors are understanding and will work with you, but you will get the grade you work for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take care of all your entrance requirements as soon as possible including vaccinations. The library is top notch, and all the librarians are wonderfully helpful.

    In three sentences

    Long Island University has passionate professors. I learn something everyday, and the classes are stimulating as well as challenging. I wish it wasn't such an expensive college, but I can see why it is so costly.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In order to come on campus you must show ID so there is now way a stranger is allowed on campus. In order to come into the dorms you have to swipe which I would say is excellent. The security guards are very cautious about everyone.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is like entertainment. You watch them stroll through campus and that actually motivates you to join one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs such as Student Government, African Club, Pep Squad, dance team and so much more. Student Government usually plans more activities for the students to attend and just have a good time while in school. The school also holds breast cancer walks.

    Great for these types of students

    I guarantee you there is a club for every student to join and grow to love

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Next to the bookstore on campus there are benches that the fraternities and sororities tend to sit on. Subway is usually a place people like to hang out and talk while they wait for there next class to start.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall a lot of people love the school. You meet so many new people, you explore the city life and just have fun. This is the time to let loose and live life before you settle down, have kids etc.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do on campus like the activities that the clubs organize. There are fashion shows, homecoming week, and last but not least the parties which i know everyone wants to attend. It's just a chance to ease your pain from all the work you have been bombarded with.

    Food and Dining

    There are some things that I enjoy and there are somethings I don't enjoy. It all depends on the kind of eater you are. They tend to serve a lot of tilapia which I'm not too fond of. There's an omelet station, cold sandwich station and so much more. There's also subway and places like the Grind and Luntey where you can order wings, burgers and purchase candy.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm Life is very exciting. Since LIU is more of a commuter school you tend to form a better bond with people that live on campus. Your basically on your own. You do what you want to do when you want to do it. Ofcourse there are basic rules that need to be followed but overalll its fun. You can spend the night at your friends room if you want, you can choose to invite your family members to sleep over and you ca also have day guests.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall LIU is known for there academics. Everything is competitive which is a good thing because it forces you to work hard to become what you want to do. Your going to see a lot of people slack off but do your best and try to not to mingle with those types of people. All the professors are very understanding. Visiting your professors during office hours is something you should definitely do. It lets the professor know that you are very serious and you have interest in there course. The professors don't want to hear that you have other courses and that's why you couldn't complete there assignment. Overall academically LIU is very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Independence is the key. Long Island University is in the middle of Brooklyn. You are by yourself in the middle of the city. You have to learn to do things by yourself. In college you really cant count on a lot of people because at the end of the day everyone has there own profession they want to pursue. No one cares for you. You have to be strong on your own. There are many fun activities that the school holds which allows you to branch out and meet new people. Getting involved in a lot of clubs is something you should want to do. Again this allows you to have something to do on campus and get to know others as well. Sitting in your room will not allow you to enjoy the school. Try to have fun because you only get to live this life once.

    In three sentences

    Long Island University is very Diverse. The attractions around the school are beautiful. The school is very prestigious.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't eat in the school cafeteria, because I don't dorm. However there is a subway in the school.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging but very informative. I was challenged a lot but the outcome were positive because I learned things that I was able to apply to other aspects of my life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study harder then ever, don't give up and make sure to apply your self remember that hard work pays off.

    In three sentences

    The school is in a great location.The staff members are very helpful. You will have a great experience attending this college.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is safe, the security is on point with who gets in. Its a small campus and also in a lively neighborhood so nothing to worry about.

    Bang for the buck

    I do not believe that what you pay is what you get at this campus. There can be improvement.

    What to do for fun

    The city is a couple stops away from campus and lots to do. Also on campus there are trips to go skiing and other activities to get involved in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get active around the campus. Look around, explore what is around you. This way you will meet people that can help you get to where you want to be.

    In three sentences

    This school has excellent professors that take the time to make sure you understand and are interested in the topic. The financial aid department has problems with timing but helpful people. Not the most attractive school on the inside.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun at the campus many students join clubs, play sports, go to the gym, or just sit down at the lounge and watch movies.

    Food and Dining

    there is no kitchen but there is a meal plan which gives you about 300 dollars or more to buy food and eat if you are dorming but if you aren't you get 40 dollars to buy food from the campus stores.

    Dorm Life

    i don't dorm but from what i have heard it's not bad but the bathrooms are really dirty because you don't get your own bathroom in your room.

    Academic Rigor

    LIU is academically challenging but once you put your mind to it it's not that hard. even if you are having problems academically there are various tutors available to help you.

    In three sentences

    long island university has made me feel comfortable around people. i gives you many opportunities to not just excel in academics but also in career, providing varies internships and community service. LIU makes students get ready to join the real world as an educated adult.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus seem very friendly and safe!

    Greek Life

    There are some sororities and fraternities, but they are not too active.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Foreign outgoing students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Haven't really experience it yet.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely think it's worth the money paid.

    What to do for fun

    I saw a lot of in school clubs and different activities.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't tried it yet.

    Dorm Life

    Really couldn't say much because I am not dorming.

    Academic Rigor

    Haven't attended a class but I heard and read reviews that the academic rigor is excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn how to prioritize your time; study; speak up and be confident.

    In three sentences

    I loved the campus! A really diverse population is a plus for me, because I am foreign student and everyone seems really welcoming. I really loved the architectural aspect; buildings and nature are truly beautiful.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Just go out there and introduce yourself, you never know if there is someone else out there that is as shy as you are. It is also easy to make friends just start with small talks.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I had stated before, the tuition is a bit pricey but there are many scholarships and grants available so it does not hurt to seek help. No one will look down on you if you do because we all need help.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs available on campus. During the first week or so there will be a fair with all of the clubs on campus. There is also the game room that you can go to whenever you have a break in between classes just be sure to check the time before you are late for class.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the school is average but a bit pricey on campus. There are a lot of restaurants available outside of campus that are affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    The program director of the major in which I plan to pursue a degree in has been nothing but the best help that I have sought during my time in Long Island University.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those for intend on attending the school, I suggest looking for scholarships immediately if you know that you are unable to afford the tuition. Doing some research on the school and professors do not hurt either since the school might not have the major in which you would like to pursue a degree in. Also with textbooks, there are signs all of the school as well as comments on the facebook page of students who are selling their books. This would allow students, new and old, to save some money on books. Allows be sure that the major you choose is the one that you want a degree in. If you are unsure even after you claimed a major, you can still always change it. I would suggest taking all of the general pre-requisites first before going into specific classes.

    In three sentences

    The experience at Long Island University has been phenomenal thus far with the professors that I have taken. Some of the professors that are currently teaching do not look like they enjoy teaching therefore I would recommend research your professors prior to taking them. The tuition is something that will continue to increase every year and scholarships are available, it is just up to you to apply for them.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest campuses EVER.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers. Slackers. Anyone.

    Bang for the buck

    $974 per credit. The scholarship amount you get depends on your GPA.

    What to do for fun

    There's an Olympic sized swimming pool.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of food places to choose from around the area. There are various burger joints, pizza places and the like.

    Dorm Life

    The dormers are really nice. I don't dorm myself, but I've crashed there a couple of times. It's a pretty nice dorm, everyone gets close to each other fairly quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is pretty straight forward. The only problem is that I've been overloading myself with classes (I took six classes -AKA 18 credits- last semester), so I have to deal with not sleeping a bunch of of times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work. A good GPA is easy to attain if you set your mind to it. If you've got a good work ethic, don't be afraid to take a big workload.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do. There are movie theaters, a Applebee's across the street from the school, a sushi place, Chinese restaurant, stores where you can shop from clothes, video games, to pretty much anything. The 4,5, B, and Q train are by the school and a few stops away from Manhattan.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to go to class on time, come prepared to school ready to learn, and work hard. Always keep your goals in mind when things get rough.

    In three sentences

    The professors and counselors care about their students. If one is struggling with their courses, there are free tutors for every subject and a writing center for those who need their papers revised or when they need to work on their writing skills. There are a lot of clubs to join and the school is big enough to meet new people.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security and video cameras throughout the campus. I feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities associated with many of the degrees given at LIU.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs associated with almost every major given at LIU and activities that cater to most peoples needs. There are fitness,dancing,singing,technical and fine art activities available.

    Great for these types of students

    LIU i great for students who want to gain a great education from a school that is well known for molding people into skilled professionals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual but interesting tradition at LIU is to represent the LIU Blackbird basketball team.There are a variety of sports available such as soccer and lacrosse but many people even from these other teams sport their Blackbird team wear.

    Bang for the buck

    The education you will acquire from LIU will benefit you for the rest of you life.

    What to do for fun

    LIU host comedy shows along with a variety of other shows and activities encouraging students to stay active.There is also a lounge area with televisions a various video gaming consoles.

    Food and Dining

    LIU has a variety of food and dining areas ranging from Subways to the MetCafe where students can purchase food and relax.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is filled with a variety of activities such as organizing bake sales and providing community service. I do not live in the dorms but see all the fliers posted up for the next event being given.

    Academic Rigor

    Faculty are not hash on there students unless th students are not following protocol.

    Tips for prospective students

    My man tip for prospective students is to be prepared before the enter college. LIU like many universities is expensive and may require addition funds along with financial aid.So my suggestion would be to apply for grants and scholarships to help fulfill your financial obligations,

    In three sentences

    LIU is a wonderful choice for people who want be educated by professionals that will motivate you to succeed. The atmosphere is diverse and accepting to people from all backgrounds. I would suggest LIU to anyone who wanted to challenge themselves.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's located in the area that full of different kinds of activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great college for medical field students, but it's also very competitive and expensive.

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus that full of students all around the world.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    54 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It is so close to the city. Hence, you are free to go exploring and sight seeing.

    Food and Dining

    The school is a short distance from subway and chipotle and red mango so that's a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I've read and based on the statistics I wouldn't score it highly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to visit the school before deciding and research online. So far so good!

    In three sentences

    I didn't like the university. It's in a poorer neighborhood even though it is located close to the business district. The school also looks like it is in need of a renovation.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    55 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shopping, and plenty of delicious restaurants to try.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involve in campus activities.

    In three sentences

    This is a school filled with opportunities.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always there!

    Greek Life

    Kappas Rule the campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs to choose from!

    What to do for fun

    The Avena Lounge always has great activities, as well as parties for the students. You should attend!

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students is to let your fears of college go, and get the party aspect of college out of your head. This is a great university and you do not want to be side tracked on anything else but your studies, take full advantage of all the opportunities to excel that are provided to you.

    In three sentences

    LIU- Brooklyn is a great university to pursue any career. The faculty here at LIU are always willing to help, and push the students to become all that they can be. I recommend LIU to any student.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    57 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at LIU is awesome.

    Dorm Life

    I am a Commuting student. I have heard dorm life is really fun.

    Academic Rigor

    LIU gives you many opportunities to receive help. Your grades should never fall behind standards if you take all that is offered.

    In three sentences

    The Long Island University-Brooklyn Campus is a HUGE beautiful campus. The staff and students give a very welcoming feel. The campus offers so much I can not wait until September 4th !

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are good when they want to be.

    Great for these types of students

    Ratchet Black Sports

    Bang for the buck

    Its 50,000 for what?

    What to do for fun

    Your in the Big Apple so you have to look for your own fun. Not a lot of campus party style activities.

    Food and Dining

    Luntey's is alright and that is only because of the salad and starbucks. The staff looks unsanitary.

    Dorm Life

    Unless you live at 490 Grad dorms or Hoyt. Conolly Hall is CRAP

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say look into another college, unless your pharmacy or nursing. You can get the same value of education, or better at another college for cheaper.

    In three sentences

    This campus is diverse and the students are almost like a small family. They also have a lot of pointless, ratchet drama. But, they do offer a lot of support for their students.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    OT day is great!

    What to do for fun

    NYC is 2 stops away on the subway.

    Food and Dining

    Great food nearby off-campus.

    Dorm Life

    Only 1 dorm with limited options. Get an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs are intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get an apartment nearby or dorm, depending on where you live. Study, Study, Study!

    In three sentences

    LIU is in a great location. There are many diverse people from all over the world. It has a great pharmacy program.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is completely closed off from outside, security at every entrance. DONT LOSE YOUR ID CARD!

    Greek Life

    Joining next semester, sounds like a lot of fun!

    Clubs and Activities

    you cant count how many clubs there are, there is a club for everything.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well the library is a spot where a lot of people just hang out there, and the gym. If you plan on coming to this school make sure you know the Black Bird Chant.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is worth every penny, so far.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on campus for fun during class days being Monday - Thursday, but Fridays are great there are always events going on, Thursday nights as well. And if you're really bored the Fulton Mall is across the street.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is good but way to over priced, you'll be better off going across the street for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I Do not live in the Dorms, but a few people I am friends with do, and they love it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult and rigorous, but that is always better for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you look at the rate my professor website when choosing your classes.

    In three sentences

    Long Island University is a great college experience. The professors are very helpful, and make lessons clear, they are also very easy to make meetings with. The schools advisors are great with helping with the financial department, as well as with classes.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are told its the second safest in the country and I believe it is. We have great security. My parents were very concerned about the safety and after a surprise visit from them and not getting access they were very happy with the safety.

    Greek Life

    I would love to join but cannot afford the fee

    Clubs and Activities

    Except for the Greek life assoc. there are clubs for every ethnic group. I am white so the only group I can join is the Greek life assoc that you do have to pay to be a member.

    Great for these types of students

    Great

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The surrounding area has great farmers markets and Huge Halloween parade that are outside campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I love LIU, I wanted the city instead of a campus in a suburb or town. So I guess the bang for my buck is understandable seeing we are in NYC.

    What to do for fun

    LIU has dances, sports and clubs to get involved and have fun. The city is a very large playground, but staying on campus and getting involved can also be fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food plan can be better. After the first week I was sick of the caf���© food, there is not too many healthy selections or options and there is Subway on campus, but it would be better if our meal plan could be used at our local vendors. There are many late nights and long days with classes and sometimes the caf���© is not open and we have to go off campus to get food.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life. I have made so many friends and learned survival skills that normal would be taken care of living at home. You do get the full College experience by living on campus. It is hard have to share a bathroom with a whole floor of people, but the halls wars and decorating and interaction was priceless. The dorm rooms and bathroom can be updated, they are dated for the amount of tuition we pay. The school population is largely commuters so there is only one dorm one campus and two off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    LIU has the opportunity to apply for the honors program, but I am not in that. Writing papers and studying do not come easy for me but the professor's and help center with other students are always there to help and encourage you to do your best. I ended my first semester with a 3.6

    Tips for prospective students

    LIU is a great school the professors are great and the counseling staff is amazing and very helpful. There is a ton of opportunities to get involved at school and in the community. The surrounding area is beautiful and so has so much cultural and history to explore.

    In three sentences

    Long Island University campus is the second safest campus in the country. We have 24/7 security in the dorms and around campus. The campus is gated and most of the building are connected except the dorms so in inclement weather you don't have to worry about how to dress to go out. The University is small so that makes it even easier to make friends and get to know everyone.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is friendly to students and works hard to make LIU a safe environment.

    Greek Life

    Greek events are a riot ! It takes the ease off of academics studies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch of clubs to join with wonderful people. The clubs at LIU are proactive and really allows your college experience to be more joyful when your doing something your love.

    Great for these types of students

    This school has really opened up the doors to a brighter, more successful future than I could have imagined.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I usually hang in the G-spot (top of lunteey, by the clubs and SGA offices). The couches are comfy and its a great place to take a nap during long breaks, or study !

    Bang for the buck

    If you have a talent in sports or dancing join the teams; If you have leadership qualities, join the staff of SGA; you will be eligible for scholarships

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, teams, attend functions, games and meetings. Being surrounded with positive energy and students on the road to success like yourself is such a great feeling. The games are a riot!

    Food and Dining

    The caf�© food is delicious. The staff is so generous and takes there time to prepare your food for you.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm, but my teammates do and they love it.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is challenging, but stimulating. Professors are friendly and willing to help. Every stuff at LIU want to see you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the clubs, teams, events, and services at LIU; they are very informative and a great tool for networking. The staff of LIU is there to help you pursue your careers and life goals. Don't be afraid to ask for help; they're approachable and give excellent direction.

    In three sentences

    The most rewarding experience at LIU, for me, has been my involvement. From jump start I have been on the cheerleading team where we are required to practice and perform our dance techniques; during this time I have learnt discipline and structure through my coach it has all been extremely rewarding to see myself learn and grow from these experiences.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pharmacy major students and students who have prior scholarships

    Bang for the buck

    No. Way too expensive

    What to do for fun

    There is a lounge, game room and pool.

    Food and Dining

    The food options aren't so great but whatever is there isnt so bad. We need more space for dining.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm but i heard the dorms are horrible and very expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here is your not a pharmacy major because you can get the same education at a state university for cheaper.

    In three sentences

    The school is very expensive and not worth it. The staff is nice but not all. The school seems to spend more money on the building than their students.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 68

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Very expensive. Tuition fee is not so great. Environment is excellent.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Im no really into all the fun things that are offered at LIU.

    Food and Dining

    I do not dine there.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm at LIU.

    Academic Rigor

    Its is valuable to those who are serious about what the futire holds for them and with LIU the possibilities are endless.

    Tips for prospective students

    Help is all around if needed a helping hand is never to far.

    In three sentences

    LIU sit in the heart of Brooklyn, and in that a melting pot of life. LIU is a great school founded on principal and integrity. Liu is the place to be when the only sight is the future.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    66 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    LIU is only 2 stops away from Manhattan, NYC. New York is a great city that has a lot to offer from amazing restaurants to museums, concert halls, operas and more.

    Food and Dining

    Bad cafeterias! Sorry

    Academic Rigor

    Study a lot and communicate with your instructor constantly. Understand the expectations of the course and follow exactly the instructions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk to more than one counselor/university employee as you might find different answers all the time. Keep a close eye to your program curriculum as they change without notice. Make sure that the courses you take are the specific requirements to the program because the course selection is very unclear.

    In three sentences

    LIU is a commuter school located in Brooklyn,NY that offers a great pharmacy doctorate program. It is the only institution in the area that accepts transfer students to their pharmacy program. The school is constantly making changes to the curriculum which slows down students to achieve their career goals on time. The school needs better operational organization as it is difficult to get personal assistance; knowing that education is an essential and important matter that needs close attention.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    67 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous students who are in school not only to challenge themselves but to pave the way for future education in exploration and to have a hand in what their degree really means. Perfect for students who would love to become research scholars, work in human rights, religion, government, law, language exchange, and leadership roles.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    While attending the Comparative Religions and Cultures program our class stumbled upon an opportunity to help carry sacred Buddhist treasures into the top of a recently constructed temple in Sikkim only weeks before it would be visited by his holiness the Dali Lama. It is something I will never forget and an experience that very few people can relate too.

    Bang for the buck

    While the school is quite expensive, it provides students with experiences that put them ahead of their peers in terms of their adaptability, emotional stability, creativity, and critical thinking. Students will graduate with not one set career path but with many career options.

    What to do for fun

    Using Australia as an example, students have the opportunity to explore the National Parks of eastern Australia during camping trips, hikes, and other field trips. As well as an opportunity to snorkel or scuba dive fishing sanctuaries, to surf, to swim regularly, to pick up local fads such as fire dancing, or to explore their own interests in their free time. There is plenty of fun integrated into each program with money from students tuition going directly into the events they experience and opportunity to explore their interests with their free-time.

    Food and Dining

    Another great aspect of LIU Global, the food! As an international student you are exposed to a diverse set of cooking styles, eating arrangements, and ethically diverse eating standards. Again, it challenges the students to look outside of the edible constructs they have been subject to within their own lives. For a lot of students this exposure has caused them to think more ethically about their standards for food and their eating habits.

    Dorm Life

    This is one of the best aspects of LIU Global, students are placed in alternative housing situations. They are expected to be able to adapt to home-stays, dorms, hotels, hostels, and other various living situations as well as dealing with different personalities. Like most living situations, the ideal may not always be the case, part of the education isn't just the academics but in facing these challenges within ourselves along the way.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the center you choose in your studies abroad the academic rigor will vary. In my experiences though the integration of Independent Study projects allows you to make your academics as challenging as you would like.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are independently motivated and seeking adventure within your academics then this school/program is the perfect fit for you.

    In three sentences

    The Global Studies portion of LIU - Brooklyn is an experienced based program of studies that places students in various locations: Costa Rica, India, Australia, China, South Africa, Taiwan, Thailand, and Turkey. The intention is to expose students to various ways of thinking, learning, living, and structure in order to step out of the limitations of their own thinking. This provides students the opportunity to understand their role in a globalizing economy.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    68 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is gated and must use ID to enter.

    Bang for the buck

    Average education for an average price.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Manhattan, see what NYC can give you.

    Food and Dining

    Dining on the campus is average but, there are other places to eat around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I would only recommend for freshman and sophomore years due to some issues with older buildings. The elevators are a long wait.

    Academic Rigor

    Very helpful to students who struggle.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Pharmacy school this is the campus for you. Easy commute to Manhattan and back.

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus right on the center of Downtown Brooklyn. The professors show their students helpful information. Its an easy going campus with all the building connected.