Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

LIU Post - Long Island University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are the type of student who wants large classrooms, tall crowded dorm building and a city-like environment, Post is not for you. Here we have spacious fields, 2 to 3 floor dorm building with plenty of room to run. Occasionally you may even witness people riding horses while walking to class. This is a very calm, rural environment and perfect for focusing on studies. If your like myself, every once in a while I'll sneak away to the city also. =)

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering CW Post, extra activities besides your GPA are important.

    Bang for the buck

    CW Post is expensive, yes. However the degree of attention payed to each student individually, personal guidance counselors and available learning center hours allows every student the opportunity not only succeed but excel.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have no idea where else a person can study Forensics and Art and ride horses at the same time. Our on campus activities are incredible, equestrian clubs, forensic clubs, fraternities and sororities the options are endless. The campus itself is an old school style. Some building remind me of Medieval Style building and it beautiful. The gardens, woodland pathways, massive lawns and even ruins. I never get board of discovering new places here. Most of all, close proximity to NYC.

    Am learning a lot

    If large classrooms aren't your style, CW Post is perfect. Small groups allow teachers to learn your name and gives the student one on one attention. Questions are always welcome in classrooms, professors take personal interest in helping you succeed. Degrees are offered here in many areas, I myself am studying Forensic Science as a major and chemistry and art studio as minors.

  • 08/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I think what makes post enjoyable is if you are studying something that you like. I am a dance major at the school and I love the experience that I am getting. Along with all the great people I meet, I am able to further my knowledge in something I love doing. The campus is also an ideal size for me as well as the location. If you're looking for a smaller campus with a homey feel then post is for you.

  • 02/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you enjoy art,music,dance and theater then C.W.Post is the perfect school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking into this school make sure you're coming here just for educational purposes they have great programs(but it's more of a liberal arts school) but not a lot to offer regarding in the social aspects.

    Bang for the buck

    C.W.Post is expensive and I don't think it's worth the money

    Am enjoying being here

    I don't like this campus because it's so old and there is always something wrong in the dorms, the food is always the same and we don't have enough variety. There's never anyone here because seventy percent of the students are commutters and everyone goes home on the weekends.

    Am learning a lot

    C.W.Post isn't for everyone. I have been a student here for almost a year and i'm ready to get leave already, althought they offer alot of on campus events and opportunities for everyone to find something they're interested in whether it's horse back ridding or as simple as joining a sorority. I'm a city girl and I would much rather be closer to the city than to be beyond the lines of civilization, if you have a car then you'll be lucky to get off campus because public transportation sucks out here and theres no subways.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to experience a diverse group of people and like various different things. Long island university gives multiple options for majors, foods, dorming choices and more. It's a school of culture, experience, education and fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really make sure you have the financial aid for the school. Try to get as much cash as you can from them, scholarships, and federal aid. Long Island university is a great school but the knowledge of you owing money will stress you out.

    Bang for the buck

    Long Island University is pretty expensive but you get a lot for it. It is a private school and it's not that large in population so you are able together attention you need when you need it. They are able to help you in anyway they can. Plus you are getting a lot of experience and well educated professionals teaching your classes. Overall I would still make the same choice I did.

    Am enjoying being here

    Long Island University has numerous clubs and activities for it's students. The Association for Campus Programming (otherwise called the ACP) plans numerous events like movie nights during the fall and concerts during the spring. This semester they planned a city trip to see the Rockettes and the students only had to pay $30. The trip was amazing and the seats were very good. Events also include art exhibits, fashion shows, carnivals and all of this in just one semester. There was almost an exciting event every week. Even during finals week there was something going on. One example is the 12am breakfast, in which the cafeteria was open to all students and there was a large buffet style breakfast,

    Am learning a lot

    Long Island University prides itself as a well educated school for everything and anything. They want you to learn and enjoy learning so the hire the best teachers they can. My history teacher my first semester was a writer and had written books on countless historical events and has been asked to write reviews on other books as well. Most of my teachers I was lucky to get made class exciting and interesting to the students. I will also admit there were some teachers that gave me a hard time but even they helped me when I asked them to.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public safety is always on campus and can be there in record time if you call for them.

    Greek Life

    there are dozens of sororities and fraternities on campus and they all have a special thing on campus at the beginning of the school year so that you can get to know all of them.

    What to do for fun

    off campus, all nightlife is a short 15 minute drive away. there are clubs and bars and sports bars that you can go and have a great time. most of these clubs have nights where you can get in for a certain price when you say someone's name at the door. you can also go tot he beach which is also a short drive from campus. the mall is also near us, and the shuttle that is on campus is able to take you there.

    Food and Dining

    there is the main dining hall on campus called winnick and that is buffet-style kind of food. there is vegetarian and healthy options for you to choose from and also a grill, oriental, pizza, etc. they also have special nights where filet mignon and shrimp are served or when they have cheesecake and other special desserts. there is also hillwood commons where we have subway and starbucks and also there own grill that serves quesadillas lasagna, etc. there are alos litle cafes where you can pick up snacks and coffee inside of the library and humanities hall.

    Dorm Life

    living on campus you have 6 dorms to choose from, plus a suite-style dorm where you live in an apartment style room with 7 other people (usually for upper classmen who want to dorm with friends). there's many activities and events help by the clubs on campus, such as comedy shows, hypnotists, and dances.

    Academic Rigor

    there is an honors program that you can apply for and be accepted into. they are held very highly and there academic rigor is very esteemed. along with your major classes you also have to take math, science, history and english. be prepared for that. there is also a variety of different classes that are available, take advanatge of those, they could be fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply through the common app, its the easiest way. apply for as many scholarships as you can through the school, they give out a lot of them, so apply! you will have to take your maths and sciences, including your intended major classes so don't think you left all of that in high school! get to know your future professors and your academic adviser, you'll be with them for 4 years or more. this school also has a broad range of all different types of classes from music to sociology, take as many as you can. take advantage of the many opportunities here.

    In three sentences

    the campus is very diverse and has a large population of foreign exchange students. there is also many opportunities for students to study abroad and receive internships. the campus itself is beautiful and is really nice to look at on a sunny day.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has public safety in cars driving around 24/7

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs to join. you can even start your own club if the school doesn't have what you're looking for

    What to do for fun

    on the weekends there are bars and clubs. there is also a recreation center with a weight lifting room, pool, basketball court, ping table, and more.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is pretty good for the most part. there is a variety of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    pretty fun if you know the right people. there's many activities on campus. if you like peace and quiet 24/7 there's a dorm house for people who want quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    make sure to go to all your classes and you will do fine. speak to your teacher for additional help. most of the professors are considerate towards your grade

    Tips for prospective students

    students should dorm to have the full college experience. always have the writing center review your papers before turning them in to the professors.

    In three sentences

    the school provides tutoring for all courses you take. most of the professors are friendly and helpful. overall the campus is beautiful and there is many activities you can participate in.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus there is an infirmary located in Pell Hall. If you are feeling sick or anything you would go there and they will pay for transportation to and from the hospital. There is also Public Safety they are like the police officers of the campus. They are always patrolling and are there if any trouble occurs.

    Greek Life

    There are many Frats and Sororities on campus. They hold various events throughout the year and Greek Week when they all come out and show out. Each Frat and Sorority sticks together as brothers and sisters. There is no competition everyone gets along.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to join. Each year new clubs are create. The club i joined was ACP. Association for Campus Program. Its an excellent club that gets you involved on campus. You learn a lot and new things being in the club. As a member I have made it the e-board. I am now the special events chair.

    Great for these types of students

    LIU is great for any type of student. Its a place where any person is accepted no matter race, or abilities. There are various academic programs available for students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A popular location on campus is Riggs Lawn. Most outdoor events occur on Riggs Lawn. Its very spacious and fun. Whether and event is occurring or not when the whether is nice students have picnics on the lawn or play football and socialize.

    What to do for fun

    I like to hang out with my friends in our rooms for fun, attend events, or go to the mall for fun. There is Broadway Mall and Roosevelt Field Mall. I recommend Roosevelt Field! It is huge with a variety of stores! The city is also not that far from school . The school shuttle drops you at the LIRR Station.

    Food and Dining

    The Food is not bad. During finals week there's a midnight breakfast thrown for the students, I recommend attending that! Good Food! There is always daily pizza, deli, and burgers on the grill available. You can also get Starbucks, Subway, Sushi , and other meals at Hill wood Commons.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun , especially when you make new friends and get to know the people on your floor. The RA'S in the building have several events throughout the year to get everyone together . There are also lots of opportunities to win prizes. Every month there are also floor meetings to keep you updated on events and information.

    Academic Rigor

    I would like to major in Biology . So far I am doing great my fall semester i earned a 3.5 GPA and Fall Semester a 3.2 GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself , there are many great people to meet at Post. If you have struggles in writing essays the Writing Center in Humanities is a great place to visit.

    In three sentences

    The diversity at LIU Post is great. There are many activities to do that gets students involved. The staff is always willing to help you.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is good; it's a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    Too cliched and high-school like.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you're a commuter there is the Commuter Student Association, Student Gov't..those are the only ones worth checking out.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for Pre-Pharmacy and Business majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One good thing is that there is this mandatory break time; it's from 12:30-1:50. It's called Common Hour and during this time there are no classes so you get to hang out with friends, meet with professors if you have questions regarding your paper, join clubs, study notes for next class, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Not worth it. Honestly, why come here? Unless you're doing pharmacy, then it's a whole different story.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is pretty isolated; there's a mall 15 mins away and that's as good as it gets.

    Food and Dining

    Terrible food; one of my friends said the eggs don't even look real!, ha!

    Dorm Life

    I didn't dorm, but my friends who did say it was fun for the first few weeks, then it got boring and routine-like. The food at Winnick is horrible, many students often get sick from it.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the program you're in. If you're doing pre-pharmacy then yes it is tough. But knowing how to balance out school and your free time should make it a little stress-free. The pharmacy program is very demanding; but media arts, however, is more fun and less stressul.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you attend this school and think you're too good for it (chances are you probably are) then be a big fish in a small pond. You have to get out there and network yourself, make connections, ask questions.

    In three sentences

    It's overly priced, some programs like Pharmacy & Business are good, other than that attend a state school. It's not worth it to spend the money, you can get a better education elsewhere--trust me. If you're a smart student then it can be beneficial to you; you have to network yourself. The students overall are not bright and the friends you make freshmen year are the ones you're most likely stuck with.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are over 70 clubs and organizations that are always hosting events and activities on and off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of everything campus has to offer. Always stay on track and do things ahead of time. Have fun!

    In three sentences

    Post is the picture perfect green college campus. It has so much to offer. It really is a school for anyone.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs from community service, PTV, The Pioneer Newspaper, Dumbledore's Army, Anime, Twice as Nice(TWIN ASSOCIATION), to music groups such as The Gospel Choir Anointed Voices & the many bands AND SO MUCH MORE

    What to do for fun

    work out at the Pratt center - swimming, yoga, ZUMBA, treadmills weights it is all there. Several clubs host parties and fairs I am looking forward to rush week(first week) because they have a giant Carnival all throughout the campus and a club fair as well

    Food and Dining

    Freshman are mandated to select the Pioneer Living Plan1 ---it is an unlimited all you want to eat buffet BUT your dining dollars DO run out so spend carefully. Do NOT allow your eyes to be bigger than your stomach

    Dorm Life

    You can dorm with 2-8 people TRADITIONAL- 2-4 SUITES-6-8 some rooms have bunkbeds and others don't, but if you prefer bunkbeds poles are available. If you have a friend that you want to dorm with you, both must indicate that on your housing applications to verify mutual consent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wifi is EVERYWHERE but the dorms so you must bring an ethernet cable for your laptops...even though incoming students get free iPads. If you are a party person be sure to stay with friends, the campus is not in itself dangerous but the slightest vulnerability can harm just about anyone. Enjoy everything LIU Post has to offer internships, clubs, and the academic attributes as well.

    In three sentences

    LIU Post is an exquisite school equipped with a full recreational center, gourmet food, and a club for everybody. Like all schools the work is diifficult but there are upperclass tutors and teachers available to assist in any problems you may have. I cannot wait to begin in September.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Since it is a small school everyone knows each other, which makes attending events such as Football Games, Pep Rally, and Homecoming worthwhile.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive school!

    Food and Dining

    Food is typical but does have healthy choices for the health conscious.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm but from what I heard dorm rooms are very clean, and provides a fun and friendly atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Long Island University has an awesome welcoming atmosphere. From the outstanding faculty to the diverse student body C.W Post has something to offer for everyone.

  • 10/14/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I am currently a student at Brooklyn Campus of LIU & this school couldn't be much different except for the distance and location but, these university are great school to receive your degree from. I recommend it to anyone ! -Ashanti Monet <3

    Bang for the buck

    While it is an ver expensive school , you will work off the amount of money you are paying to go here.

    Will enjoy being here

    You will love it here !

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are interested in music but you don't want to declare it as your major there are many classes and ensembles that even non-music majors can participate in; don't be afraid to look!

    Bang for the buck

    The hefty price for attending this university is well worth it because there are many options available to students for free such as counseling, usage of the gym, and an available nutritionist.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and societies to be apart of such as the campus radio station, the arts/culture magazine, as well as the greek fraternity houses. There really is no need to leave campus in order to have a good time!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not at all what your mom would make. I've found bugs in the salad bar vegetables, and hair in the rolls. It's worse in the warmer months, and it's disgusting to say that you get used to it after a while. Sign up for the lowest meal plan because it's not even worth it to have the other more expensive ones.

    Dorm Life

    If you're used to sharing a room, you won't have a problem. However, if you encounter a problem such as bed bug infestation the university WILL NOT be on your side. Keep evidence handy if you find yourself in that kind of a situation, and get your parents on the phone because the university will only listen to them since they're the ones paying your bills. Don't wait for your RA to help you because they won't.

    Academic Rigor

    This isn't high school anymore, you actually have to study for a change. There is a time for fun, and a time for being serious. Especially because you're paying a lot to attend this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into financial aid options before it's too late; I'm currently trying everything I can to make this work and it's no fun at all.

    In three sentences

    This university truly is amazing. The surroundings are beautiful, and the people are personable. Attending this university is definitely a once in a lifetime opportunity.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many sports and activities all around the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Behave and get along, people are always looking for friends.

    In three sentences

    LIU is great. I love the staff and the great vibe you get at this school. Overall everything in LIU makes you feel right where you belong.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Tasty food.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are very big and nice. Great furniture

    In three sentences

    C.W Post have very beautiful campus and welcoming environment. At this college there are very hoepful staff memebers. Well visiting and staying at this campus the staff memebers helped me in picking classes and also gave advice on classes.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They just renovated their Hillwood Commons center to include new things. Starbucks and Subway are both on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you plan out your schedules for the duration of your career here. Some majors are set on a very specific plan and courses are only offered once per year.

    In three sentences

    LIU Post has the quintessential college feel. They offer extremely knowledgeable professors, and most of them that I've dealt with thus far really care for the success of their students.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is available 24/7. There are emergency towers everywhere on campus with a button to press in case of an emergency. Also they are just a phone call away. The have an infirmary as well in case of sickness or injury.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is really fun. At the beginning of the year, they start recruiting people at different events and it is a real fun time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone. Art, music, academic, dance clubs and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Musical, Theatre, Academic, Medical, Art, and many more types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hillwood is awesome because it has a game room, cafe, Starbucks, Subway, student lounges, a computer lab, a bank, and an art museum. It doesn't get much better than that. That is one of the many awesome places on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything a college student can need can be found somewhere on campus. The environment is wonderful to be immersed in.

    What to do for fun

    There is something to do every single night. There are tons of clubs to get involved with, many places all over campus to just chill out, and there are many events going on campus weekly.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great! There is a cafe called Winnick. They have a salad bar, omelet making station, sandwich station,a comfort food station, ice cream bad and so much more! The food is so tasty too.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome! Each dorm building is it's own community. The Ra's plan something special every week. It is SO fun!

    Academic Rigor

    All professors are so helpful and caring. They want you to succeed. There are also tutors available and extra help centers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to open house and see for yourself why this is a highly acclaimed school.

    In three sentences

    Long Island University-C.W. Post is a wonderful school that has everything that a college student could ever need! We are one very big family. Everyday here gets better and better.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't heard any reports of any kind of dangers on campus so since im out of the loop i cant give the school 5 stars, but everywhere i turn i see someone who works for the campus so i definitely feel safe.

    Great for these types of students

    teachers, art majors (i think), psychology, sociology and others probably.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i love the labyrinth and the little garden arrangement next to it. They give a very peaceful feel for relaxation

    What to do for fun

    for fun i like to relax with my friends on a bench by the labyrinth or walk around campus because there is a very woodsy feel to it.

    Food and Dining

    I've only really ate at subway but i hear that the food C W Post serves isn't the BEST quality food, but is par to most colleges.

    Dorm Life

    I commute but i hear the dorms are nice. The campus has a warm feel to it so i would imagine the dorms would too.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes seem to be very simple and the teachers seem very willing to help out their students. Definitely a good college if you want to try your best at good grades without overwhelming stress.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind and an eagerness to make new friends because everyone here seems to be open to meeting new people.

    In three sentences

    C W Post's campus has a very homey feel to it. There are plenty of trees, open fields, plants and wildlife. If a school that prides itself on its outdoors is what you're looking for, C W Post should be a college on your list of choices.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is everywhere on campus. They also have intercoms around the campus in case a student is in need of help.the campus is on top of there security for the students.

    Greek Life

    I am currently not part of the Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    LIU has there won club hour where all clubs get together. This is great because commuters don't have to worry about staying late on campus, and classes don't clash with the time. There are so many different clubs and clubs for anything you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all types of students. They work to accommodate any situations one can have.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus has there own chapel which I have never seen on another campus before. Students can attend mass on Sundays as they usual do when they are home.

    Bang for the buck

    Every Tuesday prizes are given out to anyone that is wearing the school colors! I find this to be very cool.

    What to do for fun

    The school has there own recreation room where there is a pool table set up. Also the commuter lounge has several game consoles set up and students are welcome to play them at any time. There are also computer labs set up as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food they school serves come in different varieties. They have a subways, Starbucks, and different stations that serve things such as pizza, sandwiches, salads and sushi. It could be improved but the food is just enough to fill the stomaches of hungry students.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter and I am not familiar with the life of a on campus student.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are really tough and expect a lot from the students. But if you speak with them they will work with you. Sometimes classes contradict with each other, leaving students with a long day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should make sure to seek help if they are struggling. The professors are very helpful. Students should also meet with their advisors at least once a month to make sure everything is going according to plan with their plan of study. Students should also participate in clubs to help build there resume, and help to enhance there knowledge for future endeavors.

    In three sentences

    Long Island University CW Post campus has a beautiful campus. The school also has excellent tutoring centers for students that need help. The school also has great academic advisors to help students.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has Public Safety, which drive around the campus grounds periodically and also have a specific campus location. They also have poles designated around campus where you can push a button to contact public safety if you feel uncomfortable where you are. They also have a phone number you may contact in case of emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    Previously mentioned in What to do for Fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    What makes LIU Post an ideal campus is that it is attached to the Tilles Center for the Performing Arts. Big names come to this theater, such as Idina Menzel and Mark Wood. Numerous performances take place here as well, such as Shrek the Musical, Potted Potter, and Romeo and Juliet. A big rumor to scare the freshman is that the Seven Gates of Hell is located on campus and that the Doll House is haunted. Don't buy into guys!

    Bang for the buck

    LIU Post is a great college. However, I highly recommend scholarship money. Work hard to do well on those S.A.Ts, A.C.Ts, and G.P.As!! Scholarships make college more affordable and there are also on campus jobs to help students pay tuition as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous things to do for fun on campus. In particular, many students flock to the clubs. An example fun clubs on campus are the Commuter Student Association and The Harry Potter Club. I particularly love the Commuter Student Association because they have field trips to bowling, the movies, and even Broadway shows that are affordable. My freshman year, the club saw Wicked, got transportation, and tee shirts, for $20 a head. Also LIU has a free hourly shuttle that takes students to the Broadway Mall, Pathmark, and the Hicksville Train Station. The N20 also stops on campus. This is nice because it provides the students with an affordable and safe way to get to where they want to go.

    Food and Dining

    The food is college food. Do not, I repeat not, expect gourmet. As a student your student id card is your lifeline. You are allowed to sign up for a personalized student meal plan in which you specify how many meals a day you wish to pay for and how much money you wish to have on your card. The meals per day apply to Winnick, where you swipe your card at the entrance for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The money on the card can apply to Winnick (if you wish to pay $13 for dinner) but most commonly applies to Starbucks, Subway, and the eatery in Hillwood Commons. An interesting tip is that mid semester, Winnick has a survey that students can take as many times as they want. After you take the survey you are given 3 free meals at Winnick. I took these countless times in order to help my commuter friends, who did not have meal plans.

    Dorm Life

    As a dormer, I can tell you that dorm like really depends on where you dorm. CHOOSE WISELY! What I find unique about LIU Post is that it provides a 24 hour quiet dorm (Suffolk). Now do not fall prey to the surmised fallacy that it is so quiet that you can hear a pin drop. The people living there are allowed to play music at a moderate level and speak in the hallways without screaming. This sounds normal right? It is. Students who apply to the other dorms (Nassau, Riggs, Post, Brookville, and Queens) give Suffolk a bad rep until they too wish they were able to do their studying in a quiet setting. I did not realize how lucky I was to be living in this dorm until I visited my friend in one of the other dorms and the door was vibrating because the music was so loud. Also, the suites are not preferred. I would advise you to stay away from them unless you are a party person. What is also nice about the dorms is that there is always an individual after 6 posted at the entrance to card individuals and make sure that they are where they belong. You are allowed to have a visitor in the dorm as long as you sign in them for up to three days straight.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are up to the challenge, LIU Post most definitely provides it. The college has an Honors Program that allows students to work toward obtaining a high G.P.A. with the incentive of scholarship funding. Specific classes are designated as Honors classes, which Honors students are required to take throughout their undergraduate years. This allows for Honors students to acquaint themselves with other Honors students. Also, the class size for Honors Students is smaller has a 20: 1 student/teacher ratio. I personally like this because it allows for more individual teacher attention. You are more likely to gain to attention of your given professor in a small class than a large lecture hall to ask a question! What is also nice about the Honors Program is that you are not forced to only socialize with Honors students. While you are required to take a certain Honors class, you take regular classes as well. Regular classes are not necessarily easy in comparison. Some of my regular classes have provided the most challenges. Professors work to challenge you in your classes and allow you to develop a taste for what they are teaching you. They develop a progressive approach and work to teach more than for just the test. They teach to spark the interest of the students and make them want to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good tip for prospective students is to know your major when you enter your freshman year here. By no means is it mandatory, however, you are allowed to begin in your major starting your first semester. This is very different from other colleges that may force you to begin with all liberal arts classes. This is very nice because you can take one class or two dedicated to your major the first semester and, if you do not like it, know that that is not that major for you. Also (on the glass half full side) you can take these classes and fully realize that your major is perfect for you!

    In three sentences

    LIU Post is a great university that offers a unique experience to each student. There are countless clubs that allow students to find their niche, whether a club for their majors or for their personal interests. While it works to enhance social networks, it also values academic rigor.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Saftey is very reliable at Post. There is a 24 hour watchman who rides around campus and makes sure everyone is safe. Emergency blue lights are scattered all around the campus as well to ensure safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of things to do on campus. There are over 50 clubs at Post and if we do not have something that interests you, you can make it yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who want a medium-sized college feel, in New York, but not in the city.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some cool hang out spots like the garden, the labyrinth, or between admissions and the personel office. Also, there are a lot of cats on campus that are strays. LIU: Post has a Cat Committee to take care of these strays.

    What to do for fun

    As I said, pay attention to the flyers on campus. There is a cinema to watch movies every month, game room, trips to six flags or basketball games. Also, join the many clubs on campus or Greek life.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average, but it gets the job done. Some days the dining hall will be very good, while on weekends it could be okay. Hillwood Cafe is newly renovated though, and has a plenty of options and great food.

    Dorm Life

    There are many building choices and they are all in the same area so you don't have to live on one end of the campus while your friends live on the other end. The regular dorm rooms are much bigger than typical university rooms and the buildings have a warm atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really know what they are doing and will help you at all hours of the day. There are many small classes, so you have a better student to professor ratio.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the flyers on the walls in the buildings, that is how you will find out about activities and where to meet people.

    In three sentences

    It is really fun. It's full of nice people. You find out how good you really are.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is very important at school. There are public safety officers all around campus that are there to help you with any problem you may have.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is popular on campus. There are some really great groups who do great things for the school and the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of awesome clubs at school. Everything from Ballroom dancing to an improv club. There is a club for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    The RA program is great for outgoing and fun students. You get to create fun events and help out students. You also get free room and bored which isn't half bad either!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Doll's House is a fun area to hang out at on the weekends. There is always a fun crowed to hang out with.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is a great school, but it is also very expensive and for certain subjects, you are better off going to a less expensive school. For theatre, however, this is THE school to be at.

    What to do for fun

    There is always a fun social event going on each week such as movie night and parties! Check the fliers around campus to get more details about the events going on each week.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good at school. There is an array of options so you will never get bored with limited choices.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love dorm life. The RA's make dorm life fun and inviting.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone is intelligent and so willing to learn and grow. It is so influential to see how hard everyone works.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a financial aid counselor for the best financial aid help! They help you a great deal and they are very nice.

    In three sentences

    This college had the most AMAZING theatre program in the New York. The professors teach skills that are not offered at any other University. This is THE place to attend for a theatre degree.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent

    Clubs and Activities

    donn't know no time for clubs now.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in mingling.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cafateria-great meeting place to hang loose.

    What to do for fun

    With on campus activities, and living in Nassau County-never a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad at all.

    Dorm Life

    Nice living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you pay attention and do homework-no problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention during class, great teachers.

    In three sentences

    Great school, great teachers and student body.The only problem with CW Post college is the high tuition.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a large variety of clubs and Greek Fraternity's available on campus. Also aside from that there are many parties held by the school and students. Many concerts are held on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is done by personally selected chefs by the school. The food is amazing. Feels like a 5 star restaurant. Large variety of food. Also there is a subway and a Starbucks on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very fun. Get to meet amazing people. Get the experience college to the fullest. All the amount of parties that are held at night are amazing and fun to be part of.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are demanding but what college isn't like that. The course are very flexible. Also Projects and big assignments are very fun to do because topics are chosen by your interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard during senior year in high school. Take as much AP course because they a very useful in college. Enroll into the school early. The earlier the greater the scholarship amount.

    In three sentences

    It's an amazing and beautiful college to go to. Its very costly, but the education received by them is worth it. A very fun and educational environment.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a private college so the tuition is VERY EXPENSIVE.

    What to do for fun

    Video game lounge?

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay for cafeteria food but there are very few choices and it gets old very fast.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Biology and math classes are tough but the English is the easiest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a car if you decide to come here. Stay away from the quad dorms and stay in Riggs or Post. Make sure to add a lot of dining dollars cause the main cafe is small and gets old VERY FAST.

    In three sentences

    This college has great academics besides English but sadly no campus life. Relaxing and peaceful campus with not many food or places to hangout. Nothing within walking distance which means taking a bus if you don't have a car

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt very safe at Post.

    What to do for fun

    Go off campus if you're looking to have fun. If you try to have a dorm party it will get busted within the first hour.

    Food and Dining

    The food is horrible. Probably my only real complaint about this school.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are expensive and dirty.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic difficulty depends at which level of courses you are taking. As well as if you're are enrolled in the Honors Program or not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do a lot of research before you decide which school you want to go to- it will pay off.

    In three sentences

    Post is a small school and has great faculty members who are willing to help you be the best you can. There are many opportunities to stay involved and many work opportunities as well. The school is expensive but offers well tuition assistance.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    South Campus (the music building) is way too far from the main campus. I don't have a car to get around, so that was always a struggle. The shuttle was fine but I like to make sure I'm there on time or early just to do some practicing.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive unless you're income is on the wealthier side. Like I said earlier the academia is mediocre so you could definitely find that in a state school somewhere. Sometimes I feel like for the amount that I pay for, I am not thought of enough by administrators. I got a half off scholarship but its still a lot. Be aware of loans, especially if your major does not have a definite job after graduation. E campus is exceptionally beautiful though. Then again it cost a lot of money to maintain it. I don't like the way the school advertises in the tri-state area. They advertise at train stations, buses, etc. it's a little much. They're spending a lot of money on that. Money that could be used to I prove campus life. Also they're de-valuing the school. By throwing its name all over the place. In my opinion if they needed more applicants they should've raised the standards of being accepted. Then it would be looked at as a prestigious school. And get more serious college students applying.

    Food and Dining

    there are lots of clubs and activities. There are also many on campus jobs available. The dining could be better, though. The student dining center has short hours on weekends, compromising the students who dorm on campus 24/7 and forcing them to look to spending money on restaurants and delivery options. Also, the student ID is used at the campus student center, Hillwood Commons, at places like Starbucks, Subway and the cafe. The money on the ID is decreased each time, however. Those dining options should be part of the meal plan, like it is at the dining center.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The people are friendly and there are lots of clubs and activities. There are also many on campus jobs available. The dorms are nice although some of them are dated. I also don't appreciate the room selection process. When I confirmed a room by myself I was surprised with a roommate a few weeks later, what was the point of confirming then?

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major of course. For example, a liberal arts major/undecided will have an easier time than an arts (music and theatre) or a science major. Classes are nicely spread along the day. I personally could not have night classes because I could never have the energy. I filled up my mornings and took afternoons to myself. The professors care about you as long as you respect them and inform them on late assignments, etc. I honestly think the academia is mediocre like most universities and not of a high standard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take out as little loans as possible, apply to all the scholarships you can.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Great shopping mall nearby, great running track and big gym with many amenities. Also, there are many groups and sports to join.

    Food and Dining

    There's a variety of different kinds of foods available, of course, you have your sandwich/pizza's available, as well as our favorite Subway, and small stores located around to pick your favorite fruit or yogurt.

    Academic Rigor

    Any class can have its difficulties, but with the amount of help provided from the Professor's aside from class time and tutoring available, many can do well and achieve their goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is the perfect school for students looking to concentrate on their studies, be part of a beautiful campus, and have the opportunity to meet many different people.

    In three sentences

    This campus is beautiful, it is a great environment, and very relaxing. There are plenty of computer labs and study areas, and being a commuter, this is very important. I am a Psychology major, and all of my Professors are very helpful, and give their time to help students, and there is plenty of tutoring available.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The gym and track field are really nice. There are some really good malls nearby, too.

    Food and Dining

    They have decent food. There is also a subway and starbucks on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It seems pretty average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just read you text, write your papers, and take you exams. You will do well.

    In three sentences

    It's is a pretty average university. There are a handful of really amazing teachers. It is quite expensive.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who really want to graduate and not wasting their time in school. People who go to this school strive for A's.

    What to do for fun

    I do not usually attend any of their fun activities but am aware that they have many.

    Food and Dining

    Great

    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to graduate on time, you have to visit your advisors to speak about your major.

    In three sentences

    Long Island University has great advisors and is a great University to attend. It is a little expensive but worth it because you know that you will graduate with the help that you are receiving.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    As a doctorate student I have little time for clubs and extra curricular activities, but the student union is always busy and flyers around campus for different events are endless.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They recently were shooting a movie on the campus and library. Marisa Tomei and Hugh Grant are in the movie. They both could be seen on campus during the shooting of the film

    Bang for the buck

    Parking is difficult as it is mainly a commuter school.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten at the student union - the food selection is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Evening classes get packed -so does the parking lots - come early to find parking.

    In three sentences

    The professors will support you and make sure you understand the topics and assignments. The professors want to see you succeed. The small class sizes are great for discussions and networking.