Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

La Roche College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Student groups and organizations........ sport and games.................... to get involved

    Food and Dining

    Quality meal plan........ breakfast, lunch and dinner

    Dorm Life

    Resident halls and facilities are intact. Room mates share common facilities. Resident halls have rules and securities provide safety.

    Academic Rigor

    very rigid and standardized

    Tips for prospective students

    early application new student orientation student development and Academic advising center

    In three sentences

    Low cost Quality education Great academic environment

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is ALWAYS there and helpful whenever they are needed!

    Greek Life

    I do not know anything about the Greek Life at La Roche as I personally am not interested in being a member.

    Clubs and Activities

    I currently am not a member of any clubs or activities as I just transferred, but I am looking to join in the near future and there is a lot to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to be part of a fun environment yet an environment extremely focused on the success of their students should check La Roche out!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Sisters of Providence that originally founded the college is right next store! There is also a hospital 1 minute down the road!

    Bang for the buck

    Although I do pay a bit more for my education due to the institution being a private college, I definitely feel that my money is being put to good use and that I am not wasting a single cent spent!

    What to do for fun

    Campus is always having activities available for all students, whether they live on campus or not! There is also a shopping mall and plenty of restaurants only a short drive away!

    Food and Dining

    Food is delicious and there is always something exciting on the menu to try!

    Dorm Life

    Although I do not live on campus, I hear the dorms are clean, neat, and a wonderful living environment!

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely challenging but the challenge is rewarding in the end and help is ALWAYS available!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely complete a tour of the campus and a meeting with an academic adviser! They are extremely friendly and are willing to do whatever they can to help you meet your educational goals!

    In three sentences

    La Roche College is a small, yet bustling school. Professors and students throughout the school are friendly, always smiling, and eager to help in anyway they can. I transferred here but have never felt more at home!

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is just a phone call away, guards walk campus all night long, and I've never felt unsafe walking in the dark from the library to my dorm.

    Greek Life

    Not many if any sororities. I'm not sure if they exist on campus. Sports teams are very close though, you'll become a family.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many you won't know what to do first.

    Great for these types of students

    There's all different kinds of people on campus; athletes, intellectuals, and then those weird kids that you'll be friends with for the rest of your life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are events every week, you'll never be bored. Avoid the gazebos though unless you enjoy 'cancer sticks.'

    Bang for the buck

    You'll find amazing professors who are completely willing to help you outside of class. You'll get a great education for what you're paying.

    What to do for fun

    Sports are amazing here. Not only are our teams great but there's something for everyone. If not then just start your own. Plus La Roche is right on McKnight Road, there's always things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of choices in the main cafeteria and also money for the cafe. You can take as much as you want in the cafeteria, one of the reasons people gain so much weight their first year in college.

    Dorm Life

    Be ready to hear the people next door to you talking. The connecting doors do almost nothing to block noise so when they talk loudly it's like they're in the room with you. Be prepared to find out things you didn't want to know.

    Academic Rigor

    Like anywhere else you'll find students who love to do work and those who love to party. No matter what though you can find someone who loves or hates studying just as much as you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a sport. So many of my friends here are ones that I met through the team. I love my team so much and am happy that I'm getting the chance to know them.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love La Roche College. The campus is small and personal with all of your friends within walking distance. The students and faculty welcome you wholeheartedly without any hesitation.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do follow strict safety on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are soooooooooo many clubs and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great foro student who want to work and have fun

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The parties are fun.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth every dime, especially since traveling abroad is free.

    What to do for fun

    Visit all the fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    Could use some improvement

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers will give homework, but they are laid back and do want to to get to know you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at this school, all the programs are amazing

    In three sentences

    Beautiful Campus. Everyone is very friendly. The food could use some improvement.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Constant patrolling of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You can get an education anywhere, some places much cheaper, but it's all about the environment you want to learn in. They had small classes and many of the teachers I had did not act as your superior they treated you as adults so they didn't talk down to you when you didn't understand something. They would take time before or after class, even time out of their own free time to help you with any questions you had whether it was school related or personal.

    What to do for fun

    They do offer weekly activities for all students, trips dowtown with transportation, trips to the zoo, pirate games, karoake, pizza nights, dances, theme nights. All tickets that are necessary for events such as Pirate games, or shows held downtown you can get much cheaper through them.

    Food and Dining

    If you loved high school lunches, which I did not, you'd love their food. It's expensive and not worth eating it.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay on campus I commuted, but looking back I'm glad I didn't stay on campus. It's a HUGE waste of money and trust me school is expensive enough without the extra tack on of room and board plus a meal plan. Don't let anyone fool you, you don't have to stay on campus to have a real college experience. Most people went home on the weekends anyway.

    Academic Rigor

    Being in the real world of business I'd have to say I was not taught the reality of it. The things I do every day at my job are far less scary than what they tell you in school. Memorization is a lie too, I have the help and support I need for questions on things I don't understand all around me. I don't have to stress about not remembering anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to deal with issues on your own when it comes to advising, at least in management. Also, be prepared for constant screw ups with your financial aid. Don't back down, they have been WRONG EVERY TIME so far!

    In three sentences

    They are very unorganized, and majority of the people who work there are very hard to work with on certain issues. Such as, financial aid, advising, and special needs.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good cause cops are there all the time

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    boring ones who want to teach themselves

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    motherhouse.

    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    don't go unless you check it out many times and are positive.

    In three sentences

    its is terrible. plain and simple.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Does not apply.

    Great for these types of students

    La Roche College is great for studious, low-key/mellow, non-city life, non-traditional students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students are invited to volunteer for many activities that are supportive of the Sisters of Divine Providence, which is the nunnery that started the school and continue to support it. The activities are a great opportunity to give back to the Sisters and the community. The labyrinth is located on the opposite side of the Mother House and is a great place to unwind and meditate. There is also a chapel on-campus that provides a sanctuary for meditation. The Wright Library is the most commonly used place for study groups, individual study, and to keep cool (it's the coolest spot on campus - temperature).

    Bang for the buck

    The education and support are great. The tuition is a little high, but it is worth it if you are serious about getting a good education in a quiet atmosphere with great professors.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of on-campus activities that appeal to a variety of students. There are amenities (malls, laser tag, parks, community pool) within driving distance, walking distance if you are not opposed to a one mile hike at minimum.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school that provides small classes, a caring atmosphere, a diverse student population, and lots of support from peers and staff, then La Roche is right for you. Be sure to explore thoroughly the tuition and financial aid options that are available to you. If you like to be able to walk to local amenities or do not like the rural, small atmosphere, then you should look elsewhere.

    In three sentences

    La Roche provides structured, focused, and diverse educational opportunities that are available in many different areas of study. The staff and professors are extremely supportive and offer assistance when it is needed in the proper amount to allow students to be successful. On-campus life is quiet, allowing plenty of time for studies, but also allowing students to engage in quality relationships with other students.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is in a good neighborhood and is also a catholic campus. I haven't heard of any problems safety wise on campus and I have attended this school for 2 years.

    Greek Life

    I don't think there is greek life here. There may be and I just don't know of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've seen everything from student union clubs, travel clubs, GSA clubs, dance clubs, and a large amount of male and female sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Mixed culture students and those interested in sciences.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of

    Bang for the buck

    Between the safety of the campus, the beauty of the surroundings, the small sizes of the classes, and the professionalism of the instructors, I believe it is one of the best schools in Pittsburgh anyone can attend.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of sports offered on campus to students and student activities.

    Food and Dining

    There are a number of options on finding foo on campus and around campus. It is a large shopping district off of campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but from what I hear, it isn't that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty is very good at what they do. They have a lot of knowledge and information to share if the students are willing to learn it. There are some very in-depth classes that can really test your limits.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is the same with any college you attend. Go to all of your classes. Ask your teachers if there is anything you don't understand. Study hard. Remember the reason you are in college, to secure your future, not to worry about other student's drama.

    In three sentences

    LaRoche is a very diverse school. I love its science department. It is in a very safe location.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say I feel safe because they are always around, but in an emergency they weren't as helpful.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    Great for these types of students

    People who aren't used to small schools. Those who don't want to live far away from home, but still want a college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Most people get a lot of money off tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really, I guess party since there is nothing else to do. You can't walk anywhere and everyone goes home on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food just plain sucks. No variety, and it there is, it is usually a miss.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a rip off. The walls are paper thin, and with conjoining doors it makes it impossible to sleep if you have a rowdy neighbor. I think they try to lure potential students in by the benefit of having a bathroom in each dorm, but I have been to other colleges and sharing a bathroom with other people is not as bad as it seems.

    Academic Rigor

    Compared to how hard friends from other schools study, I do not see that rigor here often.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go here.

    In three sentences

    La roche is a very small campus. Many times I feel i'm in the thirteenth grade. Many people dislike the campus and do not stay on the weekends.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always there when you need them but do not expect them to be there in a hurry unless it is an absolute emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    Joining clubs is a great way to stay involved and up to date on all campus activities. LAF has events at least twice a month to boost student moral and it is very effective.

    Food and Dining

    The Redhawk is rarely open when it says it is and the food is good on occasion. The dining hall has more good days than bad but expect that with all schools.

    Dorm Life

    Bold Hall is where all the freshman live and although it can get a bit crazy there is always something going on. Making friends with your neighbors makes for a more enjoyable semester.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors push you to do your best and expect nothing less from you but, are there to help you if you need it. Takes notes and pay attention in class what is said will most likely be on an exam.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take every opportunity to get to know other students, go to all social gatherings and athletic events. Get involved- join groups and make new friends.

    In three sentences

    La Roche college has a diverse community with many exciting opportunities. The teachers truly care about you and how you perform in class. The campus is small but it makes making connections so much easier.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities that one can do on campus whether it is joining a club or playing a sport.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with people from the basketball team and go out as much as we can.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good they have a variety of foods you can choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms there very spacious and it gives you a comfortable setting.

    Academic Rigor

    Never fall behind because the more you miss work and don't show up for class the harder it is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to always check your email because that is the main way professors will get to contact you.

    In three sentences

    Overall I love this college because it is small and you get almost of attention from your professors. I also love the sports the student body is very supportive and come to all the games. The best thing about the college is the teaching staff everybody is willing to help you if you need it.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always things to do on campus. From karaoke nights, to bingo, to the spring formal, you`ll never be bored and there are lots of things to do in the area.

    Food and Dining

    The food here isnt too bad. There is something you can always find to eat, Also we have an express food center called the Red Hawk Cafe

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good. Freshman live in Bold where you get 1 roommate your own bed, desk, dresser, closet and you share a micro-fridge. Also you and your roommate get your own bathroom

    Academic Rigor

    Professors here teach very well. They all have many years of experience in their field and are always willing to help

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommending coming to La Roche. There is always help that you can get whether you are having trouble in classes or personal issues academics and counseling support is always there for you!

    In three sentences

    La Roche College is a very diverse and small campus. Teachers know you by name, not by number. There are many cultures and countries that are represented.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Interior/Graphic design majors Foreign students Students who want to travel

    Bang for the buck

    3 stars because I don't pay much before the semester starts due to loans and scholarships, but I'm going to have a ton to pay back. La Roche is too expensive!!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends Go to the mall Visit the city

    Food and Dining

    I'm not sure, I don't eat here.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live here so I'm not sure what it's like

    Academic Rigor

    I was a designer for my first 3 years. It was really tough. I barely slept because I had so much work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class- You won't pass if you are consistently absent. Teachers DO take attendance. Get to school early if you commute/take early classes- Parking isn't very good on campus. It's not a huge campus, but you have to park in back lots if you don't get there early enough. Plan your major out carefully- Changing it close to the end of your college career might push your graduation back. Take classes you need to graduate before you take a bunch of electives.

    In three sentences

    Small classes definitely make hands-on education easier and more fun. Parking conditions are bad for commuters; live at school if you can, it's close to the city! There are a ton of majors to choose from even though it's a small school.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security officers on duty 24/7. They are pretty slow and some can be stuck up though.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and organizations on campus, take your pick but don't over do it.

    Great for these types of students

    Wanting a small campus environment and want small class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Providence Heighs adjacent to the La Roche campus and they old volunteer opportunities every week and can be used to complete LRX requirements.

    Bang for the buck

    La Roche is small, has 4 residence halls, 3 academic buildings, a library, and a main gathering area and cafeteria. There is also a 1200 seat gymnasium and a indoor track above the basketball court. All the buildings except the gym and residence halls are connected, giving the college a high school feel and look. The good news about this school is that it's a small campus and people know who you are. The bad news is that it's a small campus and people know who you are. So start college off right. :)

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, join activities, go out and do stuff off campus, and get involved in clubs. Only downside is that students go home on weekends so it can be very dead and some activities during the week barely have anyone at them.

    Food and Dining

    Food can have its good and bad days. There are only two places to eat, the Cafeteria and the Red Hawk Cafe, a small take out cafe for anyone wanting a quick bite to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Bathrooms in each room and depending what building you're in, you can have between 2-6 people in a suite style room. Only downside is that the walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors if they are loud.

    Academic Rigor

    Medium difficulty, some classes are easy while others are hard, also depends on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the best of it since 4-5 years fly by real quick so make them count! Make friends, socialize, and get involved but don't slack off on academics. Get tutoring if needed.

    In three sentences

    La Roche is a small college in McCandless Township PA , with about 1500 students enrolled. Professors know who you are. This school is known for its Interior and Graphic Design programs.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school offers some fun activities to do, but the real fun is in the city of Pittsburgh.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! They have so many options and even the pickiest eater can find something that they like. What I personally really like the huge salad bar that they have that is filled with local fresh produce. They also offer options like chicken and pizza, but also have things like steamed vegetables and potatoes.

    Dorm Life

    I never have been in the dorms ( I am commute) , but I heard that they are painstakingly small. The cafeteria food is good though and they do offer fresh and local produce which is awesome. I believe that laundry is free as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The quality of education is superb. The professors know you by name , and always are available for help. When I email my professors, it usually only takes them a few minutes to respond! (Gotta love smart phones) The class sizes are small, and if you have any type of disability or mental health issue, they will go out of their way to take care of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in a sport or activity, especially if you are a transfer student or freshman. There are lots of clubs you can enroll in, and not only will you make friends this way, but you can also add it to your resume.

    In three sentences

    La Roche offers great education and diversity within the campus. You will meet lots of people and have a good time, but be able to focus on school work as well. If you are a crazy partier , this is not the place for you.

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see a security guard all the time when I am there.

    Food and Dining

    Needs a better selection of healthy food and 24/7 service.

    Dorm Life

    Needs more single dorms. I wish it was less expensive to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging yet rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on your A game and give it all you got.

    In three sentences

    A great friendly school. The campus is safe and quiet. The students and teachers are nice and helpful.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    adult learners

    What to do for fun

    SPEND TIME WITH MY CHILDREN

    Tips for prospective students

    Take one assignment at a time. Don't become behind and overwhelmed.

    In three sentences

    La Roche has a wonderful online program for adult learners who are pursuing an RN to BSN degree. As a widowed mother of 3 children. I am not able to attend traditional classes. La Roche is providing me the opportunity to obtain a degree that will ensure a secure career needed to support myself and my children.