Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

La Salle University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/23/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like small classes and a more religious atmosphere with great activities this is good for you. You have to like the city and should probably be able to get scholarships, grants and good loans.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up your grades!

    Bang for the buck

    I hope it's worth the high price. It is a private school with small classes and a great atmosphere so I hope it stays worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    There are a lot of clubs and things to do after and in between classes. It's in Philadephia; surrounded by historical sites and fun activies all around.

    Will learn a lot

    The Nursing Program is supposed to be amazing and I can't wait to start working with the professors. They have a lot of opportunities for work experience as well.

  • 06/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come into college thinking it is going to be just like high school, because its not. There is way more studying that will have to be done to pass college exams, and a lot more reading. College is an experience that you will never forget, and you should do everything you can to make it worth your while, study study study! keep that gap up.

    Bang for the buck

    Its worth the tuition that you pay because of all the extra help that is given to students, and there is mass that can be attended also if interested. The advisers are extremely helpful when it comes to making a plan for yourself in your college career.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here there are a lot of different types of people and the campus is full of opportunity. There is late night la salle every weekend if you ever need something to do. We have every sport except football. There are always games going on for students to attend and cheer on their team, we also have the explorer entourage which is for students with school spirit that helps cheer the team to victory. There are other clubs from dance team, to African American Student league, etc Anything you can think of.

    Am learning a lot

    This school is great for learning because of the class sizes. All classes are small to the point where the professor will know your name, and you can sometimes even gain a close relationship with the professors. Because you can get to know your professors so well that gives students to communicate with them better and get extra help from them if needed. Its great

  • 10/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    La Salle is a great college for students who want to have a more personal college experience. We are not the type of school with large lecture rooms full of hundreds of student who are identified only by a number. It is not uncommon for students to have a close and personal relationship with professors and classmates, often students even call professors on their cell phones when there is a problem or question with an assignment or class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective student to keep and open mind. Although La Salle does not appear to be in the best of areas, it has more to offer than what is seen at first glance. Basically, don't judge the book by its cover! La Salle gives it students such a sense of community and belonging and offers many opportunities for success in college as well as in our future careers. I often view La Salle as one of Philadelphia's hidden gems; it is something special hidden in the outskirts of Center City Philadelphia.

    Bang for the buck

    La Salle offers a number of events and trips that put tuition and the $100 student activity fee to use! I have taken several trips to New York City and Washington DC for a refundable deposit of just $5! I would suggest that all students take advantage of the tips organized by the school. On the other side of question, along with a private school education, comes a private school tuition. From my personal experience in the classroom, I have found that the price of the school is acceptable for the quality of education I am receiving. All of my professors know each student by his or her full name by the end of the first week of class and begin to show legitimate interest in each student's education and plans for the future. These qualities alone are priceless in my opinion.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have found that around every corner a friendly face is ready to help students in any way possible. From the maintenance and cleaning staff to the cafeteria workers and professors, almost everyone is willing to offer a kind greeting or smile as you walk through campus. There are plenty of student activities to participate in on the weekends and great opportunities to get involved with the community such as neighborhood tutoring for children in the neighborhood and neighbor to neighbor where groups of students assist the elderly with projects around their homes on weekends.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently enrolled in the speech-language hearing pathology program at La Salle. In the three years that I have been at La Salle I feel that I have learned more than I ever expected to, not only about my future profession as a speech-language pathologist, but about myself as well. The professors at La Salle have a common goal of helping their students be the most successful students they can be.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    La Salle is located in Philadelphia. It is about 20 to 30 minutes away from Center City and can be accessible via Septa bus or Subway line. There are several amazing and historical museums and sites to explore.

    Dorm Life

    I was a commuter during undergrad and currently commute to the Main and Bucks campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    Staying focused is very important. Studying hard is even more important. I definitely suggest making the library your new favorite hang out. The expectations are high and you have to be willing to meet them head on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard while maintaining a balanced social life. Try not to overwork yourself; however, slacking is not an option at this university. Great challenges await you, but they are achievable with a strong work ethic. And definitely make your professors your new best friends.

    In three sentences

    La Salle University is well known for its challenging nursing programs. I am a current student in their MSN - Family Nurse Practitioner program. I find it to be challenging, but rewarding and I know in the end hard work will definitely pay off.

  • 08/26/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 16 people found this review useful. 3 people found this inaccurate. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i don't know what that means

    Will enjoy being here

    i believe that i will enjoy being a this university

    Will learn a lot

    i believe that your school will help me to get ready to become an accountant

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities that you can do

    Food and Dining

    It's alright

    Dorm Life

    Especially in Basils

    Academic Rigor

    If you take the right course

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to the honors program!!

    In three sentences

    La Salle has an amazing Honors Program and promises to challenge you. I would suggest trying to apply to the honors program because it is definitely worth it. All of the college professors are great

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are alot of clubs and historical sites off campus, on campus there are alot of groups, sporting oppotunities, and service projects.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. It really all depends on the type of food you like.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are like any other college dorms your expirience will be great because the people are usually very personable and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The Rigor really all depends on your major and how you manage your time if you dont manage your time any college in the world will be difficult. As long as you dont procrastinate and you manage your time the curriculum is fine

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up to be and stay eligible for money you can recieve to help with tuition.

    In three sentences

    The campus has a cozy small feel but it is large. There are many clubs and activities. The people and staff are very welcoming and friendly

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    they are in the best stage of their lives for study and have unlimited of resources for study to achieve their dreams.

    Tips for prospective students

    they have to study with passion and give tanks to life by living in the United States, because the best college around the world are here.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that any effort that we made for get a good education is little, because the benefit that we are going to get in the future is going to be great, specially when we compare the education in Latin America and Unite States. There is not better investment in this moment that invest in ourselves, when we give us the opportunity to study today.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying studying in this university because there is not better opportunity to study that everyone has now. i do not understand to some young people that have good opportunities to have good education in this country and they do not do anything for take advantage of whole resources they have for study.

    Am learning a lot

    I am an immigrant who is in his second year in La Salle University, my learning is optima spit of my limitations in the English language, because my native language is Spanish. My GPA scores of the last year are 3.57 and I hope to improve them the following semester when I will be better adapted to the American education system.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Being in Philadelphia and taking advantage of the public transportation there are endless possibilities on what to do.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there are two different cafeterias, a market, smoothie bar, and the student union which has many food options. Both cafeterias offer a variety of different foods each day serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are not exactly new but they are normally clean. Upperclass man have better housing options.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are difficult but most professors are nice and willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    One important tip I have for any prospective student is to not only take a good look at the school and the area but also the people that attend the school and if you can see yourself fitting in.

    In three sentences

    La Salle University is a great school but it is in a bad neighborhood of Philadelphia. Overall the school has many opportunities for their students to take part in. La Salle concentrates not only on academics but also on student life which is great.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plenty of security, just don't want to wander off alone.

    Greek Life

    you will meet a lot of people.

    Clubs and Activities

    Makes life more interesting.

    What to do for fun

    Basketball games, school functions, sports, taking trips into the city, and working out at the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't that good but there are days where you're going to get up for seconds maybe even thirds.

    Dorm Life

    If you interact with the people around you, you will like it. Problems are with the a/c

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are challenging make you think a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, there are many great programs and clubs you can join. It will make school more interesting but always keep up with school work.

    In three sentences

    The neighborhood is not the best but it is a great little school. The classes are enjoyable and you learn a lot. There isn't many big events but the few that there is are exciting and fun.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study!

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to get to know your academic advisor.

    In three sentences

    lasalle is a great school for adult learners. the online program is very convenient. the professors are very knowledgeable.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i like to play basketball.

    Food and Dining

    the food is outstanding.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are in great condition

    Academic Rigor

    it is very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is important to use every resource.

    In three sentences

    it is a close community. it has great professors. it is a respectable environment.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    rally teams step teams

    Great for these types of students

    communication majors and nurse majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    sense it is a catholic school, lent was unusual to me because i wasn't use to it. but it was cool.

    Bang for the buck

    the kids who attend lasalle make the school fun also. everyone is friendly and wants to have fun.

    What to do for fun

    lasalle has a lot of things to do on campus like movie nights, sports games, and fun parties.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not get caught up in partying so much where you lose focus.

    In three sentences

    i love it

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    commuter connectors - they organize parties and other stuff for the commuters. if you go to any of these, you can meet other commuters, hang out for a while.

    Food and Dining

    the only time i ate there was on my day one and it was pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    i am a commuter. so, i can't really say.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to do a lot of reading and writing.

    In three sentences

    professors are very nice, always ready to help out and will work with you if you have trouble understanding any topic. but, there are some security problems in the neighborhood area. overall, it is a good school.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    La Salle did just increase the cost per credit, but I believe that is happening all around the country.

    Tips for prospective students

    Think about whether you want to live in the city (main campus) or attend a satellite campus in Plymouth Meeting or Bucks County.

    In three sentences

    Satellite campus at the Plymouth Meeting Metroplex is very convenient. The professors have been great and easy to get a hold of. I really enjoy my curriculum thus far!

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join sports -- lacrosse and tennis are the most popular. Join the social clubs - there are plenty and surely something that will fit every student's interests. Become a greek!

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent and inexpensive. There are many different cultural cuisines to choose from. La Salle also promotes healthy eating with most all of their dining facilities

    Dorm Life

    I am an adult student so I can not speak to what dorm life is like - I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    La Salle has some of the best and brightest minds in the city. The course loads are not too difficult but they are challenging and force you to push yourself. The professors care and want nothing but success for their students

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're planning to apply to La Salle be prepared to work hard. The standard of excellence is set very high. Get involved in the many activities that the university has to offer. If possible be a resident student to get the full college experience - the campus is beautiful!

    In three sentences

    La Salle is a very diverse university. La Salle offers great flexibility in class schedule for adult students. La Salle's class size is perfectly suited for students who require individualized attention

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not really much time for me to enjoy campus life.

    Food and Dining

    There are always healthy options as well as alternative vegetarian dishes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging but manageable if you put your mind to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities on campus Make the best of your college experience

    In three sentences

    La Salle has the ability of making one feel comfortable. Due to the small size, getting to know professors are easy, they will even be able to know you by name.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself is pretty safe. There are guards patrolling the area on a daily basis and the campus gates are locked after 6 PM. However, you must be careful when going OFF-CAMPUS.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are nice; others, not so much. I don't have much of an issue with their living quarters, except the inability to control the heating and cooling environment of your own dormitory. The university seems to have a central heating system. Therefore, there have been many occasions in which I was unable to adjust the heat during the cold weather.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't say much about the undergraduate courses since I am enrolled in La Salle's graduate program. However, based on my experience, the graduate courses on-campus are intense and will require much hard work. If you put the effort in your studies, then good grades will be expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Admissions Department at La Salle is very helpful and offers a lot of useful information about the university. You should definitely make an appointment with a counselor for an info session before making your decision.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security at every entrance to Campus and there are security cars, and even Philadelphia Police riding through campus. Although it is in the city and not the safest area, when you are on campus you couldn't feel any safer!

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities on Campus that are sponsored by RSA or Late Night La Salle which are fun to participate in. Also, there are a ton of shops, places to eat, and walk around in the City which is just a train ride away!

    Food and Dining

    Tree Tops: Good food, best nights to attend are the specials. Blue and Gold: Great Breakfast food! Union: Great for in between classes - Pizza, Salads, Sandwiches, Chicken Fingers, Breakfast Sandwiches, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Traditional Dorm setting - No AC (unless in Basils or Kats), community bathrooms, etc. But you well become very close to the people living in your hall, which makes the college experience even better.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are all great at their jobs! Respect their teaching by attending and doing you're work and you'll do well in their class. This isn't a cake walk, you have to do something in order to get the grades you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most classes are small, unless in a lecture hall, so your professor will notice you are not attending.. So try to go to class as often as you can! It will also help with getting good grades!

    In three sentences

    There are so many great opportunities offered at La Salle for any type of student. It's a big enough campus where you won't know everyone, but you can get everywhere by foot (or with the great shuttle service offered!) With the Philadelphia so close, there is always something to do!

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out with my friends to the movies. Lisen to music.

    Academic Rigor

    its was easy

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Finish all your homework on time 2. Be a good student 3.Go on time for school

    In three sentences

    I would say that is 10. Its a great school.I'm very happy to attend this year

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very secure and there are also security guards located around the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of choices whether you want to get involved with Greek life, community service, or academic clubs.

    What to do for fun

    They have activities planned for most Friday and Saturday nights throughout the year in addition to various academic and social events during the week.

    Tips for prospective students

    The number one tip is go to your professors and ask if you don't understand something - it forms a relationship and lets them know you want to do well.

    In three sentences

    La Salle is a great school for getting to know your professors and having them get to know you. It is full of research opportunities as well as other community service and involvement opportunities. The professors are great and want you to succeed.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    All types of activities going on school.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Stays off campus

    In three sentences

    Lasalle is a very good school. First semester there was very positive. Wish I could take part in more on campus activities.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security on and off campus is very important in the city and La Salle really takes this aspect of there community seriously. There is security booths on just about every corner of the streets surrounding La Salle as well as in all of the parking lots for students of La Salle.

    Bang for the buck

    La Salle is not a cheap school, but it is worth every penny. The opportunities that are available at La Salle and the percentage of successful careers that come from this school are proof that this school is definitely a band for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is small itself, but there are many things available to the La Salle student. On campus there is a comedy club and dances and activities available. As well as having the easy access to go to downtown Philadelphia and experience center city also!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are also great at La Salle. For commuters, a food card is still available. As well as having a cafeteria that has many options available. There are vegetarian options as well as just simple healthy food options.

    Dorm Life

    As a commuter of La Salle I am not overly familiar with dorm life. I have seen the dorms and am friends with people who have lived on campus. As far as I hear and as far as I personally can tell, dorm life is great at La Salle. The dorms are clean, and the campus is set up very nice and accessible for commuter and dorm living students.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is not easy. You must be a focused and driven student in La Salle. Although the work is rigorous, the professors and staff are always coming up with more ways to help you through it. For example, in classes that are historically very tough, the SI program is available. Each class that is voted necessary for this program has an SI leader and they schedule study times and classes to help you better understand the material you are learning in class. It is a huge help and they even come up with practice tests and finals before exam dates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your teachers. They are willing to form relationships with you and will go out of their way to help you. All you have to do is open that door. Ask a lot of questions and do not hesitate to e-mail or contact teachers. Also, the campus is small so don't stress about scheduling classes too close together. You can make it anywhere on that campus in a 10 minute maximum. Also, take advantage of all the opportunities that La Salle has available. They have a great study abroad program, as well as many different speakers on all sorts of topics come in and have open discussion just to help open your mind on new things. Don'e be afraid to jump in and discover new things! La Salle has many waiting for you!

    In three sentences

    La Salle is a small, connected school with many opportunities available for all students in all programs. It provides a very motivational and inspirational environment for the students. The teachers and professors at La Salle truly care about the students success and do everything they can to help you as a student perform to the absolute best of your academic ability.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Running track

    In three sentences

    I'm just beginning here but my sister goes here. I enjoy the campus, the food, the track and the education seems well. I am happy to attend La salle!

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is an important priority at La Salle, and there are always officers patrolling the campus. Overall, I feel pretty safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities available to students. From mock trial to playing on the lacrosse team, there truly is something that fits every interest and personality type.

    Bang for the buck

    The financial investment in a La Salle education is bound to pay for itself once students have earned priceless degrees at this distinguished university.

    What to do for fun

    The La Salle experience is full of fun activities. From concerts to movie nights, there is always entertainment waiting to be enjoyed around campus. In addition, La Salle offers many extra-curricular activities that serve to enhance cultural awareness, build lasting friendships, and prepare students for their prospective careers.

    Food and Dining

    A wide variety of options are offered, including vegetarian options. This means a lot to a health-conscious person like myself.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus but I hear nothing but positive remarks.

    Academic Rigor

    At La Salle University, hard work is required to obtain good grades. However, the knowledge and skills that students are armed with by the time they graduate makes it all worth the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to explore the wide range of majors and minors La Salle has to offer. This makes it easier to target specific areas of interest and map out a plan for success in their chosen fields. In addition, those planning to attend La Salle should become familiar with the staff as soon as possible. There are many friendly people around campus who go above and beyond to help students in their pursuit of higher education.

    In three sentences

    La Salle University is a great institution to attend for several reasons. Not only is the student body diverse, but the instructors also genuinely aim to help students succeed. In addition, the courses offered to students are guaranteed to prepare them for the real world once they enter the workforce with their degrees.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security, and own train shuttle so you don't have to wait by the train.

    Greek Life

    Big at La Salle.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of community service and clubs you can join.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lets just say its a catholic school, and the area is not that bad but La Salle offers 24 hour security in the dorms and around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Highly expensive.

    What to do for fun

    You have the city thats a train ride, and tons of activities planned on campus, sports games and etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. Lots to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    La salle is a very old school in which all boys use to attend so most of the dorms are made for the boys like the bathrooms. But they did renovate a few of the dorms around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classrooms are a great size not too big and not too small. Teachers are open to explain any questions and offer study session to review the material during that week.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is very expensive to attend. You want o make sure if you did not come on a full ride that you have applied to every grant or scholarship you can, so you don't risk getting kicked out of school because you cant pay for it like I did.

    In three sentences

    La Salle University is a great college with excellent staff and students. They offer a lot of tutoring programs for students who need help on a paper, homework or even studying. There is lots to get involved with at La Salle and tons of fun off campus to.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    non existent.

    What to do for fun

    Very close to the city so really any events that they are having are just a train ride away. Also, they coordinate events here.

    Food and Dining

    At first i thought that the food was disgusting especially at B&G. But, B&G has improved. The food is much better and sometimes they have themed dinners; like mexican night or crabfest.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are dorms not hotel rooms. Mine isnt that bad but it could be better. St. Basil are the newest so they are the best.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a very academic driven school. Depending on your major, is the level of difficulty. Nursing majors really have to stay on top of their work, the nursing program is very vigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just stay on top of your studies.

    In three sentences

    La Salle is a great academic school. very focused on the success of their students. If a party school is what your looking for this is not it.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security of La Salle campus has become very strict but definitely needed. The protection of this campus makes a safer environment for all.

    What to do for fun

    My friends and I enjoy campus late night activities such as movie nights, massages, mini-golf, dodge ball tournaments, and paintball. Also, we enjoy traveling downtown and seeing my of the city with shopping and eating out.

    Food and Dining

    The dining halls has improved for the better over time. The La Salle workers make the halls more exciting. Their communication with he students is great especially if in need of help that goes both ways between the workers and students.

    Dorm Life

    During my freshman year I enjoyed campus living and now being a commuter because of financial reasons I still visit. The communication with others/floor mates is great when it comes to activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, La Salle has a criteria enforced which all students attending any college should keep in mind. The grading systems are particularly different depending on teacher but the academic level is stress but this encourages me to want to push harder to strive for good grades for myself.

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed the campus life of this university. The atmosphere, even though surrounded by the city, is calming and the students and teachers are approachable and friendly. I would love to continue my education and graduate from this college.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lasalle has two gyms, a track and field, basketball gym, a pool, many sports/clubs teams, late night activities at the school on the weekends, volunteer work around the city, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining halls at Lasalle are awesome. They have buffets of various types of food, flat screen televisions for entertainment while dining, and respectful staff members to serve you.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm life is a great way to enter college, you meet plenty of new friends and you learn the responsibilities of living on your own. It gives you the chance to act as an adult and balance your school work, free time, and study time. It allows us, the students, to decipher what is more important - work or play.

    Academic Rigor

    La Salle is most definitely an academic achiever-based school. The faculty and staff are always there pushing their students to their greatest of their ability. They send e-mails almost everyday offering one-on-one tutoring sessions, and free classes to improve time management, study habits, and stress relief tips.

    In three sentences

    La Salle University is a great school to attend, they have many majors to chose from, over one hundred clubs to join, and numerous sport teams to join. Aside from sports, La Salle offers tutoring and assistance for any subject when it is convenient for you. As my first year as a Lasallian student, I have never felt more welcomed and acknowledged as a freshman student with help always being an e-mail away.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security all over campus.

    Greek Life

    I am currently a freshman doing my first semester so I wouldn't know anything about the Greek Life currently.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am part of A/ASIA. Very fun group!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am a commuter and during my free time or breaks between classes, I go to the commuter lounge. The commuter lounge is where everyone hangs out. There are couches, tables, and a pool table and it's for people to basically lounge around.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the buck.. not really sure what they mean about this.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun, for commuters and residents. There is a program called Late Night La Salle and they plan events for everyone to come together. The most recent one was the lock in, which basically explains what it is. Everyone is locked in a room together and free food and games are provided. For commuters, there is something called the commuter connector which is a person informing commuters what there is to do on campus and creating events for commuters and allowing them to get to know each other.

    Tips for prospective students

    La Salle can help guide you in the correct path for your future. I entered La Salle not knowing who I want to become or what I want to do. Taking classes that interested me and talking with an adviser helped me pick my major and my career field.

    In three sentences

    La Salle University is an amazing institution with plenty of potential for students. The staff and faculty members are there to help any one at any time. This university is very welcoming to newcomers and will feel like a second home.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter so I don't really know

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go 1 block outside the campus without friends

    In three sentences

    La salle is a predominantly white school so if your a minority you will hear little jokes that they say that are not funny. I've personally deal with this and certainly don't like it. Other than the race issue la salle is nice.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can always go to the every day activities that the students at La Salle host or you can either go out in the city and enjoy what Philadelphia has to offer. There are many dining rooms that you can attend and movie theaters that are really not that far, you just have to know how to get around.

    Food and Dining

    Be prepare for the food and dining! It is not the best food that you have had and most of all is repetitive every day. Be sure to bring a small refrigerator, microwavable food and good snacks!

    Dorm Life

    I spend a week in a dorm and for me it was a pleasant experience. You get to know people a lot faster than when you are commuting and it gives you a good insight on events that happen around the university. One thing that really deteriorated my experience was that I felt home sick and that I missed having my own room!

    Academic Rigor

    The school work can be really overwhelming but at the same time helpful. The proffesors really fill you up with knowledge and best of most have tutoring or office hours for when in doubt.

    Tips for prospective students

    La Salle University is a religious school but don't let that discourage you since the people there can be really outgoing.

    In three sentences

    La Salle University is a beautiful and calming environment. It is full of life and surrounded by nature. It gives you an opportunity to discover your self as a person.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    La Salle security officers are always around to keep the campus safe. However, we are in the city; use your street smarts. The shuttle or escorts are always running.

    Greek Life

    There are fraternities and sororities, but there are no official greek houses on or off campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities, and it's very easy to start your own if it does not already exist.

    Great for these types of students

    Business majors

    Bang for the buck

    Most La Salle students receive generous financial aid (need-based and merit-based).

    What to do for fun

    Go into the city, go to sporting events, join clubs, go on community service trips.

    Food and Dining

    Two dining halls for meal plans, Subway, Starbucks, food court, on-campus convenience stores, lots of delivery places, nearby Dunkin' Donuts and Fresh Grocer grocery store.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorm buildings are aging, but most students who live on campus enjoy the experience. It's all what you make of it!

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends a lot on your chosen major. The science and nursing majors, for example, are often acknowledged to be more challenging than others. Most of the common core courses are not too challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that La Salle has the majors you are considering. I know a few students who have transfered because they did not look into what majors La Salle had before enrolling!

    In three sentences

    La Salle is not on the top tier academically, but professors and other staff at this school care about developing well-rounded graduates. There are lots of opportunities to get involved at the school, in the city, and globally. Try your best here and you will succeed.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots of clubs and activites

    Food and Dining

    Great many choices and the food is tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Don;t live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Great love the teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    Get financial aid together, email faculty with questions, if you live in the area consider sommuting.

    In three sentences

    Big school, nice campus, amazing people.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    basketball games, parties, city activities

    Tips for prospective students

    Think about going for the honors program, it is very good. And take advantage of the scholarships

    In three sentences

    I love La Salle. It is a tight-knit community where everyone you come in contact with wants to help you. Students can be a little cliquey.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, I sing in two choirs--the La Salle Singers and Gospel Choir. I play in the universities' Neo-African Drums and Dance group. I also do community service at soup kitchens during the week.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining consists of many options. There are two cafes on North and South campus for students in dorms to access, and commuters can pay $9 for the buffet-style meals. The Union consists of a market, a sushi and Asian food place, a barbecue-style place, a pizza place, burger place, a salad place, Starbucks, and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but I hear many stories of how different it is from former commuters. It seems to be fun and interesting. The students in dorm seem to go wild.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is tremendous. The workload is excessive. Procrastination is not accepted.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to college based on academics, choose La Salle. The community is very friendly, socially and economically. The campus is very diverse.

    In three sentences

    La Salle is a great Catholic University. The academic standard is not at an ivy league standard, but it is high in comparison to what that standard could possibly be. The university is more academic-based rather than a party school.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of stuff to do in Philadelphia and allows students to explore one of America's most historical cities.

    Food and Dining

    I hear it is good and there are plenty of options.

    Dorm Life

    Some are nicer than others. Saint Basils is the best dorm on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be difficult, especially if a student is in the honors college.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest students to apply to the honors college.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus that is modern and supports its students. However, it still keeps the mystique of an old Catholic university. It is wonderful and fairly green for being in Philadelphia.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food plans that they offer are really good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    They push academics to the maximum

    In three sentences

    So far La Salle is an amazing university. I went to the day one orientation and it was great. The people there are so friendly and they don't overbear you with information.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Stay in groups at night.

    Greek Life

    I do not know much about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unfortunately, La Salle does not have an orchestra but we do have many other music groups, literary groups, and anything else you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to venture and have fun, but still know when to study and get serious!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have this beautiful location in the cove of the campus. Not many people know about it. The Japanese Teahouse is a peaceful, gorgeous place to eat, study, or stroll through with friends.

    Bang for the buck

    As soon as you come to La Salle you feel welcome by the friendly students and professors. This school truly cares about those in need. We've had many events that involve donations and giving to those who do not have food or money. We watch out for each other and all in all it is a tight-knit community.

    What to do for fun

    La Salle has fun events all the time for students. Free food, games, and activities that help others while still making it fun! And catching a train to explore the city. We have Explorer Passports that gives discounts and free admissions for locations and events all over the city!

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually pretty decent. Not the best, but it's better than high school food for sure. There are also great food trucks right on campus. And if you want to take a walk up for Chinese food or catch a train to get food in the city, even better!

    Dorm Life

    This really depends on where you dorm. If you are in the Honors Program or an upperclassmen you get the nicer new dorms. Otherwise, find some people to get an apartment off campus with because you do not want to be stuck in a small room with people you may or may not like.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors genuinely care if the student tries and cares about his or her grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buckle down and study. College is fun,but you are there for an education. The parties can wait. Do not travel alone at night. Take every test and quiz seriously. Be sure of your major or else you'll stick around for more than you can afford or desire. Be social! You'll meet the most amazing people that are sure to be life-long friends if you have a good judge of character. Get involved! Be a part of the La Salle community in every way you can.

    In three sentences

    There is a great teacher to student ratio that allows more focus on individual students and provides more help for students. It is a beautiful, small campus that a student will not get lost in and feel at home. This campus is close to a myriad of public transportation that makes it easy to explore the history and fun spots in Philadelphia. Go Explorers!

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. There is always guards out making sure everything is safe.

    Bang for the buck

    If you work hard for you education, every dollar spent at on La Salle will be worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Got sporting events such as basketball, lacrosse, baseball, volleyball. Hangout with friends, and go out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. There is a lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    Crowded but very fun if you like meeting people. The dorms are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics require a lot of hard work and studying. The professors are great and teach very well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work and focus.

    In three sentences

    La Salle is a very beautiful and scenic campus. The staff there are all extremely nice. The education process is very good.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs. Like the gaming club.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    don't live there.

    Academic Rigor

    They will help you get better

    Tips for prospective students

    You want to get to know your teachers here.

    In three sentences

    A pretty good school that is small and laid back somewhat, but is friendly.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hey it's Philly. Just like any other inner city area, be mindful and pay attention to your surroundings and you'll be fine.

    Greek Life

    thinking about pledging....

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive. But no worse than the rest. I got decent financial aid. Could have been more.....

    What to do for fun

    Parties and University organized activities are surprisingly fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is just ok. I got bored with it. Lost weight. I'll put it back on over the Christmas break

    Dorm Life

    My floor mates and room mate are mad chill; my bros The water doesn't get hot enough! I hate that! The room is a little cold.

    Academic Rigor

    Caught me off guard. Stay focused

    Tips for prospective students

    The course work was tougher than I expected. The professors are accessible and help in available. Take advantage of it!

    In three sentences

    Great school! Tough coursework!!

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    shootings weekly

    Greek Life

    more prevalent than they say

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    Be safe, and participate as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    Close to the city. Not many Parties. You're either in greek life, play a sport, or sit around and do nothing.