Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

La Sierra University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    La Sierra is a place for all!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take full advantage of opportunities to get involved. Though it may seem that you are swarmed with studying and homework, having an outlet to interact with friends and do something different for a change is truly beneficial. Also, know that teachers are there to help you. Office hours are truly a blessing and every student should definitely take advantage of them.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, I am fully aware that La Sierra comes with a high price tag, but investment in a place that is overflowing with high academics, a loving community, and great Christian family is crucial. Though I have personally experienced many doubts of attending a school that seems to be sucking every penny from my wallet, i know that in the end, it will all be worth it. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy the atmosphere that is presented here at La Sierra University. Being a private school, the class sizes are relatively small and God is everyone's main priority. It is nice to commune with fellow believers and even though not all students are of the same faith, everyone is courteous towards other religions and respectful of other practices. The people here are what make La Sierra such an awesome place to be. Everyone that comes through here will surely have many great experiences that will be remembered for a lifetime.

    Am learning a lot

    Here at La Sierra, teachers care about the well-being of their students. I know that if i have an questions regarding material for a class, i can simply ask the teacher for more help and they are willing to help you better grasp any concept. I know that when I miss a class session, i am missing so much information that cannot simply be made up because class time is so valuable.

  • 06/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types especially out of the box thinking Christians

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all your work and go to worship every week.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any and all!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can afford it it's a great school.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth its weight in gold. But it is way to expensive when we have a family of 7 and I have a loan of over $15k from one semester :(

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved attended La Sierra. It was so personal and helpful.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned more at this school then any other I have attended. It is a great small school and I loved it!

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Their Business program is really amazing, they go into competitions with other schools and they have won a lot of first place trophies to prove their success. So a student who is interested in business and who like to be able to join church while on campus will find this school a perfect match.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those who will mostly likely attend, this sounds like a great environment to learn and create new friends in. I am going to attend this school once I get the money to go, so from my experience of visiting, I know this will be a stress-free place to go and a great learning experience.

    Bang for the buck

    This being a private school, the prices are high, but I believe their program is worth the money you will be spending for this school. You will get so much out of this school, so the expenses are worth the education you are getting.

    Will enjoy being here

    This school is enjoyable to visit and attend. Every time I have visited La Sierra I have felt welcomed and comfortable. The staff and students are very helpful and friendly, they will help you with any questions you may have and be happy to show you where to get any other information or who to talk to about your situation.

    Will learn a lot

    La Sierra provides students with plenty of information to get that student to the next step. I believe a student will learn a lot going to this school, because they make sure each student is given the materials and opportunity to learn everything they need to learn in order to continue with their dreams.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there is everything from a martial arts club, to a dance club, to a tri-beta club (biology honors), to a pilipino club. as far as activities go, salsu (student association of la sierra university) puts on several activities on throughout the quarter such as ice skating nights, roller blading, cosmic bowling, karaoke, speed dating, and fashion shows.

    What to do for fun

    right down the street, there's tyler galleria (a shopping mall), target, kohls, best buy, and many other stores and restaurants. the beach and disneyland are both about an hour away, as well as the mountains for skiing or snowboarding.

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafeteria which has relatively good food, but with limited hours. that's definitely a downside. but there is also a small eatery on-campus called the eagle's nest which is open almost all day. the food there is great!

    Dorm Life

    dorm life at lasu is amazing. the relationships that you are able to build with the people you live with is great. the deans and the resident assistants are really helpful and really well trained. it is also an added benefit to be able to wake up five minutes before class starts and still be on time.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the class that you take, the level of academic rigor varies, of course. science and math courses here are extremely rigorous and the teachers expect a lot from their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    coming in to this school, really just put yourself out there. be confident and have fun. if you're open to making friends and learning, you'll receive relationships, life lessons, and academics by the bucketfuls.

    In three sentences

    la sierra university is a small school where a person can't walk five paces without saying hi to someone they know. on-campus activities are always fun and a great chance to meet new people, and classes are relatively small and personable. the education given here, while not at the level of stanford or harvard, is still challenging and extremely enjoyable.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have lots of activiates, sports , skating,mission trips and summer camp to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    you will enjoy the environment, its so peaceful . friendly environment, everyone is helpful.

    In three sentences

    outsanding, excellant and peaceful

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 Hour security with a personal phone number, Campus is completely surrounded by gate and locked doors. Texting emergency alert system. I have walked around this campus at night and have ALWAYS felt safe. The surrounding city and neighborhoods are also quite safe.

    Greek Life

    No Frats or sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of volunteer activities, clubs based on language and ethnicity, spiritual life, exercising, and sports.

    Great for these types of students

    SDA's/Seventh Day Adventists, liberal Christians, students seeking business, science, religion, or education majors.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there is a lovely library. There are also many trees and grassy areas for relaxation. The student life organization frequently hosts fun events for entertainment and relief, such as: outdoor laser tag, free fast food lunch, free ice cream, dancing, etc. This campus is located in Riverside, California, which is an hour away from Disneyland, the beach, the mountains, Los Angeles, and Palm Springs!

    Food and Dining

    LSU is perfect for the health-conscious eater. It supports a strict vegetarian diet, with a variety of healthy, non-meat meals in the Commons. Surrounding the campus are typical fast food conveniences, along with the adjacent Oasis vegetarian cafe and health food store.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus. However, when I visited friends the dorms, they always appeared clean, calm, and organized.

    Academic Rigor

    A private university, LSU is tough. While definitely not Harvard, it will absolutely earn you what you pay for! Be prepared to study hard, write lots of papers (with editorial help from the English department, of course!), read lots of books, and have many in-class discussions.

    In three sentences

    LSU is one of the most ethnically-diverse schools in the United States, and is one of the most liberal Seventh-Day Adventist University worldwide. You will find students and faculty representing almost every nation and language, along with a female as the head pastor of the corresponding church. Classes are educational and the professors are kind and resourceful.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is in Riverside so its a relatively safe area.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of shopping areas near by, plus the gym is always fun to burn off some calories.

    Food and Dining

    Everything is vegetarian so that may take some getting use to. The food is not the best but its not the worst!

    Dorm Life

    Angwin is the best dorm. It is full of life and they get the students involved.

    Academic Rigor

    The class size is small and there is opportunity for one on one help.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think non SDA would love this school along with SDA students. It takes a bit of getting use to.

    In three sentences

    This school has been amazing. I love the environment, the location and the class size. It is a different experience.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A gate surrounds the entire campus and to enter you need a valid slide card. The security on campus is also constantly present and there are emergency call towers around campus that will directly contact them if you need anything.

    Greek Life

    There are a few honor Greek sororities/fraternities but they aren't heard from much.

    Clubs and Activities

    SALSU (Student Association of La Sierra University) has special events held each week on Thursday evenings. There are tons of clubs to choose from and they all are pretty involved on campus so you can't go wrong with whatever you decide to go with.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are serious about their grades and those who want to have clean fun on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    La Sierra University is based on the Adventist faith. So there are some differences around campus from others such as the lack of a football team, the lack of meat being served on campus, and every Thursday students are required to attend University Worship at the campus church.

    Bang for the buck

    All of your tuition money is put back into the school. Whether it is making repairs, hosting events for all students, or updating the classroom technology. Everything they do with your money is to better the school so you'll be proud of where you attend college.

    What to do for fun

    Go to on campus activities, volunteer opportunities, go to the movies, ice skating, roller rink, rock climbing, going to the gym, shopping, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is entirely vegetarian. They use veggie substitutes instead of meat in the food. The cooks do a nice job with making the food taste good despite it's lack of real meat and they are constantly coming up wit new ideas on what new item they can add to the menu.

    Dorm Life

    There are curfews to follow while living in the dorm and you do have to attend one dorm worship a week but living in the dorm has been the best experience of my life! The people that you meet in the dorm are amazing and you honestly have a lot more fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough only if you don't study or find help. The teachers are always willing to stay after class with you to talk about things that you don't understand and the campus has a tutoring center that is open almost all day.

    Tips for prospective students

    !. Do not procrastinate 2. Study at least two to three days before a test, not the day of! You'll stress yourself out with last minute studying and it won't help your grade. 3. Enjoy college and have fun!

    In three sentences

    The people on campus are the nicest people you will ever meet. The weather is almost always perfect and the campus is small so you have smaller class sizes. Spiritual life on campus is a big part of La Sierra as they are based on the Seventh-Day Adventist faith.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every time there is an unexpected dilemma (ex. Shooting, fire, etc.) Security immediately sends you emails and texts so you can know what is happening. They usually give you the exact place where it is taking place and advice to stay inside, and later when everything is clear they send another email or text telling you that you can continue with your normal activities.

    Greek Life

    We do not have a fraternity and sorority community on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    These are some of the clubs: Hispanic Club, Filipino Club, Commuters Club, Accounting and Finance Society, Pre-Law Society and there is many many more.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are willing to learn different things and try out new things then this school is for you. Also, if you want to have a deeper relationship with God this school has your back. If you want to be in a Christ-like environment this place is for you. Of course, we are not perfect but we do try.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Thursday we have worship from 11 a.m. to 12 p.m. These services are required with the intention to give you an hour to put aside all the school work and to just relax. They share stories from the Bible that illustrate scenarios that we go through still today and the purpose is to encourage us to never give up. In my opinion they are very helpful and it is an hour where we can just relax. This school also has three great museums. The Museum of History, Brandstater Gallery (Art Museum) and the Stahl Center Museum of Culture. They are all free for LSU students.

    Bang for the buck

    The money that you are investing to come to this school will be well spent. Aside from the beautiful campus, they provide great educational tools that as a La Sierra University student you will be privileged to use. You will be paying for a great education I promise. They have great professors here and they do their best to offer you a great education. You will really like it here.

    What to do for fun

    Well, the school has ice skating nights, roller skating nights, bowling nights. Also capture the flag (glow in the dark) nights and karaoke nights. They have a nice gym, a pool, tennis courts and big soccer and baseball fields. They have a lot of clubs that you can join and they each have their events. The school will give an ID and with that ID you can ride the bus for free so you can go to the mall or eat out with friends. There is also a small hill toward the back of the campus where you can go for a hike, once you reach the top you are able to see a large part of the city, the whole La Sierra campus and if you wake up early enough you will see a beautiful sunrise.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is vegetarian, so it may or may not be something new to you. The veggie food here is not bad, they have a buffet-like service. I am not vegetarian and I have gotten used to the food. They change it up everyday, from Mexican food to Middle Eastern dishes. You learn to live without meat, which is healthier for the body. I have heard that La Sierra offers way better food than other schools, not to brag or anything.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great! You will meet great new people. There are many students that come from different parts of the world. You are basically independent here, which feels great. It is a very homey environment and the deans are always willing to help if you get a little homesick or if you are having any problems.

    Academic Rigor

    This school cares a lot about their students and their students success so they base their rules on What will make the students happy. They are strict, simply because they do not want anyone to intervene on others' success. Yet they are not overwhelming on their rules. Just be respectful and courteous and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    At this school you will learn to go beyond your limits. You will receive a great education integrated with Christian faith. This school is not here to forcefully convert you but instead it is here to share the love that God has for you. The different departments offer extra help if you need it. The professors will always be willing to help answer any questions that you may have. There are various school activities that you can get involved in as well as school clubs that you can be a part of. La Sierra University is known for having an extraordinary School of Business, as a Business student I can say that they have amazing opportunities for you to achieve your goals. This school is great and I am sure you will love it.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra is a small great Adventist University. Here you will find a warm environment and an everlasting education. Diversity is what makes this school unique, people from all over the world come here and everlasting friendships are made.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food in la sierra university are fair. there is also cafe and vending machines around campus.

    Dorm Life

    most of dormitories of la sierra university are located inside of the campus. amenities of dormitories are fairly good.

    Academic Rigor

    la sierra university has a strong health professional programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students should come to la sierra university with open minded. there are plenty of resources available for students if they seek for them.

    In three sentences

    la sierra university has a small campus with a beautiful and serene environment. most of classes are kept in small numbers. therefore it is easy for students to keep in touch with their professors. the faculties of la sierra university are very friendly and caring for students.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe here at la sierra. there is always security around 24/7 so we always feel safe and secure.

    What to do for fun

    there are alot of things to do in school. if you live on campus there are always activities going on like laser tag, ice skating, bowling, and many more. the good thing about it is that its all either very cheap or free of charge.

    Food and Dining

    la sierra's cafe is so good! its not always healthy but its delicious! you will not be let down ever.

    Dorm Life

    love it! best experience of my life! everyone is so nice and you are with your friends 24/7 living with you. its amazing.!

    Academic Rigor

    if you dont stay focused it is very easy to fall off because la sierra always has activities going on to distract you.

    Tips for prospective students

    when you come to la sierra come with an open mind and dont be afraid of new things and new people.

    In three sentences

    la sierra is a great school to make friends. everyone here is really open and welcoming. going here makes you feel at home.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i play sports.. soccer... we made it to nationals..2011 but a lost of activities year round

    Food and Dining

    good and healthy

    Dorm Life

    awesome!! first year dorm-ed but now i'm off campus, but my current roommates were my freshman year floor mates....

    Tips for prospective students

    administration staff will work with you, very friendly

    In three sentences

    the professors are very approachable. business department is extremely competitive. university atmosphere is awesome.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel extremely safe in the campus. We always see the security walking around. As well as having the security office close by. The security also send out emails and text messages when anything is going on.

    Greek Life

    There are none of the above.

    Clubs and Activities

    My self I am involved in a couple clubs including LUNA which is a club that is intended to learn about all cultures. Another called ROOTS which allows us students to go to various churches and help with their worship services. Also I am part of the Environmental Club. There are many club ranging from all the fields of education,as well as other more less scholarly type.

    Great for these types of students

    this University is great for any type of students. Whether you are the outgoing type, quite and shy it does not matter. If you like the outdoors or like being inside there is room here for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have student mission life week which is a week when the missionary club can promote where they have gone/ planning to go and I like that there are still people who will devote time and effort for others. Also there are worship times which i find strengthening for my own daily life.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go to the mall, thrift shops and parks. There are soccer fields,tennis courts and there is a hiking area to be in the outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    I am more than happy with the food. I am a vegetarian and the food here is 100% vegetarian and i love it. The food is healthy and the hours are reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    I am dorming this year and it has been a great experience. I can walk to my friends dorm to get help in homework, as well as make new friends out in the dorm activities.The RA's are very helpful and nice just lovely people.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect you to do nothing but your best. They will help you with things you are having trouble with and there are tutors for extra help. Yet in the end they expect you to give 100% of your effort to get a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say they would need to keep up with dates, do not leave everything for the last minute, and get to know their professors. ANother thins i would say is to get involved in the school activities. Last but not least would be to study, study,study.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra University is extremely peaceful environment. If i would rate it on its professors I would give them a 10 , they are very helpful, always available, and knowledgeable.The University is diverse in religion and in cultures.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    La Sierra University promotes a healthy life style with their food choices. There is absolutely no meat in the schools meals which allows students to choose to live a healthy lifestyle. There is also a variety of food choices students have from salads to fruits to vegan food, pizza, hamburgers and much more.

    Dorm Life

    Residential life can be very fun and comforting. Those who dorm have greater opportunities to establish long lasting friendships and relationships. Every week night the school holds a worship service for students which allows students to have a moment to relax and praise God.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at La Sierra University is precise and fair because it allows and encourages students to live a safe, fun and an ethical life by following the schools standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    One recommendation I can give to prospective students for La Sierra University is to keep an open mind and heart for the different ideas that the school conveys because some of these ideas, specially the spiritual ideas can change your life in a way you might have never imagine possible.

    In three sentences

    My experience at La Sierra University has been an amazing and a life changing new adventure in my life. In these past two years I have grown not only intellectually, educationally but also spirituality. La Sierra University has opened my eyes to a wider range of the opportunities that are out there in the real world.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is a great place for any type of student, and accommodates all races, genders, and religious choices.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They are a Seventh Day Adventist affiliated school and they only require that you attend an all campus worship service once weekly to help enrich students spiritually.

    What to do for fun

    They have several extracurricular programs with student life. Whether it is academic, athletic, or spiritual they have many options to help any student have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely give it a chance.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra is very student oriented. They are dedicated to the enrichment of students lives. La Sierra University is a model college.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Im only part of one, but there are various

    Great for these types of students

    Students that don't like big schools

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    REVO is fun

    What to do for fun

    Not much

    Food and Dining

    I like it

    Dorm Life

    dorms that have a commuting bathroom are not very pleasant... there is a time to be back and they check door to door at 11 to see that everyone is in their room

    Academic Rigor

    The school doesn't feed competition, you only compete with yourself. It is academically rigorous

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off, a quarter goes by really fast!

    In three sentences

    It is a close community with amazing and competent teachers, it lacks some entertainment but overall people are welcoming and willing to help. Also if you talk to professors and get to know people around, it is very easy to get a job and also there are many influential people that can recommend you to places.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe we have police everywhere on are campus. They are really nice and have protected us from many people who have came on campus.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs on campus but REVO has to be one of the best.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Seventh Day Adventist students.

    Bang for the buck

    EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE!!! For how much I pay to attend this university there is a fee for everything. It's over 9,000 a quarter and summer school is out of the question. Classes are small which is a plus but the building ant fees are to much.

    What to do for fun

    Depending on your major you will see what is fun. Chemistry has a GameCube in their building which is always fun. After that just being social in dorms is the only fun thing.

    Food and Dining

    Food is vegetarian and sometimes very good but most of the times the food taste like plastic. Eagles nest might be you best place on campus. Jack in the box is just down the street as well.

    Dorm Life

    People in the dorm are nice but the dorms themselves are old and extremely load. Not just because of the students but you can hear every level.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be hard but the professor will work with you and you can talk to them one on one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take all your generalaid as fast as you can. Classes don't get to full but the faster you are don't the better your college life will be. Also take classes after 1pm so you will not have to attend university worship.

    In three sentences

    Old building that are extremely load. Professor are vary Though out the departments. Campus seem empty When you are outside because everyone is in their dorms or at home.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent! The entire campus is surrounded by sturdy gates. A school ID is required to enter through any entrance of campus and the dorms. And, security office is open 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities at La Sierra. Best part is, is there are no restrictions or requirements. Anyone can join a club and attend the activities. Club Rush Week is one of my favorite weeks of the school year!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students !

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's dorm worship everyday, though not required to attend. Christmas caroling. The Christmas Tree lighting. Dorm competitions. Talent Show every quarter. A banquet every school year.

    Bang for the buck

    La Sierra is a great school but I wouldn't ever say it's worth what I've been paying.

    What to do for fun

    LOTS! The presence of La Sierra University has come to create a college community concerned for its students. All the fast food places and several stores around La Sierra have come to close later than most due to the students living on campus. La Sierra also hosts HUNDREDS of events on campus for those who don't have cars or simply don't have the money to spend on outings. There is ALWAYS something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great compared to other schools but has the tendency to get too repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun and very beneficial but is also quite expensive and the buildings could use some upgrading.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is excellent here at La Sierra University. This school always offers challenges in hope to fill its students with knowledge and wisdom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know as many people as you can. The more people you know, the better your experience will be.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra University is a unique and accepting school. It's a beautiful campus filled with the friendliest people you'll ever meet. Attend La Sierra and your guaranteed to have a life changing experience.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 57

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    La Sierra University is a great school. I just finished my first year here. If you're interested in small class sizes and a diverse campus, LSU is the match for you.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Student led activities, but also plenty around the area.

    Food and Dining

    Good food on and off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Everything is good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with the school as much as possible to really get the whole experience.

    In three sentences

    It's a great environment to live in for anyone with any religious background or ethnicity. It's an easy place to get to know and everyone is accepting. Even the teachers are great and pay close attention to all of their students.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus was always on lock-down.

    Greek Life

    NO GREEK LIFE

    Great for these types of students

    SDA students

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school - do not waste your money

    Food and Dining

    If you like eating TOFU and non-meat, then this is the place for you. The menu selections were not bad. IF you are a carnivore - go somewhere else.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are outdated. The beddings that they provide are old and the dorms are drab and depressing. The bathrooms are atrocious.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes were not up to par. If you are a student that wants to continue your high school education, then go this school. The teachers are a joke - they do not care about if they are giving you an education or not. Being a Biology major, there are a lot of immature students that attend this school. And the teachers are never around for discussion and they look at students like they are incompetent.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT GO TO LA SIERRA UNIVERSITY

    In three sentences

    I do NOT recommend La Sierra to any student. I went there my freshman year and wish that I can take that year back.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many sports and clubs are available. Downtown Riverside is 10 miles away. Los Angeles is one hour away.

    Food and Dining

    Food is vegetarian. Gourmet chefs cook here. There's a small cafe, too.

    Dorm Life

    Crime is minimal to none. It's like being home. People get involved.

    Academic Rigor

    There are museums and galleries. Science is strong. Arts are well-known.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live near the school. Eat at the cafeteria. Take part in sports.

    In three sentences

    Campus is safe. Clases are small. Students are free to learn.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe, never worried for my safety

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Accounting and Finance Society Biology Club Biophysics Club Business Club Chemistry Society Health & Exercise Science Club History Club LSU School of Religion Student Forum Math & Computing Club Physics Club Pre-Dental Society Pre-Health Professions Club Pre-Law Club Pre-Medical Club Pre-Nursing Club Pre-Optometry Club Pre-Pharmacy Association Pre-Podiatry Club Pre-Veterinary Club Social Work Club Speech and Debate Team Students in Human Resource Management Black Student Association Chinese Cultural Club Cultural Roots Hispanic Student Association International Students Club Filipino American Cultural Club and way more!!

    Great for these types of students

    This School is great for those ho love small classes, and want to make sure your teacher knows you and is their to help you at all times.

    Bang for the buck

    La Sierra is an excellent school where any one is willing to help you. Their classes sizes are smaller than high school classes and its great to have your full attention on the professor.

    What to do for fun

    For fun we hang out under the trees have our picnics or join clubs where we meet more people, play ping pong in the play room, go to the gym and just talk and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great its vegetarian and though i am not vegetarian i really enjoy it.

    Dorm Life

    I personally have not experienced dorm life but from what i heard its really fun and its an excellent way to get to know more people from school and make excellent friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent School

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid, everyone is very welcoming. As long as your interested in your studies you will very well succeed because it is a school where they care for you at all times.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra University is a excellent school where there is no doubt in receiving help from any one around you. It is an excellent school where everyone can get along, where teachers know your name and where they really care for you. They are their to help you at all times, and not everyone is a stranger, its like a big family.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security will always there when you need them or when you want them. Library too far from your car after dark? Call security, they'll gladly pick you up and take you! No charge!

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Los Angeles, Laguna Beach, Irvine Spectrum, Santa Monica, Hollywood, and everything else Southern Cali has to offer is all an hour or so in the vicinity!

    Food and Dining

    Stay clear or the pizza. It's good, but by third quarter you'll be regretting that two-piece bikini.

    Dorm Life

    The deans and RA's know more than you think!

    Academic Rigor

    Whether you choose business, medicine, humanities, or a pre-allied health program, don't underestimate your peers. It's a competition.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, study smart, but on't forget that God is always on your side no matter what. Breathe. Don't forget to stop and just breathe. Take a walk. Read a funny blog. Take a break.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra University has professors that care not only for your academic well-being, but for you as an individual. La Sierra has pushed me to strive academically and spiritually as a student. I can't imagine a better campus that works towards helping me fulfill my goals.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top notch! The campus is gated, and security is on watch at all times. You'll feel very safe here.

    Greek Life

    No greek life, unfortunately :(

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs, and activities for students

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working students who want to pursue a career in the health field or theology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is a christian based institution, Seventh-Day Adventist to be specific. They observe the sabbath, meaning the campus is virtually closed down from friday to saturday

    Bang for the buck

    Really expensive, but offers a lot of scholarships

    What to do for fun

    Lots of school clubs. The tyler mall is right around the corner

    Food and Dining

    One word: vegetarian. but it's really good!

    Dorm Life

    AWESOME!!

    Academic Rigor

    They have some of the world's best professors, many of which were La Sierra students back in their undergraduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get good grades! They're really good at rewarding students who excel academically

    In three sentences

    A great school! Great environment with great people. Students who attend here receive priority admission to Loma Linda for graduate school.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every time I go to the campus it almost feels as if there is a plastic bubble around the entire campus. Everything just feels so fresh so nice and calm like nothing bad can happen but what reassures me is how everything is gated as well as there are always security on their golf carts that are willing to take a student to their own car in case if its too dark or also just to help out.

    Bang for the buck

    Like i said before these professors want to help you. not onlt does the financial aid call you everyday to make sure you stay on top of things, but they also give you scholarships for just showing how enthusiastic you are! This school might seem a little pricy but once you see all that they offer you, there is absolutely no way that you will think that it isn't worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Fun, no offense, but the entire class is made up of fun, after your classes, you always have your professors that keep you busy either with workout or going on field trips, or using the latest technology when it comes to learning how to shoot. But in the campus university it'self there are always clubs and activities going on. And in order to keep us informed on everything, they even made an app with the calendar scheduling every sport, club, academic, study group, even community service that's going on.

    Academic Rigor

    They give you specific work. Most of the time it is detailed but all of it always has a purpose. Non of it is too much and in the end it makes your brain look at things a different way.

    Tips for prospective students

    It doesn't matter if you don't have much one on one time with your teacher because no matter what, they will make sure that they personally have the time for you. Don't think that they aren't available for you because they are 24/7. Take as many opportunities as they give you and you will exceed all the tasks later in life.

    In three sentences

    All the teachers know what they are talking about because of their personal experience in the field. They also give out this positive energy the minute you walk in the door. But most important they help you in every single situation you might be in.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The campus is very small and helps new students get familiar with their surroundings. The staff and faculty is helpful and they are always available when you need them to be. I would recommend this school to any student who wants to get a great education in the medical field and to anyone wanting to further their education to transfer to a medical school.

    What to do for fun

    There is a swimming pool, fitness center, tennis courts, and even a soccer field on campus for students who attend the school. The city also has fun adventures to explore with your dorm mates also. The mall is also around the corner to hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Here on campus everything served is soy products. You may think it will be grose but it is actually very tasty and you wouldnt even think it was soy products. The dining hall is very spacious and the food is always hot and ready to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms may be small but as long as you find the right people to hang out with the size would be the least of your concerns at the end of the day. The hall is very big and the dean is very nice and helpful. The people around you try to make you more comfortable and make you feel at ease about you're dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though I have not attended any courses at the campus, during orientation I see that the professors are well knowledgeable about their subject. You will learn top notch things and it will be well worth it. I can also tell that there will be many people here on campus to help you when the subject material gets to tough, they will try their best to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though the schools tuition may seem high you can expect to get all that you are paying for, the schools mission is great and it will be a great place to seek for furthering your education. Also make sure you apply for scholarships and you are on your P's and Q's about everything that is required to attend. Expect to learn and also enjoy the college experience.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra is a great school for students who are ready to learn in a small well-rounded environment. The campus of LSU is small and is very Eco friendly. The staff here on campus is very helpful and will strive to answer all the questions you have to ask.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well it is in riverside so there is a lot to do in the city, but also on campus we have plays and concerts and different activities almost every day.

    Food and Dining

    Food is vegetarian, but delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm but i know many people who do and they love it. There are many activities and its very comfy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Student service center is where you can get help for any subject, use it!

    In three sentences

    La Sierra University is a wonderful collage with many events. The teachers are very helpful and there are also a tutoring service on campus. Its a great place to go to for collage.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is probably one of the SAFEST campuses in Southern California.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, Inter-murals

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great place for studious students who are there to learn and expand their Christian experience!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is a non-smoking, non-drinking campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The cafe has cheap chili cheese fries!

    What to do for fun

    Go to the sports games and mingle!

    Food and Dining

    The campus is a Vegetarian campus, the food is healthy and tastes good.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It's college- you have to study in order to pass the courses. The Professors are reasonable when they see the student takes an active role in their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the Administration associates and know where you stand with Financial Aid at all times, they are available to discuss with students, but you have to make the effort to discuss financial situations.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra is a Private college. The classes are not full like the UC or CSU colleges. The Instructors care about the success of the students.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, though watch out for the coyotes at night. They are harmless but they are out there. Parking security is a little strict.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Org sync has a lot of clubs and activities. You will learn about during orentation.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian students. Music students.

    What to do for fun

    There are basketball and volleyball games. There are TVs at various locations on campus where you will be able to watch TV and socialize with students. There is a fitness center that is open until 12am. You can get a great workout.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great there is a buffet that is offered multiple times a day. It comes with your meal plan along with the dorms. it is a vegetarian campus so no meat. But there are great substitutions.

    Dorm Life

    I don't have dorm experience else where to compare it to. But its nice here though i know things could be a lot better.

    Academic Rigor

    My experience has been great thus far. There is some work to be done for classes but the resources are here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you register on time. Pick your classes wisely.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra has a small school feel. It has a very friendly staff. La Sierra is a Christian school with freedom and a great student body.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I GO TO THE GYM AND PLAY BASKETBALL WITH ALL THE OTHER STUDENTS BUT THERE ARE ALOT OF OTHER THINGS TO DO. YOU CAN WATCH TV IN THE EAGLES NEST, WORK OUT, THERE ARE ALWAYS EVENTS GOING ON AT THE SCHOOL.

    Food and Dining

    ALTHOUGH ITS A VEGITARIAN SCHOOL THE FOOD ISNT BAD AT ALL.

    Dorm Life

    I DONT LIVE ON CAMPUS

    Academic Rigor

    I LIKE MOST OF MY PROFFESORS AND ITS A SOLID SCHOOL.

    Tips for prospective students

    DONT BE AFRIAD ITS A REALLY GOOD ENVIORMENT TO BE IN. YOU WILL MAKE FRIENDS FAST AT THIS UNIVERSITY.

    In three sentences

    THE LOCATION OF THE SCHOOL IS GREAT. I LIKE THAT ITS NOT THAT CROWDED AT THE SCHOOL. ALSO I LOVE THE FEELING OF THE SCHOOL, EVERYONE IS SO NICE AND ITS A FRIENDLY ENVIORMENT

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I definitely feel safe on campus.

    What to do for fun

    They have a pool and gym plus intramurals in things like flag football and basketball. Everything from snow to beach to go-carting is a drive or bus trip away.

    Food and Dining

    The food could use some improvement. It's a lot of the same stuff and not much variety. Sometimes the food is greasy. This is also a vegetarian school so if you like meat beware.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm so I actually don't know. The dorms seem nice though. Angwin is the best for proximity to class. South adn Calkings are a lot further.

    Academic Rigor

    If you don't study it's really hard. Just saying. Especially for science and math. Know. Memorize. Ingrain in your Brain. There are classes that are more hands-on so you can give your brain a break. There is no extra credit at least for my classes. From what I've heard it's the same for other classes and majors, too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know why you want to go to college here. This is not a crazy party school. People here actually study for their classes. Be focused. Stay focused and you'll be rewarded.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra is in need of improvements. The faculties' hearts are in the right place. Connect with people for fun years.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well lit and a 24/7 Security service that is always less than 5 minutes away.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of ways to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, Religious, Friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pancakes are served at midnight for free from the president himself on finals week. It's a great pickmeup.

    What to do for fun

    Suburbs, so there are quite a few attractions near by like a bowing alley, mall, movie theater, ect. Beach, Mountains, and Disneyland are all about 45 minutes to an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    AMAZING all vegetarian cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Tons of fun during the week, but most people go home weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are very challenging, but a few are jokes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, talk to your teachers and use the student support center.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra is a big school (for an Adventist college) with lots of people, but small classes. A lot of people do party, but you usually have to look for it. There is a big emphasis on spirituality, but its a good thing.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is gated so safety is not a big issue. There is capus police near the dorms and they are always available.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that students can join here at La Sierra. I am sure that there is something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food here in La Sierra is vegetarian since it is a Seventh-day Adventist university. I personally am not a vegetarian but I do enjoy the food from the cafeteria once in a while.

    Dorm Life

    I have not experienced dorm life so I wouldn't it be able to tell you from a personal experience. The friends that I have here that use the dorms have told me that they recommend dorms for freshmen because that is a way to make new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The subject that I chose for my major is biology. From my experience, the biology staff is very dedicated in helping students become successful. The classes that are required for my major are overall very rigorous. The teachers do make the subject interesting but expect you to do your part.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to succeed you have to set your mind to be successful. You have the choice to become successful so what are you waiting for?

    In three sentences

    The school is very community oriented and has a great deal of activities to join. The faculty is knowledgeable on their subjects and always eager to help the students. The best part for myself is the class sizes they are smaller and let you have a better learning experience.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    La Sierra had five stars when it comes to campus safety. In case of any emergency all students are notified through their mobile device and instructed on what to do.

    Clubs and Activities

    Here at La Sierra there are so many choices for what club to join! There is a wide range of variety and clubs here at La Sierra are a great way to network and make new friends!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year at La Sierra they host an event called Ignite where they gather all the incoming freshman during the summer and they welcome them with all these fun activities.

    What to do for fun

    For fun a lot of students will go to the local mall, Disneyland, catch a movie, or whatever they come up with that weekend. Here in California there is always something fun and exciting to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria at La Sierra is so delicious

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't dorm, but from what i hear and see the dorming life here seems to be great!

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor at La Sierra University on a scale of one through ten is definitely a ten! All the students at La Sierra are pushed to perform at the best of their academic abilities.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra University is an excellent school that only strives the best for the students that attend. The professors here at La Sierra go above and beyond to meet the needs of the students.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good. La Sierra is in a good neighborhood and the school has its own security that are on duty all the time. It is a very safe campus. I have never worried about my safety while attending this school.

    Bang for the buck

    La Sierra is very expensive. Tuition is high because it is a private institution, but it is worth it especially if one is looking towards a medical/health career.

    What to do for fun

    The school occasionally set up events for students who dorm. There are also many places one can go to such as the mall, bowling, and other places.

    Food and Dining

    All the food here is vegetarian. For someone who comes from a vegetarian background, it may be good, but for those who are new to it, it is a difficult task. They do offer a variety of foods ranging from pizza, hamburgers to Indian food and Asian food. Even though it is vegetarian, the food is not that bad.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is convenient because you can wake up before class and just walk to the buildings. It also avoids a long drive and gas money. There are many nearby stores that you can go to if you need to. It is not cheap to live on campus, but it is convenient. One thing is though, that La Sierra has many rules for students who decide to dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    At La Sierra we have amazing academic opportunities. We have many pre-professional programs, such as pre-nursing, pre-med, pre-dentistry, just to name a few. We also offer many other majors as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to many scholarships. La Sierra is expensive, but it is worth it. Almost all students get financial aid.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra is a diverse university and I would recommend it to everyone. We have a beautiful campus and are in a good area in Riverside.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety is the best. There is someone always available in the security office all day everyday. If you don't feel safe, or don't want to walk to your car by yourself after a night class you can gladly call the security office and they will escort you to your car. Our campus security is always willing to help.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately we do not have a Greek life program here at La Sierra.

    Clubs and Activities

    Just like any other school, if you want to be apart of a club or activity, you have to go find it yourself. But the great thing about LSU is that there are clubs and activities that can suit just about anyone.

    Great for these types of students

    I think La Sierra is very welcoming and accepting to all kinds of people, and I think that everyone can find something they enjoy about the school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    La Sierra University is a Seven Day Adventist school so every Thursday, as a university, we all attend worship together. I feel like going to chapel is my peers brings a sense of unity and a family environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Obviously tuition at any school is not cheap, but here at La Sierra University, I feel as if we do get what we pay for. There is constant help when it comes to academics whether its the tutoring center or the very kind professors that always have their doors open.

    What to do for fun

    There are always student life activities going on at night during the week. The student life people put on little events that are either held here at the school or at an off campus facility such as rock climbing or bowling. There are also a lot of different sporting events that you can attend such as intermural games or the collegiate teams.

    Food and Dining

    La Sierra is a vegetarian based campus, but they do provide us with substitute meat. For someone like me, someone that is not a vegetarian, I don't feel limited on food choices. There is still a variety of foods I can choose from, they just might be a little different than what I am used to. But there is always a lot of fruit and salads available, which I really like.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here at La Sierra is pretty quiet and everyone kind of sticks to themselves. Sometimes that is one of the nice parts because you are able to study in your room with out being disturbed, but its not a great way of meeting new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Not every school can be perfect, but Id have to say that La Sierra University is almost close to perfect when it comes to academics. There is a tutoring center that is opened everyday excluding Saturdays, with students that are more than willing to help in any subject where help is needed. what more could you ask for in a University that guidance in academics?

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for a school that makes you feel complete, like you have chosen the right school for your self. Also, I would look into how big the classrooms are and how much one on one attention you would get if you needed the help, remember the most important part of college is the education. Its a good feeling going to a school that takes care of you while you are away from family, so find the one that completes you.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra creates a very diverse community and welcomes people from all religions, backgrounds and countries. At La Sierra University they make us feel as if we are a family, and someone is always willing to take care of you if you need the help. La Sierra also has the best staff and professors that are very knowledgeable in their work.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good, but like any cafeteria food, it can get old.

    Dorm Life

    Love the family like feeling you get from living in Angwin.

    In three sentences

    I love La Sierra! The small campus body creates a close and intimate connection. The professors are always willing to help you out.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is gated, with a great security team. You are in safe hands here.

    Greek Life

    Because of the Seventh Day Adventist church affiliation, there is not Greek life on campus. They do however have different honor societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and activities for you here! From sports clubs, to academic clubs! Also, a lot of students on campus like to go hiking in the hills directly behind the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a laid back, easy going, nature loving individual who loves warm weather year round, then La Sierra is perfect for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Because the school is affiliated with the Seventh Day Adventist church, there are many memorial statues of different people from the Bible on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Because the school is a private school, it is rather pricey. But, from what I've heard and experienced, it's totally worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    There are SO many cool and fun things to do while at La Sierra! Many clubs are offered on campus, and the beach, snow slopes, and Los Angeles are only within an hours reach.

    Food and Dining

    I personally like the food. They have a wide variety to choose from each day.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the girl halls have community bathrooms. There are some suites, however.

    Academic Rigor

    What college doesn't have academic rigor? The course work here isn't like Harvard or anything, but it does challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep a level head. I have heard stories of students who have excelled at this school, and stories of people who have gotten themselves into sticky situations that have impacted their life. Just remember you're there for two reasons: Education and having a blast!

    In three sentences

    La Sierra seems like a great environment to be in. The faculty and staff all seem really nice! I rate it as an 8.5.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security here is tight we have about 3 cars patrolling around the campuses and we have like 2 security guards on foot making sure every student is safe and making us feel we are at home

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a club called salsu which makes banquets, fun activities like go to the beach vespers we also have activities like sports basketball and soccer

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who wants to be in the business industry or medical field

    What to do for fun

    There are many places around this school like bowling place, disneyland, a mall, etc...

    Food and Dining

    Our food is based on a vegetarian diet which makes us feel safe and healthy because meat isnt healthy for us

    Dorm Life

    never had the experience to live in campus because i live close to campus

    Academic Rigor

    Its excellent everyone enjoys learning and there are always tutoring centers for students who need alittle more help

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a relationship with a teacher this is a good school, reasons being incase you dont know anything or need help with something the teachers are always and eager to help the student

    In three sentences

    This school may not be one of the best in the country but what caught my attention the first time I applied to this school is its student teacher ratio, and how everyone is a family here everyone cares for each other and its a small private school which makes it convenient for students to ask questions to teachers and everyone gets to know each other

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    me personally, I am not involved in clubs at the moment. However, I am constantly attending events that the school holds. Some of the past events I have attended are Classical Musical Concerts, the Talent Show and Baseball games to support those who are on the team. As well as being a part of those events that take place off campus such a Ice Skating, Roller Blading, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For all incoming freshman students La Sierra University provides students with one very special day called Ignite. Ignite is a day in where the School Board makes all students welcomed to the school, its an opportunity to play games and win prizes. It is also the chance to do community service and met the staff and its the simplest way to get a student feet wet into the new college experience. Overall, one of the unusual traditions that captivated me was that the school has a dance called the Eagle Slide. This dance is basically a cover of the Cha-Cha Slide however it is remixed to make it a unique part of our school campus.

    What to do for fun

    I am a very simplistic person so I enjoy going over to my best friend's house (Angela) and watch movies in bed on the laptop.

    Food and Dining

    I personally have only ate once at the main campus. I really enjoyed the set up of the buffet, the food was fresh and very delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, I commute from home. However, it does not affect me in any way because I am always trying to become involved at school by attending events.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff at the Criminal Justice Department in Corona, provide the students with a rigorous courses. However, on the plus side of that since our class capacity various from about ten students in a class to probably a maximum of thirty- five students the teachers always make their office hours available to the students. Teachers and students are always allowed to have a one on one conversation with teachers which at often times can create friendly bonds.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dear Incoming Students, It is very important that you can recognize that College or University you will be attending, it is nothing like High School. One must be attentive that you are now paying for your education so do your very best to not fall behind in school. Yes of course, you want to live the college life but one must set priorities and recognize that your education is much more valuable than having fun. Simply because your education will affect you in the long run, due to the career you are trying to accomplish. Sincerely, Learned From Experience

    In three sentences

    La Sierra University, is a school filled with school sprit which is shown at school events. The individuals enrolled are always welcoming and very polite. Since I am off campus due to my major the main campus always strives to make the criminal justice department feel apart of the school itself.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Haven't joined any yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal art majors science majors grads Christians Non christians

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's a private Christian university so attending church services is required, which I love! So if you want to be in an environment where you get an amazing education and the opportunity to grow spirituality.

    What to do for fun

    It's Riverside, so not too much.

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I couldn't say.

    Academic Rigor

    The science classes are no joke

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead! Once accepted, make sure all your transcripts are in so you can be cleared to register and make an appointment with an adviser. The sooner you make an appointment the better!

    In three sentences

    The campus is amazingly beautiful! The staff is extremely friendly and very attentive to the needs of the students. And you never have to to worry about not getting classes!

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's close to everything, mall, beach, mountains, desert.

    Tips for prospective students

    make appointments with everyone, it makes it easier for you and they are happy to help.

    In three sentences

    they are helpful. they are serious about helping you achieve your goals. they keep in touch and respond to emails very quickly.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 57

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything you wish to do in Southern California. Beach, snowboarding, sky diving, you name it, SoCal has it.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, but it's all vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    Separated between males and females, because of the fact the the school is Christian.

    Academic Rigor

    Not the most rigorous academically, but always a very high standard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all of the resources the school has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Religious school that focuses on the educational, as well as the spiritual needs of the students. It's a school that accepts people for what they are, and tries to make them feel part of a family. Great faculty and staff.

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    patrol officers are always on campus for student's safety and the school is gated down on weekends. only those with an access card can get in

    Greek Life

    no greek life on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    wide variety of clubs to choose from with friendly people waiting to recruit new members

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    weekly worship meetings are held twice a week

    Bang for the buck

    this school is a bit pricy, but offers more since it is located in a diverse city

    What to do for fun

    there's a lot to do around la sierra university and if you get tired of the area, los angeles isn't too far away for some fun

    Food and Dining

    great dining places outside of campus if you're tired of eating veggie food all week

    Dorm Life

    pools are located in each dorm hall with easy access to the laundry units, study lounges, and classrooms

    Academic Rigor

    challenging but not so tough once you know the material

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for all your classes! get to know your professors

    In three sentences

    more liberal sda school compared to puc, andrews, and southern university

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The menu is vegetarian, but the food is really good and diverse. We can go from sushi to pupusas in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. It's nice, but there is a curfew.

    Academic Rigor

    Great.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you take Biology, make sure you READ the chapter along with studying the lecture slides or you will surely fail.

    In three sentences

    LSU is an excellent school. Everyone is really friendly. It feels like home.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    La Sierra has a very safe campus. Safety incidents hardly ever arise. The campus is gated with card id access, and several security officials are visible on campus at any given time. La Sierra also has strategically placed call centers on campus which serve to connect the student with a safety operator 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious types Students wanting a unique experience in a diverse environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight Pancakes! Every quarter during dead week (the week before finals) the President of the university and the deans make pancakes for the students! Its a great time to socialize and take a breather while your studying for that final exam!

    Bang for the buck

    Let's be honest, La Sierra is a tad expensive, and depending on your intended major you can decide if this university is for you. Many science majors attend La Sierra because going to Loma Linda med school (or pharmacy school, nursing school, etc.) is much easier. Business majors also enjoy La Sierra thanks to its brand new $14 million building and it's nationally renowned SIFE/ Enactus team.

    What to do for fun

    Go mountain climbing behind the school or go to the observatory and make a night out of it!

    Food and Dining

    La Sierra only offers a vegetarian diet which is great for vegetarians, but not for us carnivores! However, the do offer a wide range of healthy options and always perfectly ripe pineapple.

    Dorm Life

    All male students live in La Sierra Towers, yes plural, but there is only one tower! There are 7 floors and each one has its own distinct flavor and attributes. Many students immediately make close friendships with other students on their floors which creates a lot of floor-rivalry. This plays out through League of Legend Tournaments, Fifa Tournaments, Football tournaments and many more. The only negative aspect to living at the dorm is that no one is on campus during the weekend!

    Academic Rigor

    La Sierra isn't impossibly hard. Like any other accredited institution there are some classes that become know as gpa-boosters and those which wreck havoc on academic transcripts. However, with great study skills and networking with other students in the classes it's possible to get a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your math scores on the standardized tests are at college level. If not the school places you in remedial courses that don't count toward your degree and sometimes are difficult for students who have taken advanced courses and have forgotten the basics.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra is a small, private, christian university with a diverse student population. It's located in Riverside, California conveniently located about 45 minutes from Los Angeles. Thanks to its privileged location, it's possible to ski, go to the beach and surf all in one day!

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secure campus, security is good at their job.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs to join

    Great for these types of students

    Religious students, that are part of the church.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Once a week the entire school worships in the church.

    Bang for the buck

    Very religious environment, very positive for a student

    What to do for fun

    Participate in SALSU activities.

    Food and Dining

    Good cafe food with many healthy choices

    Dorm Life

    Simple and good dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Very strong academic focus

    Tips for prospective students

    Always remember to turn in your work online. Late work really hurts your grade. Do not skip classes they are very important.

    In three sentences

    A well rounded school developed around the church. It has many resources, and keeps students in high regard. The faculty is friendly and helpful.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for any type of student who wants a great Christian education, or just an accepting and loving community to be surrounded by while pursuing your education. There are people of all nationalities and religions, so it is a diverse campus that is accepting of anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    La Sierra is extremely proud of our mascot the Golden Eagles, and we even have a song with movements that really get your school spirits up! A really interesting location on campus is the World Museum of Natural History, its full of life size stuffed mammals, amphibians and birds. They are a little scary if you are there at night or not expecting them, but its definitely a note worthy location on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on off and on campus. Going to sports events is a great way to have fun if you are more of a spectator than an athlete. Also, there are many different worship services going on throughout the week lead by students or by a pastor. The weekends are usually a little quiet, so it's great to get out if you can. There is a great bus service that you can use discounted with your ID that can take you a lot of different places. In addition, there is always a community service opportunity after Church service on Sabbath.

    Food and Dining

    The food is all vegetarian, but do not get discouraged if you are a carnivore! The food is actually delicious. If you are dorming you can eat in the cafeteria with a meal plan as well as at the Eagle's Nest which serves food to order like sandwiches and pizza. For commuters, I recommend the Eagle's Nest because you just pay with cash for the price of what you are buying, rather than the $10 fee for the Cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun and you definitely meet a lot of awesome people. The school has a high percentage of commuters, but the dorming people definitely have the advantage of always being around campus and a lot more social opportunities. The guys dorms have recently been remodeled so the lobby is really nice and up to date. The girls lobby is nice and cozy as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are difficult, but if you really put you mind to it and do not procrastinate you should feel challenged but not terribly overwhelmed. There is also an Honor's program for those that are eligible. This is a great way to become closely connected with a smaller group of people.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a commuter make sure you join clubs to meet people and stay connected with the campus. Same goes for dorming students. There are a lot of opportunities so don't be shy!

    In three sentences

    La Sierra is a fantastic Christian school. Everyone is connected, friendly, and strives to help you through your college career. The environment is relaxed, but definitely focused and determined, and is always centered around God.

  • 11/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    It does have clubs though not as many as I have expected. I am currently a part of only at least 2-5 clubs right now. We don't have much activities going on as of right now.

    Bang for the buck

    La Sierra University is very expensive. It's tuition costs about 36 grand. Everything in California is expensive.

    What to do for fun

    La Sierra University is surrounded by many restaurants and fast food chains. A mall is also just a couple of minutes away from the university. Public parks are also in short distances. A lot of students here also workout during their spare time in the university's gym.

    Food and Dining

    The Commons (Dining) offers a vegetarian meal plan to promote healthy living by eating the right diet. Health connects side by side with education. A good diet enhances a student's thinking and learning abilities. The Eagle's Nest Cafe offers more of a fast food type of food yet is still vegetarian. Even though the cafeteria offers vegetarian food, it is still of the student's discernment to choose which food to pick up from the counters. A pizza might be vegetarian but is still unhealthy, especially excess amounts.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here at La Sierra University is very active in terms of different activities provided by the residential life groups. The lobby is big enough for interactions between friends. The dorms also has learning labs/study rooms to provide a quieter atmosphere for those who wants to study alone or have a study group. The dorms also provide at TV room for friends to hangout and relax together.

    Academic Rigor

    I find this school very good when it comes to academics. The class sizes are small enough to allow the instructor one-to-one interactions with students. Office hours are readily available to those in need of the instructor's assistance. The instructors are very knowledgeable of the subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    La Sierra University's newly built school of business is a sight to behold. You might want to consider to be a business major or minor yourself. Also, La Sierra University offers academic coaching for first year students to bring information and help to those who are new. It is very helpful, I've experienced it myself.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra University offers many academic majors, both graduate and undergraduate degrees, which gives students the chance to specifically choose which program is best for them. La Sierra University is also a great environment to see diversities in many things, including races, ethnicities, languages, etc. It also provides a Christian environment welcoming many religions.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Have only had one meal at the schools cafeteria, and it is not the tastiest food out there. Being a Seventh-Day Adventist school, they are vegetarians and do not serve any meat.

    Dorm Life

    Can't say since I live off campus, however I hear it's alright.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes provide a solid amount of information that needs to be taught, but overall difficulty of classes are not hard at all with a moderate amount of effort and studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Probably one the most common reasons students attend this school is because of its association with Loma Linda. There are plenty of Pre-Health majors looking to gain an edge on the competition by applying from a Seventh-Day Adventist school like La Sierra. That said, the teachers and classes so far are actually quite good and seem like a good preparation for such a major. The brand new business school also looks quite promising for any business majors.

    In three sentences

    A small quaint school that provides an excellent education at a somewhat high price tag. Religion is highly incorporated into the curriculum. Students and faculty are all very nice and helpful.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security driving around checking cars and parking lots. So far in my first quarter at La Sierra there has been one school lock down because of attempt of abduction. Then campus has gates, but they are always open for anyone to enter the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is required that students attend university worship on Thursdays. It is also required that students attend assemblies when announced on Tuesdays, but they are rarely announced. The campus is smoke-free and students are not allowed to consume alcohol.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is not the cheapest. To attend La Sierra the average person will need plenty of financial aid and loans.

    Food and Dining

    Since La Sierra is a Seven Day Adventist school they do not eat meat. There is a wide variety of decent cafe food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm I commute. It takes me 25 minutes to get to school from Perris/ Lake Matthews area.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is a bit strict compared to other Universities, but you do have to keep in mind that it is a private Seven Day Adventist school.

    In three sentences

    One of the major things that I like about La Sierra is how they made the transition from high school to college smoothly. Since it is a smaller private school teachers take the time to make sure that you understand what they are teaching. There are many opportunities for tutoring and there are a variety of different beneficial workshops to attend. Since it is a Seven Day Adventist school students are expected to behave a certain way on and off of campus. There are also many nice students, faculty, and teachers.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Studious types of students who pursue a pre-professional study in the field of medicine. Sporty students who likes to be in the school team, playing against a lot of different schools around the country. Music majors who love music, La Sierra University is especially recommended for you.

    Bang for the buck

    La Sierra University is very expensive to attend. 36 grand tuition is not a small amount of money. However, La Sierra University provides quite a number of scholarships for their students.

    What to do for fun

    You can go around the city of Riverside using the free Bus service. There is a bowling alley not far away from La Sierra University.

    Food and Dining

    Food provided in the cafeteria are all vegetarian food. Despite that, the quality of food and drinks provided are pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life isn't very suitable for those who like to party but it is a good place to study as it isn't noisy at night.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will have a great time in La Sierra University without having to worry about registration problems. Orientation is well-managed and is easy to understand. You will have fun in La Sierra University.

    In three sentences

    La Sierra University had introduced me to a bright future through the numerous amount of classes provided. The school's campus is well-designed and is very student-friendly. It is a place where students are allowed to speak up and share their opinion.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Pretty good. I always look forward to worship

    Great for these types of students

    MONEY

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    7th day adventists

    What to do for fun

    The school normally has activities for college life but the mall and entertainment spots are 5 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    VEGETARIAN

    Tips for prospective students

    YOU NEED MONEY!!!!!

    In three sentences

    Religious, expensive, suburban

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall a safe campus we rarely close to never have lockdowns.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have cool clubs like dance club, and a hiking club. They are pretty fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious students

    What to do for fun

    Theres the gym, they have a nice pool. The nearest beach is about 45 minutes away which is not too bad, and also its about 30 minutes from disneyland!

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, its buffet style so you can pretty much get whatever you want.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good, but i wish there were more dorm events.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academic school!

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend La Sierra if you are serious about school. Their main focus is God and getting a good GPA. Teachers are also ready to help at anytime with any questions or homework.

    In three sentences

    La sierra made my first quarter really easy, they showed us around the campus so i knew where all my classes were. Everyone was really friendly and when i showed up with my stuff for orientation I had so much help carrying everything up. Also the professors are great!

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 57

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think its good , I used to work campus security & the guard shack. Good experience. Our location is so remote its nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    don't really know I'm in baseball & at a different campus for CJ program and focusing on my military career. Sorry

    Great for these types of students

    smart studious & going in the medical field. Interested in loma Linda university or religious studies here & abroad. Great opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    besides vegetarian & no sports or activities on Saturday since its a 7th day Adventist school, nothing crazy. Just bummed not more focus support or funding for sports. :-( especially all American sport' baseball.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but can you really put a price on education? That's why we apply for scholarships. -)

    What to do for fun

    Baseball, motocross, snowboard, wakeboard, shopping, movies, etceteraeverything's closed by mountains Beach Lakes Victoria Gardens Tyler mall good central location

    Food and Dining

    Not bad I'm not vegan but I never turn down food. :-) nice facility & good food. Many choices.

    Dorm Life

    Looks nice but I don't know I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Great education opportunities & new business center. Counselors are nice & very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Cafe is vegan so if you're not there's nice housing nearby & great restaurants.

    In three sentences

    1.Beautiful campus & location. Small but nice. 2.Criminal justice program is great. 3.University is more education oriented not so much on sports which is hard on us hoping to get scouted for professional sports. Feeder school to Loma Lindsey