Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

LaGrange College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're a musician, this is the college to go to. I considered Belmont or Berklee, but here you get more one on one time with the professors and you can be a big fish in a small pond with lots of opportunities, rather than being pushed around & constantly snubbed by hundreds of music snobs. All in all, the music department is fantastic - there is a recording studio open 24/7 for free on campus, we all get keys to the building to go into the practice rooms with pianos whenever we want, and everyone is very nice and passionate about their music. The professors are pretty chill but still active in their instruments - my guitar teacher is a member of the georgia guitar quartet so thats pretty cool.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus before you make a decision - at first I was skeptical about the flyer in the mail, but when I went to visit I made several great friends and fell in love with the campus. Also, its best to be undeclared in your first year. Then you can pick whatever classes sound cool and no one cares but if you pick a major, everything becomes very intense. And having a car is good - the campus is like a ghost town most weekends.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a recipient of multiple scholarships, I'm not paying for anything but living expenses, so yes - big bang for the buck. LaGrange offers multiple scholarships, and all of the other freshman I've talked to are recipients of scholarship money from the school as well. If you have a good GPA and reasonable test scores, you're guaranteed money. Also, the college saves some of the money in order to pay for an all-expense study abroad trip for their students. Overall, its a pretty good bang if you're responsible with your grades.

    Am enjoying being here

    In retrospect, I realize that I was hoping for more of a total immersion college experience - however, LaGrange is so small that there are limitations both socially and regarding activities locally. The mall nearby is small, the town itself has few attractions, and there are few organizations on campus. Unless you join a fraternity or sorority, you are unlikely to do much partying.

    Am learning a lot

    I am only a freshman, and yet I know I have already learned far more than I ever did in high school. Even though the other reviews say that they didnt learn much, I have found all of my professors to be knowledgeable and insightful, as well as passionate about their subjects. If you really want to learn, you will - its all about the classes you take. I have already learned alot about sustainability, friendship, music (Im a music major) and so much more.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this school cares about safety of the students. they are willing to drive or escort you back to your dorm when you are afraid someone might hurt you during night time.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a bunch of clubs and activities to do. however, most of them are unorganized.

    Bang for the buck

    for a small, private college; it is quite expense. some days you got to wonder why it is expense and other days you can see why.

    Food and Dining

    the on-campus dining has its good days and bad days of cooking. plus, you sometimes don't know what is on the menu for that day. breakfast is never good, lunch is 90% good of the time, and dinner is a 50/50. however, there are a lot of restaurants around town and most of them are good. if you don't want to do that, you can bring microwaveable meals and the building's microwave.

    Dorm Life

    when living in dorms, you have to get used to living with another person as your roommate or you will get fined for not having a roommate for a semester. there are rules when it comes to the dorms and they are easy to follow. however, the walls are thin and the floors creek a lot since the buildings are old; you may have to deal with a lot of noise when waking up and during the day.

    Academic Rigor

    like any other school, there will be teachers who are tough or easy to understand. some days you may get a lot of homework and other days not so much. however, you don't have the same class every day and have some time to do your homework. just don't put it off the last possible second.

    In three sentences

    lagrange college is small but makes it up in heart warming experiences. almost everyone on campus is friendly and will be there if you need help.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The secruity gaurds ride around all night and can been seen though out the day so you will feel safe.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is all around you. They are very warm and inviting. They are extremely approachable.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians mostly but it is a mixed community so it is great for any student.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. It really depends on where you go. You have the school cafe, Starbucks, and The Grill. The school food is only good when the first begin to serve because after that most of it is gone. Starbucks is great for coffee but you have to to the library to go to it. The Grill is were many students go to eat because it more like a restaurant feel on campus. There are many restaurants down the street for when you get tired of campus food. Overall many students buy groceries because you get hungry late at night from studying.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Everybody pretty much lives on campus. There are rooms like apartment, hotel suites, and then some has personal kitchens. Plus you get free Wi-Fi and cable. Also you resident advisors give your great advice on what to do about certain situations and are avaible when every you need them. They are so friendly and aproachable. Living on campus has it rules but is really fun because you have events like BURPS which was a party were everyone goes onto the hill and get wet, throws shaving cream, and just relaxes after a long day of classes. Also when you go don your laundry it is free you are not paying for the washing or drying but you are doing it yourself. Also depending on where you live on campus you never 10 minutes away from class.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are really important here. It is not at all a party school. Yes, there will be parties but make sure you do your work because you will be kicked out if you are not making the grades. The teachers are great because they will try to help you with understanding the work and you can e-mail them to get help. They also give you their numbers if you need them later in the day. Also the school provides you with all these chances to get help in other ways with tutoring and events for learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know things you are interested in. Time management is important. Know of you are an evening, night, or morning person because it will help you know what times to take you classes. Go out in meet people because at first everyone is nervous. Do your homework before going out not after because you will keep putting it off. Do community service you will feel the gratification.Know if you want a small or big school. Make sure that the school you want to go to.

    In three sentences

    Lagrange College is a very friendly, but academic worried school. The community surrounding the school is very wm and inviting with a lot to do with other cultural understanding. Very helpful staff here.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Over-priced

    Did enjoy being here

    The campus itself is kinda boring, so make sure you get out and see what there is to do in town

    Did learn a lot

    At LaGrange I learned a lot about friendship, brotherhood, and sustainability, but not much academic wise.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in performing arts

    Bang for the buck

    You do have to pay alot of money to go here, but if you are all for going to a great, small college then LaGrange is the one for you

    Am enjoying being here

    The new friends I have made here are reliable and always eager to help with whatever i need

    Am learning a lot

    I love the LaGrangehospitality and college experience

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Three sororities: Phi Mu, AOII and KD Three fraternities: Delta Tau Delta, ADG, and Pi Kappa Phi spectacular!

    What to do for fun

    GREEK LIFE. its a small college, so the sororities and fraternities are smaller and closer. I've met many lasting friends through Greek Life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for a little drama. There's only 1000 students on campus, and everyone knows everything and if they don't, they'll find something.

    In three sentences

    LaGrange is a small, private college, and has small class sizes. The professors I have experienced are knowledgeable in their subjects and will go out of their way to help you. It is very easy to be involved around campus and grow as a person.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus safety

    Clubs and Activities

    Mentoring

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a very focus person .

    What to do for fun

    Going to the ball games.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. The menu could be better .

    Dorm Life

    It's ok. I am just a private and quite person.

    Academic Rigor

    It keeps you on your toes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in touch with your professors they are truly there to help you.

    In three sentences

    This is a very caring school.It is a home away from home. The professors are outstanding.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students that like to be alone, and who don't really go anywhere except class and back to your dorm room.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a music, theatre, football, or basketball student don't go, because these programs are horrible.

    Bang for the buck

    LaGrange College has a beautiful campus, but it is way overpriced. I am now in $30,000 debt because I went there.

    Did enjoy being here

    I absolutely hated LaGrange College. The website and the people there tell you that there is always so much to do, but in reality there is nothing to do unless you have a car or unless you know people with a car.

    Did learn a lot

    At this school, I learned more about friendship. Academic wise, I did not learn anything, especially in the Cornerstone classes (a class that freshmen take to help transition from high school to college).

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who like small settings, like greek life and its also good for athletes.

    Bang for the buck

    Its way too expensive. especially for a private college.

    What to do for fun

    Im an athlete so i enjoy playing lacrosse and hanging out with friends on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Food is not that great. I take lots of trips to walmart and fast food resturants.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    There arent many diversity when it comes to choosing classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really look into what this school can provide for you. Research!

    In three sentences

    Not A Place For Everyone

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Bible studies, Greek life, Campus Newspaper, etc

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, Musical, Theatrical, Religious

    What to do for fun

    On campus activities such as Greek life, town square, Movie theater, mall.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in any of the arts, I encourage you to come here. The program is phenomenal. I am a math major and it is also a great program.

    In three sentences

    The college is wonderful. This academics are great and challenging, and the professors are personal and understand. I am so glad I chose LaGrange College.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    3 sororities and 3 fraternities. Most students are involved in Greek life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humans vs. Zombies every Halloweek.

    What to do for fun

    Go shopping, go to Newnan, or go to Auburn.

    Food and Dining

    Starbucks takes meal exchange for breakfast. Not many other options.

    Dorm Life

    Hall bathrooms are cleaned daily. Only one microwave per building available.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging with a lot of homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pack a lot of microwavable food. Get involved on campus, join a sorority or fraternity, or a sports team.

    In three sentences

    Small classes with professors that care. Not enough options for on campus food. Class buildings are easy to get to.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    LaGrange is a small town so fun is what you make it so to speak. Hit the movies or parties at the houses. Or head over to nearby Newnan for more options.

    Food and Dining

    Weekends aren't to great so keep some snacks in your room. But the grill and Starbucks are open weekdays and even cafeteria food is better.

    Dorm Life

    RA's are extremely helpful and fellow residents are usually respectful of space, noise, and privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    You usually feel challenged in most of your classes but not overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide if you want a small school and town feel. Get involved in extra-curricular activities. Apply, apply, apply for scholarships!!

    In three sentences

    A small feel college with a pleasant environment. Teachers know their students individually and by name. Great place to learn and live for four years.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Securitas is constantly patrolling campus making sure everything is ok.

    Greek Life

    Great going greek was the best decision I made opens a whole world of opportunities that would not normally be provided.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of opportunities for whatever one is interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who wants a small college, family type environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Night of the Deer, Margaritaville, and Blacklight

    Bang for the buck

    Lagrange is a hidden wonder of the Southeast, beautiful small college.

    What to do for fun

    Go out to the fraternity houses, plenty of places to eat, movies, mall, or the beautiful West Point Lake.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better, could be worse a lot of options are provided between the cafeteria and grill.

    Dorm Life

    Great way to get to know people with above average sized rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Difficult, but effort is put in the school is not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be able to adjust to living on your own, as well as be open to trying anything new no matter how intimidating it may be.

    In three sentences

    It is a welcoming environment where anyone feels welcomed instantly. Where a top notch education is given. Where teachers truly care about the students.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Delta Tau Delta all the way

    Bang for the buck

    There is no bang for the buck at this school.

    What to do for fun

    students typically hang out at the fraternity houses. Students also take advantage of the opportunities the school offers since it is placed to a lake, and the campus is not far from Pine Mountain.

    Food and Dining

    For what the students pay for, the school food is quite disgusting.

    Dorm Life

    The school needs to work on keeping the building in proper condition.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors put a lot of effort into their test and make it difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and stand out. Because the school is small, it is easy to become noticed by your peers and teachers.

    In three sentences

    The college is small with beautiful scenery and southern hospitality that makes it easy to live away from home comfortably. The teachers are amazing, and they truly want to devote their time and talents for the betterment of the students.