Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Lackawanna College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/25/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for lower income students, those looking for a solid foundation, and those who need an alternative route or gateway into a four year program.

    Bang for the buck

    The bang for the buck here is using the school as a platform into a four year program while saving money in the first two. Essentially given the aid I've received, I'm most likely going to come out of my two years at Lackawanna debt free. In addition to the amount of aid available vs. the cost of attending, they charge a flat tuition fee and you can take up to 18 credits on that.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is relatively small, but the people are what make up for it. Everyone I've met that works for the school has been approachable and very nice and still very down to business about things. The Scranton area is generally friendly and if you explore a bit (and there's plenty) you're virtually guaranteed to find great places for down time and socializing. Remember, it's only as enjoyable as you allow yourself to make it.

    Will learn a lot

    I took a class here as part of their GED/Career Gateway program through the adult education department. What you're going to learn based on what I took away from that class and what I can see from my current curriculum is the basics. So, while you may not learn boat loads, you learn and reinforce the foundation for when you get to the point where you're going to be taking more new information in at a time.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    educational wise, I have deffinitely got my money's worth. Other than that, the parking is limited and most of the time you have to pay for a meter. I estimated that I spend about 80 dollars a semester in parking alone, and a few months ago I had gotten a parking ticket that set me back another 30 dollars.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is located in the middle of down town Scranton. It is across the street from the Scranton Cultural Center, and the Lackawanna County Library. The mall is within walking distance, as well as fast food resturants. It is the ideal place to dorm.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is mostly unorganized, the food is mediocre compared to other campuses close by.

    Dorm Life

    I do not currently dorm, but a few of my friends do. In their opinion there could be some major improvements, but unlike most schools parking is available for first year students.

    Academic Rigor

    At Lackawanna the school work is easy to keep up with, and testing is just how it was in high school

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Lackawanna College you should definitely come in with an open mind, there are plenty of different types of groups of people with varying backgrounds.

    In three sentences

    Lackawanna College is a small college, with small classes. It is great because you can have one on one time with your professors, but if you plan on commuting, there is hardly any parking.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    wide receiver on the Football team.

    What to do for fun

    I am currently on the football team, so i train, run, practice and do study hall. When I am not doing these things I attend movies, go to the mall and go out to dinner.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to experience the joy of attending a college and beginning a responsible life on your own.

    In three sentences

    Lackawanna College has given a experience that i though t i would never be interested in. I have had the opportunity of meeting new people and enjoying the education that they have to offer. it has also given me the responsibility of being and independent adult.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    For any students looking at this college I would go through with attending its a very welcoming place.

    In three sentences

    Lackawanna is a great environment to go to college. All the professors are very helpful and make you feel comfortable. This college works together and tries to help everyone if they need it.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Decent when it comes to safety. Police are always onsite and the campus isnt that big at all.

    Great for these types of students

    Football players and other athletics

    Bang for the buck

    I honestly wish I went else where. Expensive and Im not very pleased with my money spent.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the steamtown mall or walk around the scranton university campus. Not very many school clubs or activities. They also aren't taken very seriously..

    Food and Dining

    The cafe in the school is a little over priced and the food quality isn't that great. There are no must have foods and it's comparable to high school grade food.

    Dorm Life

    I've heard some bad stories...

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't that hard at all. Some of the professors make it very easy to learn and the class sizes are not that big so becoming friends with your professor is always easy and a big help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive early for class unless you're staying on campus. Parking here sucks. There is no way around it. The meters around the city suck and the meter people manage to nail you every time it runs out. Also had my car towed once because it was parked in a reserved spot for 15 minutes! The most important tip I can say is to go to class! Teachers here respect kids who come to class and participate. Its saved me on more than one occasion!

    In three sentences

    Smaller, private school. Older building with limited parking. Some very good professors, some very not...

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the mall or catch a movie. Go out to eat with friends or just take a bike ride.

    Food and Dining

    You get three meals a day and there's a kitchen in the dormitory building.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone seems comfortable and close to each other. Be considerate and don't annoy your room mate and other dormitory neighbors. Stay clean as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like anything else you should practice and study and you shall prevail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get familiar with the area if you are from out of town.

    In three sentences

    Lackawanna College seems to be a very comfortable place. It's easy to settle in there and get to know everyone. It's like a family.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life that I was aware of.

    Food and Dining

    The food here was really expensinve.

    In three sentences

    Overall my experience was very good. Everyone was really helpful and nice. I loved attending Lackawanna.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Annoying.

    Great for these types of students

    Unmotivated people who do not care about their future.

    What to do for fun

    Lackawanna is in Scranton, therefore there is nothing to do.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate here and I am not planning on ever.

    Dorm Life

    I comute to school everday.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not expect much but the teachers are nice. Be careful with parking because basically there is none.

    In three sentences

    I honestly do not like Lackawanna. I cannot wait to transfer out. Lackawanna does not push you to do your best.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During my two years, I only heard one incident at one of the dorm buildings. I wouldn't say the school is guaranteed safe because no dorm in every school is safe because you'll never know what will happen and who knows what the other students will do.

    Greek Life

    You will get invitation for Phi Theta Kappa if you meet the requirements.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs and activities. New additions are added every year. For example, they added photography club this year. Flyers are everywhere. Emails are sent constantly so you would know what's happening and what clubs are available.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for adult students who want to continue their education or maybe their jobs ask them to attend certain classes. The college is very affordable so you could save for two years before you transfer to another school of that is your plan and their credits are generally and widely acceptable everywhere in Pennsylvania.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a public library right in front of the main building. The college is only 15 minutes away from downtown area, the mall, and the bus station. One problem I often heard was the limited space for parking. They also don't have a special smoking area.

    Bang for the buck

    They pay you if you want to be a tutor for a certain subject. But you need recommendations from the professors and a passing GPA. They also pay you if you have a neat-written notes that can be copied for other students. Other than that, they offer many on-campus works.

    What to do for fun

    For a small private college, Lackawanna has a many great clubs and organizations that you could get involved in. The area nearby always ask for help and you could volunteer for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I didn't spend much time in their cafetaria because I was always too tired to get to the third floor. But they have what students need. Coffees are always there and they taste great.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorm, so I might be biased here. But from what I knew back then the dorm had many events every weekday and weekend. I got invitation emails very often and those events had prizes. The main dorm has a gym inside. Overall, there are three dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Lackawanna College offers a great amount of majors. I was an accounting student and my classes were great in majority. The teachers know their material and show their credibility. I didn't find one teacher of mine who wasn't nice to students. Grades were fair and square, but don't be surprised if you get expelled for misdemeanor, fighting, and even plagiarism.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your teachers. Ask current students there. Some teachers can be very philosophic and requires your long-span attention, some are very relax and helpful, but they have strict disciplines in class.

    In three sentences

    Start here first if you're planning to transfer to a new four-year school. Lackawanna is very affordable and it has great teachers. The students come from different backgrounds but they are united as a community.