Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lafayette College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lafayette is the PERFECT place for athletes who are looking to continue their competitive play at the Division 1 level while receiving an education from an academically prestigious school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like to work hard, play hard, and party hard... then, Lafayette is the place for you!

    Bang for the buck

    Despite the many remarkable aspects of Lafayette, there is one down side: the cost. With the total cost being almost $52,000, Lafayette is one of the more expensive schools. But in my opinion, it’s worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love EVERYTHING about Lafayette from gorgeous campus with it's small school charm, to the close knit student body, to the competitive D1 sports, to the vast amount of opportunities and connections offered. Don't let what others say fool you.. there is something fun going on every night, if you want there to be. You can ALWAYS find a reason to party here. :) Every night is what you make it out to be. This means that every night there are plenty of people who stay in and do work and also, plenty of people going out and having fun. I love Lafayette so much that I became a tour guide so that I could show my appreciate for the school by sharing its many benefits and by encouraging prospective students.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors take a genuine interest in their students and are more than willing to offer their time and assistance. Lafayette offers a broad variety of programs to help prepare you for the future. Personal meetings with counselors help you to identify your skills, interests, values, and goals. An assortment of workshops are available to provide you with resume preparation, job search skills, and interviewing tips. Internships and Externships allow you to build skills and gain valuable experience and insight into a specific career or industry. Lafayette is a rigorous academic environment, and you will be surrounded by people who strive to succeed in the classroom, on the social scene, and one day in the work room.

  • 12/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    speaking as someone that doesn't always fit in, I truly believe that there is a place at Lafayette for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you get the feeling this is the place for you, apply early! it really helps your chances and doesn't affect your aid. Visit, A LOT. show interest it really helps!

    Bang for the buck

    $52,000 a year is a big commitment and I'm sorry but if I had to pay for it It wouldn't be worth it. Thankfully, Lafayette has Phenomenal financial aid, far beyond any other place I applied. That said if money is no object, go for it! its the best you can get for the buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it! the campus is beautiful and it has a very strong happy atmosphere, very important when finals come around. Moreover, everyone is very accepting. For instance, I avoid parties like the plague, its just not who I am. At Lafayette party are a big deal, and if you are in to it you will be more than happy, nut everyone is more than understand that its just not for me and treats me like any other person and I them. its just a great place to be.

    Am learning a lot

    Lafayette may not me the most well known school in the country, but its academics are on par Ivy's. Speaking in general first, Which ever major you want to pursue (and especially if your not sure yet), Lafayette offers a great education. Every single member of the faculty has a doctorate and more importantly it motivated, available, and interested in you! Being a small college without graduate students,at Lafayette you will get to interact with these very smart people at a level just not possible at larger schools. For example, my first engineering class was a wake up call and the coursework was much more involved than I had anticipated. However, the professor was available every day, at almost any time to help us succeed, and I dont think I have ever learned more. This is the rule at layette, not the exception. As an Engineer, I couldn't be more happy with my choice. To tell you the truth, all Engineering programs (accredited ones) have the same substance, classes and requirements ect. This is not to say they are all created equal, one must look at the whole package. For me Lafayette provides the best of everything, Hands on experience and Individual support from very qualified faculty. When you take the tour of an engineering building at any school you see the awesome wind tunnels and the huge machine shop and all the other toys that get us engineers excited. But at most places as an undergrad, you probably wont get to touch many of them. At Lafayette you get them all to your self. And for me, thats great.

  • 12/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is a fairly large population of engineering students, but there are also smaller majors, like theater, which are very good programs. There are plenty of Varsity sports, as well as tons of club sports (our crew and quidditch teams are very good!) Honestly, there is something for everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go for an interview if you are applying, they like to attach a face to a name. Also, once you are there go to the Activity Fair that is set up in the first few weeks, you can find plenty of cool clubs to look into and find your niche more quickly. One more piece of advice: no matter where you go don't be afraid to go see your professors during their office hours. They want to talk to you to help you, that's why they have office hours!

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive college, but don't be too intimidated by the price tag, which is actually fairly competitive compared to other colleges nearby of equal standing. Private schools like Lafayette give good scholarships ;).

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful! Being right up the hill from downtown Easton, PA is great because you can easily walk to the center of town (the stairs my be old, and a work out, but not too hard). There are also shuttles that go into town and to nearby malls and shopping centers. Now that they finished the construction on Watson Courtyard and in front of Pardee Hall there are two new brick pathways that are really nice.

    Am learning a lot

    Although the classes are challenging, especially at first, you learn quickly and I was able to grasp concepts quickly. The most important thing is to find a method of studying and doing homework that works for you.

  • 08/02/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The cost is extremely high but the college has plenty of money to offer in aid as scholarships and grants to make the price reasonable.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is full of very friendly people. It's no problem getting to know people and everyone seems down to earth. There seem to be plenty of student events to get involved with and the city has some cool stuff to check out.

    Will learn a lot

    Although I haven't started school here yet, I have contacted a few professors and they are very willing to help. I have heard that all the teachers here are willing to put in an extra effort to help the students become successful.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is dedicated to making sure that every single student is in a safe environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cosmic Cup is a great place to get amazing beverages such as coffee or hot chocolate and also meet with friends and get some homework done. Campus Pizza is also a great option to dine and socialize.

    What to do for fun

    The clubs and sports teams are the school's best way to make friends and stay involved while having endless amounts of fun. There is also a fitness center with game rooms that include from little-to-none through vigorous physical activity options.

    Food and Dining

    The options are endless, and no matter what your normal diet looks like, Lafayette will surely have something to keep you fed and happy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean, safe, and friendly environments that provide students with comfortable areas to live and grow in.

    Academic Rigor

    Students will figure out quickly that just getting by with putting in very little effort will not cut it. While the classes are not impossible, they do require full student engagement and a true desire to succeed in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lafayette's selection process does take GPA's into effect; however, this school desires students with many extracurricular activities and students who are very passionate and involved. If you desire to attend this school, find something you love and put your whole being into it (no matter what it is). These type of students are the ones who are not only accepted into the school, but also thrive when they arrive.

    In three sentences

    Lafayette College is the place where the student comes before all else. Focused on ensuring the success of all current students, this Liberal Arts college is the perfect place to set up good future foundations in both the workplace and graduate schools. If a student is not sure what they want to do in life, this is the perfect school to self actualize and truly realize his or her calling.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It is hugeeee. Pretty much all girls are involved in Greek life. You want a social life? Go Greek. It's ridiculous.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Laf-lehigh: the football showdown between our rival school. It's a huge day. People get up at the crack of dawn and start pregaming, stumble over to the game, take a nap once it's over, and then back out for the night. All-college day: probably the biggest day all year. Same as laf-lehigh just without football. The college has activities, but everyone just pretty much drinks all day.

    What to do for fun

    Go to some leopard volleyball, football or basketball games. Everyone hangs out at campus pizza which has the best Italian and Greek food ever! At night it is transformed into a dance c,ub which is super popular. The off campus coffee shop is really really good but kinda pricey, but people go there to study and chat. Going to parties on the weekends is fun. Thursdays amaya be bigger nights than Fridays actually. People go to thengym; they offer tons of club sports and classes.

    Food and Dining

    We have our cafeteria that everyone calls upper. It's pretty standard, but the foods good. Lower is more for grab and go. In lower the yogurt bar and sandwich/ wraps are pretty popular. Simons is a sandwich shop that everyone raves about. Really great sandwiches. Marquis is the less popular dining hall just because of the location. It is a little more family style. Gilberts is the late night food stop. The cookies are delicious and so are the fries. We also have a Starbucks in our library.

    Dorm Life

    Loud dorms! Mckeen and south are the most popular dorms. They are kept clean, and the bathroom was really nice in mckeen (where I lived last year). There are a lot of floor programs and the ra's have been cool.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very challenging, but definitely manageable. There is a lot of coursework, but so far I have not had too much trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very much a 'richy rich' school. All the best brands, newest things, and the judgements that come along with not having those things. You can find people who are not that way, but the majority of them are, and the in crowd is, so be prepared. Expect loud dorm rooms. The foods actually pretty good. Expensive books and school store gear. A lot of very fun traditions.

    In three sentences

    Lafayette college is a great education. They have so many tools to prepare you for life after college, and they work hard to make sure you have a job before you leave. Over all it's alright, just a bit socially pretentious.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a safe place but if you look for trouble, you'll find it.

    Greek Life

    It's here if you want it. It's not as though you can't find friends if you don't join. On the contrary, only 30% f people at Lafayette are in Frats or Sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Academically Self-Driven, Perfectionists, Athletes, Fashion-Conscious People, Environmentally Aware People

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Laf - Lehigh football game is extremely tradition, but so is midnight breakfast that goes along with it! Here, the professors actually serve the food!

    What to do for fun

    Lafayette is into their extra-curricular activities. Anything from rock climbing to swimming to kayaking to dancing to quidditch. There is also a FREE shuttle bus that takes you to the mall and the movies.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman are freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    You'll be challenged to the point where you'll walk out of the campus after graduation and the world won't seem as intimidating.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't work hard already, you will here. That is okay though because you'll love what you do and have a great time doing it.

    In three sentences

    You get MORE for what you pay for: A driven atmosphere, Professors who care and WANT you to succeed, and a great opportunity.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is top priority. Its very safe at night, and public safety is always on duty.

    What to do for fun

    I play club sports, I sleep a lot, but most important I hang around with friends on the Quad.

    Food and Dining

    The food sucks!!! However they are working on improving it.

    Dorm Life

    Living with students from same regions of the east coast provides a good atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    Classroom ratios are 15:1 and the work load one is responsible is a lot but worth learning the material. Each class is unique and all the professors are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    It may take time to accustom at first, however, you will love living around individuals with the same potentials you have.

    In three sentences

    Lafayette College is a prestigious school, that evolves each day around the diversity the students provide. The atmosphere is friendly and the classroom settings are enjoyable. Living on campus, provides you with a full college experience.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Engineers, sports players.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to think about what you want to study beforehand, even if it's just figuring out that you want to go in undecided. The classes are limited for many majors so it's good to have at least something you know you can pursue. Also, if you're not a party person, of if you're an art student, prepare to stretch yourself. The opportunities don't necessarily come to you.

    In three sentences

    Limited. Challenging in a positive way. Growing.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is fantastic at Lafayette. Safety is a priority at Lafayette College. Officers respond as soon as called.

    Greek Life

    Lafayette does have Greek life, although it has been seeing some opposition from the administration recently. Lafayette is a small school, so Greek life can create further divisions and cliques in the student body. Many students are involved in Greek life, but at the same time, many are not.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lafayette provides exceptional opportunities for volunteering, leadership, and academic research, as well as study-abroad programs.

    Great for these types of students

    Lafayette is great for students with a good work ethic, but who also want time to relax. Lafayette is also an amazing school for athlete who are seeking rigorous athletics and academics. It offers activities that appeal to a variety of interests, whether they be theater, sports, community service, or Greek Life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Lafayette-Lehigh Rivalry makes the annual Lafayette-Lehigh football game a blast. Lafayette and Lehigh alternate hosting the game, and students from the visiting school are bused over for the event. The stadium is packed, and the energy is amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    Lafayette College provides a great education, one which prepares students for a career right out of college, or further schooling.

    What to do for fun

    If you want to get off campus, Easton has delicious restaurants, including Sette Luna, Pearly Bakers, and the River Grille. On campus, LAF, the Lafayette Activities Forum, plans events, including comedians, for students. Football games and basketball games are a good time too, especially the Lafayette-Lehigh Footbal game.

    Food and Dining

    Lafayette provides several dining options for students. The main dining halls, Farinon and Marquis, are good options for first years. However, meal plans can be overly constricting for upper-level students, and it is often much less expensive to go off the meal plan entirely after the first year.

    Dorm Life

    Lafayette provides a variety of dorms for students, but first year students are usually placed in doubles. Sophomores, juniors, and seniors can choose from doubles, triples, quads, and suites. Seniors have priority on off campus housing. Dorms are a great way to meet people and make friends, especially as a first-year.

    Academic Rigor

    Lafayette College is difficult academically. The professors expect dedication and hard work from their students. Classes are small, so professors will notice if you skip class. However, many classes are discussion based, and the readings, while heavy, are interesting and prepare the student for grad school or law school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sit in on a class. Ask questions to your tour guide and other current students on campus. Check out the dining halls: Farinon, Lower Farinon, Marquis, Gilberts, and Simons. Don't miss the gym; it's huge!

    In three sentences

    Lafayette College is a small liberal arts college located in suburban Pennsylvania. Lafayette offers a variety of courses in various disciplines, ranging from mechanical engineering courses to Chinese courses to Creative Short Fiction courses. Small class size, amazing professors, and a beautiful campus make Lafayette a must-see for prospective students.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's Lafayette.

    Greek Life

    Welcoming yet very exclusive, you need to be on your A game.

    Clubs and Activities

    Opportunities for all of your interests are available on campus. If you can't find something you want, forming a club is easy.

    Great for these types of students

    Exceptionally smart students who take their education seriously and like having fun.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a pretty steep price tag, however after graduation, you will find it an extremely worthy investment.

    What to do for fun

    Party! serious partying goes on here. Usually exclusive and you won't know about them unless you know about them.

    Food and Dining

    Food's great. Period

    Dorm Life

    A decent amount of parties take place at Lafayette dorm rooms. We know how to have fun. Students virtually know everyone else on campus and boast a tight knit community that socializes like there's no tomorrow.

    Academic Rigor

    Strong educational system with close support from professors at all times. Lafayette has all the necessary resources to help you succeed in your studies

    Tips for prospective students

    Lafayette isn't for everyone. Be sure to do your research and tour the campus to see if it is the right fit for you. It is one of the most competitive colleges in the country and demands a lot from its students. Make sure it is right for you.

    In three sentences

    Lafayette is a tight knit community that provides a rigorous hands on education that will land you any job you desire. Students are challenged and given all the support they need to successfully complete their education

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do, if you look. Lafayette is on the hill overlooking Easton, so we aren't in a city. For some, that may be a little boring, but I like the open space. And if you can't find something fun on a Saturday night, there's always DU spinning.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the best, but we're getting a new food service so who knows, it could get better.

    Dorm Life

    This is by far one of the best aspects of college. It's so great to live with my best friends.

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough. Especially for the sciences and engineering. But there are lots of different resources to get help if you're struggling, so don't worry!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to try new things. College is the chance to try new sports, join clubs and meet new people. You'll only regret it if you hold back and don't get involved in all that Lafayette has to offer

    In three sentences

    Live LAF Love.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety officers are always driving around to ensure the safety of students. I never feel unsafe even when walking alone at night.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is big on campus and many people are a part of it. Greek life allows students to be involved in community service while having some fun too!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to choose from on campus. Most people are involved in multiple clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, hard-working, smart, love to learn, involved

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Lafayette/Lehigh football rivalry is the oldest football rivalry in the country!

    Bang for the buck

    Though Lafayette is expensive for students that need to pay full tuition, they do a good job of giving financial aid to those in need.

    What to do for fun

    The people at Lafayette are so interesting, fun and friendly that just hanging out with friends is fun. Clubs, sports and greek life are fun things to be involved in and always have activities going on. There are always fun things going on on campus such as dances, poetry readings and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places on campus to get food, as well as many of campus dining options. You can find pretty much any type of food you're in the mood for within walking distance. If not, there are tons of places that are willing to deliver!

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are very nice, while others need to be remodeled. Overall, dorm life is is pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very challenging. It is definitely not a walk in the park compared to many other schools. This is especially true for science or engineering majors, which require a lot of studying and dedication. Other majors, while still academically rigorous, are not as intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early decision if you know that it is the school that you want. This will make it much easier to get accepted. Also, once you get to the school make sure to get involved. Being in a sport or a club helps you make friends and fill some of your free time.

    In three sentences

    Lafayette College is a spectacular place of higher education. The small class sizes allow for a more personalized learning experience. Also, students on campus are extremely friendly and the small campus makes it feel like its own community.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very active and the campus is small so you never have a problem reaching them.

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities and fraternities you could pledge to sophomore year.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs, you can try anything.

    Great for these types of students

    Social students who like small communities.

    Bang for the buck

    They are really good about giving financial aid,so the cost is not that much but you get to experience a lot.

    What to do for fun

    Go to The Spot, they have free food and music, sometimes they have comedians and bands and whatnot. They always have tons of events and trips to stores on the weekends too.

    Food and Dining

    Two main dining halls but a couple of other places to eat and 3 different main meal plans. Lots of options and the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Has a mix of both single gender and co-ed dorms. Free laundry and many RAs.

    Academic Rigor

    I am only a freshman so the classes are not that bad right now, but you can definitely challenge yourself here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to meet new people, have fun, and learn tons of stuff.

    In three sentences

    Great small community. Fantastic science/engineering program. Feels like home.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Lafayette College is everything a motivated and excited student ready to learn and engage could ever ask for.

    What to do for fun

    Lafayette College offers various volunteer activities as well as clubs and teams to join. The college also offers weekend transportation and trips to Philadelphia and New York City, which are both approximately 1 hour and 45 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Lafayette College has 2 main buffet style dining halls as well as four other specialized options.

    Dorm Life

    The residence life is very supportive and accommodating to every student's concerns and needs.

    Academic Rigor

    Lafayette College and challenging and stimulating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lafayette College is perfect for those who are excited to learn and be engaged in the class room. the class sizes are often very small and professors expect every student to be fully engaged and interactive throughout the class.

    In three sentences

    Lafayette College provides the opportunity for any student willing and wanting to succeed the resources and encouragement necessary. Lafayette College is a heaven of academic knowledge, athletic expertise, and social diversity. Lafayette College encourages every student to become the best person they can be.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe here. I walk across the campus from the library or study groups in other dorms after 1am almost everyday. I always feel perfectly safe walking alone.

    Greek Life

    A majority of the campus is involved in greek life. There are only 8 Greek organizations on campus but you hardly notice since our campus is so small. If you're looking for a specific frat or sorority, chances are we don't have it here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's an unbelievable amount of organizations to get involved in. The hardest part about life at Lafayette is learning how to say No and learning not to spread yourself too thin. There's so much to do!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Lafayette vs Lehigh rivalry is a lot of fun. It is the most played college sports rivalry in the country. The students get excited, the athletes get excited, the administration gets excited. Nothing brings a campus together better than a rivalry.

    Bang for the buck

    Lafayette is extremely expensive but has a very high career placement rate and graduate school acceptance rate so it all balances out in the end.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or club sport! Sign up to volunteer! People watch on the quad or in the college center! Most importantly, BE fun and you'll HAVE fun. This mentality will get you involved on campus and connect you with people who will never make you question whether you had a good time or not. (All colleges have a party scene. There are plenty of opportunities to party if that's what you're looking for.)

    Food and Dining

    There are 5 different places to eat on campus. The food quality is average but you get tired of the meal options after a while. We just switched to a new food service provider so the meal options are likely to change next year.

    Dorm Life

    No matter where you go, you are going to have to learn to live with other people. You get used to it. The Residence Advisors are a valuable resource, especially for freshman. They don't come knocking on your door looking for alcohol and partying. As long as you keep it quiet and under control you'll be fine. Chances are, if you are out of control, you need help anyway.

    Academic Rigor

    If you're looking for a challenge, this is it. I came from a very academically challenging high school so I felt pretty prepared for the college work load but I definitely noticed that I had to work a lot harder to get a B than some of my friends at other schools who were getting a 4.0 GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure Lafayette has exactly what you're looking for. It's a pricey institution but well worth it if you take advantage of all it has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Lafayette is a beautiful campus with plenty of character. There's so many activities and groups you can get involved in. The size allows you to become acquainted with a majority of the campus.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at Lafayette is colloquially called P-safe and are very quick to respond to calls, but that does make them very keen to any mischievous activities that may be happening on campus. Fortunately P-safe is pretty lenient on some less serious actions because they know college kids like to have fun, but they will not hesitate to be very strict if it is to protect other students. P-safe is located under Marquis dining hall and is very easily accessed in case they are needed.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not as prominent at Lafayette as it used to be, but the fraternities and sororities hold events for the general population and are not trying to exclude non-members.The Fraternities and Sororities hold bi-annual events so that you can see what the Greek Life is like without making any commitments. Lafayette Greek life is really pretty standard, but is certainly not sub-par by any means.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honestly, there are too many clubs to list and there is pretty much anything you could think of. Some are held in the afternoons and/or on weekends, while activities are usually held during the week and include lunches, talks, trips to cool places (usually on weekends), and most people participate in at least one or more of these activities or clubs. Activities are usually focused to a certain group of people (for example a physics talk for aspiring physicists and inquiring minds), but are never restricted for anyone and are always high quality along with the clubs that are just tons of fun.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are someone who wants a more personal relationship with professors then Lafayette is perfect. If you like beautiful campuses, and awesome people then this is also the place for you. If you are a little bit shy and not entirely sure what you want to do for the rest of your life, then Lafayette welcomes you with wide open arms because we love people like this!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In our fountain in front of Colton Chapel there is a statue of Marquis de Lafayette with a sword in his left hand that Lehigh attempts to steal every year before the nationally renowned tradition that is the Laf-Lehigh football rivalry game. All college day in the spring is a tradition that everyone - and I mean everyone - participates in that celebrates the end of classes in the spring and it is always amazing. Finally, in our building called Pardee there is a fifth floor that almost no one can get into, and the rumor is that there is a ghost of a professor who died while he lived there and people claim to have been able to see him from the Quad...

    Bang for the buck

    I won't lie - Lafayette is kind of expensive, but admissions is very generous with financial aid and will try to help you as much as possible. The academics here are nationally ranked and are truly worth it, the campus activities are always fun and Lafayette is very involved with the city of Easton and will coordinate events there for our entertainment. This is a personal college more than a private one because everybody will get to know everyone else and unbreakable bonds are sure to come from this environment with your peers and professors alike, and so overall I think it is worth much more than what it costs to go here.

    What to do for fun

    Another subjective category that Lafayette deals with very well, because Lafayette hosts many events (usually once per week, but it really depends on the type of activity) where people can go and do various things such as rock climbing, weight lifting, playing instruments (piano and such), watch movies, go to sporting events for free(!), trivia contests, and parties (the one you were waiting for, but usually not hosted by Lafayette). There is always something to do on campus, but I am not saying that it will always be something you are interested in. Lafayette goes to great lengths to keep us entertained and it really does pay off because campus is always really fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food at Lafayette has it's ups and downs like most institutions, but it is most certainly a much higher quality than high school food and the workers are very nice lovable people and extremely flexible with individual needs. About once a month dining services holds special meals based on various themes from Pacific Islands to fast food (it is actually mock fast food that is much higher quality) and it is always delectable. The food hours are quite good ranging from 7am to 130am most days.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Lafayette is very focused on getting to know your roommate(s) and your neighbors. Bi-monthly floor programs bring everyone together to participate in activities and just hang out. I will not say you are guaranteed to like everyone, but I will say that you can freely choose to hang out with some people more than others and the dorms are set up in such a way to facilitate just that.

    Academic Rigor

    Now this is a very subjective category to talk about, but I believe that Lafayette isn't too challenging primarily because it is small and professors will usually have time to help you out when you need it. Obviously quantum mechanics will be harder than intro to philosophy but in the end it will come down to personal strength and weaknesses, and like I said there will always be people willing to help and always free of charge. Lafayette sponsors many tutoring programs for all areas of study, so you don't have to panic that much because you will always be in capable hands of our trained tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Honestly, Lafayette isn't for everyone and if someone says that then they are lying, but Lafayette is a beautiful place, but it is quite small with just over 2400 students, so if you want a large university - this isn't it. However, here professors and students alike get to know everyone around them making for a very comfortable and helpful environment. Lafayette is a great school but I go here so I am biased, but it isn't challenging to get used to the environment and you will never feel left out here unless you don't like Lafayette's qualities.

    In three sentences

    It has a very great atmosphere with a lot of great people you can relax with or study with; at Lafayette there are a lot of intelligent people who are completely willing to help. In addition to the people, the professors are truly amazing because they take the time to get to know you personally and will try their best to help you, and they will even offer research since Lafayette has the resources of a large university in a much smaller, friendlier environment. Not only does Lafayette have a beautiful campus, everything is within ten minute walking distance meaning your friends are never far away.

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe on campus. Immediately off campus however is a different story

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved but there is a strong presence of it on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm on the track team and I love it. I'm also in the french club and involved with other clubs too. I love all of it.

    Great for these types of students

    social, and willing to work hard

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Laf- Lehigh is the most fun weekend there is. There's so much school spirit and it's great.

    What to do for fun

    There's always some sort of party going on if you're into that. However, there's plenty of people doing more relaxed things too. The school often plans things as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk to your professors. It doesn't even have to be about the class just make sure they know your name and face

    In three sentences

    I love the people here, the professors, and the athletic department. Everyone is very friendly and always helpful. There is no one that I don't like.

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is extremely safe. I have never felt threatened or scared. Public safety is constantly patrolling. We have a blue light system.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is very dominant. You can not be involved until Sophomore year.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everyone on campus is involved. Its almost effortless to start a club if it does not already exist. Athletics is also a big part of Lafayette culture.

    Great for these types of students

    Preppy and well-off financially, type-A, proactive

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    South is the best dorm for underclassmen. Fischers are the best dorm for upperclassmen.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hours and food options this year were terrible. But there in a process of remaking the entire dining setup.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone becomes friends with everyone. Fun atmosphere. Tend to be loud on weekends. No visitation rules. RAs are fair. Some dorms are a lot nicer than others. Rooms are decent size.

    Academic Rigor

    We only take four courses a semester. Curriculum is challenging but it is manageable. Professors are more than willing to help and we have an excellent tutoring system.

    Tips for prospective students

    Experience the social aspect/night life of the school before coming. Know freshman year will be rough.

    In three sentences

    Extremely strong alumni relations with endless opportunities. Greek life and Athletics dominate social life. Extremely easy to be involved in multiple clubs and activities on campus.