Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lake Erie College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lake Erie College is great for students who are self motivated and want to succeed. The classes are small and hand-on, and the professors take the time to truly teach. Students who want to have a cultural experience, make lifetime connections, and chase their passions have a place at LEC.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to any prospective student is just to visit and don't rule any college out before you do. See for yourself what Lake Erie College, or any other college for that matter, has to offer you. Meet your professors, tour the campus, and hear the opinions of other students you meet. You might be surprised at what you find.

    Bang for the buck

    At first glance, any college can appear daunting as far as finances are concerned and LEC is no different. Many people may see that it is a private institution and feel like it will be expensive. This is my advice: Just ask our financial aid department. I was amazed at what they could do for me. After all of the aid they were willing to give, it turned out that this private school was just as cheap as a public one. In fact, in my case, it was even cheaper! This college is well worth what any prospective student might put into it. The professors are capable, willing, and friendly. The classes are small, the courses are challenging, and all the amenities of campus life make this school too good of a deal to pass up.

    Am enjoying being here

    Lake Erie College is a wonderful place to be! From the classrooms to the campus events, there is always a feeling of welcome. The college hosts many different events through the year ranging from cultural to just plain, good old fun. Everyone can find a place amongst their peers at LEC. Whether it is a student's goal to join greek life or one of the many clubs, this school has a niche for everyone. Cant find the club for you? Make it! Lake Erie College encourages involvement of all kinds. From the many campus events to events of their own making, students are never without something to do. Perhaps a student might want to go off campus? There are a lot of options in the immediate area for students to pursue. The buses in Painesville offer discounted rates for Lake Erie College students. There is ample shopping, movie theatres (they offer discounts too!), bowling, restaurants, and more. Lake Erie College is unlike many other colleges in that it allows all students to have vehicles, regardless of class status. That means that a student is also free to explore nearby Cleveland, home of the Rock n' Roll Hall of Fame, the famous Cleveland Zoo, and many other attractions. Lake Erie College truly is a wonderful place to be!

    Am learning a lot

    Since I arrived at Lake Erie College, I have had the privilege of learning one life lesson after another. I have not only had the chance to excel in the classroom under the tutelage of amazing professors, but I have learned a lot about myself as a person. The instructors give time to their students and make sure that they understand the material. They take the time to approach a student as an individual in a small class environment and I truly believe that it has made all the difference in my education. They know my name, how I learn best, and really care about my future. I highly recommend this institution to anyone that wants to learn hands-on in a positive, small classroom environment.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lake Erie College is great for those who like small schools. As previously mentioned, the one-on-one relationships with your professors is easily obtained. Some schools give you the feeling that you are just a number. Lake Erie College does not give me that feeling at all. The staff and faculty say hello and good morning. It is a very welcoming school.

    Greek Life

    Lake Erie College currently has four Greek clubs. They are Gamma Phi Beta, Greek Council, and Kappa Sigma, and Alpha Psi Omega.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a plethora of clubs and activities for students. Marching band, pep band, and academic clubs are just a few. You can join student union groups as well. The availability of involvement is excellent if you choose to take part. Great for these types of students

    Great for these types of students

    Lake Erie College is great for those who like small schools. As previously mentioned, the one-on-one relationships with your professors is easily obtained. Some schools give you the feeling that you are just a number. Lake Erie College does not give me that feeling at all. The staff and faculty say hello and good morning. It is a very welcoming school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Hall, the original building of Lake Erie College, is said to be haunted by a ghost who was once a student in the 1800s. Tiberius is a mascot of Lake Erie. It is tradition for students to rub his head before games for good luck.

    Bang for the buck

    Lake Erie's current tuition is currently approximately $27,000. It is a bit pricey, but there are more options for obtaining scholarships and grants. Lake Erie College is a very prestigious school in the area. It has been around since the early 1800s and still thrives today. A degree from Lake Erie College is sure to please those who know!

    What to do for fun

    Lake Erie College has a very large dining hall. There is a mini-cafe located in the same building as the main cafeteria. Students can have a meal plan, or pay with cash in the cafeteria. The current daily cost for entrance to the cafeteria is $5.00. This may seem like a lot of money for lunch, but in paying the $5.00, you have unlimited access to anything in the cafeteria. There is a salad bar, soup choices, vegetarian choices, multiple main entree choices, and other options available to students and faculty

    Food and Dining

    Lake Erie College has a very large dining hall. There is a mini-cafe located in the same building as the main cafeteria. Students can have a meal plan, or pay with cash in the cafeteria. The current daily cost for entrance to the cafeteria is $5.00. This may seem like a lot of money for lunch, but in paying the $5.00, you have unlimited access to anything in the cafeteria. There is a salad bar, soup choices, vegetarian choices, multiple main entree choices, and other options available to students and faculty

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Lake Erie College are similar to most dorms. They are small, but offer all necessary components to successful living. There are plenty of on and off campus housing opportunities.

    Academic Rigor

    My advice to any prospective student is just to visit and don't rule any college out before you do. See for yourself what Lake Erie College, or any other college for that matter, has to offer you. Meet your professors, tour the campus, and hear the opinions of other students you meet. You might be surprised at what you find.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to any prospective student is just to visit and don't rule any college out before you do. See for yourself what Lake Erie College, or any other college for that matter, has to offer you. Meet your professors, tour the campus, and hear the opinions of other students you meet. You might be surprised at what you find.

    In three sentences

    Good school,small classes/campus, great people, and Beautiful place to be.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    offers a wide range of clubs and activities, including a total of 23 men's and women's sports teams competing at the division ii level.

    Great for these types of students

    great for the student who likes a small environment with small class sizes and teachers who care about students' futures.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    mountain day and field day are two unusual tradition's that normally wouldn't be found on other campuses. mountain day is an unscheduled day at the end of september in the fall semester where classes are cancelled for the day and a bunch of activities take place on campus. field day is where the entire school gets together for fun and games the first sunday before school begins.

    Food and Dining

    on occassion can be really good, but overall not the best. breakfast is probably the best meal they offer.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lake Erie College always has security on campus. They will walk you to your car whenever you feel it is needed. They always stay on top of making sure everyone feels safe. Also, the Painesville Police Dept. is located about five minutes from the campus.

    Greek Life

    Lake Erie College currently has four Greek clubs. They are Gamma Phi Beta, Greek Council, and Kappa Sigma, and Alpha Psi Omega.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a plethora of clubs and activities for students. Marching band, pep band, and academic clubs are just a few. You can join student union groups as well. The availability of involvement is excellent if you choose to take part.

    Great for these types of students

    Lake Erie College is great for those who like small schools. As previously mentioned, the one-on-one relationships with your professors is easily obtained. Some schools give you the feeling that you are just a number. Lake Erie College does not give me that feeling at all. The staff and faculty say hello and good morning. It is a very welcoming school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Hall, the original building of Lake Erie College, is said to be haunted by a ghost who was once a student in the 1800s. Tiberius is a mascot of Lake Erie. It is tradition for students to rub his head before games for good luck.

    Bang for the buck

    Lake Erie's current tuition is currently approximately $27,000. It is a bit pricey, but there are more options for obtaining scholarships and grants. Lake Erie College is a very prestigious school in the area. It has been around since the early 1800s and still thrives today. A degree from Lake Erie College is sure to please those who know!

    What to do for fun

    There are many opportunities to take part in activities at or near the school. For example, you can attend sporting events, plays, and fundraisers. Downtown Painesville is located approximately one mile down the road from Lake Erie College, offering restaurant options, and other activities within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    Lake Erie College has a very large dining hall. There is a mini-cafe located in the same building as the main cafeteria. Students can have a meal plan, or pay with cash in the cafeteria. The current daily cost for entrance to the cafeteria is $5.00. This may seem like a lot of money for lunch, but in paying the $5.00, you have unlimited access to anything in the cafeteria. There is a salad bar, soup choices, vegetarian choices, multiple main entree choices, and other options available to students and faculty.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Lake Erie College are similar to most dorms. They are small, but offer all necessary components to successful living. There are plenty of on and off campus housing opportunities.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the classes at Lake Erie College varies slightly on your intended minor and/or major, as well as your course load. The classes are challenging, but not so difficult that you will not be successful. There is an academic learning center, and tutoring available for subjects such as math, Spanish, and psychology. Help is always available for students if it is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those who are interested in attending Lake Erie College, I would suggest getting to know your professors early on. Establishing a good rapport with your professors and adviser can come as a great advantage as you complete your semesters. The small size of the school makes it very easy to establish a one-on-one relationship with the staff. The staff and faculty wants everyone to succeed, and will do all they can to help. Getting involved in clubs and activities is a great way to meet new people. Lake Erie College is small, but it is still absolutely very possible to establish friendships and relationships with your fellow classmates.

    In three sentences

    Lake Erie College is a wonderful destination for those who are interested in a small school experience. The professors are very dedicated to seeing their students succeed. Lake Erie College is small, but offers a wide variety of majors and minors for undergraduates, as well as graduate students.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Security is on call 24 hours 7 days a week. They respond very quickly. Students can go to security for anything; a ride home, locked out of dorms, parking matters, etc.

    Greek Life

    Lake Erie Has one sorority and one fraternity. The ladies of Lake Erie are Gamma Phi Betas and The Gentlemen are Kappa Sigmas.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs both academic and fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Lake Erie is great for athletes. The college is moving in the direction of collegiate sports. Also Lake Erie is a well known equestrian school, one of the best in the country. So if students are looking to pursue a career in horses LEC is the place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a day called Mountain Day. All classes are canceled and the college sets up games, along with a picnic. The students never know when mountain day will be. The president of the college is always around and talks to the students so he tends to pick a day that help the students to have a relaxing day off. When living in the dorms mountain day is extra exciting because at 6am the college brings a band of bag pipe players to play for the students.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of campus activities. Lots of group sports that students can sign up for. The college often gets free tickets to plays, movies, NFL football games and MLB baseball games.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is located in one of Lake Erie's newest buildings. It is a buffet style. The tables are always kept clean. The best part is the staff in the cafe, they are friendly and are like every one's mother. They make coming to meals a pleasant and caring setting.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms spacious, very clean and well maintained. There are two students to one room. Each room had a closet, bed, desk and a lamp. All rooms have a nice view of the campus. Students residing in the dorms respect the property of the college. The bathrooms are kept clean and everyone is respectful to each other.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are nothing to take lightly. I am a current student in the science department. The teachers are always there to help, but also make sure they don't help to much. College is a learning experience. Students are taught to problem solve and challenge themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lake Erie has lots of opportunities, by being out going and willing to talk to teachers and staff members you can find yourself once and a life time chances that will help you in your future career.

    In three sentences

    Lake Erie College is a private school that is full of life. The teachers are always available and want each student to succeed. On a scale of 1-10 (10 being the best) I give Lake Erie College a 12!

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have this thing called Mountain Day. The President picks one day in the fall semester where he cancels classes for the day and he is the only one that knows about it. You get woken up by bag pipes playing on the campus and going into the dorms.

    What to do for fun

    Close to many things such as restaurants, bowling alleys, the mall, and more.

    In three sentences

    Lake Erie College is a kind of environment I am comfortable in. It's not too big or too small. I can also be interactive in my classes with my teachers unlike other big schools with large class sizes.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lake Erie College is not too far from a bowling alley which has a $1 bowling night. There are also many restaurants nearby as well as a mall.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the school is not bad. There are many foods to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There are about 3 dorm buildings. One has all female students, one has all male, and the third is a mix so you can choose which you prefer. The rooms are a decent size whether you are alone or have a roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but the professors are willing to help anyone who asks for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to go to Lake Erie College be sure to know right away what major you want to get into because certain classes are only offered in the Fall semesters or only in the Spring, which would cause you to graduate later. If you are still undecided do not worry because the guidance counselors are very good at helping you choose your classes. Buy your books online because you can find them much cheaper there.

    In three sentences

    Lake Erie College is a great school. The students and professors are very friendly and willing to help. There are small class sizes which helps the professor get to know you as an individual.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mountain Day- whole day is free from classes.

    What to do for fun

    Everyone being so close, there is always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    A lot of people like it.

    Dorm Life

    Worst part is no A/C. Rooms are big enough though. Make sure you bring carpet.

    Academic Rigor

    Small classrooms makes it easier to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    come in with an open mind.

    In three sentences

    The campus keeps expanding. It is nice because it is a small campus and every student knows each other. Easy to contact and stay in-touch with the professors.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Police station down the road but you still have to be smart - obviously.

    Greek Life

    not into that - sorry

    Clubs and Activities

    You name it, you can start it or find it.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like a more structured environment and don't want to just be a number in a big blob of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Beach is the best kept secret !!

    Bang for the buck

    Smaller classes and personalized attention. I am a college athlete so sometimes I miss class but our professors seem to understand.

    What to do for fun

    Meet new people, get to be friends and hang out. There's a pretty nice and big beach about 3 miles away and it's a great place to go - anytime of the year! Lots of clubs and sports to play and watch.

    Food and Dining

    I like the food, and I can be picky. Get the food plan, it's worth it.

    Dorm Life

    Remember, you aren't marrying your roomate for life. You just have to be considerate and get along. It's 10 months.

    Academic Rigor

    Nothing worthwhile comes easy. Classes are just as tough but we have professors that are willing to help as well as study tables for the athletes. But you have to show up !

    Tips for prospective students

    Start out strong your freshman year. It's hard to catch up when you start out getting bad grades because you felt free from high school and home life. Don't succumb to bad habits.

    In three sentences

    Even though it's considered a small school it has a big feel to it because there is always something going on. I like feeling like I'm not just a number. My mom knows the bursar by her first name now!

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is amazing at Lake Erie, there is always an on call RA in all the dorms as well as security day and night if you need to get picked up from down the road or just don't want to walk to class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is Mountain Day, the day starts off with bagpipes waking up all the students in the dorms to call off class for the day. Then a special breakfast awaits everyone, and tons of games fill the campus all day. From bouncy houses to ice cream trucks and football and food it is a fun day off for everyone in the fall.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a whole lot in downtown Painesville besides Scores Bowling and Harry Buffalo but only ten to fifteen minutes away is downtown Cleveland where there is tons to do there between shopping and clubs and dining. Also, there is always activities on campus from casino nights and karaoke to movie nights in the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always a surprise at school. Sometimes it is homecooked meals and other times it is new and interesting exotic foods that normally I wouldn't get at home. Love the friendly Metz workers and staff that give nicknames each time you swipe in for a meal!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice at Lake Erie, the RA's work hard to make sure it is a safe and stress free zone for all the students. The three older halls are a little outdated but function just as well and give plenty of space to each roommate. The dorms are always cleaned every morning and nights are quiet and restful.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging, fun and exciting. Each professor has their certain ways but they all truly try to get the class active and engaged. I know with the classes I take I am pushing myself to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a first time freshman I was terrified to enter the world of college but once I got to Lake Erie, I felt right at home so don't be scared to live on campus and try rooming with someone new! It's really fun and you meet way more people by dorming there. Also, don't be afraid to take a fun class each semester. Their dance program is growing and building itself up again and it really is a blast. Try anything and everything the school has to offer. Don't skip out on meetings, scholarships, activities or job fairs. If you want to succeed you need the connections.

    In three sentences

    Lake Erie College is a well rounded community of students from nearby towns to across the pond countries. It has a home away from home atmosphere that brings everyone close. The staff and teachers are always eager to help better the success of their student body.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs or activities unless your in a sport.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mountain Day, where school is cancelled.

    Bang for the buck

    Very small.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not always the best but you learn to enjoy it.

    Dorm Life

    It depends what dorm you live in but it is generally pretty easy to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you attend all classes and listen to your professors.

    In three sentences

    Lake Erie College is a very small liberal arts school. The school offers division II athletics. You are always around very familiar faces.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students can go to games or participate in various clubs and organizations to make their stay at Lake Erie even greater.

    Food and Dining

    Also, being a commuter I don't have a meal plan, but I also hear the food is decent and I love the set up of the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I commute to school, but I have heard the dorm life is great!

    Academic Rigor

    I definitely feel challenged, but not in an overwhelming way. It's like the perfect happy medium. I am able to retain all that I am learning because it's not too much.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to take a heavy load their first year like I did and get all of their requirements out of the way. I would also advise them to immerse themselves in the college scene. Join a sorority/fraternity, and some fun clubs. Make the best of college because they are years you will never get back

    In three sentences

    I have fallen in love with Lake Erie College, and not only because the campus is absolutely gorgeous and it's closeness to my home. Everyone is so sweet, polite, and caring, whether they know you or not. The faculty is amazing, and I have yet to meet a teacher that has been less than friendly and efficient.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very well-lit at night, security cameras, security officers on-call all the time to escort you if need be. I always feel safe.

    Greek Life

    There are 2 Greek Life organizations. One male and one female.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of different clubs, and if there isn't one you want to join you can create your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, hard-working, athletic, equestrian, not out-going, not equestrian, not athletic....pretty much anyone with a positive attitude and good work ethic.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mountain Day, Field Day, Founder's Day. This is a school based on tradition and there are so many interesting and fun ones to take part in! Also some of the buildings (most of them) are said to be haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    I really like the school. It is a private college so it's more expensive, but I think it is worth the relationships you make with the small classrooms and flexible, willing to help, available staff.

    What to do for fun

    Going to games, getting involved in clubs, campus activities, theater productions, concerts, usually always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are good days, then there are not so good days. Always pizza and salad bar. Healthy and vegetarian options. Bravo station almost always has very tasty selections. Storm Cafe is a great place to grab a drink or snack as well.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of activities and fairly spacious rooms. Clean facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but not impossible. Very helpful, personable professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Don't be afraid to open up and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Very neat little college. Based on tradition. Gives you a homely, welcome feeling.