Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lake Forest College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For those who highly value in their education. For those who want to be in a class of small numbers of student. For those who want a less/need stressing and distracting environment. For those who are interested in international/culture.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the writing center even if you think that your writing skills are good. Always find opportunities and reasons to talk to the professors. They really like it when you do. Attend global mosaic. It is really fun! If accepted, attend pre-orientation. It is much more funner than the real orientation. And again, talk to whoever you encounter through even if they are not your professor. The school is pretty small, so they will remember you if you gave them a good first expression. What's the benefit of this? Connections or they might even become your teacher.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though I think that the education here is great, I do not think that it should cost almost $50,000 a year. However, they do offer great financial aid so the students can afford it. It ranked in the top 13 for students most happy with their financial aid package. Even if the school cost a lost, many students financial aid package is covered by a good amount.

    Am enjoying being here

    The setback of being in Lake Forest College is its location. The city of Lake Forest is quite boring. Therefore, students go to nearby cities to hang out. Luckily, downtown Chicago is only located one hour away. However, it is hard to find something to do when you pressed for time.

    Am learning a lot

    If you really want to learn, then you should consider Lake Forest College. Its small class sizes enables for the students to easily establish a relationship with the professor. When one’s stuck, they could easily talk to the professor because (1) they usually know each students’ situation and (2) since they devote themselves in teaching in small classes, they want students to be involved and come up to them. When you talk to them, you can expect them to be caring and grateful for you to come. Before, I was afraid to talk with my teachers. Now, I am more comfortable in talking with my professors. Some I became good friends with. My economics teacher was really nice and easy to talk to that many students always turn to her when they need help. Even though Lake Forest is neither Ivy League nor a top school, the curriculum is still rigorous and challenging. I became surprised how rigorous the work was. It was not necessarily easy. The books assigned for my history class were complicated to read, but doable. Plus, their ideas were interesting and important. The school offers many resources to its students. It offer writing center, tutoring, etc. I recommend students to visit the writing center no matter what. The tutors really leave you some tips in how to improve their writing. The center also provide standing appointments. This is for students to work with the same tutor each week. Therefore, those who want to improve in one specific area or have a teacher that assign many papers will benefit from this. The school also offered optional academic sessions for the first years to attend to help them transition into college.

  • 05/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    In general, Lake Forest College is great for anyone who wants to be challenged academically with interesting material. Lake Forest is definitely for someone who wants smaller class sizes where professors are extremely accessible and enthusiastic about their work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choosing a college should be based on what is best for you as a student. Consider your needs as a student. Learning from my own mistakes, a college should never be chosen or not chosen out of fear, or social pressure.

    Bang for the buck

    Lake Forest College has been well worth my time and money. In terms of education, there are huge opportunities for internships, studying abroad and research. The college has great facilities, opportunities and resources that extend beyond the campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    The community of students and professors is one of the best things about Lake Forest College. There are so many organizations to join, activities to participate in and events to attend. Getting involved is worthwhile at this school because of opportunities to show leadership

    Am learning a lot

    I transferred to LFC from a larger school of over 15,000 students. The class size at the larger school made learning and studying extremely independent. Coming to a school of less than 1,500 students was a big change. The smaller lectures and lab allow the professors to interact more with the students. The material is challenging, but interesting. As a science major, there is a lot of hands-on lab work which is really important.

  • 06/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Driven students who are interested in small class sizes, personal attention from professors, and have the willingness to take responsibility and make the most of their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't fall into ruts. Take chances. Love opportunities. I come from a tiny Appalachian town in Ohio where my neighbors consisted of cows and Amish people. Now I am at Lake Forest, succeeding beyond what I thought was possible-- all because I made a choice to go to a school that wasn't safe for me or my family. Who would have thought that a student from Coshocton, Ohio could be working at the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Paris, France? And there I was (fall 2010) thanks to my initiative and Lake Forest's opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    While Lake Forest College is very expensive, what I am getting for my money is well worth the expense. While I receive financial aid, I wish I had taken advantage of even more of Lake Forest's great resources. Because the school is so small, students can meet directly with aid officers who know them by name and individual financial situation.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have thoroughly enjoyed myself at Lake Forest College. A common complaint is that there is nothing to do at Lake Forest-- but it is my belief that people who say that don't take advantage of Lake Forest's many resources. There are always events on campus to get involved in or someone down the hall to have an adventure with. Also, Chicago is right around the corner, which was a major factor when I applied. The city has become like an extra professor for me, and teaches me more about myself every day.

    Am learning a lot

    Academics at LFC are much more intense than I ever thought that they would be. Professors demand a lot from students, and the coursework in general is very writing intensive (even if you are a math major!) I feel that the focus on writing gives Lake Forest College students an edge in the job market over other small liberal arts colleges-- being able to accurately express yourself on paper is a lifelong skill that many employers look for and appreciate.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get the most of what is being offered....you're paying for it!

    Bang for the buck

    Financial Aid is awesome and they have great payment plans!

    Am enjoying being here

    Students are very nice as well as professor and everyone working here! the Cafeteria is great! Especially since its being renovated...the food is great---buffet style!

    Am learning a lot

    Every Teacher adds his/her own personal experience in what they are teaching, they are always excited about what they teach and are very helpful!

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    with aramark as our main sponsor for food and dining at lake forest, the overall food and service is amazing. students have numerous options to choose from. from chinese to greek, various foods are displayed and offered daily.

    Dorm Life

    the residence halls on campus supports the needs of all students. from substance-free dorm rooms to apartments, students' needs are taken into consideration. with the help and support from resident assistants and resident directors, they continue to strive in creating a safe environment for students.

    Academic Rigor

    classes at lake forest college not only challenges the students, but also push them to go beyond the standards and the norm. with intensive professors and workloads, students are pushed to strive for the best. any class a student takes is bound for an unique experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    responsibility is key. being able to manage academics and extracurricular activities must be done. in order to enjoy all realms of college, having the ability to manage all subjects is imperative.

    In three sentences

    lake forest college is an intensive, liberal arts school. with a diverse and broad range of studies and activities, students are able to explore many aspects. thus, this college is bound to encourage and support a student's future career.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to go to a relatively small school that is right near lake michigan and close to Chicago. Great for students that want to personally get to know their professors.

    Food and Dining

    The caf often has made to order items and other specialties.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great for making connections and meeting other students.

    Academic Rigor

    Lake Forest academics are can be challenging but also engaging and interesting.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They will annoy you from time to time, but they protect us.

    Greek Life

    No crazy frat parties here. Mostly a way to meet new people while doing something good for the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    So.... many.... clubs...... and ...... activities..... :)

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to take the next step forward and become a well rounded or extraordinary individual while having fun!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Relay for Life, TOGA PARTY, AROUND THE WORLD PARTY, paint dust fights. The most interesting I would say, is the one day new Rugby players streak through the quads touching every quad door.

    Bang for the buck

    Great financial aid but otherwise, rest assured your money is well spent here.

    What to do for fun

    Apart from regular Frisbee, clubs, and sports, they're are parties to satisfy the craziest of party animals. Mud tug of wars, freshmen activities which are a fond memory. PLAYFAIR!!!

    Food and Dining

    One of the best things about the college. The food here is amazing and is constantly taking complaints or concerns from the student body to better themselves. Wait until you meet Ruben, Omelet Master Chef.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are nicer than others but all in all, they're acceptable. I recommend Nollen Hall because its brand new and has a mini store/kitchen on the first floor open until 2am most nights. NEW BUILDING ON THE WAY!!

    Academic Rigor

    With the high acceptance rate into graduate schools, LFC has a challenging curriculum to prepare its students. Stay ahead of your work and keep active dialogue with your professors to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The expectations from professors can seem a bit drastic at first but they mean well. Ideally, stay ahead of your work and don't let your freshmen year tank your gpa. Lastly, GET INVOLVED!!! With the large amount of clubs, club sports, and varsity sports, don't be afraid to try something new.

    In three sentences

    Diversity is a major factor here at LFC. Your professors will challenge you as well as take an interest in you due to the size of the college. Close-knit community that serves as a springboard for a wide variety of futures.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is a little over bearing on weekends but they keep the campus in check. I always see patrol cars roaming around campus for security and will escort you to any place you need to be on campus (even the train station).

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a small part of LFC. While it's fun for all Greeks, it not necessary to have a good time on campus. Greeks have their own lounges but no houses due to Lake Forest City housing rules.

    Clubs and Activities

    Club and intramural sports are fun and welcoming to anybody. Great for people who want to stay in shape but don't have Varsity experience in a sport. This also goes along with any other club on campus. As long as you are willing to try, they are willing to have you.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who is willing to branch out of their comfort zone socially and academically driven.

    Bang for the buck

    In my opinion the small class sizes and unique experiences I have had here are worth it. Small class sizes make learning easier and more applicable to real life. There are also so many opportunities for internships and future jobs here due to the small community who is willing to help every student. It's a little pricey, but this school gives great financial aid as well.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is a great place to hang out during the hotter months. The train station is a ten minute walk from campus and an amazing way to get into Chicago if for those without (or even with) a car. This school also has a lot of on campus activities. For instance, ACP's (all campus parties) are dances hosted by the school on a monthly to bi-monthly basis. Along with this, organizations are always throwing events. Hard to get bored on weekends even if your just staying on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The Caf as it's called has amazing food! It's by far one of the best cafeteria's (as determined by not only us, but by visiting students from other schools). There is also Boomers - a small to-go cafe, the POD - a small food store, along with cafe's in the library and two dorm buildings.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms and location determine the time of living environment. Middle campus building are older and tend to consist of doubles and singles. These location encompass both partying and academics side of school, and is ideal location for getting anywhere on campus in a reasonable time. North campus has the nicer/newer dorms and are excellent for academic students. Tend to be doubles, singles, and triples. South campus is the louder side of campus. In all honesty it's hard to study here on weekends. On the plus side, the social atmosphere is great! Mostly consists of quads and singles.

    Academic Rigor

    Small class sizes make professors know who you are and accountable for attending class. Professors are tough bu are always open to office hours and tend to make personal connection with students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school to make sure you like the small town, small school feel; It's not for everybody. Also, if you're interested in a sport even if you're not recruited, go talk to the coach! It's 100% possible for non recruits to make teams. Once you're here, BRANCH OUT! This school is friendly and has a wonderful sense of community that you should be apart of.

    In three sentences

    Lake Forest College is a small school with a great sense of community. Small class sizes make the classes interactive with professors who care. Athletic scene a close knit and is prominent here as well even for being a Division 3 school.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe at Lake Forest and public safety are amazing about responding to any issues a student has. In addition, the residence life staff are amazing and make everyone feel not only safe, but welcome and needed.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is lively and fun but not nearly as competitive or scary as it is in other schools. Very few are turned away and there are no designated housing spots for frats or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lake Forest has an amazing amount of groups and clubs and furthermore makes is so simple to apply for and create your very own club or organization involving any topic!

    Great for these types of students

    Lake Forest has a little something for everyone I truly believe. I have friends of all kinds and they all have found a place that fits them at school. From music to art to science and community service, there are groups of people passionate about anything you are!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A few times every month Lake Forest has ACPs or All Campus Programs which allow students to go out on the weekend and dance and eat and have a good time away from their studies.

    Bang for the buck

    Lake Forest seems expensive at first but they give some of the most financial aid I have ever heard of.

    What to do for fun

    Because Lake Forest is so close to the Lake Forest train stop, Chicago and all of its glory is only a train ride away. More locally however, there are many cute shops and restaurants a walk away from campus. In the surrounding towns there are also many options for entertainments which the provided shuttle from the school will bring you to.

    Food and Dining

    The dining experience at Lake Forest is pretty good. There is always something that I end up finding appealing and themed food nights add a little excitement to a busy student's life. On Sundays there are usually less options because the kitchen is getting ready for the week but other that that it is great. Also, there is a smaller cafe called Boomer's where sushi and other options are served regularly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Lake Forest have lots of character. There are many old buildings that serve as housing for the students that do need a little bit of re-working but everything is functional and clean and the size of the rooms are usually quite generous. In addition to the older buildings, there are also newer ones that are an effort of the college to be more practical and modern and I assume that as the years go on, there will be more new additions.

    Academic Rigor

    The science department at Lake Forest College is definitely challenging, but also remains very fair. The professors at Lake Forest push their students to be the best they can be and build personal relationships with their students to encourage the use of office hours and outside resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    When considering Lake Forest, understand that just because Lake Forest is not a household name, does not mean that the school isn't going to challenge you, socially academically or otherwise. That said, there are so many amazing opportunities at Lake Forest, no matter what your major and the location is amazing. Choose a school that is going to offer you a little bit of everything so that you can learn as much as you can about yourself.

    In three sentences

    Lake Forest College is so far the harborer of a fantastic learning environment. The administration pushes their students to becoming better writers with skills in reading comprehension and organization in all of the available majors. The small class size offers the opportunity for a first name basis and a personal and comfortable learning experience.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Although the town of Lake Forest doesn't offer much to do for fun, the Metra is a 10 minute walk from campus and can provide students a mode of transportation to visit Chicago, Evanston and the other towns nearby. There are various organizations to join on campus if leaving campus doesn't seem appealing- everything from art club to ultimate frisbee. There are also ACP's, or All Campus Parties, hosted in the Student center at least once a month. Sporting events are always happening as well if that's a more appealing option.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria was just recently re-done and has been given a new aesthetically appealing design. Many of the food options are custom made to order which is a nice option for picky eaters or those with special dietary needs. There is a lot of variety and one can always find something appetizing to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is alright. Deerpath and Nollen are the newest residence halls on campus and offer the luxury of air conditioning during those hot summer months. The other dorms are fairly outdated and could use some remodeling in the near future. With the increasing number of accepted freshmen it seems that on campus housing may be harder to come by, which is why many of the upper class students take advantage of the opportunity to study abroad as well as pursue off campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I've taken some fairly easy courses but also some that were very demanding at this college. In each case, however, class attendance was essential to doing well in the course. Many of the more rigorous courses require one or more pre-requisite courses to ensure that not too much time is spent learning the material that should have already been covered. I have not taken a single class that I've felt did not require at least 3 hours of devotion outside of class a week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit the school before deciding to attend. There are tons of ways to get involved on campus so if you like to stay busy outside of class this is the place to go. That's not to say that you'll necessarily have a lot of free time outside of class because homework can be quite demanding depending on the class. This college is great for students who aren't absolutely sure yet what they want to pursue- lots of variety in class choices.

    In three sentences

    Tucked away about 35 miles north of Chicago, Lake Forest offers the small school atmosphere while still providing access to the buzzing city atmosphere of Chicago. Students have the unique opportunity to work with professors in small class sizes, which can ensure a better understanding of the material. Financial aid is abundant and easy to come by at this college.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety are always around patrolling campus. There is a daily crime log for the college that students can access online. All in all, it's a safe campus in an even safer location.

    Greek Life

    Greek life here is not nearly as ubiquitous as it is at some other schools. Only about 20% of people at Lake Forest are Greek, and the city banned the use of fraternity houses, so frat parties here are basically nonexistent.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is perfect for intelligent, driven students who can appreciate the richness of a liberal arts education in close proximity to Chicago.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is divided into three separate sections by deep wooded ravines, which can only be found along a two-mile stretch of the Lake Michigan shoreline. The ravines are probably the most beautiful part of campus - I go down there from time to time to read and do homework. There is also a restored savanna behind the science building bordering one of the ravines.

    Bang for the buck

    Lake Forest College isn't cheap, and with tuition increases, it costs about $47,000 a year to attend. However, the college is top-ranked for its financial aid, and most students here receive some grant or scholarship from the school. The education that you receive here, however, is well worth the sticker price.

    What to do for fun

    Many people here complain that there's nothing to do in Lake Forest, but that isn't exactly true. As background, Lake Forest is one of the wealthiest cities in Illinois. The town essentially closes down by 10pm, so most students will visit nearby Highwood for its nightlife. However, LF hosts multiple art fairs during the fall, as well as a weekly farmer's market in the square. Lake Forest's public beach on the shores of Lake Michigan is stunning and just a few blocks from the College. The city has hundreds of acres of restored prairie and forest, as well as an excellent park system. I personally think that just walking around the town and looking at the ravines and 19th century mansions that abound is interesting. Of course, Chicago and Evanston are readily accessible by the Metra for those who want to get off campus. For a larger campus social scene, many students go to Northwestern on the weekends, which is just a 25min train ride south from Lake Forest.

    Food and Dining

    Aramark's food quality varies. Some days, the Caf serves what seems like restaurant-quality fare (made-to-order Reubens, pasta creations, and stir fry), and some days you're greeted with pizzas, burgers, and fries. To be fair, there is always an excellent salad bar and wrap line, and sushi and other food can be purchased with a meal plan outside of cafeteria hours in the student center. In general, food is very fresh. Students sign up for an on-campus meal plan that includes a certain number of allotted meals per week and some flex dollars. These can be spent at a number of cafe and convenience store locations on campus. On the whole, the food at Lake Forest is significantly better than most other college cafeteria food that I've tried.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Lake Forest are hit-or-miss. South Campus dorms are always where the party's at, and most likely where freshmen will be placed. Many dorms on South were built in the '60s: their Modernist style looks dated and clashes pretty badly with the rest of the buildings at the College and in the town of Lake Forest. A new residence hall is being constructed in place of old Moore Hall, and is expected to be completed by Summer '13. Nollen and Deerpath are the most recently renovated dorms, and Harlan and Blackstone on Middle Campus are very near most of Lake Forest's academic buildings. Residence Life is very open to letting students make their own decisions when it comes to how they live. This is why the residence halls are co-ed (except for Lois, which is all female), and why students can choose to live with a roommate of the opposite sex if they want.

    Academic Rigor

    My academic experience at Lake Forest has been excellent. Professors here are challenging, inspiring, highly knowledgeable, and more than willing to meet with you until you understand the material fully. I am a neuroscience major, and from what I've heard from friends at large state schools, an education this personal simply isn't possible in a class with 200+ students. This is the boon of a liberal arts education in any subject, and Lake Forest exemplifies the closeness, rigor, and inability to fade into the woodwork that this kind of education affords. The coursework at Lake Forest is not easy. I graduated from a competitive STEM-education boarding school, and have found classes to be just as challenging, and oftentimes more so than what I experienced before. This is also a writing-intensive school. Be prepared (and know how to) write, no matter what discipline you're entering. For help with schoolwork and papers, the Writing Center is available and staffed by LFC alumni. Like many other liberal arts institutions, Lake Forest stresses internships and study-abroad opportunities: many students will study abroad in Spain, Greece, or New Zealand, and the Groner Foundation offers fully-paid service internships all over the world, and the college just opened a new In the Loop internship program in Chicago.

    In three sentences

    Lake Forest is a quirky, international, close-knit liberal arts school that's a Metra ride away from the city of Chicago (which needs no introduction). The coursework is difficult, but professors treat students individually and encourage experiential learning. People here come from literally all over the world, and our campus is both historic and beautiful.

  • 11/20/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The price is high because the money goes towards the education. With bigger schools, it's all about the attitude of it. Not Lake Forest!

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is gorgeous!!

    Will learn a lot

    The small classes work really well for people who need the one-on-one attention with teachers!

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    visiting chicago - probably one of the top three reasons on why i chose to come to the college. public trasportation is right up the road to take you to and from various destinations on the metra.

    Food and Dining

    there have been dramatic improvements to the dining hall that i believe took a turn for the better. however, there was a lull in the services when the same food was prepared daily for about a week.

    Dorm Life

    again, if there is an uncomfortable living situation do not be afraid to leave. the physical conditions are relatively decent nonetheless. the only issue with the physical conditions would probably be the start of the school year, where it is really hot and you need about 4 fans.

    Academic Rigor

    a very prestigious institute that opens the door to many internship opportunities aroung the college community as well as the city of chicago.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not fall into peer pressure. just because roommates drink, does not mean that you have to. also, if there is a roommate situation that makes you uncomfortable, do not be afraid to contact an ra and move.

    In three sentences

    it is a very close-knit community, where students and faculty are able to collaborate at a personal level. the academics are challenging as well as engaging for all students. their athletics have very much improved in the four years being here.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is pretty quiet and small, but the people there are friendly.

    In three sentences

    Lake Forest is a fun and friendly environment. The scenery is beautiful. The food is delicious.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe. I often come on the Metra and walk to campus. It is quite and beautiful. You cant ask for a safer environment.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! I am a vegetarian and I was able to have many options. All you can eat style!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very spacious and I heard little issue of people having issues with dorm partner.

    Academic Rigor

    For what I seen while siting in on a physics class, the teacher and students are very involved and the professor actually knows how to teach!

    Tips for prospective students

    Have the interview if you are serious about coming! sit in on a class with professor and chat with a professors. I am already friends with a few professors and I wont be attending till this fall!

    In three sentences

    An amazing school, I immediately feel in love with the school once I set foot on campus!

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a daily crime log available, but there is never anything major on the list. Public safety and residence life do a wonderful job enforcing safety, and public safety offers pick-up and drop-off in local areas under unsafe conditions and emergencies.

    Greek Life

    As stated above, Greek life is not entirely too popular. However, participation in their events is. There are several events hosted by each sorority and fraternity that benefit non-profits. Greek life at Lake Forest College has a strict no-hazing policy, and is known for being academically focused and community service driven.

    Clubs and Activities

    -Greek life is available and encouraged, though few participate. There is, however, a great community within Greek life. -There are varsity, club, and intramural sports, plus a recently renovated gym with a dance studio, and both weights and cardio equipment. -At the beginning of each semester, there is a fair held with booths from every type of organization imaginable. Students are also encouraged to make their own clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    -Students looking for small class sizes and helpful professors -Students looking for a private, liberal arts college that is near to an urban area -Students who are looking to independently study or double major/minor -Students looking for a beautiful, green campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Incoming first-years are initiated into the college through a ceremony called Matriculation. There is a big cookout, followed by a group picture, a walk through campus, and a ceremony.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the college is expensive, it is an overall wonderful experience that is entirely worth it. The college gives out a large amount of financial aid, and it is not difficult to find a job if needed. The professors are helpful and many are renowned. Even though the town is small, there are still plenty of things to do in the area that are cheap or free. Be sure to make use of the sports center and health center, as you pay for them every year.

    What to do for fun

    As mentioned previously, Evanston and Chicago are the places to go for fun. Lake Forest is small, and there is nothing to do for the college students. Noodles & Company and Dominoes are both popular delivery options, and there are two cheap pizza places and a pub in Uptown Lake Forest. The college also has a shuttle that regularly goes to Jewel (the grocery store) and Target. It also goes to several large malls and a movie theater a few times a week. The beach is also just a short walk away!

    Food and Dining

    There have been a lot of complaints with Aramark, but the company listens and learns from student input. There is only one dining hall, which often serves repetitive meals, but there is still a wide variety of options available (pizza, buffet, dessert, ice cream, sandwich bar, wrap bar, and a special bar which usually consists of pasta or tacos). Aramark has vegetarian and vegan options available that have become increasingly better. They also have a special gluten-free station for those with allergies. The smaller cafes are a great place to get a snack, and the POD has ready-made sandwiches, as well as regular produce like a gas station might have.

    Dorm Life

    Although I know students often have difficulty with roommates, the dorms themselves are beautiful. There is currently both academic and all-female housing available. While there is usually a substance-free dorm, the dorm is being completely renovated and will be available again in Fall 2013. Nollen and Deerpath are the newest residence halls, and Harlan and Blackstone are the most historic. There are quad spaces available with balconies for an apartment feel, and there are also several apartments available on campus. Cleavland-Young is the international house, and has a kitchen available for use to every student on campus. The college recently opened up the opportunity for students to live off-campus in the Fort Sheridan Apartments as part of a housing plan. The dorms are cleaned well, as general maintenance is updated regularly, but I have heard of a small bug problem in some dorms that is easily taken care of each year.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are relatively rigorous, depending on the level and particular professor or field. Most classes are writing-intensive, except many of the computer science and math classes. The professors expect a lot out of everyone because they are genuinely concerned about every student's academic achievements. No matter the professor, they will be a large help if you simply go and ask them. Although some classes are difficult, the quality of each class is high. Lake Forest College is a great college to receive a liberal arts education.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Go to the Center for Chicago Programs (CCP). They have a calendar posted with events in Chicago that is color-coded by event type (many posted are free!). They also offer discounted 10-ride passes for the Metra, which saves money on transportation to Chicago and Evanston (a college town with wonderful restaurants and shops). -Don't be afraid to talk to your professors. The staff is known for being extremely helpful because of the small size of classes. -Look for a job! If you need a little extra financial help, the Career Advancement Center can hook you up with internships or jobs on and off-campus. During the first few weeks of school, many of the local business in Uptown Lake Forest also hire sales associates. -The Writing Center and Math Center are the place to go for help. Professionals and student workers can help with any math problem or essay imaginable.

    In three sentences

    Lake Forest College is a fairly academically rigorous college with small class sizes and opportunities available for individual study and focus. Campus life is fun, but there are few opportunities in Lake Forest. Fortunately, Chicago and Evanston are nearby, and the Center for Chicago Programs offers plenty of student resources.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lake Forest is a thriving and safe community. It is one of the safest places in Illinois.

    Greek Life

    Lake Forest offers on campus fraternities and sororities for students who are interested.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lake Forest College students have the opportunity of selecting from over 50 clubs and organization of campus. Fun facts, there's hardly a dull moment on the Lake Forest College Campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Lake Forest is great for any type of student because the campus is very diverse and the students represent over 146 nations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college offers free midnight breakfast served by professors every semester beginning of the final exams.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Lake Forest College is expensive , the level of knowledge attained is worth every dime spent. Lake Forest College offers great scholarship to all eligible students. Lake Forest College is ranked 13th on the list of schools where students are happy with their financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Lake Forest College offers a wide variety of student organizations and activities. Being involved on campus is fun. The College's close location to Chicago also provides the opportunity for students to be involved in the activities of the city. The school is also located at a 5 minute walking distance away from the Lake Forest beach. All these and more provide a fun environment for students to thrive.

    Food and Dining

    Lake Forest College offers a great dinning experience. It offers a great variety of food ans dinning options and also offers a comfortable eating area.

    Dorm Life

    Lake Forest College Dorm life experience is highly outstanding, the resident halls are comfortable and are fully furnished with kitchens, laundry room and lounges where students can study or socialize. It provides a great living experience for students

    Academic Rigor

    Lake Forest College's academics is rigorous and highly competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lake Forest College is what you make of it. It is a closely knit community that provides top notch resources for its students. Take advantage of all the resources at your disposal. Make good use the writing center and the math resource center.

    In three sentences

    Lake Forest is an outstanding College. It is a closely knit community that provides a lot of resources for students. The teacher to student ratio is 12:1 and the average class size is 15. The professors and dean are nice, accessible and approachable. Lake Forest College is mainly what you make of it.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Academic oriented, pre-med, pre-law, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    LFC alumni carry great esteem.

    Food and Dining

    Seems nice, initially. Lacks variety, not many gluten free, vegetarian options.

    Dorm Life

    Comfortable, at times.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but your given so many opportunities to expand your knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Strong academic emphasis, sports are second priority.

    In three sentences

    Great diversity in student population, exposure to new cultures is guaranteed. Campus possesses much character/historical aspects. Professors genuinely strive for student success.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I hear the campous is so safe you could sleep with your door open.

    Greek Life

    I hear the greek life is normal

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't started yet, so I am not the best person to answe this question.

    Great for these types of students

    From what I seen and the people I have talked to, everyone is mostly from out of state

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't started yet, so I am not the best person to answe this question.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, the school has a ton in fin. aid for students who need it.

    What to do for fun

    You could go to six flag, the mall or Northwestern which is close to the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome and so are the meal plans.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't started yet, so I am not the best person to answe this question.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started yet, so I am not the best person to answe this question.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into how much the school is, talk to students who actually go there and find out what the peopel hate and love about the school.

    In three sentences

    It is a very forestie college with a diverse students body. The food here is awesome and many desserts. the faulty are truly devoted to their professions.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lake Forest is one of the safest communities.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!! It's very diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The location of the campus in perfect. It's on the North Shore and very close to Chicago.

    What to do for fun

    Chicago is only a train ride away from the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great professors!

    In three sentences

    Small and effective. The professors encourage the students to expand their knowledge and challenge themselves in the future. Beautiful campus and college environment.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Our officers are always out and about.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is amazing. There aren't many fraternities and sororities but they are all quite exceptional.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and organizations here are very active and successful and have a lot of support from students.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all kinds of students. We have every kind of person.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The number one tradition is TOGA! Campus wide, school sponsored party.

    Bang for the buck

    The school costs a lot, but it is worth it. For so much money, we all just wish there was air conditioning!

    What to do for fun

    There are always parties and school sponsored events to attend. Or you can head down to Chicago!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but meals do repeat. Oh well, this is college.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are dorms but they are always a blast to hang around.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are always challenging and interesting and the professors provide a lot of extra learning opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind. Don't be afraid to be truly yourself

    In three sentences

    Lake Forest College is a great place to thrive socially, academically, and physically. There are great support systems and everyone is very accepting. The academics are great - an all around ten.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    The new dorm will be a nice addition.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not be afraid to branch out and try higher level courses as a sophomore. It may save you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enter in to Lake Forest with an open mind. Don't be afraid to explore new things, even if you have an idea as to what you want to do for your major. Doing so may find you a great second major, minor, or contact for the future.

    In three sentences

    Lake Forest has wonderful professors. Lake Forest has a beautiful campus. Lake Forest allows much opportunity, both on and off campus.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to social events--all campus parties, visit downtown Chicago, get involved in Sorority and Fraternity life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Perfect for a student interested in the rural lifestyle. The experience is what you make of it. Get involved as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    The college addresses individual needs. The community is friendly. The college community is active.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lake Forest town is full of cozy places to look around, odd shops and restaurants are abundant. The College also has a shuttle bus that heads to malls within a twenty mile distance. And of course there is the beach about a mile away, not a long walk with friends. :D

    Food and Dining

    Forget freshman fifteen, it was more like thirty. Remembering my self control did not come easy, but I learned that there were many healthy options available if you know where to find it. Veggie options too!

    Dorm Life

    While some dorms are nicer than others, it is the people around you that make dorm life heaven. No AC in the summer, but plenty of heat in the winter and the Student Center always has games and tvs on.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard work is always rewarded, but sometimes its staying ahead is all you want to do. Luckily, if you find yourself confused and the material difficult, there is always someone to help, whether it's the instructor or the writing/math centers.

    Tips for prospective students

    When I first started college, I found adjusting was pretty easy, but for others, not so much. New places are hard sometimes, especially when you don't know a lot of people, but keep your head up and remember that everyone is new, so don't be afraid to say hello.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is very accessible. There is an officer here on campus 24/7 every day of the year.

    Greek Life

    There are four different sororities and two different fraternities. There are no historically black or other minority greek organizations, unfortunately. Although there are not a lot of different Greek organizations like other schools about 45% of the campus belongs to one of the Greek organizations that we do have.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs. We have cultural, religious, and academic clubs. We also have tons of club and intramural sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Lake Forest College is great for a student who is looking to come to a small school with a diverse student body and an amazing group of professors and faculty. We are very open to all types of people and try to find a way to make every student feel like they belong.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is pretty steep here, because it is a private institution but they offer some of the best financial aid packages in the country and try to work as best they can with each individual student to make it as affordable as possible.

    What to do for fun

    Lake Forest is 20 minutes north of Chicago, if there is no traffic and if you take the train it is 45 minutes. A lot of the students go into the city often to have fun. The Lake Forest beach is a 10 minute walk away and there are plenty of events, parties and games that the students go to as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is AMAZING!!! The is absolutely the best, there are vegan ad vegetarian options and there is something new everyday and plenty of crowd favorites.

    Dorm Life

    We are a very small school so dorm life is not all that exciting. You do become very close with the other students that live in your building, that is a plus!

    Academic Rigor

    I would not say that classes here are hard but there is a lot of work all the time. If you do not utilize the availability of your professors and the other academic resources, like the writing and math centers, you will suffer academically. We also have plenty of opportunities for students to study abroad. Our school has programs in New Zealand, which is our newest, Greece, our most popular, China, Spain, and Paris. If these are not your cup of tea there are plenty of other programs to choose from as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    At Lake Forest the professors focus a lot on writing and there are a lot of papers, even in the natural sciences. Because there is such a diverse student body there are plenty of clubs for students to get involved with and plenty of opportunities for student to take on leadership positions in these organizations as well. For incoming athletes, we have varsity, club and intramural sports depending on the amount of time and effort that you are willing to put in. Lastly, one of the nicest things about Lake Forest is that all of the professors are required to have office hours where students can come and discuss any issues that they are having in or out of class.

    In three sentences

    Lake Forest College is very diverse. Lake Forest College is cozy. Lake Forest College is somewhere a student can come if they are willing to work hard and have a lot of fun at the same time.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is sometimes unnecessarily strict on drinking violations, and has been known to bust parties within the first five minutes. Although they do keep campus safe, they mostly serve the purpose of punishing students.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is big at Lake Forest College. However, many complain that it is pointless because as 1,500 students attend, you don't meet anyone new. Also, Lake Forest Does not house anyone in sorority's or fraternity's separately.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports are huge here and most people are involved in either a club or varsity sport. Those who aren't are usually very active in one of the colleges clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is ideal for students who want to compete in sports in the division three level, as most students on campus are involved on a sports team. It is also ideal for students who want to attend a small college, or are indecisive on exactly what career path to take. It is hard academically, so students must have a passion for academics, and not mind writing a lot of papers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The homecoming party and parade, where current Foresters and alum cheer on the football team as well as put on a parade and a tail gate party. Most traditions which include drinking are no longer allowed on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The school offers a pretty good financial aid program. However, every year you attend, tuition increases. Most students receive a lot of financial aid, however the price of tuition sky rockets after the first year.

    What to do for fun

    The good news is that although Lake Forest may lack student life, it is only an hour away from the bustling hub of Chicago. The schools proximity to the city offers numerous opportunities for social outings and most importantly internships. On campus, sports are a big deal, and most Foresters turn out to sports events. Most events on campus that involve drinking have now been abolished, so don't expect much partying here.

    Food and Dining

    When I started at Lake Forest as a freshmen, I would have given the food and dining 5 stars. However, Lake Forest has now signed a contract with Aramark and renovated the cafeteria, which has changed things. Although the cafeteria looks better, food quality has decreased, and lines have increased. The food is still much better than most what most college cafeterias have to offer, however the lack of variety and become monotonous and the lines irksome.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is extremely varied on the Lake Forest Campus. On South campus, the dorms are mostly quads and are extremely grungy. There are three very nice dorms on campus however: Nollen, Deerpath, and a brand new building that is not yet complete. Many of the dorms have bugs and if you don't live on middle campus, you can expect at least a 15 minute walk to class. The dorms are livable, however the majority are not extremely nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Lake Forest College is very challenging academically. Your professors expect the best out of you, and you are expected to participate in class. However, professors are also extremely understanding and know you personally. They expect you to turn in high level work and come prepared for tests, however it is nothing that a hard working student would not be able to handle. Professors are also very good about having office hours, and some even expect you to come to discuss course work during these times.

    Tips for prospective students

    For a College freshmen I feel that Lake Forest College is ideal. You will feel very comfortable, and make friends quickly because of the size of the campus and student body. However, if you are looking for lively student life or a larger campus, this is definitely not the school for you. Also, it is easy to outgrow this campus after the first two years as a result of its lack of student life, but you will always feel comfortable.

    In three sentences

    The academics here are amazing and the small class sizes instill an extremely stimulating learning environment. It is a beautiful campus, however is very small. If you are looking for a small, liberal arts college, this is the right school for you.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is extremely safe; Public Safety is always out and about daily to ensure safety. Lake Forest as a town has not had a serious crime in 12 years so majority of students feel safe walking alone.

    Greek Life

    About 15% of our students are involved in Greek Life so we are not a Greek or go home kind of campus, so if you interested we have it, and if you're not, then you do not feel left out.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have so many clubs on campus, and our Gates Center is head of all clubs and is willing to help you start your own club if there is a enough participation!

    Great for these types of students

    Lake Forest is great for anyone. We have many US students as well as international students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our old buildings are great and we have many traditions with sports teams each season.

    Bang for the buck

    Lake Forest is a very expensive school, but majority of students are happy with their financial aid package they receive.

    What to do for fun

    The school always puts on many events such as dances, DJ's, karaoke, pageants, drag shows, etc. There is always something to do and many alcohol and non-alcoholic options for students.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining hall has amazing food as well as we have multiple mini cafes around campus so you can always find something to eat!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so much fun and 85 to 90 percent of our students live on campus all 4 years!

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very hard here you and definitely need to study and organize your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit many different types of college to decide what is the best fit for you whether its a big or small school, its location to home, major, etc.

    In three sentences

    I love Lake Forest College because everyone here is so friendly. All professors and faculty are always willing to help you with whatever you and assist you with jobs/internships. I would recommend Lake Forest to anyone!

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach or to the city

    Dorm Life

    pretty spacious

  • 11/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety keeps you safe!

    Greek Life

    I believe there are four sororities and three fraternities on campus. They accept everyone (everyone who rushes gets a bid)! We do not have Greek housing, but Greek lounges instead.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs, activities, and sports to get involved in and if they don't have what you want you can easily create your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    People who like to know a lot of people that they are surrounded by would fit in well here.

    Bang for the buck

    Lake Forest's price sticker is very expensive but they offer a lot of scholarships. In some cases, it is cheaper than going to a state school. For as much as we pay, though, I feel like they could do a little better. For example, we pay for a meal plan for a cafeteria that is all-you-can-eat, but we are not allowed to bring food out of the cafeteria.

    What to do for fun

    I personally like the party scene for the most part because I like knowing the people I am partying with, but I feel like most people would prefer the party scene at a bigger school. It is about a mile walk to the beach; there are many ravines to adventure through so if you are into nature there is plenty to keep you busy. Lake Forest is a beautiful town the huge, beautiful houses. There is a mall about 10-15 minutes from campus.

    Food and Dining

    It is still cafeteria food, but compared to other school, bigger schools, the food is probably really good. The downside is they don't serve dinner on Saturdays. There are not many outside options that are close. It takes about 10-15 minutes to drive to the mall where there are a bunch of options.

    Dorm Life

    The new dorm is really nice like a hotel but the rest of the dorms are set up strange. I have never seen a campus with dorms like the ones at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not the easiest school you will attend, but the resources provided at the school make it possible to get through it and it is a very good education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the most of it!

    In three sentences

    The small school accounts for a very strong academic basis with small class sizes and one-on-one attention from professors. It is really nice to be able to walk to class and know almost everyone you walk past. There is a good sense of community at this school.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. I am form the city of Chicago. When I came here, I was surprised that it was safe to walk out here at night without looking behind my back. The only thing you have to look out here is the wildlife. There is always deer, raccoons, skunks, and at times coyotes roaming around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many clubs on campus. However, the ones that do exist are very interesting. Some clubs throw all campus parties on the weekends. Musicians, artist, and other kinds of people visit the school.

    What to do for fun

    Since the school is located in the middle of a suburb, there is not much to do. In town there are several shop but are pricy for college students. When it is nice enough, some students go to the beach which is about a 10-15 minutes walk from campus. On campus, there is always something going at night for the students. There is a shuttle bus that takes students to other shopping centers.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a variety of foods even if you are a vegan or a vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is alright. It all depends on what part of campus you live on. North campus is very quite. Middle campus is alright. South campus is very loud because there are a lot of partying going on and the sports center is located over there. I prefer to live on campus because that's is where most of the classes are. Some of the dorms are old and not so great to live in. Some buildings don't have air conditioning but do have heating.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are rigorous. They really do push you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to introduce yourself and leave a good impression on your professors. Do not be late to any of your classes because you will be noticed. Take advantage of the activities and opportunities available.

    In three sentences

    Lake Forest College is a private liberal arts school. The classes are small and rigorous. Furthermore, there are numerous resources available for students.

  • 05/28/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go see the holograms in the science building! They are amazing!!

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of food provided in the cafeteria.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to ask questions. It is a great way to get to know the school. Also, the more involved you are, the more likely you are to find out about what the school can offer you.

    In three sentences

    I visited Lake Forest College and was amazed at the architecture of the buildings and of the positive, welcoming attitudes of the people there. I really enjoyed the visit. It was filled with surprises, and I learned that it is a school that really helps students become successful by providing them with plenty of resources.