Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Lake Land College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is recommended for their safety on campus. This is one of the safest schools anywhere.

    Greek Life

    I am not aware of Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    All clubs are available and they are a very important part of this school. They do so many great things for the community. I am in the IT Club and the TRIO club and they are very fun, exciting, and educationally designed.

    Great for these types of students

    Older student and International Student I feel will benefit the most. However, I think that the school is well rounded and fits for most people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have an automotive department and agricultural dept. They have a print shop. All of these buildings are in their own location. I think that is very helpful and important to have different locations. I am in their Web Hall building for most of my classes and its focus is on my major. I enjoy that.

    Bang for the buck

    I enjoy going to this school. I am a first time college student and the first in my family to go. They treat you very good at this school and your education is important to them.

    What to do for fun

    They have plenty of events and activities on campus and off campus. If there is a particular subject that you enjoy more than others it is easy to join clubs and also explore new avenues.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining place on campus and plenty of places nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I have never gone into a dorm at this college. I see that they have a nice safe Housing unit close to the College for Dorm living.

    Academic Rigor

    All students are prepared to either further their education or get into the work force. This school focuses on all aspects of teaching and training their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Staff at this school are very helpful. If you have any questions it is very easy to get them answered. Their catalog is very helpful in finding the classes that will work for you.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college, I am very impressed with the safety of this school, and the teachers are outstanding. I would recommend this school to anyone. I enjoy learning hear.

  • 01/21/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a step in the door to college life!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the their gym its great!

    Bang for the buck

    Do your general education courses here! You cannot beat their prices!

    Did enjoy being here

    The campus seemed busy all the time, and it was more like high school to me than college. It was a great experience though!

    Did learn a lot

    Teachers seemed to know their material, talk to current students to see who the best and worst teachers are. The teachers who enjoy to be there help you learn more!

  • 04/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great especially for agriculture students but they also have great programs and degrees for anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around and find out the best instructors for your learning type. Also there are many clubs and activities to join, its a great way to meet people.

    Bang for the buck

    Lake Land is the best way to go if you are transfering, going for and associate's, or going in to one of their programs. Its easy to afford and they have a great financial aid staff, who are always willing to help.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy being here. Most all the people are small town people like me and we relate well to eachother. There are also activities going on all the time for free put on by the Student Activity Board. The gym is also very nice and never too crowded.

    Am learning a lot

    The Teachers/Instructers are all great and the class sizes are small so its easy to get to know everyone and get idividual help if you need it. The Instructers also really do want to help you learn and go out of their way to help you succeed. The blackboard online learning system is also very helpful

  • 07/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Lake Land is actually one of the less expensive schools in the area. If your wanting to go somewhere cheaper to get your basics out of the way or major only requires 2 years, this is the place to be!

    Am enjoying being here

    The school holds special events every Wednesday which makes you want to be there more. At the end of the year they also have a big fair like thing that is a blast.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers hear are all so wonderful. I haven't had a class yet where I didn't learn at least five things.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated students that are serious about getting a career!

    Tips for prospective students

    I have been to a few other colleges and Lake Land provides computers in almost every classroom. This is a luxury! They have great teachers compared to some of the schools I have been at. Appreciate the time and effort they put forth!

    Bang for the buck

    The least expensive school in the area

    Did enjoy being here

    Yes, it is a welcoming school that made me feel at home

    Did learn a lot

    I learned a lot about reading and writing here. I have always been a great writer but, my teacher was able to find my weaknesses and allow me to flourish in my strengths. My computer teacher pushed me to type 60 wpm and I never thought I could do it but, she certainly proved me wrong.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is twenty-four hour police service right on campus.

    Greek Life

    I can't say anything about this, I am not in a sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many social activities that the students can attend or join.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone is welcome, we have a lot of students from all over the United States, as well as other countries.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We always have free time on Wednesdays from eleven to one. The school provides us entertainment, pizza, and time to get to know more students that we normally don't get to meet in our classes.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are smaller than in most larger colleges. This gives the students to enjoy more of a one on one with the instructor.

    What to do for fun

    I find that going to the workout center is a lot of fun. You can go before classes or during any free time day or night.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places close to campus to eat. Some are within walking distance but most are within eight miles.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, I rent an apartment in a nearby town.

    Academic Rigor

    The textbooks are up to date in most classes, if you find that the books are getting out dated, the instructor will get you up to speed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest students to read up on our wonderful college.

    In three sentences

    Lake Land College is a nice place to go if you are from a small rural area or if you are from a large city. Lake Land College has a lot to offer students, from sports to a fantastic library. There is a lot of open parking in all of the lots that make getting to class very easy.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have many clubs and programs you can join. they have a gym and workout area you can go to. then there is always the sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    not many options of food choices. they have vending machines and subway. although, they do offer microwaves to heat up food you have brought.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    every teacher enforces their own rules they have set for that class. you always leave class learning something new.

    In three sentences

    very clean and organized. the teachers and staff are very nice and will help you with anything you need. they also offer a lot of good programs.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lake Land is a very safe college. I see campus police sitting in the parking lot almost every day. I have never felt unsafe while at Lake Land College.

    Greek Life

    I do not know of any sororities or any Greek life at Lake Land.

    Clubs and Activities

    TRIO is a student club that helps students with classes and finding information they need.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are pursuing a two year degree or certificate or students that want to take some of the expense out of going to a four year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many students including myself walk a path that goes around campus and through some trees. On warm sunny days it is a nice stress relief after a full day of classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Lake Land College is a great place to take some classes at. It is cheaper than taking them at a university and it gives freshman a feel for wat taking college classes requires.

    What to do for fun

    There are computers that students can use to get on Facebook or almost any other site. Students can also go to the fitness center to exercise.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there is a Subway and there are vending machines that have sandwitches, snacks, and beverages. Also there are restaraunts nearby that have reasonable prices.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know about Lake Land College's dorm life because I commuted.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the classes I have taken at Lake Land were taught by helpful teachers that are willing to help their students in any way they can. As long as student study and do their work they should have no problem at Lake Land.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to transfer, find out if the school you want to transfer will accept all of the credits you earn at Lake Land before taking the classes.

    In three sentences

    Lake Land College has economical prices. The instructors are all very nice and willing to help. Lake Land has an amazing foundation scholarship that will award students that qualify scholarships in the foundation just by filling out a single form.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see campus police everywhere!

    Bang for the buck

    Cost of tuition is very low (it's a community college!) and it is very worth it. It's a great starting point because you can get your gen. eds. for 1/3 the price of a 4-year University. Even with the low cost of tuition, they also offer a lot of financial aid!

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at the school and don't know anything about the food/dining.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    From the few classes I have taken, Lake Land offers rigorous classes and great professors to go along with them. Even my dual-credit classes were about 3x harder than my high school classes were.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research what classes you'll need to take for your major, and make sure that the classes are available for transfer if you plan on going on to a 4-year University. The advisers miss some classes sometimes, so double and triple check everything.

    In three sentences

    Although it is a community college, I feel that Lake Land has a lot to offer my peers and I. At first, I hated the idea of staying in Mattoon a couple more years, but the school and professors are growing on me.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's OK but the bad thing is bad drivers mostly hit and run accidents

    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    In three sentences

    Lake land college is a good college to attend. Lake land is also very cheap. Lake land has a very very good dental program.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a very nice gym

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to ask a counselor if you have any questions regarding your major or classes that would be most helpful each semester, this can save you a lot of stress.

    In three sentences

    Great transition from high school to college Faculty is very friendly and willing to help with any questions or concerns Campus is easy to navigate

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't really see much around. They must be in plain clothes lol.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't have time for clubs right now.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone really.

    Bang for the buck

    Not too pricy compared to schools in the area. Worth the money!!

    What to do for fun

    The gym is nice!!!

    Food and Dining

    They have a Subway. Healthy stuff!!!!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are well rounded. Not too easy or too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just stay with it. Don't stop taking classes.

    In three sentences

    Great faculty members who are very willing to serve you and your needs. Teachers that I have had are easy to work with and understanding of my work schedule. Nice facilities and upkeep of school.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    University education without the University price!!!

    What to do for fun

    There is a gym located on campus, you can hang out, and there is lot of things to do in Mattoon.

    Food and Dining

    The subway is good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in on campus, but I hear they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics have been really good so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study! Study! Study! Don't overload yourself with classes either.

    In three sentences

    I love lake land college so far, the teacher I have is very nice and helpful it seems like. I also like how small my classes are, and how I am able to get a university education without paying the university price.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Weight room, basketball court, soccer fields. IM sports.

    Food and Dining

    Subway on campus and a Mcdonalds like a half block away

    Dorm Life

    There is not a dorm at lake land. There are apartments near by that you can share with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared to ask questions. There is always some one there to help you.

    In three sentences

    Great place to learn with the small class size. Very helpful teachers that are willing to go out of there to help you.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour campus security.

    Great for these types of students

    General studies or transfer students.

    What to do for fun

    The sports that are available to students is vast. There is also a gym to work out in.

    Food and Dining

    At the main campus, not only are vending machines available, there is also a Subway restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    Not a dorm school, however there is very affrodable housing very close to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is a highly achievable one. The instructors are very qualified, the programs are precise to each field of study, and student support is amazing!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a great community college, take a tour of Lake Land College in Mattoon, IL.

    In three sentences

    Lake Land College is a great place to get an education. The staff and instructors are as intent on you succeeding in your educational goals as you are. The amount of student assistance available is a guarantee that you achieve your highest level of education!

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Their is a variety of sporting events from volleyball, softball, baseball and basketball. The student activity board also creates a new event every Wednesday for the students.

    Food and Dining

    Subway is offered in the student union along with an assortment of venting options.

    Dorm Life

    Lake Land does not have designated dorms. It does however offer private owned apartments located right off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Lake Land offers university style courses with an intimate class size.

    Tips for prospective students

    Throw yourself into every opportunity that you can.

    In three sentences

    Lake Land College is one of the top community colleges in Illinois. The staff is very helpful and nice. There are a wide variety of social and educational opportunities.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an officer on duty.

    Greek Life

    We don't have any here.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have all kinds of clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to recieve great learning at an affordable cost.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have different events in the theater, once they were giving out messages.

    Bang for the buck

    Very low cost for great education.

    What to do for fun

    They have all kinds of events planned by the sga student government association. Also the administration has many activities though out the year.

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway and dining area although I feel there could be more places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Never had to live in a dorm but the apartments that kids do live in are very nice and close to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a lot of classes in many different fields. I feel the teachers in each class knows their stuff and teaches very well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind, make sure to study, and most of all take school seriously it only gets harder!

    In three sentences

    I feel Lakeland is an excellent beginner school for people who want to ease into learning. Although the courses are tough the teachers are great and help you learn.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't experienced any of this.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the community so I don't have to rent a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really push you to succeed in your classes. They're also very helpful if you need help with anything

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get all your financial aid documents turned in. It helps out a lot and you'll be sorry if you don't. I have to sit out this semester because I procrastinated on it.

    In three sentences

    Lake Land is a great college to attend. It's fairly cheap, therefore you can pretty much get by there by using financial aid and scholarships. The teachers are fantastic and they provide a great variety of majors to choose from.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is an exercise room and there are clubs u can join. They also have shows in the theater sometimes.

    Food and Dining

    The campus only has one place to eat and its subway. You can always bring food or go out to eat though. Mattoon has plenty of places to eat a between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It is a community college.

    In three sentences

    Lake land college is affordable. They have great teachers. They also have a lot of different majors and programs to choose from.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe location. Nothing nearby except the apartments. Almost always an officer patrolling the campus. I've never personally witnessed or heard of crime on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    There are excellent programs for agricultural studies, beautician studies, and pre-engineering studies.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money. Credit hour prices average at about $100 per credit hour. Good material is presented as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are three Subway locations within 5 miles (one on campus, one at a gas station at the campus entrance, and one in the town of Mattoon).

    Academic Rigor

    Being a community college, Ivy-League-level efforts are not expected, but be aware that one won't simply breeze through the courses without putting forth appropriate effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    As far as the campus goes, the layout is simple--maybe too simple. It can be easy to get lost in this circular campus, even though it isn't large, but easy to get used to. Most instructors are relaxed and easy to connect with, so as long as you have a good attitude towards the school and the class you take, classes should be no problem.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Lake Land is a good school choice. It's affordable, decent location, and has helpful councilors. Many students take some form of agricultural studies here.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has its own police department. It seems safe.

    Greek Life

    Unknown to me.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty, but I've not become involved yet.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who enjoy small classroom sizes. The campus doesn't sprawl, so there is limited walking. Every entrance (that I've found so far) has been ADA accessible.

    Bang for the buck

    My parents believe the cost is fair for college courses. Some high schools offer dual credit courses that students can get credit for at LLC, too. That also saves on expenses for college.

    What to do for fun

    I'm still in high school, so none of this applies to me, yet.

    Food and Dining

    Food choices in the student union seems adequate from what little I've experienced.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home. The college doesn't have its own dorms, but there are some apartments located nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    It is early in the semester, so this is hard to answer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Admissions was very helpful getting me started. It is affordable for a college. Staff and faculty is helpful. Just ask if you have questions. Everyone seems willing to help.

    In three sentences

    As a high school student taking a night class at LLC, I am comfortable and feel like part of the group. The teacher has been very helpful. The campus is small enough and parking is adequate.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. They have a police force on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all sorts of groups, clubs, and activities one can join for both educational and social reasons.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student will fit in at Lake Land College.

    Bang for the buck

    Lake Land College is by far your best bang for your buck. The tuition is affordable and you get a great education.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do for fun. There's bowling, a gymnasium, putt putt golf, movie theater, and many others.

    Food and Dining

    Subway is a great place to eat at Lake Land College.

    Dorm Life

    They have very nice dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    All of my instructors were very good at what they did. They had a balance of making you work hard for your grade but made their lessons easy to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have a great program for just about anything one would be interested in.

    In three sentences

    Lake Land College is a great school to go to. I think it's definitely a top ranked school. It's filled with great instructor's who go would go out of their way to make sure their students learn all that they need to learn.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a small coy pond by the student services building where I love to sit and study in nice weather.

    Bang for the buck

    LLC really offers great academics, I couldn't ask for more.

    What to do for fun

    There are free events and and activities offered every week.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't much to chose from but if you are a fan o subway you are set.

    Dorm Life

    I can't rate this as I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I got my associate degree through LLC and now am back finishing up some science credits for a second bagel it's degree. The science department is great and I feel that I have learned a lot more from my instructors here than I did at the university I attended.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to make use of everything offered on campus. There are a lot of cool events and activities so don't be afraid to get involved.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school. I have learned more in my classes here than I did when I was attending a four year university. Every science teacher I have had it top notch!

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Lake Land is an affordable community college.

    What to do for fun

    Lake Land has many different clubs and sports to join for recent high school grads as well as the non-traditional student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your preliminary qualifications completed well in advance. Study hard and be respectful and appreciative to your instructors to promote good classroom atmosphere for all who attend.

    In three sentences

    Lake Land College welcomes non-traditional students like myself. They offer free textbook rental for general education and a childcare facility. Lake Land College has a pristine reputation for its Associate's Degree in Nursing Program.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    fun, outgoing, and smat

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that i know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Its worth your money to get an education

    What to do for fun

    I spend my free time with my family

    Food and Dining

    All the campus has on it is a Subway, eat freash.

    Dorm Life

    I didnt spend time in a dorm at all.

    Academic Rigor

    It is sometimes difficult to completly understand all the information that is thrown at you at on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized, pay attention in class, and go to class.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy hhaving off campus locations. There small class sizes are great. The professors are very helpful.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lake Land is one of the safest campuses around the Mattoon area. The school police are always out checking around to make sure everything is in order.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life if I remember but things will change.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities for students no matter what age. I was on the newspaper when I was at Lake Land and always had fun and felt part of a team.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is very well rounded for all students of any age whether they be heading back to school or just starting out. I would recommend Lake Land to anyone looking for a good education.

    Bang for the buck

    Its very resonably priced....it is a community college of course! They have plenty of Financial Aid available for students and nearly 1/3 of the price of a university.

    Food and Dining

    The dining area has gotten much better since I was at Lake Land but wish there was more of a variety there.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms but I have heard some things good and bad about them.

    Academic Rigor

    Its just about right. Classes are a good size so that no one feels overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your research when you look into Lake Land College. While most people will be able to be accepted check to make sure that they have your major. If you also want to transfer to a university make sure that your classes will transfer over so that your not stuck having to take extra classe.

    In three sentences

    Lake Land is one of the safest campuses in the state. They have a very good atheletic program and many activities to enjoy and they are also one of the best community colleges around.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never seen anyone get hurt on campus. I have heard about wrecks that have occurred when people are leaving campus but for the most part the campus is a very safe place to go to school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to get involved in. I my self am not in any but there are plenty for students to join.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students wanting to pursue a associates degree or a certificate and is also a great community college for students to start if planning to transfer to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to this college has been amazing and i plan on staying to finish my degree.

    What to do for fun

    If you like working out for fun they have a gym that is located on campus that is available to all students. There is also a bulling alley movie theater and a mall in mattoon to go have something to do when your not busy.

    Food and Dining

    There is a subway located inside the campus which makes it easy for students to eat lunch and not have to leave campus. There are also many restaurants of campus which include villa pizza, little Mexico, Angelo's and much more.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus do to me living with my husband. But the dorms seem very clean and are close to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If not studying properly and taking time out to study can make college difficult. If you put your mind to it and aim toward your goals it helps out a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register before the end date and be organized as much as you can to help them to be able to provided you with better service.

    In three sentences

    A great college for students trying to pursue in associates degrees or just certificates. Counselors and teachers do a great job helping you move toward your goals for the future.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security are ex swat team members, they keep us safe. plus well lighted walkways and parking lots make this campus very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous clubs are available to students including welding, automotive and many others

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to party should probably look elsewhere this campus is not that style

    Bang for the buck

    Lake Land is a safe campus and an honest to god pleasant experience. Also there is a state of the art gym available to students.

    What to do for fun

    Night life is more in Charleston near EIU but that's only 12 miles away, also there is movies at the theater or even going swimming in the summer.

    Food and Dining

    Mattoon has numerous places to eat close to the school. Also visit the very first Burger King which is not anything like the consumer chain you know

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors make sure to personally get to know each student and invest in their future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overload yourself, or wait till last minute for assignments online.

    In three sentences

    Lake land is a great school for adults. There are many services for all types of students. Would recommend for anyone serious about school.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have activities every week, the campus is very open to having many clubs and activities to attend throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    They only really have Subway on campus, so if you want something else you have to drive in town to get something which isn't a big deal, but Subway can get boring.

    Dorm Life

    They don't really have dorms but if you stay in the apartments on campus be prepared to not get much sleep. They have parties there every night, it is a great location because you can just walk to classes, but if you need your beauty sleep I wouldn't live there.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really do a great job at teaching you the material you need and since the teacher-student ratio is smaller you can get the help you need when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would go to the school a day before classes start to explore the campus and find where your classes are so you don't be that person the first day. Some teachers also are foreign here too, so if you don't understand the teacher the best thing to do is always read the chapters at home and continuously study up on material.

    In three sentences

    LLC is a great school if you're looking for that small town familiarity. It is a magnificent school. The education is high quality and the teachers really do give you your independence that allows you to realize that your schooling is for you and nobody else.

  • 11/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety pretty good. No real big problems in the time I've been there. Really safe and secure.

    What to do for fun

    There is a skating rink and bowling alley and lots of clubs. Check them out!

    Food and Dining

    Only has subway and vending machines. Needs a few more restaurants at least. Maybe even a food court.

    Academic Rigor

    Good school and not too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and try to get the right teachers. That will help you a lot.

    In three sentences

    Good school, but some of the classes have bad teachers. These teachers are tendered. I have enjoyed. Online classes not too hard,

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lake Land is ranked one of the safest campuses in the state of Illinois and also in the nation.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lake Land offers a variety of different clubs and activities. Every Wednesday the Student Advisory Board plans a different activity, speaker, or event for free for students.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that do not want a bunch of change all at once. Lake Land is a great place for students to adjust between high school and college.

    Bang for the buck

    Lake Land is very affordable for all student types and you get a great education as well.

    Food and Dining

    On-campus there is only a Subway and vending machines. But there are other restaurants within 5 minutes of campus.

    Dorm Life

    I commute from my home since it is a community college and does not have dorms, however, there are apartments available if needed.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes keep you challenged but are not impossible to pass. The teachers will work with you and listen if you need help or have any questions at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are talking with your academic counselor from the very beginning so you know that you are take the correct classes that are needed for your major. If you are transferring make sure you are also in contact with the transfer counselor from that school as well.

    In three sentences

    Lake Land is a great place to attend both for the academics and the extra curricular activities. The class sizes are small and the teachers are very helpful and willing to help you whenever needed. It is also a very safe and comfortable place to attend.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    The apartments are great and I never have a problem with my roommates.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are all very understanding. The students and faculty are all very helpful with helping to find rooms around campus. Lake Land is a great college to start off at.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Fairly priced. Cheaper for in district students. Specialty programs can be more costly if you canâ??t get student loans or finical aid.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.Recognize the environment 2. Adjust to the changes in the academic requirements 3. Time management

    In three sentences

    Lake Land College enable graduates to develop and apply the knowledge, skills, and values gained from their education to serve effectively in whatever roles and settings they choose.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has its own police station. The school regularly salts the sidewalks, and make sure it is safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school offers many activities, and sports. It has a great fitness center.

    What to do for fun

    The students are always going outside on breaks, and just chatting. The school has an excellent library.

    Food and Dining

    The college has a subway in the main building on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very helpful, and try to make you your full potential. They are very knowledgeable, and easy going.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great place go attend, just stay organized. A flash drive is very important to have.

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent place to attend college at. The teachers all spend a lot of time with the students. The counselors are very knowledgeable about helping you transfer.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Easy degrees

    Food and Dining

    Very little to choose from

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy A's. Teachers just give them away, it's like the Wild West no teacher is monitored.

    In three sentences

    Sad excuse for a community college, the teachers are just there to collect a pay check. The bookstore is unable to keep the correct amounts of books in stock. Chris the person that oversees the bookstore is a complete failure, the new president is hard to get a hold of and seems not to care. The teacher had to print me off certain pages from his book. Look into Parkland community college. Good luck future students!