Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lake Michigan College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/19/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Check out the prices by researching in on the web site and get information about the college that you want to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for a college that gives you what you want a take a parent or friend with you to check it out. Find out about the housing/dorm in that area.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than a local college and get a degree instead of a certificate.

    Will enjoy being here

    Like the teacher to student ratio.

    Will learn a lot

    Classrooms has 20 to 30 student in each classroom, so more individual instructor time.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I am a part of Phi Theta Kappa, though I haven't been technically initiated yet. This provides opportunities for students to receive special scholarships as well as having the organization send letters of application and recommendation to colleges for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Again, any student wanting to get a jump on their education for a low cost (comparatively, of course).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As I mentioned before, Tasty Tuesday and Wacky Wednesday. There's a social hangout where events usually take place. On Wacky Wednesday, they set up carnival-type inflatables in the Gymnasium for anyone who wants to participate. Tasty Tuesday, I believe, involves free snacks. These events, however, are NOT every week. Each event happens once or twice a month.

    Bang for the buck

    Of course the word college would cause most people to flinch, due to the inherent cost of receiving a higher education, but don't worry too much. LMC does have financial aid. Right now I've got a free ride because I have received several scholarships (though I must warn you that some are merit-based). Either way, affordability is one thing that LMC offers.

    Food and Dining

    From what I've seen, LMC does have cafe. They offer different food each day. I don't eat there much, but the food is very good!

    Dorm Life

    (Can't figure out how to undo the rating. I DO NOT live on campus, so I wouldn't know.)

    Academic Rigor

    As a music student, at least 70% of my time is spent practicing. If it weren't for me constantly talking about not practicing enough, I believe that my teachers would tell me if I really needed to crack down and get it done. In other words, I believe that they can be brutally honest, if need be. College is a place where YOU will have to push yourself to get things done on time- A place where your will need a healthy dose of responsibility.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest this college if you want to get some required classes done while you figure out what you want to do for the rest of your life. It has a friendly atmosphere, and there are social committees that organize events such as Tasty Tuesday and Wacky Wednesday- good opportunities to hang out with friends. From what I've seen they do have financial aid, so take advantage of that.

    In three sentences

    LMC is a good community college to get a boost on your education. From what I've seen of their music program, this is a good school to get started with. Affordability is a plus.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good and bad points. There is usually security patrolling the outside but never inside.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good variety of various clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Lazy, poor, cheap.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing.

    Bang for the buck

    Depends on what you want; degree for low cost? You got it. Education for low cost? Yes, but you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the couple fun clubs like the zombie survival club that does things like laser tag. Otherwise, leave the campus and probably the town.

    Food and Dining

    Munchie's Cafe offers decent food at definitely overpriced rates ($4-6 for what you would expect for $2-3 at McDonald's). Bookstore is a bit less overpriced and has a good selection of pop, teas and energy drinks and prepackaged snacks like beef jerky, Combos, popcorn and energy bars.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Probably the easiest coursework you'll find in general. Nothing near as hard as other universities' work that I've seen from friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you really want to come here (great choice if you don't have the money to go elsewhere, financial aid and scholarships can comparatively easily make this almost free). Befriending the staff in various offices will take you very very far in a pinch, especially the front desk and records office. Work study positions help a lot.

    In three sentences

    It's an average, okay college. More for students who prefer a comparatively easy degree over one that actually teaches you things you should know. Nothing spectacular about it at all.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had a safety issue. Student safety is top priority.

    Greek Life

    If you do well in your studies, Phi theta Kappa, which is sort of like Honors Society, is great to get involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a fair that show students what clubs and organizations are good join. The student Senate is a great one.

    What to do for fun

    They have fun events like tasty Tuesday where they'll have food centered around a theme like Mardi Gras or St. Patty's Day and this gives students time to socialize and get away temporarily from their studies. The food is always free which is a plus. They also have events like Wacky Wednesday where there are games and other cool activities.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly the food isn't that great. There's not really a cafeteria but they do have a cafe that's not bad.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, which is the only downside of LMC.

    Academic Rigor

    A Lot of people make to mistake of taking the work lightly because LMC is a community college; don't. Take the work seriously and stay on top of it. If you ever feel like your losing your footing or things are becoming overwhelming, get help immediately. The instructors are so hands on and easily approachable. Build a rapport with them and don't be afraid to ask for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check to see what resources are available to you. There are many great program that help become successful in your courses. If possible join Student Support Services, they'll provide you with tutoring if you need it, they hold workshop geared towards helping you become: a better test taker, note taker, a better writer, and any other skill you may need to be the best student you can be.

    In three sentences

    Lake Michigan College is a great school. It's great for those who want to experience college life on smaller scale or those who feel too intimidated to start at a four year college. The size of classes allow you to get more face to face interaction between yourself and the instructor.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent at LMC, there is never a moment in the school or walking to my car at night that I dont feel safe here. They have campus police patrolling the parking lots and campus at all hours of the night and day.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at LMC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities to choose from in your free time at LMC. These clubs range from animation club to indoor soccer and everything in between.

    Great for these types of students

    LMC is great for students to mature and become more prepared for a major university as well as students looking to raise there GPA while saving some money at the same time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions or locations on campus, pretty cut and dry campus.

    Bang for the buck

    For the prices and what you are able to get out of this institution you just cant beat it, Most students live around Benton Harbor so they save a lot of money by staying at home for an extra two years.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately during the school season there is not much around Benton Harbor to do for fun. There is a mall close by but other than that no activities come to mind.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria but not much other than that and the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at LMC, they are currently looking into building some though.

    Academic Rigor

    As is true with any college there is a wide range of classes to take. Most are pretty intermediate, with a little studying and hard work passing should be no difficult task. On the other hand there are more advanced classes for students seeking a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    LMC may not be taken seriously at times, but take your grades seriously. This is a very good time to work on your GPA and raise it up to prepare for the University you plan on graduating from.

    In three sentences

    Lake Michigan College is a great starting point for students not ready for a major university just yet. It is especially good for students who plan on attending Western Michigan University because of the close relationship most credits transfer. Faculty is helpful and thorough when teaching and going over curriculum with students.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has some patrol but could use more.

    Clubs and Activities

    Excellent math club.

    Great for these types of students

    Good community college for those who are just starting or returning to college later in life. Has excellent programs that are specific to job trends including short-term certificate training for people wanting to get into a new career in a short timeframe or needs additional certifications to further their career.

    Bang for the buck

    The college has different campuses in Niles and South Haven in addition to Benton Harbor and networks with other colleges in Southwest Michigan for transfer programs.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is small and options are limited.

    Academic Rigor

    Both general ed and career based classes are taught by excellent professors who take their time with students. They don't have an air of authority about them and the quality of the material is excellent. I felt I got a very good education here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor or a program director if you are considering a particular program. They are most helpful and courteous.

    In three sentences

    Lake Michigan College is an excellent school with caring counselors and professors. Health care programs are accredited their respective directors are helpful with any questions from prospective or current students.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe even though it's in a rough town. Campus security is always driving through the parking lot making sure nothing bad is going on.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a decent amount of clubs at Lake Michigan like soccer club, cheer team, student senate, phi theta kappa, nursing association and a couple more

    Great for these types of students

    Older students returning to school trying to finish up there degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is surrounded by man made ponds/lakes which is unusual but pretty cool.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for. Most community colleges are the same. It's a good place to go if you want small class sizes.

    What to do for fun

    There's not a whole lot to do for Fun at the school since it is a junior college.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is not very high. There isn't a lunch hall or anything just a little store called munchies that sells sandwiches pizza etc. The book store provides snacks to buy as well

    Dorm Life

    There are no current dorms, but they will be building them for this next school year.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very good. They very hands on and stay after class if students have any questions etc. only challenge might be relating to the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule your own classes if your looking to transfer afterwords. The academic counselors did a bad job and scheduled me and my friends classes that don't transfer anywhere or to very little university's.

    In three sentences

    Lake Michigan college Is a good academic school. It provides you with the tools and resources to excel in your field of study.

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe .

    Clubs and Activities

    Honors Club

    Great for these types of students

    Duel enrolled or one on a tight budget.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    mechanical bull ride.

    Bang for the buck

    The great price .

    What to do for fun

    I hang out and talk with my friends

    Food and Dining

    The food is really great! Just like my moms.

    Dorm Life

    They have no dorm .

    Academic Rigor

    The professor are great. The class choices are good for a Community College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check Wave link to make sure you don't miss any home work. Get to class early. Read more then the required amount.

    In three sentences

    I am a Duel enrolled student and they made me feel like I belong. Finally a place where I could be challenge. They help you find the right path so I can obtain my goals.

  • 10/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and a few sports teams. There are days where student life has something fun to do in between classes or in the evening: such as movie night, and snacks and drink around noon with a theme involved.

    Food and Dining

    The cost of food is a bit high, but there is a cafe and a school store where students can buy lunch. There are plenty of seats for students to sit down and eat.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't a dorm built on any of the campuses yet. There will be one open in the fall of 2014 at the main campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not start your first semester with a heavy workload. Get used to college life first.

    In three sentences

    Lake Michigan is affordable with small class sizes. There are students of all ages: recent high school grads saving some money, adults receiving training to advance their careers, and adults going back to school to change their life around. The teachers are flexible and will work with you to make sure you succeed in class.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THe campus is very safe, always having campus safety driving around constantly .

    Clubs and Activities

    I did not participate in any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who don't want a lot of debt. Or students who want to play a sport but aren't ready for the 4 year university team.

    Bang for the buck

    LMC charges a lot of fees for things that people don't always even use. So, I think they charge too much but to save money, I'd definitely recommend going to LMC over going to a 4 year university right out of high school. You can go to LMC and pay for it completely with just a part time job.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, there doesn't seem to be a lot of things to do for fun at LMC. They do have tasty tuesdays where you can get free food, and there are many activities for athletes and games that you can go to. There are sometimes activities like once a month like movies and game nights, but overall, it is just a community college. Not tons of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a lot of options for food and dining unfortunately. Just a sandwich bar, pizza, and soup and salad. It is also in a tiny little spot, with never enough tables, but when I did get a sandwich it was always tasty.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't stay in dorms. They are just building them right now.

    Academic Rigor

    I've had overly challenging classes and many easy classes. Some teachers really try to challenge students especially in the science fields, but many other teachers are a little on the easy side.

    Tips for prospective students

    Inform yourself first. Don't just listen to academic advisers. Learn information yourself and seek out the degree you want and educate yourself. Transferring is always a challenge, so make sure every course you take at LMC will transfer to where you want to go. Also, research teachers, because some are better than others.

    In three sentences

    Lake Michigan College is a good place to go to school right out of high school. They have many different ways to take courses, and it is in a diverse area. Many teachers go above and beyond to prepare students for higher education in the future.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Read the safety reports on the website for an interesting experience.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    The most active club that I am aware of is the Creationists' club. So nothing worth your time.

    Great for these types of students

    Looking to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are otters in the ponds. I have seen them.

    Bang for the buck

    Get general credits out of the way and save up money!

    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    Hilarious. Previous to now there was this awful caf�© that didn't really serve much. Construction has added a cafeteria that is not operating yet.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm yet.

    Academic Rigor

    This is heavily dependent on your previous study. For my, LMC was not challenging at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a look at CLEP tests to pass classes without sitting through the class. Make sure you know general requirements for schools you want to transfer to and act accordingly. Most importantly, look ahead (and behind) at other semesters, many classes are only offered once a year, in the spring (for example.)

    In three sentences

    While you don't have a lot of choices in the area, LMC will get the job done, so to speak. It will get you credits, just don't expect to find a wide variety of classes or to be terribly challenged. Ultimately, though, I would make the same decision to attend.