Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lake Superior College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is great on our campus. they will escort you out to your car at night if you feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many activities on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    the school is very inexpensive compared to others.

    What to do for fun

    they have a lot of activities through the college.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good but very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    we dont have any dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    the hygiene program is very vigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you have all your stuff before school starts. enjoy school. put all your effort into school, it will be worth it in the end.

    In three sentences

    i rate lake superior college as a 9. they have one of the lowest tuition. they have an excellent dental hygiene program.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is quite safe and secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are weekly emails, and sometimes daily emails just about the clubs. There are a lot, so it's easy to find one that you'll love.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone.

    What to do for fun

    Again, explore. When there's not something happening at LSC, there's Duluth. Free bus passes make it cheap to go out into the city. LSC has a t.v. lounge area, includes pool. The Inter Cultural Center provides a great chill spot.

    Food and Dining

    There's a decent variety to choose from, lots of vending machines. The Cafe is pricey though. The coffee shot is pretty good, about the same price as Starbucks, sometimes cheaper.

    Dorm Life

    LSC doesn't have dorms. But they'll provide you with information on schools you can dorm at while attending LSC, as well as other housing information.

    Academic Rigor

    If you work hard you'll be okay. There's a plethora of help available too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join Trio SSS if you apply. Explore, the organizations/clubs, the building, the various classes, just explore.

    In three sentences

    The building of LSC itself is very beautiful. The students and teachers create a very diverse environment. There's always something going on, and the library is very quiet when you don't want to do anything.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Security is always around if you need them. I have never had an issue with safety at Lake Superior College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities. Take a look at their website, www.lsc.edu.

    Bang for the buck

    What is great about Lake Superior College is that their tuition is not that expensive. You get a great education for a lower price! They also offer great online classes!

    What to do for fun

    Lake Superior College does a lot to engage the students. They provide lots of activities including stress therapies, music events, program related clubs, and even a few sporting activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is a little expensive, but the Student Senate is working on lowering the prices.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Lake Superior College, but there are apartments specifically for college students and lots of college housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Lake Superior College does a great job at teaching their students the right information and making sure they learn all they can, but even if the classes are hard they really strive to make sure all the students understand. They have great tutoring services!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to advisers, they are always willing to help and they give great guidance. Make sure to register for classes early because classes fill up fast. Carpool to school if you can because the parking lot fills up fast.

    In three sentences

    Lake Superior College is a great college. The staff is understanding, caring, and eager to help their students. They offer great online courses and make going to college fun.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. Security always available on site and to assist and parking lots well lit.

    Greek Life

    not aware opf any at this point.

    Clubs and Activities

    Again, busy with work, so not much time for extra activities, but decent gym/work out area for those that want to take advantage of that service.

    Great for these types of students

    LSC has many online classes, therefore it is great for students wanting to work and go to college, have kids, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I work full time so I don't spend much time at the campus, but they have a nice coffee shop to sit and relax and chat with classmates.

    Bang for the buck

    Sign up for local e-mails from local businesses...many coupons and discounts available. Carry college id with you as there are many places that offer discounts for college students.

    What to do for fun

    Lakewalk along Lake Superior, nice biking running and blading trails, nice ski area in winter.

    Food and Dining

    Food in cafeteria ok, I usually bring my own lunch/dinner for healthier eating. Surrounding eateries are nice, good variety and decent prices.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but see/hear about nice college apartments available for college students and some even have a shuttle bus if you don't have your own transportation.

    Academic Rigor

    3.5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to use tutoring services or start a study group for additional education, as some teachers are not as willing as others to assist in tutoring.

    In three sentences

    Good school to attend. Small class sizes. Most teachers are knowledgeable and willing to help.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small campus tucked away in a forest-y area. I haven't heard of anyones car getting broken into.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a very wide variety of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for non-traditional students, students who prefer to take online classes, and of course anyone who wants to save some money by going to a junior college.

    Bang for the buck

    Really inexpensive compared to the surrounding universities and transferring is very easy from LSC to a Minnesota university.

    Food and Dining

    There is a coffee shop, cafeteria, and store on campus. Lots of different food options for whatever your mood is.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available at this school but there are two other colleges near by and there's tons of off campus dorm like housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be difficult, like Anatomy and Physiology, but there's tons of resources on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes ASAP, a lot of people wait till the last minute because the school is so small but it's much better to have the first pick and not be stuck with a class you don't want. If you can't schedule one of your classes at a convenient time, don't stress, you can probly take it online. Don't be afraid to talk to a counselor or advisor, they are some of the nicest people ever! They also give great advice.

    In three sentences

    Small school and class sizes. Very helpful staff/teachers. Almost all classes are available online, which is very nice if you have a busy schedule.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs for almost everything. From anime to sports.

    Great for these types of students

    All students.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is alright. Pizza, salad, soups, and sandwhiches.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stress too much.

    In three sentences

    It has a nice environment. Easy to learn campus. I like the teachers.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    To be honest with you I have not eaten at school yet. There are many vending machines there to accommodate every students needs or wants. There is a big dinning area for students to just come and hang out or study.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many different programs to study for at Lake Superior. Ranging from accounting all the way to welding. The Instructors there are very nice and are always willing to help you pass your classes or if you have any questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tips that I have for people interested in College is that its nothing like High School. It's a lot more fast paced, the Instructors are there to help you so don't feel bad to ask.

    In three sentences

    Lake Superior College is giving me the chance to change my life. So far the atmosphere there is very welcoming and up beat. I am only in my first semester and I have learned a lot in just this short time. I would most definitely recommend Lake Superior College to others.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel every comfortable and safe at LSC. I haven't been scared for my safety.

    Greek Life

    I don't believe there is Greek Life opportunities at LSC, but at university of Duluth they take people.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many activities for you to do, something is going on every week. They do not have a huge amount of clubs but they add more and more clubs every year to change and fit to the students.

    Great for these types of students

    Lake Superior College is great for students who want to get generals done cheap and transfer to a different school. They understand more and more students are doing this so they have a great transfer program that help you get on your way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The art building is the only building not connected to the rest of the school. Its like an old warehouse filled with a vary of different forms of art that somehow go together.

    Bang for the buck

    I choose to go to Lake Superior College because of the price of tuition. I got into University of Duluth but I didn't want to pay that much for my generals. Going to LSC and getting my generals done is saving me so much money, I don't understand how everyone else doesn't choose to do it this way.

    What to do for fun

    You get an e-mail every week of activities that are happening that week. Join an intramural team, its a great way to meet friends and have a good time!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Lake Superior College is really delicious. They offer tons of different foods and are reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms at Lake Superior College. However, UW Superior in Wisconsin offers dorms to students from LSC. I choose however to rent a house.

    Academic Rigor

    They push you at Lake Superior for you to do your best. It may get hard but there are people there to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the Learning Center, they are super friendly and everyone is there to help you with what ever it is you need. Talk to your teachers if you don't understand something or if you have a question. They are all understanding and want to help you.

    In three sentences

    The Learning Center at Lake Superior College is exceptional. All of my teachers try and know me, I'm not in big lectures. They offer us a lot of great opportunities.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Rate a 3 because it is expensive

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    I would rate a five, its a great school

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't miss class

    In three sentences

    It's a great school to learn and grow in, the teachers are very helpful when it comes to not understanding the work assignments.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non tradional

    What to do for fun

    There is always activites going on in the student commons. Also, many different on campus groups to get involved with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be in touch with your advisors. Also do not be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of one to ten, I would give this college a ten. They are helpful, informative, and flexiable. It is a great college for people who are the non tradional type like myself.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If im not at school or in class i am working out at the school gym, or studying for my quiz or test

    Tips for prospective students

    choose LSC because the program here is like no other, teachers and staff will sit down with you to figure out what you need to succeed at LSC.

    In three sentences

    lake Superior is an amazing college, the teacher and staff here are more then just here to help you.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been absolutely no issues in the past year that I have been there. The security guards are always making their rounds and patrolling the parking lot--I feel very safe there!

    Clubs and Activities

    A very wide variety of clubs and activities are offered at LSC. If they don't have what you're looking for, just ask and you can create your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anybody! They have a multicultural center on site, and are very welcoming of folks from other countries!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lake Superior College has their own disc golf course on site, along with a nature walk/hiking trail.

    Bang for the buck

    LSC is the 2nd cheapest college in Minnesota, but you can't tell by the campus or the quality of learning!

    What to do for fun

    LSC offers a ton of different activities, and if they don't offer a club that you are interested in, the student senate encourages you to submit suggestions, and whatever you're interested in has a great chance of becoming a new club!

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is pretty good! The food director used to be a chef at a restaurant and comes up with some pretty awesome dishes, and the menu changes every week. There is also a coffee shop that sells some pretty awesome smoothies and coffee drinks.

    Dorm Life

    LSC does not offer campus housing, but there is a very wide variety of housing available nearby--you can definitely find something that meets your needs and budget, and LSC gives you a free bus pass so you can really live anywhere in Duluth and get to class and back for free!

    Academic Rigor

    Each class I have taken has had just the balance of difficulty- not really a breeze, but definitely not struggling to keep up!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ski p classes, and if you're taking courses online, stay on top of them! Time gets away from you very fast!

    In three sentences

    Lake Superior College is a fantastic place to learn! The campus itself is very welcoming and modern, all the teachers are eager to teach and help you learn the way that suits you, and they have a great deal of clubs and activities to participate in! Very glad I chose this college!

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In my experience on campus, I have not come across anything that has made me feel unsafe and I have not seen any unsafe situations with others.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the prices for this education is great.

    What to do for fun

    The college has a lot of opportunities to be involved in clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is to pay attention during the Intro to College course. It is extremely helpful! Also, check your school email daily.

    In three sentences

    Lake Superior College is a wonderful school. I love the in classroom experience and the online learning experience. I can't wait to continue my education at this college.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All

    In three sentences

    Work hard. Use resources as necessary. Instructors and campus staff are knowledgeable and willing to help to promote success.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    have different activities

    Tips for prospective students

    nice to star where people help you

    In three sentences

    I'm getting the help I need and I love small School

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Duluth has many fun things to do - just go out and explore

    Food and Dining

    I am not familiar with the dining or food at Lake Superior College!

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms at this college!

    Academic Rigor

    Lake Superior College definitely has academic rigor in regards to the programs that are offered. For the nursing program, they only accept students who achieved a GPA of a 3.0 or above for the prerequisites. Once you are in the program, you have to have an 80% or above to pass. They not only expect you to have mastered the course content, but also the applied skills in the clinical setting. I think that this is a good thing though, because it makes you become a more competent person.

    Tips for prospective students

    My main tip for prospective students is to know what you want to major in. Talk to an advisor! There is no point in taking random general classes because it is just adding to your tuition cost.

    In three sentences

    Lake Superior College is a smaller college, which is nice because you have smaller class sizes and are able to interact with the teachers more. It is also a nice college because it is easier to navigate in comparison to bigger colleges/universities. The tuition at Lake Superior College is also a lot cheaper than other colleges/universities, which is very important. Nobody wants to have massive amounts of debt right after they get out of college!

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Choir, sports, fraternity

    Great for these types of students

    Great for online only, part time online, wanting to go to class with teacher during the day but also at night.

    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonable rates for tuition.

    What to do for fun

    They have student success day, open house, snow shoeing, movies, field trips.

    Food and Dining

    They have free meals through out school year that is quite delicious. A food shelf to help students in need.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus. I don't know what the dorms are like.

    Academic Rigor

    This college's classes is quite challenging at moments but quite interesting. It is well worth the fight to get through it to graduate soon and move on to a dream job!

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek high school students from the Aitkin and Crosby area for PCEOS classes to give them another option besides CLC.

    In three sentences

    I love that they have all the online courses I need to complete my AA degree. They are the cheapest tuition fee in my area! They have wonderful teachers that are willing to work with the student.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go cross country or downhill skiing in the winter and go hiking or biking in the summer. Visit one of many museums all year round and join one of the many on campus organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The caf�© downstairs or the cafeteria upstairs has very good prices and very good food with a nice facility to enjoy your meal. You can sit in a comfy chair and watch something on the big screen TV if you get something from the caf�©. The cafeteria is centrally located so you don't have to go very far to grab a bite to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this college but there are many cheap places to live around the Duluth/Superior area.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are 50 minutes long so there is ample time for you to go to your locker before going to your next class. The classes are not as hard as you would find at a university and the class sizes are much smaller which makes learning the material a little easier with more interaction between the students and the faculty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you get help when you need it and spend the necessary time to learn the material. Some classes cover a lot of material very quickly. It's cheaper to share a house or apartment with someone than to live by yourself and riding the bus is very cheap covering a very large area of Duluth and Superior.

    In three sentences

    This college is set in a very nice location with a good amount of parking available. The faculty is very friendly and knowledge and you are not just a number. You can take some classes online or in the evening if you don't have any time during the day to go to school.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on the LSC campus

    Clubs and Activities

    As of this date, I have never joined any of the campus's clubs or activities, although I know they have many to choose from.

    What to do for fun

    Many fun activities are offered throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    I myself have never purchased food from the campus, but I have noticed they have a wide variety.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available, but there is housing available in the surrounding area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give LSC a chance, I don't believe you will be disappointed.

    In three sentences

    The experience I have had with LSC has been very good. I would recommend it to anyone interesting in furthering their education. The staff is great. Small campus makes for comfort. I have attended a few colleges in my lifetime, and I believe this has been the best yet.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Active minds is a wonderful club that they have. It was founded by a young woman who lost someone she loved very much through suicide. I find this club amazing seeing how i just lost my husband to suicide in april 2013.

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE. This college is great for everyone old or young.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I cant think of any unusual traditions or locations.

    What to do for fun

    They have lots of activities there, something for everyone. You might even find that there are more then one activity there that you want to become part of.

    Food and Dining

    they have a nice varity of food there, although there hot food could be better, not a big fan of it.. also they could go down on the prices some, kinda expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into all colleges that are available to you and after you have found a few check out lake superior college, you cant go wrong.

    In three sentences

    This is my first time back to school in 21 years, and lake superior college is a 10 for me. Very helpful in a very timely matter. Teachers are amazing.