Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lake Tahoe Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lake Tahoe Community College is great for anyone really. Whether you just want to get your AA and ski for the rest of your life, plan to transfer or are looking into a certificate program, LTCC does it all. With transfer programs to both UCs and CSUs you still go to that four year university by starting your college experience right, at Lake Tahoe Community College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about fitting in or not or getting into your classes. At Lake Tahoe Community College, the staff makes it work for you and everyone--student and teacher alike--are very friendly and down to earth people. It's a great community for a college.

    Bang for the buck

    The price per unit is lower than any other community college I know of, at only $17 per unit. Within the college itself are various vending machines as well as a student café/bookstore where you can find awesome deals on your books as well as a wide variety of snacks and drinks at discount prices. The college is filled with these types of helpful resources: an organized student services where you can find anything from a job to an appointment with a counselor, a well ordered library filled with just about any book that you would ever need as well as free internet use and DVD rentals, an up to date computer lab with free printing as well as a Math and English Success/Tutoring center located right in the middle of campus for any help you would need with either of those subjects among other subjects as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    The actual town of Lake Tahoe is beatiful: spotted with tall pines and bordering the most beautiful lake in California. The college is no different: still minutes away from the lake it intermixes it's classrooms with tall evergreens, spacious parking lots and friendly faces. Because LTCC is a smaller college everyone tends to get to know each other and everyone is friendly and accepting.

    Am learning a lot

    The college is fairly small, so the class sizes are typically small as well and the teachers at LTCC are dedicated—teaching classes at all times in the day to fit to the schedules of the students as well as remaining on campus to talk and meet with students. For such a small college there is a surprisingly large class listing and the great thing about the quarter system is that those classes are rotated frequently.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here at LTCC and in Tahoe in general. We have almost no crime.

    Greek Life

    Not much

    Clubs and Activities

    I am unaware of many clubs at my school

    Great for these types of students

    Laid back outdoor types

    Bang for the buck

    I do not pay for much so I think LTCC is a great deal.

    What to do for fun

    The creak is very close as well as the meadow.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I don't have a very hard time with the schoolwork because there is always someone to help me out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a reliable way to school in the winter. The bus is often late and the paths to the school get pretty rough in the snow.

    In three sentences

    LTCC is a very beautiful school. It is small so you know everybody. It is around midtown so it is easy to get to.

  • 01/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its a small college so they are reasonable and so is everything they sell.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a small college and you see a lot of friends and people you know.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the teachers are really great. They really like to work with you and make sure you get the most out of your schooling.

  • 07/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    art and science majors, outdoorsy people

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to the campus and talk to administration staff, teachers, students; everyone is really helpful, but you have to be really proactive if you want to get anything done.

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you are paying in-state tuition this school is super affordable. Even for out of state students, though, the education is well worth the cost. Not to mention living in Lake tahoe to attend classes...this town is amazing!

    Am enjoying being here

    There is a really strong community at this school and activities like clubs, bbq's, and chili cook offs, keep the campus fun and the students involved. When funding allows, there also some really awesome field trip classes that can be offered.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are knowledgeable professionals, who are very involved in their fields outside of the class room. They are always kind and helpful from everything to scheduling classes to passing them as well as how to succeed in school and life beyond their individual classes.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, small town.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Great for these types of students

    Online students, relaxed students, any students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a wine festival and a huge techno concert that people from all around come for during the summer season.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a CA resident you can get the classes for free, or else it is only $17 per unit. Smallest class sizes around!

    What to do for fun

    Outdoors!

    Food and Dining

    Brothers down the street is always awesome.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers want you to write novels and some just want you to take a short quiz- it all depends.

    Tips for prospective students

    The student center staff is kind of rough and you may have to bug them repeatedly to get the financial aid actually completed!

    In three sentences

    Wonderful location with a wide variety of classes. Very affordable and an all-online option. Small classes and relaxed feeling.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. The crime rates are insanely low. People don't worry about people stealing their things or being robbed.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs range from the Alley club all the way to the science and math club. You just need to find your niche. It's also fairly easy to start your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who love being outdoors and want a one on one relationship with their teachers. It's a small campus and town so you'll get to know everyone really fast.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our mascot is a Kokanee Salmon!

    Bang for the buck

    Although Tahoe is a hard place to live if you are not an active person, it can be an amazing experience. There is always something to do and it can be affordable.

    What to do for fun

    If your an active person there is a lot to do such as hiking, biking, running, and swimming in the summer time. In the winter time there is skiing, back country snow shoeing. There are also several concerts and a casino area since it's located right next to Nevada.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria but an amazing coffee cart :)

    Dorm Life

    You live off campus with roommate or famile, no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on what you want to do. I myself am a biology student so my workload is tuff, but for the most part the work load is not that bad. Teachers are realistic and aware that students have lives and have things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do! Although this a small community college, it's also very laid back. due to the laid back atmosphere of the community college it's very easy to slip through the cracks and spend several years here trying to complete your degree. So know what you want to do and be proactive about it as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    This college is good college, small college community college. The professors are very helpful and communicate with the students very well. This is a good school if you are looking for a small college where teachers know your name. I love it here and it has amazing financial opportunities.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once felt unsafe at Lake Tahoe Community College. The atmosphere is unparalleled and the student body is extremely welcoming.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at LTCC. Sororities and fraternities are prohibited.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of FBLT which is a club for the Future Business Leaders of Lake Tahoe. I have participated in various community events and I have enjoyed my experience as a part of LTCC's club life.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for motivated students who have a goal to progress their academic careers. LTCC boasts a strong curriculum amongst the California community colleges so I feel this school has made me a stronger student, overall. In addition, I feel I am a different person after having experienced life as a college student in Tahoe. My view of the world has expanded and I appreciate life differently than I had before my days in Tahoe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus really has no special traditions or locations that I'm aware of. I do love spending time on the soccer field but in terms of special features, there really aren't any. One interesting note is that LTCC did host the first annual Snowglobe 3 -day music festival on this soccer field this past New Year.

    Bang for the buck

    Tahoe is a tourist destination so reasonable prices are sometimes hard to come by. Whether is grocery shopping, eating out, or purchasing Heavenly lift tickets, there are some good deals available and others to stay away from.

    What to do for fun

    In Lake Tahoe there is never a shortage of activities to participate in for fun. There is skiing, snowboarding, mountain biking, hiking, basketball, swimming, jet skiing, going to the beach, stand-up paddle boarding, and many other hobbies.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria is gorgeous, but never used. The food and dining around Tahoe are great but at the college there are really no dining options for students.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Lake Tahoe Community College. However, there are an abundance of rentals within the town.

    Academic Rigor

    As an AP student at one of the toughest high schools in the country (Oxford Academy: Cypress, CA) I have experienced education at its highest level. LTCC has done a great job of challenging me as a student and I feel prepared to move on to bigger and better things. The intimate class setting creates a personalized relationship with professors who actually know all of their students names.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would have to tell future LTCC students that to be able to appreciate the college they must first appreciate the culture of Lake Tahoe. The community in this town is unlike any other in that it is a tourist destination with a small year-round population. Nature is glorified in this town; education and self-improvement are extremely important to the students.

    In three sentences

    Living in the gorgeous Sierra basin, I have loved my experience at Lake Tahoe Community College. The faculty and staff are incredibly helpful and constantly striving to help the students. I will be sad to transfer, but LTCC has given me a memorable college experience.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. It's a safe community.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Quite a few, including international, art, language, theatre, geology, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoors folks/hippies/ athletes/ music lovers/ artists

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not really any

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are always a great option financially.

    What to do for fun

    Hike, frisbee golf, bike ride, swim, ski/snowboard.

    Food and Dining

    Not very many options. Snacks from the book store and a coffee lounge are about it.

    Dorm Life

    non applicable

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class and teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a game plan and know approximately classes to take and when.

    In three sentences

    Easy going, laid-back, and full of the core-curriculum. The school is nice and has great art programs. However the staff, i.e. counseling, are always the most supportive.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't had any issues, no break ins, or stealing since I've started school here over a year ago.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not very aware of many of the clubs but the geo and science clubs are very hands on.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for people that like smaller classes, smaller campus, and love the outdoors and slower side of life,

    Bang for the buck

    This school is one of the cheapest schools to go to in California, and always a clean campus.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of out door activities summer and winter. This is a small town, there isn't any major stores or shopping, however, for party types there's casinos and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is one student store, and a dinning area

    Dorm Life

    There are no on-campus living, lots of student room with each other in bigger houses

    Tips for prospective students

    If your on a deadline this mite not be for you, just in case you don't pass a class. I say this because this is a small college, with limited classes being offered at times.

    In three sentences

    LTCC is set around lots of trees, giving it a peaceful, clean feeling. I enjoy the small class sizes, giving you a more hands-on settling. Bonus about LTCC is it Quarter system, getting more classes done at a faster rate,

  • 05/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students are harmless for the most part, violence and crime is not an issue.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Limited and relatively unknown.

    Great for these types of students

    Hikers, outdoor enthusiast, firefighters, medical admin.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    PRAY FOR SNOW !!

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Casinos, outdoor activities, ski mountains, pretty much a party atmosphere unless you focus on work and school.

    Food and Dining

    Local resturaunts are decent, but expensive. Start cooking for yourself, and you will not regret it.

    Dorm Life

    No student housing. Rent prices are beyond most students affordability.

    Academic Rigor

    Take it as it is. There is a limited choice in what to take and when it is available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep transportation in mind, you can only catch a bus every two hours, and at night it is very dark. Don't mind the local attitude, it is innocent as much as it is intimidating. Bring your own food or risk over paying at the bookstore, although there is a delightful cafe open in the cafeteria.

    In three sentences

    A forest surrounds the school not a mile off the main highway offers students a view. Limited parking and small facilities will make some feel at home, while others may feel limited. This is a great place to start a college career though.