Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Lakeland College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/28/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small town students looking for a small yet up beat school.

    Bang for the buck

    Seems quite pricey

    Will enjoy being here

    Most definitely

    Will learn a lot

    Faculty all seems great.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Lakeland campus is unbelievably safe! I feel comfortable walking across campus at 2 in the morning! We have campus security on duty 24/7 also. They offer safe rides whenever, and are patrolling the campus at all hours of the day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We just had our 150th anniversary here at Lakeland. I learned so many cool things that use to go on around campus and meaning of different things here. One that I thought was really cool because it pertained to me was that when the volleyball team took home a win they would come back to campus and ring the bell! Totally want to bring back that tradition.

    What to do for fun

    The campus activity board puts on so many different events at very affordable prices or for free. You can go to Brewers or Bucks games for cheap, play laser tag in the field house for free, or attend a pub party in the pub for only a couple bucks!

    Food and Dining

    Kitchen staff works to keep you well fed. There are so many different options to choose from as well! You can go to the Muskie Mart and eat from the Muskie Grill, get a grab and go sub, or go through the traditional buffet line.

    Dorm Life

    All residents hall are clean, comfortable, and a blast to live in. The RAs work to keep you involved. The people you live with are all very respectful as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are knowledgable in their fields and care about each of their students. They want to see you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in everything you can! Makes school more enjoyable and feels more like home than anything.

    In three sentences

    At Lakeland you are not just a number. The Lakeland community works to keep you involved and happy. They truely care about every aspect of your life.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a member of the campus security team on duty. They offer safe rides across campus or to wherever you want to go on campus. There is also a taxi service that offers safe rides anywhere within the county off campus. The team members are really great and try to get to know the students. You can call at anytime and they will be there asap to help you out. There are also telephones located around campus that you can use to call them.

    Greek Life

    I never experienced Greek Life, but it is an eligibility at Lakeland. I had a couple of friends who attempted to make it into sororities, but ended up quitting for certain reasons. Once one makes it past Hell Week, there is really no other stresses of being a member of the sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I mentioned earlier, LC CAB does a great job of putting on activities and events for the students to attend. The hall directors and RAs in the dorms also do a lot to put on little events in the dorm halls.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Lakeland being the diverse school that it is, is really great for any student. It is suitable for all ages, races, and religions as well. I would recommend it to anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any real unusual places or traditions on campus. Only one thing comes to mind that was fairly unusual. A couple of students decided it would be funny to bring a cow up the stairs of Old Main, which didn't have elevators at that time. The students didn't know that cows cannot climb down stairs, so they couldn't get the cow down and ended up having to kill it; they say that the cow now haunts Old Main.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is rather expensive to attend considering it is a private school; however, the school does offer a lot of scholarship opportunities and ways to save money. I would definitely consider it a great bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Even though the school is in the middle of a corn field, there is plenty of things to do for entertainment nearby as well as on campus. The school has a group called LC CAB, which is a group that organizes fun and games as well as activities both on campus and off. There are bowling alleys, golf courses, movie theaters, malls, and a lot of other things nearby as well. We have gone to Brewers games, Bucks games, bowling, plays, and many more activities with the LC CAB. On campus there are also events called convocations, you will learn about these when you visit the school, but some of them are plays, musicals, comedians, writers, speeches, and many more options; they are good time fillers and believe it or not, some of them are very entertaining.

    Food and Dining

    Lakeland's food and dining center is wonderful. There is always a salad and sandwich bar for those students who do not want to eat the main course for that meal. I love the Muskie Mart, which offers grilled food as well as serving the students like a grocery store. You have Muskie Money that you get when you pay for your payment plan. It is wonderful not having to carry cash everywhere when you are on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Once you come out of your shell and experience life in the dorms for a while, it feels like you have an entirely new family. I did not come out of my shell right away and wish I would have, I met a lot of great people and they became very close to me. I loved living in the all girls' dorm rooms, it was a lot of fun because we could screw around and just have fun without worrying that we aren't impressing any guys, and what not.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very helpful and stick to their syllabus. I have never had a problem scheduling a meeting with a professor to get help on my coursework or in the class in general. Also, the class sizes are super small, which is a huge advantage to quicker learning and more one-on-one time.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips for prospective students: do not let the school being in the middle of a corn field scare you away, it is better than one would think. Do not be afraid to try new activities; it is a great way to meet new people and make some friends. Don't forget to be yourself; college can be a lot like high school when it comes to personal issues and such, but don't be afraid to let your real self shine, most people like that better than you trying to fit in. Lastly, have fun; the time flies by faster than you would believe, take the time to enjoy your experiences.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland college is awesome; there are activities, athletics, and academics. The staff of the school makes the experience that much better with their small class sizes and increased one-on-one time. I would suggest this school for anyone looking to have fun, learn, and meet great people.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is very good about keeping us safe and making sure everyone on campus is following the rules. They are not too strict to where students cannot do anything, but lenient enough to ensure no one will get hurt.

    Greek Life

    The fraternities and sororities always put on pub parties and stay involved with the rest of the Lakeland community. Personally I am not involved with any of them but I have friends that are and they really enjoy being a part of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and things to get involved in at Lakeland. They offer so many activities to do that students will never be bored.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are small-town country types will enjoy Lakeland.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a pub on campus that comes in very handy to students over 21. Many activities such as pub parties and comedians are held here.

    Bang for the buck

    I enjoy every minute at Lakeland and most people call this place home rather than where they actually came from. When I took a visit my senior year of high school I knew this was the place for me. I am graduating this year from Lakeland with a major in Exercise Science and a minor in Nonprofit Organization Management. I have made so many connections throughout the nonprofit community in Sheboygan and learned much more than I ever could have anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do on and near campus to keep students busy. Student activities puts on many events that keep everyone busy and are very fun. Things such as bouncy houses, aqua massage nights, cookie decorating, scarf making, basically everything you could imagine. Since extra curricular activities are hard to do off campus, Lakeland does a spectacular job of giving students plenty of things to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Lakeland has been pretty good, but is still improving each and everyday. They made something new called creative cuisine and it has just adapted to the students wants and personal preferences.

    Dorm Life

    I was in a freshman dorm for the first semester of my freshman year at Lakeland and did not enjoy it too much. The apartments and pods in Brotz hall are much more pleasant to live in. The furniture is not the greatest in some of the places so some people have to bring their own belongings. I believe with the amount of money we spend on room and board Lakeland should be able to buy some new furniture to replace the ones that are very old and broken.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes I have been in have been challenging, but easy enough to where I am learning something and understanding each and every day. Students are required to take Core classes which help with ones self and teach you about your own personal being.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything you can while at Lakeland. There are plenty of student groups, activities, sports, fraternities/sororities, to get involved with. The four years you are at Lakeland will fly by, so enjoy it while you can!

    In three sentences

    Lakeland is a great place for students who prefer one on one time with teachers. There are so many activities on campus that you do not notice we are in the middle of a cornfield. The atmosphere is incredible and I could not have picked a better school.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No concerns at all.

    Greek Life

    Unknown if it exists.

    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS of options!!!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Better than any other private liberal-arts college.

    Food and Dining

    I've only been on campus once, but it was good food.

    Dorm Life

    I attended online, but the dorms look nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the course,--some are VERY difficult, others require basic hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Participate in class, do your homework, and ask questions. Repeat.

    In three sentences

    Coursework is challenging--good information to prepare a student for the postcollegiate world. Most professors are good, but-like any school--there are some who don't know how to teach (even if they know their subject).

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent. a very safe environment.

    What to do for fun

    i go home on the weekends. i am on the baseball team so between practice, games, and going home whenever possible that is my fun.

    Food and Dining

    normal dorm food. not very good but variety is found.

    Dorm Life

    not very good. older dorms and rooms. no off campus housing is available near campus.

    Academic Rigor

    challenging but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    it helps having an automobile on campus to attend movies, go shopping, and visit other places. not much to do on campus.

    In three sentences

    a small college that a student receives allot of attention. class sizes are small. the faculty gets to know each student by name.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Heard it was really good.

    Greek Life

    Phi theta Kappa

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students are welcome here.

    Bang for the buck

    Every dollar is worth it for the great education you get.

    What to do for fun

    Football games and other fun activities.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Average amount of homework but lots of reading.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study hard.

    In three sentences

    Awsome online classes and support for students.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small campus where everyone knows everyone. Also, security is on duty 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Because of the size of the campus there aren't many fraternities and sororities, but they do put together some pretty exciting events.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's lots of clubs and activities to choose from. Some require more participation than others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    It's good if you're getting a fair share of financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Pub parties are usually a great time. Greek life tends to throw parties most weekends. Many of the campus activity groups also put together various events that can help keep you occupied. If all else fails, go into town and find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food isn't the worst. When there's a crappy menu, there's always the Musky Mart you can go to to get something else to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms that are at both ends of the spectrum: there are some old, gross dorms and some new, nice dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It mostly depends on the class. Some of them have a lot to do, others have barely anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like small class sizes, Lakeland is great. Make sure you have a car or a friend with a car. It can get boring spending every weekend stuck on campus.

    In three sentences

    The small class sizes are great for more one-on-one time with the professors. Because of the size, there is more opportunity for financial aid/scholarships/grants/etc.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lakeland college offers a variety of clubs of the history club, math club, the mirror, and much more! there's the sorority groups student can join in with the brotherhood or sisterhood. if your very compassionate about helping others, there's the lakeland cab. this club volunteers around the community with food drives and being involved with the community.

    Food and Dining

    just like in high school we had to swipe our lunch cards in order to get lunch. well at lakeland college, students swipe their lunch cards too! the breakfast varies everyday, but pan cakes and sausage are the best! lunch time offers a lot of variety from the salad bar to the hamburger bar and the hot lunches. lakeland lunch makes delightful desserts from brownies to gourmet chocolate mousse. then there's dinner, pretty good stuff from pork chops, beef stew, and other delicious food. all you can eat! if the cafeteria food isn't interesting there's the mini mart inside the cafeteria. it's just like a grocery store, but several times smaller with an order menu where we can see the cook grilling hamburgers. pretty good stuff!

    Dorm Life

    dorm life! what to say? well, there are a couple of dormitories around the lakeland campus. the dorms are coed, meaning males and females share the same building. be prepared! at times the dorms will be chaotic, and when the week of final exams start, the only noise are the vents buzzing. living in the dorms is an experience to try.

    Academic Rigor

    lakeland college offers courses from different ranges. the courses are rated from 100 being the freshman level to 400 being the senior level. depending on the course number, a student will know whether the course is more or less work. academically speaking, the courses are not to easy or too hard. it all depends on the amount of information the student can retain and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. choose 2 major studies just in case 1 doesn't work out. 2. get to know other students, so he or she can help with homework. 3. especially, get to know the the professors. this will help the professor know your strength and weaknesses. 4. socialize. this helps the college experience be worth-while. 5. learn about new things. expand the mind and be open to new ideas or topics. 6. lastly, do not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    open minded individuals

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional students

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know how to manage your time if you are going to attend online because you have to post 4 times on different days.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland's BlendEd is a life saver. You can go to class or study from home. The teachers are all from the field.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security does it's best to keep everyone under control.

    Greek Life

    Best decision I ever made. Before coming here I was completely against going Greek. I gave it a try and I am now a proud member of the Phi Delta Omega Sorority. I don't know where I would be without my Greek family!

    Clubs and Activities

    If you and your friends don't like what already is available it's not hard to create a new club!

    Great for these types of students

    People with a large imagination.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Anything goes if you are crazy enough to do it!

    Bang for the buck

    I personally feel that the experiences I've had thus far are priceless and that I couldn't be where I am today without them!

    What to do for fun

    An imagination is needed. Lakeland's not within walking distance of any town. Board games, Frisbees, and footballs are highly recommended.

    Food and Dining

    I can't say that the food is the best. I can, however, say that the people that cook it are nice.

    Dorm Life

    Many different styles of dorm life are available here. This gives each individual the ability to live in a manner that is best suited to them.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors push you to be the best you can be. Yet, if you are struggling they will be there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to meet many people from very different backgrounds. Also, be prepared to create your own fun.

    In three sentences

    Overall, I am glad to be attending Lakeland College.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs, activites, and the greek life especially the sports available

    Tips for prospective students

    You should really choose this college it is really diverse and is in a great location

    In three sentences

    Really Great!!!!

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life on campus is a wonderful way to stay involved. At Lakeland we have 3 sororities and 3 fraternities. Each with different traditions and different pledging processes. Each one holds different people with different personalities. But in the end everyone in Greek life gets along and is always there for one another.

    What to do for fun

    Not only can you find your own fun with friends, but Lakeland also offers actives through out the week, keeping the students entertained with either outside performers, or the Lakeland students putting on their own performances.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Lakeland is great! There is always buffet styled food for every meal of everyday. Each student picks a meal plan which allows them a certain amount of line meals, a certain amount of Ala cart meals, and another amount of money called Muskie Money, which is used for the campus store, for food and other essentials.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great at Lakeland College. There are dorms specified only for girl and boys; and also dorms that are unisex. To get into a dorm, a student is put on a point system, based on GPA, academic school level, and student activities. This reward system allows you to live in newer dorms each year you attend school at Lakeland.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Lakeland is a wonderful place to be. Lakeland offers a variety of different majors. Each class is taught by a wonderful faculty member, in which each makes it their priority to make sure each student gets the academic help they need in that class.

    Tips for prospective students

    When it comes to classes, stick to them, don't worry about friend and what everyone else is doing. Get your homework done and make school your priority. Lakeland offers wonderful academics, so take advantage of what you are being offered.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland College definitely comes out to be a high rating. I would rate it almost a perfect 10 for me. They make my personal experience wonderful for me.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I wish there were more options when it comes to Sororities and Fraternities, but the ones on campus seem to do well.

    Great for these types of students

    Lakeland is great for people who like to live more out in the country and don't mind the small town atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Sheboygan? haha Like previously mentioned, Lakeland tries but it really doesn't have a lot of options for fun close by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the library, don't do homework in your room and go try new things.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland College has great support for students from staff and professors. It's located in a pretty empty area, but if you put a lot of effort into getting involved you can keep busy. Great degree selection!

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I do not live on campus however I think it is always important to get together with classmates and socialize as well as get into the habit of networking!

    Food and Dining

    I do not live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus. I attend the Kellet adult education portion of Lakeland.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging as they really make you think but they focus and give you a new idea of looking at your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about continuing your education, do not wait! Schedule an appointment with a counselor and they are very helpful with walking you through the process in a very non-stressful fashion.

    In three sentences

    The staff at the Fox Cities Center has a true passion for your education and they are available to help at all times. The courses are very favorable to my lifestyle because I have the blend ed option where I don't have to go to class if my schedule does not permit. Great accredited college and has high standards.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 Campus security doing rounds. Assistant head of security lives on campus, safe rides are given if you feel unsafe (or if its cold and you don't want to walk). Never once have I felt unsafe and I have been out working in the art studios until one or two in the morning, when I would walk across campus to sleep.

    What to do for fun

    Watch your friends compete, play a sport yourself, hang out in the on campus pub, go to events that CAB hosts.

    Food and Dining

    When they have creative cuisine it is amazing! Sizzling Salads are a personal favorite.

    Dorm Life

    Nice and clean dorms! Larger than other droms at other colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your class mates and professors. You never know when that connection will be useful.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland is a small campus and it is easy to get to every building quickly, even if you slept through your alarm... or hit snooze a few times! I love the close relationships you have with fellow students and professors/staff/faculty. Professors are always have time for anyone who needs help in a class, or who is looking for more opportunities outside the classroom.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The sports and athletics are a joke here. I was recruited to play a sport here and the coaching staff was very unprofessional. They really made the experience awful. Ultimately made my decision to transfer once I was no longer part of the program.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for commuters, anyone who lives within a 30 minute radius, people who enjoy farms and their smell. None of these things are my cup of tea.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is causing quite the dent in my pocket. However, I do not feel like I am getting any of my moneys worth. Majority of the credits offered here do not transfer.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing to do around here. It is absolutely agonizing.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a small campus so you feel like you are still in high school. The classes do not seem challenging enough for what the amount that you are paying.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a school that is small, secluded, and no diversity this is your school.

    In three sentences

    Very Small, Limited room for growth, and false advertising. I hate being here therefore I am transferring.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a apart of Alpha Psi Alpha Sorority!

    In three sentences

    Lakeland is a small school, easy to interact with everyone but sometimes full of drama. There aren't enough things to do on campus to keep people entertained and out of trouble. Some people here are biased, and classes are boring and seems like we are just being lectured.