Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lakeland Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for those that don't have a lot of time - schedules will work around you! Also for those who want to have a whole college experience without the large tuition bill. Lakeland is great for just about everyone that wants an education - there are many different types of people that attend here! You can see it as soon as you walk in the door - this place is for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you really want to get an education without paying the tens of thousands, there are plenty of degrees at Lakeland. Nursing, Radiology, Computer Systems, Firefighter, etc. There is definitely something for everyone. One tip that I tell EVERYONE I know is to make sure to set up an appointment with a counselor to go over the courses you need to take to complete your degree. A lot of people waste their time taking classes that don't count for their degree! Plan ahead - make sure you are taking the right classes. Also, go on a college tour! There was so much that I learned form my tour after having been there for an entire year already! You will definitely get the inside scoop!

    Bang for the buck

    It really is worth all the money put into your education. There are many free services here also. Tutoring, Writing, Career Services, Tours, Women Support, Counseling, etc. I don't want to leave all these luxuries! Oh and FREE PARKING!!!

    Am enjoying being here

    I really love coming to school! I am usually excited about my classes, even in subjects I don't particularly like! There are so many different clubs to join - there's something for everyone. You can really find your place here.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are very knowledgeable. They are very welcoming and seem to truly care about their students. A lot of my professors are also my tutors! There is so much knowledge contained in these walls, it's hard not to learn a lot here!

  • 01/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its great for giving you a feel of college, its kinda like a big high school with a college feel.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would truly consider this school, too give you the feel of college.

    Bang for the buck

    This Community College is very affordabe & well worth its dollar.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy being here. The classes are small, which makes its much easier to adjust.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot. I am only taking four classes this semester, but its fairly easy, you just got to have time to fit it all in.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is there for just that, campus safety. If you have late night classes, and do not want to walk alone to your vehicle, there are call stations located through out the campus. Campus Safety will come and escort you to your vehicle, your safety is their concern.

    Bang for the buck

    A person can get the higher education they want at Lakeland, without the costly tuition of other schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are different sporting events to watch, and activities and groups to join, while attending Lakeland Community College. Of course if you have more time, there is shopping at the local mall also.

    Food and Dining

    I, personally have not checked out the dining hall. I do know where it is located, and the smells that come out of there are pretty good. There are also vending machines for the quick snack located through out the facility.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know anything about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    As with any academics, if you want to succeed, you have to strive for that success. There is a full staffed library to help with any research you may have, along with any other help you may need. There is also, tutoring available if you are in need of a little extra help. It is there to be taken advantage of !

    Tips for prospective students

    Make Lakeland one of the colleges you look into for future education. They offer almost as much as some of your higher priced schools, for less money. You will still have the College atmosphere you might be looking for, but closer to home, and less expensive.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending Lakeland Community College. The class sizes are not huge, the staff is very helpful. It is very easy to locate all classes.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    telephones are set up along the streetlamps throughout the campus. the campus police's response time is under two minutes.

    Bang for the buck

    to all students not decided on an academic path, or ones who want to earn an associates degree, lakeland commuity college offers all this for a low tuition rate.

    What to do for fun

    lakeland offers students the opportunity to cheer for the basketball team, get fit in their gym for free, watch breath-taking performances, and join clubs such as student government. whatever your preference, lakeland offers it.

    Food and Dining

    the breaker's area offers an large array of meal and snack options. italian- and american-style food options are always available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    lakeland community college does not offer housing.

    Academic Rigor

    the course material challenges the students. students must study and work hard to succeed in their courses. the faculty and staff are more than willing to help their students succeed in their courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    all prospective students should make an appointment with a counselor to discuss their course schedules. prospective students for health programs should apply to the programs as soon as possible. the nursing and dental hygiene programs are highly competitive, and there is a waiting list.

    In three sentences

    lakeland community college is an academically challenging and university credit worthy institution. it offers student the opportunity to earn an associates degree at an unbelievably reasonable price. class schedules are beneficial to those who need a flexible schedule.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have a gym where you can work out. they also have some arcade equipment.

    Food and Dining

    i have never tried the food at lakeland yet because cheaper places are close by. i heard it is not too bad though.

    Dorm Life

    there are not any dorms because it is a community college so everyone just commutes.

    Academic Rigor

    it is not a particularly difficult school but like any school you have to attend every class and put effort towards your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    get there a little early to find parking, it is always crowded.

    In three sentences

    the teachers are very nice and helpful. the campus is a good size, so everything is easily accessible. it is a fine place to start college and earn your beginning credits.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    i think this college is great for student of any age.

    Bang for the buck

    very reasonable cost per credit hour

    What to do for fun

    there are many student activities to get involved in. also various seminars and celebrations occur on a regular basis

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafeteria available on campus as well as other dining options nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    the college has many flexible options to accommodate many students needs

    Tips for prospective students

    go online to review the classes offered. you can also sign up to attend the college online as well.

    In three sentences

    i enjoy attending lakeland community college. the staff here is friendly and very helpful. there are many resources available to assist a student of any age.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lakeland police is always around during the day and at night. they are always on patrol and you will see one almost everyday while walking from the parking lot to school.

    Clubs and Activities

    lakeland has a club for just about anything. i am an outdoors person and a couple days ago with walking through the hall i saw a flyer to join a club that partners with the lakemetro parks and you can do volunteer work or just simply enjoy the outdoors by visiting one of their great parks

    Bang for the buck

    with lakeland's tuition being so low you can not get a better education for the money. the counselors take care of their students and make sure you are on track for your degree.

    What to do for fun

    there are many organizations and clubs for you to join. also lakeland is minutes away from the great lakes mall in mentor and 15 minutes away from beachwood which is also another great mall

    Food and Dining

    breakers is an excellent place to eat within the college. they serve great food with good prices

    Dorm Life

    unfortunately there are no dorms at lakeland

    Academic Rigor

    lakeland community college has the best academic curriculum in the state. you will not get a better education from anywhere else.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you give ohiolink a try for books and always look at the library for books to take out so you do not need to buy them

    In three sentences

    lakeland community college is a very well put together educational facility. the professors and staff are very professional and they are all about making sure the students achieve their full potential in today's society. i believe lakeland is one a the greatest choices any person who is considering college could make.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police escorts are around if needed and there are always patrol cars on the campus esp at night.

    Greek Life

    i am not aware.

    Clubs and Activities

    i never joined any clubs but i heard they are really great clubs to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who are obtaining an associates or certification and students who are transferring to a four year college.

    Bang for the buck

    the price is very affordable for the classes you cant beat it.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of campus parties and student services is always throwing some sort of mixer.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the cafeteria is very good and reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are very hands on depending on the teacher. the classes are pretty easy if you know what you are doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are interested in going to a community college look no further than lakeland if you reside in ohio.

    In three sentences

    i would give lakeland a 4/5 rating. there are a lot of beneficial programs for students who are struggling with their grades. the teachers are very understanding.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym. Play basketball or racquetball.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive but good food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It can be hard if you make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in, do your work and leave. There is no reason to hang around and start trouble.

    In three sentences

    You get a quality education for a low price. There is a great learning environment everywhere you go at Lakeland. The staff is very respectful and helpful for students.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations that you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Great food!

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring money for lunch, Breaker's is a delicious eating place on campus!

    In three sentences

    Lakeland Community College is a great way to start off a college education. It is a cheaper alternative and the teachers are very helpful and good. If you can't decide where to go to college, don't waste your money at an expensive one: come here and test out the waters!

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small campus but there is still cops circling the campus on a timely basis. I see them every day I go to class.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a ton of clubs to join. There is a wonderful gym that I work out in with great facilities too!

    Great for these types of students

    Literally good for any student, any age, and any race or gender.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is in Kirtland, which is a nice and somewhat small town. It is close to Cleveland and very close to many parks and rivers.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is amazing, best you will find. You could round your total costs to $3500 a semester. You can get scholarships and FASFA too.

    What to do for fun

    There is tons of amazing classes that are very entertaining. I take photography, jewelry and yoga and I enjoy every second of the class!

    Food and Dining

    They have wonderful food choices, healthy and tasteful. There is ever organic products!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, you live at home or in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor's are very knowledgeable in their fields. The class work is challenging when it needs to be and also entertaining.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class, it is more important than you think. Be nice to others, including professors and staff, because it can only benefit you in the long run. See your teacher's evaluations before you choose them as your professor, some professor's will or will not fit your learning needs and checking them out before hand is always a plus.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland Community College is diverse in every aspect of the human being, (race, gender, age, religion), which allows students to develop as a person. Lakeland Community College is comforting with it's easy to get around campus and friendly staff, they also have easy to read maps to help you. Lakeland Community College has professors that have taught me more than I ever thought I could learn and have made me passionate about gaining skills and knowledge!

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lakeland has its own police department on campus at all times

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable, you can also receive financial aid, grants, scholarships.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter what anyone says about community colleges, do not listen. Lakeland Community College is a perfect way to start your higher education. The staff is great. every professor is kind and inspirtaional.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland is affordable, and close to home. The staff is knowledgeable and kind. Many clubs, and activities students can join.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lakeland has their own campus police for protection. They also have well lit parking lots and help buttons on the light poles.

    Bang for the buck

    Very low cost credit hours and are transferable to many four year universities.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers a full gym that students can access. They have many clubs and sports offered.

    Food and Dining

    Breakers is the name of the college cafeteria. They are open daily and have a wide variety of food and are very good!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms currently offered.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes have quizes, exams, papers, and projects. The points of the classes are usually high and give much room if improvement is needed. Professors are always willing to assist students in the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early to make sure you get the classes you need. Always attend class to get ahead. Participate in the available activities such as the networking organizations.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful college with many opportunities and a very supportive staff. Classes are small and have a lot of professor/student interaction. The college has many clubs and services to help students.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    When you attend Lakeland you open the doors unto a lot of other great opportunities such as free pass for the bus, what other way to save money and budget in times like these. You get to workout in there fitness center. Take advantage of the library and other great things!

    Food and Dining

    Breakers Cafe is Wonderful. When I leave work some days I will just go to Lakeland and eat in the cafeteria for dinner it's a good and the food is reasonable priced.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms but Lakeland is located in a beautiful area with nice apartments with great attractions within minutes

    In three sentences

    Lakeland is a great community college and the students and staff do a magnificent job at making you feel comfortable and enjoying life while at school. We are rapidly expanding adding new programs and opportunities for growth and advancement for students future's.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mooreland Mansion is beautiful

    What to do for fun

    The Spring Fling during Spring semester is a great week of fun activities. The Halloween Party during Fall semester is a wonderful experience, and it's free! Sports events are enjoyable and exciting. Any of the school activities or organizations are excellent, as long as they're the right fit for the student.

    Food and Dining

    There are actually a lot of health options, and quite the variety for such a tiny school.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to school with an open mind, ready to absorb and explore the old and new. If you ask questions, participate, and know when to ask for help if you truly need it, then you'll be well on your way towards a successful college experience. Also, joining clubs & organizations is a great way to meet people and make friends, especially since Lakeland is a commuter school. I wish you luck.

    In three sentences

    I loved my professors and instructors, the were all extremely insightful, understanding, and knew how to intrigue their students. The Office for Students with Disabilities was magnificent in aiding me with adjusting to my academic surroundings. I learned a great deal while attending the school, and I will miss everyone who helped me on my path towards my personal, education, and career goals.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are panic buttons and campus police are always out. They also run their own police academy.

    Greek Life

    Wouldn't know.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have lots of clubs for those who want to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults, just starting out, impending transfers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a giant clock tower, lots of Geese, and the campus cops have really nice cars.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper than 4 year schools, but in the end I'd only use this to knock out core classes and transfer out, unless you're an adult going back to school.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing at the school, just there to learn and go home.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria open between certain hours, although it can add up. I'd suggest bringing your own food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for horrible parking, and pack lunches rather than spending money at their cafe.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland isn't a terrible place, I'd assume your typical community college. Classes can be a pain to find, and fill up fast, profs range from terrible to awesome, but in the end you'll get out what you put in.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe. The campus police are always on patrol. There are emergency phones located in the school and parking lots. There are many shuttle buses always available to get to your vehicle safely.

    Greek Life

    I know there are fraternities and sororities available, but don't know much about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs available, but I do not belong to any yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't really know of any campus traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    It is cost effective: low fuel bills for your vehicle, no room and board, low tuition, keeps the money in your own community. It is the best way to start your college education!

    What to do for fun

    I am rather new to the campus, but I like to go to the gym. I have not become involved in any clubs or organizations yet. But I do know there are alot offered.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a huge variety of healthy foods. The food is a little expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Non- applicable

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are academically challenging in order to prepare a student for the next level in that genre. The professors are well prepared and fair. Most credits are transferable to other colleges and universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students that Lakeland is a great place to obtain an education. The counselors are helpful and it is easy to get an appointment The campus and students and staff are friendly and always helpful. It is cost effective and safe.

    In three sentences

    There are many benefits to attending Lakeland Community College. First is the the fact that it is cost effective. Next it is close to home. Thirdly there is a great variety of classes and most credits are transferable.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They have a lot of programs to either begin a career or help you start your education before transferring.

    Food and Dining

    The only food they have here is Breakers, but there are a lot of restaurants in Mentor.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus living.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all of the resources they have to offer you. Most teachers have office hours where they can help you, and there are also tutors available.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i like working out.

    Food and Dining

    food is good just expensive

    Dorm Life

    there is none.

    Academic Rigor

    i rate this a five star

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a great college to start and find what degree you want to enroll in if your unsure.

    In three sentences

    Its a friendly place and cheap college to go to and you can meet new people from all over.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Regular safety patrols. Numerous Emergency notification sites.

    Great for these types of students

    Desire good education in great atmosphere for appropriate price.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are good, price is right, instructors are helpful and caring, student body is diverse and friendly.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of history in the area. Close to Lake Erie, Cleveland, NFL Hall of Fame, Niagara Falls, Zoos, MLB, NFL, NBA, museums and more.

    Food and Dining

    Food is OK. Dining room too noisy to study while you eat but there are plenty of options.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Grades are equivalent to time, effort and knowledge .

    Tips for prospective students

    Great apartments in area. Terrific community.

    In three sentences

    Great academics. Good student body. Very helpful counseling office.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to save money without sacrificing quality.

    Bang for the buck

    Get the same education as you would anywhere else at half the price.

    What to do for fun

    Sit and talk with friends at Breakers. Go to the gym.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do work now rather than later. And ALWAYS take notes.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are wonderful and care about students performance. Food is overpriced. Over all nice, for a community college.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have their own police dept right on campus. I frequently see them in the school walking and driving the parking lot keeping us safe!

    Great for these types of students

    As a mother of three going back to school was a bit terrifying, they made it easy, and the campus has a daycare!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Breakers always has great food!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Lakelands website is very helpful when trying to figure out where to take the first step to enroll. They are willing to help first time students with anything you need.

    In three sentences

    All of my teachers have been unbelievable, they are all willing to take time to help if you need it. The financial aid department makes it easy to figure out what needs done and how to do it. Everyone is very helpful, from the library to teachers and from admissions to the bookstore, someone is always asking if you need help.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely the most affordable way to get started with college.

    What to do for fun

    Mall nearby

    Food and Dining

    Nice cafe/dining hall. Affordable food choices.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the teacher, some are more thorough than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before signing up for classes, check ratemyprofessor.com. This will save you from getting a bad teacher.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland is an affordable, easy way to get used to the idea of college. Though, the teachers are sometimes not the best, it is expected for what you pay for.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They offer a lot of campus activities like free massages, free laser tag and they also have a lot of clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafe offers a variety of food. It's not expensive and actually taste really good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not applied.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise their okay. I have had a lot of professors not actually care about our education and is only worried about receiving their paycheck.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have everything together before you start. Never wait last minute.

    In three sentences

    As a whole i would give Lakeland Community College 3.5 out of 5 stars. The school is welcoming and tend to needs but at the same time it is unorganized. A lot of times it's a hassle to get things done.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is wonderful. there are security boxes places everywhere, they will walk you to your car if you have evening classes as well.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Student government, Women's center, LGBT center, a single mothers group, The Men's center, a whole host of things to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Lakeland is especially wonderful for every type of student! It has a little of everything!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I just completed my first semester, the summer, and returning in a few weeks, I have not had the chance yet to be a part of traditions. I plan to explore and join more activities in the fall.

    Bang for the buck

    Lakeland is very affordable and The Financial Aid Department is wonderful in providing the proper information to students. There is a scholarships available for athletes as well as others who apply. The bookstore has reasonable prices as well.

    What to do for fun

    Students can find a multitude of activities on and off campus. The Student Activities Center will gladly help find students a club or activity for every student!

    Food and Dining

    Breakers Hall has excellent food all the time! The menu is online for the week. The staff is very nice.

    Dorm Life

    Lakeland is a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    If students study the material, and attend their classes, they will succeed in every class!

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should take the ACT or SAT ,and come prepared to take your placement tests the week of orientation. Math, English and Writing are essential. Students may want to brush up on these before taking the placement tests for proper placement.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland Community College is extremely affordable, and you are not just your student identification number. The professors truly care about your academic progress and want you to succeed. The smaller class sizes, create a more learning friendly environment, in order for interaction with professors and instructors.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are unsure of what they want to major in, or for students who only need a certificate and are just looking to expand their education.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to Lakeland is much cheaper to go to than a four year college, at least for the first year. They offer a transfer program that can save you thousands of dollars.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is actually quite large for being a community college so there is a bit of walking around that you can do. Lakeland also has several on campus activities and clubs that you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Lakelands cafeteria does not offer a wide variety of food and what they do offer is overpriced. It is not bad if you eat there every now and again, but if you eat at school often you should find an alternative.

    Dorm Life

    Lakeland is just a community college so there are no dorms. Just a normal city around you, nothing to special.

    Academic Rigor

    Lakeland offers classes that can make you push your limits, and it allows you to learn different subjects to get a feel for what you like, or do not like. There are also a good amount of classes for each subject, which really offers a great about of learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many classes as you can. Credits are cheap and the work is at a level to where you will not get overwhelmed.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland has great professors that are very helpful both on campus and online. Lakeland has many young students who still have some growing up to do, but most everyone is polite. Overall a great value for someone looking to transfer to a four year school.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always available to walk you to your car, call and they are there immediately. They also sit in their cars in the parking lot to provide safety to the students.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students young and old.

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the many athletic programs, or play games/pool in the gaming hall.

    Food and Dining

    Located in the main building of the campus. Food is tasty not expensive or cheap, somewhat in the middle.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The professor teach subjects in a way that you can incorporate the subject in your life. You get exactly what you put into your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college has a safe atmosphere and is affordable.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland Community College has great prices per credit. Instructors at this school are very interested and has a passion for the subjects they teach. Lakeland offers plenty of programs and now that they have the Holden learning center one is able to obtain a bachelors degree at an affordable price and the center offers classes from 9 different Universitys

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking is all over the campus. I feel very safe at Lakeland. They have safety stands if you need anything, to have your car jumped or if you are locked out of your car. Campus police is right there for you! If its snowing the bus can pick you up right at your car and take you right to the front of the building. The Halls are safe and the professors lock the doors.

    Clubs and Activities

    It really is worth all the money put into your education. There are many free services here also. Tutoring, Writing, Career Services, Tours, Women Support, Counseling, etc. I don't want to leave all these luxuries! Oh and FREE PARKING!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone any age

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They like to have many people come in and just show opportunities that Lakeland is not only a community college but they try to give you the College experience you get at other colleges by having hollowed parties, rallies, and dances. They are really fun.

    What to do for fun

    Community College

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have no idea what to do going into college, i suggest Lakeland Community college and start your basic classes at a great price.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland Community College has the best education at the best price for a community college. Lakeland community college has professors that love their profession and take passion in there work. Lakeland is a great place to start your school career and I recommend it to anyone.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    There's sports and clubs I'm pretty sure

    Great for these types of students

    Students who just want to get through school and not have debt, and for students who need to be connected more with their professor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of people like to wear cat ears and tails.. I don't understand it but hey I guess do what you want

    Bang for the buck

    It's not expensive to go here and financial aid really helps out especially with someone who does not have a lot of money like myself.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and sports

    Food and Dining

    Breakers is pretty nice, theres many options for food and you can always relax and do homework there too

    Dorm Life

    No dorms so my house is perfect of course

    Academic Rigor

    Not bad most of the professors are eager to help you learn and to watch you succeed if you are working hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is not easy being the friend who's staying home and it was very hard for me at first but now that I'm in my second semester and I have professors I really like I do not regret this decision at all. Very smart choice.

    In three sentences

    I think Lakeland is a very nice community college to attend. Most of the professors are willing to help and get you where you need to be. I'm glad I am attending Lakeland for my first year of college.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In my two years here at Lakeland there has never been any safety issues that I have heard of. There are emergency telephones posted by most parking areas and around the school. Safe and great school all around.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that do not want to be away from home should look into this school. Also, if you are on a tight budget this would be a good choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many quiet places designated for studying if you need to study before a class or if you need extra time to study/do homework and aren't able to at home. I have spend many hours in between classes studying for tests at school and it was helpful having these areas to go to.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is usually neat and clean. There is a variety of foods you can choose from that are delicious and fresh. Cafeteria has great snacks for when you're in a hurry or on the go.

    Dorm Life

    Lakeland Community College does not have dorms but there is FREE PARKING!

    Academic Rigor

    Lakeland is a community college but that does not mean that their education system isn't as great as a university's education program. Many people seem to think it is cheap so their academic program is not going to help them in the future when they want to apply for a job.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland is a community college which provides education with a lower and more affordable cost than most schools. The instructors are always willing to help and they take their job seriously. Many students should look into this school if they want to stay close to home and not be in a lot of debt by the time they finish.

  • 09/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for independent students, parents, or people with full time careers.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth investing in an education at Lakeland.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is great!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Lakeland.

    Academic Rigor

    Lakeland is not a difficult school.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for Lakeland would be to stay on top of homework, don't get distracted by peers who aren't looking to succeed, and take advantage of the professors knowledge and experience.

    In three sentences

    Lakeland is a great opportunity for students with busy schedules and/or low incomes to achieve academically. The professors are caring, understanding, and knowledgeable. I would recommend going to Lakeland to complete any basic courses needed for a Bachelors Degree.