Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lamar State College-Orange Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LSCO has one of the safest campuses in the US.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are two workout rooms, racquetball courts, pool table, computer labs, and various clubs for students, such as the Student Government, among others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of yet.

    Bang for the buck

    LSCO has small classes, a clean, safe campus, and is alot cheaper than bigger colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Lamar State College Orange offers a variety of extracurricular activities, as well as a recreation center with a pool table, ping pong table, racquetball courts, and two types of gyms.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of restaurants in the area to choose from. There is also an on campus diner that has pretty good food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Lamar State College Orange.

    Academic Rigor

    First day of classes is next Tuesday, so I am unable to give an honest answer on this.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete your financial aid as early as possible to avoid delays.

    In three sentences

    Lamar State College Orange is a small campus with diverse students. Lamar State College Orange has an attractive and clean campus. Lamar State College is rated one of the safest college campuses in the US.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I think it was a great deal to earn my associate's degree.

    What to do for fun

    For me it was fun just to walk around the halls or hit the student center for some ping pong or raquetball.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate at the cafe, so I give it 4 stars.

    Dorm Life

    If they had dorms, I'm sure it would be a 5 star.

    Academic Rigor

    With the best teachers around, such as Miss Vickers and Mr. Ellis, passing is a breeze. Small classes make learning easy and you get a closer feel if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have to take beginning math, get Mrs. Crocket. She helped the impossible task of passing math very possible. If you have English, get Mr. Preslar, extremely sweet and so nice. If you're in an online class, finish your work as early as possible to make sure you don't miss the deadline and READ ALL INSTRUCTIONS TWICE.

    In three sentences

    The Business teachers are incredible. They are all sweet and so helpful and all dedicate themselves to seeing you pass. The atmosphere is also so breathtaking and makes you feel alive.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe!!

    Great for these types of students

    homely

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is in a good part of orange.

    What to do for fun

    Join in clubs.

    Food and Dining

    They have a little cafe

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms, its a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    -It is small -Make sure you go see an adviser about your schedule -if you ever have any questions, ask!

    In three sentences

    Lamar Orange is a great college to get started. It is small and very homely. The teachers and advisors are tremendously helpful.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lamar State College-Orange is a very safe environment.

    Great for these types of students

    Lamar State College-Orange is great for High School graduates who are not yet ready for a big campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at Lamar State College-Orange and very reasonable compared to other campuses.

    Dorm Life

    Lamar State College-Orange does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been challenged so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is small which allows easy access to classes.

    In three sentences

    Lamar State College-Orange is great. The faculty and teachers have all been helpful. It offers a good learning environment.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You could spot a security guard somewhere at almost any time of day.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Little to none.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional college students, Moms and Dads, those with jobs.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it for how inexpensive it is.

    What to do for fun

    Not be at school.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe was decent, along with plenty of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes were hard but not excruciating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do, so that you don't waste time taking classes you don't need. Also, night class for Health Education is the worst form of torture I've ever known!

    In three sentences

    Small class size is great. Teachers are very helpful and knowledgeable. Advisors are clueless about the transferring process.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    raquetball?

    Dorm Life

    i put a 3/5 because i don't believe there to be a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have trouble, Youtube it.

    In three sentences

    Great beginning school Best for Nursing etc. Good overall atmosphere

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I take evening classes so the cafeteria are closed.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging.

    In three sentences

    Lamar state college is affordable and have evening classes. The instructors are very understanding and patient. The classes are not over crowded.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are guys on gulf carts every where making sure students are safe and they are out just as much at night to protect there students from harm.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have the delta kappa club spelling choir and lots else.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very beautiful area and peacefully quite it is located right by the texas workforce incase you need help making a resume.

    What to do for fun

    Well we have museums and art halls.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small café on campus in case you just need to catch a bite and run.

    Academic Rigor

    They keep me on my toes I love it

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for your classes early they fill up fast

    In three sentences

    Is a very good school very clean teachers are great. I learn something new and exciting every time I come to class. They are up to date with todays latest technology I love it here.