Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lamar State College-Port Arthur Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    fully safe

    Clubs and Activities

    a bunch of them

    Great for these types of students

    every kind

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    maudi gra happens near by school so we all participate in it

    What to do for fun

    got lots of clubs like history club, phi theta club.

    Food and Dining

    cafteria is awesum

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    perfect to learn

    Tips for prospective students

    good school

    In three sentences

    best school to start, learn lots of new things, got good activities relate to communities.

  • 12/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music, Nursing, Business, Cosmetology, Automotive Repair, and many, many more.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are programs here for everyone, medical to music and anywhere in between. Its a great school, very hassle free.

    Bang for the buck

    I took twelve hours my last semester and the cost was roughly 1,300, which in my personal opinion is not bad at all. I have been able to find almost every book I needed on Amazon.com at extremely cheap prices. Definitely a great school, regardless of the low price. That's an extra bonus.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment is great. The classes are small and the teachers are personable. They are always willing to help you personally outside of class and they are truly concerned that you learn the material.

    Am learning a lot

    When I enrolled in my commercial music program, I didn't even know the difference between a dynamic and condenser mic. Now, I am recording bands and mixing out songs to be released to the public. Thanks to Lamar in Port Arthur, I am getting closer to becoming a master of my trade. We are provided with hands on learning as well as homework assignments and reading. They hit all angles and it works!!

  • 12/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are great programs! We have a superb basketball team, a great commercial music department; our drama department is really growing, and there is so much more going on here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely consider this school. I hadn't originally, and I'm so glad I picked here.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is small, so the interaction you get with teachers is fantastic.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this school!

    Am learning a lot

    Every class I am taking is applicable to my major. It seems like every class helps me understand my others better.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i enjoy reading and watching movies

    Tips for prospective students

    attend school and get involved in activites on the campus

    In three sentences

    staff encourages every student. its in a great location and driving distance. i enjoy attended because some one is always available to help.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security people here are very nice, and they're also really into the sports here.

    What to do for fun

    For those of you who like to club, Crockett Street here in downtown Beaumont is the place for you.

    Food and Dining

    Since most of the students live here locally the cafeteria isn't that big or open all the time, but the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    If you don't live here locally look for a cheap apartment to live in, because dorms aren't available yet. They're working hard on getting them up in a few years, but at the moment none are available.

    Academic Rigor

    If you had any AP or honor classes in high school then your general required classes here will be kind of like a refresher course, but once you get past that stage classes become more interesting and a little more demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't live here locally look for a cheap apartment to live in, because dorms aren't available yet. They're working hard on getting them up in a few years, but at the moment none are available.

    In three sentences

    Lamar State College-Port Arthur is a small community college located in Southeast Texas. LSCPA has small classes, two distinguished college level athletic programs, and small tuition. The teachers here also really care about you educationally and personally.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Stay ahead of yourself with each course. Do not procrastinate and ask questions if you do not understand.

    In three sentences

    Currently attending the LVN to RN bridge program. This college is very helpful and understanding to the online school method. Enjoying the one on one contact with each instructor to help me advance towards my degree.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    7 out of 10

    Great for these types of students

    Basketball program, softball program

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College Hoops

    Bang for the buck

    not really

    What to do for fun

    work out

    Academic Rigor

    Strive for excellence!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help if you don not understand.

    In three sentences

    Lamar Port Arthur is a very excellent commuter college considering the population of the surrounding area. Teachers and staff are very knowledgeable and helpful. I rate this school an 8 out of 10.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe since I've been here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    MArdi gras!

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap compared to Lamar University. It is ideal to start here first and transfer off. Saves tons of money!

    What to do for fun

    Student activities. Port Arthur is a small town. Outlying areas offer plenty of activities.

    Food and Dining

    Socials weekly!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships if you are eligible. Buy books on line or from previous students. Stay update on everything.

    In three sentences

    Affordale college. College credits transfer anywhere. Small friendly enviornment.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I only take classes during the day, but I have never had any security issues. Security is always there and patrolling. Seems safe to me.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs and activities!

    Bang for the buck

    Knock out some prerequisites before you go to university - and save some cash- or get a certificate or degree here. Worth the money to get the classes.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad. I eat there 3-4 days a week.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this time.

    Academic Rigor

    In my experience, the teachers do there best to help you, but if you still don't understand they are willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, do all your work, and be involved.

    In three sentences

    I love it here! Laid back atmosphere, and the teachers are willing to teach if you are willing to learn.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Lamar is a very cheap school. If you love around Port Arthur its great. Teachers are good.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    everything from games to events...

    Food and Dining

    vending machines are good , and hot breakfasts and lunches are very good. the place is student can listen to good vibes.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers and peers can help the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    great

    In three sentences

    The cost of attendance here is cheaper than Lamar University about $1000 per semester. The Faculty and Teacher are great. The college in general is great.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and secure!!

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa, Alpha Beta Gamma, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Association, Book Club, Dance Team, History Club, and so much more!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to remain close to home and students that plan on transferring to a university.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Center is an awesome place to hang out, shoot pool, and play video games. There is music, television, and a lounging area for hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining experience is okay! Expanding and offering more food items would be wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms available at the moment. I hope they are soon to come.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Convenient, close to home, and very affordable. Don't just be a college student. Get the entire experience and participate in the student organizations and clubs.

    In three sentences

    Lamar State College-Port Arthur is a wonderful, affordable college that has so much to offer. The tuition is affordable and the career choices are awesome. It is a great college to obtain an Associates degree and transfer for further education.