Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Lane College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Pretty cheap for a private college. Books are way too expensive but upperclassmen sell there's to new students for reasonable prices.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's an all around decent school to attend. There's fun days and boring days.

    Am learning a lot

    You will learn alot even before classes start. Freshmen classes are easy but stay focus your junior and senior year.

  • 02/09/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    stay focus on your work

  • 10/31/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Did enjoy being here

    some days i did enjoy being a student at lane but most of the time i dent . lane was very strick, and very boring, but it is a good place for real good education.

  • 12/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like being hands on with things and like your teacher knowing your name on a first name bases.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that you are in school for one reason to get an EDUCATION.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes Lane is a pretty inexpensive school. but cheaper is not always better!

    Am enjoying being here

    My and Friends make our own FUN.

    Am learning a lot

    College itself is what you make it!! The small class room setting is really a huge plus!!

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    F+ Bunch of Ex-cons in blue jumpsuits

    Bang for the buck

    Its no worth coming to JACKSON TN

    What to do for fun

    Go to the club to get shot.

    Food and Dining

    SUCKS

    Dorm Life

    SUCKS

    Academic Rigor

    Sucks

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go unless you don;t want to become anything, the campus is boring there is nothing to do there, If you go the club you might just get shot up. Let clarify that you will get shot up. Shootings will continue to happen if nothing is done about it.

    In three sentences

    It is costly,expensive, poorly funded under educated, teachers don't know what there talking about, they'll continously teach you out of the book, some professors are old and need to be retired. The food stinks, security aren't nothing but a bunch of felons out of jail getting a second chance at finding a job.

  • 10/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    City students you might not like it because jackson is a small town and not much to do here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some people may love it here and some will just transfer.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is alot to enjoy being here like just being in college, the sports, the Greeks and mainly meeting new people from all over the world.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes i am learning alot here. The teachers here are very kind and work with you to make sure you understand the work.

  • 07/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lane College is great for students who love music and are very active in sports. Also its for students who would like to broaden their horizon.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students is dont com to college with the mindset of thinking that they are going to tell you things like you are a baby. The college professors will tell you one time and its up to you to meet that deadline. Put work first before you decide to party because your friends won't always be there for you and help you. So make sure you do for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    The books and other necessities were pretty reasonable. And thy believed in everyone having a chance no matter what the money looked like, they will help you set payment plans and work along with your budget.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoyed the company of other students and meeting people outside of TN.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned not just alot academically but alot spiritually. Not only do they focus on worldly things but Godly things.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students that don't really party. That have fun doing the simplest things. Students who do well with more attention from a teacher and since it is a Historically Black College it is for African-American students who are comfortable around a lot of other African-American students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your A game of course and don't pack a lot of heavy clothing it's warm a lot at the college. Bring a good personality and a creative mind because you will need it to make up things to do. Bring a lot of microwaveable food because dinner ends early. Lastly, bring a lock because there are alot of thefts at the end of the semester.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a private school but it's size makes the tuition very affordable. They also give very good financial aid and honestly the most the average student has come out of pocket with is a loan of $5,500 a year.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a beautiful campus, but in the free time that all students have in between studying there is not much to do. There are only about 3 things you can do and that is to go watch a movie (which many times have been played excessively) or take a walk or play outside.

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are small so the ability to learn is superb. The professors take as much time as they can on subjects that some students don't fully understand. They even go as far as to call students up to the board randomly, this helps.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at Lane College isn't the best. It most definitely could be worked on. One of the main things the college could improve.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is actually cool. There could be a little more unity. They bring the life to campus through so many of the activities that they do .

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple clubs,councils,and activities to be apart of. They're always doing something positive and bring about great changes to the campus,as well as student body.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year,at midnight on the eve of homecoming week,all of the students pave the main street to sing and chant to bring the week in .

    Bang for the buck

    Lane has no in or out of state tuitition,so it's just one flat rate. For parents and independent students,that's a plus. It's even cheaper,if you stay off of campus.

    What to do for fun

    There's a student center and game shack were majority of everybody hangs out. There'll be game and study nights,as well as other different activities going on for the student body.

    Food and Dining

    Chicken Wedsdays and Fish Fridays are always looked forward to. The caf may not always have what we want to eat,nor the best foods,but from time to time ,it's actually tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a private institution, you'll be restricted on some things. For the most part,you do have your own room and privacy. Pack what you need.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty is incredible. Teachers with different styles and methods from all over the United States come here to teach.We, the Lane College students get full advantage of faculty diversity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save money,no matter what. Before anything,handle business and studies first. Don't try to fit in,be yourself.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are around when you see them when ever because its not safe being in a bad neighborhood they do not carry any thing to keep you safe nor do they be around when you are being harmed.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is really exciting to see but not seen to often.

    What to do for fun

    none but study and a few house parties and pageants and fundraisers.

    Food and Dining

    only three all you can eat if u like what they have times aren't extended if you have a late class.

    Dorm Life

    no visitation from anybody and no privacy with room checks almost every week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay inside during late night hours. do not attend the clubs so often. do not consume alcohol or illegal substances on campus.

    In three sentences

    Its a small school. Semi-quiet campus Kinda good food

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    watch football game or go to the grand and watch t.v.

    Food and Dining

    its ok. i eat there one time.

    Dorm Life

    i never get to live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    carefulness.

    Tips for prospective students

    lane college is full of opportunity.

    In three sentences

    power of potential.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greek life is great!!

    What to do for fun

    Attend plays, football games, basketball games, pep rallies

    Tips for prospective students

    Be attentive Be cautious Be prepared Stay focused

    In three sentences

    Lane College is powerful in its education. Lane College is potentially advanced. Lane College is a great school.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a curfew and there id security.

    Greek Life

    Not aware

    Clubs and Activities

    Not aware

    What to do for fun

    That they have a open mic night.

    Food and Dining

    I did't get to taste or see the food,but i heard the cafeteria was buffet style and that you had a choice on what to eat and the food was great. Also it had a grill cafe on campus if you get tired of the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately i did't get to look inside the dorms, but i believe living in the dorms will be exciting.

    Academic Rigor

    Good academic program. I believe i will learn at this university and achieve my goal toward my major.

    Tips for prospective students

    To be open minded and trust your instinct.

    In three sentences

    It was a clean campus with a nice atmosphere, the staff seem friendly and answer all my questions. The young man that gave me the tour was very helpful and gave me a very good insight on college. My parents was very please with the academic programs. I feel i will be at home at this university.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and is very soon about to have extra security among the people who walk the campus 24 hours a day.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is amazing they help out with tutoring and also throw great parties and grill outs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has probates for the current sororities and fraternities which play an huge part in the school there fun to go to.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is high but its worth every bit.

    What to do for fun

    Jackson Tennessee can be very quiet but the parks are beautiful. Lanes homecoming brings the whole city out for a week full of fun and excitement.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus food is gourmet food but it can be incredibly nasty.

    Dorm Life

    The Ra's (residence assistance) are great people there is an curfew that is imposed but it is very lenient on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    My major is biology and the teachers are rigorous but there is an multitude of help there.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would stay on campus your first year to get an feel for the atmosphere of college life. Also Lane has its own store making it easy to not have to pay people gas for the little things.

    In three sentences

    Lane College is a great private institution with great values. This school has tremendous history and great teachers. The city is small and easy to get around also very quiet,I'd rate Lane an 8.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Take your safety and put it on your Back

    Clubs and Activities

    Whatever you like

    Great for these types of students

    Smaller computer Labs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Try and find the smaller ducked off Computer Labs

    Bang for the buck

    Old Hickory Mall has pretty good deals

    What to do for fun

    Dominate Downtime

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast is always good

    Dorm Life

    what you make it.

    Academic Rigor

    Simple if you apply your self

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it serious.

    In three sentences

    I like it. It helps me build. It helps me reach where i am supposed to be.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at lane is great especially during homecoming week.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in graves hall and it was not a great place for me. I recommend that you should pick one of the newer dorms or live off campuse.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all you classes, meet people the right people, And have fun. Also there is a 11:00 pm curfew.

    In three sentences

    Lane is a easy school. They have a small campus with caring professors. And some or there dorme are great to live in. Graves is not a great place to live.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no stars DANGEROUS!! you will hear gun shots (all the time!) you will see the local gang

    Greek Life

    you see the Greeks come out only during home coming then they disappear.

    Clubs and Activities

    they didn't promote any clubs

    Great for these types of students

    been to jail . lane is a second chance school if you have a history of bad behavior in high school you can still get in here.

    Bang for the buck

    I dont think all the problems is worth it even tho itis cheap its unsafe dirty food is gross. look up the crime rate in jackson or visit the school without them knowing your coming so you can see how it really is.

    What to do for fun

    go home lol the shack is pretty boring theres board games but no one wants to play them the ping pong table is broken the movie screen is broke and there not tryina fix it i say stay at a hotel for the weekend $135 and you can go swim have a room to yourself take a hot bath without roaches and room to yourself

    Food and Dining

    same things every week chicken fish sandwiches taste like high school food. dont be fooled freshman orientation weekend they feed you GREAT food but when school starts its down hill from there.

    Dorm Life

    all 1 gender dorms no visitation of any kind females cant visit male dorms and vise versa neither can same gender vist each others dorms . I stayed in Hamlett Hall on the first floor which was the biggest rooms on campus but still horrible. NASTY roaches rats heat on high in the winter so hot everyone slept with their door cracked and window open ...in the winter...

    Academic Rigor

    I guess its a nice college if you liked high school bc the teachers teach at an elementary rate if your smart or a lil above average you will feel like a genius all classed seemed slow and rarely does everyone come to class i have been in my french class of 24 multiple times and there only be 4 people in it. if you like easy work and no real chance of improving then heres your place

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT GO!!! and if u just have to go bring locks and safes and dont bring your expensive things like tablets or expensive purses ...you WILL get robbed.

    In three sentences

    Dangerous, Dirty, Boring

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I have seen security is everywhere and they really ensure our safety. They are also the counselors to the students when we have school-yard problems and need a little guidance.

    Greek Life

    Alpha Psi Alpha!!! Freshmen can't pledge but my sophomore year I'm pledging!! Fraternities: Alpha Phi Alpha Kappa Alpha Psi Omega Psi Phi Phi Beta Sigma Sororities: Alpha Kappa Alpha Delta Sigma Theta Sigma Gamma Rho Zeta Phi Beta Other Fraternities/Sororities: Beta Kappa Chi Scientific Society Alpha Kappa Mu Honor Society Phi Beta Lambda Business Fraternity

    Clubs and Activities

    Alpha Omega Library Club Biology Club Communication Club Computer Science/Mathematics Club English Club NAACP Pre-Alumni Council Social Science Club Students Ministerial Alliance Chess Club Pre-Law Society Pan-Hellenic Council Senior Class Junior Class Sophomore Class Freshmen Class Foreign Languages Club Criminal Justice Association

    Great for these types of students

    For Music Lovers: Lane College Band- A 50 member group comprised of two components: marching and concert For the Athletes: The College is a Division II member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and the Southwestern Intercollegiate Athletic Association (SIAC). The Athletic Department coordinates eight varsity sports: Football Baseball (Male) Basketball (male and female) Cross-country (male and female) Tennis (Male and Female) Volleyball (Female) Softball (Female) Track and Field (male and female)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only tradition that I have noticed thus far is Wednesday Chapel at 11:00 AM. Not only is it mandatory but it is a requirement.

    What to do for fun

    When students are not in Chapel Wednesdays or in class, a lot of us Lanites typically head over to the Reck Center and play a few video games or shoot some pool. But there is still more. Students like myself enjoy using the student workout room or reading in the library.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall? They have so many different things to choose from. How many places, schools mostly, do you know have a buffet? Not only that but it's unlimited too! They've got everything from sub-sandwiches to pizza bars to grilled chicken and roast beef. Now I love to eat when I'm not doing sports or homework so that fits me so well.

    Dorm Life

    I wish I could tell you something about living on campus but I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficult of each class/course depends on your major. I myself an a religion majors. The in depth studying is very challenging because I not only study my religious beliefs but world religions. I am use to challenges but this, in a way, is quite the task.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any student who wishes to enroll at Lane all I can say is get ready for the time of your life. The history and surroundings are a lot to take in but after about two or three days you'll get the ropes. And good luck!

    In three sentences

    Although I am still adjusting to college life, the change has been smooth and in a way natural. Sometimes change can be a scary thing but not in this case. The overall experience at Lane College has truly been an amazing once in a lifetime experience.

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel pretty safe on campus. they have plenty of Jackson Local police patrolling the streets to keep us safe

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for students who just want to study have fun. If doing papers and waking up after a hard night of partying then going to class is you. then Lane is right for you. if you like easy work with lots of freedom and time to get it done then you're going to have a great time here.

    Bang for the buck

    If you like old campus with slow easy classes then yes you got bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    As far as fun goes, you might have to find your own fun. they have frats but you need a good GPA inorder to get into them. There are plenty of parties and lots of fun people to hang out with.

    Food and Dining

    food is ok. its not the best food in the world, but they keep you fed. there are other places to get food, but you either have to know someone with a car or have one yourself.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is fun. surround yourself with good people and youll be good.

    Academic Rigor

    acedemcis are pretty simple. There is no reason you cant come here and get a 4.0GPA. the teachers give you easy and simple tasks, and you have plenty of time to get it done. I honestly think everyone in this school should have a great GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    if your thinking about coming to lane college. make sure you are here for the right reasons and you are willing to stick with the classes.

    In three sentences

    Lane college is a small college with nothing around it. there are only 3 things to do on campus, study in the library, party, or sit in your dorm. choose what you do here wisely, any wrong choice and say goodbye to 15,000$.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is not gated sometimes gang members or people from the city come on campus.

    Greek Life

    The fraternities and sororities aren't allowed to do much.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of academic clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    People who really focus on school work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Guys can't wear hats inside buildings and they have a chapel meeting every Wednesday.

    What to do for fun

    They have two shacks. One is new and has wifi, sometimes they play movies there the other one is older and there is tv and pool tables. They have a place on campus to eat called the cyber caf where you can hangout. Not a lot to do on campus besides that.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not very clean. There was water mold in my dorm the first semester I was here.

    Academic Rigor

    The class work is easy to me but harder to others. A lot of stuff is just like high school coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a tv for your dorm.

    In three sentences

    Lane College has a very small campus. This school is not like a typical HBCU, there hasn't been any step shows. All of the rules and staff at this school are very traditional.