Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Laramie County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/08/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I believe that this college is fairly cheap considering most of the other colleges in Wyoming

    Will enjoy being here

    I believe i will be enjoy attending LCCC, i have heard a lot of great things about this college and i am very excited.

    Will learn a lot

    I plan to attend LCCC because they provide the courses i am interested in taking for my life long career.

  • 04/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like the smaller class rooms and being able to work one on one with your teachers than this college would be great for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whatever you do do not let yourself slack and fall behind. If you allow yourself to fall behind you have to work extra hard to pass your class. Also make sure you keep in contact with your teachers if something goes wrong a lot of the teachers are willing to work with you. Let your teachers know of health issues that might arise so that if you do end up ill and not being able to make it to class your teacher will know. Show up to your classes, most of the teachers have attendance as a part of your grade.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty cheap for classes and you learn a lot. Also the teachers are willing to help you out with books and assignments.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at this school do to the helpfulness of the teachers and the openness of the students. My fellow students are very helpful and make school easier do to making new friends. Also they are very helpful when you are either to nervous to ask the teacher.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn a lot here. The teachers are great at helping you understand the material. The teachers also try to fit to every one's learning styles by having different styles of projects.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    tuition fees are very low, and are worth every dollar you spend. even the out of state tuition is very affordable,

    What to do for fun

    the campus activity board always has something going on, whether it is a dance on a friday night, or karaoke on wednesdays to help you make it through the rest of the week. there is a mall nearby as well as a number of restaurants and movie theaters.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is actually really good. they have a good variety of food to choose from, and if you just need to grab a quick snack there is a cafe in the common area with an awesome selection of drinks and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    i personally did not live in the dorm but what i heard from other students is that the dorms are nice, clean, and a fun place to spend the semester. you really get to know the people on your floor and make a lot of friends.

    Academic Rigor

    even though this is just a community college, the classes rival that of a four-year university. the classes are challenging but there is a lot of available help on campus, from tutors to the writing lab.

    Tips for prospective students

    one tip i would give to prospective students is

    In three sentences

    laramie county community college is a great place to go right out of high school. it is an easy transition into college, with small class sizes. instructors are always available to help students one on one,

  • 08/10/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    ya ill fit in more and be great.

    Will learn a lot

    yes it be a great colege and not to far from home back in south eastern colorado.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great if you need a more gentle transition into college or if finances are tight (room and board and books are significantly cheaper than UW). Also good if you graduate from high school early and are worried about hitting snags because you're still a minor. LCCC is very accommodating to high-school aged students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start sooner rather than later. Submit test scores and transcripts as soon as you can. From personal experience, if you wait too long to register for a class, you won't get in it, and classes, other then the freshman level classes, are offered only once every academic year. Missing out on a class can delay graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    When I started out at LCCC, it was really reasonably priced; but in the last couple of years, tuition has gone up considerably. LCCC's tuition is creeping its way to being as much as the University of Wyoming's tuition.

    Did enjoy being here

    Even though this school is small, it was very dynamic! There was almost always something going on, some of them school sponsored some of them sponsored by the clubs there. There are also many international and nontraditional students who introduced me to different cultures and ways of thinking and other experiences.

    Did learn a lot

    The instructors I had were very enthusiastic about what they taught and most made the topics they taught fairly accessible. The small class sizes made it easier to get extra attention from instructors.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they patrol pretty often, but hard to get ahold of when u need them.

    Greek Life

    no idea... not sure if they have any..

    Clubs and Activities

    soccer, basketball, volleyball, lifting, drama

    Great for these types of students

    lots of athletes

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is cheap but dorms are expensive!

    What to do for fun

    well the sporting events are fun to go to! just hanging out with friends at the dorms are fun!

    Food and Dining

    ehh.. its questionable sometimes

    Dorm Life

    dorms are really nice! but expensive!!! 7000

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you get all your finacial aid stuff done before u come.. its a hassle at the college

    In three sentences

    well this school is pretty nice. i mean it has the aspect of being a small school which is nice, but it also is a realtivly big town so there is a lot of people!

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Most of the guards are either old or fat and they don't carry weapons. There are buttons too if you are close to one. Lest just say you might be on your own. It is pretty safe here though. Campus is no in town.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are intramural games now for soccer, basketball, flag football, tennis, volleyball and more.

    What to do for fun

    The school puts on several free events, so it depends how much you watch the posters. Dorms have lots of activities like tie die shirts or playing video games. Outside campus is bowling, lazier tag, ice skating, parks, and more.

    Food and Dining

    I heard it was good at one point. It is not the best. You can manage though. It also depends on who is working. Some people go out of their way to help when others are just plain lazy.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on your roommate! You can always switch out if you can't deal with the person your were given. Careful of summer semesters, you might get moved into a unclean room!

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than some Universities. There are several good programs here that are not just for cowboys! :) if you know what i mean. There are good music and medical programs and others.

    Tips for prospective students

    It has a nice campus. You can either walk outside in nice weather or the buildings are mostly connected so in the winter months it is great. Be careful about what advisers say! they can mislead you sometimes, but most of the time you can double check what they are saying online.

    In three sentences

    Calling Admission or Financial Aid desks is hopeless. The people there are very helpful if you go there in person or if you ever get a person on the phone. Over all I would suggest to know an idea of what you are doing or you might get screwed over.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Cheyenne is a GREAT town and I'm excited about going to school there.

    Will learn a lot

    Am excited to start college and work toward a dental degree.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has a friendly staff of security guards constantly patrolling the campus to ensure the safety of each and every student.

    What to do for fun

    the campus always has something for students to do from playing basketball to the numerous places to work out, basketball, volleyball and soccer games to attend. along with activities constantly going on in the dorm like a super bowl party and a valentines dance.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining for lccc is quite good compared to other colleges. there is alway a variety of foods as well as drinks for students. granted a home cooked meal from the parents is alway a advantage, the cafeteria is a good substitute with amazing people working to provide a good meal.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is definitely a change from living at home with parents making sure you go to bed at a certain time and wake up. its the first transition step to living in an apartment or on your own. compared to other school dorms lccc has phenomenal dorm building and rooms. the rooms are large and homey.

    Academic Rigor

    many of the classes are challenging but the teachers are willing to help you as well as a free tutoring center if you feel like extra help is needed to pass and do well. along with that there is a writing center that allows a person to take papers and have them proof read or just overall reviewed.

    Tips for prospective students

    learn ways of learning and studying that help you the most effectively. it will be easier for you when you have to manage your time with a job and other classes if you know how to take notes and study that will allow you to learn. also never be afraid to meet new people. if you go into college with an open mind it opens up many opportunities both academically and socially.

    In three sentences

    overall laramie county community college has been a great experience both socially and academically. i'm challenged to do my best in and out of class with people that care about me. the teachers actually have a relationship with the students and push them to do the best that they can .

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel that the campus is really safe. everywhere you go you can see emergency plans. there are emergency phones located outside the buildings and you can always find someone such as campus security to help you. overall, you feel very safe at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    again, there a lot of clubs and activities available to students as well as the community at lccc.

    Great for these types of students

    lccc is a good place for any type of student but serves mostly the ones listed below. lccc is great for students just coming out of high school and non traditional students.

    Bang for the buck

    lccc is a great place to attend and it has great value. if you work hard throughout high school and college, there are a lot of grant and scholarship options available that will pay for all your education. i actually get paid to go there because i have more award money than it costs to attend the school.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of clubs ans student organization that you can get involved in at lccc. the school also has a lot of physical activity in the pe facilty to utilize. you can swim, lift weights, play racquetball, climb a rock wall, and lots of other things.

    Food and Dining

    there are multiple food and dining choices on campus. the college has a cafe that is pretty nice if you are looking for somewhere to meet up with friends and if you are in a hurry. there is also a really nice cafeteria that has a lot of choices. you aren't stuck picking froma small menu, you can just walk around and find a different item at each station.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms but i know that they have added more dorms and they looked really nice on the outside. on the college website there are photos that you can look at and from what i have seen they look pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    i like the level of academic rigor present at lccc. they care about your learning and strive to make inprovements all the time. the teachers make learning fun and are always willing to help you understand the material. i am in the business program there and each semester they have us review the teachers and department so that they can work to improve.

    Tips for prospective students

    for prospective students, i would suggest you talk to the college before you do anything. they are really helpful to you during your transition. they can help you with enrolling in classes, applying for financial aid, and pretty much anything else you can think of.

    In three sentences

    lccc is a great school to attend. the teachers enjoy their job and truly care about their students. i enjoy my classes and the environment that is present at the college.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, especially since LCCC is a smaller campus. There are safety lights on the sidewalk at night, emergency call buttons on sidewalks incase of an emergency, and the patrol officers at LCCC are friendly and truly do care about the safety of all students.

    Clubs and Activities

    From A-Z, anything and everything seems to be on the list. Some of my favorites were Phi Thetta Kepa, which can earn you scholarship money and Suicide Awareness Programs to promote safety and self-esteem to one in need.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are knew to the college life, LCCC is the way to go. It prepares you for the real deal when applying for a university.

    Bang for the buck

    If you like smaller, more reserved community colleges, LCCC is for you. Financially, VERY affordable. Many financial assitance programs are offered as well.

    What to do for fun

    LCCC is very popular for horse riding, and technology. I personally do not party, but you will find that majority of the students love to party as much as they can. During summer, when weather permits, driving up to the mountains for a beautfil scenic view and camping is always a must.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is very large with many choices to choose from, from breakfast, lunch and dinner. Downside is that the hours are cut short. Closes down from 1 to 5, the main time to grub.

    Dorm Life

    Newer dorms are very nice and large, you will typically end up with two suite mates. Meeting new people is always an adventure once you are in college.

    Academic Rigor

    LCCC seems to be pretty fair with grading policies. Tutors are available when needed for any subject you may need extra guidance with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to LCCC with an open mind and a positive attitude, you are one step closer to earning your degree!

    In three sentences

    Small, but decent college. Most professors are very personable which makes the learning experience much more enjoyable. If you have graduated from Cheyenne, chances are you will know majority of the students attending this college.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is overall good.... could be more patrolling.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for Agriculture majors, or students interested in the Nursing program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual on campus.... very much a community college campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is well worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    Teams! Clubs! The agriculture department has so many teams and the Block and Bridle Club, which is fantastic.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok... could be better and the cafeteria hours are horrible.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean and it is fantastic that each dorm has its own bathroom!

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very important to get involved in campus activities, clubs, teams etc; it will make your college experience awesome!

    In three sentences

    Laramie County Community College is a great place to start a college experience. The school is lively, interactive, and clean. The agriculture department is the best of any community college I've seen.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security cameras and key cards make the dorms safe. Campus security available as needed.

    Greek Life

    You will see the occasional crazy party at the dorms but it is kept to a minimum.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of groups and activities around campus and at the dorms. Bulletin boards and flyers make it easy to know what is going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking to get their education and having a good time getting there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of services and fun breaks offered to students during finals week. Prizes and free food are readily available.

    Bang for the buck

    Same, if not better, education of a University without the astronomical cost of one.

    What to do for fun

    Many groups on campus to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan that comes with staying at the dorms has a good value but the quality of the food drops on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are clean and offer chances to hang out with your friends or to meet new ones.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program is hard but ensures that you retain what you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor to make sure you have everything you need to accomplish your goal.

    In three sentences

    Laramie County Community College is a great college dedicated to the well being of its students. Both the teaching and counseling staff are committed to you moving in the right direction. The campus is welcoming and has plenty of resources for sudents to take advantage of.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe at LCCC. There is always people there and just the community is a great atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have only been at LCCC for one year so I'm not sure if there are any unusual traditions, but I'm sure I will find some eventually.

    Bang for the buck

    All together, I love LCCC. It is close to home and the classes are extremely small compared to an actual university. It is nice to be recognized by the professors and to know that they are actually there to help you succeed.

    What to do for fun

    They always have something going on at LCCC whether it be a club event or a sporting event, or even some kind of fundraiser. There is always something to do and something to be involved in!

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, but everyone knows home-cooked meals are the best!

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms at LCCC so I don't have an opinion for that, but from what I hear, they are really nice!

    Academic Rigor

    It makes me feel like an adult because I am able to go to school and work while I'm doing it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never procrastinate. That is the one thing that has kicked my butt, always! Get your homework done ahead of time that way you are already ahead. Never be afraid to ask for help either, that's what the free tutoring and professors are there for!

    In three sentences

    Laramie County Community College is a great school! It's a convenient and effective way for me to earn my education. It makes me feel like I have a chance at the real world after college.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is superior. They have tornado shelters and practices. The parking lots are well lit. They also have well informed security guards that are around but not intrusive.

    Greek Life

    I'm uninformed on this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide variety of clubs from music to sports and even religious. Since it is a smaller community, and the college is smaller than a university, there are many opportunities for you to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    LCCC is ideal if you haven't chosen your major, but you want to start college anyway. It is inexpensive, so you won't be wasting a huge amount of money on a specialized program. Also, if you don't want to feel lost in the crowd, LCCC is a good place to start.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college has an especially good horsemanship program. It also has a high quality wind power program. The automotive wing is on the east end of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    LCCC is an inexpensive way to get your prerequisite courses out of the way. The classes transfer to most any university. Because of the smaller size, you can get more individual instruction, too.

    What to do for fun

    If you're in the dorms, they have specially scheduled events for students. If you're not, they have non-credit classes that you can enroll in for fun in your off hours. Cheyenne also has a good mall.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafeteria is good. There are many different stations to choose food from. The salad bar is especially good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean. Dorms are a good choice if you don't want to have to cook all of your own meals every day. There is always something going on when you're in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    LCCC is not as difficult as a university. The classes are smaller, and you get more individual attention. If you need something more challenging than high school, but not as rigorous as a university, then LCCC is a good choice for you

    Tips for prospective students

    As a new student, be sure to take the tour. Look at the scholarship tower because there are many available. Be sure to take time to talk to the advisor of your major because they have lots of good advice.

    In three sentences

    LCCC is easy to find since it is right off the highway. It has quality teachers. It also has a nice facility with good automotive repair equipment.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security team patrolling the campus 24 hours a day, they are all friendly and wonderful people who not only do you feel you can trust, but also give you a the feeling that there isn't much trouble they couldn't handle. They also have a cell phone number that is available to all students that you can call 24 hours a day and someone will answer. They are always available when you need them.

    Greek Life

    I have yet to find any fraternities or sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs on campus and they are always putting on different activities. I personally have not joined any of the actual clubs (I'm a single parent so time is a luxury I don't have), but I am a member and officer in the Phi Theta Kappa honor society and a senator in the campus' student government.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I actually have yet to find any unusual traditions here, but I would love to see one of the current activities here become annual. It's a fund raiser that lets students duct tape their favorite teacher to a wall.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices are very good and financial aid is always an option. For the size and interaction in classrooms you can't go wrong with the price.

    What to do for fun

    There are always clubs putting on events and activities around campus. The more you get involved the more fun you'll have. Can't go wrong with a Zombie Walk.

    Food and Dining

    The pizza is hit or miss, either really good or not very edible. Most everything else is great. The meal plans are not very expensive and the emporium is extremely convenient.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot comment on this for I do not live in the dorms here. I do, however, know that some of the dorm buildings are very knew to construction and the friends I have that live in them are not disappointed.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are very passionate about what they do and very knowledgeable about the subjects they teach. If you pay attention and put forth the effort to learn, it's guaranteed that you'll learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to do a little walking, parking can be an issue because no one likes the back parking lots. If you go back there you'll find plenty of spaces, it's just a little extra walking. Don't be afraid to ask for help, the resource center is great place to find help with classes and/or particular assignments.

    In three sentences

    Class sizes are perfect for teacher/student interaction. There are a lot of options for degrees, and all of which are backed up with advisers that really know what they are doing. The campus is small and very easy to navigate through.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but my boyfriend does. Its crazy and loud at times.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very understanding.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Their are tons of intercolligite sports within the college that i partisipate in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class, and study very hard.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice, beautiful at times campus. Friendly staff and very helping. I feel like the campus needs to be bigger at times.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a commons area where you can go to hang out with friends, it is like a little cove that you step down into. That is always a great place to hang out or do homework.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a great deal when it comes to the education you get for your money.

    What to do for fun

    LCCC resides in Cheyenne, so there is not a whole lot to do. Although with a little creativity and some good friends you are capable of having a great time doing positive things!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is basically like any other cafeteria, although LCCC does do a ton of bake sales and those are delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I do not actually live in the dorms, although I have heard great things about it. Everyone I have talked to loves how they feel like family there.

    Academic Rigor

    Really challenging if you want to go above and beyond.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best, you might think a class is easy but as soon as you get behind it will bite you in the rear end. Stay on top of your assignments!

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to attend college at. The professors are professional, and are always looking for ways to help their students. The best part is that the environment is so friendly, the school does a ton of really cool things for their students.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is great. I always see campus security both in and out of the school. When I see them walking in the halls I notice them helping students on a daily basis. Campus security also patrols the campus as far as traffic goes. I am always seeing security in their cop cars reaching out to those who are speeding and breaking the law.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not participate in any clubs or activities at LCCC, but I do here that intramural sports are offered at this school. LCCC also offers students activities that are intended for students to get to know each other and expand one's horizons. I have heard of dances and other types of get-togethers for students to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    LCCC is great for any student. There are special services for people who need the extra help or attention. LCCC offers a great secondary education and I have people in my classes ranging anywhere from 18-65 years of age. LCCC is truly a great school for anyone and any type of person.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall I am satisfied with the service the LCCC staff and faculty offers. I fell that my money is being well spent. I feel that I am receiving a great education by attending LCCC.

    What to do for fun

    LCCC offers students entertainment on campus. I do not live on campus but I have seen brochures and have heard people talking about intramural sports, theatrical plays, and activities such as dances or get-togethers for students.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten at the cafeteria at LCCC. I here the food is pretty good but I can not say for myself as I have not eaten at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently living at home so I am not aware of the dorm life or dorm services. The dorms are fairly new so I would imagine the dorm life is up to par.

    Academic Rigor

    LCCC offers challenging classes that way the student can take as much as they possibly can from the class. The challenging classes bring the best out of the student. Not only do the classes require the student to work hard in class, but out of class as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to apply for all the scholarships you can, I did not do this and I am paying for it now. The second tip is do not be shy, talk to people and ask questions. Lastly use resources that are given to you as a student including, tutor sessions, libraries, and once again talk to your professor if you have any questions.

    In three sentences

    Laramie County Community College offers a great opportunity to attain an Associates degree at an affordable price. The teacher to student ratio is an advantage of LCCC. You can not beat the friendliness of the staff and professors.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get out and make friends right away, it's super easy with all the group activities they plan for you.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is so friendly! The teachers are amazing! A great, small, close-knit school!

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm not sure what there is to do for fun. I work full time as well as go to school full time and that left little time for me to do anything else.

    Food and Dining

    Did not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    LCCC is a great start ground for new students. If you are unsure of what you would like to pursue there are so many people willing to help you look at your choices.

    In three sentences

    I have had a great experience while attending LCCC. All of the employees and teachers there are great! I have had nothing but positive experiences!

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten here.

    Dorm Life

    Although I haven't moved in and lived in the dorms yet, my tour guide showed me both dorm buildings, and the rooms were really nice! The new dorms seemed a little more upscale than the old ones, but either way, its convenient. The housing application gets really specific in things like tidiness, the kind of roommate you'd like, and even the types of music you're into.

    Academic Rigor

    I've heard both good and bad things about classes at LCCC. Some classes are terrible because of the subject, and some are terrible because of the teacher. But there are also some really fun classes like yoga, fencing, and foreign languages like Russian or Latin. The point is to ask around about teachers and schedule your classes the way you want them.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend taking a guided (or self-guided) tour around the campus, if you are seriously considering this college. I already had a good idea that I wanted to go to school here, but once I took the tour, everything seemed even better!

    In three sentences

    LCCC is a good beginning school and community college, with a campus that's easy to navigate. People there are generally helpful, and there are tons of student friendly places around the campus, whether it be study areas, computer labs, or tutoring.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Surprisingly good and cheap for an unlimited buffet.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are harder than others, but that's everywhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what classes actually count for your major.

    In three sentences

    At first I thought, oh great, CC. How ever, now I am very thankful for my instructors and how they have helped me thus far. They are preparing me to transfer to a 4 year.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always around to check 24/7 and if anything happens they help to their abilities to protect the students.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club fr any type of major offered it seems.

    What to do for fun

    Not a lot to do in Cheyenne, WY it is not a college town but a day trip to Ft. Collins or Laramie is always fun to do shopping and cool places to eat.

    Food and Dining

    Prices are good, quality of food is bad.

    Dorm Life

    Way expensive for a community college and the athletes are loud and noisy with no respect to others.

    Academic Rigor

    There needs to be more fairness spread out to students from the administration in so when students are struggling with a teacher who is difficult there are fewer problems and happier students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip is if something seems unfit or wrong with a grade or account charges with the school take it up and stand for what is right. The second tip is to maintain communication with all instructors so you know where you stand in grades so that finals your are not blindsided.

    In three sentences

    Great Agriculture department! All the instructors in the Ag department and well rounded and respected in their fields , while willing to work with students that travel with teams a lot. Over charge for an internship off campus and where the internship providers saw none of the money.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I know of its pretty good. You will always see the security driving around.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    LCCC has a ton of clubs and sports!

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional college students, not so great for those who work full time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    LCCC is located on the South side of Cheyenne, its kind of out of the way.

    Bang for the buck

    LCCC is fair in pricing. I have had some really good teachers and some really bad teachers but that is anywhere you go.

    What to do for fun

    LCCC is nowhere near anything so you have to travel to go to the movies or bowling but they have activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I don't normally eat at the school but I have a couple of times and its not bad.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say I don't live in the dorms. I have friends who have and they loved it!

    Academic Rigor

    Academically I think that LCCC is comparable to other Community colleges I have attended.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an adviser before registering for ANY class. You can end up in a bad situation if you try to do it on your own. I have gone to 3 different schools and LCCC is the first to have me work with an adviser and I am finally on the right track (after thousands of dollars and now a really bad GPA).

    In three sentences

    LCCC is good and bad. The good is there are people there who care about what your taking and what the best route for your education is. The bad is that if you work full time its hard to find courses that will fit schedules.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    FFA, BSA, walk, run, and type

    Food and Dining

    I hear its good and has a reasonable price for students. Also it s a Buffet.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in the dorms. I live in my own house. But these dorms are kind of new and have free WI-fi.

    Academic Rigor

    Really good teachers. I think that this has and will teach me new thing to better my future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for a school that fits your need. Look for a place where you can live two pulse years. Also look for a school where you can have fun.

    In three sentences

    I think that this is a good school. It is in my city. Also all my classes I took at high school that were college classes have transferred.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security patrols on a regular basis and there are emergency stations everywhere. However, the cameras don't always work.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many clubs or activities available. Sports are not very big here, but the rodeo and equestrian teams are.

    Bang for the buck

    You can get an associates degree here for relatively cheap but still have a quality education.

    What to do for fun

    There is the walking path that can take you all over town or you can sign up for a pe class like fencing or swimming or snow shoeing.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria tries hard but gives up after a month of school and the dishes are mostly bland and flavorless.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, especially the new ones. The people are friendly and i have great roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the classes challenging but easy if you apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework and don't procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    The college has a nice campus and friendly staff. The degree opportunities are very limited, but that is to be expected from a community college. It is much more affordable than other colleges and universities.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Honestly, there is a shortage of things to do for fun in Cheyenne, unless you've got a passion for hunting, hiking, or horseback. Then there are lots of great options for you at all times of the year.

    Food and Dining

    LCCC has an amazing selection of food available and the service has been wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    I currently just commute to LCCC, and have not lived in the dorms there.

    Academic Rigor

    So far the classes I've had have been challenging, but not to the point where I've been lost and unable to complete my assignments.

    In three sentences

    So far, so good. My instructors so far have been very helpful, personable and accommodating. I have enjoyed learning and have had no trouble getting help when I need it.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They are so many different clubs and groups that you can join here and be apart of. These clubs do many fun activities around school and many do traveling things a well.

    Food and Dining

    The food at this school is amazing. IT is all hand made by professionals who plan on going into culinary arts as a career. It is also relatively cheap as well.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm rooms but I heard that they are pretty great and They are set up so that they are like little condos and you share a living space with a total of four people but they are broke up into two people in each room.

    In three sentences

    Laramie County Community college is a great school! The Professors at this school teach the classes that they have degrees in their selves. This school is in the process of growing and making it better for future students who come and study here. It is a very professional Community college and it is centered around the students at this school.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I know there are movie nights and plenty of other activities provided by LCCC but I have yet to join in just because I also work full time. Between work and my studies it's hard to participate in extra activities.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't dined on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Returning to college after 10 years of a break was intimidating. I feel like I have been challenged in all of my classes to a degree that is appropriate for my learning style.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize all of the benefits LCCC has to offer.

    In three sentences

    LCCC is a great place to attend college for people who have taken a break from school and are returning. The classes are small which allows for more one on one attention if needed. They also have plenty of tutoring available to if a student is struggling with a subject.