Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Laredo Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/02/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    There are many opportunities for students to receive financial help. LCC has scholarship programs, work study, scholarships and grants for students in sports, and various scholarships that are awarded every semester for hard work and dedication. I was fortunate enough to receive a full scholarship to LCC. The program did have certain requirements I had to follow, but it was worth it. I had my first two years of college paid for with the exchange of a hard work and determination for success on my behalf. Many people believe they are wasting their money by studying for their basics at a community college, but they are not. The college does have fees on top of books and tuition, but it is not an unaffordable amount. The difference between receiving your basics at LCC or a four year university is the price you pay for the same or a similar class.

    Did enjoy being here

    It was easy to make friends and be close to classmates due to the smaller class size than at the university level. There are also a lot of different clubs on campus that involve different interest for students. There are academic, volunteer, major based, music, and art clubs. Joining such clubs will make it easier to make friends and meet future classmates. The environment of the campus is safe and friendly. There are many social and academic services provided by the college to your advantage such as free tutoring.

    Did learn a lot

    Many people believe that community colleges are a joke, but they really are not. Laredo Community College (LCC) taught me not only academically, but socially as well. I learned to build on different social, self, and academic skills that made me a better student and over all person. I was taught to work with different people and the responsibility of juggling a full class schedule of about 15 to 16 hours a semester on top of extra-curricular activities. I was honored to be selected as a student of the LC.C. Honors Program where I learned the values of teamwork, hard work, and studying. I will admit that some of the professors treat their classroom and students as if still at the high school level, but there are a handful of the strict, but knowledgeable professors that teach in what can be known as a four year university level class. LCC taught me well how to be a better student. I feel prepared to enter and succeed at a four year university level after all I've learned.

  • 08/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students trying to save money and for getting started in their college education.

    Tips for prospective students

    First Please summit your application then you then make a appointment with a advisor and if possible pick your career before going. You do not it is ok our adviser's will lead the right direction. Another note make sure that you do not repeat classes and beware of your class and stick to a degree plan. if your like me please see the financial aid office see if you qualify for funds. If you do not make sure to pay for your classes early and ask about payment plans.

    Bang for the buck

    LCC is priced very good and they keep their costs low and keep the high quality of education up.

    Am enjoying being here

    You have a teacher student relationship that you are able to easily to get in touch with your professor. and by using the pasport system which allows you too email contact check your grade and register for classes also i enjoy the two campuses one in downtown Laredo where you access to music department and the historical buildings, and access to downtown. In the south campus it quit very chill learning environment

    Am learning a lot

    The Teachers are good people they understand some events that happen with the students and help you succeed. They are more then happy to help you grasp the lesson and lectures. We have a wide variety of faulty from all over the world who dedicated to there students and put them first. and all you have too do is ask.

  • 10/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone!!

    Tips for prospective students

    READ!! read, read, and read!!!

    Bang for the buck

    you save a lot of money here and the classes are great. i love coming to this school because i know i'm saving money and i'm still getting quality classes plus its just FUN :)

    Academic Rigor

    professors usually have a great sense of humor which makes learning fun and since the student teacher ration is low you feel at home

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and are always open for new people.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game room and the athletic department is a lot of fun while working out, also you can socialize with others in the lunch area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy the books early and talk to your professors and advisors they are there to help you.

    In three sentences

    I Love this place they make the transition from highschool to college so fluid and have many great professors to learn from. I really believe in the saying you must learn to crawl before you can run and as part of the community college I feel they teach you and prepare you for universities as well as social interactions and the like.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Workout Go to the library

    Academic Rigor

    LCC offer a great variety of vocational degrees and associate's to either transfer to a university or join the workforce right away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make your decision as soon as possible about what degree you are going to go and try to stick it. An advisor is willing to help everytime you have questions or concerns about it.

    In three sentences

    I am attending Laredo Community College I been only once to the campus and I liked it, so I know my years there are going to be worth it.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police is very helpful and are constantly surveilling the campus. There has not been many incidents just your occasional car accidents. The campus police is know to escort female students to their cars when is late at night. They are quick to respond and have their own phone number.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    For students that are budget-conscience and/or want to save some money on their basics before transferring. It is also for students who do not want to study far from their home. It is great for people who are returning to college for a second chance.

    Bang for the buck

    LCC is really worth your money. Not many places provide the same education opportunities for such a low cost. With so much opportunities for student financial aid, some students transfer with a fair amount of money for their transfer to another institution.

    What to do for fun

    I am sure there are some interesting clubs out there or activities but I do not have much time to join. They have a wonderful art exhibit in the Fine Arts Department. They also have a theater to watch performances which I heard are pretty good. There is also an Environmental Science Center where you can go see animals and plant life.

    Food and Dining

    The Kazen building is not finished being remodeled, so I cannot really rate all that accurate. There is a place called food services and the food is alright. Luckily, there are other fast food places outside the college. For some, it is preferable to pack their lunch or even go home if they live close by. I, personally, do not enjoy eating fast food that often.

    Academic Rigor

    LCC is not hard and it can be very easy if you apply yourself. The testing dates are usually told in advance by your professors or are in your syllabus. They sometimes have a day where they review what may be expected in the tests. Some even provide reviews and sample questions. The homework is also simple and straight to the point. Overall, I believe that most people can achieve high grades in their classes if they actually study.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. For prospective students, I suggest paying attention to each professor's syllabus-it provides you with useful tips and the course's curriculum. For example, some professors do not require a textbook. 2. It is also best if you buy your textbooks early enough to buy the cheaper used ones or to buy them off friends. 3. To add, if you have any questions do, do not hesitate to consult your professors. 4.Also, if possible, befriend some fellow classmates and exchange numbers or add them to your social network(s). This would be a great help in case you need help, did not understand the lesson, are going to be absent, and/or need a study group. 5. Finally, if you need help with your assignment(s) there is a Learning Center inside the library. There you can be assigned to a tutor which can help you revise your work or study for a test. There are tutors for English, Biology, Math, History and etc.

    In three sentences

    Laredo Community College is a great place to start your basics at because tuition costs is cheap and the classes are relatively easy. The staff is very helpful and the college itself has a great ambiance. Overall, I think that LCC is a good college and is very affordable.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i tend to walk around to see if maybe i will run into someone interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    great place to get started especially if you are on a tight budget.

    What to do for fun

    everyone is different, but i personally either choose to read at the library or i workout at the gym.

    In three sentences

    don't knock it off because it is in laredo. quality education at a fraction of the price you would pay at a university.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is incredible, there are lots of securities around the parking lots. and they have security cameras.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have some interesting classes, and some of them are brazilian jiujitsu, soccer, basketball, and more.

    Great for these types of students

    in this college are very different types of cultures, and peope from around the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    traditions in the campues are the halloween party, the posadas in christmas, and more fun stuff.

    Bang for the buck

    the financial aid program helps alot in many ways.

    What to do for fun

    for fun you can go to the library to use the compurers, read a book or even do your homework in your free time.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good here, they have some incredible restaurants and are very affordable.

    Dorm Life

    i don't have a dorm, im still under my parents care at the moment.

    Academic Rigor

    passing my classes with a's and b's

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard to accomplish your goals, and dreams. nothing is impossible if you study to the max and fight for what you want.

    In three sentences

    affordable classes, good instructors, and is a good school.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police curse through out the campus to see any suspitions activity, yet I do not feel harmed in any way nor frieghtened.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am looking forward to joining the Nursing club as it relates to my field and one gets to socialize with other future nurses.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for low income students and for those that have not declared a major. I am still considering LCC for it offers technical programs that can be mastered within a short period of time (2 years)

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a money safer and easy commute, I think it is a great way to start your college years.

    What to do for fun

    One can assist the activities it constructs throughout the semester as it helps programs and the college itself.

    Food and Dining

    The kazen offers the basics, although the food can be better then the prices.

    Dorm Life

    I think dorms can be better or upgraded.

    Academic Rigor

    It is on its way to challenge one as a student

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take time for granted. Take classes that you need and will help you in your process of your degree.

    In three sentences

    Its a college where one can start their future. Furthermore, it gives the oppurtunity to low financial students to attend. LCC offers programs that assist you in your studies.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Laredo Community College is very safe main reason is because we offer criminal justice majors and we have an academy that trains future border patrols, security guards and police officers.

    Bang for the buck

    Laredo Community College is very affordable and has the same quality education as any university.

    What to do for fun

    Laredo Community College often holds fairs for students. They also have a game room along with video game consoles and a 55 plasma TV with cable.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants around LCC south campus including traditional Mexican food restaurants and some more familiar like Burger Kind or McDonald's.

    Dorm Life

    Laredo Community College does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be challenging but if you do all that is required from you I assure you that there won't be any problems for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    What I would recommend for future students is to make sure that you have all our paperwork in order. Students make sure that you have turned in all necessary documents so you won't have a hold later on.

    In three sentences

    Laredo Community College is a great place to start off your education. It has a kind and friendly staff not to mention it is affordable. LCC has amazing and knowledgeable professors who truly care about their students.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police is surrounding the campus during school hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    Campus needs to add a rec center

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is great for the students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is great

    What to do for fun

    Needs to open a rec center for students who have spare time

    Food and Dining

    campus needs more healthy food.

    Dorm Life

    Campus needs to remodel the dorms

    In three sentences

    Laredo Community College has great instructors always ready to teach. The college provides great help to students. The college is up to date with great use of technology.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isnt much to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard!

    In three sentences

    Great School. The most of the teachers are very helpful and kind. You really get a one on one experience.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    great school. not very expensive definitely saves $$$

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always police officers to take care of us.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of Clubs, like Chess Club. Every week there's something to do.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Kazen to eat, to rest, to watch TV or talk to your friends. Go to Library too read a great book.

    Food and Dining

    I love their food.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get good grades.

    In three sentences

    Clean and nice places to study. Teachers that are very nice too and accesible after classes. Great environment to meet people.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police have own station on campus and often patrol.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several available.

    Great for these types of students

    First year college students or student still in high school planning to get ahead.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Historic campus, used to be a fort.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Workout, join a club, or just hang out on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Great variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not very timid and there's always help available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to class early always guarantees you a great parking.

    In three sentences

    Great place to start off college. Easy to navigate and the personnel are all so very helpful. Classes are small, therefore you get the individual help you need.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always patrolling. College is not known for any assaults.

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of,

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Baseball games.

    Food and Dining

    Mainly Mexican cuisine.

    Dorm Life

    Not in a very good condition.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read a lot for your courses.

    In three sentences

    Its a affordable college to get your basic courses done.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't think i've walked the campus feeling safe, ever.

    Great for these types of students

    Not for students looking for the college experience. The college experience is meeting new people and getting an education you wont ever forget.

    Bang for the buck

    A tuition anyone can afford.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students will get a good education here. But should consider other schools as well.

    In three sentences

    A college that is helpful, and willing to accept anyone wanting an education. The teachers are helpful some aren't unfortunately. Students have potential for more than the school offers.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I, sometimes, design images using Photoshop, architectural structures using Google Sketchup 8, play video games, and go out with the old friends somewhere fun.

    Food and Dining

    At Laredo Community College, an extensive variety of food is being offered by different local restaurant companies. So, I think college students are comfortable with the food and dining services provided by the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, this past semester, Spring 2012, the dorms were demolished to build new buildings so there are no dorms anymore.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and advising staff are comprehensive and share hard working attitudes so that every college student meet their goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    First thing first. Do not wait or focus yourself in something else but college.

    In three sentences

    Laredo Community College has been the best place to start my education and has also open me the doors for so many opportunities and programs, as well. Here, I am able to challenge my knowledge and skills in every class I am taking and have taken, so far. In summary, Laredo Community College is a campus where high-level education sparks.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus place is a very safe place they have their own police department and are always in patrol.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are many kinds of club the have the chase club, Valloy ball, Art and many other to chose from

    What to do for fun

    The have a game room also with pool table and video game to play.

    Food and Dining

    they are some varies of restaurant

    Dorm Life

    Theirs no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The have many option for academic and some of them are like swimming, soccer, football, gulf and many other option

    Tips for prospective students

    Making sure that they get advise for their classes early so they can have many option for the class hours. They also have to make sure they apply to financial aid.

    In three sentences

    I rate Laredo Community College a 10+ because its fun and the the stuff always tries to do something fun for the student to get motivated on school. This school also works within your working schedule. They also provide online classes for people that have tight schedules.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to the movies for fun.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great cafeteria, which offers a variety of foods.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a counselor so they can tell you what programs are offered.

    In three sentences

    It offers good certification programs that take about two years. This is great because compared to a university, you can get a degree in less time. It is a good college.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is very safe on campus there are many police

    Greek Life

    i have no idea

    Clubs and Activities

    theyre are many clubs and activities to join

    Great for these types of students

    any type of student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i really dont know of any

    What to do for fun

    there are sports and clubs to join in.

    Tips for prospective students

    do good in your classes, dont take the fact that it is a community college for granted.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school when it comes to academics. the people there are very friendly. i really like it there and love my professors.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus was safe when I visited. It has never had a harzardous situation.

    Great for these types of students

    Laredo Community College is great for those students who just want to get certified in a particular career.

    Food and Dining

    I never really got to participate in eating in this campus because my classes were given at my high school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that this college was able to teach me what I needed to know. I passed all my classes with A's and B's, and if I could, anyone can.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to attend Laredo Community College keep in mind that it is only a two year institution. This means that you should join their two plus two program, which helps you transfer your credits to any other university.

    In three sentences

    I participated in the dual enrollment for this college, and I came to the conclusion that the Laredo Community College was very good. The professors were always on task, and ready to help those who needed it. I really recommend this college.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to get involved with the STEM program and everything they have to offer also the robotics team that they offer. We go to compete at different colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not very easy as I had thought in the beginning but the teachers are amazing and very helpful.

    In three sentences

    I have had an amazing year with Laredo Community College. They have given me a STEM program to help me with my route to finish my college career. They have done everything they can to help me finish my career as fast as i can and head to my last two years in a University with the Stem Program.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are plenty of well trained security/and campus police officers constantly patrolling the campus grounds as well as an emergency alert system.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is an international honors society that is recognized at the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs associated with easy academic department including health, sports, reading, writing, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    LCC is great for the college student looking for a campus that offers great learning tools, academics, food, entertainment and student activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year at LCC there is a family fun festival hosted in the fall for all too enjoy which incorporates Spanish heritage and activities.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe for what the facility offers for the amount of tuition charged is a really good deal. LCC offers great academics, learning tools, and food and entertainment for the money.

    What to do for fun

    Several events are scheduled throughout the year for students too enjoy such as plays, festivals, sporting events, etc. There is also a variety of things to do between classes such as the student lounge, computer labs, and other things.

    Food and Dining

    There is a very large variety of food groups to choose from, and not to mention the food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There are currently no dorms available for regular students only for student athletes.

    Academic Rigor

    This two year college offers challenging academics that will prepare you for university level academics. Instructors at LCC are very passionate towards their teaching and skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would make sure to have all proper documentation ready before you start the registration process in order to make things run a lot smoother.

    In three sentences

    Laredo Community College offers a great education experience for the first time college student, and also returning students. LCC is a very historic, beautiful, and high end facility. LCC offers a great starting point for all incoming and future college students.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs you might like.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be in contact with your professors.

    In three sentences

    Laredo Community College is very helpful. This is a good college to attend especially when you are barely starting off with your basics. This college made it easier for me to achieve an outstanding GPA thanks to their outstanding instructors.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    lcc fun fest.

    What to do for fun

    Go to library, and gameroom.

    Food and Dining

    good but needs to be cheaper.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your books early and applay early for financial aid.

    In three sentences

    It's a coll college to get and education. Needs better technology but so far it's good. Change some staff.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far the campus has been safe thanks to the campus security on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can always join the Honors club, soccer team, or any other teams. LCC also offers a game room and a gym to workout after class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual so far.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are really helpful and understanding.

    What to do for fun

    I guess it really depends on what you like.

    Food and Dining

    LCC has a lot of variety when it comes to having either a snack or lunch. The cafeteria is well equipped and is pretty comfortable to have a quick bite between classes. The food they sell is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    I have never been in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is just great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just enjoy attending there, you will love the ambient and the teachers. Try to make as many friends as possible so you can share the great experience with them.

    In three sentences

    Laredo Community College is a great school, I love attending there. I have been at LCC for 2 years and it has been a great experience. The Advisers have really helped me out so much!

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is great! LCC is actually one of the safest rated colleges in the list! They make sure that you have the campus police number and they are always roaming around campus in their cars. They're always ready to help and do their job well!

    Clubs and Activities

    Seriously, the staff is so much like family! If you're planning on being active, you'll have such a blast! Weather it's for academic purposes, for volunteering or just to relax, LCC has something for every type of person!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to be in a friendly, warm environment and who wish to have teachers be helpful and kind.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has just so many resources and so many people who truly care and are eager to help! Each day it's like going to see my LCC family! It's a beautiful thing.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do, you go around campus and almost every week there is a treat that they have for the students, weather it be a stand where they're giving out free popcorn and virgin margaritas, strawberry daiquiris, and pina coladas or it be the Fun Fest with karaoke and a rock climbing wall! Also, LCC has so much talent!! There is always a new concert for dance, a theatre play, the Philharmonic Orchestra or an Art show going on!!

    Food and Dining

    Definitely the best i've ever witnessed. Not only because they have Taco Palenque, Chick-Fil-A, a place that makes home dishes, and also healthy options, BUT because the staff is a conjunction of the sweetest ladies and guys!! They are so friendly and kind and generous!!

    Dorm Life

    I've never been to them but from what i see, they are very cozy and home-like! Also, they are like a block away from the campus!

    Academic Rigor

    LCC has so many great teachers!! They actually go out of their way to help you as much as they can! They don't have to, but they do! It's an amazing, hard to find plus!

    Tips for prospective students

    DO work hard. So many wonderful things come from this school when you're willing to fight for your education. This college is affordable, homey, and friendly. You will not find yourself having trouble without somebody stopping by to help you out.

    In three sentences

    Laredo Community College is a great school. There is SO many opportunities and you're willing, LCC will take you higher and higher in your education. I almost wish i didn't have to leave it so soon.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is always patrolling to keep an eye on everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    I love the sports they provide.

    Bang for the buck

    A little extra money is always good for anything. Is not expensive to attend lcc.

    What to do for fun

    I usually go to the weightroom and do ecercises and play some basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The restaurants there are good but i never eaten there because i go home to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on the dorms because I'm currently staying in parents house.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class is challenging but as long as you keep up with your work and getting good grades everything will be alright.

    Tips for prospective students

    Doing every assignment, studying for exams, showing up to class so that you wont miss anything about class.

    In three sentences

    The classes in lcc are perfect because the instructor pays attention to all students. As long as you do everything you will pass that class. Instructors will always help you with assignments.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    they are like a family at Laredo community college

    In three sentences

    is fast to get a degree

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of things to do in this campus for fun. There is a gym for basketball, tennis courts, football field, and arcade games at the home center. There is also a local zoo that has many local animals and you can actually work there if you'd like.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, they have many restaurants at the cafeteria serving all day. They have arbys, chick fil a, subway, and many more as well, this allows students to grab and go. The cafeteria is a well cleaned facility due to the fact that it has just been remodel a couple weeks ago.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great and provide plenty of space for you and your partner to live. It also has a very well cleaned atmosphere that allows you to make yourself feel at home. The dorms are also cheap compared to others and still have that good quality of it.

    Academic Rigor

    If your still undecided then many advisers will assist you and open you to knew opportunities. Again, if your struggling to make ends meet with the grade you would like you have the opportunity to ask the professor for some guidance. You can also easily access your academic progress through the schools online website.

    Tips for prospective students

    A very affordable school that has a wide variety of classes. This campus also has many kind professors so don't be shy to ask for directions they be glad to assist you. The professors are also very helpful in explaining and are willing to stay after class if you need any more assistance.

    In three sentences

    A good school that has given opportunities for many individuals to prosper through each of every persons journey. It also affordable which also brings a wide variety of students and giving students opportunities for college is so magnificent. Overall, its a well good school with very well orientated professors.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police is constantly driving by the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are no activities on campus for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has been closed for a little bit more than a year.

    Dorm Life

    There are almost no dorms. The dorm rooms are really old.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the semester is easy, but one does definitely need to study, and take his or her time on doing a special assignment given by the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research for the best teachers, and always try to get an A.

    In three sentences

    Cheap school and with a little research you can get a class with some of the greatest teachers.

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several things to do for fun. There is a pool located on campus, there are tennis courts outside, and there is a gym to work out with friends. The quad is a great place to hang out and just chat with buddies.

    Food and Dining

    Laredo Community College has a variety of menus. There are different stationed restaurants located in the dining hall. If you do not like a certain type of food, you can always go to another, instead of driving out of campus.

    Dorm Life

    Fort Macintosh has old historical buildings, where students live and commune there. I personally do not stay there, but it could be a great college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a music major and I gotta say it is the best field I could have chosen. I am happy with all my classes and I met great people who have now become great friends of mine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend every class. It will be worth going everyday and not miss a single lesson. Make friends who study the same thing you do; you'll have great people who will study and hang out with you.

    In three sentences

    It is a great jump-starter community college. This school gives you an inside look on what to expect from a grand university. Laredo Community College helps train you, in a way, to become more knowledgeable with in your field.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have sports, music organizations, acting and drama, arts and ceramics, we have a plenty full of fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    They are in the process of finishing our schools cafeteria its being remolded but by the looks of it its very spacious and looks nice. The food is great and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    Our college does not have as many dorms as a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to always be prepared in and out of school, take all necessary supplies, and be attentive and willing to learn.

    In three sentences

    It's a commendable college which provides you a variety of majors one is looking for. The classes are not capacious so you get the direct attention from the professors that you need. There organizations and clubs are outstanding.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the gym. basketball, and the kazen center

    In three sentences

    Laredo community college is a very economic school to start off your career.it is very affordable when you do not have financial aid. it has many activities for students that other colleges don't have.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus secerity do what they need to in order to keep the campus safe. Since both campuses are near the border to mexico we also have Border Patrol going around the campus to make it a safe environment for everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I mention before, there are many clubs and activities to be a part of such as sports and drama.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who are want to take there basics or get an associates at a low price.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations to take part of from dancing to music ensembles. There are also gyms where friend can be active together and such.

    Food and Dining

    They sell food from local restaurants that are good from Chick fil A sandwiches to salads. There are also snack and soda machines all around the campuses that work in satisfying conditions. And you can also buy snacks and drinks from the book stores in either campus.

    Dorm Life

    Well I do not live in a dorm since my college is in my home town but i would sat the dorms are in top shape.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses can be challeging but achievable. But for the most part the courses are at a level where students can pass there classes with hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    When there comes an obstacle that seems difficult in college, just keep on trying and dont give up it may seem hard but it is not impossible.

    In three sentences

    Laredo Community College is a clean friendly environment for students, staff, and the public. They have friendly staff that helps any student in need. Lastly they have libraries and computer labs in both campuses that have useful equipment for students to used for school.

  • 11/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security plays a great role with the safety of students. Nurses are as well available to students who feel ill or are hurt.

    Clubs and Activities

    This school provides so many organizations and every year there's a new one for students.

    Great for these types of students

    Criminal Justice Business Arts Child Developement

    Bang for the buck

    Laredo Community College is a great benenfit to students on a budget.

    What to do for fun

    Being part of this school also comes with great benefits and opportunities for those days in which you have nothing to do. Becoming a Palomino Student give you the great opportunity to use the gym which includes: yoga, weight lifting, and zumba. Students can create their own sport in which your members are only your friends which inlcude: soccer, tennis, softball etc. Take a walk around the campus that is very calm and relaxing.

    Food and Dining

    Being that this school is sorrounded by various cultures you'll enjoy the many viarieties of foods it has to offer.

    Dorm Life

    If you are looking forward to staying near the school zone then you're just in luck because this school has dorms available to students located at the main campus, north of the city. You'll enjoy the landscape that sorrounds the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Eventhough this is school is at a great value, it's academic courses are far from simple. It challenges students as well as motivates students to stay ahead of their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoy being challenged but have your mind set on a budget then this school is perfect for you. Laredo Community College gives the students the right amount of challenge as any other four year university. This school prepares students for what's ahead and for a world of independence. To those who want to be challenged outside of school there are many organizations that welcome new members.

    In three sentences

    This campus is devided in two which is a great benefit to students who live north and south of the city. I enjoy the enviorment in school and it's sorroundings. It is very beautiful just as the personel that work there and they welcome students with open arms.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Something that I really love from Laredo Community College is that they always have something going on. You can find several clubs that you can join for fun. As example, tennis, the soccer tournaments, music, etc. I guarantee that you will never get bored at this college.

    Food and Dining

    I think that one the best things you can find at Laredo Community College is the food. This college has a great diversity of food where you can find tacos, salads, plates (different kinds of food) and etc.

    Dorm Life

    I personally haven't been in a dorm room in this college but I heard that they are pretty comfortable. Also, they are cheap dorm rooms if you compare them with the ones from other colleges/universities.

    Academic Rigor

    In this college you will find excellent teachers who will give their best to teach you. The campus itself is in a great condition to study in. Laredo Community College has big library, tutors, and another faculties that will help you out to success.

    Tips for prospective students

    This's a college where you can find diversity of cultures and you can speak English or Spanish. So, if you are an international student (since this college is on the border with other country) feel free to express yourself and ask for help if you need to because all students and personnel from this college speak two languages. This is a college with an outstanding academic level, so if you are willing to study in this campus I could recommend you to be serious on your classes.

    In three sentences

    Laredo Community College is a great college to attend to when you want to be successful in life because it has a good academic level and the campus is simply outstanding. In the time I have been attending here, I have met the nicest persons ever (students and personnel) who are always willing to help you. In conclusion, I strongly recommend to attend to this amazing college anyone who is willing to success in life.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    When the Kazen center was up, there would be constant activities held by Student Life. Keep an eye out for those once Kazen is open again, which should be pretty soon.

    Food and Dining

    If you're a local, you'll be glad to know that the cafeteria holds Taco Palenque, Chick-Fil-A (just sandwiches), and Arby's.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes really push you, professors care that you LEARN something.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can, get to really know your professor, sometimes its best to know what the professor thinks.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice and somewhat small college campus, somewhat easy to get lost but after awhile you get used to the locations. Currently there are a few buildings being under construction so it may seem messy but it's really not. Get an inside on which professors to take, some are nice and some aren't so nice.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Musical events and game room are great to past time in.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria with good tasting food, mainly local restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The have no dorms, but will be built soon.

    Academic Rigor

    The books used are easy and fun to read.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend it for transfer students. Most of the student body doesn't reside within the campus.

    In three sentences

    It is affordable and covienent for students on a budget. Greatvto complete the basics in this college, and professors could get more in sync with their class than if it were to be a out numbered ratio. The lessons and lectures are great for any new student. The campus has many resources that will help achieve success.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police is always there for students. Hotline available & police patrolling is on the regular.

    Greek Life

    Available.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs & volunteering available, just sign up!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to save their money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    HIspanic heritage. The main campus is located downtown & the buildings themselves hold a lot of history, while the South campus is brand-new.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap Affordable Great place to study at your local community college.

    What to do for fun

    You can visit the trail, the outdoor animal shelter, the gymnasium, tennis court, baseball court, swimming pool. the plaza park gazebo area featuring a waterfall and a lovely landscape in the main campus, there is also the student life room, as well as other interesting places around both campuses.

    Food and Dining

    This campus has a snack lounge and also an array of restaurants in their cafeteria for each students desires.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately this community college does not offer dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have enthusiastic events for student life.

    In three sentences

    Overall good school for students living in the local city of Laredo Texas. It is a nice campus and currently has two different locations: Main Campus & South Campus. The school offers many courses for its students.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the Movies.

    Food and Dining

    The kaizen is supposed to open soon with new dining facilities.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but the athletes seem to enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty east, just do your homework on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many college level courses in high school.

    In three sentences

    LCC is a nice campus and is going through some upgrades. The teachers at LCC range from new profs to 30yr vets, and most are concerned with your success. It is definitely a great affordable place to start a college career.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    To register is really convenient and costs less that a 9 month program.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is filled with many clubs and if you cannot find one that matches your needs you do have the privilege of creating your own as long as if you have friends to be in it.

    Food and Dining

    I love that even though you are in campus where it feels as if you are in a different city, one still gets to enjoy the delicious mexican foo that we are all used to.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are spacious and beautiful being able to enjoy a campus filled with nature and fresh air.

    Academic Rigor

    This campus gives you the privelidge of enjoying how well educated and determined our professors are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that when registering for your classes you register early so that you may be able to enjoy the range of times available.

    In three sentences

    I love both campuses available and love the way professors interact with the students. I believe it is great that we have tutoring available at both campuses and the professors give up their personal time to answer any questions you might have.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun in this campus you can grab a good group of people and go it the Kazan. That's where we have our cafeteria, and everyone hangs out there.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help in a course don't wait till the last minute to go to a student lab to get help. By going you increase your chances of a better grade for your course.

    In three sentences

    Laredo Community College is a great way to start or continue your education. They offer so much help to students, there is no reason to fail a course. Since the campus is on the small size, you get an awesome face-to-face with your professors.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many times per week speakers go to school and have very interesting conferences about diverse topics, also they are about to do a funfest like every year at LCC.

    Food and Dining

    I love that the have Arby's, TacoTote, and other restaurants in LCC.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    There are study groups at Laredo Community College. There is a huge library where you can have access to books and computers to study.

    In three sentences

    Laredo Community College is the perfect place to go after you complete your high school studies. Many buildings are being remodeled and technology is advancing pretty fast on campus. LCC is the cheaper way to study in Laredo.

  • 03/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police Officers constantly patrol the campuses to assure a high level of personal safety, and physical security.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is an international honors society that is recognized at the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and are always open for new people.

    Great for these types of students

    Suited for Online Classes Online classes appeal to many students because of the enormous flexibility they offer for those juggling busy schedules. Some students seem to possess certain characteristics that support a successful, even pleasant, online experience, while others struggle to adapt. The student who lacks these particular attributes should be aware of the common pitfalls and frustrations that he may encounter in an online environment. The good news is that many of these characteristics can be learned.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't have any idea.

    Bang for the buck

    LCC is priced very good and they keep their costs low and keep the high quality of education up.

    What to do for fun

    Read, go to the movies and go to the gym.

    Food and Dining

    The college cafeteria is composed of various interim food vendors supervised by the Office of Administration and Finance. The cafeteria is open every weekday except on scheduled college holidays.

    Academic Rigor

    Many people believe that community colleges are a joke, but they really are not. Laredo Community College (LCC) taught me not only academically, but socially as well. I learned to build on different social, self, and academic skills that made me a better student and over all person.

    Tips for prospective students

    Familiarize yourself with the structure of the curriculum Look at the standard schedule for the program. Many have set schedules with little choice about morning classes and with few breaks during the day. In many programs, classes may begin at 8 a.m. and end at 5 p.m. with a short lunch break.

    In three sentences

    Excellent school and teachers.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police do their job and are always quick to respond.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an Honor society that, if a part of, you will be eligible for scholarships.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus would be great for independent students who have the full capacity to learn on their own without guidance from a professor every step of the way. I've attended TAMIU as well and at LCC it never seems like you are being babied in any way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Be sure to visit the Trail which is located in back of the school near the nursery. It's a truly beautiful place.

    Food and Dining

    The food catering service is great. They serve a full meal (1 main dish and 2 sides) for under 5. There is also a section dedicated entirely to healthy meals and snacks. Drinks are not overpriced and the food is always warm and delivcious.

    Dorm Life

    There is student housing available, but it's very hard to qualify for it. The dorms are definitely not the greatest to look at either.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are easy if you pay attention, but this depends mostly on the professor as with any college. Some professors successfully help you apply your learning's to the real world, but others just teach you what you need to know to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to finish your degree as fast as possible in order to pay less. Take full advantage of the free walk-in advising if you are undecided in your major.

    In three sentences

    I give Laredo Community College a 4/5 stars because this school has good educators. The tuition has risen a bit since I first started, but you definitely get what you pay for in newly constructed student centers and benefits. The classes can be as small of a 1 to 10 ratio or as large as 1 to 60 which makes it diversely interesting. This school also offers almost every class online for those who are self teachers