Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Las Positas College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security, and they give out the security guards numbers and officwe area.

    Great for these types of students

    FOR EVERYONE

    Dorm Life

    Its a community college but there is town houses being built right next to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll in classes early, you might end up with classes you don't really need.

    In three sentences

    Las Positas is a very caring College. They put their students first. They make sure they are in a very comfortable environment.

  • 02/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Las Positas College is great for students who do well with more one-on-one help and feel more comfortable in a more interactive environment. I definitely take advantage of teacher's office hours to work with them and as questions and couldn't have asked for more help. I also feel like this environment is far less intimidating than to be on a huge campus where you feel rushed to get to your classes. This is a much more low-key option but also very friendly and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    One major tip that I can offer is to stay on top of your work. Now that you are out of high school, deadlines are not as structured as you are used to. There are not many turn-in dates for rough drafts or work sheets. Most of the work is on you. It is best to make deadlines for yourself. If you fall behind, it will be unnecessarily difficult to keep up.

    Bang for the buck

    Of course, junior colleges are cheaper than 4-year colleges. But, not only is the tuition cheaper, so are things like parking passes and there are also many different ways to go about buying books for cheap.

    Am enjoying being here

    Many people categorize junior college as a continuation of high school. I do not agree. The majority of my professors here have been extremely helpful and I find that most really do want their students to succeed and do well. I have enjoyed my experience, and have done very well for myself.

    Am learning a lot

    A lot of the classes that Las Positas College offers have around 30 students. This means that you can obtain plenty of information with the ability to ask questions, and get better acquainted with your professors. This not only makes your experience more hands on, but also increases your ability to succeed.

  • 09/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Veterans

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a military veteran, you will find no better choice. I have never worked with such a school that puts veterans first like this place does. I haven't had benefits this good since I left the service.

    Bang for the buck

    You'll get a top-notch education for community college prices. Two of my professors also teach at the CSU and UC levels, and teach just a couple classes here. I suppose that's a reflection of the poor economy, but I'll take the benefit!

    Am enjoying being here

    In addition to the awesome faculty, the student life is great here too. I moved to this area just a few months ago and have already made a great number of friends through classes and student organizations.

    Am learning a lot

    The faculty here is outstanding. Every class I've taken here has required me to actively participate and engage in the class, which I was initially uncomfortable with. But, I've made great progress here and look forward to each class.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With police officers on campus, I don't think anyone has anything to fear here.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities for people to join in on,

    Great for these types of students

    Self-starters, those who know what career they would like to get into or to gain new skills.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as bang for your buck, I'd say it heavily outweighs most colleges in the US.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the scenery, take a walk into the vineyards, relax in the library. Take a walk around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a decent selection of food in the student store, however it is seriously lacking in on campus fast food and restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories that I know of.

    Academic Rigor

    I wouldn't say it is the hardest school out there, but you definitely need to do your work and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Generally, be a self starter and take control of your college education. Unlike high school, there is no hand holding here. Make what's most out of college. Meet and become on a first name basis with your professors. You won't regret it.

    In three sentences

    There are several excellent teachers and staff that I have interacted with. For vocational training and support, I believe that this school is a top tier college.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    learn all that you can about financial aid prior to attending college

    In three sentences

    excellent learning facility easily accessible wonderful teaching staff

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sociology of sexuality is a fun class, as well as all the physical education classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    try your hardest to take as many classes as possible, as soon as possible. make appointments with counslers, ot only for advice but also to improve your priority number.

    In three sentences

    las positas is a good campus with knowledgeable professors. unfortunately it isn't very challenging. it could be very easy to get stuck at this school.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus!

    What to do for fun

    join a club.

    Food and Dining

    delicious food, but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    classes are not very difficult, just a lot of homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always use your resources and do not leave a questioned unanswered.

    In three sentences

    Las positas college is a great school. The resources provided are very helpful. I enjoy the environment at the school.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police make their presence known. but it is always a good idea for females to walk together to our cars.

    Great for these types of students

    this is a very diverse campus. young and adults returning to college....many types of people at las po.

    Bang for the buck

    you will definitely be happy at this college at only $36 a unit.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of clubs to join and las po has a radio station. that is fun right there.

    Food and Dining

    the food is a little pricey for college students, but i have not had a bad meal in the cafe.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your research. but you really do not have to look any further for a very good college to attend.

    In three sentences

    community college is a brilliant, inexpensive way to get all your general ed classes and then transfer to a 4-year. las positas has some of the most caring and compassionate instructors that i have ever met. i really enjoy attending this college.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    have a well staffed and state of the art safety team constantly patrolling the campus.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of clubs and academic groups to join from student council to student paper.

    Great for these types of students

    artists, and anyone who wants to transfer to a different uc. or csu.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a really nice amphitheatre .

    Bang for the buck

    great way to get all your ged taken care of so you can transfer and hit the ground running for your major.

    What to do for fun

    walk around the campus and use the state of the art gym, also can relax in the library or student cafe and enjoy a laugh with some friends.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely use this great school as a stepping stone to your future.

    In three sentences

    it's a wonderful campus with a beautiful view of the tri valley area. and the school is just finishing up some beautiful new buildings and modernization of the whole campus. not to mention the world class staff and excellent faculty who are there all the time to help young students aspire to the top.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    take the p.e. classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you talk to the counselors often to see what classes you need.

    In three sentences

    classes are challenging but manageable. campus itself is very nice. the staff is well qualified and amazing!

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    if you're on campus you can go to one of the many club meetings or sunbathe in the amphitheater if you're wanting a tan! but unfortunately the campus is kind of secluded from everything so there isn't any immediate entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is actually really good! the cooks prepare and cook the food right in front of you so you know who is making it and how its getting done!

    Dorm Life

    i don't have any dorm experience for this school

    Tips for prospective students

    classes fill up fast so make sure to keep an eye on registration dates and make a plan for which classes you're interested asap and a back up plan just in case your chosen classes are full!

    In three sentences

    a great school with decent class sizes and great teachers who love what they're teaching! beautiful campus with lots of study areas!

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its a very safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    it has all the usual clubs ethnic groups clubs and foreign language clubs etc. clubs that encourage diversity, social, political and cultural interests.

    Great for these types of students

    students going to community college before transferring to a 4 yr college.

    Bang for the buck

    you will get a great education here.

    What to do for fun

    there's a gym on campus and a few clubs in town for some nightlife. there are also some nice restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    it has a nice cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    it can be a little rigorous depending on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    it's a community college. wear comfortable shoes, you can have to walk a bit. don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    it's a great college, teachers are very helpful. people are nice and friendly. easy campus to get around and find your way.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is always around and very approachable.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs on campus such as Gay Straight Alliance and Student Government.

    Bang for the buck

    Las Positas is pretty worth the money you pay. There are tutors there that can help you, computers to be used, and a math and English lab where you can receive help.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun at Las Positas College except join clubs or join a sport.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria has decent food. They have a lot of packaged foods and many drink options. The food made there is good, but it's not the best.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are challenging, but not too hard. They try to prepare you for universities while still giving you a smooth transition from high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should make counselor appointments early on in the semester so they can get help with choosing classes before it is too late in the semester.Classes also fill up fast, so do not procrastinate on choosing classes. Also, do anything possible to boost your priority number like take more classes and make an SEP with a counselor.

    In three sentences

    Las Positas is a growing community college that is impacted with students. It is getting to be very pretty with all the new construction. The class sizes are very good for people who want to learn and therefore ask questions in class.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. There's always security guards roaming campus and the parking lots.

    Greek Life

    I don't believe we have a greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs on campus and also many sports teams.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small campuses, small classes, and teachers who actually care about their student's success.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are none.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good deal on classes. Even though tuition has been raised it is still much cheaper than going to any state school.

    What to do for fun

    Theres several golf courses around the area. Also we have a mall just down the freeway and new and upcoming shopping areas around Las Positas.

    Food and Dining

    Las Positas is very close to several restaurants. And right next to the freeway so it doesnt take you very long to get anywhere.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class you take the courses vary in difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students is to take full advantage of all the features at Las Poitas college. There's a free tutoring section on campus. Plus there's a lot of volunteers at the math labs who are always willing to help you learn about your course, and also set up a study program.

    In three sentences

    Las Positas has many opportunities for students to excel in their education. Students are encouraged by their teachers and fellow students. Also, you have many resources that are there to help you reach your goals.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No crime or violenc happened in the past

    Clubs and Activities

    There are 28 clubs and I am a member for two clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are dances and performing arts play.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria but great foods.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Teacher are very informative and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enter as an early addmission in order to apply for classes early.

    In three sentences

    Great science program. Plenty of tutors for the students. Affordable for students.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at this college

    Academic Rigor

    It is difficult but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let yourself fall into the community college lifestyle of slacking off.

    In three sentences

    Great college.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety does a good job of keeping things safe. Don't try and park without your parking pass, they will give you a ticket!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot of clubs to get involved in. It's a great way to meet people and support your school.

    Bang for the buck

    Las Positas College now has Planned Parenthood and family pact services on campus every Friday in the Student Health & Wellness Center free of charge for registered students.

    What to do for fun

    We recently had a Club night with a DJ and dancing. That was fun!

    Food and Dining

    I think that the campus cafeteria should re-vamp their menu. More variety and healthier food would be nice.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    I took 19 units of Psychology my first semester and passed with all A's and 1 B. That was a breeze for me compared to this semester's 12 units of math, English and history.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many opportunities to get involved in campus activities. Join clubs and support different events. Most importantly, make an appointment with a counselor to get your student education plan written up so you can stay on track, and don't forget to apply for scholarships!

    In three sentences

    Las Positas College has given me the chance to make a future for myself and my kids. It has renewed and refreshed my interest in education. Las Positas College has been nothing but a pleasant experience for me.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency call boxes all around campus, and campus patrol is always around!

    Greek Life

    (There aren't any sororities or fraternities as Las Positas).

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of clubs and activities to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    If you love the arts, this school is perfect for you and one of this school's best assets.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a huge bang for the buck, this school is amazing and even if the prices went up, I would still want to go there over paying a ton of money for a UC.

    What to do for fun

    There are many campus activities, clubs, and sports. The drama department is always putting on shows, as well as the music department. There are many other places in Livermore to have fun like the bowling alley, places to shop, and places to eat.

    Food and Dining

    The Las Positas cafeteria has some of the best cafeteria food I've ever eaten, made to order breakfast, lunch and dinner is available even for the earliest classes! In addition, Livermore's downtown is close and has many amazing places to eat!

    Dorm Life

    (There aren't dorms at Las Positas).

    Academic Rigor

    All of the teachers I've had so far seem to be concerned about the welfare of the student, and in upper-division classes the students are focused. However, I have never had a good experience with the counseling department and that is why I didn't give 5 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work as hard as you can to get in the classes you want, talk to teachers, talk to counselors, get on waitlists, show up on the first day of class, and be persistent. Always show respect to get respect.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, wonderful classrooms. Very impacted classes, but a lot of the teachers try to help as much as they can. The music program is impeccable.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is top-notch, and they drive around the parking lot all day and night to make sure no cars get broken into. However, you are more likely to get a ticket this way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wild rabbits live on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    Livermore has amazing Wineries nearby, as well as downtown always has things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria makes excellent food, and there's a drive-through starbucks and other restaurants nearby as well.

    Dorm Life

    There's no real dorms around because its a community college, but there are gorgeous apartment/condos around the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Very intense yet worth the time spent studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to review the teacher and class online before registering for it to make sure your prepared for the curriculum. Also make sure you make a two-year outline with a councilor, because this will help your registration number so you can register for classes first.

    In three sentences

    Las Positas College is a small community college tucked into the scenic vineyard hills of the Livermore Valley. They offer a top education for a great price, with many opportunities for the average to transfer student. With a breath taking campus, and outstanding extracurricular activities, you can't go wrong choosing this school.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    School clubs are fun to be apart of and an opportunity to make friends with common interests. There are many different types of clubs to suite your needs.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has excellent food to eat at a reasonable price. All kinds of food are available.

    Academic Rigor

    This campus does a great job in challenging their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not hesitate to ask for help from your instructors if you are having problems with a certain area of the subject. They have office hours available to the students where students can come to them and ask direct questions to them and receive help.

    In three sentences

    Las Positas College is a great community college that prepares you for universities after your general college education is complete. They have great Math and English centers where instructors are there to help with certain questions you may have about the topics. They are continuing to build onto the campus with new buildings in order to further educate their students.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue lights everywhere and campus security is very nice. If you feel uncomfortable sittng alone at night they will stay with you for a little while.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are over qualified. Getting this education from a CC is a steal. All of my teachers knew what they were talking about and had a PhD in their subject (PE teachers not included).

    What to do for fun

    Join a PE class! There are so many and they are very fun.

    Food and Dining

    I cant really judge because I never ate on campus. But there is a Starbucks not far from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel very prepared to move on but it wasn't difficult to get a 4.0.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your homework. If you have a question, ask! Join a PE class. You will feel great and look great.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are over qualified. They really know what they are talking about and present it in a very organized manor. The campus is also beautiful.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't worry here.

    Greek Life

    Non existent. Except for a few clubs who are part of larger college societies. No fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who haven't been accepted into a 4 year or are trying to get back into school after a long absence.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. Mostly the fun is if you like joining clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared. There's not a lot of time for face time with the professors, many work at other schools or have other jobs. Study hard, and the counselors have the resources to help you get to a 4 year.

    In three sentences

    Excellent little community college. Good curriculum, and primed to get you into a CSU or UC. Veteran's Center is an excellent resource for all those veteran's who are trying to decide between DVC or Las Positas.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a pretty safe campus. There is security all over the place, and in a medical emergency we have EMTs all over the place as well. Overall there has not been much of a problem that I have heard of at this school.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great campus for all students, but for those who are trting to be firefighters, this isa great place to start. As of right now I am currently in the fire service technology program and it is absolutely impressive. Yes, they will push you to your limits but for all the right reasons. It is to make you better so then when its time for you to get hired then, you know exactly what to do and how to do it.

    What to do for fun

    Well for fun, we have all kinds of physical education classes and to me, physical education is the way i have fun. We also habe tons of clubs that one can join, all based on ones interest but that is all up to the student.

    Food and Dining

    This college has a pretty solid cafeteria, espically for those who have those long days at this campus, your'e going to need some energy. They serve all kinds of things. If you need something then you have a good chance of getting it.

    Dorm Life

    There isnt any dorm life on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Its all based on the classes you take. Some classes are weighted differently than others which male them more rigorous. But if you strive for doing well in life then you will do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for students is to not take this school lightly. Its a community college but based on the classes you decide to take, it can become extremely challenging.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school to start at, especially for those who do not know what they are majoring in. This school deserves a solid 9 out of 10 because, their are limitless options for everyone, which leaves it all up to you.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many will find the campus' student clubs, athletic progams, and musical groups to be among the greatest ways to make friendships and enjoy themselves on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Students will be impressed by the cafeteria's wide-array of choice foods, prepared fresh in the school's humble kitchen. Thursday's specials are especially yummy -- traditional Mexican dishes!

    Dorm Life

    Las Positas College does not have student housing and therefore, this category does not apply. However, the community of students on campus is wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    Las Positas College expects little from its students, providing them with a minimal workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete a student education plan with a counselor during your first semester. This ups one's priority number, increasing one's chances for being among the first to choose the next semester's courses.

    In three sentences

    Las Positas College is an active and supportive community of students and faculty. Its professors are excellent and ready to meet their students needs in order to ensure individual success. With state-of-the-art facilities and an abundance of resources for its students, Las Positas will pleasantly surprise each and every one of its students.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has decent food, but some of the prices are a little expensive especially for college students. The benifit is being close to costco and a few other food places.

    Academic Rigor

    I am almost complete with my AA and capable of transfering. Some classes have gone great, while others, the teachers taught at a higher academic level than where we should be at.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have a path figured out. To get in and get out so you don't get trapped at this school. Take the necessary classes and major in a field of your interests.

    In three sentences

    Overall its a great school. The teachers here are a hit or miss. There are those whom have made a great impact and directed me to the attention to the major in the field of psychology.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't had any problem with security to this point, neither have my friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs from biology to arts clubs, check them out!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are having some trouble with tuition money. Classes here are not expensive and it is possible to work and study, if needed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many solar panels in the school, some located in roofs on the parking lots. This is a fantastic and eco-friendly idea.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many students, coming from all sorts of cultures. If you find fascination in the mixture of cultures and the great learning experience that this process can give you as personal growth, then, this is a great place.

    What to do for fun

    There are many classes such as dance classes or PE classes that allow you to have a flexible schedule. You might try this for fun, I am taking aerobics for fun!

    Food and Dining

    Food can be a little expensive

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at LPC

    Academic Rigor

    So far I have only had one summer class and one week of my first semester at LPC. To this point I have seen moderate workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early, or apply through the early admission process. It will give you priority over other incoming students.

    In three sentences

    I have had a good experience here, although coming as a new student was a challenge since classes are really full of students. The classes I have right now are good, though.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always Campus Safety workers to escort people to their cars, jumpstart batteries, patrol the parking lot, and drive throughout the school.

    Great for these types of students

    LPC is ideal for students who want to feel safe on campus (compared to Chabot College). LPC is also ideal for students who live in the surrounding cities like Dublin, Castro Valley, San Ramon, Pleasanton, etc. since traffic can get congested at times.

    Bang for the buck

    Las Positas offers great wine and gardening classes. There is also a new Early Childhood Education and Care facility / Day Care.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in clubs offered at Las Positas.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has improved since LPC's early Roach Coach days. Compared to Chabot (LPC's sister college) which still has a Roach Coach, LPC has a nice cafeteria that one can sit down in, study in, participate in clubs in, and eat good food in. The prices for snacks can be pricy though.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at LPC.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very motivated. The classes are achievable if one tests high and submits all the assignments on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise prospective students to pay for parking and to park in the student parking lots. This will help you avoid parking tickets. I also advise prospective students to attend lecture classes if less homework is desired as opposed to online courses.

    In three sentences

    Las Positas College is affordable. The teachers are nice because they are willing to work with students in regards to adding them into their classes, allowing students to use textbooks with older editions, and because they help students succeed. Las Positas College is easier to drive to now with the new freeway entrance/exit as opposed to the Airway exit.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many sports you can do along with some awesome clubs that you can participate in!

    Food and Dining

    While the cafeteria does have some tasty options, the food here is on the expensive side, so it is easier to bring food from home or to go off-campus for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college, so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what you want to pursue, all classes here are definitely manageable! I am an MCB major and find that while my classes take a lot of time because the majority are science classes that have an attached lab, it's still very manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to transfer to a 4 year and you know what major you want to study, go to assist.com and figure out what classes you need to take so that you can transfer as quickly as possible. Otherwise, you'll spend more time than you wanted to because you couldn't get into the class you needed to!

    In three sentences

    Las Po is a great community college! It has awesome professors trained to help you transfer to a 4 year or get your AA degree.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see a campus security driving around and recently installed safety boxes that can be used in case of an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of great clubs to join in and quite a variety to choose from.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel I have saved a lot of money by coming here instead of going straight to a University.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs to join and activities that are held to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is okay, and a bit over-priced.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here because it is only a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It has some great academics and I feel I have learned a lot thus far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and do some research on your teachers.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to attend and to get ready to transfer to a University. It has a lot of great students and teachers there. I have been happy the whole time I've attended here.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    committed, social and enthusiastic.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking lot on the first day of each term gets full rather quickly. Use all the resources and ask questions to the friendly staff.

    In three sentences

    Quiet atmosphere keeps you focused. Friendly service from staff. Makes you want to live on campus, especially in the library.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The education is pretty similar to an average four-year. Small class sizes make it worth it.

    Food and Dining

    The current cafeteria is pretty small, food isn't horrible, but it's really small. I think they're building a new one.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty easy, just go to class and do your homework. Depends on the professor and the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, and take 15 academic units a semester. See a counselor to make sure you're taking the right classes to transfer.

    In three sentences

    Fulfills its purpose.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe and I see officers walking around every now and then.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's lots available here, however they tend to be more classroom subject based.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I'm aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good, if you're a local! Otherwise if you're out of state, it's very expensive!

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs here, which could be fun.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good, there's fresh food. However there are not a lot of healthy options available.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on the class. Core subjects tend to be difficult, while electives tend to be easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for your classes as soon as they're available because they feel up fast!

    In three sentences

    I think it's a good school for students that want to transfer. They have many types of classes and resources, however the times are not always flexible. It's being updated, which makes the campus nicer.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you're planning to get a BA /BS, then saving money in your first 2 years of college is key. If you study you will take with you information that can be applied towards furthering your education. This college can help save on tuition and prepare you for where you want to go.

    What to do for fun

    You can go into Dublin at the Hacienda Plaza and see a movie, go shopping or eat. San Francisco is not far and you can take the Bart.

    Food and Dining

    Yeah well, ..... it's standard college food... like airport food... or hospital food... Everything tastes good when you're hungry. But you can go off campus to any restaurant or fast food joint.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the courses in Fire Sciences can be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take your education for granted; not everybody gets to go to college.

    In three sentences

    Its in a great location, Livermore, CA. There are several courses available to satisfy several majors. Instructor availability is good when you need to ask questions.

  • 05/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is not allowed to carry guns. Therefore, in the case of an active-shooter scenario, these guys might be rather useless. On the other hand, a lot of these guys are not only prior military but some are also ex special forces. Overall, I'm rather impressed.

    Greek Life

    I'm not fully sure what the question is asking for.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are OK... I wouldn't go to Las Positas College for this though.

    Great for these types of students

    People who work hard and are looking to move on in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    In terms of solid education, it's great. Las Positas College provides a lot in the way of classes, but little in the way of extra-curricular programs (for example, it does not have Baseball). Still, it's an overall great school.

    What to do for fun

    It's a community college. In other words: Leave.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is expensive, not healthy, and really does not have the highest quality of food (unless you mention their taco salad special). Still, I believe that the college just signed a contract with a restaurant (Sweet Tomatoes???), so this should improve.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms to speak of.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the classes you're taking. Even so, if you are taking Science classes be prepared to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just remember to study hard and visit your teacher's office hours. If you do that, you should be fine.

    In three sentences

    Las Positas College is, overall, a great school with great resources. Its Chemistry Department is one of the best in the state (in my opinion), and its tutorial center is also very good. Finally, its cost is not too great with drives like the textbook loaner program put on by the Associated Students of Las Positas College (ASLPC).

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports, Musical theatre, or club activities

    Food and Dining

    Cafe is decent - we should be getting a new one with a proper coffee place this year though. Bookstore has cheaper snacks.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, it's a community college

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the classes you sign up for and what teacher you get - other wise, the classes are not that rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Develop a four year plan with a counselor as soon as possible - ideally, do this your first semester so you don't waster time picking unnecessary classes for your major. Meet with them often.

    In three sentences

    We have great instructors who really try to help the students do their best. It takes a lot longer to finish degrees however, due to significant cuts of important classes. The counselors are helpful, but there needs to be a better system of which we can meet with them.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Professional students

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable tuition

    What to do for fun

    College sports

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early!

    In three sentences

    Wonderful environment for learning. Knowledgeable Professors and a wide choice academic and professional classes.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety seems to be pretty important to Las Positas. They have emergency buttons and there are always campus security around and checking this out. Just watch out, they will catch car violations!

    Great for these types of students

    Las Positas is compatible for most students; those returning, those straight from high school. Those who are really driven and those who take their time. They let your experience be what you need, they don't try to shove you in a box.

    Bang for the buck

    Some things that are less expensive if you buy through the campus are things like microsoft office and other software programs.

    What to do for fun

    For fun on campus there are pianos in many places, clubs, and festivals with free food every so often.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is okay, but it is a little on the pricey. The dining area we had was very often dirty, with dirty and gross tables, but in fall 2013, we are set to get a new and very snazzy dining area.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms. we have to leave when it gets dark, no after parties, sadly.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is largely based on your teacher, but most teachers are very willing to go out of their way to help with whatever you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask about the matriculation process-it will help you get an earlier registration date and helps you get to know counselors. Also to get to know the librarians, they really can help you with the ins and outs of studying and school in general. And form study groups, there are many meeting places at school to study in groups and it helps to know your classmates.

    In three sentences

    In three sentences I would have to mention that all the staff in the different sections of the school such as Financial Aid, Counselors, Teachers, Tutors, and Library staff show that their general wish is to help all students succeed. And that the campus is really student friendly and conducive to learning. Lastly that food and supplies are pretty costly to buy on campus.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The new physical fitness center has been a nice spot to exercise in between classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the teachers office hours they are very helpful

    In three sentences

    Las Positas College is improving day by day. New buildings and better teachers have been developed to accommodate every students need. It has turned in to a nice college atmosphere.

  • 09/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus security guards that keep the campus very safe and a tranquil place without it seeming as if it is just a police campus.

    Greek Life

    none here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of different clubs and activities to do here on campus that fits what you want to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who want the college life without paying too much for it or not wanting to go into university right out of high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i haven't found any thus far.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition isn't nearly as high as a university to let everyone get an education.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you may join a variety of clubs or join many different sports here on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food caters to whatever your needs are, such as salads if your a vegetarian, burgers, fries, something on the go, starbuck's coffee, and etc. But on the other side it is a bit expensive.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The grades you receive aren't because the teacher dislikes or likes you, it is based on how hard you work, you shouldn't fail as long as you stay on top of your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those who will start here make sure to do what you were taught in high school which is do your work and you will do find, if you have any problems with comprehension then the teachers are more than happy to help you understand.

    In three sentences

    Las Positas is a very respectable school that caters to what the students need instead of overwhelming them with working extremely hard in a traditional university setting where there are 60-120 students all listening to a lecture. The teachers care for their students and want them to succeed in education, the college is very clean, class rooms have plenty of space, and wide variety of classes to take. This is truly a great fit for those who do not want to go to a huge university at first.

  • 06/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. There are guards all over the campus and throughout the parking lot.

    Greek Life

    I'm not too sure about the Greek Life here. There are no sororities that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to choose from if you are interested! You can choose from Math to Reading, Church to Horticulture. You name it they probably have a club to join!

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students wanting to transfer to a 4 year college. As I stated before, it's great to get the general ed classes or pre-req's out of the way at Las Positas! It's also great for students who can't afford a University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not sure of any unusual locations or traditions. I'm sure there are some, but I'm not familiar with any. ;)

    Bang for the buck

    You can get a great education at a small fee of $46 per unit. I would suggest getting all of your general education from a junior college before paying astronomic amounts of money for the same education at a university.

    What to do for fun

    There are places to hike and swim within the city that it is located. For example you could swim at Shadow Lake or hike around Del Val. Downtown Livermore is very cute and has many eateries to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is clean and has a few different restaurants to choose from; such as American, Asian, and Starbucks. The downfall is that the food is expensive. It's cheaper to go out.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms that I am aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are there to help after class, but you have to put forth the effort in asking for help. The work load is fairly lengthy, but that's how it has to be in order to learn the curriculum in a short amount of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the biggest tips that I could offer is to complete all of your FAFSA documents in a timely manner. You need to submit the FAFSA as well as some supporting documents that you'll find on your Zone. I would also suggest that you complete all of the registration documents as soon as you can. Classes fill up quick and having an upper hand by having a higher priority number could be your winning ticket to getting the classes that you want.

    In three sentences

    The college is in a conveniently located area, great for surrounding towns such as Tracy, Ca, Pleasanton Ca, or Brentwood Ca. The campus is extremely clean and most of the larger buildings are brand new. The teachers there are very competent in their teachings and are very helpful.

  • 06/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe, and have only heard of a few bad things happening- the worst of which was a car getting broken into last year.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs, and they are often set up on campus, making it easy to join!

    Great for these types of students

    Any student wanting to get an education without breaking the bank!

    Bang for the buck

    Great prices in comparison to state schools/ universities.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and sports to get involved with at LPC that can add to the enjoyment of your experience.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has good food, and there is even a Starbucks on campus. The prices, however, are pretty steep.

    Academic Rigor

    Although some classes may challenge you, you are supplied with the proper resources to receive help if you need it (of course there are exceptions to this, as there are with all schools).

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing to do is to schedule an appointment with a counselor right away; they can help you choose a major that will lead you to your intended career, assist in choosing which classes to take, and help to keep you on track for either receiving a degree from LPC or a transfer to a different school. They take the stress and worry out of going to college. Also, make sure to apply for financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Las Positas is a great place to take general education classes. The campus is nice, the tuition is affordable, and the staff is pleasant. There are also a plethora of resources, including a library, tutorial center, and a cafeteria with delicious food.

  • 10/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs to choose from but the typical times of clubs are when I have work so I can not participate.

    Bang for the buck

    Get a great education for only $46 a unit/credit!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs, but they are usually in the afternoons.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten at the school so I can't judge.

    Dorm Life

    Does not exist. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors love their subjects and are very well versed. The only downside is there is no actual research being conducted at the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the work assigned, it is college and you will fail if you don't do the work. Only a few teachers will give you extra credit. Even though it is inexpensive, people are paying for these classes so be respectful of the environment.

    In three sentences

    It is a great community college for students looking to save money. I am doing my general education here because I can actually afford to take classes without going into debt. The teachers are at the same professional level that are at four-year universities.

  • 10/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, well lit campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many available including radio

    Great for these types of students

    Live at home for first 2 yrs

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent

    What to do for fun

    Performing art center and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Food at the cafeteria good, but expensive

    Academic Rigor

    Average difficulty, not too easy, not too hard. They prepare you well for the work world or transfer to a 4 year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate! Get to know your professors and always be aware of assignment due dates. Start work on big projects well before they are due.

    In three sentences

    Great school for your AA or AS degree or certification. Campus has many new buildings and the latest technology and is friendly and welcoming. Professors are very helpful.