Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lasell College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lasell college is great for any type of student. Check it out for yourself!

    Tips for prospective students

    You should definitely visit any school you are interested in attending. For me, I was hooked the first time I visited Lasell. It's the perfect school for me. Perfect size, educational program, and especially the people.

    Bang for the buck

    In attending Lasell, you get a great education, great living conditions, a variety of athletic and extracurricular opportunities, a buffet every time you go to the cafe, constant social events (including, one of my favorites, dances), and great facilities like the gym, the library, and the campus center.

    Am enjoying being here

    When finding a school, one of the most important aspects is location. Lasell is located in the lovely town of Newton, ranking 4th in the safest cities in the USA. The campus is about a 10-15 minute walk from one side to the other. The dorms are comfortable and the student life is exciting. Athletic events are big, especially our basketball games, in which everyone gets dressed up in our college colors. Also, the T is a 5 minute walk from campus so you can always ride into Boston.

    Am learning a lot

    Lasell College offers many appealing and intriguing courses designated to benefit your knowledge of your major. Also, the student to teacher ratio is roughly 15:1, so students get more attention in the classrooms.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a BIG fashion and athletic school, if you're interested in either this is a GREAT place to be. They have a huge fashion program with tons of opportunities, like fashion shows and designing clothes for classes. We have two gyms, multiple sports teams, and an amazing program for the sports majors. If you're into sports, we have a lot of school pride and our sports games are always filled up.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is what you make for it. There aren't many opportunities presented to students - you need to go out there and find them. In order to get ahead and really get a lot out of this school, you need to go above and beyond the minimal requirements and search for some good opportunities to get involved, do well in school, find internships, and find jobs.

    Bang for the buck

    Lasell gives a lot of scholarships and financial aid, so many don't have to pay full price, but the education here is just about the same level as any state school or community college which you could be paying much less for. I know I'm not getting my money's worth, which is why I plan to transfer.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've made some great friends here, and I definitely have a great time with them, but there isn't much to do on campus. We usually end up having to take the Green Line to Boston or just end up sitting around in our dorms. It's a nice area, Newton's a very safe and upscale town - but there isn't anything to do here. I'm involved in various clubs, but most of them overlap each other and it becomes difficult to get involved without feeling overwhelmed and stressed about it.

    Am learning a lot

    The courses a very easy. All I do is read books and discuss them in class. Most of the teachers aren't even around much, they're all adjunct, so I can't reach them outside of class easily because they're always teaching somewhere else.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. There are actual campus police, so they are much more equipped than campus safety. I believe this campus is very safe. And this town is ranked 3rd safest town in the country.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities I wish that I could join, but I simply have no time, because there are a ton of them! From Psychology Club, to Photography Club, there are just so many.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that are serious about getting a great education. It is great for people who like interacting in class, and likesto connect with their fellow peers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Family weekend has many traditions, and the boat races being the biggest one. There are so many more traditions that I have yet to learn!

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I play sports. I also joined some clubs, which keeps me busy, and on the weekends I usually take the T into Boston and explore and shop with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall was just rebuilt, so it is very nice. There are many options for food, you will never go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    I live in one of the newer dorms, and it is suit styled. It is great, we have our own privet bathroom, and sinks in our room. There is a kitchen on my floor, an a common room.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses can be challenging, but a lot of them are interesting and fun to take!

    Tips for prospective students

    The first week is scary for every freshman, but everyone is in the same boat, so that is the time to make friends. Leave your door open so people can stop by and say hi. Professors here are extremely nice, and understanding.

    In three sentences

    Lasell offers many interesting courses, that I plan on participating in. The class sizes are absolutely perfect, I love that all my professors know my name. Campus life is amazing, there are so many things to do!

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    who like small classes.

    What to do for fun

    play sports

    In three sentences

    Lasell College is a 3 out of 5.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    CAB and The Office of Student Actives does a great job of offering many different events for students to attend on campus. From local bands, speakers, comedians, and sports viewings to discounted tickets to sporting events, shows, and movies.

    Food and Dining

    Lasell does offer a variety of food offerings. But the menu does get repetitive throughout the year.

    Dorm Life

    There are many different style and types of living arrangements on campus. Res Life staff try and make sure all students needs are met and that students feel comfortable and safe in the home. There are monthly floor events so residents can get to know one another.

    Academic Rigor

    Lasell has it own unique way of teaching. Classes can be very difficult. But with Lasell's focus on connected learning students set the bar for projects. Students create there own level of learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lasell is a great school for students looking to be in a small community. We have a great campus that is very safe. If you have the time, you should attend a Lasell Day or schedule your own campus visit tailored to your needs and likes.

    In three sentences

    Lasell is a great school for a student looking to join a community; being at Lasell you get to know most of the professors, faculty, staff, and students. It is a great school for those students who are self-motivated and want to excel in there field of choice. Lasell has its own unique learning style which sets students apart from the rest when finally being placed in their career of choice.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun, go hang out with friends, go to one of our many concerts, or just hang out with your roommate and make your own fun. And if that wasn't enough walk five minutes to the T and head into Boston.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but if you really want a good meal go on the T and head into boston they have some of the best restaurants in the world.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman rooms are going to be a tight squeeze, but if you can make it through that your life at Lasell will be great.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are meant to challenge you, no matter where you attend. Make sure you put time aside to study hard, but don't forget to have fun to make that balance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind, we may be small in numbers but that doesn't mean that we don't have a lot of fun things to do on campus.

    In three sentences

    Lasell is a lovely small, close knit community with tons of support from all of the faculty and students. I give Lasell a 9 out of 10.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a little on the high side for a private school but scholarships can help.

    What to do for fun

    One Word: Boston! It's a huge city ready for whatever you want to do.

    Academic Rigor

    It could be a little more challenging but it's easy to handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and try to apply for many scholarships!

    In three sentences

    The Orientation for Lasell was excellent and they couldn't have done any better. They are welcoming and they want to see you succed in your life goals. I am so happy with my decision.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Getting into Boston is easy through public transportation. You may entertain yourself in many ways. There are also movie nights and bingo nights (which give real prizes such as tv's) put on by the Campus Activities Board.

    Food and Dining

    The dining experience is repetitive, but it's college. You're supposed to live on Ramen noodles, right?

    Dorm Life

    I commute, but from what I hear, dorm life is alright.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of your experience will depend on the classes that you chose to take. If you enroll in courses that interest you, you shall do well. If a course seems too easy, you may want to speak with your professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you work hard and study, you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    A small college with intimate class sizes. The majority of the professors are set out to help you succeed in your college career. Campus life is easy to come by if you try to mingle and make friends.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always busting parties but do a good job

    Clubs and Activities

    Check out website soo many

    Great for these types of students

    Social Fashionistas Studious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Warrior canoe race during Family Friends Alimni W

    Bang for the buck

    They give student good finiancial aid and also the stir iron isn't that much dorm life=12G a year

    What to do for fun

    I'm part of Campus Activites Board we bring events to campusany things to do. Plus Boston is close 15 minutes to riverside T stop (45-1hr) and 2 min commuter rail. ( 25 min in) Then student clubs host events and sports teams play.

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok they have just revamped the dining hall and it's amazing the food has gotten better. It's Sodexo like most dining hall food

    Dorm Life

    No comment really I commute, but the Victorian houses are nice. Woodland is the freshman dorm, sucks bad the bathrooms are from excess drinking, dirty. It's the best place to make awesome friends

    Academic Rigor

    For me I've taken some pretty challenging professors, but some have not. I have soo much work in English that that class plus poly sci are hard, but professor Golden in the psyc department is amazing I took her freshman year and whike the class wasnt hard bc she So clear amazing. Please take her!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Lots of extracurriculars and dress nicely when you visit, and do an interview. Be relaxed you'll make friends, but as they say for every one hour of class 3hrs studying. Some classes this holds true for others some the classes might be easier.

    In three sentences

    This college is small with 1700 undergrad. You can have easy professors or you can have hard ones depending on your major you may have a lot of work or not. Time management Is key.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe on campus as Newton is ranked one of the best places to live at

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There is some but nothing i would get involved in

    Great for these types of students

    Criminal justice, fashion, and athletic training majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The quad will be a prime destination your first couple of weeks as a freshman. After that you will have to find parties and hang out indoors because it will get cold.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely not worth the money for the type of education you get.

    What to do for fun

    You can go into the city by taking the green line in from riverside, other than that there is Shaw's and campus which is kind of dead most of the time other than on weekends and Thursdays.

    Food and Dining

    Chicken every single day, I cant stand it.

    Dorm Life

    If you hang out with the right people you will have a blast here. It is a small school which means that mostly everyone knows each other so hanging out with people and finding things to do is not a problem. Then again, due to it being such a small school, the parties are not that great.

    Academic Rigor

    I majored in Business and the classes were way too easy. My math and English classes were indeed challenging but other than those, I was not challenged at all. I don't feel like I learned much if any and it truly was a waste of my money.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are majoring in Athletic Training, Fashion, or Criminal Justice and like small schools, this is a great school for you. It is a cheap school compared to others around Boston but trust me, it is not worth $42,000 if you are a business major.

    In three sentences

    It is an extremely small school. Classes are not competitive. The food is awful.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Stereotypical popular kids

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bingo is really popular. It sounds weird but the prizes are really good like kindlefires

    Bang for the buck

    The resources at Lasell are worth its expense

    What to do for fun

    Go into Boston

    Food and Dining

    Much better than most colleges and the dining staff are always open to new recommendations

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are fun to be in. Woodland and VanWinkle are in horrible condition

    Academic Rigor

    Grades are sometimes inflated

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan to party only on Thursday nights

    In three sentences

    Lasell is a great school academically but the students at Lasell are stuck up

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    one of the safest areas for a college ever, no one feels unsafe at this college. It is in a safe area and there are safety officers if you ever needed anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of activities you could join, that is a great way to meet new people and get your self out there!

    What to do for fun

    you are 8 miles out side of Boston you can just go there for the day with friends. The T is about a half mile away from Lasell

    Food and Dining

    the food at Lasell is really good, there are smoothie's, almost anything you can think of. There are many other foods, cheese burgers, fries, and pasta.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms i have heard are not that bad it all depends on what you think is bad or good.

    Academic Rigor

    Lasell gives you challenges if you need it but also it depends on what course you are taking. It depends on the courses you are taking and how fast you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    go and check Lasell out as soon as possible, the campus is so nice and you see people all around. The students and teachers as incredibly nice.

    In three sentences

    Lasell is so nice, the campus is beautiful i saw so many nice faces there. the campus is a really nice size as well i was surprised, but if you are thinking about lasell then go to the campus!

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is a safe place but the campus police are incredibly useless and never do their job

    Greek Life

    there is none sadly

    What to do for fun

    go into the city.

    Food and Dining

    the food is horrible

    Dorm Life

    the victorian houses are nice

    Academic Rigor

    depends on your major. fashion design and sports majors are the most difficult

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Lasell's campus is so pretty! The academics are great. I love everything about it!

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are expecting a party school your not going to find it here.

    In three sentences

    The college is small but the professors are extremely helpful. Everyone on campus is very nice and helpful. Very quite school.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Real cops on campus with gun however, they don't really do much.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities as long as you go out for them because there not gonna go to you.

    Great for these types of students

    Fashion majors

    Bang for the buck

    Kind of expensive but the education is like no other.

    What to do for fun

    Go into Boston or watch an athletic event. Plenty of bars around too.

    Food and Dining

    Food is really bad but dinning hall is brand new.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of parties for people that stay on campus during weekends such as athletes. Have regular houses and dorms and suites.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy classes but lots of hands on teaching.

    In three sentences

    Everyone goes home on weekends but there is a lot of girls. Classes are small. Great teachers. Close to Boston. A lot of real world experiences in classes such as internships.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is pretty safe, it' in a good town and the police are always around

    Greek Life

    not allowed

    Clubs and Activities

    tons of variety, theres something for everyone

    Great for these types of students

    fashion, athletic training

    Bang for the buck

    lasell is pretty expensive

    What to do for fun

    go into boston, hangout on the fields, etc

    Food and Dining

    sodexo sucks

    Dorm Life

    living in dorms are fun and imost students do live on campus all four years

    Academic Rigor

    it's not MIT or Harvard but if you put in the work you will get good grades

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what youre getting into, the main complain and reason for transfer is because students think the campus is too small and not enough people attend it

    In three sentences

    Lasell is a small residential campus with a good sense of community. You get from it what you put into it. There is a lot to be involved with

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Newton is one of the most safe cities in the country.

    Greek Life

    nonexistent

    Clubs and Activities

    for a small school it has plenty of clubs. If you can, spend your free time doing community service.

    Bang for the buck

    Not really, there are far more better schools.

    What to do for fun

    I go to Boston or hang out on the quad. Perfect campus to play volleyball and frisbee.

    Food and Dining

    Same thing every week, though I do not mind.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorms are beat, but the suits are spacious and nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your professors and major. Majority of the students in this school think it is easily, but there are some classes where you have to work your butt off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research, research, research! Sometimes a student's review can help you a lot in the long run.

    In three sentences

    You either hate it or love it, depends what you make out of it. I suggest joining a bunch of clubs and organization because it will surely help your resume.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are numerous of activities that you can do. for example join the radio station, the newspaper, or join the lasell sports team?

    Food and Dining

    Food is good

    Dorm Life

    there are different places where students live and its comfortable

    Academic Rigor

    classes tend to challenge you and if you work hard you should be fine in class

    Tips for prospective students

    All of the professors are really friendly and classes are not bad at all.

    In three sentences

    Lasell College is perfect for students that want to have one on one time with the professor. Also the class size is small and that would benefit everyone.