Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Latter-day Saints Business College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LDSBC is great for people that want to be respected, have fun, make great friends, save money, and get a great education. I think that this applies to everyone, so this should be the perfect school for any type of student to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    To you prospective students out there, have your FAFSA done by the time you've graduated because you could get everything taken care of quickly and won't have to wait along with everyone else. Also, make sure that you meet your high school's requirements to graduate because you could receive $500 extra. Lastly, make sure that you bring clothes that will keep you warm through the cold winter, especially if you're from a warm-weather climate like me. Take a tour of the school and I can almost guarantee you'll enjoy your time here.

    Bang for the buck

    LDSBC only costs $2800 a year, whereas most colleges are charging five-figures a semester. Then there's the fact that one receives great instruction on a subject, as well as these beneficial career workshops--which I believe that we should pay for, since they seem to give us an edge.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here! There is no other school that I would rather be at, right now. I didn't get accepted to Brigham Young University--Provo, but I feel that this school is better suited for me; it has small classes (40 students max), it's in the capital of Utah, offers great career workshops, everyone is friendly, the temple is only a couple of blocks away, and the instructors are willing to go that extra mile for you.

    Am learning a lot

    After attending this college my first semester, I've learned a great deal on subjects such as the economy, computers, communicating, just to name a few. These skills make it more likely that I will find a great-paying job, as well as staying up-to-date with this ever-changing world. There are great instructors, along with fellow classmates, that will aid you if you are struggling with a certain concept, as well as the great tutors. I have found myself more educated on what's going on around me and owe it to this school.

  • 07/02/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is for people who want to be surrounded with other people who have high values/standards and who want marketable skills. My admissions counselor told me that it's also a good place for people who don't necessarily know what they want to do yet--a good place to find yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Make your essays original/creative when you apply. 2) Make sure you know what you want from your college experience before you make a final decision. 3) Take initiative to call/e-mail the school and find out everything you can!

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is such a great price compared to pretty much every other college. There are lots of colleges whose tuition is $10,000 or more per semester! However, at LDSBC, the tuition is less than $5,000 for a full year. Plus, it teaches marketable skills for people who want to earn more money while they're in college.

    Will enjoy being here

    Although I wish they had more fun electives, I think the classes they have will be very enjoyable. I'm also excited to be around so many students with the same beliefs and values as me. :)

    Will learn a lot

    I haven't yet attended, but when I was looking at the class list, there were so many amazing classes that were specific to each major, and classes for everyone to take. There was a wide variety of classes--not very many fun electives, but definitely some great learning opportunities. Also, just by talking to some of the staff, I can tell how dedicated they are and I'm very excited to go there.

  • 10/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like to get involved then you should definitely attend this school. There are so many different ways you can get involved within the school. Anyone from any level or degree of personality can get involved in a positive and meaningful way. Whether you have ever had any past school involvement or not you will not feel swamped or lost on how to participate. It also a really good place to go for out-of-country students. More than half of the student population are not from North America. Very diverse place.

    Tips for prospective students

    Taking a tour of the campus could help you to really see what the school is all about. The tours are conducted by students themselves who are within the Mentor and Ambassador Program so you could the inside scoop and perspective from those who are themselves attending school there.

    Bang for the buck

    The costs of attending this school is low. I personally will not have to take out any loans while attending the LDSBC because of it's low tuition costs. It is very relieving and enjoyable to have full range of my income for whatever I should desire.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really love attending the school. The atmosphere and people are great! The layout of the school is very simple and easy to understand. There is a lot of fun things to do around the campus for dating and personal downtime. The only downside is that there is a lot of construction work going on around the school building which can be a little confusing and annoying.

    Am learning a lot

    The Latter-day Saints Business College is amazing because the teachers there make all the difference. In every class my teachers have memorized and know every student in the class. I am called by name and they are willing to make time to talk to me. What is great is that they remember what we talked about. It helps motivate me to be the best student I can be in my classes

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (see Mormon.org for more information), those learning anything in the field of business, and those who are desiring to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be humble, willing, and wanting to learn. This is not just another school to go to. You need to have a desire to learn, but if you do have this desire you will be able to thrive.

    Bang for the buck

    Its one of the least expensive schools in the state of Utah, and probably in the west. This truly is a great school where you can learn things about the world, and the things above this world.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers are great, but the students are just as good, if not better! They are fun and have great activites for all types of students.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at this school not only know how thier stuff, but they know how to teach it to all types of students who want to learn. Even if you don't know the subject very well, if you desire to learn, they can teach you.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LDS Business College is a safe environment and there is good security. You will always feel safe here.

    Clubs and Activities

    dance club, ASL club, soccer club, and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    LDS, everyone is welcome as long as they abide by all the rules and guidlines.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every tuesday the school is closed for an hour for a devotional.

    What to do for fun

    There are malls close by and their in the process of building more shopping centers near by. There is ice skating during the winter and skiing and snowboarding. There are many parks and lots of hiking trails during the summer.

    Food and Dining

    There a lot of places near by for dining out. But the school has a cafe that the students use to eat at and hang to do their homework. The Cafe doesn't have the best food, but its good for the price.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a great to start with but I wouldn't recommend living there for the full two years.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor here at LDS Business College is reasonably do able. The teachers want you to succeed in all you do, and will be willing to help you whenever you needed. There is also a great free tutor lab that are your fellow students willing to help you in any subject your struggling in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any tips I would recommend would be to be ready to learn, have good attendance, be prepared to teach your fellow students, and finally have a good attitude about your classes and school.

    In three sentences

    The LDS Business College is a good place to go if your wanting a good learning environment. The teachers there are willing and strive to help the students with whatever is needed to help them succeed. I would recommend this school to others who want a good and reasonably priced education.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Latter-day Saints Business College is definitely awesome for all types of students, there are so many different people that attend here and there are variations of learning approaches for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    It is so affordable, the professors are awesome and the curriculum is perfect for the setting and for moving on.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and the classes are so tight knit that it's impossible not to make new friends!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into something at this school that will lead you on the right path when you move on to a 4 year school.

    In three sentences

    Latter-day Saints Business College is awesome. I am so glad I decided to come here, the culture is amazing. It is so well rounded.

  • 08/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for kids who so well in smaller classes with more personal attention. You actually learn your teachers names and they learn your's. You're not just a number here.

    Bang for the buck

    Most schools you will most likely need to take out a large loan to go to but not for here. If you get scholarships/work part time you probably wont need a loan at all.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the smaller classes(max class size is 40). You get to know people so much faster and make so many more friends than at a larger school.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you have a passion for learning and a strong love for the Gospel, this is definitely the school for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips of preparation: find a love for learning, make time for the spiritual and the secular learning, and prepare your heart and mind for building a stronger testimony for the church.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I left my backpack in the Commons & came back 2 hours later and nothing was stolen from it! It is very safe and nothing bad happens.

    Greek Life

    Not here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities, basically any kind of club has the chance of getting started. There is now a Latin dance club, hip-hop club, Soccer Club, among many others.

    Great for these types of students

    You don't have to major in Business to attend here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    After new student orientation we hike to Ensign peak and wave a banner. Every Tuesday there is a Devotional & someone speaks about gospel matters to us, we dress professionally and take notes. Before class starts each day, there is a prayer that is said.

    Bang for the buck

    The BC is amazing! If you have not drawn closer to God, Christ, the gospel, then you have taken the school for granted. Get involved!

    What to do for fun

    Shop at City Creek center, Gateway. Hike, Temple Square, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of different place to eat. It's Salt Lake!! The taco stands are incredible, they are all over the city. Crown Burger, located adjacent to the BC; In n' out is a must, Five Guys Burgers & Fries, The Pie (located up by the U), Moochies.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are... okay. It is an awesome way to get to know people, since they live right next to you. If possible at all, look for local housing instead. Both the guys and girls dorms are not impressive, make sure to get a bunch of quarters to do laundry.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are pretty easy, the deeper you get into your major, the harder it will become, of course!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Go to new student orientation, get to know all sorts of different types of people. Join the choir, go to the temple, attend your local church. Get to know the President of the college, he's a really neat guy! Join Mentors & Ambassadors, that will change your life.

    In three sentences

    Latter-day Saint Business College is just that, it has a diverse community of many, hundreds of countries and states that are represented. The LDS faith is 99% represented and there are over 50% Return Missionaries that are here. You don't have to go into Business to attend here, you just need the faith to be in a great, rich, spirit affected atmosphere!

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones interested in a more personal learning style. Religious. Looking for a quieter education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Because this is a school owned by a church classes are often started with a prayer.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a private school and owned by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, half of the tuition is covered by the school/donations. As I prepare to graduate, the full cost of a 4 year college is what I fear the most when I leave the LDS Business College.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of outdoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is food very close to the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the school! I think that anyone who is looking for a small, personal school will love it!

    In three sentences

    LDS Business College is perfect if you are looking for a small college to start off at if you need to establish good educational basics in your life. It is large enough that it will give you a feel for and prepare you for a 4 year college. It is small enough that your teachers know you and you will not get lost in the crowd.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely Safe!

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs for the school!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for LDS types of students unsure about their future careers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual Tradition if you are not a part of the LDS church than a tradition is to have devotionals every Tuesday. During that time the campus is shut down and mostly every student attends to hear a motivational speech by a selected speaker.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are unsure about your major and will like a very affordable institution this is the place for you. Even non-members of the church tuition is much! affordable than government community college! The professors are great, the wonderful things about them are they are very accessible. They also have a mentors program and they assign each and every freshman with a sophomore to help facilitate your very first semester.

    What to do for fun

    The School have lots of activities planned every year! Keep in mind that the school has an honor code that goes with the Latter Day Saints religion. The school is located downtown, there are two big malls, movie theaters, clubs, Latin clubs, skating parks, parks, temple square monuments, skying resorts, lots of amazing scenery for mountain hiking/ biking etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is available on campus. The food is not terrible, some days it is great and others it is not so great. However, you will find that most colleges dinning and Food places usually gets pretty boring. Students usually like to go out and venture to other places to eat since the school is located at the heart of downtown.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm life is not the best, however they are very cheap! College students usually wants something comfortable, accessible, and cheap and the LDSBC dorms provides just that for their students. Even the neighboring apartments that are off campus are very much affordable than most other colleges in the United States. It is also one of the 2-year colleges that has dorms for their students.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically it is not hard at all, because the classrooms are smaller, which gives you that hands on experience that you need to boost your confidence up when you do transfer. However, you will find that no matter what school you attend, in order to be most successful you must attend class, do your homework, put time into the course and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since LDSBC is a smaller College, always try to be in class, on time and every day. The Professors are here to help, there are a lot of resources as far as tutoring goes and it is free. Make sure you speak to an academic adviser, when you attend so that they can help you choose the right classes according to the 4-year school that you will attend in the future.

    In three sentences

    Latter Day Saints Business College is filled with love from students and professors. The campus is filled with accessible information given to students, advisers are always available to help map out you 2-year plan at school. It is a very small college and the learning experience is easier than most colleges that has a bigger student body.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is in a building that has security and cameras but there aren't metal detectors or anything. It's safe and monitored but not restricting.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Hip Hop, latin dance, Improv, sports, there aren't a lot, but they're easy to start up and maintain if you want to create your own.

    Great for these types of students

    international and those who need a second chance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are devotionals I think every Tuesday and Thursday. so dress in your sunday clothes :-)

    Bang for the buck

    LDSBC is a place that can help you get to a better place. if you did poorly in high school and want a second chance, if you're an international student that needs to eventually get to a university, or if you have no idea what you want to do and are just trying to get some college experiences, this is a pretty good starting point. there are a ton of international students from all over the world who are using this place to get their foot into the US college system so make connections with as many countries as you can and have fun with the sdifferent cultures.

    What to do for fun

    Find a singles ward!!! the LDS single life is entirely dependent upon the ward you attend. my recommendation is to go to the wards at the institute building on the U of U campus. several wards meet in that building from international to zip code based. find your niche and have a great time.

    Food and Dining

    there is only one place to get food at the Business college and it's not always open. however you can go ouitside of the college and it's close to central downtown so there are plenty of places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Do NOT live in the Dorms. they are not dorms, the female housing is a floor of the Plaza hotel that is extremely overpriced for the accomodations made. The male dorms consist of the lodge and are even less impressive. While the Dorms offer a more compact social schedule, you can get that and much more by attending a singles ward.

    Academic Rigor

    I would describe the business college as something in between a high school and a college. the classes are not challenging in anything except the ammount of homework assigned. for example instead of having a sheet of paper with 6 or 7 challenging questions that actually require your best efforts to puzzle out, you will be assigned 7 pages of mundane questions that take up a whole lot of time and little to no effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs! you will make more friends and have a lot more fun. Most people who attend the BC are there to get their foot in the door at a bigger university such as the U of U or BYU. If they are seeking anything less than a 2 year degree then it's usually for transfer credits or some type of certification. Just make sure that the credits will transfer because a lot of them won't and you will have to re-do a lot once you transfer, and if you get to transfer. my recommendation is check with the college you want to transfer to and make sure you don't need a two year degree to transfer and can just use your credits.

    In three sentences

    The BC as most students call it is a good transition school. The people are very friendly, and like any college the difficulty of your class depends on your teacher. However most of the classes are not as intellectually challenging as a University.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though is is located in downtown, it is really safe. There are no worries to lose your items at campus.

    Greek Life

    There are no worries about studies, because we have tutors who help students with different subjects. They are also free!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have different kinds of clubs which you can join. If you want, you are always welcome to create your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    All students with different hobbies, traditions, culture, and language will enjoy LDS Business College. We have students from all over the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We always pray before each class period, which helps all of us to concentrate on lessons and study with spirit.

    What to do for fun

    We have tons of parties to attend. The most important difference is we do not drink alcohol on parties, so it's safe.

    Food and Dining

    We have a great caffe where you can enjoy delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    Our dorm is located 2 blocks from LDS Business College.

    Academic Rigor

    Grading is tight, but it all depends on you, on way how you study and how you make effort into your studies. Teachers are always willing to work with you and help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for LDS Business College, come to students orientation and have fun attending college here!

    In three sentences

    If you love studying with the spirit, LDS Business College is the great place to start your spiritual and academic life. It is a great place to study for not only residents, but also for foreign students.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I wish they offered more sports activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Latter Day Saints. Low budget.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Devotionals weekly.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very inexpensive. My Fafsa offered me more than enough money in grants in order to pay for tuition and extra stuff as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of outdoors activities close by. Pretty much all the big city activities as well.

    Food and Dining

    If you live on campus at the student housing requested, you are required to purchase $300 worth of food at the Cafe located next to the college. This saves cooking time, but limits your choices of food.

    Dorm Life

    Not many dorms offered nearby. The main male dorms only has a kitchen for the whole floor of rooms. Yoo are better off finding your own apartment and rooming with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are experienced professionals and provide you with the best real time strategies to have success in your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Participate in as many activities as the college has to offer. They are always lots of fun,.

    In three sentences

    This is a very small and simple college. The people are very friendly and the professors are very caring. This is a great place to be able to focus on your education and receive excellent training for your career.

  • 06/26/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its great for LDS students who want to attend a private church school for a small amount of money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check it out. I know it isnt well known but i have heard it is awesome.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are always things going on around campus and the clubs are very service oriented.

    Bang for the buck

    This college really understand the need to have a cheaper education but you still learn just as much as you would anywhere with half the price!

    In three sentences

    This school is so well rounded in the education world. Classes are small and the teachers truly care about you. The experience you gain here will not only help you in the work force but also through out your life.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've left things in the halls and come back to find that they are there. I also have friends that have found their tablets in the lost and found.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you want to join a club, you will find one, there are also at least two activities a week.

    Bang for the buck

    very good value, great teachers, good education.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the commons, ping pong along with other stuff, it's fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is inconsistent. A lot of times it leaves more to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    There are lots of options of places to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part classes are challenging but not too rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early. Buy your school supplies early as well since lines at the bookstore will be long once school starts. Meet with an academic adviser to help you set up everything not just for now but for the future as well

    In three sentences

    Good spiritual setting, which eases learning. Attentive teachers that care about their student's learning. Fun environment.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is extremely safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school offers clubs for those who are interested in a variety of subjects.

    Great for these types of students

    A wonderful place for students who are interested in improving themselves not only with secular knowledge, but also spiritually.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Tuesday there is a devotional speaker that comes to uplift the students and faculty. There are no classes scheduled during this time so every person has the opportunity to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    Wonderful and useful degrees that are done withing two years for a great price!

    What to do for fun

    Living in the middle of downtown Salt Lake City, there is always something entertaining going on.

    Food and Dining

    The school offers a cafeteria that does have a wide variety of food that is tasty.

    Dorm Life

    The only official housing is not that impressive, however the location is ideal.

    Academic Rigor

    The level of challenge depends upon the classes you choose to take, but usually every class will offer at least one thing to challenge every student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into every class with a good attitude and a determination to learn something every day, and you will find yourself progressing in more ways than you ever thought possible.

    In three sentences

    LDS Business College has an inspiring and uplifting atmosphere. Not only do I learn things i need for my degree, but everyday that I attend, I come away with a spiritual uplifting that would be difficult to find anywhere else.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe at this school.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, there is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs and activities to join but there needs to be more sports.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those students who work best in smaller groups and students that are going to school for business.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of the school is spectacular compared to the education you get, especially if you are majoring into any kind of business education.

    What to do for fun

    I go walk around Temple Square or go to the mall and shop with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the carriage cafe is great, and the book store has a great selection of food and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not so hard that you don't learn anything, but it still has the challenge you need in a learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip i have for prospective students is to make friends that you can hang out with, but that will also be able to help you with your classes. Teaching One Another is a very big learning tool in this school, so if you have a friend you can do that with then you will be good to go.

    In three sentences

    I love this school because it truly helps you learn what you are there to learn. I find that the teachers are especially special because they take the time to make sure each student really understands what is being taught. Another thing I really love is that there is devotional every Tuesday to help everyone re-center themselves.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe zone.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some interesting clubs like Latin dance club or the Japanese club

    Great for these types of students

    Awesome place for member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Saints days.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Is the only college that has devotionals and opening pray.

    Bang for the buck

    Even if you are not a member the tuition here is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are some clubs in the school, like soccer, Japanese and Italian clubs, that keep you involve in learning and activities that you may like.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria is a nice place but the food and the schedule still need to improve.

    Dorm Life

    It is a healthy environment, perfect for international students.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the classes, general classes are easy and interesting. Mayor classes are very practical and useful for real life scenarios.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a good opportunity to begin your career and you would find a lot of people that want to see you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Small classes that let you participate and know your classmates. Teachers who know your name. A lot of good sources to succeed like CDC, tutors, etc.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Tall building, super safe. Lots of security.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you are into that.

    Great for these types of students

    All ages, trying to transition into another school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The 8th floor has a great view of the Salt Lake City temple.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Wait for the elevators.

    Food and Dining

    So much good food all within 5 minutes.

    Dorm Life

    Very interactive.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a good place to learn, not learn everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to have a clean shaven face.

    In three sentences

    Small and personal. Motivating and forgiving. Helpful and supportive.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is fairly safe, but I would much appreciate it if they would allow open carry, and conceal and carry on campus, and housing. You cant even own pepper spray. Its pathetic.

    Greek Life

    There are occasional parties, mostly dances at the church not to far from the college. Some people occasional host parties. Its not really a school for parties, at least not huge ones.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs are made every year, and you can make you own if you wish.

    Great for these types of students

    If you a Latter Day Saint you will fit in fairly well. Its a little to much for me, but that is a minor inconvenience. Other than that its a good experience for just about everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Devotional every Tuesday, which I never go to. There's winter ball held every winter up at the capital building.

    Bang for the buck

    For what you pay you get a good education for far less than any other college I know of.

    What to do for fun

    There are two malls, a movie theater, Temple Square, some good down town places, a few parks, and track to take you out of the downtown area if you wish.

    Food and Dining

    Unless you eat out you don't get much. The cafe on campus isn't all that great, but there are plenty of other places to eat at in the surrounding area.

    Dorm Life

    Besides not being allowed to own fire arms in a state that allows that kind of thing its alright. The internet is a bit slow, and the building is sort of a mess, but what do you expect for a dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    Its not perfect, but it is unique.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to learn business this is a place to check out.

    In three sentences

    You learn things you wouldn't learn at any normal college. Its a friendly environment. Unfortunately still depends on text book based learning.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Dance

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with a good attitude everyone here is happy

    In three sentences

    I really like the college

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Downtown Salt Lake City is filled with restaurants. The schools location is close to two malls that are filled with places to eat. You can find anything from a cheap hamburger to a gourmet meal for a nice date with that special someone.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fantastic. There are many friendly people always inviting you to activities. There are lots of great sights to visit nearby campus. You can always find something to do and people are always looking to make new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    You can feel and see the teachers really care about how well you do. They will do all they can to help you succeed in school and in the work field. There are many helpful students who are always willing to help you if you struggle. It has helped me become more qualified and successful with my profession and I know it can help anyone accomplish their own professional goals.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    religious

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends

    In three sentences

    small classes hands on school well known organization

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety at the College is excellent. I have lost my phone once and I was able to get it back. When I am at the college, i feel that everyone really does look out for each other and that is great!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that are offered at the college. One of the clubs that I would like to join would be the photography club since I love photography.

    What to do for fun

    I like to do photography, play basketball, read a book and watch movies.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the carriage Cafe is pretty good. I normally just go for their breakfast menu since it tends to be cheaper, if you're a student then you can get a 18% discount on their food which is great!

    Dorm Life

    LDS Business College doesn't really have dorms, but everyone that I have lived with that also go to the college have been great and I have really learned a lot while being here.

    Academic Rigor

    The College really does have an excellent way to help students to want to succeed while being at the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    LDS Business College is a great place to learn and with the college having smaller classes, it allows more one on one time with the teachers which is great!

    In three sentences

    I would rate LDS Business College a 10 because I have really enjoyed going to school here. It has really helped myself to become a better person than what I was before I came to this college.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We make plans to go on hikes and do a lot of things that we can.

    Food and Dining

    Me and my roommates cook all the time and I love it.

    Dorm Life

    This school doesnt have dorms but they do have certain housing agreements with people and it is so much fun.

    Academic Rigor

    It is so nice because we have teachers with real experience and who help us also get real experience as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say to stay on top of your assignments and come to class as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    It is amazing here. I was very nervous about coming here straight from high school but I have learned so much. This is such a great college.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Salt lake has very cheap movie theaters and there's lots of places that you can go to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    LDS BC has a carriage cafe restaurant; you can find really good and healthy food as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are off-campus. It is awesome if you have nice roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very strict in their Honor Code. In fact it is very easy to follow their rules.

    Tips for prospective students

    To study hard and do their assignments on time, to avoid too much stress while in college. Procrastination won't take them anywhere, but just to have too much anxiety on a given task.

    In three sentences

    It is one of the best colleges because it has very well prepared instructors. Students at this Institution of Learning, are being taught by the Spirit. There are great opportunity for everyone who applies to be accepted, because this college wants students to have the opportunity to expand their knowledge and get a career.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great Value for your time and money

    What to do for fun

    You are in the middle of the Downtown area, go exploring

    Food and Dining

    It gets a bit bland but there are so many other options nearby that you don't need to spend all your time at the Carriage Cafe

    Dorm Life

    The PRI approved housing is not that great. Good for one semester and then find some friends and go rent privately.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open. Study. Take advantage of the resources.

    In three sentences

    Spiritually enhanced Learning with invested tutors who want you to succeed

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Skiing

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the Honor Code! Expect a unique learning experience.

    In three sentences

    I appreciate the individual care the faculty and staff have for the students. The honor code helps to create a very focused learning environment. The downtown location is very helpful for internship opportunities.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. All the students have to abide by an honor code so that keeps everyone very honest. Also the location of the school is in a very nice area, so it is a very safe campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The price for schooling is very affordable for the experience you get. It really is a great place to be a student. They also offer multiple scholarship that are available to most.

    What to do for fun

    Being in downtown Salt Lake there are a lot of things to do for young college students. Energy Solutions Arena and the Depot are both right across the street and there are always shows to go to. There is also the City Creek mall which is a few blocks down, which is a newer shopping center and a really fun place to hangout.

    Food and Dining

    The main cafeteria is called the Carriage Cafe. They offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The menu is pretty much the same everyday so there is not much variety, but the food that is served is really good.

    Dorm Life

    Around the school there are plenty of on-campus and off-campus locations. It is a great way to make friends right away at the school. Some locations are very nice and they are all reasonable in price.

    Academic Rigor

    They will stretch you in all of your classes with a lot of assignments, but it is nothing that can't be accomplished. There are a few difficult classes that you will need help on.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school offers free on site tutoring which is a great tool with some of the tougher classes. There are a lot of activities that the school does, so its best to get involved to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    This is a great institution that not only focuses on the secular needs of the students, but on the spiritual needs as well. All of the instructors are very professional, and have a lot of experience in the field they are teaching. Overall it is a great atmosphere to learn in.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety here is great, being in down town Salt Lake we have a very clean welcoming place to attend school.

    Bang for the buck

    While here I have had the opportunity thru many of my classes to network with people who are the leaders in their respective fields. This has given me the inside view on how to get into future jobs, and has exposed me to many great mentors that I now keep in contact with.

    What to do for fun

    Everything. Art, culture, and performances are all through the valley. Or you can go up into the mountains and explore the wonders of the rocky mountains.

    Food and Dining

    We have a local cafe next door that is affiliated with the school and the bookstore has some snacks too.

    Dorm Life

    Life is good, clean places to live and excellent living standards are kept by all that go to school here.

    Academic Rigor

    The work here is a 7 on a scale of 1-10, but don't think that means you can slide by with high school level work. The faculty here expect great things from every student

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work, this may be a smaller college but they give you real work to do that will challenge you to grow beyond your expectations.

    In three sentences

    It has been a great experience coming here for school. I've enjoyed most the fact that almost all of their staff have spent a large part of their careers out in the work force, and they bring that experience into the classroom to create a unique learning environment. I would recommend coming here to anyone who wants to be able to get out of college with the skills to be at the top.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You're in downtown Salt Lake! There are two huge malls that you can visit anytime. There are movie theaters, dances all the time, temple square is beautiful year round, not to mention skiing and snowboarding in the winter. It's an awesome place to run and hike because you're surrounded by mountains. Every Tuesday at 11:20 there is a devotional at the Assembly Hall and they're really great to go to and hear the speakers.

    Food and Dining

    The Carriage Cafe here is super good. The food is really fresh and pretty dang cheap. I don't have a meal plan, so I can't tell you how much that is, but a lot of people say it's definitely worth it.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not extremely hard homework loads or classes, but the teachers expect your best. Group projects are heavily weighted in all classes, so make sure you can work with others. Also, depending on the teachers, most are very understanding about assignments if you go in and talk to them, so just make sure you become good friends with your teachers!

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into the programs!!! I came here as Undecided and now that my semester is over, I know which program I want to go int, but I wish I could have been in it from the beginning of the semester.

    In three sentences

    This school is extremely organized and not too difficult in terms of homework load, depending on your program. The teachers really know what they are talking about, and they try to make the concepts and lessons personal so that you can understand them better by applying it to your own life. It is a religious school, and every class begins with a prayer, but everyone around you has amazing standards and will help you with ANYTHING.

  • 11/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are different clubs: Photography, Play theory (playing games with other students), Media, Soccer, etc. The college is located in downtown Salt Lake, so there's a lot of places you can go eat, visit, or shop.

    Food and Dining

    There are meal plans available at the college. Food is good, but you can buy all your stuff from Walmart or other stores

    Dorm Life

    LDS Business College doesn't have dorms, must of the students live in apartments with other roommates around the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the classes you take. Some are harder than others. What makes this college not as hard is all the tools you have to improve your grade. For example, free tutoring, teachers willing to work with you outside of class, study groups, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many colleges have classes with hundreds of students so it is really hard for students to connect with the professors. That's why the LDS Business College is perfect for your first two years of college! classes are relatively small (30-40 students) and if you have questions the teachers are more than willing to work with you before or after class. Also, the environment is great! There's no craziness or inappropriate activities. However, that doesn't mean it isn't fun. You will find lots of things to do and have fun at the same time.

    In three sentences

    LDS Business College helps one build discipline, character, and integrity. Students and teachers are very friendly and willing to help one another. It inspires you to accomplish life's goals.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do just because the school is in Salt Lake City downtown. Also the Tuesday devotionals are awesome,

    Food and Dining

    The food at the caffeteria is not as good and is pretty expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live at the dorms, I have my own apartment but I have heard that they are expensive for what they offer.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of homework and the teachers know a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Useful things to know are that the school is pretty small so it would be great if you go to know the other students and teacher. Also, networking is really important at the school. Make friends and talk to your teacher a lot,

    In three sentences

    I love been a part of LDS Business College. I know that is a place where not only academics are important but also the students that attend the school. The teachers are awesome, they have real working experience, They know what they are talking about.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I found it fun burning a couple minutes in between classes playing some ping pong.

    Food and Dining

    The carriage café has reasonably priced food. If you don't like what is there, hey you are in the middle of Salt Lake City. There are two malls easily within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't stay in the dorms but some people I knew who did said it was good.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are good and it prepares you well for transferring schools to get higher degrees.

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers are all amazing. Brother Brown teaches religious classes and, in my opinion, he is the best!

    In three sentences

    LDS Business College is a great place to start off. It has good classes and a cheap tuition that you can take advantage of to build up cash for grad school. I am very happy I chose this college.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In an LDS environment you don'teven have to worry about people stealing your stuff or anything. I leave my backpack and everything at the campus computers in the halls while I go to the bathroom and never worry about if it will all be there when I get back.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's an LDS gospel oriented campus and weekly devotionals make it a spiritually uplifting place to attend college.

    Bang for the buck

    You get more than you pay for here, in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    The school doesn't have much but it's right in the center of Salt Lake City so there's always something to do close by.

    Food and Dining

    They offer meals at the Carriage Cafe but they are closed a lot. So it's easier and sometimes cheaper to go find somewhere else to eat outside campus, which is easy because it's right in downtown salt lake city.

    Dorm Life

    You just live wherever you want, the college doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes all have homework, it depends on the teacher a ton though. Every class is different depending on who is the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need a great college for not much money, definitely come here. It's worth it even if you just want to get to know the college life before transferring somewhere larger or with your specific major.

    In three sentences

    It's great here, classes are good. You will never get lost in the one building college.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you are not afraid of the homeless walking around everywhere you are fine. they don't bite usually too.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    the only club I know of is a chess club.

    Great for these types of students

    Awesome students are welcome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have this tradition that I try to scare my roommate Mat, when even I can. Its become a tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    You will never find cheeper tuition anywhere else. and the school is so small that the teacher are really able to focus on you and how well you are doing.

    What to do for fun

    lots of grew trails to run and bike on during the summer.

    Food and Dining

    Carriage Cafe is the schools cafe and it is pretty good, its hit or miss really.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It can be hard in some classes but teacher are always ready to help you out and tutoring on the 9th floor is always arable.

    Tips for prospective students

    map out what you want to do exactly by the end of at least your second semester so that you will be able to plan better for you future

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful school, fantastically located and with great staff, students, and teachers. The weather is very pleasant. And people are very nice