Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lawrence University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 out of 47 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lawrence is full of very chill, down-to-earth kids. We know how to study, but we also know how to have fun. It's a very tight knit community, and you'll probably be able to recognize almost everyone by the end of your freshman year.

    Bang for the buck

    The technology on campus isn't the most innovative or exciting, but it's functional and gets you what you need.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are not only brilliant, but they really do take the time to get to know their students and care about what's happening in their lives.

  • 04/17/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 out of 15 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its expensive, but worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    A huge turn off is the weather. Lawrence is right on a river so the wind chill is crazy. That being said, Appleton is a fun town. Personally I think its really cool that such a small town gets Broadway tours just like a big city.

    Will learn a lot

    My mom went to Lawrence and she and all of her classmates are amazing, intelligent people that have gone far. My mom has her PhD and has a friend in the Bankok Orchestra. Whenever I have gone to the campus, I've really loved that they have the conservatory of music integrated into the rest of the school. My mom was a pre-med major with a minor in theatre and that isn't uncommon. A girl from my town who is a freshman there now says it hasn't changed. She's currently doing freshman seminars, where a physics professor is studying the Odyssey with them with a totally different perspective that a Lit professor.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Lawrence is great for academics of any interest. Music is particularly strong, and even if you are not a major, there are plenty of opportunities to view concerts, oftentimes by world-renowned fantastic players and famous groups: we had Bobby McFerrin, Howard Levy (renowned harmonica player), Richard Goode. Jazz, opera, and ethnic music are also very strong here. There are many lesson opportunities along with ensembles that many non-majors participate in. On the other side of the street, there is a wealth of research opportunities in addition to or as part of independent studies which count as classes. These truly uphold Lawrence's individualized learning tradition. Lawrence encourages well-rounded students by its degree requirements which, no matter one's discipline, requires at least a sampling in many others. I feel Lawrence really prepares students for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend visiting campus, taking classes, going to some extracurricular events. Lawrence is not for everyone. Despite its rigorous academics, Lawrence has myriad clubs and various other events one could participate in. Prospective students must realize that academics are only half of the equation, that this is their surrogate home. Be as involved as possible, make friends, create lasting memories.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is already over $40,000, and rising, but because of the above reasons, I feel that Lawrence deserves a large percentage of this. They do offer decent financial aid, as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is perfect. There are many places one can go if they seek friendly encounters or simple solitude. Everything is within one's grasp; literally everything is within a comfortable walking distance. The people are very friendly and intellectual, but not in competitive manner like larger schools. Professors really invest time into their students which enhances understanding and offers students reliable references for the future.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are absolutely knowledgeable, inspiring, and helpful. What is fantastic is that they do not teach and expect only the basics of any topic; they encourage students to delve into their own experiences, to pull disciplines together to create a new intriguing perspective which enhances students' understanding. Academics certainly hold high priority, but here it is not a chore but an antidote for one's unquenchable thirst for knowledge.

  • 10/24/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't mind what the town is like. Students who love music. Students who are thinking of doing a double major. Students who like a fair mix of party attitude and civil, academic representation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though this is a fair test school, If you have a good ACT score, It would be of good use to submit it. It'll be one more thing that will make you stand out in a good way. Don't just take other's words for it, take an overnight trip and see the campus for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition number was large and quite frightening. After a talk with one of the admissions staff, Ken Anselment, I felt reassured that this place is worth it. My overnight visit, for all it's worth, helped me choose to apply and want to be a lawrence viking.

    Will enjoy being here

    My personal preference is that I just go to college, regardless of the town area. I actually like the quaint area because of the mix of brand name and mom and pop shops. For an outsider, you might have to go about an hours way for some entertainment but I like the area. The campus is beautiful and the conservatory is just so fitted into life here. The dorms are cool and I loved Kolman Hall.

    Will learn a lot

    The teacher in Biodiversity made the class as focused as possible so that the people knew what the lesson was about. He also sensed when class morale was low and interacted with the students the entire period.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall Lawrence is really quite safe. Albeit there was an incident where a sketchy guy in a van was driving around and popping into peoples' rooms while they were asleep and stealing things. A guy had his laptop taken. But that was an anomaly.

    Greek Life

    The frats are full of nice people, mostly... There are a few of them and they throw the biggest parties, naturally.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many activities here, and the best club of all is the Outdoor Recreational Club (ORC).

    Great for these types of students

    Brilliant minded, devoted, driven, open minded, and cool guys.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's the senior streak at the end of the year, the nearly naked party where you have to wear only clothing made from non-clothes materials. We're nudists here in Appleton.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is really on the expensive side, but the food and the academics really make it worth the cash. That is, if you can afford it.

    What to do for fun

    Go down to the train tracks and fish, or go to the VR (Viking Room) and have a beer with your professor and discuss the impending heat death of the universe.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore all the opportunities Lawrence has to offer, because there are so many of them!

    In three sentences

    A truly inspirational institution with dedicated professors and eccentric people that are dedicated to learning.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never once have I felt unsafe, even walking across campus in the middle of winter at 4:30 AM.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life exists, but it's by no means the center of the social scene. It's nice to have it there - parties and events, etc - but also nice that it's not the be-all end-all of making friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's pretty much something for everyone out there! And if there isn't, you'll probably be able to start it.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-competitive students who are interested in learning, not just getting the highest score. Students who maybe didn't get the best grades in high school, but whose test scores tell a different story.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ahem. Senior Streak. It's exactly what it sounds like. And the Great Midwest Trivia Contest - look it up. It's my favorite weekend of the year and the one on which I get the least sleep.

    Bang for the buck

    I won't lie - it's expensive. Sometimes I wonder if it's worth it. I have to conclude that it is - it's truly a wonderful experience here.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs. Play club sports. Lie out on Main Hall Green with your friends on a sunny day. Go to the VR, if you're 21, or numerous other institutions on College Ave. Grab some coffee at Harmony Cafe, go to a frat party on a Saturday night.

    Food and Dining

    It gets boring after awhile - it's cafeteria food. But before it's boring, it's pretty darn good - better than probably 95% of the cafeterias out there. The cafe is overpriced, as is the corner store, but you get used to it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are fine - nothing special, nothing terrible. A lot of renovations are going on, so many buildings have lovely new bathrooms! Definitely not half bad. The community of a dorm is there if you want it, but you don't have to join in, either.

    Academic Rigor

    Some intro courses can be a bit lacking, of course, but you can't really sail through anything, and once you're past the beginning, everything gets much, much tougher - and way more rewarding. 18th Century Literature totally isn't my thing, but it's part of the English Major's requirements, and while I worked harder than I ever had before on a 15-page term paper about a book I didn't like, I still loved the class, thanks to my wonderful professors. There are some amazing, inspiring teachers here who make you love working hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Find your place, whether it be Swing Dancing, Lawrence International, Habitat for Humanity, Ultimate Frisbee, or LUMOS, our Harry Potter club. Can't choose? Join them all. Everybody's welcoming. Get to know people on your floor. When choosing dorms, go for Ormsby or Plantz - they're the most central, and walking can be brutal in the winter. Go to class, go to your professor's office hours, call their cell number if they give it to you - use every resource you can and get to know your professors!

    In three sentences

    Lawrence is a wonderful, welcoming community with a variety of great programs and some extremely special professors. Winter can get pretty long at times, but there's lots to do if you can navigate the cold and get involved in activities. The best part is the spread of people: you get hugely talented musicians, athletes, and people majoring in everything from English to Biochem to Russian.

  • 08/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself!

    Bang for the buck

    Even though its expensive, Lawrence gives good scholarships and makes it possible for most people to attend who deserve it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the people and the campus is really nice, however Appleton isn't a very fun city. Its hard to get around if you don't have a car. I'm from Seattle so the weather in both summer and winter is unpleasant.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much more than I ever thought I would! The professors are wonderful and the classes are ridiculously small. You can't fall through the cracks.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus goes out of their way to keep Lawrentians safe. they are accessible 24/7 and are always seen around campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is really noticed on campus due to all the activities they organize for Lawrence Students

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive, but it is worth e.v.e.r.y p.e.n.n.y

    What to do for fun

    Trying everything on campus in its own is fun. Just make sure you don't get caught up in life at Lawrence and forget about your academics

    Food and Dining

    The presence of the Cafe and the dining room is very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life presents a lot of opportunities for students to interact with each other through communal activities which are hosted by the RLA's

    Academic Rigor

    LU is a tough school to keep up with as the weeks go by. This does not mean that it is impossible to pass tough :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be eager to try out new things, trust me, it is very exciting!

    In three sentences

    LU is a society which accepts a wide variety of people from all over the world.

  • 06/22/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 8 people found this review useful. 9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    It would be nice being away from home and adventuring in a different city.

  • 06/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Senior streak is probably the most unusual tradition that I can think of at Lawrence. Every year, towards the end of Spring term, the seniors have an event at the VR and then it's followed by the senior streak where they all take off their clothes and run around campus while other non-senior students gather around to watch.

    Bang for the buck

    Lawrence is expensive, but it's totally worth it. It's a great school, and professors really make an effort to make you get the most out of your experience and education here. Also, financial aid is very possible to get and if you feel like you need a little more help to afford it, just talk to admissions/financial aid office because they are usually able to help out and make it work.

    What to do for fun

    There is almost always something to do on the weekends. There are parties frequently as well as other big events especially in the spring like LUaroo, Relay for Life, and Ormsby Zoo Days.

    Food and Dining

    Our food is actually really good compared to other schools. Sure, it can get old after eating it every day for a couple years, but there are plenty of options to choose from so you aren't forced to eat the same thing day after day. All of our food is from Bon Appetit which is a catering company and they do a great job to provide good quality for the students as well as keeping options open especially for vegan, vegetarian, or gluten-free eaters.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are typical dorms with community bathrooms that are primarily for freshmen and sophomores. Other dorms such as Hiett and the Execs are nicer dorms with your own bathroom that are for upper class-men. Overall, I don't think any dorms are bad to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Lawrence is a difficult school. Much work is expected of students to do outside of class, and many classes require a least a couple hours of work daily in order to do well in the class.

    In three sentences

    Lawrence is a small, liberal arts university in Appleton, WI. It is a residential campus, so there is a large sense of community. Everyone is unique, and Lawrence is very accepting of that.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Appleton has a saftey program where people can carry a whistle. If someone blows it, everyone who can hear it is supposed to go running towards it, and blow their whistle to alert people farther away. This program is taken very seriously; there is a fine if you blow your whistle when you aren't in trouble.

    Food and Dining

    The food was amazing. I hear horror stories about many dining options at other colleges, but the food I had a Lawrence was amazing. They had vegetarian options, and everything was marked. There were many stations with different options.

    Dorm Life

    From what I saw, the dorms are very nice to live in. They take care in matching roommates who will be compatible with eachother. The furniture looked very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes seem very challenging, and I will probably struggle a bit at first, but the professors care about teaching and will not let anyone fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. You will, most likely, fall in love with it. Go to some classes, and see how much the teachers care about teaching. Talk to some students, because you will see how much they love their school.

    In three sentences

    Lawrence has a small campus, which means the professors are always there to help you. Everyone there cares about YOU and wants you to succeed. The education you receive is excellent.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent. I've never felt unsafe in my life and I'll often stop to talk to security - they're nice, interesting people who really care about the students. We've had little to no problems on campus ever of any kind.

    Greek Life

    It's here if you want it, it's ignorable if you don't. Greek life at Lawrence is so wildly different from big schools notorious for awful hazing, social mania, and exclusivity. Greek students here are indistinguishable from everyone else, and if they didn't have friends outside their frat or sorority then they would be lonely people because everyone's just so together here. They have a lot of fun, though, and Greek Week especially is a time of ridiculous games, screaming, and fundraising. Just as a sidenote - there are frat houses, but no sorority houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    The list of student organizations here is insanely long, and covers everything from LARPing to ultimate frisbee to volunteering to meditation to Quidditch. There are also plenty of diversity, cultural, and religious organizations for everyone. Go to the activity fairs in fall and winter term - all clubs and organizations put out displays and have fun and woo you with cool demos.

    Great for these types of students

    That's the great thing about Lawrence - it's great for all kinds of people. You have to be able to accept that you're going to a small school in Wisconsin, but other than that there's something for everyone here. On the majority, students are all a little bit weird and happy about it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so many weird things going on here seemingly all the time. There's the great Midwest trivia contest, which is an insanely hilarious 48 hour trivia competition between teams across campus, and there's the Senior Streak to name a couple.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is steep but the pay off has been fantastic so far. I can't really comment on life after graduation, but the academics, opportunities, and networking options are superb. I can't imagine myself going anywhere else anymore.

    What to do for fun

    Don't expect a huge city nightlife scene - this is Appleton, Wisconsin after all. But on the bright side, there are plenty of things to do on campus and the social events are pretty much endless. There are music events constantly and clubs do everything under the sun to entertain and involve their members. Most people end up getting really great groups of friends together and going out or watching endless Netflix marathons, which is always fantastic. Basically, whatever you're looking for, you can find it somewhere.

    Food and Dining

    You're going to get bored, but so does everyone who eats in the same cafeteria everyday. Luckily the food service is way above average and there are lots of rotating options, even for vegans and vegetarians. The cafeteria is designed to incorporate foods from around the world, and Lawrence does a pretty good job with this. If you get sick of the cafeteria, the cafe is lovely: it fits quite a few people, has delicious paninis and smoothies, and is open until midnight. Live bands often play there, and it's just a really great atmosphere. Other options include Kate's Corner Store, which is part small grocery and part candy store, and then off-campus dining in town. There's a delicious Thai place, a couple decent sushi places, a few great pizza places, and a reasonable amount of other options.

    Dorm Life

    Students are required to live on campus for all four years, but that's really not that much of a downside: almost all buildings are nice and unique. You have the option of living in a regular dorm, apartment-like housing, group houses, and theme houses, among other types. The rooms of the dorms themselves are nicely sized and most have large windows; some have sinks as well, which is fantastic, and the furniture is study and versatile. The sense of community in dorms is fantastic as well, and every hall is very close and plans lots of outings together.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course academics are what you make of them, so you can try to take easy classes if you'd like; otherwise, you're going to be challenged. The work loads are pretty heavy and I've never really had a full day off here ever, but it's manageable once you get into the swing of it. Pretty much all of the professors at Lawrence are so dedicated to their jobs and to their students that accepting the challenge of coursework isn't that hard to do: people here want you to succeed, and this makes you want to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Get so involved that you're pretty sure you're too involved, and then find one or two niches to really delve into. There's so much to do here, and one small decision about a club or class or sport can take you places you'd never thought you'd go. Also, don't fall behind in your classes, especially when it comes to reading - trimesters are fast and hard, but really rewarding too. As another side note, the friendliness of students here is so overwhelming that you shouldn't ever be afraid to talk to new people. It's so easy here, and so much more interesting than the social life in high school.

    In three sentences

    Lawrence University is a small, private liberal arts college and conservatory of music dedicated to individualized learning. This means that class sizes are small, professors are passionate and involved, resources for academic and financial help are endless, and students can pursue all of their interests while tailoring their own academic adventure. The student body is small and congenial, but interests and backgrounds are diverse and the environment is insanely welcoming.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have no qualms about walking home by myself at night. Appleton is one of the safest cities in the countries. It's nice not having to think about that.

    Greek Life

    Very chill. Three sororities and three or four frats. There's a decent participation in Greek life but it is by no means dominant on campus. Most people in the sororities are also active in many other facets of campus life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus life office is very supportive of all the groups and clubs on campus, and they make it super easy to start one that doesn't exist already.

    Great for these types of students

    Focused, high-strung, go-getters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Winter carnival, in which students laugh in the face of the Wisconsin winter and get outside to do wintery stuff, like ice carving and broom ball (if you want to know what that is, come to Lawrence!)

    Bang for the buck

    As far as I can tell, most students go on to good jobs/internships after graduating.

    What to do for fun

    Appleton isn't as po-dunk as it sounds. Offerings off-campus include the typical kitschy-type stores, lots of bars, a performing arts center and a mall. Other than that, students are pretty self-sufficient in terms of entertaining ourselves and there are groups designated to making life on campus fun. They do well.

    Food and Dining

    Second to none. Really - the food is excellent. Lots of choices and the quality is far and away superior to every other college I've ever eaten at.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life varies by dorm and by residence staff. In general, most people are happy and several of the dorms just got new bathrooms a few years ago, which is really, really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Because we're on the trimester, things move fast. That also means that if you're in a class you don't like, it's over quickly. But it also means that a lot of material gets covered in a shorter period of time (though people will tell you that the professors aren't supposed to put a semester's worth of work into a trimester). Most people thrive in this environment and for those who don't, the teachers are very supportive and flexible.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's Wisconsin, and it's cold. It isn't terrible (though this winter - 2014 - has been unusually bad) because it means that you have to be very productive. When there's no incentive to go outside, you're more likely to do your homework inside. Bring layers and something to cover your face, that's the part that is the most uncomfortable when it's exposed.

    In three sentences

    Lawrence is a great place that suffers, like most other small liberal arts colleges, from an inflated sense of importance. That said, there are great people here in both the student body and the faculty. One thing that makes it stand out is its commitment to never make students feel like a cog in a machine.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe. On campus security is always patrolling, they are generally a kind group that are more concerned about safety than pointlessly busting people for underage drinking. Appleton PD generally only comes on campus if asked to do so by security, but the downtown area surrounding campus is safe and extremely well-patrolled.

    Greek Life

    There are four fraternities on campus: Sigma Phi Epsilon (Sigep), Beta Theta Pi (Beta), Delta Tau Delta (Delt), and Phi Kappa Tau (PhiTau). Beta and Phi Tau are generally held in high regard, Delt is a bit misunderstood but mostly full of good people, and Sigep is half good people who make bad decisions and half bad people period. They are the root cause of many complaints and incidents on campus. Joining any fraternity requires a willingness to balance academic life with residential life, and many students have failed out due to an inability to keep grades up in the frat environment. There are more sororities on campus, but the popular ones are Delta Gamma (DG) and Kappa Kappa Gamma (Kappa). Sororities do not have campus housing at all, which is a definite drawback. Sororities do about twice as much philanthropic work as any fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everyone is in at least one club, they're a great way to meet like-minded people and get involved with the community. Most people are in 3-5 clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Work hard, play hard. Students with varied interests. Students interested in music. Pre-med or students thinking of going to graduate school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oktoberfest takes over College Avenue every year, and is extremely well-attended by students. Lawrence students participate heavily in the Midwest Trivia Contest, which is an experience that can not be explained in writing. LUaRoo is a mini-music festival held each spring, and popular campus bands as well as outside acts are invited to play. My favorite tradition is senior streak, in which the senior class attends a final Senior Night at the Viking Room in June and then collectively streak through campus. Underclassmen often line the exit of the VR to cheer on their friends. The one famous location on campus is the large steeple/tower on top of Main Hall that is featured in the majority of photos of the campus. To students this structure is known as the Nipple of Knowledge.

    Bang for the buck

    Prestigious but expensive. Getting your money's worth depends on which department you're in. The LU conservatory is widely celebrated, and the psychology , biology, and chemistry departments are strong. The only major that is an absolute waste at Lawrence is art - the program is tiny and terrible.

    What to do for fun

    Appleton is a great city, but it is fairly spread out and hard to navigate without a car. So, most of the fun activities students participate in are through campus clubs and groups. There are countless trips to sign up for, including annual camping and canoe trips. Many people are involved in athletics. Despite the academic rigor of the school there is a fairly active party scene, especially around the fraternities, who have 1-2 theme parties per term. Upperclassmen can enjoy the Viking Room, which is a bar for students and professors located in the basement of one of the academic buildings.The VR holds activities like weekly trivia, guest bartenders, and Senior Night activities. The main attractions of downtown Appleton are also bars, though there isn't really a college bar scene due Lawrence's small size.

    Food and Dining

    Dining at LU is run by Bon Apetit, a large but environmentally conscious food provider. Generally the food is excellent, with a variety of choices and plenty of options for people with dietary restrictions. The campus center houses all of the food options. There is a dining hall that has breakfast, lunch, and dinner, a corner store for buying snacks and other essentials, and a cafe that serves burgers, sandwiches, salads, bagels, coffee, etc. that is open until midnight (important!). The most important thing about dining is deciding on how you want to split your meal plan funds - there are different plans that change the amount of dining room meals you get vs. cafe dollars. Cafe items have been increasing in price, and many people underestimate how often they will go.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life depends heavily on where you live and who your neighbors are. Sage Hall is the notorious party dorm, but it's not a total disaster (usually). Trever is sort of the odd one out, and not a lot of people spend time there or want to live there. It is also the furthest away from academic buildings. Plantz is the unofficial dorm for conservatory students, and has a very good community feel. Colman has the benefit of sinks in each room, and is generally a good place to live. It is the furthest from the campus center, which becomes important during the winter. Brokaw is generally a last resort, though some people totally love it and live there every year. It's four floors with no elevators, and campus security's headquarters are on the first floor. Ormsby is old and fairly quiet with the occasional weekend parties. Kohler is the largest dorm on campus, and is completely substance-free. It is also a popular spot for conservatory students. After freshman year there are other housing options, including group/theme houses, fraternities, and apartment-style dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    LU was rated the 18th most rigorous college in the US in 2011, beating out Yale, Princeton, and Stanford. It's tough, but worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should first consider the potential financial strain of attending Lawrence. It's a fantastic school, but the price tag can be hard to swallow. If you can do that and want to know more about student life, stay overnight as a prospective student! It's a great way to meet current students and get a better look at the campus. Pay special attention to the quality of the different dorm buildings - LU is a 4-year residential campus, and not all dorms are created equal.

    In three sentences

    LU is a tight-knit community. Academics come first for everyone. There's still plenty of room to have fun, though!

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The first day all the freshman are given a whistle, and taught how to properly use it to signal for help. Campus Security is constantly driving around campus, and their number is posted all over campus. My fridge has five magnets alone with the number on it.

    Greek Life

    The fraternities we have are Beta Theta Pi, Delta Tau Delta, Phi Delta Theta, Phi Kappa Tau, Sigma Phi Epsilon. The sororities we have are Delta Gamma, Kappa Alpha Theta, and Kappa Kappa Gamma. We also have two Greek music fraternities. The men's music fraternity Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia and the women's fraternity Sigma Alpha Iota.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every student will find an extra curricular activity they will fit into on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Academically strong, proactive, creative, and willing to learn about a variety of background and cultures.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Main Green (the lawn right outside of Main Hall) is filled with activities. Whether it's just students getting together to play Frisbee or Earth Day celebrations. Trivia is one of the craziest times on campus. All the dorms and different groups on campus get together to compete against each other to answer strange questions. It consumes the student body! Fall Festival, Winter Carnival, Zoo Days, and LU-A-Roo bring the campus together.

    Bang for the buck

    The staff and students are helpful, and push you to do academically well. The variety of on and off campus opportunities keeps you busy. The numerous extra curricular activities help keep you busy too.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of musical performances every weekend. The cinema has a movie every weekend, and even did a live Rocky Horror production. Any parties on campus are advertised via crazy posters.

    Food and Dining

    The food caters to all dietary needs and tastes. There is an Italian, World Food, Pizza, and Mexican area. Also, there is a vegan, vegetarian, and gluten free area. If students have extreme food allergies they can work with the staff to have special meals prepared. Students who wish to prepare their own food can use the new Panini maker or go through the salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    The RLA's set up activities almost every night. Movie nights, snacks, and game nights. Your fellow residents are like neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the classes you take push you to try your hardest. The professors push you, but are always willing to provide any extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to be in contact with professors and staff on campus. The students are willing to help each other, don't be afraid to ask for it. Try any classes that seem interesting to you, even if they don't apply to your major. Lawrence allows you to explore all of your interests.

    In three sentences

    This school tailors to the student's personal needs. The entire campus is accepting of all backgrounds. The individual student is always the priority of the staff.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Greek Life

    Not too competitive, everyone is accepted!

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty!

    Great for these types of students

    Special, eco-friendly housing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    swimming the fox river!

    Bang for the buck

    Find good, affordable places to eat in Appleton.

    What to do for fun

    Football, soccer, frisbee, broomball, etc. There's plenty to do!

    Food and Dining

    Enjoy the food! Like most colleges, food is provided for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Make sure that you have a healthy balance.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is an important part of the whole college experience. After a while you and your roommates start to develop the same schedule, habits, and even the same friends. It's important to capitalize and savor these moments. There are always dorm activities happening at Lawrence. Take lots of pictures and have fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes at Lawrence are 6 units. They range from an hour to three hours plus extra time for labs for science classes. The courses are difficult and require your full commitment; you have to attend class and do your work. Luckily, Lawrence requires only 3 classes per term, so there is plenty of time to study and have fun, as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most colleges and universities are alike in that they all require a similar process for prospective student to undergo: filling a college application. Colleges use this process to ensure that they accept the top, most qualified students for their institution. For you, the student, this is your opportunity to show them that you are passionate about attending their school, and also how their school can broaden your horizons. You have to highlight your strengths. Brag a little, and even talk about the talents you will be bringing to their school. That will distinguish your application from all the others, and they will love you.

    In three sentences

    There is a strong sense of community at Lawrence University, and it allows you to feel at home even if you are thousands of miles away from your actual home. Because they are encouraged and supported, Lawrentians, the students and staff, have intellectual and personal freedom. Lawrence is academically challenging and engaging.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    School Clubs! Or you can take a walk on the gorgeous campus.

    Food and Dining

    Great food!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms seemed nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I hear it is pretty hard.

    In three sentences

    Open-minded. This college is free spirited. Love the work ethic.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was really pretty good for being cafeteria food. I wasted a lot of money at my lost college by not using the cafeteria because it was really awful. I don't think I'll be wasting my money this year at Lawrence as it was pretty impressive that times that I ate there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small but everyone seemed to be fine with them. There are a lot of activities that are on the campus for us dormers which I can really appreciate. And, everyone seemed to get along well in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not having actually attended this school officially except for visiting a class and the campus, the students in the class seem to really want to be there and learn. Lawrence is highly rated in the nation and that was one of the main reasons for choosing this school. I know it will be challenging but that's what I want so I can be a better graduate student or be the best in whatever career I chose to pursue a job in.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're into small classes and college but looking for a challenge, this is the place to go. Even though it's in Wisconsin, there are so many things that you can do here that's not on campus, but there's a ton of stuff on campus to do that you may not even have to leave campus for entertainment. Smaller campuses means that you can get involved immediately!

    In three sentences

    I haven't started here yet, but am very excited as I'm transferring from another liberal arts school. When I visited the campus and the school and attended one of the biology classes I knew this was where I wanted to go as I felt that the students here really wanted to learn, compared to my other college that I transferred from. The students that were there as well as the staff were very friendly and personable, and so I think that my experience will be very good here as it seems like everyone has their best interest in mind... a positive college experience.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We all get whistles at the beginning of the year to scare off perpetrators, but I don't think they've ever been used. The security people are also really good, they come fast and they're very nice.

    Greek Life

    There's sororities and fraternities and lots of people join them, but you don't have to live in their building to be a member. You can live in a residence hall and still be a member of one. They are pretty big on volunteering, if you're a member of a sorority or fraternity you do have required service hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more activities and clubs than I can name, and if there's not one that you want they love getting new ones. If you check online I feel like there should be a listing? I know we have LUMOS (Lawrence University's Magical Organization of Students) which is pretty much the Harry Potter club, and pretty popular as you might guess. There's also psych club, art club, pretty much a club for every major. There's also a meditation and mindfulness club for when you get really stressed around finals :)

    Great for these types of students

    Quirky students who love doing random things and meeting awesome people who love the same!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, we have a thing with this rock I guess? That no one really knows if it exists or not but has a lot of legends about it. Also, the residence halls all have their own traditions. A few put on a winter carnival, Trevor and Sage put on a fall carnival, there's a Yule Ball (we're that awesome), and a ton more that i can't think of.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty expensive to come here, so definitely apply for lots of scholarships and keep doing it once you get here, but I think what offsets the cost is the amount of one-on-one time you get with professors and individual attention and the great social support network that has been established over the years.

    What to do for fun

    There's obviously parties, like any campus, but if you're not into that there is still a ton to do. Most residence halls have this cool thing called Hall Council (I recommend joining) where the residence hall plans activities, movie nights, game nights, their own parties, ect. There's always something to do if you're bored!

    Food and Dining

    Especially if you have an eating condition or allergy, the Lawrence Dining Center is awesome. I have celiac disease and they make almost everything have gluten-free options! There's also plenty of vegan and vegetarian options. The food in general is also great, actually I don't miss my home cooking at all, they tend to cover that, and pasta, pizza, hamburgers, Hispanic flavors (delicious tortillas and rice, beans, meat, ect.) Asian flavors (fried rice, stir fry, ect.) and everything in between. You'll never go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Out of all the colleges I've visited, not one had the family like experience that Lawrence has. You get to know everyone really quick and everyone is super nice and supportive. Anytime you go to the lounge there's always someone to talk to, watch movies with, or play foosball against :)

    Academic Rigor

    It's a pretty hard school, don't quote me but I believe it was rated above Princeton and Yale for academic rigor. That being said, Lawrence knows this and had many activities/workshops/classes/clubs to help students de-stress. There's yoga, pilates, a relaxation and meditation class and club, and there's this super cool thing called mid-term reading period where the campus pretty much shuts down for 4 days to give everyone a chance to catch up on homework and sleep.

    Tips for prospective students

    When filling out you roomate agreement be very honest, that in mind you're roomate may not be your best friend, but the more honest you are the better chance you have. Also, be very open to new things, Lawrence is a little different, it has many quirks and loves doing strange things. For example, there is a history course on the world of Harry Potter. Totally awesome. Also, don't fall behind on readings or homework but make sure to save time for yourself! The best way to know if Lawrence is right for you is to visit honestly, and even better is to stay overnight (which is awesome!) with one of the students. It's super fun and you get the awesome Lawrence food :D

    In three sentences

    Awesome! It has everything you will need to become more mature academically and socially. It's rigorous (but there's always stuff to do to wind down) and Lawrence is big in volunteering and clubs, so be prepared to make tons of friends!

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe. Security cars are driving around campus and the town is very calm.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but worth the buck.

    What to do for fun

    When you join clubs they take you out of the school to do some fun activities like to go camping, running, go out. There is a huge mall near, but you have to take the school shuttles to get there. Each hall organizes fun activities: smores night, a dance, karaoke night, harry potter night. There is always something to do on campus and outside.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and it varies every day, but as other schools you could get tired of it. The school has a Cafe, which is completely different from the dinning room and the food is really good. The cafe is like a fast- food restaurant (you never get tired of it).

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a little bit small, but everything fits perfectly. The room size vary. Its nice to live on campus and get to see your friends every morning even when you don't have classes. Its nice to have your friends around because they give you break from studying sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of reading and writing. Strict teachers, but always helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show leadership, have good grades or a good ACT score and be involved in clubs. Show interest for the community.

    In three sentences

    Lawrence University is the best liberal arts school I know. The teachers are good, very accessible and helpful. There are a lot of opportunities for students to volunteer, work or do what they want.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Appleton in general is such a safe city. Lawrence further enhances the idea of a safe community. People look out for each other and we have some solid security guards.

    Greek Life

    We have four fraternities and three sororities on campus. Our Greek system provides an extra supportive family for people and have great energy on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can't find a club or activity you are interested in (which I believe would be quite difficult), you can always create the club/activity! To list a few: sports (varsity and intramurel), Drama club, art club, LARPing(!), GLOW, Diversity clubs, etc. The list goes on and on!

    Great for these types of students

    These types of students... - what does that even mean? LU is very diverse and open-minded. Opportunities are endless for each and every student, not just those types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Can you say Senior Streak! LU is highly known for the big Senior Streak tradition. Held every spring, after attending the on-campus bar, seniors will literally run around campus in the nude. It is a beautiful thing.

    Bang for the buck

    So this school is a little spendy, BUT Lawrence offers generous financial aid and let's face it, this school is bangin. Definitely worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Over your college career, you develop a sense of identity that you grow into; you find your niche and your special group of friends that become your family. If you are lucky, you and your friends will live up to the college experience. Have fun! Go out and party, make mistakes, but be safe in the process.

    Food and Dining

    LU has a better food selection than most campuses. LU provides the student body with many products from our own garden. With a high variety of food in our main cafeteria, there is also a corner store and cafe present in our campus center. In addition, there are many delicious food sources right on the avenue.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be very unique based on your neighbors and status of the dorm (e.g. upper class dorm vs. freshman dorm). Yes, there are parties held in dorms haha. Overall, the dorms are clean and pretty nice (many have new bathrooms!)

    Academic Rigor

    Lawrence isn't a cake-walk. With brilliant professors, this prestige school will push you to excel in each course one takes. The late nights and countless papers will allow you to succeed and be proud of the work you will complete.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore the possibilities on campus, they are abundant! Commit to your work and be proud to be a Lawrentian (you're paying a hefty sum), but take time to find yourself and have fun!

    In three sentences

    Lawrence University has a beautiful campus and beautiful people; the diversity is wonderful! LU takes pride in bridging the gap between different aspects of campus (e.g. the conservatory and athletics). Finally, Lawrence allows one to find themselves and develop a unique identity with no judgement, but encouragement.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters. Music nerds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Senior Streak. Winter carnival. Viking Room Bar. Yule Ball.

    What to do for fun

    Meet new people. Attend concerts, plays, parties. Play trivia.

    Food and Dining

    Andrew Commons is unlike any other school cafeteria. Excellent food, good ingredients, wide variety of options. You can get food from the cafe, or bagged lunches from the convenience store if you're on the go.

    Dorm Life

    As a residential college, all students live on campus. The rooms are generally very nice and there are always activities in each residence hall throughout the week.

    Academic Rigor

    Difficult courses, professors who expect a lot but are also understanding and beyond helpful. The trimester system is incredibly stressful, so you need to be able to work well under pressure.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to be in the conservatory, give a good audition. Come and visit for a weekend so you know what to expect. Lawrence is hard to get to know if you've never been here and taken it all in.

    In three sentences

    The Lawrence Difference. Quirky. Multi-talented, multi-interested students.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have everything, and, if they happen to not, just make the club.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who do not want to spend all their time studying, but still want a good education.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, and an expansive amount of choices.

    Dorm Life

    I have seen most of the dorms, and they are all very comfortable and quaint, however some of the bathrooms are less than clean. The life seems enjoyable, nonetheless, with easy-going students.

    Academic Rigor

    Not an easy-slide school, but it won't burn you out either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your admissions person and really see if this is the school for you.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is unique should fit in well. I have a different background than most, and that's why I really wanted to go to Lawrence.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The freshman studies class sounded pretty interesting to me.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive, and they are stingy with their scholarships so be careful. The experience and education you receive is no doubt worth it though!

    What to do for fun

    It seemed like a lot going on, and Appleton seemed like a nice town to be in too.

    Food and Dining

    I ate there on my tour and it was AWESOME! Really enjoyed it!

    Dorm Life

    Few options for upperclassman so you might end up in a dorm all 4 years. However, from what I saw the dorms are nice and unique.

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously I can't tell for sure but I've heard it's pretty intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work very hard in high school to get good grades and test scores, because that can translate into a good scholarship. I had a GPA of 3.44 and an ACT score of 26 and didn't receive any scholarship at all, so they really want perfection. That was the deciding factor was that I can't afford it without a scholarship. Also, visit campus. That is what made me fall in love with it!

    In three sentences

    I was accepted and will not be attending, but I thought I should share what I know with perspective students. This has been a confusing time for me, and I am very glad to have made my decision, even if it isn't Lawrence! absolutely love Lawrence, and it is with regret that I cannot attend.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is extremely friendly and I feel safe walking around campus at night.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Trivia!!! This annual competition was probably the highlight of my time here.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! Some of my best experiences here have been through groups like Quiz Bowl and Lawrence Christian Fellowship.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Appetite is really good and the Cafe offers great options.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm can be a lot of fun. RLAs are required to create programming which leads to great community.

    Academic Rigor

    Its pretty rigorous especially Freshman Studies

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the sticker price scare you. Lawrence offers a ton of financial aid and you most likely can make it affordable.

    In three sentences

    I love it at Lawrence! Everyone is friendly and help you to be the best you can be. Lawrence offers a lot of great programs that can fit nearly any interest.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Appleton, WI has been voted safest city in America twice so far - so there can't be too much to be concerned about :). The campus felt very, very safe while I was there. It has a very cozy, very welcoming, and very warm feel (no, not temperature-wise. :)) I felt very safe during my time there, without question.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is interesting at Lawrence. There are frats and sororities, although sororities don't have their own houses (fraternities do). It didn't seem like the exclusive, cliquey, elite attitude that stereotypically come with these groups existed with Lawrence's. While I was there I only heard very positive things about Greek life. It in no way dominates campus social life - it definitely felt like a small, yet significant aspect of Lawrence.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons on campus. It's DIII athletics so athletes can participate seriously without devoting their entire life to the sport. There are many club sports too, such as Ultimate Frisbee, both men's and women's. Everyone is involved, and everyone is passionate about what they do. There are lots of music ensembles in the conservatory, but to be a part of them, you don't have to be a music major, or even be involved in the con at all. They are welcoming of everyone, which is true of everything at Lawrence.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who care deeply about learning and love to learn for the sake of learning itself - not just for a good grade for a good GPA. For students who like to challenge themselves but don't like the cut-throat competition that can often accompany great learning institutions. For students who like to have fun and enjoy themselves but that know when to focus and work hard. For students that love to laugh and that are able to see the ridiculous in every situation and appreciate it. For very serious students, but that don't take themselves too seriously.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students and faculty go to Bjorklunden, Lawrence's second-campus up in Door County, Wisconsin on Lake Michigan fairly regularly with different groups/teams they are in. I've never been there, but it definitely seems like a great opportunity. Lawrence has a sustainable garden (known as SLUG - Sustainable Lawrence University Garden) which is really cool for students to get involved in - plus it provides fresh food for the dining hall.

    Bang for the buck

    I received the most financial aid (including a scholarship) from Lawrence of all the schools I applied to. They are definitely generous and understanding with financial aid. I definitely believe a Lawrence education is a very worthwhile investment, although I haven't yet attended so I can't say for sure.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a lot of things to do in Appleton without spending money, but if you do spend money there are options. A really cool thing about the town is that Broadway plays come, which is unusual for a town/city its size. The Lion King was playing while I was there, and student rush tickets are only $20 which is a great opportunity. On campus, there is always something to do it seemed, and everyone was pretty busy with their various clubs/teams/groups. Lawrence is not a traditional party school though by the looks of things there are parties pretty regularly (just not ones that are crazy/out-of-control). Because many Lawrence students are very musically talented, there are usually live bands at parties, which I thought was pretty cool and unique.

    Food and Dining

    Lunch on admitted students day was absolutely delicious. Even the staff that oversaw the lunch were extremely friendly and helpful and were willing to do anything for you. I really loved it. The cafeteria food is very good too.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in Sage Hall, and the dorm was much larger than I had expected. There was plenty of room for a futon (which was awesome 'cause I didn't have to sleep on the floor during my overnight visit!) and it didn't feel cramped at all. They do a very good job of setting you up with a good room-mate from every pairing I saw/met. Some residence halls are nicer than others (Hiett Hall for upperclassmen is definitely the nicest dorm building, they are beautiful) but all of them are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Lawrence is definitely an academically rigorous school. Everyone cares so much about what he/she is studying (mostly) that people aren't (or at least don't seem) stressed out due to their academics. Because you only take 3 courses at a time, you go into greater depth in each course, which I really like. Each term is only 10 weeks long, so the pace is fast. Also the professors are all absolutely brilliant, so you'll rarely find yourself in a class that is completely unbearable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Freshman Studies curriculum doesn't change too much from year to year, so a lot of the works that will be studied are known ahead of time. It's a smart idea to get a feel for these works (i.e. Plato's Republic) during the summer before the school year starts, because Freshman Studies, from what I've heard, is a challenging course for any student.

    In three sentences

    Lawrence is an amazing place, and I absolutely fell in love with it when I visited it for admitted students day. Every single person I met was extremely motivated, involved, friendly, and comfortable with themselves. It is truly a gem that I feel very lucky to have stumbled upon during my college search.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though campus security can be annoying when it comes to interrupting parties, they really do care. I've been up late studying and a security guy came up to me and we just had an awesome conversation about how he loves us and that's why he loves working at Lawrence. More on the security side, they have SUVs and patrol campus periodically. Also they have a number where you can reach them at anytime for literally anything. I know someone that called security to get them a bag of ice because they had a headache and security got it for them.

    Greek Life

    As I previously mentioned, Lawrence has 4 frats and 2 sororities on campus. The frats are Delta Tau Delta, Sigma Phi Epsilon, Phi Kappa Tau, and Beta Theta Pi. The sororities are Kappa Kappa Gamma, and Delta Gamma. The greek life at Lawrence is great. All the frats have houses where members can stay if they wish, or they can stay in the dorms. Sororities do not have houses because there is some law against it, don't really know what is says but that is what I've been told. Anyways, the frats host all kinds of themed parties pretty much every week which makes weekends all the more exciting. On top of that the whole Greek community hosts all kinds of different things like Buffalo Wild Wings eat offs to water balloon fights. The Greek community really brings the Lawrence community together.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lawrence has so many clubs and activities and is open to anyone wishing to start a new one. Literally any kind of club you can think of, Lawrence has it. Things like Larping (Live Action Role Playing) where you run around with foam swords and pretend to be knights and SLUG which is our student run garden which also helps provide food to our dining service. Not only that but Lawrence is a member of the NCAA and offers a bunch of DIII sports. On top of that at the Wellness Center, there are always intramural sports going on, like volleyball or basketball. Not only that but there are 4 frats and 2 sororities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Lawrence is great for all types of students! From your jock to your music lover, Lawrence caters to everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'd say the weirdest but also the coolest tradition is the Senior Streak. Every year right before the seniors graduate they streak through campus, and campus security even allows it! Not only that, but it is one of the top ranked college streaks in the US!

    Bang for the buck

    Even though Lawrence is a bit pricey, it is definitely worth it considering the education you will receive and the type of atmosphere you will be introduced to. To help counteract the high cost, Lawrence is very generous in their Financial Aid and give as much as possible to each and every person.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at Lawrence. Whether you're a party animal going to frat parties or enjoy a relaxing scene at concerts, you'll have something to do. I'll run you through a typical week at Lawrence fun wise. Through the week there is always something going on at the Conservatory; things like concerts, or plays. Also, at the Cafe located in the Campus Center, there are comedians or bands that play. Then on the weekends there are of course, parties. Also throughout the week, there are all kinds of sporting events going on.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Appetit is the service that runs food at Lawrence, and they are ranked one of the best in the US. There is the main dining hall that offers so many different foods it's insane. But there is always burgers, chicken, fries, pastas with sauces, pizza, taco bar and fruit. The other food changes based on the day. For instance there is a place that has around the world cuisine which changes daily and also the special for the day. Also, they have a huge desert area that has pies, cakes, cupcakes, ice cream, etc. which changes daily. For drinks, there are pop machines, which also have lemonade and gatorade, also they have hot water for tea. They have a orange, cranberry and apple juice machine. As well as a coffee machine which serves cappuccinos too. Also, Lawrence does a great job catering to anyones dietary needs, they have gluten free, vegan and much more, just ask the workers and they'd be more than happy to accommodate you. On top of that, Lawrence also offers a grill, which serves your fastfood type of things AND ITS INCLUDED IN YOUR MEAL PLAN! They have all kinds of drinks like smoothies, and different foods like burritos and chicken tenders.

    Dorm Life

    Lawrence offers 6 dorms which students can live in. However, one of the dorms (Hiett Hall) is primarily for upper classmen but if you're lucky you could get in there before your Junior and Senior year. There are single rooms, doubles and quads available and the size varies depending on the dorm but they are pretty good sized considering they are college dorms. Especially the quads, they are huge and some include your own bathroom so you don't have to use the community one. Speaking of community showers, most dorms (besides Hiett where each room I'm pretty sure has their own bathroom) has a community shower which all students use. Obviously males use a male one and females use a female one which is separated by floor. Males on one floor females on another, generally. However, some dorms have males and females on the same floor but they either offer bathrooms in the dorms or separate showers.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though Lawrence only lets you take 3 classes a trimester, it is pretty challenging. That is not to say it's impossible with a good work ethic. Since there are only 3 classes, you will have a lot of free time to do you work, so make sure not to procrastinate at all! But to supplement the challenging course work, Lawrence offers the CTL (Center for Teaching and Learning). This is a tutoring system Lawrence offers that has student tutors for literally every subject taught at Lawrence. So whether it's having someone to proofread your papers or if you're struggling, the CTL is where you should definitely stop.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lawrence is a challenging school so make good use of your time, especially considering you only have 3 classes per trimester. Also, make sure to join something. Lawrence has a plethora of clubs, organizations and sports teams. It will only make your college experience all the more enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    Lawrence is a place where anyone will feel welcomed. Whether it's the person in choir or a three sport athlete, Lawrence will become your home. It doesn't even feel like school because of the love and support from the students to the entire staff.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining hall was the most varied that I have seen, and was very good. They also grow much of the food on campus and try to buy most of the ingredients locally.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms seem about normal. They get better as you get older, with new dorms and privileges.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of their classes only have one student in them, so they are completely personalized. The largest class on campus only has 40 people. The professors seem really dedicated to the success of their students.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety is the BEST! They are amazing and super supportive and are always willing to help. They're phenomenal.

    Greek Life

    We have 3 national sororities (Delta Gamma, Kappa Alpha Theta, Kappa Kappa Gamma) 4 national fraternities (Sigma Phi Epsilon, Beta Theta Pi, Delta Tau Delta, Phi Kappa Tau) and 1 international mens fraternity (Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia) and 1 international women's fraternity (Sigma Alpha Iota). Greek life is there if you want it but not a thing that OVERPOWERS our campus. A good majority of students are a part of Greek Life but are still athletes, musicians, scholars. They don't allow it to overcome their lives.

    Clubs and Activities

    Read my above statement in What to do for fun.

    Great for these types of students

    The way I always hear it explained is as if Lawrence grabbed the top students from all their High Schools and dropped them into Lawrence to create one crazy school. It's great for students who are just a little bit different and not afraid to be different, maybe have different views from the rest of their friends, who wants to change things. Those are the students at Lawrence.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rated Number 3 for Organized Streaks. Enough said.

    Bang for the buck

    There are times where Lawrence feels claustrophobic (we make the joke of being trapped in the Lawrence bubble), but you definitely do feel the sense of community here. And at the end of the day you can always complain to fellow Lawrentians about what you do and don't like, and usually you can come to LUCC (Lawrence University Community Council) which is our student government and try and fix it.

    What to do for fun

    There is ALWAYS something to do on our campus. If you're not a partier the LU film club holds events on Friday nights. SOUP (Student Organization for University Programming) has comedians, speakers, events on campus throughout the week multiple times throughout the term. There are things held in our conservatory by students whether they are recitals, senior projects or main stage productions. There are a MULTITUDE of groups to join on campus including Anime Club, Massive Movement a Hip Hop Dance Organization, Meditation Club, SLUG (Sustainable Lawrence University Garden) among many others.

    Food and Dining

    Our food is pretty good compared to other schools. Sometimes the options get monotonous but that's why you can spice things up and make our own food when you want.

    Dorm Life

    Lawrence is a residential campus with 98% of students living on campus. The only time you're able to live off campus is if you're 4 years out of High School, married or have a child. That being said, there are also houses available for students to live in if you are a part of a campus organization that has a house (Ex. Gaming House, Swing Dancing House, GLOW (Gay, Lesbian Or Whatever House etc.) All of the dorms also have a working kitchen with a stove and full sized fridge open to everyone to use.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor is tough because they're compacting 18 week courses into 10 for us. It's hard but VERY doable. You are surprised at how much you can actually accomplish on top of schoolwork and extracurriculars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself for a trimester experience and what we call the Lawrence Difference. Because we run on a trimester our schedules are compacted and harder than potentially other schools but it just makes you stronger in the end. If you get through a Lawrence education then you can make it anywhere.

    In three sentences

    Lawrence University is an open campus that tailors to everyone needs. Individualized learning is ACTUALLY true here. You never feel left out of something.

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Appleton is one of the safest places in the U.S., so there shouldn't be any worries about safety at Lawrence.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have lots of different clubs on campus. No matter who you are, you will definitely find one that is for you. I myself really enjoy coming over to nursing home with GlamourGals club, where we provide beauty makeovers and companionship to elderly women. Another favourite club of mine is Cultural Food Club, they cook foods from different countries once every month, and other people can come to eat these foods or even to learn how to make them!

    Food and Dining

    I'd say our dining service is pretty good - the food is healthy and delicious at the same time. We have options for everyone - meat-eater, vegetarian, vegan. Our food is very culturally diverse as well; besides american food, we also have foods cooked in other countries' styles - Vietnamese banh mi, Japanese miso soup, Indian curry,... Also, the school is pretty easy about eating and dining; you can go to Andrew Commons, our dining hall, eat there or get a plate and bring it to wherever you want, and come back to get more food without swiping your card for another time.

    Dorm Life

    There are a lot of choices for dorm, depends on your interest. If you want to live close to the academic buildings, so that you will have a little more time chilling on your bed in the morning, go for Ormsby. If you care more about eating, Sage - the dorm right next to the cafeteria and the dining hall - will be the best choice. And there are more than ten other dorms and houses for you to choose. Each dorm usually has a common lounge, a computer lab, a common kitchen, a laundry room, and some practice rooms with pianos (for students in the Conservatory to practice, but other students are free to play piano too). There are quiet hours when people may not make loud noises; these quiet hours are voted by residents, and thus vary by dorms. Students are allowed to have small pets, such as fish, turtle, on condition that they get the agreement from everyone who lives on the same floor as them.

    Academic Rigor

    Lawrence is very academically challenging. In 2011, we ranked 18th in most rigorous U.S. colleges, right under Harvard, and above Yale, Princeton, and Stanford. Also, the 10 week trimester makes things a little bit harder as well - time will go by so fast, you have to work hard to understand the materials in classes in very little time. However, you will learn how to work effectively and manage your time. The professors at Lawrence are very understanding and supportive as well. They are always willing to help their students, and really want to see their students succeed. Thus, be diligent, and you will be fine.