Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lawson State Community College-Birmingham Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/26/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this is a great way for me to not be far from home

    Tips for prospective students

    I think this college will teach me all i need to know

    Bang for the buck

    I always wanted to go to this college

    Will enjoy being here

    My cousin attended

    Will learn a lot

    I want to learn nursing

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The sercurity is real tight and very aware

    Clubs and Activities

    Basketball, volleyball and baseball

    Great for these types of students

    Student support services

    What to do for fun

    They have a student entertaining room but it not alot to do in there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is hot and good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are greart

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be prepared for the long lines.

    In three sentences

    The school is great by getting you in without an ACT/SAT score. The school is well kept. You have great advisor that help you when you need the help the most .

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety has improved due to more campus patrol and enforcing students to wear their i.d. badges.

    Greek Life

    as far as i know, lawson does not have greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    a great club to get involved in is the s.g.a. many students really enjoy being in this club and they have involved other students in positive activities. pbl is another popular organization here on the campus for business students , they travel to attend many competions. pbl is also active in fundraising events.

    Great for these types of students

    physical education is great for the students. there are very dedicated instructors who are encouraging to the students and the instructors are knowledgeable of their cours. the college also has an excellent tutoring lab named the stem lab and the tutors are very patient, knowledgeable and the student is always welcome to use the computers in this lab for math purposes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the campus house is where advertising for campus videos is filmed. the campus house is located on the east campus and it looks like a house. the outside is brown brick with pink trim.

    Bang for the buck

    the bookstore sells lunch tickets for $50.00. this is a great option for students to purchase, especially around pell grant time when funds are low and your stomach is growling. the prices in the lunchroom are quite reasonable and you get a big bang for cheap bucks.

    What to do for fun

    the campus does not have a lot of fun activities at the time. the s.g.a. is rallying for more campus activities for the students. right now, the only fun the students have is playing pool in the old bookstore and that is located in the leon kennedy center.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining are held in the leon kennedy center.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is located on the east campus. the price is too expensive. twenty five hundred dollars per semester for a two year college is too steep.

    Academic Rigor

    students get very discouraged and comprehension is low in academic subjects such as math and english. the thesis and essay formats are the hardest for many.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students need to pay close attention during the freshman orientation. the freshman orientation will teach the prospective students about campus life. prospective students should learn how to read their college catalogs and campus maps so that they will know where to go for their classes or if they have to deal with disciplinaries.

    In three sentences

    the landscaping is beautiful and i will rate this a ten. the instructors that i have are adjuncts and together, i rate then a seven. the administration i will rate as a ten.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is a great school to start your educational career. It will give you opportunity to experience a different life style other than what you may be a custom to. It just has a friendly environment which makes you feel welcome.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is always safe. You have light poles just for the dark. You will not be scared. They have campus security and police officers at all times.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    Just like any other school you have clubs and activities. They are all fun, affordable, and great.

    Great for these types of students

    Lawson State is great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    What I found unusual about Lawson was that they had dorms. I really didn't think that they would.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price of staying on campus you really are being treated.

    What to do for fun

    For fun their are usually activities around campus. We played basketball a lot. There are many different activities to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and always fresh.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed on campus for one semester but I plan on returning in the fall. I liked it but unfortunately I had to take some online classes and move out for personal reasons.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tips that I would like to give are to never give up and to not take learning for a joke.

    In three sentences

    This school is great to start off at. I attend Lawson State Community College now and I love it. They also have great teachers who are willing to stay and work with you if you need any help.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Both Birmingham and Bessemer Campuses have City Police Officers established on campus 24/7, 365 days a year making it a safe place to be.

    Great for these types of students

    Lawson State not only focuses on Degree seeking and/or Transfer Students, but also those seeking certification in various fields such as Beauty/Hair Dressing, Heat & Air Conditioning, Welding, as well as programs such as Nursing, Dental Assisting, and Computer Programming.

    Bang for the buck

    Attending an accredited, community college is very affordable. It allows a transfer student the opportunity to take core curriculum courses that coorelate with their Major without breaking the bank.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations/affiliations offered on this Campus. Various functions are featured throughout the school year, along with a yearly Job/Medical Fair during the Spring Semester at the local Civic Center. As far as local (outside of school) attractions, the City of Bessemer is lacking in this department, however you are within reasonable driving distances to bigger, more exciting Cities, such as Hoover, Birmingham, and Tuscaloosa.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on the Bessemer Campus is always clean, has a nice variety of foods, and the staff is friendly.

    Dorm Life

    I have had no personal experience with Dorm Life, however, dorm rooms are offered on the Birmingham Campus. The college catalog/website indicates all that is available in this regard.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic outline for your choice of study is in accordance with mandated State/Federal rules, therefore, you will receive an excellent education at this facility. If you are intereted in completing a Bachelor's Degree, Lawson uses the STARS guideline to ensure you take the appropriate classes that will transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are searching for a laid-back atmosphere that is inviting, goal-oriented, and allows for one-on-one teacher-student interaction, then the Bessemer Campus is your best bet. It caters more so to older students returning to college life. If you want to be around the younger crowd, then the Birmingham Campus is your best bet.

    In three sentences

    Lawson State - Bessemer Campus (I never attended the Birmingham Campus) has a small, family-like atmosphere. The instructors are personable, helpful, and very interested in promoting your success in life. However, the class selection on this particular Campus are smaller - so be prepared to travel to Birmingham to complete your Associate's Degree.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Birmingham Museum of Art is bight start for a morning. with a donation your offered three floors of amazing irreplaceable imperfect perfections ending your day by three waterfalls with a walk through Lynn park, Highland South-side (night attractions) for a night out for karaoke, dancing, bars, tattoo shops and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Never used a meal plan. We do have a cafe if your planning to stay on campus. The nearest restaurants are Rally's / Checkers and Church's Chickken

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms for students but there is also off campus housing as well. Off campus allows you to enjoy the attractions of the city and also explore advantages offer by the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The first month seems sluggish but after that, we hit the books running. Literally. Make -ups and tardiness in classes is at a limit. Your ID is your money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start your program as soon as possible and do not be afraid to ask questions. Build a relationship with some type of staff. Be open to options

    In three sentences

    The student to teacher ratio makes you feel like a person instead of a number. The social and academic opportunity to progress is amazing for a community college. If your looking for somewhere to progress or even start or finish completing a program, it affordable.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Speed bumps are everywhere!!!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Relaxed, but not to relaxed type of students!

    What to do for fun

    I am always on the computer. Basically anything to take my mind off of the real world for a while!

    Food and Dining

    Never ate in the cafeteria, but it always smells good though.

    Dorm Life

    Its stays clean. Nice an clean! Most places.

    Academic Rigor

    Its most times challenging. But I love a good challenge

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait or feel the need to procrastinate about anything. You will fall way behind!

    In three sentences

    Lawson is a well put together college. The teacher are really there to teach you. This college makes everything seem simple. I love simple!

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I've been to the dorms and it is a safe clean learning environment

    Academic Rigor

    to be honest i am unsure because i have not gotten that far yet. but who does not love a challenge?

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get everything done ahead of time, the sooner the better! learn about scholarships while still in high school, and lastly ALWAYS ask questions!

    In three sentences

    They work hard to try to get me situated into the college life. Before the faculty at Lawson i knew nothing about applying for college. Now that they have showed me the road i will be prepared when i make my next journey!

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is strictly enforced and available at all times. I was surprised to learn that Lawson State Police were official police officers and held all responsibilities of local law enforcement. During orientation, the chief of the force came and talked to us and gave us his cell phone number as well as all other telephone numbers to reach him or help. He gave us tips and pointers for us to practice safety and made sure to remind us, that they are a phone call or a few steps away. Call anytime for an escort, jump off for your car, with questions or safety issues or just for advice.

    Greek Life

    There are several Greek organizations that are available for students. The organizations help develop the student wholisticially.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that a student can be involved in. Lawson State's website offers information on each club and activity as well as the qualification and how to get involved. There is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that has anxiety about college and feels inadequate in any type way, this is the place for them. I am an adult student and single parent. Lawson State has been a great place to ease anxiety and help transition into being a successful student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I found it unusual how students can use empty classrooms at anytime to study or hold tutoring sessions. Students can have an entire classroom to themselves without any distractions whatsoever if this is what is needed.

    Bang for the buck

    Lawson State Community College offers students a university type environment for a community college rate. I really appreciate that classes are offered at night as well as on the weekends without the extra cost of convenience.

    What to do for fun

    It's obvious that Lawson State believes in balancing academic and social life. There is always something exciting to do and they are very active in the community; therefore on the weekends one can usually find a Lawson State sponsored event that the students and their family and friends can participate in and enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    I am an evening student; therefore the dining area is closed when I attend classes. The bookstore is open late and has a variety of snacks and microwavable foods. Although food is not being served in the evening hours, the dining area is open for microwave use, and to dine; the environment is clean and comfortable. Vending is located all over the campus, so food and drink is always available.

    Dorm Life

    Although I am not familiar with dorm life, I hear awesome stories about the facilities and Lawson's website paints a great picture. I am an adult student that lives off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Lawson State will not leave anything important out of the lessons or process's in any area. Lawson State is not a hit or miss institution, they are very thorough. Everything is there, upon graduation, you will have everything you came for and more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please do whatever the instructors ask you to do. Have the attitude that the things they are telling you or asking you to do is paving the road for success. When studies began to feel overwhelmed, say to yourself, this has been put in place for me to succeed, so I must do my best.

    In three sentences

    Attending Lawson State has been an experience that I appreciate and value. The environment helped me to realize the possibility of being successful in whatever goals that I set. Lawson State caters to helping any individual to not only be successful but to excel.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out and walking around talking to friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay positive and study every night.

    In three sentences

    It is a good campus. I had a fresh start here in Lawson State. I get around here much fine.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Birmingham police and Lawson state campus police on duty all day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    baseball team, basketball team,chior and SGA

    Great for these types of students

    This sh=chool is great for students who need that one on one session with their instructopr to gain clarity in lessons.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the best cooking staff that any school has to offer anywhere I have been.Keeps me out of fast food restaurants

    Dorm Life

    they have a wonderful dorm life nice state of the arc equipment and also great at making you feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers leave you with messages causing you to think more openly then closed minded.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus on the task at hand. The teacher will walk you trough each class you have.

    In three sentences

    a well equiped school for learning. Dedicated for excellents in the classrooms. Holds high standards for their scholars.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lawson State police patrol day and night. If your car stops, just called the Lawson State Police and they will try to help.

    What to do for fun

    Lawson has a great gym that is open to students. In the in the gym you can play basketball, go swimming, and even lift weights. Another great activity they have is the room pool.

    In three sentences

    Lawson is a great two year college. They have outstanding programs like dental assistant,nursing,.and also automotive. The best thing is there tuition, it's not expensive.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to go the gym or the recreational center. When you have a long day and just need some time to relax those are the places. They even have a swimming pool. You could stop by and get your hair done or cut and even get your nail done on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is delicious. Everything is so good. My favorite would be the Philly Cheese Steak sandwiches because their so huge and it really fills me up especially on days when I have two to three classes on that day.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on campus because I live with my grandmother whom stay in Birmingham. If I did stay on campus than I would say its an magnificent. Everyone treats each other like family and look out for one other. My friends stay on campus and they say they love it because the people there reminds them of home so they aren't that really homesick and they meet people and develop a long -term friendships.

    Tips for prospective students

    As from my perspective of entering the college life for the first time, I would just simply tell them that once your foot hit the college campus your whole life changes. Not only are you taking a huge step in receiving higher education but you are making a choice to be something greater than what the world expected you to become. Just stay focus on your purpose of why you decided to come to college and always try to stay on top of things such as getting to class about ten to twenty minutes ahead of time because you never know how traffic might be. Always come to class very prepared as in extra pencils,your own pencil sharper,extra pens,calculator,make sure you have all your material for that class. Always study because you never know what could happen and even if you know the subject well a little studying won't hurt.Lastly but not least, if you don't really understand something that the teacher is teaching and you're a little bit shy of raising your hand in class always try to meet up with your teacher and talk to them about what the problem is. They are there to help you and they understand that some of us learn things in different ways rather its visual or taking notes or even recording them and going home and listen to it. Never leave the class without fully understanding the subject.

    In three sentences

    Lawson State Community College-Birmingham Campus has been great. The experience has be wonderful and the teaches are wonderful as well. My freshman year has been excellent;Also,everyone is so friendly and love to help and is all about helping you succeed your goals.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I absolutely love this school! For some reason this school has a bad reputation but I've been here for two semesters and don't see anything wrong with it. If you are looking for 2-year college that has low tuition rates, Lawson State Community College is a perfect pick.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a game room where students like to play table pool, and Foosball. All non-academic areas are lavished with T.V.'s, and remote controls. A fully furnished gymnasium with basket ball court, weight room, and swimming, as well as out door track are open to attenders.

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast and Lunch are provided in the cafeteria. Students attending are allowed to purchase a meal plan that provides food for a semester. The food provided has a wide range of options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Lawson State has just finished developing on campus dormitories. The housing looks eloquent, and has rules that ensure student safety. Ample parking is made available for driving students.

    Academic Rigor

    Lawson State provides challenging science and math courses that are transferable to many universities. English and history are offered in advanced levels. Make sure you can devote time to advance on class material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the things Lawson State has to offer! Exercise is important to over all physical and mental wellness, so stay busy. Look for the free tutors and learn how to take advantage of job offers.

    In three sentences

    Lawson State is able to meet all my needs for educational advancement. It has been a blessing to be able to afford school, and learn a trade. Lawson campuses offer exercise equipment to all students as well as a library with computers and printers.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They definitely ensure and enforce safety policies and procedures.

    Food and Dining

    Lawson offers a comfortable dining atmosphere. The food is delicious. As well as healthy.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know much about the dorm life because I don't live on campus but I can reassure you that if you do live on campus or decide to live on campus you will be safe and I hear that it is not expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Your instructors will be with you until you understand. They are patient and willing to work with you one on one.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think you should consider Lawson State Community College as your first college to attend because it will prepare you on your journey when you want to further your education at a university.

    In three sentences

    The staff will do everything to help make your admissions or transitions into their school pleasant and stressfree as possible. The counselors will make sure you take the right classes and explain why you need those courses in order. Lawson state has so many rewarding programs to offer that you would want to take advantage of all of them.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its pretty safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have a lot of activities you could choose from.

    What to do for fun

    You could have dorm cook outs and just go out with your dorm mates.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining could be way better. that's the only problem I have with the school. the students that live in the dorm's food isn't as good as the students that pay. I personally don't think its fair.

    Dorm Life

    I like the dorm life. I could get the full college experience . Only this is there should be more to do, so all the students could get to know each other better.

    Academic Rigor

    Lawson State academic rigor is wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    if your an out of state student, make sure you could afford to live in the dorms.

    In three sentences

    its a great school. Its one of the best community colleges in the world. I really like it.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their are officers on the campus at all times. Even when school is not in session.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with children, jobs, or anyone who just wants to further their education without 350 other people in their classroom.

    Bang for the buck

    Very much affordable, especially if you get student aid.

    What to do for fun

    This is Birmingham, AL. You'll think of something!

    Food and Dining

    The food's okay. But if you don't want to eat on campus there are plenty of places close by.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in a dorm. But Lawson is the only 2-year college I have ever seen with a dorm. So, that's pretty cool.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy. Apply yourself and show up for a class and you will do well. Even if you are weak in a subject, if you put forth the effort and your teacher sees you trying your best, they will do whatever necessary to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking of attending, stop thinking and just go for it. The teachers are nice, you get things done quickly, and all of the credits you earn here can be transferred to a 4-year university upon graduation.

    In three sentences

    It's a pretty good starting point for college if you live in Birmingham.