Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lebanon Valley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you live in a small-town, Annville will feel like home to you. It's also nice for people who like to sleep a lot, since, unlike large campuses, LVC is about a 3 minute walk to any class. So in case you like to sleep in until 7:55 on a morning when you have an 8:00 class, you can still make it! Also, LVC has a variety of great food choices, so if you like to eat, this is the school for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend keeping your grades up even throughout your senior year--Don't get lazy! Also, come up to visit LVC! In the spring they have Valleyfest which is a weekend filled with games, art, and a concert! It's great to have fun with friends, or bring up the whole family! Also, come visit during class and sit in on a lecture to see what the feel really is and if this small campus truly suits you!

    Bang for the buck

    The college is a bit pricey compared to many in-state schools, but compared to most private colleges, LVC gives great scholarships. If you are in the top 10% of your class, you receive half off of your tuition! Even then, those who graduate in the top 20% receive one-third off of tuition, and those in the top 30% receive one-fourth off of tuition! The education, again, is just awesome. I have learned so much in just one semester that most of my friends going to public universities have not in the same courses!

    Am enjoying being here

    I was truly nervous before I came to this school, but now I never want to leave! I was definitely unsure if I'd like my roommate, but she is so awesome! It's great because they actually give thought to the students they put to live together at this college, unlike large universities where it is random. All the people on my floor are my best friends now, we have bonded greatly! There is always something to do on campus too, whether it be a comedian on Fridays, a band playing at MJ's, fun fitness classes, or something else the college has planned, everybody always has a blast! At LVC, they have a Redbook where you can sign up for weekend events such as Hershey Park, a hayride, and even a FREE Jordin Sparks concert!

    Am learning a lot

    Lebanon Valley excels in all of its programs! As I am currently planning on majoring in Physical Therapy, I will continue onto the next phase of graduate study in only 3 years! This school cuts off one entire year of schooling, condenses it, but challenges students even more! Some other friends are taking math classes here, and although it is hard, they are all so happy with their education they are receiving! My classes overall are definitely tough as well, but this college gives you such a great education, especially with all of the general education requirements that need to be met.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LVC is a great opportunity for hard-working students who love to learn. You get an added bonus if you are looking for either a Physical Therapy, Science-related, or Music degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep on top of your financial status and make sure you pay off all charges on time. Also, take advantage of LVC's open houses and student visits before you make your final decision.

    Am learning a lot

    Lebanon Valley College is a liberal arts college that offers a wide variety of degree programs. The general education classes here are fairly difficult, so you learn a lot besides your degree. This college is mainly known for its Physical Therapy, Science, and Music programs, and I can say from the standpoint of a Music major that the faculty for these programs is stellar. The yearly tuition is rather high, even with the GPA-based scholarships, but it is well worth the cost if you know what sort of education you're looking for.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    When looking for a school make sure you know what you want. Definitely visit each campus twice (with the schools you are definitely interested in) - once with a bigger tour and a second time with a one-on-one session with a student. I did both of these things when I narrowed my choice down and that is ultimately what allowed me to make my decision because I knew LVC felt like the right place for me. Lastly, keep your head up. Looking at colleges is a time consuming, extensive process, but if you put the time into it in high school, you most definitely won't regret it once you've chosen the right school for you!

    Bang for the buck

    LVC is relatively expensive compared to state schools, however, when looking at other private institutions, LVC ranks high on the list. LVC gives out a lot of money through scholarships and then some. If you are determined to stay there, they will help you out in anyway they can. Overall, the experience I have already had there is priceless.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love being at LVC! I could not see myself going to a different school. The campus is beautiful and there is always something going on. Walking from class to class isn't a hassle considering it is at most 5 minutes. Besides the resources the school provides and the environment the school is in, the students that attend this school are what make it worth while. Every student is unique and has their own way of doing things, however, everyone is down to earth, friendly, and everyone feels as if they belong. I have made so many friendships and relationships with people that will continue to last past graduation.

    Am learning a lot

    I am in LVC's 6 year Doctorate of Physical Therapy program and while it is tough, I have learned so much by attending this college. Every one of my professors have been great and the small class environment really enhances learning. The professors know your name and know how to help you. You are not considered just another number at LVC. They are more than willing to meet with you whenever you can to help you in any way they can. They make themselves completely accessible to better your learning.

  • 01/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Since LVC is a small liberal arts, private institution it of course is a bit more pricey than your average large, in state, public school. However, I believe with the 3 scholarships they offer based on your class rank during high school, surely you can get some kind of financial help. I think for the physical therapy program the price is definitely well worth it and will save you the headache of applying for graduate schools. This is of course if physical therapy is your calling and you can keep up with the high GPA requirements. Where there's a will, there's a way!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is a perfect size for me and for those who enjoy walking to wherever they need to be within 2 to 7 minutes. I love being able to walk to the gym and eat breakfast all before a 9 am or even 8 am class. Everything needed was pretty much right there on campus, which was perfect for not having a car on campus!

    Am learning a lot

    Being in the physical therapy program is tough, but I have definitely learned a lot more compared to some of my friends from high school who went to large public schools. Luckily, the professors are always more than willing to help you and have lots of office hours. I have even used some of the information that I've learned at my part time job during breaks, which has definitely been helpful! Even though the courses can be tough, you still have plenty of social time and can meet a lot of nice people! Even though at first glance, the school may not seem socially diverse, it definitely is in it's own way. Everyone is different and that has definitely contributed to my overall learning experience so far. I wouldn't trade my experiences for anything!

  • 05/12/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The small class sizes really make it worth it. Also, laundry is free, and you have an unlimited amount of copies. The dorms are nice too, and the food is great.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is gorgeous and everyone is very friendly. The small-town atmosphere makes it feel like home, and the professors seem like they are willing to give help whenever it's needed.

    Will learn a lot

    There are so many different opportunities at LVC and I really can't wait to start taking classes about my major.

  • 09/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    LEBANON VALLEY COLLEGE IS CHEAPER THAN YOU THING. With all there scholarships, you just need to take the time and do the research.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is not a single day I wish to be somewhere else. Every day of the week there are different activities that students can be involved in. Personally, I have two on campus jobs and I currently am involved and have leadership roles in 5 different clubs. Lebanon Valley college is definitely the home away from home.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are definitely hard and push you to your full potential; however, do NOT be scared because every professor motivates you in their own way and make you feel comfortable.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety of the students at lebanon valley college is a top priority. lvc offers the blue light system where there are help button booths stationed throughout campus and the parking lots that dial straight to campus safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    lvc offers 109 student organizations from sports teams to cac to student government.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the best day on all of campus is what is referred to as dutchmen day. dutchmen day is a random day chosen by student government where students are woken up early in the morning to find out that there is not classes that day and a wide variety of entertainments are available from live bands to games to blow-ups.

    Bang for the buck

    lebanon valley college is a private college that is expensive. however, the quality of education here is top-notch as well as the personal experience that one gets.

    What to do for fun

    lvc is located in the small town of annville which has a movie theatre and several different places to eat. there is a mall, walmart, and giant within a 10 minute driving range of the college, as well as it being located near harrisburg and hershey pa.

    Food and Dining

    food at lvc is some of the best college food out there. however, there are good and bad days, with the best day being, chicken tender thursday!

    Dorm Life

    lvc offers a wide range of living arrangements from traditional housing to suite style apartments to upperclassman only apartments that fit the needs of all students. the residential advisers and area coordinators care about the students living in your building and do the utmost to keep you safe and have a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    lebanon valley college is not a place where the students shows up, listens to a lecture, and leaves. it's a place where the professors expect the students to try their best, and care about the success of their students so much to ask questions and interact with the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard, do your best, and don't take the easiest way because you may be good at something but the professors, staff, and coaches work to make you even better.

    In three sentences

    a place where the student comes first. whether you are into music, science, sports, etc., lebanon valley college is a place where you can find exactly what you are good at and what interests you the most. their main concern is the what is best for their students, not just their bottom line

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LVC has a fantastic Public Safety team, they are always looking out for the students and you can always contact them if you are in need of help, 24/7 there is always someone that can help you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities on campus it is unfathomable! If you are interested in it, it is probably a club or activity at LVC and if it isn't, it is really easy to create!

    Great for these types of students

    If you enjoy challenging yourself, but still like to have a great time then you will love LVC! It is so easy to fit in and everyone is like family. There are so many opportunities and everyone is there to help you succeed. Lebanon Valley is very small, but I think that is something that makes the college awesome! No matter where you are on campus you are never more than 5 minutes away from the classrooms/ facilities (unless you are walking from the Gold Lot...).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year there is Dutchman Day, it is a random day in the spring semester when everyone has a day off of classes and you just have a fun day with all of your peers.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive to attend LVC, but I feel it is worth it not only from an academic standpoint, but also because it prepares you so well for a career. The connections you make at LVC will last you well past college and the experiences are invaluable.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately, Annville was not graced with a lot of things to do, however a great group of friends and a car will be all you need! There are always sporting events to go to (they are free for students to attend), and there are movie theaters and a small shopping mall not too far from the college. If it is warm you can grab an ice cream from the malt shop down the street, but often times it is fun to have a movie night and just order a pizza.

    Food and Dining

    I suppose the food is average for a college. There is only one dining hall, so sometimes I wish there was more variety and I wish the quality of food was a little better, but if it becomes a problem there are a lot of inexpensive restaurants that are within walking distance of the college and it is always fun to have a night out once in a while!

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, I have been pleasantly surprised by dorm life. I thought that I would hate it and need my own space, but what I didn't realize was that the people you live with and the people in your hall become like a second family. At first there is an adjustment, but that is natural and after everyone gets through the initial awkwardness of being on their own, you grow and change and they end up being like siblings.

    Academic Rigor

    LVC has some tough courses, however the transition from high school to college isn't too bad. Once you are acclimated everything levels out and the class work usually isn't too bad. As long as you focus on school work and make a genuine effort it is relatively easy to get everything done. It is still challenging, but it all pays off in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay overnight at the college to get a sense of what it is like. Visit more than once and make sure you visit on a day when there is not much going on so you can get a chance to meet some of the staff and some of the students that attend the college. Try to make an acquaintance that you can keep in touch with so if you decide to choose that school you can have a person you already know to talk with. Meet with the business office to see about getting an additional scholarship, they usually want to help you out, so they will negotiate and try their best to help you, don't be afraid to ask for financial aid if you need it! It will help you in the long run!

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love LVC, the faculty and staff are always kind and helpful. There are so many mentors and peer helpers to turn to if you are unsure of something, or even if you just want a friend to talk to. The classes, though difficult at times, prepare you well for real world situations and set you up well for your career.

  • 07/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would say this college is great for students who like to do things (not just study). There is always something to do. The food here is great as well. There are many dining options open to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I would say is to make sure you make time to study. With so many things to do at this college, it is easy to not do any school work.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is expensive however, it's totally worth your money!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus here is great! There are so many things to do! You can never be bored.

    Am learning a lot

    I am going to be going to this school in the fall of 2011 and so far all I have heard are great things about most of the professors!

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lvc is a very safe campus. public safety is available at all hours, and there are emergency call boxes throughout the campus.

    Greek Life

    there is greek life on campus look up more information.

    Clubs and Activities

    get involved it is the best thing you can do here.

    Great for these types of students

    lvc is great for students who work hard and value a very strong liberal arts back round.

    Bang for the buck

    lvc offers great scholarship opportunities to those who worked hard in high school. they award scholarships by class rank not by sat or act scores. check out the website for more information.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of clubs and events going on almost everyday both on and off campus. i am a member of the wig and buckle theater company (crew team) and am in the marching band. mj's coffee house is also a great place to hang out and watch a movie once in a while.

    Food and Dining

    the food is just alright. i've had better but its college after all.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is great, though it can get a little boring at times because you are in rural pa. but, don't let that deter you from looking here it is great college.

    Academic Rigor

    don't let the beginning of the semester take you for a loop it gets harder quick and you must be organized to get the grades that you want! i would give lvc four to five stars in academic rigor depending on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    when looking for schools ask questions, i did and it defiantly paid off. i am only a freshmen at lvc but i'm already studying abroad this summer and look forward to the opportunity.

    In three sentences

    lvc is a great place for students searching for intense academic opportunities at a small college. there is one lecture hall on the campus and i find the opportunity to learn in a small class of about 12 people refreshing from high school with classes of 27.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The public safety officers are very diligent and always make themselves available to help. The location itself is very suburban and surrounded by local families. There are also emergency callboxes everywhere.

    Greek Life

    There are several greek groups on campus. There are more sororities than fraternities, but they are pretty popular for belonging to such a small institution.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are at least 80 clubs on campus and range from equestrian to chemistry to video games. You can join a club for almost anything you may be interested in. Also, it is really easy to start a club and gather support and members.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that desire a small-town feel, want to develop personal relationships with their teachers, develop friendships with many different kinds of people, and feel apart of a supportive community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dutchmen Day is extremely popular among the students. This day occurs in the spring semester of the academic year. On this day, all classes are cancelled and the college provides students with a day of activities including blow-ups, tie-dying, raffles, and many others.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though many enrolled students receive 1/3-1/2 off tuition scholarships, the tuition is still pretty hefty compared to a public university. This being the case, I would suggest coming here only if the career you are pursuing will provide you with a salary that can pay off your loans. LVC is known for its high academic standards so it is definitely worth the money to attend this institution.

    What to do for fun

    The school provides both free and paid trips to various places (NY, museums, amusement parks, theatre, white water rafting, etc.). In town there is not much to do besides go to several small eateries. Hershey is only a 15-20 minute drive away. On weekends, students basically hang out around campus in the residence halls.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria was just remodeled so it looks very nice and more modern. Although it is small, it is only really crowded during peak lunch and dinner times. The food is comparable to any other small institution -- there are no chain restaurants or services. The hours are not the greatest and limit the times in which you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms and suites are standard, they look like residence halls you would see at any other college. Resident students must live on-campus all 4 years unless granted special permission. The prices differ depending on the hall, but overall they are standard compared to other institutions.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are tough and the teachers really try to challenge you. Even though you may not like it at the time, once you finish the courses you see how much you learned and you appreciate the push. Work hard and prepare to be challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard from the start! Not only do a majority of the students enrolled at the college receive some form of scholarship, but a great many students pursue graduate studies that require a certain level of academic performance.

    In three sentences

    LVC is a quaint little school that sits right in the middle of the small town of Annville. The academics are challenging, yet rewarding. Once you become a senior, you realize that your hard work paid off and you have learned a great deal more than you would at a public university.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is the name of it at LVC, and they are really great. Always patrolling, and really nice and friendly.

    Greek Life

    There are a bunch of groups on campus that cover a variety of topics. The Greek Life on campus is really big on community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    For such a small school there are a huge amount of activities available. Really anything you want, and if you don't see it new clubs are really easy to start!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dutchmen Day happens once a year, and its when the school cancels all classes for a day of fun. It basically turns into one campus wide party. The best part is that its a surprise!

    Bang for the buck

    This school gives great scholarships, a 1/4, 1/3, or 1/2 off the entire tuition depending on your GPA/ranking. But you don't have to be absolutely amazing, you'll get 1/4 off for being in the top 40%! and if you send them SAT/ACT scores you'll get bumped up a category.

    What to do for fun

    Hershey, and Hershey Park is 10 minutes down the road!

    Food and Dining

    Everything is made by the food company Metz, there is great variety and always something available to find.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful! You can stay in traditional dorms, all of which have been recently renovated or built. Also you can take in student houses or apartments, which are owned by the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Especially in the music department this place will push you to its limits, and the individual attention will keep you on track.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as soon as possible, the earlier you apply the easier it will be to get accepted.

    In three sentences

    This school cares about its students. LVC will take great care of you and help you in every step of the way towards your goals.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a bluelight system so that you will always be close enough to call for help if you need it by pushing a button on a bluelight post. Public safety officers can be seen around campus often. Their building is accessible. They provide an escort service whenever you call for it. They are stationed at major events in case anything happens.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very popular and it is there if you want it, but aside from rush time, they are not really noticeable on campus. There is a Greek house and most of their activities seem to not be open to outsiders unless they are service oriented.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few obscure clumbs (anime, equestrian, etc) but most deal with academic majors or service/charities. It is amazing to get involved with important causes but if you want to share a queer interest you might have to start your own club. Clubs are open to new members and are always a presence on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great if you like a small town atmosphere and small student body, yet are okay with being noticed and known. You get very close to students and faculty so you have many chances to get involved on campus. Whatever you do, you will likely have support. It has a family feel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A statue of Hot Dog Frank sits in the garden - he gave discounted hot dogs to students and strongly supported the basketball team. Dutchmen Day happens in the spring, when classes are surprisingly canceled for a day and inflatables and games are set up in the quad. Dueling Dutchmen is a yearlong competition between the dorms in various events.

    Bang for the buck

    You must really want this kind of college atmosphere and its unique experiences to justify the approximate 50k/year cost. Scholarships and financial aid are generous though. If you appreciate the little things that make LVC feel like home you will feel it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there is a weekly dance party with a DJ. There is a gym with a pool. Just across the street there is a movie theater, coffeehouse, pizza/sub place and ice cream parlor. Hershey Park is about fifteen minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    There is often foreign food to try. There are stir-fry and sandwich lines where you choose what you want and your food is made right in front of you. There is always pizza, salad, pasta, bagels and peanut butter sandwiches if you don't like anything else. You can request veggie burgers and gluten free options. However the hours are short and other food places, the convenience store and coffee bar, are not open on weekends.

    Dorm Life

    It is a 50/50 chance whether there will be washing machines open whenever you want to do your laundry. Some dorms do not have air conditioning, water fountains, or nice bathrooms, but if you do not have these things honestly it is mostly easy to adjust. However, lounges are nice, resident assistants are helpful and are required to plan a certain number of social events each month, so there is always something to do within your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    If you were not challenged in high school, you must prepare. Classes are difficult, cover large amounts of information in each short lecture, and professor conducted review sessions are rare. It is very fast paced so you will suffer if you fall behind even one day. But you learn a lot, classes are interesting and professors are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Online weekly dining hall menus are usually accurate, so check before you go to make sure there's something you like and you're not wasting a meal. Be diligent about parking your car where you're supposed to. Request a tutor before you think you really need one, in case, because classes are fast paced.

    In three sentences

    LVC is a great college to learn and grow in, with state of the art facilities and unique campus events. It has the best of both worlds situated in a small town but not far from bigger cities. It can be whatever you want it to be through study abroad, individualized majors and internships, and a wide variety of service opportunities.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Annville and the LVC campus are very safe and there is relatively little crime/theft/violence that occurs on our campus and in this small and quiet town.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many various activities to participate in on campus, and if they don't offer a club or group that you're interested in, there are constantly new ones being formed by students who wish to offer something new to the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are great traditions on campus that set LVC apart-- the annual Dutchmen Day excitement when students are surprised with a day off of classes while the campus is turned into a carnival, more or less; the intense football team's rivalry with Albright College--if we win, there's a march organized to the President's house to ask for a day off before Thanksgiving break.

    Bang for the buck

    While many are intimidated by the cost of the school, LVC offers great Presidential scholarships to good students, which reduces their tuition by one quarter to one half. The educational quality that you get here is worth it, because the challenging classes prepare you well ahead of those at other institutions.

    What to do for fun

    There are off-campus bus trips sponsored by the school and opportunities with classes and clubs to be involved away from LVC. With such a big music school, there are lots of concerts, performances in music, as well as plays, and monthly coffeehouse events. On weekends, the school brings in a comedian on Friday nights and also hosts an Underground dance club at the student center.

    Food and Dining

    Almost all students are required to have a meal plan, and Metz, the company who provides all of the food services, is expanding their options and shifting hours of food availability around right now to better cater to students' needs. The food is usually decent, however, can often get a bit monotonous.

    Dorm Life

    Many students here live in the dorms for more time than some students at other schools. Apartment suites and some houses are also available on campus, but are usually only for seniors and some juniors. RAs try to plan activities to engage their floors to create more of a sense of community within the dorms, but this also greatly depends on the group of people you're living with and if they participate.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are very challenging, but the information and different ways of learning that you can take from them really prepare you for post-graduation experiences.

    In three sentences

    LVC is a great, small, community-oriented school to attend for a great education. The classes are challenging, but the professors and multitude of free resources available on campus to all students are there for great support in your success. With the small size, it isn't always the best option for someone who needs the fast-paced urban style of a typical college, but there's always something to do aside from your studies.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus and surrounding area are extremely safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a good amount of clubs and activities to choose from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    dutchmen day is the tradition most looked forward to. it is a day in the spring, students never know when it is coming, where classes are cancelled and there are many activities planned for the day. it is an amazing day.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is very expense and i did not find that it was worth it. that was the reason i transferred.

    What to do for fun

    like i said before, there is not a lot to do around campus. often the school would provide comedians and other shows, which were always pretty good.

    Food and Dining

    there is a good selection of food here, but it is not always the best quality. also, they have redone the dining hall since i transferred and i have heard there are a lot of improvements.

    Dorm Life

    all students who are not commuters are required to live on campus all 4 years, but there are many options. they have traditional dorms, apartment style dorms, and houses. i lived in a traditional dorm and the rooms were a good size for college dorms. also, there is a real sense of community in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics here are about average. there is also not a lot of class selection, being that it is a small school.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely visit any schools you are considering before making a decision. talk with current students, if at all possible.

    In three sentences

    lebanon valley college is a small school in a very small town. it is easy to navigate the campus and the surrounding area, but there is not much to do. everyone is extremely friendly and you get to know a lot of faces.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Public safety officers are wonderful and I have never felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There are three sororities and four fraternities to choose from, all worth the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is certainly something for everyone from study abroad to drama club to Greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working and determined students do very well at LVC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    LVC has a tradition called Dutchmen Day. It is a day in spring semester that all classes are cancelled and campus is one big party, provided by the college.

    Bang for the buck

    LVC is very expensive. There are times when it feels like it is not worth the money but other times it feels like a bargin.

    What to do for fun

    The are countless organizations on campus. There is also lots of shopping and Hershey park right down the road.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but like any college, it gets old after awhile.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun, freshmen year roommates are not always great but making friends is part of the fun. The dorms are nice and it is easy to adjust.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but as long as students study and get help when they need it, the possibilities are endless.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go in thinking that it will be just like high school. Academically, college is all around harder than high school but because LVC is a private institution it is even harder. Do not be afraid to use the resources provided. Study hard but also relax from time to time, college is not all studying.

    In three sentences

    LVC is a sturdy institution that provides everything students need and beyond. The academics and challenging and students will struggle but it is all worth it because you come out into the real world knowing what you are doing. The possibilities at LVC are endless.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very well controlled by several sources such as Annville Police, Campus Security, faculty members from the Residential Life Office and the Resident Assistants.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life on campus is very involved with the numerous clubs on campus and the members of the fraternities and sororities strive to aid the campus and community with acts of volunteerism.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs for students to join; most with volunteerism as their main goal to benefit the local community of a national charity.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus would be perfect for a student looking for a small tight-knit community that has an abundance of opportunities to stand out as a leader.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    LVC has many great traditions for both the student body and the faculty members to enjoy such as Dutchmen Day. A popular attraction on campus is the beautiful and scenic Peace Garden.

    Bang for the buck

    LVC is a great place in which I have found success in many aspects of my life specifically in my academic studies and social life.

    What to do for fun

    LVC is located a short distance away from several attractions such as Hershey Park, laser-tag, and a bowling arcade.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall and in the various places on campus is catered by Metz which prides itself on good quality food and service.

    Dorm Life

    With an overcapacity of incoming freshmen, there were several situations in which students were assigned to 'forced-triples.'

    Academic Rigor

    This school prides itself on the Physical Therapy Program and Mathematical based curriculum. This is a place to excel in the challenges that the curriculum poses for students who are willing to put forth hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students: visit the campus, you may like the brochure but you will love the campus.

    In three sentences

    LVC is a small campus with a big heart for community. The professors and faculty members to their very best to assist students with any questions and contribute to the success of each student. The atmosphere is clean and the facilities on campus a geared toward the students needs.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    LVC is one of the safest college campuses I've ever been on. The sense of community is great, and the Public Safety officers are only a phone call away.

    Greek Life

    The Greek community on campus is one big family; no feuds or rivalries between any of the chapters. I myself plan on pledging a sorority this coming semester, and encourage anyone looking for life-long friendships to do the same.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of different clubs and activities to choose from at LVC - no matter what you're interested in, it's almost guarranteed that you'll find others who are too. And if there isn't already and organized group or club for you, starting one is very easy, even encouraged.

    Great for these types of students

    Lebanon Valley College is a good match for any type of student, really. As long as you're motivated, willing to work, and looking for a great community, LVC is a great choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone on campus looks forward to lunch on Thursdays: Chicken Tender Thursday!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many different things to do for fun at LVC, that is definitely one strong point for the college. Almost every weekend there's scheduled entertainment (magicians, musicians, workshops, etc), and the Underground Dance club is a big hit with all the students. There are also so many different clubs and organizations to look in to. It's impossible to not find something to do at LVC.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has very convenient hours and lots of variety and choices, as do the rest of the dining facilities.

    Dorm Life

    All of the dorms and on-campus housing are very clean and, with some personal touches, can easily feel like home.

    Academic Rigor

    LVC is very challenging academically, but not to the point of being impossible. All of the professors challenge their students while providing the means to help them succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and contact your academic advisor as soon as possible, and build a relationship early - they'll be a valuable tool and resourse, as well as a friend. Also try to get involved with some on-campus organizations, because they are a great way to meet people and make connections.

    In three sentences

    LVC is a great school, I'm very glad I chose to go here. It's warm and inviting, and all of the people there feel like family. LVC is home.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is located in a small rural area, and the campus is small also. The Public Safety patrol is always nearby, and the campus is a very safe and secure place to live.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is does not play any extremely big role in campus life, but there are still a great number of sororities and fraternities for students to choose from if they have an interest in pledging.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many club and activities for students to join. Whether it be music and art-oriented, sports, cultural diversity, student government, or volunteering. There is something for everyone to get involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is a great fit for any student looking for a small campus and many opportunities for success, while still getting individual attention in small classroom settings that is not available at larger schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chicken tender Thursday is a very anticipated lunch special every week. The campus also has Dutchmen Day (a surprise fun day off from classes with inflatables and other activities for students), along with Valleyfest, which is an area wide music and art festival held on campus in the spring.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is amazing and well worth the money, but the fact it is so much money makes it almost impossible for a student to pay for it on their own, so anyone with a less than fortunate financial situation at home would most likely not be able to attend.

    What to do for fun

    There's a mall with a movie theater about ten minutes away, along with outlets for shopping an bowling (another very short drive), lots of places to eat, a nature park and a cafe with open mic nights on Mondays, along with regularly scheduled on campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    Not always the best selection, especially for picky eaters, but the food isn't bad, and chicken tender Thursday for lunch every week is really good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is comfortable and students on campus are a dynamic group of people that one would love to meet.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses can be very challenging, but are rewarding and enjoyable at the same time. Professors are always willing to help and are very easy to get in contact with.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is an absolutely wonderful choice, in regards to campus life and academics. The only problem I have come across is the cost to go there. Financial aid doesn't cover near enough and paying for school is extremely difficult, expect many loans.

    In three sentences

    This school boasts a small and friendly campus, along with being in a safe area. The faculty and staff are extremely helpful and kind. The student population is a great mix of people, and campus life is very enjoyable.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You see people walking around at night, doors propped open as people move their stuff in and out of the dorms, community members walking with their dogs and families around campus, and even the occasional wedding. Most of these events show how secure and relaxed students at LVC feel. We have a very safe campus and a close relationship to our community allowing our campus to be very integrated with Annville. On campus, the Public Safety officers work hard to ensure our safety not only from people outside of the college but also inside, and I would say they do nothing less than providing a safe learning and growing experience for each student.

    Great for these types of students

    As myself and other students on campus are working forward to achieving more diversity and spreading awareness on campus, there is definitely some lagging. The students here are all hard workers. Of course there is some play involved, but all of the students want to do the work put before them, and want to achieve better standings toward their majors and careers. The students here all look for success and they couldn't have found a better place to look for it. If you are a student that likes to work hard, feel rewarded after accomplishing a hard task, and wants to have a head start into your future, this is the perfect place to be!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes many people see a private school's price and go running right back to their state school options. But give private schools a chance! They have more to offer than you think. As a private school, LVC has much to offer in the academic scholarships and loans. They are accommodating yet again in the financial aid field, and the people in the Business Offices and Administration are more than willing to help anyone that asks for it. This school isn't just a price, it's an opportunity waiting for you. Don't let a price scare away the great learning, friendships, and life building experiences that you could be having!

    What to do for fun

    Fun is everywhere on this campus, you just have to step outside your comfort zone and try it! I play on the soccer team and enjoy competing in the intramural sports as well. There are clubs to join such as the Frisbee club or academic clubs like the Chemistry club that provide fun activities and plenty of people to hang out with. There are other activities on campus that keep students busy and excited to keep coming to LVC such as the infamous Dutchmen Day, or the Dueling Dutchmen events we now hold around campus, even attending sporting events or workout classes, and always, Relay for Life. Fun is all of what you make of it. You could be sitting in the dorms watching movies and playing games with friends, or you could be out dancing at the UnderGround having a blast. Everything to me is fun. I just have a hard time fitting it all in!

    Food and Dining

    I would say the food at my college has improved, but is not to the standards that most students would enjoy. But then again, where's the fun in that if students can't complain about college food five years down the road? One thing I think could be improved at my school is the variety and options for gluten free and vegan eaters. Although the Metz staff does provide a limited variety of food, the people with certain food allergies/choices also like variety just as much as other students. However, the cafeteria staff and workers do work to please and try very hard in listening to comments and opinions of the students and try to provide as much as possible in a range of cultural, home-cooked, and variety of foods. Since the cafeteria has been remodelled, the Metz staff has done a wonderful job keeping their cafeteria clean, safe, and sanitary pleasing many people that come in for meals each day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is dorm life, everything from that one smelly hallway of guys, to the doors open music blasting hallway. At LVC they accommodate to many people's interests and needs and they work around any issues that could occur. I like the atmosphere the school (and residential assistants) provide for all the students. It allows people to interact, communicate, and live on their own. The school has also done a very nice job of keeping their rooms in nice conditions and have remodelled some of the dorms to further help their student population.

    Academic Rigor

    I would like to say that everything is only as hard as you make it: that goes for academics too. You put the work in, you get results out. At LVC it is no different, you are challenged academically not only in tests but in your thinking styles. You are held to high expectations and requirements only to help you succeed. Of course it may not feel like anything is paying off when you go to cram for finals, but the academics, time, and effort that you put into studying and learning the material will pay off in the end, and will put you ahead of all those other students graduating from college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared! Don't hold back from any opportunity! Don't give in to that freedom you now have, because you still have a future to plan for. College is just a building block to add onto the rest of the education you have had. Learn from all of the opportunities LVC has to offer - good and bad - because there will be many you will encounter. You will learn more from the people, friends, professors, and community members here at LVC than you could ever learn in a classroom. Take each of the moments you encounter with someone new as a new challenge and learn from them to make yourself and your future better.

    In three sentences

    If you're looking to get involved, laugh some, and be challenged in school this is your school. The school has been making leaps and bounds in developing a more well rounded college around campus and in academics, listening to students and adapting to the college we want. However, no matter if there are changes or where you go on campus, you are bound to find a welcoming face and a helping hand reaching out to you every day here at LVC.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This college delivers in academics and social aspects, but the food brings this college down a tad bit. In reality I would give LVC a 4.5 and recommend it strongly to anyone looking for a good academic experience.

    What to do for fun

    I personally hang out with my great set of friends. I also go to clubs every week and do activities with them. There are also a lot of shows, performers, and college-sponsored activities for the students to attend. Also there is a great and cheap laser tag place within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    What else can I say but it's college food. The food is usually not too bad and I do have to admit they have a great selection of food, but they are prone to burning some more difficult to make food items.

    Dorm Life

    The college could do more about drinking in the dorms, but otherwise the people are great and usually any problems with living conditions are handled quickly and in an effective manor.

    Academic Rigor

    This college has some of the most difficult programs in the state of PA. Honestly the hard work is worth it since you learn a lot in creative and interactive ways.

    Tips for prospective students

    The academic field is very rigorous here so prepare to work for your grades. The professors are understanding of problems with transition and other emotional problems. Also this campus has many various activities so there is sure to be something to please everyone and if not then you can always get some friends together and start your own club.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college with a fantastic living experience. The college is on the steeper side of price, but is honestly worth the money one would pay to come here. The school is resourceful and very helpful at finding financial aid for those students in need of it greatly.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    As far as college food goes, this is definitely the best so far.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to the other dorms I've visited these are really awesome

    Academic Rigor

    It has a great program for the major I'm looking into.

    In three sentences

    I liked the school a lot, but I think it's too close to my house.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help in any of the application process, financial aid, etc. The staff is understanding that this is scary and willing to help.

    In three sentences

    I have had the opportunity to visit at LVC three times. It's a wonderful campus and the people are very friendly, I am very impressed.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Typical College town things

    Food and Dining

    Average

    Dorm Life

    Average

    Academic Rigor

    About average

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit

    In three sentences

    It is out of the way and very small. Great Biology and education program.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I would LOVE if LVC would drop their price. College is very expensive for me, and I wish I could afford it more. However, I believe that is everyone's dream. Other than the initial sticker shock, LVC's price is good because they always have up to date equiptment, great technology, good living spaces, and there are no out of pocket expenses for as long as you live there!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do in town on the weekends. There are also free trips you can tign up for through Red Book under your LVC ID. These trips include free rides and admission to Hershey Park, Frightland, Washington DC, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent pciking! You can get anything you want from a sub line, to italian food, to salads, to gluten free bar.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are updated on a 4 year basis, cleaning, leaundry, etc., are all free!

    Academic Rigor

    You can get by easy if you just work! I am a psychology major and I can easily get all the help I need from my professors and other students. However, I heard that they science programs are very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend signing up immediatly for as many scholarships as possible. LVC is very expensive, and although your EFC may be low, the amount of aid you get may not even come close. As expensive as LVC is, it is all worth it.

    In three sentences

    LVC is a fantastic school! As a small college, LVC allows you to connect with your porfessors on day 1! You also make friends all year round through easy-to-join clubs and athletics!

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in science, music, digital communications, physical therapy and religion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On-campus Peace Garden.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs, fraternities and sororities, movie theater and MJ's coffee house, Hershey Park.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep yourself busy, become involved in a lot of different organizations, there's always something to do on campus.

    In three sentences

    Lebanon Valley College is great small campus. The professors and advisors are remarkable. The education program covers such a great variety of interests.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Limited

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want hands-on classroom experience where they are a name not a number and profs are invested in you.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate, study every day, and take time for fun.

    In three sentences

    A highly academic, personal, tight knit community of learners.